Maya Bazaar (1957) Poster

(1957)

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A Must See
rgulla16 December 2004
After watching movies like, Lord of the Rings, Troy, Harry Potter, Flash Gordon etc, one would wonder what this movie made by Indians in 1957 offers in terms of story, special effects, acting and all. But there ends the doubt. Maya bazaar is a tale which revolves around the kidnapping of Balarama's daughter Sasi rekha by Bhima's son Gatothgaja and her wedding to Abhimanyu, son of Arjuna. Full of special effects, camera tricks by the famous camera man Marcus Bartley, this movie is a visual feast to even modern audiences. The incredible star cast includes SVR, NTR, ANR, CSR, Relangi, Ramana Reddy, Savitri, Mukkamala, Mikkineni, and Surya kantam is unmatched in any other such venture. One can doubtlessly credit each of the above actors with a modern day Oscar (for lack of better recognized awards).

The story starts with Balarama promising his sister Subhadra that her son Abhimanyu,(Arjunas son) will be given his daughter Sasi rekha in marriage. This is endorsed by Balarama's brother, Sri Krishna. Abhimanyu and Sasi rekha are just kids when this promise is made and they eventually grow up separately in their own houses i.e Indra prasta and Dwaraka respectively. But as fate would have it, the Pandavas lose their wealth, kingdom in an unjust game of dice and are condemned to a 13 year exile by the Kauravas. Subhadra along with Abhimanyu seeks asylum with her brothers, Balarama and Sri Krishna. Balarama sets out to condemn the injustice done by the Kauravas to the Pandavas. But the Dushtachatushtayam (evil quadrangle formed by Duryodhana, Dushyasana, Sakuni and Karna) honour the furious Balarama and pacify him with praises and trick him into believing that the game of dice was won in a just way. The easily pleased Balarama returns to Dwaraka after promising Duryodhana that Sasi rekha would become his son's wife.

This news reaches Subhadra and she feels insulted by this gesture made by her own brother in seeking alliance with the enemies of her husband. Sasi rekha who is in love since her childhood with Abhimanyu is heart broken. Subhadra and Abhimanyu plan to leave Dwaraka unable to bear this. But the All knowing Sri Krishna, asks the charrioteer to take them to Gatothgaja's ashram instead. In course of time, after a few encounters with Gatothgaja's rakshasas and with Gatothgaja himself, Abhimanyu and Subhadra are united with Gatothgaja and his mother Hidimbi who is Bhima's wife. The brothers plan to take revenge on the Dushtachatushtayam after Abhimanyu recounts to his brother the events leading to Sasi rekha's planned wedding with Lakshmana, Duryodhana's son. Eventually, Gatothgaja with the help of Sri Krishna, kidnaps Sasi rekha and transports her to his ashrama where she is united with Abhimanyu. Gatothgaja, with his maya disguises himself as Sasi rekha and replaces her in Dwaraka after asking his henchmen Chinnamaya to build a welcome palace for the Kauravas who are set to arrive with the wedding procession. Chinnamaya along with Lambu and Jambu designs and builds a welcome palace with his MAYA and that is the MAYA BAZAAR. It is here that the wedding procession arrives with the groom Lakshmana and the Dushtachatushtayam, and the events that follow are hilarious.

The various events that take place in the MAYA BAZAAR where the bride's party caters to all the whims of the groom's party, with a funny twist for each are remarkable. The false Sasi rekha(Gatothgaja in disguise) behaves with Lakshmana in such a way that he starts becoming frightened of her and the final drama at the wedding alter leads the groom's party into believing that the bride Sasi rekha(Gatothgaja in disguise) is possessed by evil spirits. The Dushtachatushtayam blame Sri Krishna for all this because of this partiality towards the Pandavas. Ultimately Sri Krishna reveals to Balarama that the Dushtachatushtayam had tricked him by making him fall for their courtesy into this and explains that the true Sasi rekha is being married to Abhimanyu for the same muhurtam. The Dushtachatushtayam are bashed up and transported to Hastinapura and the rest attend Sasi rekha's wedding all by Gatothgaja's maya.

The sequences where Sasi rekha(Gatothgaja in disguise) meets Lakshmana for the first time, where Sasi rekha(Gatothgaja in disguise) eats up the food meant for the entire host, where Chinnamaya, lambu and jambu torture the groom's sidekicks are totally hilarious. The director has left no stone unturned in squeezing the best from all the cast. Songs are wonderful and are melodiously informative. Poems are circumstantial adding punch to the already marvelous dialogues. The skeleton for the story is derived from the Mahabharata but the meat is mostly fictional.

I have a personal feeling that this is the best movie, ever made. This is a movie for everyone and is made to perfection.
35 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best movie ever
malipalli24 September 2005
You are not alone in thinking this is the best movie ever made, rgulla. In a poll conducted in AP, this movie was voted the best telugu movie ever made, and I totally agree.

What makes this movie fascinating is, in my opinion, this is only movie ever made that speaks to all ages at the same time. Harry potter is a children's' movie, we all know that. Similarly there are adult, young people's movies etc. But this is the only movie that a child can see for the magic and Gatothkacha. A young adult will watch the love story, and finally, an older adult will see the interaction between the two families, the politics that are played out. To top it off, for the retired person, this is a religious movie! No other movie, in any other language, is able to reach out to every moviegoer of every age.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Movie in Telugu Film Industry
reacharif22 January 2012
Perhaps the complete cinema in its era, Mayabazar with its stellar cast continues to amaze the Telugu audience till date... If the Telugu film industry can be divided into two eras then, it would be Pre and Post Mayabazar... That's how big the movie is... It was, it is and it will remain the CLASSIC for eternity... It has big heavy weights of Telugu Film Industry donning in various roles... ANR as Abhimanyu; SVR as Ghatothkacha and above all NTR donning the role of Lord Krishna.... Particularly NTR's subtle dialogue delivery and magnificent stature lights up the frame when he is there... The ever gorgeous Savithri is at her best... Adorable beauty she remains...

To sum it all, the events in the Movie do not truly depict of what happened in Mahabharata (The Epic of Hindu Mythology)... The likes of K.V. Reddy came out with a brilliant idea of weaving a small skit in the form of MAYABAZAR... The stand out point in the movie is "Marcus Bartley's" stunning light effects for the song "Lahiri Lahiri Lo..." The frame has been caught to perfection in every minute detail.. Hats off to that...

The movie was digitally remastered in color in the year 2008. They had to do away with some editing as the original movie tape was badly damaged in the testimony of time.. The newer version is Nevertheless, it lived up to its expectations... The movie came out exceptionally well and K.V.Reddy would have been proud of that..

If Moghal-E-Azam is to Hindi Film Industry then, the south India claims to have Mayabazar ... If a person were to draw comparison, then that would be it.. Both were magnum opus in their own way...

Go ahead and watch it in color and be enthralled !!! I will give it 10 out of 10... I consider myself blessed to have been born in the MAYABAZAR era....
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
fuchsiaeyes3711 January 2006
This movie I have been watching since I was a little girl. Even though I speak very little Telegu, I find that I need not know how to speak the language to understand what is going on. My father and I still make jokes about little lines that I remember. I dare not type them, for I do not know how to spell them, only how they sound. This movie is truly amazing, and an instant classic! I love how the giant changes into so many different things, and the bow and arrows used. The stunts are perfect. I am in the middle of ordering a DVD copy, so I may watch it all the time. I fell in love with music after listening to the soundtrack, hearing songs that me and my father still sing, once again, not daring to write to words, because I don't know how to spell them.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A pleasant surprise
sinful-217 January 2017
First I will start saying I watched the shorter color only around 162 min. I would have liked to see the full version but this was the one I could get my hands on.

Honestly I was very doubtful I would enjoy this movie before watching it. But I had some hopes since I always like good adventure and mythology movies.

I was a bit confused in the start about some of the characters as I am not knowing much about the Hindi religion and do not have one drop of Indian blood in me. But I thought the story was inviting and moving ahead at a good pace and you got interested in getting deeper into it and find out what would happen. After a while you find out the main problem in the movie. At that time you are not one second in doubt how it will end for the two young lovers, but you cannot foresee the exiting journey to the end.

I would call this movie a romantic adventure comedy. The romance is the main thing in the movie. But when you see that there are gods involved you already know it will not be without magic.

The music in the movie is fine. I am honestly not a lover of this type of singing/dancing but the acting was good and it was used to progress the story and there was not too much of it in my opinion. If you do hate the singing/dancing then you can use those moments to get some fresh coffee :-)

The acting in the movie was great by those that meant most to the story line and I had a good time with the movie and some laughs. Some day if I see the full length movie I will most likely give it a try.

I would recommend this movie to people that love a good adventure with some magic included. I was fascinated by this movie and it really should be much better known by people outside India.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No other Telugu movie has transcended the boundaries of language as this film did and it goes on.
braddugg20 September 2014
No other Telugu movie has transcended the boundaries of language as this film did and it goes on.

If there is one telugu film to refer to say that it is the all time great of all, then this film in every sense does justice to the statement. It indeed, is seriously the best film technically, culturally and aesthetically. Acting is one heck that makes it a must watch and so is the music that will be alive even 100 years later. I love many songs today too and the tiles of most songs are later made as titles for other films. Now, we can understand how loved the film was to every telugu movie goer.

The story is not as though a tale taken from Mahabharata but a fable written by the writer Pingali Nagendra Rao and also Nagireddi and Chakrapani (both Reddy and Chakrapni are founders of Chandamama magazine too) but nevertheless its based on Mahabharatha.

If I were to simplistically write then this is about out how a man helps a girl elope and gets her married to a dear relative of his own. But this movie is not that simplistic it's multi layered and comes out in many folds as we go about each character. What's more astonishing is that Ghatothkatcha (who is the main character of the whole film) comes an hour into the film and takes this film head on and gives us a really enthralling performance.

The movie is slow for today's times but perfect and in fact you will crave for more after the completion of it. Such is the magic of this film, just terrific and enjoyable. The cinematography by Marcus Bartley (I suppose the greatest cameraman ever for Telugu films) is so awesome like we wonder how those scenes were made possible in 1957 when there was no CG or computer or any other equipment apart from a camera. Man, he must have been god to create illusions as they were shown in the film.

Everyone did their best from writing to editing to sound design to every aspect of the film. There has since not been a movie that can beat this in all departments in Telugu at least.

I have both the Black and White and the Colour DVD's but I prefer to go with B & W. It's lengthier and pristine so that helps the magic live longer. Having said that, the colour conversion is done well and I was very happy with the fact that this film was being re released.

I bet, that most films made in those good old days of Telugu are much better and much relevant than the crap being made today.

I will go with 5/5 for this movie that will ever be called the best of all Telugu movies.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Maya Bazaar - One Of The Greatest Indian Films !
Samrudh_David1 June 2018
What a film this is. This is one of the greatest ever Indian films, if not " The greatest Indian film " without any doubt.

K.V.Reddy Garu did an outstanding job as a director. Screenplay is extraordinary. The way the story is executed is excellent.

The cinematography is simply outstanding.

NTR Garu, ANR Garu, Savitri Garu are simply superb in the lead roles. S.V.Ranga Rao Garu's performance is outstanding. All the remaining actors & actresses are superb too.

The special effects in the film are excellent and are really surprising as this one is produced way back in the 1950s.

Finally, this film is just " OUTSTANDING " & everyone should watch this for sure.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of All Time Great movies of the world
pnvrkprasad6 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Mayabazar is among the best movies in the world, no compare.Each and every scene is wonderful in the movie. SVR, Savitri, NTR nobody can replace them in those roles. KVReddy screenplay is put in one of USA film schools as reference. music by ghantasala is sweety. dialogs by pingali are unparalleled till now. he introduced some new telugu words like tasmadeeyude etc. It is amazing with how much ease SVR acts. No one can act better than SVR in this role. Savtri is equally good. will never be bored to watch this movie or songs from this movie n number of times.

plot: During the period of exile which the five Pandavas must face, Arjuna (one of the Pandavas) sends one of his wives, Subhadra, and their son Abhimanyu to Dwaraka — where her two elderbrothers — the Lord Shri Krishna (played by film actor N. T. Rama Rao) and Balarama reign. Sasirekha (played by actress Savithri) is Balarama's daughter and is in love with Abhimanyu (played by actor A. N. R.) since childhood; and their parents had decided and promised that the two of them should get married when they become old enough to marry. However, ten years later, when both Sasirekha and Abhimanyu becomes of age for marriage, Balarama and his wife decide to change their decision. Balarama's wife is a greedy woman who wants her daughter to be married to Duryodhana's (Kaurava leader) son Laxmankumar (played by actor Relangi Venkata Ramaiah), as Abhimanyu's father - Arjuna had lost his kingdom; while Balarama has soft corner towards Duryodhana (as he is Balarama's student and disciple). But Sasireka, Lord Krishna and Subhadra oppose this change of plans. Now Krishna asks Subhadra to approach Ghatotkacha (Son of Bhima, a Pandava) — who possesses magical powers of Asuras (His mother is an Asura) — who will readily come to their help. Now Ghatotkacha (S.V.Ranga Rao) goes to the place where the marriage is scheduled and disguises himself as Sasirekha (through magical powers) and send away the real Sasireka to the place where Abhimanyu and company are camping. When Laxmankumar approaches Ghatotkacha thinking her to be Sasireka he gets the shock of his life, as it is a demon and not the beauty! Ghatotkacha uses all sorts of tricks to scare Laxmankumar into backing out of the marriage. Towards the end, Ghatotkacha displays his magic(Maya) to Duryodhana and his evil-minded kinsmen and drives them back to Hastinapura (Duryodhana's capital).
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fantastic
gforgopal4 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Maya Bazaar (color) 2010 Reviewed by Gopal Amirisetti

The original black and white version released in 1957 and I believe very few people in this generation must have seen that in theaters.

'God must have kept me alive just to watch this magic before I die', just few days before he passed away these were the words uttered by renowned character artiste Gummadi who acted as Balarama in this spectacular film Maya Bazaar. True to his words, this film truly is a land mark in the history of Telugu cinema. I have seen just bits and pieces of the original on television. I just thought I'll give it a try when I have seen the promos of the color version. But believe me irrespective of how old you are, this film is gonna entertain you to the fullest.

The movie is an adaptation of a small episode from the epic Mahabharata termed as Sasirekha Parinayam which showcases the marriage of Abhimanyu, the son of Arjuna, the third of the five Pandava brothers, played by Akkineni Nageswara rao, with Sasirekha the daughter of Balarama, the elder brother of Lord Sri Krishna, portrayed by mahanati Savithri at her best. This movie brings together a bunch of phenomenal artistes' and technicians at the beginning of their careers. Svr, Ntr, Anr, Savitri, Relangi, Ramana reddy, Allu, Nagabhushanam, Suryakantham, Gummadi and many others were among them.

A very special mention must be given to the Cinematographer Marcus Bartley who did wonders with his camera to such an extent that even the present generation would wonder how he would have created such a magic. He has excelled in scenes like the confrontation between Abhimanyu and Gatodhgacha, Sharma and Shastri episode during marriage, Gatodhgach eating the food prepared for the marriage etc. to name a few. The movie extends up to nearly 3 hours with six excellent melodious songs. You never would feel it was that long. The Lahiri lahiri lahiri lo song with three pair changes is fun to watch. Relangi as Lakshmana kumara was brilliant and evokes laughter every time he is seen on screen. For me the show stealer was Savithri in the post interval scenes where she had to act like Gatodhgacha( where Gatodhgacha enters the palace in the disguise of Sasirekha). She was excellent and unarguably at her best. I thought the best song also belongs to her in the form of Aha na pelli anta. This movie is a must watch for everybody. Don't miss it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A master piece and shouldn't miss in a life time...
vvchamala15 May 2018
I'm not in a position to comment on this mater piece where no one found any flaw! Whether you watch this movie in b&w or in color same feeling.......
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Greatest Indian Mythological Epic Film Ever
Rbvsp1 June 2015
I have seen this film as a child with my parents. I have watched this film with my Children. Thanks to the digitally remastered and colorized version released on 30th January 2010 making my job easier to suggest my grandchildren to look out for this film. Despite the limited technology during 1950s, Maya Bazaar can still get the attention of even current generations and get them by surprise with its cinematography, art direction and visual effects. No wonder CNN-IBN poll conducted in May 2013 listed it as the greatest Indian movie of all time. I don't think any review can cover even a fraction of Maya Bazar's details. It may not be out of the way to mention here that Singer P.Leela once said in an interview that while recording the songs of this film, one of the songs sung by her took 28 takes and the fifth was finalized by the Music Director Ghantasala who took over the position after the initial Music director S.Rajeswara Rao opted out of the project. As per the sourced information, S.Rajeswararao composed the tunes for four songs: "Srikarulu Devathalu", "Lahiri Lahiri", "Choopulu Kalisina Shubhavela" and "Neekosame" which were orchestrated by Ghantasala besides composing the rest of the film's soundtrack and the entire background score. Though each frame of this Film is a story by itself, I liked the sequence of evicting Subhadra by her brothers, the song during their Journey and particularly the War with Ghatotkacha and Abhimanyu where in the character Subhadra (Rushyendramani) picks up a poem angrily mentioning that she is the sister of Krishna and Balarama and also the wife of Arjuna making Ghatotkacha ( S.V.Ranga Rao) to realize that it is his cousin Abhimanyu (ANR) with whom he is in war with. That's just one out several impactive sequences. It's hard to mark the film's genre as the story involves all aspects from the genres of action to drama and comedy to science fiction. Big Salute to all those great people behind this greatest Indian movie of all time, whichever the world they are in today.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome movie, Watched 50 times so far
jpavanaryan-38-289167 November 2014
Awesome movie. Every time I watch this I find myself new element. All time great Indian movie.This comedy is based on a mythological folk tale that draws its backdrop from the Mahabharata. Balarama (Gummadi) and his sister Subhadra (Rushyendra Mani), Arjuna's wife, agree to get their respective children married once they're old enough. Sasirekha (Savitri), the former's daughter, and Abhimanyu (ANR), the latter's son, thus have been in love with each other since their childhood.The powerful casting is one of the factors responsible for having etched the characters into the minds of several generations. The film gently but firmly reminds you that there was only one of each of this high-powered galaxy of stars - one Savitri, one NTR, one S V Ranga Rao, one CSR, one Gummadi.

Then, there's the crisp writing, the sharp wit, and the play with language. Impeccable diction was a given in the era anyway, and it makes an attempt at mythology look more relevant then than now.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
TiMELESS TELUGU CLASSIC ..
kumarjogi2 November 2018
1957 year film ..s v ranga rao garu great ..all big stars movie
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A magnum opus and tourdeforce, in truest and literal sense
mnvvk-chaitanya14 September 2018
Much before the blockbuster term is coined, Tollywood has pioneered spectacle movie, using multiple stars and big budget. It is an impeccable production in all the 24 crafts and is harbinger of TFI (telugu film industry)'s golden period
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best Movie In Telugu!
imvijaymohan10 August 2018
Evergreen ever created in Tollywood. With Greatest actors of South India like SV Ranga Rao, NTR, ANR, Savithri and many more..
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Technical Master Piece, Casting Excellence...Mayabazar
narasimhan_vvg21 March 2017
Great movie. One movie any movie buff irrespective of language should watch and this movie should be prescribed as a part of the curriculum for all the aspiring directors and aspiring cinematographers. The usage of technology and light is just impeccable. The way the story is weaved around the characters is jaw dropping. Each and every character shown on screen has an importance in their own right and it becomes even more important for the actors to perform better. So good was the screenplay. Marcus Bartley had combined with KV Reddy to create the masterpiece for generations to cherish. Naming just one or two actors from the movie is only an insult to the casting. 10 out of 10...by any strict standards.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The greatest Telugu movie yet
audaciousgeek18 December 2014
Brilliant screenplay & direction by K V Reddi, witty dialogues/lyrics by Pingali, excellent music by Ghantasala and exceptional camera work by Marcus Bartley, make this an epic classic, a must see for any movie fan. All the artistes suited aptly for their roles and delivered brilliant performances. SVR and Savitri lead the pack with classic performances followed by ANR and NTR.

K V Reddi's magnum opus has all the elements needed to entertain people of all ages. There is not a single scene that is extraneous, nor a scene that is missing. This is story telling at its best. No wonder K. V. Reddi is considered the 'Darshaka Brahma'!

Even in this age and time where people are exposed to variety of movies from Hollywood, Bollywood, etc., this cult classic continues to enthrall audiences across multiple generations.

I've seen this ~3hr long movie more than 20 times and enjoyed it thoroughly every time!

Telugus are a lucky lot and their cultural heritage is richer because of this epic.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed