The Greatest Game Ever Played (2005) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
117 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A great, great movie even for those (like me) who don't like golf!
themcquade25 April 2006
Bill Paxton has taken the true story of the 1913 US golf open and made a film that is about much more than an extra-ordinary game of golf. The film also deals directly with the class tensions of the early twentieth century and touches upon the profound anti-Catholic prejudices of both the British and American establishments. But at heart the film is about that perennial favourite of triumph against the odds.

The acting is exemplary throughout. Stephen Dillane is excellent as usual, but the revelation of the movie is Shia LaBoeuf who delivers a disciplined, dignified and highly sympathetic performance as a working class Franco-Irish kid fighting his way through the prejudices of the New England WASP establishment. For those who are only familiar with his slap-stick performances in "Even Stevens" this demonstration of his maturity is a delightful surprise. And Josh Flitter as the ten year old caddy threatens to steal every scene in which he appears.

A old fashioned movie in the best sense of the word: fine acting, clear directing and a great story that grips to the end - the final scene an affectionate nod to Casablanca is just one of the many pleasures that fill a great movie.
56 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Impressed
suessis26 February 2007
I was extraordinarily impressed by this film. It's one of the best sports films I've every seen. The visuals in this film are outstanding. I love the sequences in which the camera tracks the ball as it flies through the air or into the cup. The film moves well, offering both excitement and drama. The cinematography was fantastic.

The acting performances are great. I was surprised by young Shia LaBeouf.He does well in this role. Stephen Dillane is also good as the brooding Harry Vardon. Peter Firth, Justin Ashforth, and Elias Koteas offer able support. The film is gripping and entertaining and for the first time in my life actually made me want to watch a golf tournament.
25 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie you can watch with the whole family.
wtsimmons8 September 2006
This movie gives golf a high mark, it was well acted and well directed. Giving you a view of history that some non-sports fans will enjoy. The historic factor alone gives it a high rating, the Brookline golf course was really done well. I am in the northeast and have seen Brookline as a fan, and as someone who loves the game. The movie was well done on all levels. A MUST SEE 5 stars. The acting was superb, Disney has another winner in its bag of Great movies. If for no other reason watch the film to give hope and encouragement to young people whom may not see the hope in their life. I would tell you that the setting, while in the late 1800's and early 1900's is very realistic. The costumes and dialect were right on the mark as well. Above and beyond the call of duty for a golf film. A Must see for fans and non-fans alike.
27 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another Outstanding Film Centered Around Golf
ccthemovieman-114 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, here is another great golf movie. That's at least three in the past few years that I've really enjoyed, that were well-done, beautifully-filmed and inspirational. The other two were "Bobby Jones: Stroke of Genius" and "The Legend Of Bagger Vance."

This is a true underdog story, if there ever was one. To have an amateur defeat all the professionals and win the United States Open Golf Tournament is an unheard-of feat. I believe this is the only time in the 100 years it has ever been accomplished. How much of this film is fiction embellished for dramatic effect, I don't know. I do know that I plan on reading the book, and I know that in real-life, Francis Ouimet had a three-stroke lead in playoff with just two holes to go, unlike what we saw in the film.

Whatever. Francis Ouimet's victory over golf legends Harry Vardon and Ted Ray is fact. It is an amazing story and the filmmakers did a super job in presenting it here. It isn't something just for golf fans; this is a fun movie. Kudso to actor-turned-director Bill Paxton for an outstanding job.

Yes, a lot of this is just plain golf but there are subplots such as Ouimet's relationship with his father and with a pretty young woman who is obviously interested in him. It's also a touching story of someone giving a little kid a chance. The movie also deals with Vardon's demons of coming from the wrong side of the tracks and trying to make it in an elitist's sport, which it was at the time for both Europeans and Americans.

Shia LaBeouf is winsome as Ouimet as is Steven Dillane as Vardon. For those who don't know, Vardon was like the Tiger Woods of his day, maybe even more unbeatable. In the film, Vardon is pictured as a warm, nice guy; a genuine human being. the other major competitor, Ray (Stephen Marcus) is shown as somewhat of a brutish nasty guy.

The fourth main character of this golf story might be the coolest person in the film: a fifth-grade boy who winds up being Ouimet's caddie in the Open. He (Josh Flitter) brings a lot of humor and charm to the movie.

If all of this - a playoff with the huge underdog against two mighty pros and having come down to the last hole - were not true, you would think, "Oh, man, this is so hokey. Who could believe this?" That's what makes this true-life story fun to see finally captured on film. As with another sports film of 2005 - "Cinderella Man" - here is another excellent movie that got unjustly ignored when it came to awards. I guess nice films don't win awards.....just the hearts of their viewers.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Disney Sports Movie
opusverus9 October 2005
As a recreational golfer with some knowledge of the sport's history, I was pleased with Disney's sensitivity to the issues of class in golf in the early twentieth century. The movie depicted well the psychological battles that Harry Vardon fought within himself, from his childhood trauma of being evicted to his own inability to break that glass ceiling that prevents him from being accepted as an equal in English golf society. Likewise, the young Ouimet goes through his own class struggles, being a mere caddie in the eyes of the upper crust Americans who scoff at his attempts to rise above his standing.

What I loved best, however, is how this theme of class is manifested in the characters of Ouimet's parents. His father is a working-class drone who sees the value of hard work but is intimidated by the upper class; his mother, however, recognizes her son's talent and desire and encourages him to pursue his dream of competing against those who think he is inferior.

Finally, the golf scenes are well photographed. Although the course used in the movie was not the actual site of the historical tournament, the little liberties taken by Disney do not detract from the beauty of the film. There's one little Disney moment at the pool table; otherwise, the viewer does not really think Disney. The ending, as in "Miracle," is not some Disney creation, but one that only human history could have written.
45 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
a Truly Moving Picture
tollini4 September 2005
I saw this film on September 1st, 2005 in Indianapolis. I am one of the judges for the Heartland Film Festival that screens films for their Truly Moving Picture Award. A Truly Moving Picture "...explores the human journey by artistically expressing hope and respect for the positive values of life." Heartland gave that award to this film.

This is a story of golf in the early part of the 20th century. At that time, it was the game of upper class and rich "gentlemen", and working people could only participate by being caddies at country clubs. With this backdrop, this based-on-a-true-story unfolds with a young, working class boy who takes on the golf establishment and the greatest golfer in the world, Harry Vardon.

And the story is inspirational. Against all odds, Francis Ouimet (played by Shia LaBeouf of "Holes") gets to compete against the greatest golfers of the U.S. and Great Britain at the 1913 U.S. Open. Francis is ill-prepared, and has a child for a caddy. (The caddy is hilarious and motivational and steals every scene he appears in.) But despite these handicaps, Francis displays courage, spirit, heroism, and humility at this world class event.

And, we learn a lot about the early years of golf; for example, the use of small wooden clubs, the layout of the short holes, the manual scoreboard, the golfers swinging with pipes in their mouths, the terrible conditions of the greens and fairways, and the play not being canceled even in torrential rain.

This film has stunning cinematography and art direction and editing. And with no big movie stars, the story is somehow more believable.

This adds to the inventory of great sports movies in the vein of "Miracle" and "Remember the Titans."

FYI - There is a Truly Moving Pictures web site where there is a listing of past winners going back 70 years.
110 out of 152 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Show, Mr. Paxton
WriterDave9 October 2005
Actor turned director Bill Paxton follows up his promising debut, the Gothic-horror "Frailty", with this family friendly sports drama about the 1913 U.S. Open where a young American caddy rises from his humble background to play against his Bristish idol in what was dubbed as "The Greatest Game Ever Played." I'm no fan of golf, and these scrappy underdog sports flicks are a dime a dozen (most recently done to grand effect with "Miracle" and "Cinderella Man"), but some how this film was enthralling all the same.

The film starts with some creative opening credits (imagine a Disneyfied version of the animated opening credits of HBO's "Carnivale" and "Rome"), but lumbers along slowly for its first by-the-numbers hour. Once the action moves to the U.S. Open things pick up very well. Paxton does a nice job and shows a knack for effective directorial flourishes (I loved the rain-soaked montage of the action on day two of the open) that propel the plot further or add some unexpected psychological depth to the proceedings. There's some compelling character development when the British Harry Vardon is haunted by images of the aristocrats in black suits and top hats who destroyed his family cottage as a child to make way for a golf course. He also does a good job of visually depicting what goes on in the players' heads under pressure. Golf, a painfully boring sport, is brought vividly alive here. Credit should also be given the set designers and costume department for creating an engaging period-piece atmosphere of London and Boston at the beginning of the twentieth century.

You know how this is going to end not only because it's based on a true story but also because films in this genre follow the same template over and over, but Paxton puts on a better than average show and perhaps indicates more talent behind the camera than he ever had in front of it. Despite the formulaic nature, this is a nice and easy film to root for that deserves to find an audience.
37 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Way big feel good biopic!
jobeblanc7 August 2006
I'm not a sports fan - but I love sports flics! So, why ... what is a great sports flic ... this one. And the storytelling style, is very fine.

If you are looking for a reliably fantastic 2 hours of entertainment, "Greatest Game" qualifies mightily. Here is a movie that moves. Bill Paxton has gone to the same Director school as Ron Howard - a.k.a. Richie Cunningham, "Happy Days". That is not bad. Look at the immense body of fine work that Ron did after moving behind the camera.

Bill like Ron was a great actor, but will be a superstar director if "Greatest Game Ever" is the indication of things to follow.

Wonderful cinematography - fantastic direction - fine acting, especially by Elias Koteas, Shia LeBeouf, Marnie McPhail, Josh Flitter, Stephen Marcus, Justin Ashforth.

This is a must see film not just as "feel-good", nor "sports film", this is very good cinema.
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Feel-good movie like "Seabiscuit"
rosemary-118 September 2005
Although I'm not a golf fan, I attended a sneak preview of this movie and absolutely loved it. The historical settings, the blatant class distinctions, and seeing the good and the bad on both sides of the dividing line held my attention throughout. The actors and their characterizations were all mesmerizing. And I was on the edge of my seat during the golf segments, which were not only dramatic and exciting but easy to follow. Toward the end of this movie, "Seabiscuit" came strongly to mind, although "The Greatest Game Ever Played" is far less complex a story than that film. In both cases, the fact that the events really happened deepened my interest.
52 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wonderful
Pickwick1218 September 2005
I saw this film in a sneak preview, and it is delightful. The cinematography is unusually creative, the acting is good, and the story is fabulous. If this movie does not do well, it won't be because it doesn't deserve to. Before this film, I didn't realize how charming Shia Lebouf could be. He does a marvelous, self-contained, job as the lead. There's something incredibly sweet about him, and it makes the movie even better. The other actors do a good job as well, and the film contains moments of really high suspense, more than one might expect from a movie about golf. Sports movies are a dime a dozen, but this one stands out.

This is one I'd recommend to anyone.
55 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Touching and sensitive portrait of a golf winner who participates in the U.S. International Open against his British idol
ma-cortes25 June 2014
An emotive tale of triumph and redemption , being based on a true story . Sport film with sentimental story and intelligent character studio . Classic story rings true because of Shia Labeouf's complex and adequate acting and stunningly realized by director Bill Paxton . Exceptional Shia Labeouf displaying a first rate performance reaching an important milestone and a terrific Stephen Dillane as his upright as well as serious contender . In the 1913 US Open, 20-year-old Francis Ouimet (Shia Labeouf) gets a chance as he played against his idol, 1900 US Open champion , Englishman Harry Vardon (Stephan Dillane) . Amateur player Francis gets to achieve for big time , thanks to the coach , as he triumphs over by odds , but sheer determination helps them attain their dream . Ouimet dreams of playing final Open , as he gets the chance to participate in the International Golf Championship against his idol , no matter how far-fetched the dream . Meanwhile , he falls in love for a rich young girl called Sarah Wallis (Peyton List) . But he has an intelligent skill to no match for the class boundaries ; however , being pressurized by his father (Elias Koteas) .

From the studio that brought you ¨The rookie¨ , ¨Miracle¨ and ¨Remember the Titans¨ is realized this agreeable tale based on the 1913 USA Open in which took part famous international champs , it contains a classic plot and deals about a slice of American history , and is plenty of good feeling , heartfelt, interesting characters and formidable performances . However , sometimes is some sentimental and predictable but is still pretty amusing . Correctly based on real events as the actual Francis Ouimet and Eddie Lowery remained life long friends . When Ouimet died in 1967, Lowery was one of the pall-bearers . Likable and enjoyable plot about a young golfer and his coach and caddie , both of them face the dual challenge to win a world championship and redeeming themselves . Splendid film from the filmmaker Bill Paxton and writer/producer Mark Frost of another David beats Goliath sports movie , similarly to ¨Rudy¨ with Sean Astin and ¨Hoosiers¨ with Gene Hackman , and it is even better than ¨The legend of Bagger Vance¨ with Will Smith and Matt Damon . Sentimental plot stretches Hollywood manipulation , but is still entertaining . Shia LaBeouf delivers an engaging acting as Francis Ouimet ; he is backed by a good supporting cast such as Luke Askew as Alec Campbell , Stephen Marcus as Ted Ray , Peter Firth as Lord Northcliffe , Len Cariou as Stedman , Elias Koteas as his stiff father Arthur Ouimet and special mention to Stephan Dillane as Harry Vardon , protagonist's idol as well as contender .

Spectacular and rousing musical score by Brian Tyler , fitting perfectly to action . Fine production design and good sets , filmmakers had trouble filling the fields with extras for the final game, and needed to move people around when shooting different angles ; extras were given 1910's hairstyles and their clothing was checked for anachronisms . Colorful and evocative cinematography by Shane Hurlbut ; filmed at the Kanawaki Golf Club outside Montreal, Quebec, producers had the club house painted yellow for the film from its original white. Members so liked the change that they kept the color following filming. The motion picture was compellingly directed by Bill Paxton , he's a notorious producer/director and especially actor ; being this one his second film , the first one was a nice terror film titled ¨Frailty¨ with Matthew McConaughey . Rating : Better than average , worthwhile seeing .
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Greatest game or not, this is a great movie
misterembryo28 September 2005
As you know "The Greatest Game Ever Played" is about golf. I used to snicker at the over-dramatic title, but through great visual display credited to director Bill Paxton (better known for his acting in Twister and hilarious supporting roles in Aliens and True Lies) we find out that this has much more meaning than a game.

Though the movie is about golf, it seems as though the sport is just the framework for what is really going on. What is really going on is a story of individuals being told they can't fulfill their dreams, be it age or social status. A conflict between a son's wishes and a father's demands. An English golf legend looking to bring the title home with the country breathing down his neck.

Shia LaBeouf (Even Stevens) plays Francis Ouimet, a caddy with a God-given talent who was never permitted to play golf in the first place. Despite the resentment of the upper class "gentlemen," it was undeniable that Francis had a gift. What posed a greater threat was the discouragement of his father played by Elias Koteas (Sugartime, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) who felt that playing a mere game will never improve their poor living conditions. With the continued support of his mother, Francis eventually comes face to face with his idol, the golf legend Harry Vardon (Stephen Dillane).

More impressive than the game itself, was the movie's cinematic achievement. This proved that storytelling is successful through pure cinema. The entire movie could've been told without dialog. There are scenes in the movie that build strong suspense and powerful emotion with only pictures. In one particular scene, Francis Ouimet swings and the entire crowd turn their heads to watch the ball fly into the distance, all but the face of Harry Vardon looking intensely at Ouimet without a flinch. The ways in which the golfers visualize the course offer more aesthetic enjoyment.

A pleasant supporting cast completes the whole. Peyton List plays the love interest and looks worth playing for, and Josh Flitter plays a lovable caddy that keeps Ouimet focused as the pressure bogs him down. Golf fan or not, you'll appreciate the film for its beauty and its reminder that cinema can be a great medium to tell any story.
33 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Maybe this is one of the Greatest Sports movie EVER made...
kal078 July 2009
I will divide my review into following 5 categories each accounting a maximum of 100%(if perfect) ________________________________________________________________

Visual Pleasure:[100%] This is extremely pleasing movie visually. I had a great time watching it. Golfing scenes are very well shot and the dramatic effects on the green were quite amazing. I also loved seeing the old wooden golf clubs and the bag.

Director's Work:[70%] Bill Paxton is more associated to acting but this film shows he's got talent. Did a decent job.

Acting:[90%] Shia LeBeouf was very good in his role of Francis Ouimet(this guy can ACT well). The rest of the cast was also good.

Entertainment Value:[100%] I enjoyed every minute of it. It was overwhelmingly entertaining.

Script:[91%] Based on a true story and therefore it makes the film that much more special. It was intriguing right from the start and loved every scene till the very end.

__________________________________________________________________

My Advice: Definitely a MUST watch for all the Sports lovers especially Golf(You all will love it). Anyone who is looking for a nice entertaining movie and doesn't hate Sports can watch it.

_____

10/10
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
awesome guys awesome!
inkee5516 November 2007
Oh my god what a story! This movie is very good and it had to be God who had this happen! You did a awesome job.The acting was really good you picked the right actors for sure. This movie is so good I am really glad you made this because if you had not then I would have never ever known about this story because I am not a big golf fan and I think it is kinda boring so thank you. I really enjoyed it and that is why I gave the movie a 10\10.I liked Shia Labouf too he was perfect for the roll of Fransis Quimet. I hope most of that stuff you put in there was true also. Oh and some parts were funny and others I was just really happy.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Makes par
StanleyStrangelove6 October 2005
The Greatest Game Ever Played loses points for having a terrible title. But it is an inspirational "true" story from Walt Disney studios and so every inch of melodrama is squeezed from it accompanied by appropriately "swelling" music. Which is not to say I didn't like the movie. I did enjoy it for what it was.

As a person who golfs it was both interesting and frustrating to see how golf was played in the early part of the century but much more could have been done with the game of golf itself in the film. (I think that non-golfers who don't know the game will find it hard to keep track of who is ahead in the matches which is a problem in the film's editing.) Instead, the story concentrates on two sub plots. The conflict between Shia LaBeouf and his father Elias Koteas. Shia is a natural golfer but his father is totally against it. The other sub plot is the desire to win back the US Open cup for England. This pits world famous champion Stephen Dillane against influential lords who are portrayed as gross, oyster-slurping, upper-class snobs. There is also a small love story aside between Shia and Payton List. A standout in the film is little Josh Flitter who plays Shia's plucky caddy in a comic relief role which I found amusing but other may find annoying.

As for the film-making, the colors of the film are muted which gives it a nice look and since it's a period piece the costumes are interesting. Since golf itself is not very visually exciting the director chose to use Matrix style visuals such as having the camera fly behind the golf ball as it sails to the hole accompanied by a really huge swishing sound. There is one shot as if taken underneath glass looking up at a putt.

If you can forgive the melodramatic musical swells, you can find this film an enjoyable 2 hours and if you have any interest in golf it's one of the few movies about golf. If you are in the mood for an underdog film this one makes par.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well crafted, overlooked gem
mlouns6 September 2008
This is first of all a good, exciting story, with well developed characters. But all the other details are well crafted on top of that, leading to a wonderful film. Don't let the Disney label lead you to think this is dumbed-down or only for kids -- it has a lot to offer to all ages, whether you like golf or not. One of the more impressive things is that the film manages to make a golf game look really exciting. And speaking as one of many who can't abide golf on TV, this is no small feat.

The first half of the film does a good job of laying out the basic characters with their motivations and backgrounds, enough that you end up liking all the important competitors once the pivotal match begins halfway through. Sure, you root for Ouimet's character all along, but his primary opponents are likable and interesting in their own right. The background layer is important once the golf match becomes a match using minds as well as golf clubs, since you get a good understanding for what each person's strengths and weaknesses are as the play progresses.

The computer effects are flashy, but they do help the story more often than not. The directing has all sorts of clever golf shots, and the period costumes and sets are really top notch.

There are a few small quibbles -- many of the minor characters seem a little too stereotypically cast from the class warfare mold, but this is forgivable with the major characters so well drawn.

Shia LaBoeuf playing Francis Ouimet is, as usual, callow and sympathetic. But the real standout is Steven Dillane, playing Harry Vardon. He rarely moves his face, but his intense, often sad, eyes and minor changes of expression say so much.

Ouimet's caddy Eddie Lowery, played by Josh Flitter, steals the scenes he is in. After you see the film, Google to find the actual photograph of Ouimet and Lowery at the tournament, to get an even better appreciation of how incredible this match truly was.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Even Disney can't screw up a good story.
glentom129 August 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The story is great, the movie is bad. I didn't care for the casting, except for the actor who played Eddie the caddy and the actor who played Vardon.

I didn't care for the directing. The story of Ouimet is so good that it would have been great without all the weird camera work. For example, several times at an exciting point in the game, Paxton used weird flashbacks and cartoon like contrivances. And what was the point of the ladybug on the ball? Sometimes it got just plain weird.

I have other problems with the movie, but the playoff statistics were entirely incorrect. In the 1913 US Open playoff Ouimet shot a 72, Vardon shot a 77, and Ray shot a 78. (source: golfweb.com)

The movie ending shows Ouimet winning by one stroke. I give it 5 out of 10 just because the story is so good. I just don't understand why Disney felt they had to change history to make it a good movie.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Why alter history? It was a great story without revisionism
Dave-18910 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Writing a movie script based on Mark Frost's excellent book was no doubt a daunting task; doing a movie about any golf game has to be a challenge. And this rendition of the 1913 US Open was fair but perhaps failed most in not holding to the truth.

First, Francis Ouimet didn't beat Harry Vardon by one stroke - he beat him by five (72 to 77). Second, Ted Ray didn't drop out of the final round as the movie depicted; granted, he did tell Vardon that he had basically given up, because of his poor play, but he was too much of a professional to walk off the course. He continued to play and carded a 78.

Another distortion was having Ouimet drop out of golf completely for two years - didn't happen. And, when he is asked two weeks before the Open to play, this was a fabrication as well.

Perhaps the greatest injustice, not to the movie but to the game, was to have someone utter the words that "this was the greatest game ever played." Okay, fine, up to 1913 this was the greatest game, but since then we've had 90+ years of thousands of games so this is just a memory. NO, THIS was the greatest game ever played, as-of 2005, not 1913. In the book we never read these words, so why implant them? And talk about missing opportunities for a great laugh: after the first day of competition, when Ouimet looked like quite a competitor, a club member suggested to Francis that he had proved his point and that he should drop out and let the pros take over. While Francis reacted in shock, Eddie Lowery responded by asking the man if he was drunk. When I read the book I was sure we'd hear that line - but no, the writers preferred to alter history rather than take advantage of a truthful and humorous episode.

Would I recommend the movie? Perhaps, as it is a fair rendition and gets the point across about this 20 year old overcoming all obstacles, even his own, to beat the greatest British golfer of all time. But I'd recommend the book even more.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautifully done!
FilmSchoolWriter1 October 2005
"The Greatest Game Ever Played" is beautifully done. It is perfect in many (if not all) aspects. A real winner. It is not for everyone though. Most young people will probably be bored by it, I mean golf isn't exactly the most exciting and action packed game ever invented. However, for those with longer attention spans, it is a very good movie that I really enjoyed.

My hat goes off to Bill Paxton for a wonderful job directing. He manages to make the sport of golf actually interesting. To tell the truth, I rolled my eyes when I saw this being billed as an epic. But it does fulfill the word, although it doesn't even remotely compare to the likes of "Ben-Hur" and "Lawrence of Arabia".

One of the biggest surprises about this movie is the performance given by Shia LaBeouf as Francis Ouimet. I was rather unsure about how good he would be, especially after seeing him on the Disney Channel's TV show "Even Stevens". But he was wonderful. LaBeouf's definite strength is in his facial expressions. He managed to show every emotion in just his face. If he continues to perform like this, I can see a long and successful career carved out for him.

Elias Koteas, he plays Arthur Ouimet, also gives a very strong performance. Just like with LaBeouf, Koteas' strength is in facial expressions. It's a very strong, and apparently heart felt performance.

In my mind, Stephen Dillane steals the show. His performance is captivating and seems to truly come from the heart. He perfectly captures the troubled character of Harry Vardon and I look forward to seeing more of him. Just with Koteas and LaBeouf, Dillane is very good at showing emotion through his face. I truly admire and enjoyed his performance.

What makes this movie so wonderful, in my mind, is the terrific chemistry the characters have. You don't know if you should be rooting for Vardon or Ouimet. THAT is the sign of a good movie.

If you think you can handle it, you can see this movie. But if you prefer the more action packed adventure flicks, than don't bother seeing it because you won't be doing it justice.
14 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
greatest game-one of the greatest movies made
eaamon2 August 2009
if you watch this at home on DVD or Bluray! be sure you have great sound system. the musical score through this is what moves you through the movie. I have watched the movie several times and thought it was great but after just up-grading my home theater sound system, what a difference. I will be watching this movie many, many more times.

if you do not have a great sound system. find a friend who does and watch it there.

also watch the extra stories and behind the scenes extras that come with it (the BR or DVD.) the interview of Quimet in the 1960's talks about his scholarship fund...but for those times just boys got it. today I hope some of it goes to girls.......
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
i loved this movie!!!
jessica_whitey14 January 2007
hello, my name is Jessica and I'm sending you this e-mail to congratulate you on this movie. i think you have done an awesome job and it is now one of my favourite movies. it is one of my favourite movies because it is a true story, it is an interesting movie and i love golf. since i was about 8 years of age my dad kept saying to me why don't you take up golf as a Hobbie? From this movie i now no that if you are interested in playing golf you should just do it and not sit back and think about it for 4 years like i did. I regret not starting to play golf at the age of 8. now i love golf even more and i play golf for a Hobie. my favourite part of the movie is when the little guy, the short one comes on set. he is also my favourite character. i first heard about this movie at the local video store(video ezy) and i hired it my mum said no so i hired it with my own money. i really enjoyed that movie and again well done on a successful movie.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
For lovers of golf and/or underdog sports dramas
TheMovieMark30 September 2005
Let me go ahead and clear this up - no, The Greatest Game Ever Played is not about the time I led my softball team to victory by knocking in the winning run with a triple. Instead, it's about golf. More specifically, it's based on the book that's based on the true story of Frances Ouimet.

The story is so simple that even a Tennessee Vols fan can follow it - boy loves golf, boy becomes caddy, boy begins to play golf, dad isn't happy because he thinks it's a waste of time, boy miraculously overcomes insanely enormous odds, movie gives audience a bunch of warm and fuzzy feelings, the end. I'll leave it to you to guess the outcome and whether the boy's father eventually accepts his son following his dream.

This is one of those movies that will absolutely thrill its target audience. If you love golf or Disney-produced underdog movies then you'll enjoy this one. For me, it's one of those movies that's good for one viewing. I enjoyed it, but it was a little slow-paced at times, and since I already knew the outcome of the match I wasn't completely enthralled with the tension that Bill Paxton tries to derive by following a golf ball on its arduous journey to the hole. However, others in the audience would clap wildly at every long putt that was sunk.

I have to point out that I didn't find the fat little 10-year-old caddy as cute as most everybody else in the audience. He had some funny moments, but his little one-liners grated my nerves: "easy peasey, lemon squeezey;" "okey dokey, pipe n' smokey;" "read it, roll it, and hole it." Sure, the audience guffawed with overdone laughter, but it just seemed to me that this was an attempt to create some new catchphrases for people all over the world to start using on golf courses. I pray that doesn't happen. Allow me to introduce my own catchphrase to whoever thought these annoying lines were cute enough to put into the movie: shovey wovey up your butty.

Hey, I never said I'm all that mature.
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
quality movie
reubensimonson14 September 2005
I think this movie is a quality film and definitely worth watching.

The story was engaging, the cinematography and effects were a lot of fun and turned even 'normal' scenes into interesting eye candy.

I didn't read the book and have yet to research the characters, but I look forward to checking into the story and seeing how accurately the film portrayed it. i've only played golf once, but this movie inspires me to play again.

I sat up near the front row, because the theater was full, but was glad I did because the film was very beautiful in a lot of ways. It obviously had its emotional parts to it, but it was a true story, and the director did a great job of telling that story.
14 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Its just a great story... cliché or not.
haleysdaddy9 September 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Is this movie perfect? Certainly not. Is it cliché? Yes. As you might read in other reviews or comments, the story is "typical" of the average sports movie.

The problem is... its true! So, when you have a historically accurate (more on that topic in a moment) movie with a happy ending, are you automatically doomed to mediocrity? I don't think so.

As a huge fan of the book, I was very concerned that the great story would be butchered in favor of a dumbed-down movie. And, my first impression of the movie (from the trailer) was exactly that. They added a silly love interest to the movie that didn't exist historically. There was some unfortunate dialog that didn't quite fit with the feel of the story from a historical point of view. And, Eddie didn't exactly look the way he does in some of the original photos.

But, with that said. It is still a good movie because it is an undeniably good story. Do the good guys win? Yes. But, in real life they actually did win. So, its hardly reasonable to expect them to change history in order to provide a different flavor of drama.

As a golfer I liked this movie for several reasons. First, it accurately represents a great story in my favorite sport. Second, the story is set in a time that many golfers view with some degree of reverence. Hickory shafts, brassies, niblicks, and golfers who still played in the rain. Finally, I liked it because it is one of the few golf movies I have seen where the "swings" do not appear to be obviously faked. The actors swing as though they know how to play the game. And, for me, that goes a long way to enhancing the drama of the film.

Now, a note on historical accuracy. As with most movies that originated as a great book, it falls short. That doesn't make it a bad movie, it just means you have to know what to expect. Francis, Harry, Ted, and Eddie all survived the translation from book to movie with little defacing. However, many of the 'other' characters and stories that were important to the book didn't survive. This is to be expected, or they would have had to make the movie 9 hours long.

For those of you who know the story, but haven't read the book. This is a non-fiction story, of sorts. The only problem is that when Frost wrote the book he didn't always take the time to credit his source when he was attributing thoughts, feelings, or dialog to the characters. So, it is occasionally difficult to tell the difference between dialog that is true to history, and that which Mark Frost applied in the interests of dramatic license.

As stated above, the movie survives all of these problems in a way that I didn't expect. The movie stayed true to the large themes and main characters of the book. The movie survives the translation because it is true to the original theme. Perseverance.

I am not a professional movie reviewer (or writer for that matter), so I won't bother getting in to my opinion about how the movie was made. I am sure someone else will comment on the relative cinematic value of the movie. Unfortunately, many of the supposed movie experts are not going to know the story, know the book, or know the sport of golf. So, it is unlikely that they will be able to accurately represent the way the movie will be perceived by golfers. Hopefully I have commented in a way that is useful to golfers.
12 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the Greatest Movies ever made
MrTimm20 June 2008
I love golf. I love playing it. I love watching it on TV or in person. There's no other game on earth like it. Just you against the golf course. There may be other players out there, but it's still just you, the course, and that stupid little ball.

This was a story that needed to be told, even if they embellished the facts in the screen version. It is so much fun to watch because of the incredible Disney screen effects that I can't get enough of it. The boy golfer defeats his hero. The family story is the sad part. Some fathers just don't seem to understand what's important in a man/boy's life.

I started to use the Vardon grip long before I even knew who Harry Vardon was. We finally see what a true gentleman he was. He would have been a great American. It was a great movie about a great game.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed