Movie Poster


Parents Guide

Add to guide (Coming Soon)
Showing all 28 items



Sex & Nudity

  • Season 2: Some examples of the stronger sexual scenes include a man masturbating while watching porn (Episode 7); a brief depiction of a side-profile view of two men having sex (Episode 7); and a sex scene portraying two couples having sex separately on the same bed while being watched by a naked man in the corner of their room (Episode 10).
  • Season 3: The series contains several sexual scenes with the strongest ones occurring in Episode 12, where there is a prolonged scene in which a heterosexual couple is seen engaging in sexual activity with female upper-body nudity clearly visible, as well as a scene portraying two men kissing passionately while lying on the bed and removing each other's clothing.
  • Season 4: Some of the stronger sexual scenes include an implied scene of a man performing oral sex on another man (Episode 2); sexual foreplay between two women (Episode 3); a couple engaged in sexual activity (Episode 4); a man performing oral sex on another man in a car (Episode 5); two women kissing each other and engaging in sexual foreplay (Episode 8); and two men implied to be having sex (Episode 8).
  • Season 5: This season contains several sexual scenes, but with minimal nudity featured.

Violence & Gore

  • Every episode begins with a death/deaths. Not very gory but still can be disturbing.
  • There are violent images and sequences of murder and accident scenes that are bloody and disturbing.
  • Examples of violence include a man cut in half by an elevator. His corpse is shown later. A young gay man gets beaten death. Not much is shown, but it is very upsetting. David gets car jacked by a disturbed individual in one episode.


  • The series also contains other coarse language, such as ass
  • -- Six Feet Under Season 2 --
  • Season 2: The series features the use of some coarse language, such as "motherf**k", "c**t", "pu**y", "f**k", etc.
  • -- Six Feet Under Season 4 --
  • Language that denigrates religion or is religiously profane (e.g. "Jesus f***ing Christ") is present in this series.
  • The series contains utterances of some religious profanities in Episode 2 (In Case Of Rapture), Episode 5 (That's My Dog) and Episode 10 (The Black Forest).
  • The series also features the use of some other coarse language, such as "motherf**k", "c**t", "pu**y", "f**k", etc.
  • -- Six Feet Under Season 5 --
  • Language that denigrates religion or is religiously profane is present in this series.
  • The second episode of this season, 'Dancing For Me', contains utterances of a religious profanity ("Jesus f**k").
  • There are also various usage of expletives such as "f**k", "motherf**ker", "cocksucker" and "c**t".

Alcohol, Drugs & Smoking

  • Alcohol/Drugs/Smoking is a common theme throughout out the series. drug use is prevalent in all seasons. Lots of casual drinking and use of marijuana. Almost all drugs are shown ecstasy, cocaine, crack, shrooms, LSD, some teens shown smoking crystal meth in the pilot episode. Addiction or experimentation is a minor plot point for some characters

Frightening & Intense Scenes

  • -- Season 2 --
  • Season 2: Nate Fisher learns that he has a tumor in his brain and is contemplating on whether to get it removed. His brother, David Fisher, on the other hand, is trying to come to terms about his breakup with Keith. Meanwhile, their mother is being kept in the dark about Nate's condition while at the same time trying to accept David's sexuality.
  • -- Six Feet Under: Season 3 (2003) --
  • Season 3: depicts eldest brother Nate Fisher's apparently blissful marriage with his wife Lisa who later goes missing and is found dead; younger brother David's troubled relationship with his partner Keith; youngest sister Claire's recurrent failed relationships; and their mother Ruth's unexpected romance. A subplot on the homosexual relationship between David and Keith is portrayed throughout all episodes of this season.
  • -- Six Feet Under Season 4 (2004) --
  • Season 4: covers the various characters' relationship woes and struggles; including mother Ruth Fisher's struggles with her second marriage; the love triangle between Nate Fisher, his girlfriend Brenda and her friend Joe; etc.
  • -- Six Feet Under (Season 5) --
  • Some segments portray, as a main theme, same-sex marriage or parenting in the series.
  • Season 5: David Fisher and his partner Keith decide that they wish to become parents. They explore the two options of surrogacy and adoption but end up adopting a pair of brothers, Anthony and Durrell. David and Keith subsequently deal with the difficulties of caring for the adopted children who are initially rebellious but soon grow to accept David and Keith as their adoptive parents.

See also

Taglines | Plot Summary | Synopsis | Plot Keywords

Recently Viewed