The Surreal Life (TV Series 2003– ) Poster

(2003– )

User Reviews

Review this title
15 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Corey Feldman is good TV
james-naze31 January 2003
Corey Feldman finally found an avenue for his talent. Provided his talent is being a self absorbed loser! This show is fantastic. It is the perfect thing for helping you feel better about your own life. Gabrielle is sweet and seems to have a clue, Hammer is hammer, and Vince, surprisingly, supplies some very touching moments. I can't wait for next week.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funnier Than Most Scripted Sitcoms
Uxbridge25 September 2005
Like an earlier poster commented, I didn't give this a show a chance until accidentally tuning into it one night. From then on, I found it funny (in an ironic way). I first watched the series with Corey Feldman, Trisha from Real World, Ron Jeremy, et al. I give these people a lot of credit (or guts) for doing this. The camera isn't always kind and the crew records EVERYTHING these folks say. What's amusing about this show is that there's always the "strange one" (Chyna Doll, Verne Troyer, or Vanilla Ice, for example) who wig out or go off on some sort of inexplicable bender...the "what-the-hell-love-match" (Adrianne Curry and Chris Knight or Flavor Flav and Brigitte Nielsen) which is hilarious to watch, though you kind of root them on, too...then the "obnoxious ones" (Feldman, Jerry Manthey, Ryan Starr, Omarosa, etc.) who seem to have checked their manners and sensitivity at the door. Janice Dickinson (in the latest one) is a whole other ball game, given that she's just plain mean to the bone and bitter (apparently she has some horrible and serious past issues she hasn't dealt with yet). I hate to say it but I dig this show and it's worth a peek. You may find yourself laughing at some of the most hair-brained things that are said or done by these poor celebs!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Corey Feldman lives!!! Surreal Life Rules!!!
skyboy199923 January 2003
After watching the first three episodes of this funny, (yes actually it is pretty funny!) new WB show, I understand while Corey Feldman is no longer working in Hollywood. The plot, is pretty simple, there are seven celebrities (and I use the term "celebrities" loosely) living in a nice house somewhere in Hollywood. That's it, there is no plot, there is no elimination, or charity, or anything else. You just watch and see what stupid thing the producer's have them do next. The highlight of the show thus far, is Feldman's constant, almost maternal need for attention. Everything seems to have to focus around him, his girlfriend, his ex-girlfriends, and his new album (God help us all). While most of the others (Rocker Vince Neil, ex-playmate Brandi Rodderick, Emmanual Lewis (Webster from tv), the classic M.C Hammer) seem to take the show for what it is, a paid vacation, and a chance to have some fun. However, Feldman, along with Gabrielle Carteris, and that annoying chick from Surrvivor think that it's actually going to help jumpstart or re-start their careers. It's funny at times, but sad as well, as most of these people have had their "fifteen minutes" and they ain't gettin' them back. If you want a little nostalgia from the 80's and early 90's, and a chance to see just how far some superstars have fallen, give "Surreal Life" a chance. But you'd better hurry, because it's on the WB, so it probably won't last long. Hey, here's an idea for a sequel. Vanilla Ice, Screech (from saved by the bell) Jimmy Walker, and Elizabeth Berkley...
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
the second season was my favorite
Noir-It-All13 December 2005
I liked the first season, but the second was my favorite. I loved everyone on the show. There was something about them so I ran to the IMDb and looked up their birthdays. Sure enough, except for Traci Bingham, they were all water signs! I liked Ron Jeremy. You can tell he is pretty bright and has beautiful eyes. I liked Tami Faye, too. Erik Estrada played the father figure well and I loved how Vanilla thought of him as a brother. Traci seemed like a nice person, but does have a wild streak. Trishelle does drink a lot but that "intervention" by Sally Jesse Raphael rattled her. I would show Trishelle or anyone who drinks a photo of Brigitte Neilsen (season 3) who has not aged well. I was appalled how 'Gitte would drink and pass out, leaving the Dave Coultier with the work of leading the musicians through rehearsal, compete by acting like an idiot on stage, then hug those little boys on her team while dressed totally inappropriately. Now, there's someone who needs an intervention.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Morality flushed down the toilet
RashaMc8212 January 2003
It's funny to watch D-list celebrities live in a house together. Gives my life purpose. It was really funny watching MC hammer and all the crappy celebrities. This ranks right with Celebrity Boxing and the Celebrity Mole. I wonder what other punish tv has in store for our has-been elite.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
addictive
wannasurf220 September 2004
I never quite got into the first season, but the second one had a combination of cast members that could possibly never be topped. In reality, if any one of the following were not on the show: Ice, Erik, Jeremy or Tammy, then it just wouldn't have been the same. I would like to see an "all-star" version of this show using the better cast mates from each season without the two or three "filler" celebrities that they feel they must ad to each season...you know...the ones that were mediocre, even in their prime, or are simply reality "stars". After viewing reruns on VH1, I have gained new respect for the first season however, and the third one is getting pretty interesting...in a train wreck sort of way. I just think that Jordan and the sour "too good for everyone" girl (cannot remember her name) both are putting a hurt on their future careers by doing this show...neither came off very well.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
all in all,the surreal life is a good show
woterfalz199113 June 2005
Warning: Spoilers
The surreal life takes place in a l.a. mansion,where fallen stars gather. It's one of the only realty shows I will watch. Though not the most intelligent show,its quite entertaining. A few odd couples have fourmed on the show,such as Chris Night(the Brady bunch)And Addrine Curry(Americas next top model)And flavaFlav and Briget Nelson. Its not the best show I have ever seen,but I think its the best reality show on t.v. to date. Maybe I would not feel that way if shows like survivor(no offense to those who like that show) where taken taken off the air and replaced with shows more like the surreal life.But that is not the case,so I think that the surreal life is the best reality show is on t.v. to date.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The decline of Western civilization: As seen on TV.
vertigo_1413 February 2005
The Surreal Life is basically a bunch of washed up celebrities and other has-beens that share a house in the latest of VH1's incessant network of Reality-TV torture.

I have watched a few shows of the recent season of the Surreal Life (the one with Peter Brady) and it is by far the most vapid experience of my life, watching a bunch of retarded exhibitionist has-been "celebrities" trying to gain as much attention by being as crude as possible. This show gives me a homicidal twitch, as I am consistently both annoyed and shocked that VH1 managed to pack in a house a handful of the most embarrassing people on the planet, especially Chyna, that model that near-violently obsesses about Peter Brady, that moron from the Go-Gos, and the guy who played Mini Me.

Ever get the need to dry heave, then tune in.

VH1, you officially suck!
5 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
No More Omarosa
Cate195616 October 2005
Mean, spiteful, cruel and hateful, Omarosa's slurs to Janice Dickinson on "The Surreal Life" was unwarranted, uncalled for, and without merit. With her fifteen minutes of fame long spent, Omarosa and all of her hyphens need to slither back to Capital Hill. Let "The Entertainment Industry" leave the overwrought, overacting to the professionals, or at least Tom Cruise or Shannon Doherty, they are well trained for that type of work. Viewers are not entertained seeing Omarosa call someone a "Crack Whore". We are not entertained with Omarosa using pejoratives that refer to someone as a "Bad Mother," and it is simply heart breaking when Omarosa is given TV air time to tell Janice Dickinson that "your children must hate you". There is no world that I know of where that statement will entertain. Omarosa is not entertaining as a villain; she is not entertaining as an apprentice, Omarosa quite simply is not entertaining. To Janice Dickinson, may I say...I apologize for watching "The Surreal Life", for listening to those things that Omarosa said to you. I agree with you, that was wrong! I just want you to know, from one Mother to another, when Omarosa said those heartless, cruel, defamatory things to you, I, for one, was not entertained!
2 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A mismatched cast
IrockGswift4 October 2004
I've seen little bits and pieces of the first season,all of the second season,and I have to say the third season is so far the best. Not only because Flavor Flav from Public Enemy and funny man Dave Coulier is in it. The third season is just more interesting and suspenseful. Unlike the second season which was a little dry at times but they all seem to get along and tolerate one another. The third season cast is more detached and self-centered. The only ones I 've seen to be more realistic is Dave and Flavor. Flavor's enthusiasm give this show life and without him this cast would appear to keep to themselves. Let's start off with Charo she may mean well but she is selfish,at the beginning of the show she down right takes charge of who should sleep where. She (Charo) been in America for a long time and you still can't understand what's she's saying. Right away she's giving orders around the house and naming the dog she found "Cuchi" which none of the others agree with. Brigitte Nelson is another selfish one who loves to lead men on (namely Flav) and then drop them like they never existed. Ryan Star who is young and bitter probably because she didn't get her career kicked off the way she wanted "thanks American Idol." Ryan is another one who is too particular and do not know to adapt and have fun. Poor Jordan Knight is too self-indulged to be interesting. I hope in the next couple of episodes this cast will stick together and bring more harmony to one another instead of worry about personality conflicts.
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
UGH! The Roaring Bitch Returns.
blackarachnia230 June 2004
Ugh! Why did they let The Roaring Bitch come on this one? I didn't like Jerri on Survivor:The Australian Outback or Survivor:All Stars and I'm not about to start liking her now. Even though I did feel sorry for her when she had her melt down I still hate her with every fiber of my being. She was cocky, arrogant and too smart for her own good. :p The producers of this show ought to be drawn out and shot for letting Ms Manthey on this show. She is, coincidently, the most annoying person on that show along side Gabriel Carteris. A lot of people find Jerri is how she was portrayed on the Australian Outback and on All-Stars. She's a whiny bitch.
1 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Amazing Show
awrootbeer04ktbspa28 March 2005
this show is one of the best reality shows. it is very humorous and just crazy fun. The Fourth season is the best by far. The mixture of celebrities they put in the house this time is amazing!! their personalities jump off each other really well. The people in the house that really stand out this season are Chyna doll, Verne Troyer, Christoper knight and Adrianne curry. With Chyna doll's love drama, and Verne's peeing on the wall, and Adrianne fawning over Chris, there's sure to be something that will interest you in this show. This show also helps people to realize Chris isn't Peter Brady anymore, he is his own person. So if you're looking for a great laugh, check this show out, it will have you in tears, in no time!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tammy Faye was wonderful
stinkysiobhan25 July 2004
I just watched the marathon on VH1. I was totally hooked. I thought Tammy Faye was wonderful. I always thought of her as the crying, mascara-running-down-her-face weirdo for Jesus. She really does have a kind heart and she's adorable. She was so funny at the book signing and she really touched everyone and she is tolerant of everyone.

I thought the cast was wonderful. Rob was great when he finally broke down and started to accept the past. He was terrific when he apologized to Traci. She, on the other hand, is kind of a mess. She's pretty, but in a really strange plastic way. Her views on animal rights are conflictive. She's been fed the PETA line but I don't think she really understands it, plus she should be more respectful and tolerant to those who do not want a vegan lifestyle. She seems like she is in love with the engagement ring and the idea of a fiancée but hasn't thought out what her commitment is to her fiancée. Fittingly, he seemed vain and self-absorbed, too. Ron was so nice to everyone. What a great guy! and funny, too! I was surprised to find out that he earned a masters degree in special education. Cool. I loved Erik. He was super. I loved his sense of humor and cool attitude. Trishelle is young and pretty and seems like a whole lot of fun. Sally was a total bitch to her and completely unfair.

It was really fun to watch and I can hardly wait for the next go-round. I'm hoping that Charo was will great. Cheers to all.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A few memorable moments...
marinermj11629 March 2003
This was a pretty funny show. Some of the highlights include the "celebrities" going door-to-door in the neighborhood to introduce themselves, a trip to the grocery store (how surreal would it be to see them shopping together in your neighborhood Safeway? lol) and end-all-be-all of highlights, Corey Feldman discovering Vince Neil had slept with his ex-wife, Vanessa Marcel. Priceless.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed