New Tricks (TV Series 2003–2015) Poster

(2003–2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
44 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Extremely entertaining
Emberweave3 February 2007
I agree that the Brits seem to be able to produce well written shows that can make you laugh out loud one minute and then be tearing up at the sincere drama of the next minute. This is a unique and entertaining crime drama with good humor and great actors. I became a fan of Amanda Redman in spite of first seeing her in a terribly crap TV movie called "Suspicion". She was clearly working hard to make that script interesting and I knew an actress that determined must be good. Now that I'm seeing her in a decent show I am not in the least disappointed. She is great (and getting more beautiful with each year). She's completely believable as the tough policewoman in charge of this motley crew of men, and the guarded, reluctantly vulnerable woman sort of dating a younger man. The entire cast is superb. Alun Armstrong has never disappointed in anything I've ever seen him in and he is hysterical as the cop on multiple meds in this show. It's nice to see real looking people rather than bimbos & himbos. These are talented actors having a good time and creating something extremely entertaining.
74 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best of British crime drama
picturestory26 January 2006
What is it about British crime drama that makes them so good? While Americans produce one run of the mill series after the other that centers on fancy technique and the minds of killers the Brits constantly come up with new concepts and interesting character line ups.

New Tricks is probably the best of the current breed closely followed by my personal favourite, "55 Degrees North". I pity the so called young and hip series which feel the need to give identification figures to every focus group the entertainment industry cares about - "New Tricks" manages to make you care about the characters because they simply feel real and because it uses their genuine faults and quirks to propel exquisite and hilariously entertaining story lines.

The actor all are veterans of crime drama and the fun they are having with this one is palpable. These old dogs having plenty of new tricks up their sleeve to make he viewer eagerly ask for more.
68 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great fun
winstonfg18 January 2008
For us Brits, it's always nice to see familiar faces back where they belong, and this show does that for both Dennis Waterman and James Bolam. While not quite reaching the heights that 'Minder' did for Waterman, it's nevertheless highly entertaining - and he does get to sing the title theme...AGAIN.

The real star though, is Alun Armstrong, whose portrayal of obsessive alcoholic savant Brian is both funny and touching; and the storybase of a "cold case" police unit made up of retired ex-coppers allows plenty of latitude for self-deprecating humour. Amanda Redman is always good value too, and she doesn't disappoint here as the no-nonsense boss of this team of superannuated mavericks.

Yes, there are lots of clichés and several improbable situations, but overall it's a good-natured romp with a bunch of old pros. I always try to watch it if I'm in.
38 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Top of the tops!
tord-116 June 2007
Few series about cops - albeit in this case retired, but re-activated - and criminals are as original, thought-provoking and fun as New Tricks! Even if I love 'A Touch of Frost' this series runs rings around it, and even more so compared to another favorite: 'Hetty Wainthropp Investigates'

Excellent plots (every case has to do with an unsolved serious crime, or murder), excellent actors, very good scripts, professional directing, nice twists, and lovely characters, like Gerry (Dennis Waterman), who's has a host of ex-wives, who occasionally wine-and-dine him, but has contacts everywhere, or Brian (Alun Armstrong), who plays an ex-alcoholic, who has a perfect memory about facts and dates, but less perfect when it comes to his wife (lovely played by Susan Jameson) and her likes and dislikes! The third of the retired officers is Jack (played by James Bolam), who's wife was killed in a hit-and-run accident - he spends most of his off-time talking to his dead wife - even have a kind of mausoleum over her in his back garden. But his high rank before retiring, and his knowledge of people and what makes them tick, makes for an excellent interviewer of suspects, and others. Always very well dressed, always well spoken, but aged by sorrow and longing for the wife that's no longer around.

Their boss, Sandra, is a blond, forceful, young officer, who has no husband, but a messy private life, which sometimes affect the stories. Expertly acted by a, to me, totally unknown actress called Amanda Redman.

Can't be beaten, this row of series, and no two installments are alike!

Doff my hat, it's great!

9.4/10

I'd give it a 10/10 if the picture quality in dark scenes were better!
44 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing contemporary detective series.
TheLittleSongbird20 May 2009
I absolutely adore Touch of Frost, Midsummer Murders and Inspector Morse, but the thing I love about New Tricks is that it is contemporary, funny and still manages to be serious when it needs to be. True, it is a bit corny at times,my only criticism of the series, but it is sterling entertainment for those who want to relax in the evenings. Allun Armstrong is both touching and funny as Brian, a man of intellect and charm, but this is perhaps under-appreciated by his colleagues. James Bolam makes the most out of his character, and one of the main reasons I watch New Tricks in the first place. Jack Halford is seen as quiet and composed, yet there is a certain sadness to him that is quite appealing. Amanda Redman never disappoints in anything she's in, and she gives a thoroughly entertaining and sometimes serious portrayal of Sandra, and Dennis Waterman from The Sweeney and Minder delights with his vocals in the title song(which is quite catchy), and equally delights with his three-times-divorced, heavy-smoking character of Gerry Standing. The episodes allow the four stars to have fun, and the witty and fresh, though sometimes corny, script allows plenty of character development. Standout episodes are when Jack is slowly poisoned by a man played by Richard Briers, and Sandra finding out how and why her father died.(I felt sorry for her then)All in all, an entertaining and often funny series. 9/10 Bethany Cox.
27 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
as close to perfect as you can get
geomac3928 April 2007
This series just gets better and better. You cant pick who is the better actor, they are all first class. No stereotyping here, all believable, no suspension of reality required.. its just pure entertainment and the fastest hour on the TV. It remains to be seen how far they can extend the series using the same premise. This is quality viewing from the Brits, the way they do it best. Amanda Redman showed us what she was made of in " At Home with the Braithwaites " another show you cant wait to see the next episode ! She has an unconventional beauty that makes her irresistible to watch, at least to THIS viewer. The male part of the cast work so well together, as they should as they are all veterans of the screen.....the show is smooth, seamless, funny and with real non plastic people who do not look all the same unlike in police dramas from the US, which seem to run to a tired formula, tired dialogue.... and is it just me ....but in US dramas when actors leave through a door....why do they inevitably have to turn and say something ??
32 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A novel series with lots of class
rexw10 August 2004
We are just at the conclusion of 5 episodes, the end of the 2003 series I would imagine and therefore hopefully expecting additional episodes to be made available later in the year. This programme, unique in its storyline, tells of a senior Detective Superintendent,a lovely blonde who commences to address older cases, unsolved, with three senior ex Detectives. All have unusual characteristics such as photographic memory for one, excellent detective skills with another and criminal contacts with the third. The scripts are well written, full of humour but are still a serious crime drama series. As good as Dalziel and Pascoe, Taggart etc., and is recommended for scripting, acting and humour. Good English series
54 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Entertaining to say the least
icj-120 April 2007
My wife got me watching this as she is into Detective/Crime Drama and I must say I was very pleasantly surprised for several reasons. The use of actors who probably had their heyday twenty years ago was one and the stories are very well written. The show is classed as Drama but there is fun and games in there too.

James Bolam is an actor I have long rated highly and this shows he has not lost his touch. In fact the range of acting skills these people bring to the show make younger actors in the same show look shallow. The team knit well together. They make great use of the fact that they are all retired police officers who can and do ignore rules and protocols to solve supposedly dead cases.

It makes a refreshing change compared to some American shows of the same genre. I strongly recommend it.
28 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Tops
hey-elle5 June 2006
Bizarre and fun, New Tricks doesn't take itself too seriously, which is why it doesn't get bogged down in the mire that so many American cop shows do. Nothing against American TV, it's produced some hilarious shows, (Arrested Development and Friends come immediately to mind). But this particular type of gentle comedy / drama can only be done by the Brits. Eccentric, charismatic characters, quirky situations and witty dialogue are the strong points. Erratic pace and stereotypical minor characters are the main weaknesses. I find the problems with this show can be overlooked because it's willing to laugh at itself. I think it's great. The actors are right at home and it's sharp and original. Go for it, watch it, why not.
32 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The cast make the show
walsh-2211 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
To be truthful, I didn't watch this till my Dad got me interested in it and I have been hooked ever since.

The plot is about three retired detectives who are recruited to help solve cold crimes. They also have to get used to the environment that has changed since they were in the force. The boss is Sandra Pullman (Amanda Redman) who is feisty, she can hold her own and gives a good punch. Jack Halford (James Bolam) was Sandra's boss before he retired. He has lost his wife and has a memorial for her out in his garden and talks regularly to her as if she can talk back. Brian Lane (Alun Armstrong is very clever, he can get obsessed over little things and has to take medication for his mental health. Gerry Standing (Dennis Waterman) is a ladies man who has three ex-wives, daughters and a grand child.

Amanda, James, Alun and Dennis are the crop of British talent and they make the show the success it is. They have great chemistry together and they have me in floods of laughter at times. The scripts are just brilliant, the way the writing can effortlessly move between laughter and drama is what also makes the show what it is.

I hope they continue to make this show because this is another show on the BBC that keeps me entertained for an hour. Keep up the good work.
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Marvellous!
dickjan-braggaar25 September 2010
It's such a shame I live in Holland. I bought the first, Dutch subtitled, series here, but where's the rest? When they arrive here, I'm sure to buy them all. Yes, sometimes I see the series on the BBC, but without subtitles you miss the subtleties.

So now to the first series. I still have a little inside laugh when I think about the talks with the soliciting team members in the pilot-episode. I have a little inside weep when I see the old copper talking to his deceased wife. And what a wonderful woman is the boss! If all women were like she is, there would be no glass ceiling (if you know what I mean, or is it a Dutch expression).

They can act, boy, can they all act. Why young actors, when this lot is still going strong? I'm not yet their ages, but it is quite reassuring that there is so much life in the old guys! Conclusion: I will keep looking for the series here in Holland, subtitled and all, and I very much want to thank the BBC for bringing so much quality and joy in the best series I've ever seen. In a word, its most 'uplifting'. A real medicine.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is what BBC is all about
DuffyShort13 April 2010
New Tricks is a wonderful Brit cop show. After you get used to BBC shows it hard to go back to the crap that American TV produces. The characters are stable throughout the multi year run and they have great chemistry. This show is one of many that I recommend, including Murphy's Law, Murder City, Life on Mars, MI-5, Dr. Who, Torchwood and Primeval. US shows like Numb3rs and NCIS may rival them, but we can learn a lot from the Brits. I've just ordered my second multi-region DVD player because the last four years of Tricks has not come out in the US. The good thing is the episodes are usually fuller and richer on the international DVDS. Come on BBC, give us some more good stuff.
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A new type of police show call New Tricks
barebear230 July 2007
For a change we have here a police show with: Wit,A good story and actors that make you think they ARE retired police officers.not just playing the part. It is a refreshing change to the US police shows., that are at present being shown in the UK.While one will, I think always remember Morse and compare any police show with the great Inspector Morse. I personally think that "New Tricks" is not only more entertaining but it leaves you with a feeling sad that it is over. I find it hard to wait till the next series is on DVD for me to watch, since I live in Florida. British police shows are of special interest to me as I was before coming to Florida some 50 years ago a police officer with the Metropolitian Police in London.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is a very well done show, please make more !
calgarywino10 March 2011
I have enjoyed this show for years now; the actors are all excellent veterans of their craft and it's great to see people of a certain age being used well instead of retired or cast as fogeys.

Plots deal with things that are often timely and of interest and push all the right buttons. The writing is fun and seems natural and is not aimed at juveniles like US based writing seems to be. Why can't they make such good programs out of the US ? Even the shows that they 'steal' like Cracker are not done well; the pacing is wrong and they seem dumbed down and acted poorly.

UK and Canadian actors look more natural and 'of the real World' than the too pretty US ones, and the acting is more natural and unforced. They have facial expressions accompanying the reading of the lines too, what a concept ! Thank goodness for some of the good programming out of the UK and Canada, I wish there was a way to keep them going by supporting the good ones. We have a long history here in Canada of the good ones living short lives. Billy Joel wrote "Only the good die young. That's what I said, only the good die young." Prove him wrong, Long live shows like New Tricks!

Just a note to say that after the departure of James Bolam as Jack Halford, I was worried about the future and that the 'chemistry' would be upset but I need not have worried. Denis Lawson seems to have settled in and the expert and professional cast has not seemed to missed a step. We on the 'other side of the pond' will just have to see what happens after learning that others are leaving the fold as well. I hope the writers can pull a few more rabbits out of their hats as there is not much else worth watching these days.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hugely Enjoyable Detective Series ***** out of ***** (a rare 5-star review)
Celticnationalist23 July 2009
BBC TV Series which follows the work of (UCOS) Or the 'Unsolved Crime and Open Case Squad' It's led by Feisty Det.Super. Sandra Pullman (Amanda Redman) and a trio of Eccentric Retired Police Officers, Jack Halford (James Bolam) Gerry Standing (Dennis Waterman) & Brian Lane (Alun Armstrong). All three have personal problems, Jack's wife was Murdered by a Criminal out to get him, Gerry has a complicated Family life and Brian is a Alcoholic.

It's just started it's 5th Series in the UK...and is a hugely successful and Enjoyable Series...It's Funny,Sad & Thrilling in Equal measure and just goes to show you don't need Whizzbang CSI type Investigations to Enjoy a very well Written and Acted Series.

***** out of *****
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
As in Can't Teach old dogs............
bkoganbing30 April 2011
The police series New Tricks which has been on for almost a decade in Great Britain is finally making it across the pond via our Public Broadcasting System and it's a nice import. The British have updated our old TV western classic The Over The Hill Gang to modern times.

Amanda Redman is a modern police inspector who has mastered all the latest in crime fighting techniques, but can't master the prejudices still there about women in positions of authority. They're promoting here, but she's in charge of the Cold Case Squad in London and not getting any real help, nor is she really expected to solve these long cold homicides.

What to do, but recruit her own help in the persons of three retired detectives Alun Armstrong, James Bolam, and Dennis Waterman who are wasting away in retirement. They may not be up to date and you can't teach the old dogs New Tricks at times, but they're still pretty good at what they do.

What's nice about all these people is that they're quite three dimensional and even ordinary somewhat. But they have a work ethic and they get the job done.

Hopefully this show will run in the United Kingdom for several more years and we'll have lots of episodes to look forward to.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth watching over and over again
blake-3639819 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
We consider this one of our all-time favorites, a top-rated series. The main cast – Dennis Waterman, Alan Armstrong, James Bolam, Amanda Redman and Susan Jameson were so much fun to watch. The initial investigations got to take a backseat to the interaction of the characters. The banter among them had us cracking up. I especially remember Alan Armstrong on his bike chasing a girl and riding the bike down some steps. The landing was hilarious. We were disappointed when the original cast started to leave. Things are never the same with different characters. In all fairness, I don't believe that they developed Denis Lawson or Nicholas Lyndhurst characters the way that they should have. They were not able to bring the same light-heartiness to the series and it faltered. It seemed that perhaps the writers/producers were getting away from this. I got the impression that especially Denis Lawson was at a loss as to what to do with his character. He might not have the capability of bringing off humor. I feel that Nicholas Lyndhurst was too much of a serious actor to make an attempt at humor. Besides these things, as with all series, the stories were getting a bit weak. It would have been interesting to see if the original cast could have brought those weak scripts to life. But all in all it is a series that we highly recommend.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Eccentric characters and unpredictable plots make it a series worth watching...
Doylenf5 April 2009
AMANDA REDMAN is the tough police boss of a squad of discontented officers she has to keep in line in order to solve unsolved murder cases. I've only watched one from this series but intend to watch more because it moves swiftly, has interesting and rather eccentric characters, and the plot took some unpredictable turns before the solution came.

The British do this sort of thing well. Instead of Inspector Morse, we have Redman's female boss dealing with detectives who'd rather not handle some of the cases they're assigned to.

Handsome production values help, as does the intelligent writing. Worth watching if you like your detective stories told in British style.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
New Tricks and Old Faces.
a_mellors21 January 2007
New Tricks is not the best of the British crime genre. In fact, it is closer to Fawlty Towers than to Prime Suspect. However, I appreciate it for its light touch and its ability to use British women actors "of a certain age". British TV and movies make good use of their talent pool of women over 40. If Hollywood needs a mature woman actor, they usually take a gorgeous twenty-something and make her spend two hours in the make-up trailer prior to shooting. Think Charlize Theron in "Monster". In "New Tricks" we have seen some splendid faces from the past, most of whom have been making a steady living in British theater and TV since their glory days on the screen. Guest actors have included Honor Blackman, Jane Asher, Harriet Walter and Rita Tushingham. Long may they grace our TV screens.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Premature Burial...........
girvanpaterson19 December 2015
Watched the final ever episode of 'New Tricks' on Melbourne's ABC here last night, 19,12,2015. A decent episode, and nice finish, but a bad, bad call by the BBC. This show still had a good 3 or 4 seasons left in it, just as the new crew get settled in, they pull the rug from under them! And I had grown to like them, yes, they're different from the originals, and so they should be. Unlike some reviewers, Nicholas Lyndhurst was my favorite, quietly spoken, and just quirky enough to make him interesting, and, big enough to handle any rough stuff if required! I wish they'd kept his daughter and cat in it though! All the others were good too, doesn't make sense to cancel a program that was clearly still a ratings winner? I feel it'll be a long time before the BBC comes up with anything as good as 'New Tricks'! A big thank you to the production crew and all the cast members, new and old, for giving us one of the best shows ever! You'll be missed!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What fun!
kikkapi2031 July 2014
Another of my favorite shows and one I try not to miss. This is one of the very few programs that can keep me at home. I wouldn't miss it for any reason.I just savor every moment of this wonderful series about a group of "old" British detectives who constantly runs into trouble with fine humor and everlastingly rocks "the establishment" within the police force. Quirky, eccentric and not adverse to bursting the bubbles of his snobby and stiff bosses, they're really copper's copper (without the helmet) and always leads us through such an entertaining series of plot twists and turns, it's really quite irresistible. This is fine entertainment by some of the finest British actors alive. It's great fun!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny and with Well Built Plots
DegustateurDeChocolat27 January 2014
I must say that when I first approached this TV series I was kind of skeptic. I thought that it would be based on the predictable jokes on retired cops and on aged people in general. I was quite surprised to see instead that the jokes are funny and work well thanks to the 4 main characters, each one with a defined personality. Besides this the plots are well made and the murderer is never obvious. Plus,the stories are credible and are not exaggeratedly far from reality. An interesting feature of the "New Tricks" is that each character has some dramatic event or problem left behind that arises now and then in the story, which contributes to give more definition to the personality and it also represents a constant present during the entire series. To wrap it up I would say unexpectedly original.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show, very good plots and very entertaining
burrusgregorytechoss24 October 2013
Love the show in that each show has a very definitive set of elements one can look forward too. I found this show while roaming through HULU. The good part is I get to see one show after the other and so far love the shows that are available Season 1 and 2. Amanda Redman is very good as she navigates and works through the old and the new police work ethics. along with the fact that she has to manage the issues of her personal life along with waking up everyday to handle the trickiness of her professional life, since non of her superiors appreciates what she does as she goes about solving crimes that no one else has or will solve. The guys are great and they have very good story lines and they seem to use the past to build the future solutions using DNA and more. Great show to watch
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Its certainly is all over
Prismark109 October 2015
What started as a rather risky and quirky show about retired cops dredging up old unsolved cases that ended up lasting 12 series with phenomenal ratings.

The quality kept up until series 11 when the rapid cast turnover took its toll in the writing and the new characters did not gel quite like James Bolam, Alun Armstrong, Dennis Waterman and Amanda Redman.

New Tricks was a phenomenal show for the BBC which started during the reign of Greg Dyke as Director General of the BBC and under his watch the corporation had a renaissance of successful and populist dramas.

New Tricks rather reminded me of those Euston Film serials that ITV had in the 1970s and 1980s. A series with a healthy mix of drama and comedy such as Minder and featured a lot of location shooting.

Apart from their office, each episode would showcase some part of London, it had a great cast of actors that certainly blended well and the mysteries were enough to keep you entertained. It really was a special show.

It is just a shame the wheels fell off a bit when many of the original cast left in quick succession. The final series was a mild return to form but all good things have to end.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
loving it
blanche-219 February 2016
Started watching this on Netflix and I absolutely love it. The cast is fantastic: Amanda Redman, Dennis Waterman, Alun Armstrong, and James Bolam are terrific as a cold case investigation team made up of three ex-detectives, all with unique talents, headed up by Redman.

I love the back and forth dialogue among the ensemble members, and the way they're all fully fleshed-out characters: Gerry (Waterman) is a multi-married man, now a grandfather; Jack (Bolam) is a widower who still talks to his wife at her grave; Brian (Armstrong) was an absent father who is trying to make it up to his son now.

The three are hilarious together. In one episode, Gerry was trying to find out if the other two made the same money. He was trying to break into file drawers and calling payroll as one of the others. In yet another, Brian realized that someone had information on an old case in which he was involved. The man worked for a Suicide Hotline. Brian storms into the building and cuts him off while he is trying to counsel someone. They are as funny as they are effective in solving cold cases.

The beautiful Redman brings authority and a certain toughness to the role of Sandra Pullman, but she has a twinkle in her eye.

I understand the cast undergoes some changes later in the run. I'll have to wait and see, but it will be hard to top this combination.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed