The Miracle of the Cards (TV Movie 2001) Poster

(2001 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
A nice little movie- a bit slow
stephanotis3236 April 2002
A bit slow, but it makes you involved in the movie and care what happens to the people. It is a pretty good movie, and not alot of people have seen it, but its still a nice movie. Not award winning, obviously, but it is worth the watching if nothing better is out. SEE IT 5\10 average
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A very good heart-warming movie.....
queenofthe9nile16 March 2002
A movie about how faith and hope can make a huge difference in the outcome of things...however as a Richard Thomas fan I was disappointed because he was not in it enough. You don't see him until the end and his part is small. Important but small. But it is a movie worth watching.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good story but have these people ever been to the UK? Would have been nice to have it actually filmed in the UK.
Opaque13 September 2004
Would have been nice to have it actually filmed in the UK. The hideous clipped accents were bad enough but the hospital which looked like something from a 50's film, the post vans and ambulances that were obvious North American. And the church, no that doesn't look like it's in the middle of a forest rather than London. Luckily there's some decent actors but I can certainly see why Americans have certain views of what like here is like when you have films like this.

Oh and the addition of Union Jacks everywhere to reinforce the fact you're in the UK doesn't work.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good Movie!
kelow7511 November 2001
"Miracle of the Cards" is a good heart-warming drama about faith and hope. It is a story of a young boy, "Craig", who is afflicted with a brain tumor and his fight to overcome his illness.

The perserverance and strength of Craig is clearly portrayed by the young actor. The actress that played Craig's mother, on the other hand, clearly did not put enough practice into her English accent. Her performance is wooden-faced and extremely strained. Craig's father is played by Peter Wingfield, who once again flawlessly became the character.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
not that bad
rje583 March 2003
When I learned the premise that The Miracle of the Cards is based on, that discovery was met with an inward groan. Here it is: a young boy with a brain tumor, not likely to survive, wants to break the Guinness Book of World Records count for receiving get-well cards. I was glad to see that the movie is based on a true story, at least, and not some urban legend or internet hoax.

The story is told mostly through flashbacks during a sceptical reporter's interviews with the young patient's parents. From the mother's nightmares of seeing her son in a coffin (which began before his first symptoms), to his hospitalization and diagnosis with a rare form of cancer and his pursuit of the record for most cards received, this sentimental story is worth watching IF you keep reminding yourself that it is based on a true story and that it's not a sappy takeoff on an urban legend / internet hoax.

Good production values, a few solid performances and what could have been a more compelling story line are unfortunately offset somewhat by a premise that has been defamed by internet hoaxes and by the length of the film at 89 minutes. Whether or not an hour and a half was needed to tell this story is debatable, but when a movie feels too long, it probably is.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nice, pleasant film.
sparta201216 January 2003
I really enjoyed this film. Although it isn't "oscar-worthy" it is a wonderful, delightful film about faith and hanging onto it. I felt the best attraction about this film was actor Peter Wingfield. He pretty much carried this film. Without his brilliant acting it wouldn't have been quite as good. It is a nice film overall to watch and enjoy.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
lovely feel-good film, BUT...
sibbo2 July 2006
[1] apart from Thomas Sangster (of "Love Actually" fame), the American actors' "English" accents are appalling.

[2] the acting is so wooden.

[3] the "English" scenery (especially local church and "Royal Marsden" exteriors) is so American!

[4] the general 'direction' is so amateurish, and obviously "Made-for-US-TV".

It's a shame, as the story is real, and inspiring.

So why is it that US directors/actors all think that everyone in England speaks with a plum stuck in their cheek?

We don't!

And why use US actors and US sets but a UK boy in a UK story?
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
There's a word for it...
nedron11 December 2005
This is one of those movies for which the word maudlin is so appropriate.

A mawkish performance from Catherine Oxenberg is the least of the problems this film has to offer.

Everything but the "quest for cards" is given short shrift, including a sub-plot with a sibling who is feeling abandoned due to the attention his terminally ill brother is given. A 2-minute segment clears this up neat and tidy, with no hard feelings.

Ridiculous mystical events leads one to wonder why God doesn't spend his time healing the kid, rather than wasting photons lighting up pictures and letters.

If there's no re-run of Little House on the Prairie running, this may be an acceptable alternative, otherwise skip it.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A feel-good, courageous TV movie.
OllieSuave-00728 September 2014
This is one of those feel-good Hallmark-style TV movies that is based on the true story of Marion Shergold and her son, Craig, who was plagued with a brain tumor. A leap of faith convinced them to launch a get-well campaign for the boy involving thousands of get-well cards, attempting to set a record for the most cards received for the Guiness Book of Records. Craig's will to live remains strong through the encouragement of the cards.

It's a perfect film for the entire audience, very family oriented and very heartfelt at times. The pacing and direction are well done and most of the characters were likable, with the exception of the father who showed indifference in finding a cure for Craig for some reason.

Much of the acting was OK, though there are some corny moments, including the part where Craig's older brother roots for their mom in the contest. I guess much of these made-for-TV movies have acting that is not really on par with motion picture films, but, this movie is still a pleasant viewing experience and will sure give you a tingly and chilly feeling of goodness.

Grade B
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent movie!!!!!!
slasherboy_12326 December 2006
This movie was really a masterpiece and it shows us that such movies can bring about a change in all our lives.It truly touched my heart and hopefully your's too.The acting was splendid and I think thomas sangster really portrayed Brian Shergold's character vividly.Catherine Oxenberg was as inspiring as ever as to how acting can bring forth the soft side of people.I just wanted to let u know what a splendid movie it was.Criticism is not what this movie deserves and I think many people think about it that way.There should be more movies with such strong messages these days as our world is being continually eluded with violence and filth
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Empty, substandard portrayal of what should have been GOLD!
ckmec-131 December 2005
The courageous tale of a young boy diagnosed with a brain tumor and the fight to keep him alive through treatment, and what else, the get-well cards, hence the title. Sounds like sentimental, award-winning material, doesn't it? It does. But there are several holes which couldn't save this cheap picture show.

Catherine Oxenberg portraying the real-life Marion Shergold is just awful; her "emotion" was completely forced, the "accent" made me cringe, and it made me wonder if her authentic British counterparts jeered at her during filming. Aside from her god-awful performance, the storyline completely dragged--I fell asleep twice on my sofa--and regardless of what the millions of cards did for the terminally ill bugger, I was left empty and unsatisfied. This could have been much better.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Turgid
kris_blue10 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I have to admit I only watched about a third of this movie, but the bits I saw were consistently awful. It's (probably very loosely) based on the (apparently true) story of Craig Shergold, the English boy with a brain tumour who wants to beat the Guinness world record for the most get-well cards received - if the name is familiar, it's because the request for cards did the rounds on the Net for many years. (And is probably still going on somewhere now!)

This movie is made in the classic "disease of the week" made-for-TV style with predictable stereotyped characters and very poorly disguised attempts to tug at the viewer's heartstrings. The acting varies from reasonable to awful, and the British accents likewise. Catherine Oxenberg, who plays Craig's mother, was actually a real Brit but has obviously spent so much time in America (or Canada perhaps) that she has lost the accent and can't get it back. Not consistently anyway.

Unless you really like cheesy low-budget and transparently emotionally manipulative stories of survival and triumph against the odds, I strongly suggest you avoid this pointless movie. Sorry to be so negative but this movie really is pretty awful.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
In case no one bothered to read
troyturton6112 July 2017
In case no one bothered to read, the film was shot in Canada. Not the USA. So even still, of course you're going to see a lot of things USA in it, since I would guess Viacom is an American company. Things get shot in Canada, because it is a lot less expensive then shooting in the USA. Many popular movies and TV shows were done there.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Far from the truth.
dlpporkchop20 May 2017
Boy gets cancer, mother sees divine sign, boy get miraculously cured.

Bull. I like how they change all the facts to fit a sermon. Great propaganda for the weak-minded. The cool thing about this film is that it turned me on to what really happened and to thank John Kluge and Dr. Neal F. Kassell, M.D. whose resources and years of training really were the true heroes. Not some made up invisible man, written by ignorant unidentified authors, thousands of years ago.

As a follow up to the story, the Shergolds have moved and request no more mail as it is now automatically sent to a recycle plant.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A film that gives true hope to anyone facing terminal illness
avocadess12 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
First, the reason I had to cut out a couple stars because the filmmakers/editors and/or TV network that made this movie censored the name of Jesus from the film altogether. Even the words God and prayer were incredibly rarely heard in this film.

The part about the cards and the Guinness World Records was to me only of mild interest, though it was great how all the cards sent to the boy Craig were a great excitement for him. It just got a bit boring, all that, and I confess to doing some fast-forwarding there.

All that said, this is a true story and an incredible one I would recommend to anyone. It is a film I would especially highly recommend anyone watch who is in fear of dying from a terminal illness or tumor. It's might hard to have faith when one lets oneself get into deep depression and "poor me" mode, and clearly this little boy and his mother had a lot of faith. Faith is one thing money cannot buy, and if it could be bought there would never be enough money to purchase it!

Lots of excellent actors throughout, a pretty good script other than the issues mentioned above, and I enjoyed seeing the actor I knew as "John Boy" on The Waltons as the final surgeon in the film. My roommate will love seeing this film because it also gives some camera time to the actual surgeries involved (which is pretty rare to see in any movie).

I would have liked to give at least an 8 or 9 rating to the film, but I can all too clearly see how new age spiritualists will see this as a film to show that "intention" saved this boy's life rather than prayer, Jesus and the Creator. God. That is my biggest disappointment in this film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful Movie, Wonderful Cast
danyread24 November 2015
I'm seriously jazzed about this movie. The year it was made was 2001, when people still had home phones and didn't yet text. It's well- produced, the camera work and costuming, sets and so forth are all top notch so it's still a great movie to watch today. The plot maintains the great balance between the wondrousness of a miracle-working God and the importance of our thoughts on our health, the vital necessity of having a dream, and the interplay between medical science and faith.

The movie takes place in the UK and the US. Based on a true story, it has some memorable lines. Like when the protagonist, a young boy, falls on the sports field and jokes, "A leprechaun tripped me." Each character is well acted, by a star-studded cast.Between the spirited determination of a mother who has an unswerving vision for her son's healing, the wonderful and very different bedside manners of the two MD's, and the personalities which make up the people around this remarkable little boy, there is much to entertain and enjoy.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The Acting is so Poor, it is below the poverty level
EvolBob10 May 2009
Thomas Sangster as Craig Shergold, is the only reason for the two stars I've given this piece of boring, stupidly written TV movie, fit only for those with the attention span of a dead lizard. Marion Shergold is played by a person truly gifted in the lost art of impersonating an actress. I did hope that the real story could have been told, instead the movie has been hijacked by religious zealots, who are insanely leaping about as God has performed a miracle. Which I suppose is to be expected .... as this is such a rare thing these days 'vbg'.

For the life of me, I can't imagine why a god - any god - would only do a miracle if a lot of people had sent get well cards? Mmmmm... maybe this is the way to solve all our problems, from global warming, Islamic terrorists, poverty, pollution, to better sex!
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed