"The Alfred Hitchcock Hour" The Sign of Satan (TV Episode 1964) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
One of the most memorable episodes
moonchildiva24 October 2006
I remember this episode clearly even though I haven't seen it since 1964. First of all, it scared me and most of all, Christopher Lee has always been one of my favorites. That night, in Detroit, the wind was blowing very hard, we made fudge that came out SO GOOD and our whole family watched Alfred Hitchcock because Lee was in it. This was the era of one TV in the family, so they were nice to comply. I have to find a copy of this SOON. Every once in awhile, someone in our family will say, remember that night...... and it's this one. I agree with the people here who said this was one of the best of all. It was interesting to see Lee on television, a rare occurrence.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Religulous.
rmax30482327 April 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I think we can all agree that the worship of Satan is a bad idea, but it's even worse being a lapsed Satanist, as Christopher Lee can tell you.

A handful of Hollywood producers and other high-echelon types are watching a film of a Black Mass that was conducted in Europe somewhere. Lee is the Bishop, or the anti-Bishop or whatever, and the moguls are enthralled by his performance. He's great. They decide to make a movie about the cult and import Lee to star in it.

Lee shows up when summoned but he's a little nervous. You don't defect from the First Amalgamated Zionist Church of Beelzebub and get away with it. They pursue you, subject you to a painful and lingering death, and then mutilate your body.

The studio pooh poohs this as superstition but they assign a studio cop to be constantly at his side. Then there is a genuine attempt on somebody's part to murder Lee. He barely escapes but insists that from now on, he himself will decide where to live. It will be a different location every night, unknown to anyone else. It worries the moguls, of course, because what happens to the movie if Lee disappears for some reason when it's only half complete.

The first morning of this new arrangement, Lee doesn't show up on time. They plan to shoot around him, meaning they'll shoot scenes in which he's not required to appear. So the leading lady, Gia Scala, goes through her motions and turns to the door through which Lee is supposed to come. The door actually opens slowly and there is Lee, emerging from a cloud of smoke. He utters some incantation and disappears -- for good. That same day, his body is found in an apartment. He's been dead for three days.

It would have made a nice "Twilight Zone" episode, probably, but it's not as gripping as it might have been. The reasons, I think, illustrate the limitations of an hour-long, inexpensive television format.

Lee isn't very spooky here and his performance seems hasty. He's tall, but he's a light weight. The initial viewing of the filmed Black Mass seems to go on too long, as if more footage were needed to pad out the allotted hour. The sets, both indoor and outdoor, look made of cardboard. Gia Scala was a beautiful woman with startling green eyes but her part is unnecessary. She's in no way linked to Lee. In a feature film there would have been time to fill in a relationship that might have made the story more engaging. (Too bad about Scala's problematic psyche.)
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A scared Lee is a first - He usually scares us...
claudelib29 July 2006
Greetings mystery fans... This is one of my favorite Hitchcocks from the TV shows... One we read less about, I don't know why, since Christopher Lee gives one of the finest performances of his career (and I've seen 70% of his work - more than 250 listings on IMDb)! In this segment, Lee is visibly shaken, more like scared out of his wits, and understandably so; he's a devil's disciple willing to 'opt out' of the fold, which, like the mafia, is a 'no no'... Being a regular of his weekly shows (there is a nightly rerun of the A.H. Hour on the national satellite network called 'BOOK' on Bell's XPressVu), I can safely say that this is one of Hitchcock's finest. . I recommend you get the full version (quite rare), not just the 60 minute segment (including commercials).. Happy frights with this one, Hitchcock fans... Claude Lebaron
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Eerie Idea, Pedestrian Treatment
dougdoepke8 May 2015
A European horror star is hired by Hollywood studio to star for them. Trouble is he's mixed up with a real satanic cult or at least thinks he is.

Film freaks like me always enjoy behind-the-scenes studio plots, and we get lots of that here, where real life evil is blended with Hollywood's make-believe kind. Sounds promising but results don't really come off, despite Christopher Lee in a bushy hairpiece and raccoon eyebrows. As others point out, it's interesting seeing him as the frightened one instead of an imposing figure scaring the devil out of the rest of us. Trouble is the suspense and fright never gels, maybe because scenes too often switch to the mundane studio head and his staff. Menace is not played up beyond Jorla's words, while that overextended opening sequence smacks of padding. Then too, the one attack scene is filmed like a cowboy barroom brawl with no spooky atmosphere at all. The end result is more like an eerie idea filmed too much like an ordinary narrative.

On the plus side, is Myron Healy showing he can play a high-powered exec instead of his usual baddie. Also are the interior and exterior glimpses of the Universal lot where these Hitch's were filmed. At the same time, it's a Lee showcase at a time when his Hammer Films career was flourishing, which may be why he gets so much screen time here. But pity poor ravishing Gia Scala who doesn't get to do much except tag after the boys in ravishing fashion—not that I'm complaining.

All in all, the hour's a promising idea that unfortunately gets treated in rather pedestrian fashion.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
THE ALFRED HITCHCOCK HOUR: THE SIGN OF Satan {TV} (Robert Douglas, 1964) **1/2
Bunuel197617 June 2015
Hollywood's legendary "Master Of Suspense" on celluloid – then at the peak of his powers – made the competing small-screen medium his own and turned himself into a household word in the process with his long-running (1955-61) half-hour TV series ALFRED HITCHCOCK PRESENTS; the format was subsequently elongated into feature-length becoming, appropriately enough, THE ALFRED HITCHCOK HOUR and running between 1962 to 1965. While I am familiar with several episodes of the former, more popular show, this Christopher Lee-starring vehicle is the first of the latter that I have watch.

Based on a short story written by Robert Bloch – best-known for having penned the original source novel for Hitchcock's own biggest box-office success, PSYCHO (1960) – it tells of a Hollywood troupe (including Gia Scala and Adam Roarke) who come across some snuff-like footage of a black mass and decide to make a film on the subject and hire the High Priest therein himself – French actor Karl Jorla (played by Lee, of course) – for the lead. What they did not know at the time, however, is that Jorla has since severed his ties with the Satanic cult and is now in fear of his life from their proverbial retribution...

Although the narrative regrettably tends to concentrate far more on the bland Hollywood people, this makes for an interesting look at the workings of a TV-film set – not to mention act as a precursor of sorts to Roman Polanski's ROSEMARY'S BABY (1968); best of all, however, is that it provides a (by this time) rare opportunity to watch the usually villainous Lee portraying the victim for once. Still, apart from his involvement in the initial would-be documentary footage of the aforementioned diabolical ceremony, the rather absurdly-coiffeured Lee does get to elicit a frisson from the audience when "he" (ostensibly A.W.O.L. at the time) makes an unheralded eerie appearance on the set following Scala's silly bidding and mumbles his true fateful location in the process!

Interestingly, when Lee accepted the role of Jorla, he did so under the incorrect assumption that Hitchcock himself would be directing the episode; however, although it was British actor Robert Douglas – best-known for his villainous turn in Errol Flynn's last great starring vehicle, ADVENTURES OF DON JUAN (1948) – who handled the task, Lee seems to have enjoyed the experience overall. It would not be the last time that the British horror icon would play a Satanist, most notably in Hammer Films' last genre effort, TO THE DEVIL...A DAUGHTER (1976). Needless to say, the genial rotund host appears in the opening and closing framework bits while presumably stranded on the planet Mars!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Christopher Lee is the only reason to watch.
grizzledgeezer3 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
"Alfred Hitchcock Presents", with its tight half-hour story lines and ironic/twist endings, remains one of TV's iconic anthology series.

"The Alfred Hitchcock Hour" is a major step down. It's difficult to maintain tension over an hour, and few of these episodes are memorable (or merely good). Even one of the best, "An Open Window", is ten minutes too long.

"The Sign of Satan" holds great promise. With a script by Lyndon Barré from a story by Robert Bloch, and starring a young Christopher Lee, you expect something at least a little unnerving.

Unfortunately, 90% of the proceedings are Lee repeatedly telling the producer that he's quite capable of taking care of himself, thank you. The ambiguity of his eventual death comes out of nowhere, and is annoying rather than satisfying.

The only good thing is Lee's performance. He's made up to look Eastern-European threatening, and the character is thoroughly convincing.

Not really recommended, unless you have a hour to kill.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mark of the Devil
sol12186 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
***SPOILERS*** Getting his hands on this very obscure film about Satanic worship Hollywood agent Dave Connors, Myron Healey, is extremely impressed by it and especially the person who stared in the film. Connors is determined to get the star of the flick bit French actor Karl Jorla, Christopher Lee, the lead role in a horror film to be made by his boss shyster Hollywood director Max Rubini, Gilbert Green. Flying out to Hollywood to do the movie Jorla knows that his days are now numbered on earth. Jorla is only willing to act in the film because he, with his death now a forgone conclusion, has nothing to lose in making it!

By the film of him involved in the Satanic rites, as Satan's sacrificial lamb or goat, becoming public Jorla has been marked for death by the Satanists that the film exposed to the unsuspecting,in not knowing about these kind of things, public!Even though Jorla tried to prevent the inevitable from happening he knows it's only a matter of time before the Sanatic hit men finally get to him!

**SPOILERS*** With the movie just about over or in the can Jorla disappears into thin air with the big final scenes, where he ends up getting it, unfinished! With Rubini filming around Jorla he unexpectedly shows up, like a ghost in the night, as the scene was being filmed! That to the complete shock of all those present at the set! It seems that Joral was indeed involved with a Satanic cult that he was a member of back in French. And now also used the powers that Satan gave him to literally rise from the grave and finish the movie that he promised both Connors & Max Rubibi to do! In his last words on earth to his shocked co-star Kitty Fraizer, Gia Scala, Jorla said a number of unintelligible words that no one at first could figure out. Those words turned out to be the address when his body could be found! That three days after members of the Sanatic cult that were out to get Joral had already murdered him!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A trip down memory lane.
angelosdaughter27 April 2012
Wow,does this bring back memories! I was in my last year of high school, and having seen Christopher Lee in one of the Dracula movies, I already had a crush on him. I wasn't sure until almost the end that I had seen this before. It was the address of the house that jogged my memory. Now Lee is three years younger than my mother would be if she were still here, and he still looks great and is still acting. Good for him! I do wonder, though, seeing this now, if Lee was wearing a hair piece in this episode. I don't think his natural hair looked like that. I agree with the poster who said that it would have been more effective if the episode focused more on Jorla and maybe a bit more on his history and what he was experiencing and less on the pointless discussions by the crew. It was interesting to see Lee in the role of the victim rather than the perpetrator of fear.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed