Vertical Limit (2000) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
386 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
It wasn't that bad!
helenaspelena14 November 2005
I can't believe how many people pick on this movie! It's a movie...and movies are meant to entertain. I thought it was a good story line, very suspenseful & emotional. Yes, there was a lot of unbelievable problems that arose, and maybe the acting wasn't all that great. Chris O'Donnell is very cute to look at, but I have to admit he's not the best actor out there. Scott Glenn is great in every movie he is in. The rest of the actors were OK. I just don't see why this movie was picked on so much. I don't watch movies so I can pick on them, I watch them for entertainment..and I was entertained by this movie. I would recommend it to anyone who is wanting to see an edge-of-your seat, emotional movie.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
There's no limit to mountaineering melodramatics
Philby-316 June 2002
While mountaineering is one of the most exhilarating of sports it has produced little good fiction, and few good fictional movies, though there have been some excellent documentaries ('The Man who Skied Down Everest', the Imax 'Everest' film, for example). Somehow, when it comes to fiction, the clichés take over, and this film, with some genuinely gorgeous camera-work and impressive stunts, is full of them. The wealthy megalomaniac determined to conquer K2 at any cost, the climber who lost his nerve when his father was killed who pushes himself into action to save his sister, stuck in a crevass high up the mountain with the moneyed one, the bitter old man of the mountains who is essential to the rescue, the guide who has sold out, It's all there. One does expect some improbability of plot in a film like this, but the thought that someone might cart Pakistani Army liquid nitro-glycerine in back packs to the top of K2 to blast a crevasse open really was a bit much.

Apart from a very attractive opening sequence in Utah (Monument Valley, I think) the film was shot in the New Zealand Alps, with a few clips of the genuine Karkoram Himalaya spliced in. For this viewer, it brought back pleasant memories of climbing in the University holidays around the Southern Alps. But climbing is a dangerous sport; on one trip I was accompanied by four people, all of whom subsequently died in separate climbing accidents (one on Makalu, next to Everest). There is a fair amount of special effects malarky (no-one, not even Temuera Morrison pretending to be Pakistani, would fly an old military helicopter so close to a mountain wall at 21,000 feet), but there are also some genuinely stirring shots.

Unfortunately, the acting for the most part matches the script. Chris Connelly, good at sensitive young men, is wrong for the brother bent on rescue (it's more of a part for Bruce Willis), and Bill Paxton is only moderately menacing as the ruthless Richard Branson-style billionaire. In fact the only decent piece of acting is Scott Glenn's Wick, the veteran with attitude. The'comic' Australian climbing brothers, Ces and Cyril, or whatever their names were, were profoundly embarrassing – I guess Ben Mendelsohn will be hoping no-one will recognise him with a balaclava on his head. There were also lackluster performances from the two female leads, Robin Tunney and Izabella Scorupco. One of them, Scorupco, is an ex-Bond girl ('Goldeneye') – the casting people obviously didn't realise she was going to be spending the entire movie wrapped up in Gore-Tex. There's no sex at high altitude – it's too damned cold and anyway survival takes precedence over procreation.

I think Roger Ebert got it right on this one – a 'B' movie with an 'A' movie budget. There are all sorts of anomalies – the lack of visible water vapour issuing from the climbers, their sprightly behaviour even after hours at 26,000 feet, the use of north wall hammers to attack a rock/ice pitch, the miraculous helicopter piloting – but somehow the magnificence of those great peaks comes through. The worst thing about a movie like this is that it portrays the mountains as hellish, which is far from the truth. What is it the psalm says 'I will lift up mine eyes to the hills, from whence cometh my strength'? Climbing is one thing I have never regretted doing, and it would be a pity if people were put off the sport by stuff like this. Actually I think the people who do attempt peaks like K2 would see this film as preposterous, overblown Hollywood brown smelly stuff, and they'd be right. But there is some nice scenery.
89 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Action Flick.
johnlucas12 August 2001
If you like Action movies for their escapism, you will love Vertical Limit. It deserves a 9/10 rating.

If you need reality, go elsewhere. It would only be a 2/10 rating. Better yet, go watch a documentary.

This movie is no different than the Spielberg formula, from movies like Indiana Jones. However, for those of us that like the formula, this is great entertainment.

The writing gets a 5/10 Special Effects - 10 Camera work - 10 Acting - 8 Character development - 6

Have some fun, turn off the thinking cap, and watch this action flick.
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Exciting and well-made action adventure film.
ags1235 September 2006
I'm surprised by all the hostility shown toward this movie on IMDb. Had I read the reviews here, I would have skipped this well-made and entertaining film. For one thing, it was a pleasure to see an action movie that didn't involve guns and shooting - enough of that nonsense. Instead, this film is full of spectacular scenery, good looking actors and actresses, and some unexpected insights into issues of morality, judgment and sacrifice. As far as the accuracy about details of climbing, I couldn't care less. This is not a how-to movie. And as for the wisdom of transporting nitroglycerin across dangerous terrain, check out Henri-Georges Clouzot's masterpiece, "The Wages of Fear" or its excellent remake by William Friedkin, "Sorcerer." Neither one of these great films was hampered by such a questionable premise. I highly recommend "Vertical Limit" for exciting escapism.
65 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great Sound & Stunts, So-So Story
ccthemovieman-19 September 2006
When I saw this shortly after it came out on DVD, it got high marks just for the spectacular sound alone. It had some of the best rear-speaker sound I had ever heard. It was a showpiece for DVD players at the time.

The movie is interesting with it's main fault being a common one: overdone action at the end. Along the way, however, it has many almost jaw-dropping scenes and some spectacular mountain scenery which looks great on the sharp DVD transfer. The stunt work in here is also incredible. Martin Campbell, the same director who did The Mask Of Zorro and Goldeneye, is good at producing eye-popping action scenes.

The dialog at times is juvenile, but it could have been worse. The profanity was lower than expected, too. How accurate is it concerning mountain-climbing? Probably like most films: totally inaccurate, at least that's what a mountain- climbing expert told me, and I believe him.

All in all, however, a far better film than I expected.....strictly for the entertainment.
27 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Typical Hollywood action film: no respect for reality.
malthus30 January 2001
This movie is a so-typical Hollywood action-flick you almost can't believe it. It seems like the producers looked up this bunch of cool gadgets mountain climbers use (many of which are sharp or have pointy ends) and tried to portray some of the most irresponsible climbing you could think of.

Sure, it's hell if your sis is stuck in an avalanche on K-2 but, as some climber already pointed out in basecamp, you don't go risking another six people to 'possibly' get two down. Besides, there are better ways to do this than by strapping a can of nitroglycerine to your back.(small note: dynamite is essentially chalk soaked in nitro which stabilizes it. Guess they hadn't thought of that?)

Furthermore, you never climb beneath another group's ropes (lest they fall and drag you with them...), you do not sprint across a ridge wearing glacier-irons, you do not sit on a 5cm ledge without a safety rope attached, you do jump out of a helicopter trying to fall down unless you intend to end up spaghetti.

In short, this movie severely damages the image of the real mountain climbers, who consider safety and precaution a way of life and not something to disregard to look cool.
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Everything you expect
dango-713 December 2000
What is wrong with these people who want every movie to be like gone with the wind? or Titanic? When I went to the theater to see Vertical Limit, i got everything i wanted to see, great action sequences, great special FX, a few funny moments, and not a bad story. Sure some of the scenes were pretty incredible and unbelievable, but if you want a movie about reality, or believability, watch your home movies!! I really enjoyed this movie and I am telling everyone to see it, but to see it for what it is, a great action flick. Some people are just too picky about everything and should just relax and try to enjoy a movie once in a while instead of trying to pick it apart.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining Mountain Climbing Film
whpratt14 January 2006
Usually I do not care very much for mountain climbing films as they usually have a very similar plot. This film had plenty of action with Helicopters flying all over the place and horrible snow storms and also entrapment in caves deep under tons of snow and ice. The film starts out with a father, son and daughter adventuring up a steep mountain during a very sunny day and having a wonderful time with each other. Their father was a very experienced climber and all of a sudden a tragic situation happens and a horrible life or death decision had to be made within seconds. There is lots of scary scenes and plenty of explosions and more action than you can handle.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So much money...so many goofs!
tthompson-11 August 2001
How can anyone spend so much money and make a picture like this? The effects were good but how many really stupid / bad things can happen in one film or one person's life. If only two of the many, many catastrophes that happened in the movie happened in real life it would be like lightning striking you twice. Everything that the actors did (pretending to be the best of the best climbers) seemed to go against them. Really, do you think a professional climber would leave his back pack where it could slide down the mountain? This is your life we're talking about. How about a nylon climbing rope that snaps two feet above the ground just after stopping a long fall. You can't see anyone's breath and it's cold up there. But the way, there aren't any open flame fires that I know of (unless the fuel contains it's own oxygen) anywhere near that altitude. Or how about a professional climber (who relies on good lungs) that smokes. Really, enough is enough!

If you can't think well you might like this movie but it you have some brains, no way! No real plot development - only special effects over and over and over...Unfortunately not even plausible special effects. Jumping a crevasse (didn't they know it was there before they took that route) and actually sticking to the other side. Come on!

I could go on and on but I won't. Nice scenery though. I like the actors but not in this movie.

Well, that's my take and thanks.
85 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Into Thin Air
Lechuguilla4 September 2005
In this high-octane action film, three climbers make stupid decisions at 26,000 feet, en route to the summit of K2, the world's second highest mountain. The climber's peril thus necessitates a rescue, which puts additional people on the mountain and at risk of dying. That's it. The story is thus fairly thin, but the filmmakers insert all kinds of natural and human obstacles, conflict, and difficulties to rev up the action and excitement.

The film's CGI creates compelling tension. We have the illusion of vertical scale, or perspective, which translates into a needed sense of vertigo. The sensation that the characters could, at any moment, fall to their deaths is the film's strength.

The mountain scenery is also nice, although it is sometimes wasted, because of the film's fast pace. Cinematography is quite good. And some of the scene transitions make the film flow really well.

Dialogue seems flat to me. Production design and costumes are adequate. Acting is largely irrelevant.

By far, the biggest flaw is the unrealistic amount of action. In the plot, everything that could go wrong does go wrong, from bad weather to avalanches to exploding nitro to human conflict and discord. It's all a bit much. But, that seems to be a problem inherent to outdoor action films. Directors cram in too much chaos.

Another minus is the background music, which is irritatingly nondescript. For a film set mostly in Asia, I could have wished for more indigenous music which, when combined with the majesty of the mountains, could have added emotional depth and a sense of mystery and awe.

"Vertical Limit" does have an emotional spine to its story, but that is secondary to the super action plot. Viewers who expect well thought out characters, meticulous plotting, or a subtle "theme" will need to look elsewhere. This film is strictly for people who like heavy-duty outdoor action.
32 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Awesome Thriller
pramodshukl28 June 2018
This is one of the best thriller i've ever watched, superb visual effects, decent acting, a gripping story line, with so many freezing moments, a Must watch.

FOR THOSE WHO HAS WRITTEN NEGATIVE REVIEWS:

God bless you guyz, if it is not realistic its entertaining, You guyz watch movie for entertainment or want to make sense in every scene, you open your physics law book and start debating whether or not it's possible. Simply Enjoy the movie!!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Makes you think of climber's dilemmas
ggudmund7 May 2015
I won't tell you what the spoilers are, but this movie makes you think about the ethical dilemmas advanced climbers face. Especially above the "Vertical Limit" where your own life is pretty much dying above that limit as you approach the summit.

In an article by The Guardian entitled "Mount Everest: the ethical dilemma facing climbers" the author discussed whether climbers should stop to help casualties.

Also, check out article in BBC News "The ethics of climbing Everest" in 2006.

Another interesting article May 1 2015, especially considering recent Avalanches in Nepal. "Mount Everest climbers in dilemma as climbing season draws closer in Nepal"

So you should ask yourself would you do what Vaughan did with the medical kit?

If you family member were trapped on top of K2 or Mount Everest, would you go rescue them?

If you were at base camp what would be your motivations to climb to the top to rescue someone?

And if you were a AF Pararescueman, would you not absolutely love this movie? Hoorah!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Too unconvincing to enjoy.
robertdegruijl2 July 2001
It's not the painfully thin story line, predictable plot or shallow stereotypical characters featured in this movie. It's not even the constant stream of amazingly improbable events, which give you the feeling the director hopelessly underestimated the reasoning abilities of his audience.

What left me disappointed and even a bit annoyed after seeing "Vertical Limit" is the absolute and total failure of this movie to capture any of the real thrill, excitement and hardship involved in scaling the world's second highest mountain.

Books like Jon Krakauers' "Into thin Air" and movies like David Breashears' "Everest" prove that you don't need helicopter rotor blades threatening to dismember climbers or unstable nitroglycerine that explodes if exposed to sunlight to create an exciting story. When Martin Campbell decided to deny the audience any sense of the real technical, physical and emotional challenges of climbing K2, and therefore had to resort to action-movie style heroes, villains and explosions, he left behind a movie too unconvincing, for me to enjoy.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Comments from a real climber
snowleopard4 September 2002
Having climbed in the Andes, Tian Shan, St. Elias and other

mountain ranges across the planet, I was often asked what I

thought of this movie, and it's accuracy.

This is, without doubt, the least accurate film on climbing I have

ever seen. This movie is simply absurd. I consider it about as

"accurate" as, say, Spy Kids is to global espionage.

In addition to the gaffs pointed out, I wanted to state what was

most amusing to me: Inside the crevasse, the climbers ice tools

bounce off the crevasse walls like they're made out of solid steel

(and 'ping' just like it). But when Chris O'Donnall does his full

sprint (at altitude!) and huge leap across a cavernous abyss, he

drives his ice tools into the other side - made of solid rock - and

sticks like Spiderman. The film is filled with many other absurd

implausabilities that insult the sport it manipulates in the guise of

entertainment.

Aside from that, as so many others have noted, the movie is

simple minded action. If you don't mind laughing at much of it, and

don't for a moment think it represents realistic climbing, leave your

brain at the door and you might have some fun. But most people

will just find it absurd rubbish.
122 out of 222 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Action Movie Gone Slasher !
elshikh414 February 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Don't get me wrong. This is marvelous action, with unique locations, smart plot, and perfect directing. The climbing scenes are excellently made, I never felt overabundant, or originally any CGI. Obviously, a lot of efforts was spent behind this movie, rather gem. However, some points bugged me. Let's see how bad they are.

First off: the way the second act was written. The movie kind of remakes the Seven Samurai story, yet for nothing but killing most of them, as if they were there for just getting killed ! No doubt that the movie overused the matter of the nitroglycerin bombs, and badly. Yes, they're a good thrill element, but not to an extent where the Pakistani army doesn't know how to save them, or the Pakistani general doesn't see their leakage under his foot, or the movie uses them as Freddy is used in Nightmare on Elm Street's movies !

Chris O'Donnell is talented, however not that charismatic, and doesn't fit action movies so much. In fact, hiring him with the lovely Robin Tunney back then, whether was for cutting down the budget, or as a chance to experiment new stars, proved to be something not that successful. And after 10 years, both of them ended up in TV shows like NCIS: Los Angeles and The Mentalist.

Although I don't think, for a second, that a helicopter's fan can only cut off a sleeve of someone while getting centimeters close to her. But, for the sake of an action scene, I'll forget about this. Nevertheless, I won't forget that the movie's evil man, played by Bill Paxton, returns to the same place where he went into big accident a few years ago, near to the man who he killed his wife ! Cheeky ? Maybe. Odd ? Full Yes !

I liked that, finally, a Muslim character was shown in a Hollywood movie without the forever usual character (ruthless barbarian terrorist !). I suppose that was for putting wildly different characters together. Especially when that character, of a Pakistani religious soldier, joins forces with an Australian nihilist playboy. Btw, the Islamic prayer's moves weren't done rightly. Clearly they needed an expert on the set for that.

Izabella Scorupco is no less than great. I don't know, and eager to know, why she was exiled from movies ? Because within nearly 20 years, after her first starring role in Golden Eye, she made something like 5 movies ! Being a James Bond girl was sure a problem more than a blessing. It's embarrassing that even when she got work, like in here, it was with Golden Eye's director, Martin Campbell. As if no one else wants to work with her ! She even was offered the lead female role in The Mask of Zorro (1998), for the same director, but turned it down. Otherwise, she doesn't like acting !

So, I'm a big fan of this movie, its script, and directing. But, in the same time, I hate some points, on their top is the sense of laziness at the second act's writing; it's where this fine action leaned toward being an easy slasher. The final verdict: The bad points turned out to be light, and this is a real classic movie. The authentic trailer is one of the best as well.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
definitely worth the watch
rbboyl10 December 2000
Vertical Limit first caught my attention with its trailer, and from the looks of it, I thought this would definitely be one exciting film. I was not disappointed. It was a roller coaster ride from start to finish. Although some parts were predictable, I found that my heart still jumped when it happened. Not only were the action/disaster scenes intense, but the whole story made me feel the character's fears, and the cold. This is not "get into big trouble and get pulled out quickly." This is "get into big trouble, then get into bigger trouble, and then into complete disaster, and maybe they can get out of it." I, along with the audience cringed and jumped quite a few times and came out with white knuckles. The bottom line is, if you want to see a thrilling adventure, this is it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Strong Story, No Need For Bombs
Snowgo6 November 2015
I enjoyed Vertical Limit. One thing I would have done differently, as a director, is to eliminate the explosives. Blowing a hole at the top of the crevass that your friends and family are at the bottom of is folly, and even if you do feel the need to bring explosives (in avalanche country), use something relatively stable, like dynamite.

Dynamite would have been readily available, for it is used to mine Himalayan salt in Pakistan. Certainly, the man with the millions of dollars could have afforded some. The exclusion of explosives from the scenes would have contributed to a more believable Himalayan adventure (think Into Thin Air).

The story line was good, and I appreciated the strong, complex dynamics and connections between the brother and sister, and between the two siblings and the rescue team leader. While Vertical Limit strove to expose the harsh realities of technical climbing (especially at K2), however, it lost some steam by being very lax in re-creating the conditions that would have been met by the climbers, even at K2's Base Camp at 18,645 feet.

No one was even wearing hats at the alcohol-ridden "barbecue" at Base Camp, the night before the climb. It would have been blisteringly cold, between -20 and -50 farenheit. No professional climber would have been drinking alcohol at that time.

On the mountain, in the raging storm, the climbers did not even have the sense to pull the Cord-Locs on their hoods tight: Snow would have accumulated inside their hoods and parkas, then melting. There were some scenes when protective face masks were used, and that was excellent.

Chris O'Donnell's character makes a terrific leap onto a snowy cliff face. I am not entirely certain that the jump would have been possible in real-life, but just maybe. They should have made the jump less-ambitious and more believeable.

Although I am glad that there were not one but two women in the rescue team, in reality, they would have not been allowed: Women just don't have the brute force necessary to haul 200-pound guys down the mountain (or up on a rope).

While I am tempted to say that it is unrealistic that the veteran and renowned ascent team leader and National Geographic photographer (also a highly-experienced climber) could be cajoled into continuing the ascent after the severe storm warning had been issued to them, we have seen bad decisions in the past by real-life alpine team leaders,culminating to disaster.

Although it may seem that I am being very critical of Vertical Limit, my score of 8 shows that I am willing to forgive the sins that Hollywood felt compelled to commit. The strong inter-personal dynamics, memorable characters, strong story line in-general, and clear, bold decision making in the screenplay made this film worth watching. Heroism is always a welcome theme in the movies I watch, and in Vertical Limit, everyone's a hero in his or her own way.

Scott Glen's character as the rescue team leader and sage mountaineer was superb.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sweet!
Jack the Ripper188815 December 2002
If you are a great fan of action adventure films, then you will love VERTICAL LIMIT. I have loved these kinds of movies since I was a little tike and I still enjoy watching people get killed in a good, survival of the fittest type of action flick.

Chris O'Donnell, Bill Paxton, Robin Tunney, Scott Glenn, Izabella Scorupco and a bunch of other guys must try to survive atop of K2. The toughest mountain in the world. The icy coldness takes it's toll on them as the action heats up and the disasters rise. CLIFFHANGER would be a similar movie, if only it wasn't about money. Either way, they are both similar. The intense life/death sequences that earned the film a PG-13 rating are just that...intense.

If you are a fan or action, see this. VERTICAL LIMIT: 5/5.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Someone should burn the film this movie was made on
Blade-2811 December 2000
If you enjoy seeing a good action film, without having to listen to the sounds of snores and groans from the audience around you, DO NOT see this movie. This movie might be passible if they were intentionally trying to make a spoof. Sadly though, they actually expect people to take this movie seriously. In short, the writing is bad, the characters are shallow, the plot is obvious and pointless, and the action is laughable. You'll leave the theater nauseous and $5-10 dollars worse off. Buy a V-8 instead.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Movies like these make my life worth living.
MiloXylo17 July 2013
This one is full of adventure and is a story of courage.If you don't like such stuff then something is wrong with you.The movie keeps you right at the edge of your seat till it concludes.High altitude scenery is a must watch.If you love the nature and it's beauty then it's the movie for you.The rescue mission shown in this flick is a bit too enthusiastic though with the explosives and stuff.Normally the Pakistan Military comes for help whenever they are called for.Himalayas are the hunting ground for the Snow leopards(an endangered species),and those are been shown there.The snow leopard leads a largely solitary life so, a very well depiction of this fact.A worth watch.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Vertical Limit - an adrenalin rush for some
muskrat-51 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I know the experts have said how terrible this film was in regards to realism, but since I'm not a climber, I'm rating it on excitement level.

Vertical Limit is certainly an exciting film. I caught myself forgetting to breathe at many points throughout the film. It starts in the past, somewhere in the United States' Southwest. Here we see a father and his son and daughter climbing a vertical rock. An accident takes the life of the father and sets us up for the events that take place years later in the main part of the film.

Unless you are a climber and insist on an accurate depiction of the sport, I recommend this film for pure adrenalin rush.

Also, the scenery is absolutely some of the most beautiful in the world. It ALMOST makes me want to go climb a mountain (not really quite though).

Fans of Alexander Siddig (previously known as Siddig El Fadil) will want to watch this movie whether they are interested in climbing or not. He plays Pakistani crew-member Kareem, and yes, this film is set in Pakistan as they are supposedly climbing K2 in the Himalayas, but most of the movie is actually filmed in New Zealand. Only a few sequences were actually filmed in Pakistan (for "backgrounds").
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Incompetent film making
chmilar20 February 2002
While a number of comments admire the endless action of Vertical Limit, I found it tedious and, ultimately, boring.

The problem is the lack of both pacing and dramatic buildup. Each unbelievable new cliffhanger featuring these incompetent mountaineers is not much different from the last one. No cliffhanger contributes to the next one. It is just a string of unbelievable, disconnected "exciting" sequences.

Halfway through the movie, I would start laughing as a new cliffhanger developed. I waited to see how many ludicrous elements the director and writers could pile on (he's hanging from his ice axe over a cliff, the cornice is breaking; now the woman is hanging, and he's hanging off of her; now the nitro explodes; now an avalanche comes). But at the end of each sequence, someone is either saved or dead, and we move on as if nothing happened....

Great action directors know how to build excitement on top of excitement, with a rhythm. Each situation, while locally resolved, contributes to an even larger tension, until the audience is sitting at the edges of their seats.

Vertical Limit fails utterly to compound the tension of its action sequences. It ends up tedious and predictable.
35 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Vertical Limit!
Movie Nuttball18 January 2005
Vertical Limit is an excellent film that boasts a excellent cast which includes Bill Paxton, Chris O'Donnell, Robin Tunney, Scott Glenn, Temuera Morrison, Izabella Scorupco, and Roshan Seth. The acting by all of these actors is pretty good. I liked how Paxton was in this film. The action is really good and the mountain climbing and snow scenes are excellent. The film is very exciting and the music by James Newton Howard is great. The movie is directed greatly by Martin Campbell. This is a great and thrilling film. If you Bill Paxton, Chris O'Donnell, Robin Tunney, Scott Glenn, Temuera Morrison and the rest of the cast I've mentioned above and exciting non-stop action films then I Strongly recommend this film!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb Edge Of Your Seat Action-Adventure
sddavis6315 July 2001
I was absolutely glued to my seat the whole way through this stunning movie about the rescue of a group of mountain climbers stranded in the Himalayas. This movie features non-stop action which almost exhausts those watching it.

I find it strange that I have to say that none of the actors really stood out to me. Chris O'Donnell was ostensibly the "star" of the movie as Peter Garrett, a wildlife photographer for National Geographic who organizes the rescue of the team which included his sister Annie, played by Robin Tunney. Neither O'Donnell nor Tunney exactly captivated me. I was much more taken by Scott Glenn's performance as Montgomery Wick, the reclusive mountain climber who ends up leading the rescue mission. But this was a good ensemble cast. No one really took over, but everyone held up their end.

All sorts of subplots spin around in this. Questions of who should live and who should die when not everyone can make it; issues of greed taking priority over safety and good sense; the complicated brother-sister relationship of Peter and Annie. It all worked well. I'm not usually a great fan of adventure movies, but this is a must see - and even if you end up not liking the story, it's a must see even if only for the spectacular photography.

Personally, though, I can't think of anything not to like in this, and I rate it as a 10/10.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Spoilers from here.
Ivarq11 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Not only vertical but also horizontal limits are achieved after watching this "heroic climber film". Go see 'The Eiger Sanction' instead. It is embarrassing to see how the climbers are portrayed here. They are clumsy, stooped and drag some weird explosives to the mountains. There is also a mysterious snowman-climber and king of the hill who lost his wife years ago and lives now only in mountains and his only food is mantra "om mani padme hum". Certainly not believable either. Chris O' Donnell though is a good actor and the other "members" of the cast are also good. This is worth 2 votes. What this film lacks is reality based storytelling. There is also a bit of a problem with timing, film is a little too long.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed