Wee Sing in Sillyville (Video 1989) Poster

(1989 Video)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
FANTASTIC! i'd still watch it if i had time.
hannahbanana8716 November 2004
Well, first off let me say i'm also 17 years old. Growing up, nearly EVERY morning i watched this movie. i knew and still know the songs inside out. i no longer spend my Saturday mornings watching this musical, but sometimes i wish i could. Its a fantastic and fun film that does NOT get boring. i constantly bring it along when i babysit and the kids seem to love it.

the thing that most fascinated me when i was younger, was the jeweled spectacle she (sillywhim) looked through. i was so envious of her colorful outfit.

best line: make new friends but keep the old. one is silver and the other's gold.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie rocks like rocks rock!
zilpah301022 February 2005
I work at a day care and this movie is a gem. You can only take watching the Wiggles, Blue's Clues, or Dora

the Explorer so many times. This movie never gets old though. The younger kids love the colors and dancing

and the older kids sing and dance right along with it. And it's something that the caretakers get into. I'm nineteen

and I seriously come home at the end of the day singing about Michael Finegin and the Yodeling Austrian. And

then throw in the moral lesson about prejudices. They really don't make kids' shows like this any more. If you

have kids, get this video. It's awesome! <3 - Sarah J
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect for preschoolers!
firehawkgrove22 October 2004
While this movie may seem corny and overacted to some, preschoolers are completely enthralled. The songs are silly and repetitive, which children up to the age of 5 or 6 absolutely love, and older teens and adults will remember as favorite camp songs (with some minor alterations to lyrics). The scenery and costumes are brilliantly colored and imaginative, with balloon trees, talking trees and rocks, singing reeds, etc. The song and dance numbers are performed by a mixture of live actors, marionettes, and puppets. The premise of the story is that the citizens of Sillyville, identified by the colors of their outfits, have decided that they will no longer talk to citizens of different colors. Two children travel around with the Sillywhim meeting the citizens of Sillyville and listening to their songs, while they try to solve the problem, and bring the citizens of Sillyville back together. I always bring this movie with me when I babysit, and it's never failed to enchant.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
love sillyville
mollyhella22 July 2009
I grew up watching sillyville, i knew every song and every line in the movie. This movie is great, I still love this movie. I haven't seen it in about 10 years but i plan on buying the movie. I am 17 years old by the way, and this movie never gets old. The colors of this movie are eye catching. The songs are attention grabbing. If your a parent and you should buy this movie for your children, they will never get sick of it. I would watch this movie everyday, as im sure your children would also. I wasn't even alive when the movie came out, but i watched it everyday of my life for about 7 years. This movies its amazing. There is never a dull moment in sillyville
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
18 Years And Still Going
sngnthebreeze30 April 2008
I've been watching this movie ever since it came out, and I never forgot the songs or anything. No joke, I went through a period where I watched it at least once a day, and a few years after I was out of that phase, my little sister got into to. I'm 20 now, a sophomore in college, and my roommate and I were talking about this childhood classic. We poked around on the internet for awhile and... well, we just finished watching it on YouTube in 11 parts. Totally worth it too. The songs are fun and easy to sing, completely memorable, and I'll be sitting through this while my kids watch it a billion times too. Rizzle dee razzle dee mau mau mau... My other roommate is looking at us like we just sprouted extra heads. That is something I can live with.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
kids STILL love it!
vhjedi25 November 2005
Although adults cannot stand this film for more than 5 seconds, both my children have LOVED this film!!! My son loved this film as a 3-5 year old and now my 3 year old daughter just adores this film. The entire plot keeps them engrossed with fun kid songs that they love to sing. This film is "silly" hence the sillyville but is the best couple bucks I ever spent!!! if you have small children and they love to sing and hear songs then this film is well worth the money spent for it. The sad part for me is that I have heard this film so many times over the years that I can sing just about every song by heart (Yes even the Micheal Finnegan and the Austrian Yoldeling song by the twirly pops) and have found the songs popping into my head at the oddest of times!!! This is the best of the Wee-sing series films by far.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Movie
laxislife7032-117 June 2005
One of the best movies ever made. Not only is it hilarious the songs are amazing to. It is a great movie for everyone, an instant classic. You might just spend all your Friday nights inside dancing to boom boom ain't it great to be crazy. It looks like a movie for little kids, it really isn't. Its so sweet, you cant understand if you haven't seen it Very hard to find so if you see one get it. Its really hard to explain this movie. Its about to kids who get sucked into a coloring book and into sillyville. Here they listen to wonderful songs and help overcome diversity by realizing that there's only two black people and one Asian in the entire movie.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not great but fun with a big lesson
mpcshopping30 October 2018
I feel sorry for the now adults who give this a bad rating. Yes the acting is bad. Yes the effects are bad. It's meant for little kids people! It's not meant to be up for review at Cannes. But the overall message of continuing prejudice for no reason and the harmful consequences is a strong one and should be noticed. My mid 20's son just sent me a YouTube link to "I'm a Nut". We all used to sing this together when they were little.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I watched this on repeat as a child—mom and dad, i'm so sorry
cellobrendan-9503620 October 2017
I cannot possibly put into words how horrible this movie is. and when i looked at the budget, i could not imagine where all that money went because it sure didn't go into the props and effects. my mother tells me that when i was aged 2 until i was 5 i would watch this movie over and over and over and i'm so thankful that this did not drive my mother into insanity. The acting is horrible. The props are horrible. EVERYTHING about this movie is horrible. i probably sound so pessimistic and evil but in all honesty, i would rather get my finger pricked on all 10 finger than watch this movie. i could see how someone could set their kid in front of the TV and leave them there, but if i ever have kids one day i would be horrified if i found them watching this. This is my own opinion and I respect everyone else's opinion of this movie, but let me just make it clear this is THE sketchiest, worst, and just simply put, crappiest thing I've watched. Mom and dad i'm sorry you had to watch this.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The cutest kids show anywhere!
hnedolphin18 January 2007
I loved this video when I was little, and ten years later I remembered it, and rented it. It is the cutest kids movie you will find, and it teaches a lesson too. New shows don't do anything thing like this anymore. Even at 15, I still adore this show, and it's fun to sing and dance to all the songs I remember as a kid, and the young ones love it too. The colors are really fascinating to a child, and the music is really good, and there are songs that you might even recognize from your own childhood, like "Boom, Boom, Ain't it great to be crazy", and "one bottle o' pop". It's the perfect video to get for a young kid, and I strongly say to anyone considering to buying this, that the kids will adore it, and you'll get a kick out of it too!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
fantastic!
hhoover32729 December 2006
This movie is fantastic for young children! i grew up on this movie, i was 2 years old when it came out, and i still love it now! i actually own it on DVD. it is very safe for little ones and they will remember the songs forever! it has many good lessons in it as well. you can watch it over and over, but trust me its not a bad one that you are obligated to watch (not like barney or teletubbies or any TV show for that matter...) it is quite entertaining and fun to watch. it teaches colors, the importance of friendship (but not too extreme for children to understand), child hood games and many other attributes that i don't remember right now... i highly suggest it:)
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
great fun for all people who are children at heart.
julie_andrews_fan17 August 2006
This movie is complete fun. I'm thirteen and I watch it whenever I'm stressed or over tired or sick. I love it. I've been watching it since I could open my eyes and i have some great memories from watching it. The songs are all incredibly catchy and fun to sing. There are great morals in the story, too. I had my first crush in that movie (the tall guy in yellow). My only disappointment in the movie is that there were no orange people. Even though the script is a little corny and the actors over-act (most of them are only children, so, you can't really blame them), it is still one of my favorite "pick-me-up" movies. I've even showed it to one of my friends and i'm going to show it (along with my other Wee Sing Movie) to more of my friends.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
i love it
xolilbethyleeox4 August 2006
i use to watch this movie when i was just a little kid and now I'm 18 and have my own, i would love to find this movie again, but i have no idea where! i know every single song and probably every single word in this movie, if ANYONE can find how i could get a copy of this movie ANYWHERE try and contact me, because i would love to find it for my own daughter and just for the giggles and laughs from about almost 15 years ago! i cant believe i even found this site about this movie! i was so excited and very happy!! i just hope that i can find a copy of this movie somewhere! and again if anyone knows anyone or of any place where i could find this movie let me know please i would greatly appreciate it!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Music and fun to watch my Nephew enjoy
donmiller-218 December 2005
Hello, never done this before. It seems to be a truly loved old video that my nephew has liked this for many years and is watching it (AGAIN!) as I type. I sometimes catch a tune or two rolling through my head also... sometimes at work. Man, that can be really embarrassing. :-) I call it "sticky music". It is an imaginative and very well done

Any cultural or Racial points are subtle and aren't too important to what is a great and fun little Video to sing along with.

Enjoy if you can with a child, It's really worth seeing, Especially if you have a little someone to enjoy it with. They'll laugh and smile all the way through
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dreadful
ddzayson8 August 2006
Clearly, this video is not to be judged the same way a legitimate film would. It is aimed at young children. Still, I have over twenty younger cousins and spend many evenings growing up babysitting them and watching countless kids videos. This one was hands-down the corniest and most awful. Again, no one is going to expect great performances here, but this cast reeks of small town community theatre amateurism. The songs will get stuck in your head and make you want to run head first, at full speed, into a brick wall. Sure, little kids might be amused (although my cousins- even at very young ages- found it lame). But for anyone over the age of six, stay away from this garbage!
2 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Woot!
robby_doll30 March 2006
I LOVE this movie and I think I am going to watch it right now... BTW, I am 19. I love the message that the movie sends about diversity. I watched it SO much when I was little, almost every day... until my little brother broke it. I am still bitter about that. Well my older brother bought the movie for me as a present cause he knew how much i loved it and I was SOOOO excited, I watched it right away. I still love the songs and since I am going to work with little kids as a career, I plan to teach them the songs as well. I will have the movie for them to watch and everything. I cant wait to have kids so that they will be able to have the same experience as I did when I was little, learning to accept everyone no matter what color they are. I LOVE WEE-SING!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best movie I've ever seen
moosicgrl089 January 2005
wow id have to say this is the best movie I've ever seen in my whole life. i am almost 15 and i still find great joy in this movie :-D i recommend everyone watch it. it is so well made and all those special effects i mean how do they make those trees talk?! how do they make the dog go into the coloring book like that?! its all so amazing. i think this movie should go up for an academy award for best motion picture, don't you agree? i was so happy at the end when everyone all became friends again, i almost started crying it was so touching. if this movie were nominated for an academy award it would most definitely win, it is just so amazing. i especially love silly whim and the way she frolics...
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I wouldn't wish this movie on my enemy's little brothers.
I saw this movie a few months ago, when I was over my friends house, and there was nothing else to watch. I figured what harm could it do, boy was I wrong...it did a lot of harm...

Now granted I'm 17 years old so, I thought maybe I shouldn't be so hard on it, but I should.

The songs in this movie, are repetitive, and unless you want to hear the same annoying lines in the same songs, sung from the same people in the same cheesy outfits, I highly suggest you avoid this film.

I understand it's for children, but the sound quality is terrible, and I couldn't imagine any kid liking this movie. My friend has two little brothers who hate the movie and only watch it to annoy him. My friend gave me the movie so he would never have to see it again.

The acting is exceptional considering how bad the quality of the movie is...

I think all existing copies of this movie should be burned, these movies may be the doorway to hell...
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed