It's Like, You Know... (TV Series 1999–2001) Poster

(1999–2001)

User Reviews

Review this title
44 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
I keep changing my mind on this show.
tomthedog8 November 1999
When I first heard about "It's Like, You Know...", I thought it would be terrific. Created by a "Seinfeld" writer and starring Christopher Eigeman, who has been incredibly funny in everything he's been in? A home run for sure. But in the first season the writing was often strained, the women in the cast were weak, and the show was generally uneven. In the second season, though, a new creative spark seems to have invigorated the show, taking it in bizarre and surreal directions. Bickering conjoined twin cop show action stars (who turn out to be unattached twins faking it). Arthur's feeling of claustrophobia in New York illustrated by the walls of his apartment literally closing in on him. The faux documentary of a break-up, with inexplicably changing props in every scene (a different Jennifer Grey movie poster is on the wall each time we see her, Shrug is eating a different entree each time he appears). Shrug falls victim to a soul-sucking succubus (?!?). The most bizarre and funniest occurrence this year had Robbie and Shrug thinking to themselves about two girls they were dating. Suddenly one thought responds to the other, and they proceed to hold an entire conversation without opening their mouths!

"It's Like, You Know..." has become one of the most inventive sitcoms on the air. Sadly, that precise thing seems to be driving viewers away. Check it out before it's too late.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fine, short-lived satire of Lalaland.
Donny_Stay23 February 2003
"It's Like, You Know..." was an extremely funny sitcom that was clearly doomed from the start. The writing was always exceptionally sharp, but its humor was far too sophisticated for general television audiences. For instance, one memorable episode featured a documentary style, a French-speaking nun accompanied by subtitles, demographic pie charts, and repeated references to Lorrie Moore. Not exactly mainstream humor. (And all this in a single episode!) Most of the shows' jokes served to poke fun at the habits of Angelenos, and again, these are regional jokes that most people probably won't understand.

Hey, I loved "It's Like, You Know...," and I watched it every week. It was hilarious, and occasionally it was quite charming. But it hardly came as a surprise to me when the show was canceled. Seriously, there is such a thing as being too clever.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Very LA, very funny
danielwill16 June 2001
If you have ever lived in LA, then you will understand the bizarre truth underlying this show. You'd find the show hilarious and true, and very smart--a kind of Seinfeld for LA.

Jennifer Gray plays herself, after her plastic surgery when no one recognizes her anymore. There's an independently wealthy bald guy named Shrug who is exactly like someone I knew in LA, a shallow but good looking prouder, and a ditzy, sweet masseuse.

The shows are about getting work, getting dates, plastic surgery and traffic--meaning, it's about LA.

The unhappy New Yorker's view of LA is dead-on, as is the fact that he loves to complain about it, and then gets to like it.

The best episode is when they all had to stop everything they were doing and watch the skycopter follow a high-speed chase. This is also true to life.

Very funny, but probably too hip for the room. Too bad it didn't last. If it's on reruns anywhere, watch it!
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Better Late than Never review - FANTASTIC !
mnsensei2 August 2004
This show had the potential to be the next Seinfeld, unfortunately like Seinfeld, it needed the time to build an audience that would appreciate it. This is not a show for everyone (neither was Seinfeld) and if you are the type that likes to do other things while the TV plays in the background then you aren't going to get this show. It was clever (as a previous viewer noted, sometimes too clever) at times silly, and always worth the half hour.

A couple of things doomed it. It was preempted, and eventually removed to make room for five days a week of Who Wants to be a Millionaire, which of course flamed out quickly with that much exposure. The other was some of the humor that if you know L.A. you'll think is hilarious, but if you don't it will take time to learn how they are. I hate to keep referencing Seinfeld, but for those unfamiliar with New Yorkers it took awhile for people to understand how important a parking spot was. That's the way this show was. If you are unaware of the way police chases are televised daily like soap operas you won't be amused by them gathering by the TV. Likewise if you are unaware of "the valley" then the "safari" to the valley will be lost. All and all a really amusing show and a real shame it was never given the chance to build an audience.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funniest show around
EnnBee20 October 1999
Aside from its off putting title, this show deserves its comparison to Seinfeld-the funny years. The great laughs contained in well crafted intersecting storylines that end up being thematically linked is terrific.

With episodes like "The Documentary," it shows there are still new ideas in the traditional sitcom format.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's Like, You Know... funny as hell
WOHargan7 September 1999
I finally figured out the title... it's muttered by someone atleast once an episode (usually the worst joke of the episode... but still) but it seems so fake. When I first saw an ad for this, I thought it looked stupid and pointless, but I watched an episode anyway... and I found I couldn't stop, it was the best written show sence M*A*S*H and the best cast sence NewsRadio, and is the best show sence "The Simpsons". It has the same setup as Seinfeld (Punchline before the explanation). And haven't we always wondered why "Q" is in the middle of the alphabet? The best new show of 1999, followed closely by "Futu
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not enough time to develop before they killed it
spiveym28 June 2000
This was a show from the creators of Seinfeld, and like Seinfeld, it was slow getting off the ground. I liked "it's like, you know...." and I thought it was becoming funnier as the characters settled in and story lines developed. Making fun of L.A. life IS funny to people outside of L.A. Unfortunately ABC killed it before it could reach it's full potential.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly funny!
macgyver-516 April 1999
One of the few new sitcoms this year that I may actually watch regularly. Sure, it seems like "Seinfeld" in L.A., but so what? If it remains funny, I'll continue to tune in.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's like, disjointed.
J. Ryan7 April 1999
I feel obligated to put in my 2 cents as a dissenting opinion to the flurry of good press about the show. It's not bad, certainly better than some of the other mindless sitcoms out there (ABC's entire Friday night line up is horrible and completely unwatchable). I understand that the producers expect the show to be a parody of all that is LA.

However, the show never gels any of the elements well. Chris Eigeman is an incredible actor and I enjoyed him in Barcelona and Metropolitan, but as New Yorker just hanging out in LA? That's the problem. While Seinfeld purported to be a show about nothing (and towards the last few seasons, it really was about nothing as writers were scraping the barrel for ideas) at its best it had hidden intelligence and subtle comedy. It's Like, You Know has neither, just a series of chance happenings that have really no conflict nor irony.

Jennifer Grey is gorgeous, and as much as I hate to say it, I like the nose job. It's great to find actresses willing to poke fun at themselves, but I still wish the series had more to offer than just LA.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I am really beginning to like this show, but the title's GOT to go.
pummykin28 December 1999
Of course, you have to take into account that I'm a huge Jennifer Grey fan and I really like AJ Langer. The first time I saw this show I thought it was horrible. I've since given it another chance and I really like it. It's quirky, funny, and interesting.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The writing gets better and better . . .
tergenev6 May 1999
Having just caught a midseason episode of "It's like, you know . . .", a show I was probably predestined to like a great deal, and not just because they use an ellipsis in the title, I am continually amazed at the level of writing available on this half-hour gem. Very fast-paced and idea-filled, the scripts depend on none of the typical crutches of sitcom writing such as stupid misunderstandings and slapstick arguments. Instead, you hear hilarious discussions of . . . well . . . just about everything. And it's all done without that sense of solipsistic meanness so apparent in Seinfeld. Plus the show has a character named Shrug. Great writing and a character named Shrug. How much greater can it get? What is so good about the writing, you might ask. It builds throughout each episode, usually reaching a very nice and very funny climax at the end. The characters seem to be genuinely intelligent and creative people. The subplots are as interesting, or more interesting than, the main storyline of each show. And the choice of plots is as diverse and interesting as real life can be, without all of those stupid puns and slapstick misunderstandings usually written into most sitcoms. I very much hope it manages to find an audience.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I miss and think about this show often
calgal8413 October 2012
One of the best written comedy shows ever on TV but it was not allowed to develop it's audience. It wasn't a Seinfeld wannabe - it was a West Coast original. And maybe that was the problem. The humor was definitely West Coast. As a LA native living in Georgia, this show was like a life line. Acting, writing, humor was sharp and funny. Jennifer Grey as herself was hilarious with that little tinge of sadness for what happens in LA to even talented people. The whole cast worked so well together with that Los Angeles laid back ease, but with a little self deprecating humor all native and long time Californians have. As for the title - a previous poster got it wrong. I still say "It's like, you know", when there's just nothing more you can say. It's a California thing. And, now that I'm in the south, to those that didn't get the humor of this show, I say "Well, there you go".
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funny with great actors
cinewatt9 April 2001
I don't know how we managed to get this show in France (for cable viewers only) since it seems like it did not really meet its audience in the USA. Anyway, I think it is really funny and, although not as well written as Seinfeld its acting is even better... too bad it has been cancelled. I'm glad I taped all the episodes so that I can watch them again and again!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Got it?
canto-315 January 2000
This is one of the most intelligent shows ever. You must to GET the jokes. And, once you UNDERSTAND the things, each episode gets better and better. And, it requires patience from the spectators. If you see 1 episode, probably, you'll think it's the most boring show ever. If you see 2, you'll laugh a little. Once you saw 3 or 4 episodes, you'll become a fan. You need to feel the show. You need to accustom with the show, so you can enjoy it. Got it?
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's like, FUNNY...
Lynnie-317 December 1999
If you don't get this show, you may never. You can't channel surf and watch it because you will miss the story and then the humour. I love that Jennifer Grey is playing herself and having fun with it. The writers assume that the viewer has a brain. VERY funny- a notch above the OVERLY obvious / laugh track filled sitcoms.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Laughed my a-- off
EmptyLeo1 April 1999
The best new sitcom since Friends maybe? I waited for 2 episodes to go by before I commented but my initial reaction stands, It's good!

"The Chase" episode made me laugh so hard I had a coughing fit that lasted halfway through Drew Carey!

And I ain't complaining when they make fun of Ohio, they're just jokes!
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
LA sitcom
SnoopyStyle10 July 2017
New York magazine writer Arthur Garment (Chris Eigeman) moves to L.A. for 2 months to write a book about his hatred of the city. "Living in LA. How can you stomach it?" His rich friend Robbie Graham (Steven Eckholdt) lives in the guest house of lay-about trust fund guy Shrug (Evan Handler). Jennifer Grey (the real Jennifer Grey) is their next door neighbor. Arthur falls for flighty masseuse Lauren Woods (A.J. Langer) on the plane coming over.

For the most part, I like the cast. Jennifer Grey as her real self is meta fun and forward thinking for its time. Her nose job jokes are pretty funny. She needed to do more as a struggling actress. There is humor there that remains unused. Chris Eigeman is a functional neurotic New York Jew. A.J. Langer is an adorable ingenue. Arthur needs to push harder for Lauren to heat up the romance. It's a little flat by slow-rolling it. It's also problematic to have two rich slackers in the cast. They basically doubled up on the same character. The LA jokes work some of the time. The best episode is Walking Tall where Robbie starts dating a pedestrian. It satires the walkie-driver relationship as the race relationship. It's funny and smart. The funnier thing is that the show was canceled and that episode remained unaired.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's Like Hilarious!!
dataconflossmoor19 September 2007
This show was so funny! I thought Steve Eckholdt was the best part of this series and he has been a staple for guest appearances on T.V. Shows and movies as well as a regular on some hit series for so long now that his talent is almost taken for granted!! I thought "It's Like You Know" was so hysterically funny that I am extremely surprised that it lasted only two seasons!! Many programs are just thrown out there as test cases which makes the audience nothing more than guinea pigs who vote thumbs up or thumbs down on a program!! I give this show a resounding thumbs up, and reward it with my approval.. Perhaps a petty consolation prize in this instance, however, success and failure are based on audience research reports which reflect the auspicious or negative reactions from the television audience!! My final estimation of the television series "It's Like You Know" .. I am glad they made it!! Wonderful!!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It's Like, Y'Know, BAD.
Asteri-Atypical26 August 2001
More banality not worth wasting many words on.

The same inspiration for this show must have been the same inspiration which caused Ms. Grey to transform herself with surgery from a very attractive woman with looks of character to a commonplace "Plain Jane".

Just like Jennifer Grey's appearance has become commonplace and plain, so is this show. Not bad, but just another show, and another face, in the crowd. Nothing special.
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An excellent new show
Andrew F30 March 1999
I could not disagree more with the above review, and I had to go on the record to persuade newcomers to give this excellent show a view. This was a very funny show. The writing is so witty and confidently subtle, its humor does not have to be broadly obvious, like most of the other drivel in prime time comedy. This program does not rely on cuteness, or absurdity, or star power ... just the most clever writing since M*A*S*H, and terrific actors who are masters all of understated hilarity. And one more point: The overall theme of the pilot is not whiny, New Yorker arrogance disparaging LA. On the contrary, although the jabs at LA do come fast and furious, the underlying message is that even the most hardened LA-hater can succumb to the sun-baked, delirious charms of that 80 degree-Eden. Check this show out.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent program that nails L.A. exactly
sprocket-1126 March 1999
I saw the premiere program this past Wednesday and thought it was brilliantly written with an audience-friendly ensemble cast. The dialogue nailed the L.A. scene as I know it. Very funny. I look forward to upcoming episodes.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
it's like, you know, totally right on
gathly26 March 1999
I've finally found a replacement for the much missed comic genius of Seinfeld. It's about nothing, which is more appropriate in L.A. than New York. It stars Jennifer Grey as herself after a nose job, which is very creative, and the perfect touch for a show about crazy L.A. I laughed out loud a couple times, but you have to give a show several episodes to truly appreciate it, otherwise you can't adjust to the characters, and that's necessary for sitcom appreciation. They have great homages to Seinfeld-esque humor, like, "Why is the Q in the middle of the alphabet? It belongs at the end. It should go X, Y, Q, Z." I can't wait to see it again.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An excellent show and possibly the next 'Seinfeld'
Josh-4725 March 1999
This was just a great show. It was funny, and original, and was very much like a combo of 'Seinfeld' (2 guys discuss how the letter Q should be farther in the alphabet),and 'Friends'(Twenty-somethings sit around and talk), which are both great shows. I definitely recommend it.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great parody about life in LA...
Dianne-4-225 March 1999
I came from the east coast to the west coast and really enjoyed the first episode of this show. If LAers can't make fun of themselves...oh well! I loved living in California and the stereotype the rest of the country has about CA is very strong. It was great to be there and learn what CA is really like. This show is a good start to how CA is viewed by the rest of the country and although all of CA isn't like, you know, LA, the show was still witty and funny. If you can't laugh at yourself, you might as well give up now. I look forward to more episodes!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Could be a big hit- next Seinfeld?
wleav24 March 1999
This show was fast moving, well written and funny. It has the makings of another "Seinfeld" with Jennifer Grey in the Elaine part and Shrug a dead ringer for George with even less hair. More laughs than in an average sitcom.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed