The Ladies Man (2000) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
84 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Fun
drosse6710 September 2004
I'm probably one of the few who thought this movie was hilarious. I mean, how can you NOT laugh at Will Ferrell and Lee Evans breaking into a song about how they're going to beat up the title character ("the bastard's going to pay!") The movie gets funnier and stranger in the second hour, when anything resembling a plot was apparently tossed out the window. Leon Phelps is a unique Saturday Night Live creation. If you don't expect much (as I did going in), you may just find yourself in stitches. Granted, this is not the stuff of classic comedy, but it's not the "one star" comedy that most critics called it.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ahh... yet another instant classic from the people over at Saturday Night Live.
chrisbrown645315 May 2002
Sometimes they get lucky and have a hit on their hands (Wayne's World, the first one, not the second). But most often they have duds (It's Pat comes to mind rather quickly). This time out it's Tim Meadows as The Ladies Man. This movie falls somewhere in between a hit and a dud. It was very funny for the first 20 minutes, but then, as usually happens with SNL skits, it starts to slow down, before finally ending, long after it should have.

Tim Meadows is Leon Phelps, a radio DJ with a nightly show called The Ladies Man. He answers any and all questions dealing with sex and relationships, usually in the crudest way possible. Everything seems to ultimately come down to the butt. After pushing the buttons of the station manager, Leon, along with his producer Julie (Karyn Parsons) gets fired, and needs to find another job. Out of the random blue, comes a letter from one of his ex-ladies. The letter offers him wealth and luxury for the rest of his life, the only problem being that the letter isn't signed. So Leon needs to track down all the women he's been with to find the woman of his dreams. But sometimes, as Billy Dee Williams says in the film, the woman of your dreams is standing right in front of you. There is also a sub-plot about a bunch of guys who's wives/girlfriends have all slept with Leon, and they want to first figure out who he is (by a tattoo he has on a part of his anatomy), then kill him. Leading this bunch of guys is, surprise! Will Ferrell from SNL. First off, I thought the sub-plot was rather lame. The singing and dancing stuff was just completely worthless. I usually like Will Ferrell but here he just never clicked for me. And the rest of the guys were just schlubs who tagged along, and in the end all decided that having their wives/girlfriends cheat on them was in fact their fault. So back to the main story. The story basically centers around Leon and sex. So what it comes down to is, if you don't like the character of Leon, you won't like the movie. His voice, his mannerisms, his dialogue is what carries the movie. I am not a big fan of Tim Meadows. I never thought he was a particularly good actor on SNL. The only thing I ever really liked of his, was his Ladies Man skits. But the best thing about those, is that they usually involved the guest host (remember the one with Cameron Diaz?), and they were short. For about 5 minutes, they were pretty funny. And here, for about 20 minutes, it's really funny. What I thought was good about the character in the movie, is that he stayed in character throughout. He never wavered from his wanted to just get laid persona. Until right at the end where there was this transformation, and the ever present speech to tie things up. Other than that, it was pretty good at keeping Leon as Leon, and not changing him into something less crude than he was. There isn't a lot of substance to this movie, if you couldn't guess. But like I said earlier, the beginning of the movie I found to be very funny. Some real laugh out loud moments, all revolving around sex and his crudeness. The problem of course with this movie, and most other SNL spin offs, is that these are characters that are only supposed to be shown for a few minutes at a time. Stretching the concept into 80 minutes is very difficult. That difficulty is obviously why they needed the sub-plot, because without it, this movie would have been a little under an hour. When it was good, it was good, but when it wasn't good, it got to be boring.

So overall, The Ladies Man wasn't as bad as other SNL films, but it wasn't as good as others. It had some funny moments, the first 20 minutes was pretty good, but the rest of it dragged on. There was an unnecessary sub-plot whose only purpose was to lengthen the film. The bottom line is, if you like Tim Meadows and his Leon Phelps character, you'll be able to watch the film. If he annoys you, don't even bother going. Unless you just want to see Tiffani Theissen in some nice revealing clothing.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Is it an Oscar Winner? No. Is it the greatest ever? No. Is it so silly and funny, that it is fun to watch? Yes!
korch-36 August 2002
The Ladies Man was never made to win awards, or put Tim Meadows at the top of the hottest actors list. What it was made to do, is to make you laugh. Now, if you are still interested in seeing this movie, please do so. Not only is Tim Meadows a riot as the fish sandwich eating, houseboat living, stud muffin, but "Wrestling" Will Ferrell, and the rest of the cast are great as well.

I'd give this movie 6 out of 10, just for the goofy jokes, and laughs it got out of me.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This movie was dorky as heck, but...
Jackster16 October 2000
I loved it. It was just what I needed after a hard day at work. Tim Meadows was freaky and disgusting. Heehee! He is so dang cute, I could hardly contain myself. He says some great one-liners and I laughed out loud a few times. This movie was hands down "craptacular" in my book and definitely in keeping with several other fine SNL films.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How does anyone not find this hilarious?
paulwinnett10 January 2008
Do you like really inventive comedy or do you love "the wedding crashers", if the answer is the latter stop reading now. I can't believe this movie is not higher rated. Basically Meadows plays a character not unlike Austin Powers.There are so many inventive moments in this gagorama. From crudity - Leon playing with himself on the porch, the ex boyfriend tricked into eating . . Oh well. To inspired lunacy- clown sex , the Broadway routine, the voice over. Meadows is great as the childish, but very sweet natured Leon. Some great lines "don't blame the wang" "freaky deaky sex world" too many. . . Why this movie wasn't huge is a mystery. Great comedy.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Movie of the century
soothymocha21 May 2018
This movie is beyond acceptional, it is revolutionary drama, murder mystery, romance, teen drama, and movie for seniors. It has everything to a great movie, acting, cinematography, editing, and of course, writing. This is the movie of the century and the reviews really don't highlight that
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Built for five minutes, not eighty
StevePulaski30 August 2013
The fact that The Ladies Man originated from a skit on Saturday Night Live should surprise no one who has seen and disliked the film. The film feels exactly like a character who belongs in skits roughly five to eight minutes long, who will occasionally say something funny in those five to eight minutes, and then end on a comic-bang before the screenwriter decides to cut over to another sketch. The sad thing about The Ladies Man is it focuses on its title character (played by a clearly inspired Tim Meadows) for eighty long, often tedious minutes, completely deluding the character's comic effect because it must be referenced with almost every line he says.

I've discussed how tedious and often frustratingly unfunny Saturday Night Live films can often be (I wrote a whole blog on it three years back, so that should give an idea of how opinionated I was). Their main complaint links most of their films (with notable exceptions of the Wayne's World titles) in that they have difficultly giving their character's antics enough to do for a film's runtime. "The Ladies Man" character already has enough energy to be in a eighty minute film, but does he have the humor, plot, and charisma capabilities of carrying such precious minutes? How far does a sexist, afro-rockin' radio host go? The answer is not very far, but the film is at least buoyed by the competence and appeal of Tim Meadows, who can do no wrong in films as far as I'm concerned. His presence is casual and his attitude often laidback, even when he's playing a character as tiresome as this one. He plays Leon "The Ladies Man" Phelps, a studly black radio host who is known for his outspoken sexism on air during his nighttime show where he gives female callers shallow advice about relationships. The first thirty minutes of the film show his attitude and serve as nothing but a showcase for redundant jokes akin to that of modern Saturday Night Life sketches.

When the story finally does get going, it's lame and serves more as filler than as a significant plot. It follows a man who finds his wife cheating on him, only to spot a naked black man running outside his home with a smiley face tattooed on his rear. Turns out, there is a website dedicated to finding this man and a group of angry husbands meet up to try and track down the man who pleasures their wives. The result is a tiresome array of unfunny marital jokes and a predictable but slightly catchy song and dance number.

Tim Meadows (who serves as co-write on this film) is clearly inspired when playing "The Ladies Man." His personality is always energetic and here he plays a character he completely created and "perfected" himself. There is a genuine sense of fun and comfortableness when playing this role. The issue is that "The Ladies Man" is so thin and uninteresting as a character that he's more of an idea. In that regard, Meadows does a great job at playing an idea.

I return full circle to my point that I made in the beginning that stated that the films focuses on a character that feels exactly like he belongs in concise skits on Television. It's no surprise that after about fifteen minutes of laughing with and at the character, I began to be burdened with feelings of tedium. This only influences my point that a character with this personality belongs in shorts seventy-five minutes shorter than the film The Ladies Man.

Starring: Tim Meadows, Karyn Parsons, Billy Dee Williams, John Witherspoon, Will Ferrell, and Eugene Levy. Directed by: Reginald Hudlin.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Actually a Hilarious Movie
jts040516 July 2006
Yes it may be goofy and may not seem as funny as many high budget comedies out there, but this movie is truly hilarious if you really watch it. Tim Meadows has always struck me as being funny off of the Saturday Night Live show. Whenever he would do this character on the show I would crack up laughing. So after I saw this was going to be playing on Comedy Central one night I decided to check it out. All in all I was farily impressed with this movie, because it wasn't meant to win any Oscars or become comedy of the year, but it did entertain the Saturday Night Live fans that love the Ladies Man character. This movie is also packed with some highly quotable lines that can be recited for years to come.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Nothing spectacular, but still funny
spazierganger14 October 2000
The Ladies Man is a funny movie. There's not much thought behind it, but what do you expect from an SNL movie? It's actually better than most SNL movies (i.e. Superstar or A Night At The Roxbury) Tim Meadows and Will Ferrell were both very funny. Chris Parnell was also funny in his short scene (one of the funnier ones in the movie). Other than that, the rest of the cast is average and is just there to support Meadows. I've definitely seen funnier movies, but I've seen dumber ones too. Again, it's not exactly a deep movie, but it's good for a few laughs. It was funnier as a skit though. But still, if you're looking for a pretty funny movie, I'd recommend this one. Just don't think about it too much, or you'll hate it.

Rating: 6/10
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"Ladies Man" is a Surreal Screwball Comedy
hypestyle24 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I picked up the DVD a few weeks ago and finally got to see the whole film.

This film is hilarious! There were so many WTF!! moments... ;D It helps if you just accept this as a screwball comedy from the get-go. Characters break the fourth wall early on, so that's something to keep in mind.

Tim Meadows plays Leon, a Chicago-based late-night radio talk show host, "The Ladies' Man", who focuses on love & romance related issues. He's popular, but controversial, as his on-air commentaries are frequently raunchy and ribald. One evening, the station manager (Eugene Levy) has had enough and he fires Leon and his producer (played by Karyn Parsons of TV's "Fresh Prince"). In the meanwhile, a strange all-male support group plots to track down Leon for, shall we say, making them cuckolds. The leader of the group is played by fellow Saturday Night Live alumnus Will Ferrell.

Tim Meadow's Leon is clueless, moronic and sex-obsessed, but also a decent guy, deep down. His portrayal is of a man that is grossly out of touch with reality, yet obtusely hidden gems of wisdom can be found within his crude radio commentaries.

The story of being the adopted son of Hugh Hefner was nuts! We never find out whether it was true or not-- a cameo by the real Hugh Hefner would have been cool.

Billy Dee Williams as Lester.. spot on! (And at first I thought he might be Leon's real dad.) Did I miss any Colt 45 product placement? ...Here's the always reliable John Witherspoon ("scrap iron"? LOL...) ...and of course the director as Leon's tailor! Karyn Parsons.. so lovely, and amiable as the straight woman to Tim's antics as Leon. (she needs another TV show!) Tiffani Thiessen... I admired her from afar on Saved By the Bell, but... wow... (repeat: she needs another TV show!) ...The woman who plays Candy.. I'd swear I've heard her voice before..

Will Ferrell does so much here it's insane... He pretty much takes over every scene he's in.. the first VSA meeting is gold...

The song and dance sequence.. who did the choreography? The bar food challenge was one of the most hilarious-- and disgusting-- segments in the movie!! ... there was a whole lot of liquor consumed in this film-- or maybe it was really iced tea or something? ...So many left field appearances lend to the pleasantly surreal atmosphere of the narrative. Tamala Jones.. nice!! Julianne Moore.... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!?????????? Then Julianne Moore in a clown outfit...?!!!!!!!!?!?!??! ... I wonder what was involved in decorating Leon's funky houseboat digs? (and where'd that remote control come from? , LOL) You'll enjoy this film whether you rent it, buy it or stream it.

Tim Meadows is an underrated, underused talent, especially considering his long tenure on Saturday Night Live. This film only received modest returns at the box office, but it is definitely worth checking out.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Masterfull
Bigcritic7319 March 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Tim Meadows has to be the most underrated of SNL's recent cast members. What initially was a low-brow look at a sleazy gigilo develops into a thoroughly entertaining 90 minute run, albeit, still low-brow. Don't pop this one in expecting beautiful cinematography or Oscar-worthy performances. Walk into it expecting brilliant silliness with Tim Meadows and Will Ferrell doing what they do best - making the audience laugh.

Leon "The Ladies' Man" Phelps is a naive, likable radio sex show host who knows very little about anything except the ways of the wang. As a gifted Ladies Man, he lays waste to the wives of countless saps who've banded together in order to hunt him down. The director does an inspired job of guiding the actors on a comedic tryst which makes up completely for the lack of plot development. How much plot would one expect from an SNL skit? While some scenes are a little off the mark, for the most part, Meadows' one liners and absurd sexual comments hit the funny bone squarely. For instance, in one scene, Meadows compares himself to Mother Theresa, but for bonin'. Sure it's crass, but don't we all in the privacy of our homes get a chuckle out of his advice to an entire city for "doin' it in the butt"? In another scene, immediately after a heartfelt kiss with the female lead, he suddenly remembers the name of his would be benefactor, a woman he slept with years ago. He stands up in front of the woman who's obviously fallen for him and proclaims that "The Ladies' Man is back," to her obvious chagrin.

Billy Dee Williams hits the ball out of the park as the bartender/narrator. Will Ferrell, the repressed homosexual, rounds out solid performances.

See this movie if you're into adult humor. If not, stay away with extreme prejudice.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Ledgendary Character. Watched many times, should be apart of every collection,
ghostintoner5 May 2004
Everyone should know this movie, everybody should watch this movie. Any man, any women. Leon Phelps, 'The Ladies man,' is cool, smooth and very funny. He has a cool job, and he gets the best women. Will Ferrell (S.N.L., Zoolander, Old school)adds great comedy value. The actor who played Norm from 'Something about Mary' plays alongside Ferrell as they are both victims their wives infidelity to Leon. With a small appearance by that dad from American Pie. And Valery from 'The Fresh Prince of Belair' is the producer of Leons talk show.

I found this little gem on 'Foxtel' one day and was addicted. I bought the dvd now and have watched it many times. It's one of my best movies in the collection with other greats like Predator, Monty Pythons 'Life of Brian' and every Pearl Jam D.V.D. there is.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Another failed attempt for SNL
mattymatt4ever1 May 2001
First of all, I'd like to say that I love the "Ladies' Man" sketch on SNL. I always laugh out loud at Tim Meadows' portrayal of Leon Phelps. However, there is a difference between an 8-minute sketch and a feature-length movie. Watching Leon doing his show and making obscene comments to his listeners and coming up with all sorts of segments for his show, like "The Ladies Man Presents..." which is reminiscent of "Alfred Hitchcock Presents..." is absolutely hilarious. There's a great episode where Cameron Diaz role-plays Monica Lewinski, and Leon plays Bill and they call it "The Oral Office." See, that's funny!!!

In the movie, we don't see Leon on the show too often. In fact, he gets kicked out of almost every radio station in the country. And the plot revolves around his quest for true love, involving a mystery letter that got dropped off at his houseboat, signed by "Sweet Thing." Karyn Parsons, who is famous for playing Hillary on "Fresh Prince of Bel Air," works with him on the show and has a secret crush on Leon. The movie just piles on one boring subplot after another. And the gags are boring as well. The first time we see Leon mention the word "wang" it's pretty funny. When he uses it over and over again, supposedly trying to get a laugh, the joke has run dry. Most of the jokes he uses in the film are jokes we heard before, and done better, on the SNL sketch and played out tediously for a whole hour and twenty-five minutes. They even try to insert a musical number by Will Ferrell and his gang of Ladies' Man haters, who all want to destroy him because their wives had an affair with him, to bring some life into this witless comedy. Ferrell has some funny moments, and tries to make the best out of an otherwise unfunny role. Ferrell just has that unique comic talent, and he's funny at almost anything he does. Even Julianne Moore gets a cameo. Watching her, you can't but wonder "What the hell is an Oscar-winning actress doing in this movie??!!!!" Her name wasn't mentioned in the opening credits--probably by her consent. And of course a movie of this theme has to include the Master of Love himself, Billy Dee Williams. Billy Dee is charismatic as always, but even he can't breathe enough life into this film. I also have to add that the soundtrack is full of soft R & B hits, which impairs the film even more, giving it a horribly downbeat tone--as if the script isn't boring enough. I mean, this is "supposed" to be a comedy. The soundtrack would've been appropriate for something like "Love Jones."

"The Ladies Man" only has sporadic laughs. There are exceptions in which SNL can produce a great movie out of a short sketch. Watch both of the "Wayne's World" movies, and you'll see how it's done. But this movie, just like adapting Mary Catherine Gallagher's character to screen in "Superstar," shows the flip side. Some sketches are meant to be remembered on SNL, and not on the silver screen.

My score: 3 (out of 10)
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Maybe the unfunniest comedy ever.
Mr. Pulse24 February 2001
I could name plenty of funny movies. There are comedies that set out to be funny, and are. Some movies, like a Gymkata for example, try to be serious but end up funny. The Ladies Man is a film that is desperately trying to be funny, but could not be less funny if it was about a guy who got a lot of chicks in the middle of the wreckage of a nuclear holocaust. It's anti-funny.

I don't think I laughed harder than a chuckle at anything in this movie. It's simply unfunny. It's boring, stupid, inane, annoying, mind-bogglingly bad, but not funny. I don't particularly care for Tim Meadows, or this character from SNL, but I expected better than this.

The movie is completely lacking logic or common sense. It's like the script writer had a bag over his head while he was typing and he couldn't see which keys he was hitting. They tell the "origin" of the Ladies Man, but fail to include a motivation for his bizarre fascination with acting like it's still the seventies. The movie tries to get humor out of a man who appears to pleasuring himself to porn, shortly after he tried to hang himself. This is comedy? I like to consider myself having a pretty keen sense of humor (Spending a lot of time writing comedy as I do), but maybe I'm just not quite bright enough for this film.

Lee Evans, so funny as Tucker in There's Something About Mary, is outrageously bad here. I was pleading with him in my head to shut up.

By the end I was pounding on my chair, muttering under my breath, and had the film gone on any longer, would probably have attempted suicide. This film might not be as bad as Battlefield Earth, but it's the first movie I've seen that's come close.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Another Classic comedy!
floyd-freak19 July 2019
I've watched this movie for years, can't even count how many times I've seen it and every time I laugh as hard as the first time.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not the funniest movie ever, but it's funny enough, once again thanks a lot to Will Ferrell
Jackpollins13 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
In the comedy, The Ladies Man, Tim Meadows plays Leon Phelps, a radio host, who gets fired from his radio station, and is being hunted down by a psycho named Lance (a literally breathtakingly funny Will Ferrell). Now Leon must get his pride, and his job back. The only problem is his radio show consists of completely sex talk, and he can't stop hooking up with the ladies. The first step for him to get his pride back is to find out who sent him a mysterious love letter. This involves running into lots of extremely angry women he just had sex with once and they never heard from him again. The movie is essentially a mix of him trying to avoid people who are mad at him, and purposely running into people who are mad at him. The movie is not smart, it is funny, it isn't Oscar-worthy, it is entertaining. I've got to admit, this might not have been as good if it wasn't for Will Ferrell, a great talent who basically steals the show as one of the many people who have become deranged with anger, and are determined to find Leon. The only real message you can get out of this film is Will Ferrell can make any comedy into an extremely funny one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Courvoisier - Yes that is a drink.
das_glockenspiel13 March 2006
The Ladies Man is laugh out loud funny, with a great diverse cast as well as having some very stupid but excellent scenes (including the funniest love song ever written).

Ferrell is his usual quality self in a brilliant side role.

Tim Meadows plays an idiot surprisingly well and has written himself some of the funniest lines you'll find in any comedy out there.

It is definitely worth a purchase as watching it every 6 months or so will lead to you still laughing as hard as you did first time round.

I am distraught to think at the time of writing this that it has a meagre 4.7 /10 and i urge you to vote!

And remember kids- "Theres more motion in the ocean"
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You'll speak like Leon for weeks.
Furcus15 February 2006
I must say, this movie has given me a dual personality. I've been told again and again to SHUT UP and start speaking like a normal person. But, it's very hard... no not the wang. Did you find that disgusting and disrespectful? Well, get in the mood for a lot more. This movie is just filthy! It's not a film to show your grand-parents, but you should show it to a teenager or some immature guy at your workplace. Anyway, back to the voice mannerisms. Fortunately this site has some Ladies Man (did anyone at the studio notice that there's supposed to be a apostrophe(?) between the e and s?) so you can always have a fine little something to say to your boss or the cops. I have a sheet in my wallet.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cognac for Everyone
kylew9922 December 2005
This movie was so good. Leon Phelps is hilarious. I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!! I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!I went out after and bought a case of Cognac!!!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great comedy in Leon Phelp's style
katieh5612 February 2003
as an avid snl watcher over the years, tim meadows' leon phelps character is one of the top 5 snl characters ever. if you dont like the inappropriate humor - dont see the movie. but if you enjoy the bits on snl, then the movie totally rocks. i loved the movie the first time i saw it, and after purchasing it, it's only grown funnier and funnier over time. i quote it (GREAT lines such as "i see on your resume under interests you list dabutt.... oh yeah that's da butt.") and could go on for days quoting. all in all, i'm a huge fan. if you're looking for a good date movie - this isn't really it. but if you want classic leon, go for it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Silly, dumb fun.
davidtan5 January 2003
Enjoyable and watchable. Tim Meadows at his best. A big boost from Billy Dee Williams. He and a very funny John Witherspoon provide a solid foundation for Mr. Meadows' riffing. Have fun with this one.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not Quite a Love or Laugh Session
EmperorNortonII20 September 2002
"The Ladies Man" suffers a common problem among movies based on "Saturday Night Live" skits. And that is, a sketch that usually succeeds in five minutes will not do so well in ninety minutes. Although this movie does have its laughs, like Tim Meadows as Leon Phelps, a sex-maniac straight out of the '70s, and Will Ferrell as a wrestling-obsessed husband cuckolded by Leon. So this movie is funny enough, but it's no "Wayne's World"!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not great, but there's a lot worse out there.
smerph22 June 2002
Here's a weird film. Largely unworthy of a smile throughout it's running time, it does occasionally produce some laugh-out loud moments. The impromptu dance number is a highlight as are some of the key performances (Will Ferrell, Billy Dee Williams, Tiffani Theissen) but this is all pretty forgettable stuff. Don't get me wrong : it's not a bad movie but just not all that good, either.

2/5
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better than recent SNL films, but no Wayne's World
CptObvious15 October 2000
The choice to make this SNL skit into a movie was far better thought out than other recent ones. The humor involved in the character is not annoyance humor, and is also character driven enough to be stretched out for an hour or two.

Oddly enough the sexual content seemed like it could be avoided, but that may have been because the constraints of live television schooled me to not expect it. I suppose I was thinking more "Leisure Suit Larry" risqué than the producers were...

Definitely not a PG-13 movie, which will probably hurt it from ever reaching the heights of its more successful predecessors, but still better premise and writing than its more dismal ones.

I liked it, but I doubt it will be a smash hit... (which is sad, as Tim Meadows tends not to do characters that annoy me with quite the frequency other SNL alumni tend to)
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Take it for what it is
cschenk-115 February 2002
I really don't understand why people get so upset and pan this movie! Remember folks, this is an SNL movie, not anything that is supposed to be unpredictable and original in plot or direction! The Ladies Man is a hilarious movie, albeit stupid at times, with a wacked-out cast and, as usual, WONDERFUL performances by Will Ferrel and Tim Meadows. Yes some of the jokes are stupid, and yes, the characters are unbelievable but its comedy! I really don't understand how anyone couldn't laugh a lot during this hilarious film. Anyway, all I ask is that people take this as it is--an SNL, silly and irreverent comedy. Nothing that will win awards, but nonetheless, some modern comedy gold. "10-4 Apricot!"
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed