Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
600 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
This absurd comedy had to convince me...and somehow it did
MaxJSteele23 January 2006
When Anchorman came into theaters, I avoided it like a dead sewer rat. When it came onto HBO, I pretended it didn't exist. In fact, I would not have even LOOKED at it had my remote control not stuck on the stupid channel. So I watched a few minutes. I didn't laugh. I wasn't surprised.

Then one day, surfing the premium movie channels, I was thoroughly unimpressed by the offerings. So I turned on Anchorman, about 5 minutes in. For the next hour and a half, I proceeded to laugh hysterically. Scene after scene, line after line, I found new reasons to laugh. By the end, I could hardly breathe.

Unconvinced that I had stumbled upon a a re-watchable movie, I tested and retested it over and over. And over. Result confirmed.

Anchorman tells a simple story: acclaimed (and consequently arrogant) news anchor Ron Burgundy is forced to adapt when an attractive new female member of the Channel 4 news team (Applegate) begins changing the way he and his quirky news team work. That's it. This story is predictable, prescription-esquire, boring. But Anchorman does not draw it's strength from story. It draws from the hilarious situations. It draws from randomness. It draws from brief--but memorable--cameos. It draws from those 100 or so unforgettable one-liners.

That is, if you're looking for cinema, for a fine work of craftsmanship, a eloquent script, and an Oscar nomination, go watch a FILM. If you find randomness hilarious, then watch this MOVIE.
194 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The perfected art of being stupid
Derek2379 March 2005
In a year packed with comedies that were all a bit stupid and silly (and all seemed to feature Ben Stiller), Anchorman: The Legend Of Ron Burgundy reigns supreme above them all. This is a movie that is well aware of its own stupidity, and best of all, it is able to embrace it skillfully so that it is exactly as silly and immature as it wants to be. It is such a great comedy; I'd consider it the Naked Gun of our generation.

As apposed to many, many, other comedies, Anchorman actually gets better as it moves along. Most of the time a comedy like this will use up all the laughs in the first hour and then try to take a serious, lovey-dovey turn in the last act. There are more laughs in the last half hour than in the first half hour, which usually is never the case. It's as if there was some mathematical comedic formula that spread the laughs out in a way that it was consistently funny. Or, maybe they just got lucky. I dunno.

I loved all the characters in the movie, every role no matter how small had a great moment or two. Will Ferrel of course, the star of the movie who is just perfect as Ron. He's so so funny 'cause he's such a lovable idiot. Even Christina Appelgate, who was in a role that quite honestly anyone could have done, is able to make it her own and provide some laughs. There is a scene that has a lot of cameos that was hilarious as well. It was one of those moments that takes you completely by surprise.

So, what else can I say except that I loved Anchorman! It's the best "stupid" comedy I've seen in years. This is Will Ferrel at his best and it will be hard to top.

My rating: 9/10
174 out of 256 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny Anchorman
jon.h.ochiai13 July 2004
This summer I've seen several intentionally stupid funny movies, and enjoyed them. Adam McKay's "Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy" is no exception. Seems that my taste for high concept cinema has been influenced by the summer-- well not really. This movie written by McKay and it's star Will Ferrell is an outrageous and completely over the top comedy. Applaud Will Ferrell as the mind bendingly stupid and self absorbed, San Diego newscaster, Ron Burgundy. Will Ferrell is genius in playing Ron straight without character dispersions. Ferrell creates a great deadpan sense with his cohabiting dog, Baxter, and the fact that his character Ron Burgundy will read ANYTHING on the teleprompter, his tragic flaw, well at least one of several, is priceless. Ferrell also never crosses the line of being a complete jerk which is an amazing accomplishment. In fact, Ferrell gives Ron a muted charm-- he really does grow on you.

Basically, "Anchorman" is an extended sitcom. Ron is informed by his station manager, Ed (a funny Fred Willard), that he will have a co-anchor, Veronica Corningstone (a hot Christina Applegate). Turns out that Veronica was a woman whom was immune to Ron's vast charm at a wild news crew party. Veronica is beautiful, ambitious, and smart. She too has aspirations of being a Network Anchor. The Boys Club news crew which include sportscaster Champ Kind (David Koechner), feature story guy Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd), and the dumb as a post weatherman Brick Tamland (Steven Carell) all make their play for Veronica. However, she falls for Ron in spite of himself. Ron eventually woos her affections in a totally wacky jazz flute display. The screen writing is so skewed in a good way, and it has absolutely no shame. There is a classic scene with Ron's dog Baxter, and a bridge that according to my bud, John, shatters a fundamental script writing rule. In another memorable scene Ron gives an erroneous translation of the name San Diego to Veronica that is hilarious. "Anchorman" also benefits from cameos of talented actors, most notably Vince Vaughn as Wes Mantooth, the rival station anchor. Christina Applegate looks great, and truly has a talent for comedy.

"Anchorman" is completely over the top, and ignores any boundaries. That really makes it work. "Anchorman" is broad stroke farce done well. Will Ferrell demonstrates great comedic gifts. I want to see what he creates next. For now, "Anchorman" is just great fun, and very funny stuff.
85 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Insipid, man
ellyphunt25 January 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I was never as excited about this movie as my boyfriend was, mostly because I chalk Will Ferrell's humor up to the level of fratboy hijinx, sex jokes, and toilet humor. But I was willing to chill on the couch and watch the hour and a half comedy. I liked him okay on SNL, and I was mildly amused my Old School. I thought it would be a nice way to relax on a Monday night.

And relax I did...almost to the point of falling asleep. Not only were the jokes not funny, there were so few of them. Long periods of boring-ness separated the gags, which included, and I still cannot believe this, Will Farrell and Christina Applegate riding around on animated unicorns, Paul Rudd spraying on cologne that contained chunks of raw meat (panther), Luke Wilson getting his arm chopped off (not even worthy of the Monty Python memory it conjures up), and Will Farrell ACTUALLY EATING A PIECE OF FECES.

Have we come to this? Is this what's supposed to make us laugh now? Even the most quotable line from the movie, which the men in my life will not stop repeating, is "you smell like big foot's dick." Even that just isn't funny. (note: watch Napoleon Dynamite if you want some real quotable material.) The only redeeming qualities of the movie are Steven Carell and Jack Black's brief scene with Baxter, the dog. If you've seen it, you know what I'm talking about. "Biker...Punted...Baxter" Save your time and your money on this one. I sure am glad I didn't have to pay to see it...
96 out of 164 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Wow, that was bad (very slight spoiler).
Oneiric17 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
My expectations were low. I've liked Will Ferrell's brand of soft-edged mania well enough in the past, but not enough to go see a movie just because he's in it. I went because I remember San Diego in the 1970's, and even the network news in that sleepy city in that era.

As I say, my expectations were low, and I was still very disappointed. I realize it's the 14-year-old inside this was aimed at, not my 41-year-old outside -- but I know a lot of teenagers, and none of them are stupid enough to enjoy this. The script was atrocious, even when you're not bothering to score for plot. Most of the jokes and set pieces were lame -- even "Afternoon Delight" fell flat.

The performances were no better. Will Farrell was not much more than present. I've seen him show more heart in SNL sketches, or even as the cop on the trail in the Jay and Silent Bob movie. Fred Willard, so brilliant in Best in Show, looked sad and tired. Most strangely, the comedy casting at the center was deeply flawed. Two of the three sidekicks were worthless: just...not...funny. Not even for one second. Steve Carell was funny, or at least absurd, for about five seconds.

You know you're watching a bad movie when the senseless cameos and animal dialogs are the only things you can summon up as enjoyable memories. Waste no money or time on this turkey!
59 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's Summertime: Lighten Up and Laugh Without Guilt: No Thinking Necessary
lawprof9 July 2004
The most devoted cineastes and the average hoi polloi moviegoers both need to kick back and laugh, without probing or analysis, at a goofball, outrageously funny comedy with zero depth. And that's exactly what director Adam McKay (also co-writer with star Will Ferrell) provides in "Anchorman." A very warm summer day, like today, was perfect for the quick gags and physical comedy of this nutty flick. Maybe it's even more of a relief for us folks who are still arguing with each other about "Fahrenheit 9/11" and "Control Room," documentaries that make us confront a difficult present and a tenuous future.

Will Ferrell is TV news anchor Ron Burgundy in 1970s San Diego. This is Pre-B.W. (Barbara Walters), a dark age when men reported the news almost exclusively. Burgundy, shallow and self-absorbed without redemption, chases skirts and is so genuinely stupid he reads ANYTHING on the teleprompter. His news crew consists of adulators and one misfit, Brick Tamland, played with unremitting mental blankness by Steve Carrell. Burgundy's dog is a delight, a pooch who can bark in a few languages.

The "Men's Club" is jolted by the station honcho's decision to add a woman to the newsroom, largely to appease the network satraps. He says it's necessary in the interests of "diversity," a word one staff member doesn't even understand. Enter pretty but tough Veronica Corningstone, Christina Applegate. Applegate makes what really is a tough comedic role work completely.

A misadventure by Burgundy results in Veronica's pinch-hitting chance to anchor the evening news. Veronica scores big time. She and Ron are already lovers and she expects him to be thrilled that his absence was her big break. No way and the rest of the film is Ron's Revenge and Veronica's Counterattack.

A subplot is the rivalry between Ron and his crew and the mobile news gatherers of competing stations. This ends in a donnybrook reminiscent of the silent film era having no rhyme or reason. The other stations' combatants are led by Vince Vaughn, Ben Stiller and Tim Robbins. Robbins, one of the most intelligent and versatile personalities in film and stage today, should be watched closely. He almost loses his composure acting the zany script. Even Jack Black makes it into the flick as a dedicated junkie.

Don't miss the outtakes as the end credits role, especially Ferrell's last comment on what the movie really is.

Pure summer fun-laugh, be happy.

8/10
95 out of 172 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
more a pleasant parody than a biting satire
Buddy-513 September 2005
"Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy" takes us back to those halcyon days of the 1970's, when the hair was as big as the lapels and women were just beginning to assume their rightful place in America's television newsrooms.

Will Ferrell plays a Ted Baxter-type anchorman (is it mere coincidence that his dog is named Baxter?) - vain, narcissistic, none too gifted in the brains department - who has worked for years as the sole news dispenser at a top-rated San Diego station. All is going well for Ron Burgundy until the station manager decides the newscast needs a bit more "diversity" and hires a female reporter named Veronica Cornerstone (Christina Applegate) to come on board. Cornerstone is a brainy, blow-dried blonde with a driving ambition to be the first female anchor on network news. Since most of the men who work at the station, including Burgundy, are dyed-in-the-wool misogynists, Ms. Cornerstone faces an uphill battle of sexist comments, schoolboy pranks, and subtle (and not so subtle) undermining as she climbs her way to the top (though she is not above pulling a few dirty tricks herself to get what she wants). Things really get dicey when Burgundy and Cornerstone begin dating and quickly fall in love, a situation rife with potential disaster as Cornerstone begins to encroach on Burgundy's professional territory.

"Anchorman" is a light-hearted, enjoyable little comedy that, unlike a full-throated satire (say, like "Network"), often goes for the easy laugh instead of the incisive barb. The movie is at its best when it is parodying the corny graphics and the tendency to over hype the trivial ("Panda Watch: Day 46") that define modern newscasts - and at its worst when it is indulging in silly, often scatological jokes and slapstick throw away bits. Like most mainstream comedies, the humor in "Anchorman" ranges from the mildly funny to the downright hilarious, the latter including a clever "West Side Story" parody involving a rumble between rival news teams, and a conversation between a dog and a bear that ends the movie on a ludicrous but knee-slapping high note.

Ferrell (who co-wrote the film) is his usual manic self, unctuous but likable, and Applegate, Paul Rudd, Steve Carell, David Koechner, and Fred Willard do fine work in supporting roles. Moreover, writer/director Adam McKay provides a smattering of guest appearances from such well known stars as Jack Black, Luke Wilson, Tim Robbins, Vince Vaughn, Jerry Stiller and even Ben Stiller, many of who are not listed in the official credits.

"Anchorman" goes down easily - a bit too easily, perhaps, for a film that, with a little more courage, might have become a scathing satire on an industry that could do with a little merciless skewering right about now. Still, "Anchorman" is fun while it lasts - and these days we'll settle for what we can get when it comes to laughs.
53 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Legend Of Ron Burgandy and Veronica Cornerstone
Chrysanthepop4 September 2008
I had been avoiding myself from watching 'Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy' for a long time because I thought that it would be another one of those wannabe non-funny comedies. I liked Ferrell a lot in comedies like 'Legally Blonde' and 'Stranger Than Fiction' where he really downplays the humour but I saw some of his Saturday Night Live sketches and many were plain awful. Anyway, I later found out that the cast also included Christina Applegate, Paul Rudd and Steve Carell and so I was curious to how Ferrell works with these talented comedy actors.

So that's that and now, after having seen it, I must add that 'Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy' is a laugh riot. It superbly spoofs the 70s. Adam McKay brings together an excellent comedic cast playing colourful characters. Ferrell and Applegate are at the centre of the film and both are stupendous! But the supporting cast that includes David Koechner as a 'macho' wannabe who's actually a closet homosexual, Paul Rudd as a virgin stud, Steven Carell as a mentally stunted weatherman and Fred Willard as the laid back boss equally stand out with their gags and superb comic timing. Just when I was thinking that it would be funny if Vince Vaughn was part of the cast, he appears on screen as the 'deadly' rival. There are also notable cameos by a psychopathic Tim Robbins, a Hispanic Ben Stiller, an armless Luke Wilson and Jack Black as a cruel junkie.

I'd recommend to watch the movie with English subtitles as there are some hilarious lines between Burgundy's dog and a bear which is spoken in animal language. There are so many more laugh-out-loud moments that it's hard for me to single out a particular scene. Which one shall I say? The scene where he plays the flute to impress Veronica, Veronica screaming 'Ron!' (in typical 70's melodramatic style) when he gets fired, the entire bear awakening sequence, the battle between the anchormen, Veronica challenging Ed with her three strengths: screwing, fighting and news-reading ....there's just too many.

While being an out-and-out comedy, it does bring forth some serious issues like gender equality (which was still a problem in the 70s). Though the undertone is serious, it's all presented in a comedic way but it never makes fun of the issue. For example, Veronica is continuously harassed by her male co-workers but she stays strong without succumbing to their rudeness.

'Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy' is a joyride all the way. Whether one likes the film or not, I'm sure they at least would have a good laugh.
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Consistent and thorough silliness keep this above-average comedy afloat
byght12 July 2004
I went to "Anchorman" expecting another super-mainstream, lowest-common-denominator, SNL-derived romp. Now, these aren't the worst movies in the world, to be sure. "Happy Gilmore" and "Old School" are pretty agreeable ways to while away the time. But usually about an hour in to these affairs, I've had enough of the broadness and predictability, which starts to get downright oppressive. It's not just that they're lowbrow--it's that they're so overwhelmingly, disappointingly conventional.

Luckily, this isn't what "Anchorman" is. "Anchorman" is a refreshingly off-kilter outing from an unlikely source--Will Ferrell, the current reigning lord of middle-of-the-road fratboy Sandlerism. The film has a lot more in common with Mel Brooks and Zucker-Abrahams-Zucker than anything in the SNL family tree. It prizes out-and-out silliness and absurdity over bathroom humor and penis jokes (though there's plenty of the latter, don't worry), and pulls it off admirably. In essence, the key to this stuff is never letting off of the goofiness even for a second--the audience should never be allowed to take anything seriously.

"Anchorman" achieves this with exceedingly silly and bizarre dialogue complemented by killer comic performances from Ferrell, Paul Rudd, Vince Vaughn and Steve Carrel. You'd have to be lobotomized to maintain a straight face through lines like "It's made with bits of real panther. So you know it's good." and "I'm riding a big, furry tractor!" The direction and pacing are also pretty solid at times, and the requisite celeb cameos are very nicely done (especially in one particular scene which I wouldn't dream of ruining).

The film's not without its flaws, certainly. Chief among them is the wasting of one of the best comic character actors in the biz: Fred Willard. If ever there was someone born to play a smarmy local TV newsman, Willard is it. But he's inexplicably cast here as a dull station suit, while David Koechner plods through the sportscaster role that was clearly meant for him--passable but certainly not as inspired as Willard would have been. Also, I think that the story would have benefited if Vaughn and his cronies, the closest thing to villains in this lightheaded romp, had a little more face time.

But these are comparatively minor problems--the point is that Ferrel has given us something that's really funny in a way that's appreciably different from the endless SNL movie-mill. It's not Monty Python, but it is a healthy departure from what has become the comic mainstream. Most importantly, the laughs are frequent, long, and deep--check it out and you won't be disappointed.
83 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
ummm....where do i start?
Gaz45-18 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Personally I just can't believe why such big names in film comedy decided this would be a good film for their careers. The only thing I can think of is that they all realised how many comedy stars were going to be in it and thought 'why not?'.

I did not see this in the cinema, and friends who I must say have a very similar comedic taste to mine told me about it, and swore by it as "comedy genius". Yes, I like stupid films, and this is a stupid film, but this really takes the biscuit, its pathetic. I didn't really like the look of it but when my friends told me it starred Will Ferrell, Vince Vaughn, Paul Rudd, Steve Carrel… and cameos from Ben Stiller, Luke Wilson and others…I thought, how can this be a bad movie?! Well, it was. Poor plot (come to think of it, there didn't seem to be a plot), and even worse jokes. This really goes to show that these actors cannot be funny people, because if they were they could have nailed this film even though it has no plot. The only saviour of this film was Steve Carell as Brick who's complete randomness is admittedly hilarious but unfortunately not enough to make this a good film. Instead you are subject to poor, cringe worthy gags, and sparse prolonged periods of nothing. Apart from that, I was disappointed in my friends for telling me to watch it, I really did try to like this film and find it funny, but I just couldn't. You need the brain of a very dull 10 year old that finds fart noises funny to find this film even mildly amusing. Everyone I know either loves it, or hates it. So if you like plot-less stupid films, with very very few moments of any comedy value at all, watch it. If not, buy something else. But if it is on TV, its worth watching 10 minutes of it just for the jaw dropping amazement of how poor it is.
34 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The bomb.com!
ThomasABridgman10 September 2005
As I sit and watch Anchorman for what must be the 1000th time, I can't help but ask myself; WHY? Well, the answer is simple. This movie freaking rocks! It boasts an unbelievable amount of one-liners that I am spouting constantly. It could quite possibly become the most often quoted movie ever. Will Ferrell's over-the-top performance, along with other cast members equally daring acts, makes you wonder how much of the movie was scripted, and how much was ad-lib. All of the characters support each other so well, that it is nearly impossible not to have a favorite line from each one.

I am not a fan of all of Ferrell's movies (especially Kicking and Screaming), but this one will be near the top of my list for years to come, I'm sure.

Because, as we all know, 'Sixty percent of the time, it works every time!'
73 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Pretty low, even for a movie which is supposed to be lowbrow
policy13413 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Don't really know how to describe this but what a waste of time. Ferrell has surprised me with good parts in Austin Powers movies and the hilarious Zoolander. This would have been a great part for the late, great Phil Hartman, who I would have love to have seen in this role. Just imagining what he would have been able to do with it makes it all the more sadder that he is no more.

Ron Burgundy, the anchor man Ferrell is portraying is in Ferrell's own words, kind of dumb. That would not make the movie dumb in itself but Ferrell makes the awful mistake by letting the character too aware that he is dumb. He should have been oblivious to the fact most of the time. Christina Applegate's character is even worse because we know by now that there has to be a virtually straight man/woman to comment on the dumbness of Burgundy but she ends up looking much more ridiculous than Burgundy at the end. The only one who sort of goes unscathed is Steve Carell, who may be playing the most stupid character in the movie but does it with such a straight face that he plows right over Ferrell in every scene he's in. He is fast becoming the absolute no. 1 comic actor today.

Then of course you have the usual cameos by Ferrell's cronies like Vince Vaughn and Ben Stiller but they don't amount to much. They are there absolutely for show.

The one scene that did crack me up was when Ferrell and Applegate throw insults at each other during the closing credits and look like they have a professional conversation. That was a brilliant little scene and I wished that "Anchorman" could have had that kind of edge right through it all.

The end is sort of a cross between the end of "Animal House" and the awful last scene of that Adam Sandler favorite "Anger Management". I heard that this film was in part inspired by a true event concerning the first female anchor. It must have been a very small part.
30 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie is good. Hey everyone, come and see how good this movie is.
belowzero87 December 2007
My favorite movie ever. Its Will Ferrel up to his usual shenanigans. I laughed the entire way through this movie, so much that I had to see it a second time to catch all of the jokes. The reason I like it so much, is that its such an easy movie to quote.

If you like low level humor that can be crude at times, this one is for you. Do not expect a super plot or a twist, its a comedy. You will laugh so hard you will get that feeling that you cannot breath.

The movie features comedy all stars like Will Ferrel, Paul Rudd, Steve Carell, and David Coechner who team up together and make a perfect comedy team in this classic comedy.
56 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beauty and the Self-Absorbed Anchorman
nycritic18 July 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I came unto this movie only for the scene in the trailer that showed Ron Burgundy (Will Ferrell) and Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) leaping into each other's arms, right on top of a conference table, as Ferrell yelled, "Let's make a baby!" Which is essentially saying I decided to give it a chance out of vague curiosity, not expecting an even remotely good collection of skits straight out of Saturday Night Live. And, I'll say this: I was proved wrong.

The story that THE LEGEND OF RON BURGUNDY tells is simple, but deceptive: while having Ron Burgundy (San Diego's Channel 4's main anchorman) as its main character, it's actually the story of how Veronica Corningstone came unto this TV station and on the way to becoming the first female news anchor confronted massive opposition from her male co-workers who wouldn't even assign her a decent office on her first day of work, much less give her the chance to report the news. That she is quoted as being an ice queen after she aggressively rebukes the sexual advances of Burgundy's clique (recalling in a much lesser way Faye Dunaway's emasculating Diana Christensen) is part of her charm, and it's this charm the reason Burgundy eventually falls for her, and part of what belies her true nature once she decides to climb her own ladder to success.

Applegate is great in her role because she never tries to make her character too harsh even when her own mean streak comes out late in the movie and gets Ron Burgundy fired from the office. While still not having a breakout role, her interpretation has the right element of spunk and humanity, and her chemistry is very palpable with Ferrell whenever they're on camera together which is often. Ferrell, on the other hand, let's loose, but because he's so good, his role doesn't become something that belongs strictly on Saturday Night Live and I think he has the potential to do with his career what Tom Hanks has done with his own which is transcend broad comedy and move into power-acting. His Ron Burgundy is, quite simply, a deluded clown, but a likable one, much like the Ted Baxter was on THE MARY TYLER MOORE SHOW.

Much credit has to go to the writers who devised the hilarious jokes. The names of the characters alone are exaggerated, as is the scene where the news anchors from rival stations collide in a bloodbath (which features cameos from Ben Stiller, Luke Wilson, Vince Vaughn, and Tim Robbins), and another great moment when Burgundy encounters an angry biker (Jack Black) on his way to work, and who kicks his dog into the bay. We can see the dog is clearly a doll, but the temerity of the scene which recalls a similar scene in THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT MARY stands.

I think the essence of the movie can be summed up in one scene, though: who can recall growing up in the 70s and seeing the credits roll as the news program came to an end and the two anchors were seen chit-chatting amicably? There's a great inter-cutting between what a television (in Any Home, USA) is showing to the open verbal war that both anchors (Applegate and Ferrell) are engaging in. It makes one think of what actually happens once the newscast is over.
28 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Anchorman: The Legend of Will Ferrell's Comedy
smla0221 August 2004
*** 1/2

Starring: Will Ferrell, Christina Applegate, Steve Carell, and Paul Rudd.

Famous anchorman Ron Burgundy is on top of the world. He's got fame, friends, ladies, and his beloved dog. But all that changes as he develops a rivalry with his new female co-anchor Veronica Corningstone.

Without question this is Will Ferrell's best work. His over-the-top acting and his over-the-top hair fits perfectly in the title role. And surprisingly, he's not the best part. Steve Carell, as the "retarded" weatherman steals just about every scene he's in.

Hilarious movie, but not exactly for the ones who don't exactly like "stupid" movies.
83 out of 165 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Are you serious?
moviesleuth211 January 2009
I've heard a lot about "Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgandy." After all, it made Will Ferrell famous to movie audiences. I've heard it been called everything from just hilarious to being one of the defining comedies of our time. Surprised was I to find out that "Anchorman" is not only overrated, it's downright unwatchable.

Ron Burgandy (Will Ferrell) is Ron Burgandy, San Diego's most famous news reporter with an ego to match. Everything seems to be perfect for Ron, until a new reporter, a beautiful female(!) named Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) threatens his seat of power.

I've seen a few of Will Ferrell's movies, and I have to admit that I am not a fan. He can be funny, like in "Elf" or "Old School." But here he's so obnoxious that it's torture to watch him "be funny." All he does is yell and scream a lot and act like a guy with a big ego. It isn't funny.

Everyone here is extremely stupid. That's not inherently a bad thing; being dumb can be funny. Take a look at "Borat;" they don't get any dumber than that guy. But what makes "Borat" funny and "Anchroman" a trial is how it plays dumb. "Borat" intelligently rips apart the dumbest parts of American culture. "Anchorman" plays dumb by acting like middle schoolers. What I mean is that "Anchorman" thinks its being funny by being crude. Crude does not necessarily equal funny. It has to be clever, which "Anchorman" is definitely not.

My God, this is an awful movie. I don't think I've ever had a worse time watching a movie, and that includes "The Royal Tenenbaums." That is a record that I hope I never break.
21 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
sophomoric attempt at humor
jsehnert22 August 2005
You have to have the right mindset to get anything out of this movie. I came to laugh but after the first 20 minutes my only thoughts were of "what was I missing to sit through this"? I simply felt cheated when I left the theater.

Laughing is something you shouldn't have to work at, but here the humor was hard to uncover. Ferrell's humor reminds me of the old sports adage "You can't win by just throwing your jockstrap out on the field (or floor), you must actually play the game." Ferrell walks into a scene and looks or says something stupid and we're expected to laugh? How about this line; "I love lamp, I love carpet...".
38 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
awful
tiggerbrunton8 April 2005
Utter rubbish. This is the worst film i have ever seen. I want to sue the film company for the eight bucks I shelled out and the twenty minutes i wasted watching this purile snot before i lurched out of the rancid stupor this movie inspired, hurled a brick at the TV and put myself out of my misery. If there ever was a movie that seemed like a good idea after a couple of drinks. This is it. Unfortunately, we have to endure the hangover. It seems like a bunch of guys stood around on a movie set and hoped they could improvise their way through a movie.This really is a terrible movie. A true example of the depths Hollywierd has plummeted to. Avoid at all costs.
30 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't Waste Your Time
Ren1618 January 2005
I don't know how other user comments can say that Will Ferrill is a genius. A genius at what? This movie? This was one of the stupidest movies I have ever seen. Funny? There are some funny moments in it, but not many. The intentional jokes are pushed too hard and come off limp. I don't know how a person's arm being cut off, a dog being kicked off a bridge, a woman (played by the poor Christina Applegate) being called a dirty bitch, can be funny. They could have done many funny things with this movie about an anchorman, but they failed to do so. So my advice to everyone is to not waste your time and wait until it comes to a free library near you.
56 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Amazing!
azjazz10 July 2004
I just looked at the votes that people have already cast for this movie on imdb.com, and I am amazed at how many gave this movie a 10! There must be some hard-core Will Ferrell fans out there.

Let me state first that I'm not familiar with Will Ferrell, but I am assuming that he is one of a long line of Saturday Night Live comedians trying to make it in the movie world. I'm not sure if Ron Burgundy is a character from SNL that was brought to the big screen, but it certainly has that flavor to it.

Well, many of the reasons that I totally detested this movie fall in line with many of the reasons that I stopped watching SNL decades ago. The characters in "Anchorman" (and SNL) have been dumbed down to such a low level that they are annoying and straining for laughs constantly. The majority of the attempted humor in this movie was derived from characters acting just plain stupid in normal situations. That can be used effectively if it isn't overdone in a movie, but it just never ends in this movie.

A few positive things about this movie: There really wasn't much of the "potty" humor that seems to be required in just about every Hollywood comedy these days. Also, Christina Applegate does a decent job as a more talented reporter, and actually is much funnier than most of the characters when she plays it "straight" against the stupidity of the other characters. This is actually a totally opposite character from her days as Kelly Bundy on "Married ... with Children", she she does it quite well. Also, she seems to be becoming even more attractive as time passes by - she looks quite stunning in many of the shots. A final positive note: The theater was almost entirely empty on the opening weekend Friday night.

If I went to this movie by myself (which really wouldn't have happened), I would have walked out within the first 20 minutes. Since I was with a friend (her suggested movie, of course), I roughed it.

I will state that judging by the votes already on imdb, many people do seem to like this type of humor. So, if you think that the previews of this movie were hilarious, you will probably enjoy the movie - the previews capture the soul of the movie pretty well, without showing you all the things you would think are "funny stuff".

However, if you aren't sure whether you will like this movie based upon what you see in the previews, you should stay away - this movie gets very tiring and predictable fast.

My rating: 1 (... Only because '0' wasn't an option)
58 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest movie ever!
Beanie7218 November 2007
This is by far the funniest movie ever. I went in NOT wanting to see it because some people said it was awful. But I have never laughed in a movie theaters so hard. The people that don't like this movie don't like Will Ferrel. If you don't like his kind of odd quirky humor then you wont like it. Although I don't know how you cant. Even if you don't like Will Ferrel I still cant see how someone could find this movie bad.

Go see it definitely. Some people I know didn't care for it the first time AT ALL but the second time they watched it they loved it. My friend I was with didn't like it at all, but when it came on DVD she watched it again and its now our favorite funny movie. So if you didn't like it in theaters give it another chance because you may like it the second time.If you wanna laugh really hard go see this movie!!!!
42 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Incoherent mess with a few little laughs
ArizWldcat29 July 2004
I love dry humor. I'm a big fan of the Christopher Guest "mockumentaries" and Monty Python films. I went to this movie with high expectations, given that BOTH Roger Ebert and Michael Medved (opposite ends of the political spectrum) gave it 3 of 4 stars. This movie started with a bang...I was laughing a lot at the opening; but then it just started to fizzle. So many of its jokes just do not work. The dog was cute, I suppose, but even that part of the story got to be just stupid at the end of the movie. SPOILER...and what the heck was the rumble scene about? The Monty Python-esquire chopping off limb scene didn't work all! What a waste of talent! And speaking of waste of talent...I kept waiting for Fred Willard to have a little screen time...and that's what he got; A LITTLE screen time. Too bad. The TV news industry is SUCH an easy target! There are lots of opportunities for smart and witty dialog. This movie digressed into banal sexual humor fairly early in the film and never dug itself out of that pit. "Broadcast News" is a MUCH better film satire on the TV news industry. I came home after this mess and watched my BN DVD.
35 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Redefines the word "bad".
bigpeeler9 July 2004
What in the heck did I just watch?

I love Will Ferrell, so I have no axe to grind in that regard. But I just got back from watching this debacle in a packed theatre and...I'm dumbfounded. This movie transcended bad. Shrouded in a very thin plot, it was nothing more that a staccato string of inane jokes and the sure sign of a crappy movie, a number of surprise cameos.

This stunk of one of those "alum" films where a bunch of actors (and I do use that term loosely here) get together, fill out roster spots and ham it up for the camera. Anyone of these roles could have been played by one of the other actors. And the reason that you saw a "star" of Christina Applegate's stature in this movie is obviously because no other actress with a shred of dignity would have accepted this script.

I laughed out loud one time during this film, and oddly enough, I was the only one. When the announcer is paid off by Ron and he says, "That was Ron Burgundy and Tits McGee!" I guffawed out loud only to be stared at by those who sat in stone silence around me. The highlight of this movie was the Milk-Dud fight that broke out between two bored teenagers at the front of the cinema.

Save your money folks. It'll be at Blockbuster by noon tomorrow.
36 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why in God's name did this rate a sequel?!
wvlucas21 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
With all of the hype around the new movie I watched this for the first time last night. There is not a funny moment in the entire movie. The only reason I could imagine it doing well was if Christina Applegate was nude, a lot, but that wasn't even the case, so how did it earn as much money as it did, and spawn a sequel?! I can't say anything good about this movie and I'm sure it'll be 9 or 10 years from until I get around to watching the sequel, if I ever do watch it. I don't know if anything I said counts as a spoiler, but it's better to check the box and be wrong than not check it, be wrong, and blacklisted for life. Hopefully this was helpful and will save someone else from making a huge mistake.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What a stupid piece of crap....
markstermd21 August 2013
That only an American could appreciate. If anyone can explain to me what's funny about the news team fight scene, I'll listen. Is it supposed to be funny? Satire? Farce? Nah, probably just a piece of CRAP. The dialogue is juvenile. The situations are unbelievable. Too much talent, so little payoff. Now go eat some Cat poop. My head hurts from repeating this drivel. Isn't there some person who thought to edit this junk? It just drones on and on. I've lost the will to live after watching just several minutes of this excrement while I write this....unfortunately, you need to keep writing about how bad this movie is while listening to him sing Afternoon Delight and get lectured with some real insight, and he says something stupid in return. And the ending sucks too.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed