Hating Alison Ashley (2005) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
22 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Loving Hating Alison Ashley!
ThisLifeArtificial27 December 2005
Well I heard a lot about this film, "Delta was wooden" and "Saskia was annoying" but after watching the film, I was pleasantly surprised.

Not a classic teen film by any means, but a really enjoyable way to spend your time. It was a refreshing change from the usual teen fare, and it was to nice to see actors who weren't the usual tanned bimbos playing the lead in a film. Giving unknown actors a chance in a low-budget flick that steered away from most of the clichés of the Hollywood teen film.

Saskia Burmeister was nothing short of charming in her role as Erica Yurken. Very talented and lit up the screen with her witty acting of the over-dramatic, kooky teen. Delta was really underrated as the titular character giving an understated performance as the so-called 'perfect' Alison Ashley of Erica's mind. Alex Cappelli was also good as the resident bad boy. It was good to see him in a bigger role as I have only seen him previously as a recurring character in 'Neighbours.' The screen is very nearly stolen by the teachers who are absolutely hilarious.

In conclusion, HAA was a very funny teen flick and should be given a chance. So the next time you are at your local DVD store and you feel like renting out the next Hollywood teen comedy, do yourself a favour - rent this instead!
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It was great
ChavRose062 April 2005
I recently saw Hating Alison Ashley in the cinema and I was blown away by Delta Goodrem and Saskia Burmeister's performances. First of all I would like to say that is appalling no one supported this film, it was brutally honest, as an individual I can empathise with the character Erica Yurken, mainly because I understand her upbringing and her complex behaviour and then there's the character Alison Ashley who everyone thinks is all perfect and has everything, until you get to know her properly. The author Robin Klein has created many characters that people can relate to especially high school students. It was very well done for Australian standards, haven't seen a good Aussie flick like this since "Looking for Alibrandi" or "Strictly Ballroom".

As for the film, just proof that Australians have potential to tell a good story.

Hating Alison Ashley? Nah, she's alright.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Stiff performance
penarol1027 February 2005
I just attended a special preview of the movie, 'Hating Alison Ashley' and I was interested in seeing the performance of Delta Goodrem. Not reading the book, I am purely basing my comments on the movie I saw. In short, Delta Goodrem's performance is stiff and she doesn't play a very convincing 'Alison Ashley'. Firstly, she is supposed to be a Year 9 student, but she looks way older than the rest of the students. She also physically looks bigger than the rest of the students, making it hard to suspend disbelief that she actually is a troubled Year 9 aged between 14-15 years old. Most Year 9 students are aged between 14-15 years old, so I guess setting the story at Year 12 would have changed the whole narrative. Therefore, the makers of this movie clearly wanted Delta Goodrem at all cost to be in this movie. Apart from these setbacks, it's actually a very entertaining and funny movie. It holds your interest for most part of the film, but it slows down when the students head to camp and prepare for the play. The early high school scenes look very lifelike and give you an impression of just how bad some State schools are. Jean Kittson was superb in her role, as was Craig McLachlan playing the simple minded P.E teacher. Tracey Mann should have put a little bit more effort into her role as the single mother. However, it's Saskia Burmeister that really steals the spotlight with her wonderful performance. She was believable, passionate and understanding of the role of the confused Year 9 student. Delta Goodrem on the other hand was not. Delta came across as rigid and excessive in her role of the girl from the 'right side of the tracks'. Just look out for the scene when she is talking to her mother from the camp's kitchen, she manages to hang the phone, while she is still talking on the phone. I guess she can only learn from her mistakes, but why do we have to see them on a good film like this? On the whole, I enjoyed the film!
18 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Luved it
tiny_teddy200413 April 2005
When i heard that this movie was coming out i couldn't of cared less but then i went with my friends and thought it was one of the best Aussie movies after the castle.

I thought Sarskia was brilliant and though people keep dissing her Delta wasn't to bad either even though i think she should stick to singing, however the person i thought was outstanding was the teacher of 9C, every line was delivered with such sarcasm that i thought was hilarious.

This movie is aimed at 12 to 14 year old's, i think thats why i enjoyed it so much as I'm 13, i could kind of get what Erica was on about, her frustration and anger about how no one appreciates her "art".

i would recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys a bit of a light hearted fun, (especially good for a boring Saturday afternoon!
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hating Delta Goodrem
sliat_19811 June 2009
This is a poor adaption of Robin Klein's bestselling book. Delta Goodrem is fatally cast as Alison Ashley. The producers were told they could not make the movie unless Delta was cast. Her being cast, they had to sacrifice the basic style of the book. The kids were were Primary school age are all now seniors in high school and it ruins the movie. Its almost a different movie. I'm sorry, Delta may be a pretty face, but she CAN'T ACT (she hardly says or does anything in the movie, despite her name in the title). Nor could she act when she was on neighbors (not that it takes a lot of acting to get a part on that). She really ruins the movie (and did her wig have to be so fake-looking?) I mean if she was 8 years younger she would have looked the part, but still her lack of acting ability here and her age and the fact that everyone else in the book had to be made older to accommodate Delta's age really stuffed up what could have been a great adaption. A whole movie should not be re-written to suit one actress' age (all the girl's have large breasts and you even see them in their bras and naked with towels on in two scenes). She's given first billing, but the main character is clearly Saskia. Delta is much clearly a supporting role. She doesn't say much and Saskia is on camera for almost every frame of the movie. Having said, Saskia Burmeister (one of the few Jewish Australian actors) does a brilliant job as Erica. Her plain-looking (but not ugly) looks and stroopy sulky face make her a wonderful fit for Erica (the only character that stays true to the book description). If not for her age, she would have been almost exactly as I envisioned Erica in the book. She has the right frowns and sooky expression that makes her perfect. If she was cast when she was 10, she would have been the ultimate Erica Yurken. I hope this movie is remade again, without the need for a "name" star (Delta) and done with kids who are the right ages (pre-high school). In said it was not a success, despite being based on a best-selling book. The hopes to attract more people with a "star" (Delta) backfired and actually destroyed the film's appeal. In the novel Lennie was blissfully aware of Erica's rudeness to him, here's he gets hurt and it looses the comedic effect and makes Erica unlikeable. Barry Hollis is not funny and is actually a romantic interest for Erica?! Also she dips the salad bowl on his head rather than Alison's. Is Delta Goodrem to petite that we can't even show that happening to her? In the novel they reference "Prisoner", here it's "Buffy" (does everything in this country have to be completely Americanised?) Margeart Collins (who was so hilarious to the book and gave it good comedy relief) is hardly seen at all, while Mr Kennard's role is ridiculously expanded. Mrs Belmont and Mr Kennard are having a sexual relationship. In fact sex is implied a lot in what is supposed to be a children's film. The library teacher is male and American. I mean honestly, how many Americans do you see in Australia? 1 out of 10,000. There are several fantasy scene which seem to serve little purpose than to show off the actress' breasts in sleeveless, tight, revealing clothing. But praise must be given for Saskia's wonderful performance (she was nominated for an AFI award and deserved it). I'm sure she will recover from this flop and go on to bigger and better things. As for Delta (who went on to other things such as breaking up marriages and selling out to America), STAY AWAY FROM ACTING. You tried but it didn't work. Give up.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Aussie teen flick is better than American equivalents :)
Aussie_flick_chick2 April 2005
As a female year 9 (coincidently 9C), I found Hating Alison Ashley a joy to watch. Erica Yurken, who's played brilliantly by Saskia Burmeister, is a seemingly over-confident outcast, who believes she's superior to everyone else at her extremely dysfunctional school. Everything she's ever worked for is turned upside down when the "perfect" Alison Ashley from the snobby part of town, joins Erica's class, 9C. Delta's performance as the apparently flawless Alison Ashley was stiff at times but certainly adequate. It's Saskia Burmeister's performance that steals the show.

The supposed ages of the leads are very unconvincing. Am I supposed to believe these people are my age? 20 year old physically don't 'look like 14 year old even if they act it.

The best thing about the movie is that it's Australian! It's fantastic the see an Aussie teen flick which my friends and I can relate to so much more than an American equivalent. The 9C students have textbooks that I have, there are Australian products sold at the canteen, Erica eats a meat pie and there's tomato sauce on her kitchen table! In scenes there's the Westgate Bridge and Melbourne city in the background. It's fabulous! None of this would obviously ever happen in an American teen flick. The year nines don't speak with American accents or use American slang, have quarter-backs and cheerleaders and there's not even the American flag blowing in the wind in the background. It's just so refreshing to have an Aussie teen movie.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
From a big fan of Robin Klein's books
alexkent29 September 2005
I absolutely adore the book written by Robin Klein, so I was very excited when I heard that a movie based on the book was in the making.

But I was severely disappointed with the movie when I did see it because it didn't capture what I loved about the book - the absolutely ridiculously funny Erica and the interesting way in which she views the world.

From the start of the movie, I realised that things weren't the same as I had imagined in the book. So, I just went along for the ride. It wasn't all that bad, I guess. Miss Belmont was totally different to what I had imagined her to be! I didn't think she would be one to smoke and drink - Jean Kittson, who plays her, is hilarious!

On it's own, I thought the movie and it's actors/actresses in it did a good job, but alas, I'm such a fan of the book (one of my all time favourite books) that I couldn't help but feel disappointed =P
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Saskia Saskia Saskia
drummer-girl20 March 2005
When i walked into the cinema i was worried, very worried. Here i was walking into a film adaptation of a book that i have read literally over 30 times, Klein's classic Hating Alison Ashley. Luckily i had prepared myself. I was prepared for the 11 year old story turned into a 14 year old story played by 19 year-olds. I was prepared for the more than likely over-hyped, overrated and very average performance of Delta Goodrem. And thats exactly what i got. But there was a little ray of sunshine in the true lead actor, Saskia Burmeister. Her and Jean Kittson (absolute legend, brilliant in this film) were the reason that i managed to walk into the cinema in the first place. Seeing Saskia in Wicked Science, The Pact and Thunderstruck, she hit me as someone who had a real talent, and here her talent really shines. She basically single handedly saves this film, every scene with Goodrem is saved by her. Her portrayal of Yuk is so beautifully accurately done, that in the end it really doesn't matter about the changes made from the book to the film. She was the reason i enjoyed this film as much as i did, which is amazing cause i managed to give it a 7/10 which considering the close to butchering of the book and goodrem it could've been a lot worse. Apart from the brilliant burmeister, there are some great little performances as well. Kittson of course is at her usual brilliant best, Craig Mclaughlin was a crack up in the small amount of screen time he was given, and even the beefed up role of Barry Hollis (Anthony Carpanelli) was although different to the book, worked an absolute treat in the film.

So all in all....Delta stick to what your good at..no wait not even that...go away....

Saskia.... get your AFI award speech ready!
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent adaptation of the book.
kelly_roquet9 October 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Unlike many of the reviewers, I didn't see anything wrong with Delta's performance, though I do think her true talent is musical.

Why are so many people griping about them not looking young enough? People in their early 20s play teens all the time, it's much easier and more economical than getting real teens to do it because of child labour laws. That's probably why they aged the characters up in the first place.

As I said, it was a decent adaptation, but I loathed that they felt the need to add sexual/romantic tension between Erica and Barry. No. Just ... no. Erica might be a bit silly, but Barry is a toad (even more so in the movie), and she knows it.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sticking to the book - well sort of!
cottoncandles29 March 2006
I did love the book by the same name, and was very much looking forward to seeing the movie, a bonus that is starred Delta Goodrem who i recently met! YAY However the first major problem i had was the fact that in the book, the characters are in year 6, about 12 years old. But in the movie, they're in year 9, supposedly about 15 (my year) but then the actors look about 18! What on earth? But movies cant't be exactly as the book, or the true story. I think the acting in this movie was pretty good, Saskia was great as Erica Yurken who is obsessed with the sick bay and drama! And Delta was alright too, but in every scene her hair bugs me. It's a wig, but it looks too 'wiggy'. Anyway 7/10 cos i liked it, love ya!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not too bad a film for kids
Brittleism22 December 2005
I saw Hating Alison Ashley twice in cinemas, the first time because my sister loves Delta Goodrem, the second because I actually really liked it.

Personally, I thought Delta's acting was a bit wooden, and the whole cast looked several years over fourteen, however Saskia Burmeister brought the role of Erika Yurken to life.

The book on which the film is based is set while the characters are in grade six, so the film tackles the situation a little differently, turning the class bully, Barry Hollis (played EXCELLENTLY by Alex Cappelli) into a bit of a love interest, however the rest of the story stays pretty true to the book, adding in a bit of slapstick humour here and there.

Overall, the film is definitely worth seeing, even if you're not a Delta fan (trust me, I really can't stand her, but I still really enjoyed this movie).
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
i hated this film
emmakate199219 September 2005
i am 13 and i hated this film its the worst film on earth i totally wasted my time watching it and was disappointed with it cause on the cover and on the back the film it looks pretty good, but i was wrong its bad. but when i saw delta she was totally different and a bad actress and i really didn't know how old the 2 girls was trying to be i was so confused. the film was in some parts confusing and i didn't enjoy it at all but i watched all the film just to see if it was going to get better but it didn't, it was boring,dull and did i say BORING.and i don't think many other people liked it as well as me.boring boring boring
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fantastic Film !!
sjsvidron22 March 2005
personally, i found this film to be very meaningful and a great film. Delta Goodrem & Saskia Burmeister both played excellent parts in the movie. The storyline is powerful, it kept me intrigued and after reading the book,noting the similarities and differences between the book and the film came with many surprises.

I deeply enjoyed the film, and I definitely recommend it to anyone. It was truly a great performance by the entire cast. I must say that Hating Alison Ashley is definitely one of the best Australian films I have seen, and I congratulate the cast and crew on a fantastic film. without spoiling anything, there are many wonderful moments in the film that truly show that friendships can be unexpected.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loving Alison Ashley
kirstenvonwerstak14 March 2011
Having read the book previously, I was very much anticipating the release of the film adaptation, which did not disappoint. Erica Yurken, the snooty outcast, no friends and a family which could be called at least "kooky". Erica dreams of being an actress and escaping the dysfunctional public school in which she attends and always lying to make her life seem better. We've all been there, that wish to be something more than we are. Erica is a perfect protagonist conveying a young girl refusing to fit in and trying to be someone she is not. This reputation is put to a challenge when Alison Ashley, conveying the perfect girl and student. She's wealthy, pretty and smart, but as we can see in this film, everything is not so perfect in her life either. This film is a perfect presentation of adolescence, the need to belong and the need to be more then who you are. Being a fellow Delta Goodrem fan, I can be honest that I was biased in her acting and couldn't see any problem with her acting out the role of Alison Ashley. Highlights, the characters were portrayed brilliantly. In particular bad boy Barry Hollis and teacher Miss Belmont, the constant bickering of these two was enough to keep the film together. They kept to the book in a sizable amount and were still able to convey the deeper meanings. Lowlights, Erica came off as the lying snob, and wasn't half as funny as she was in the books, so instead of pitying her I just found her embarrassing. Another lowlight was the unbelievable age of the actors playing characters at most 10 years younger, however there performances are enough to erase this issue. The end was left in a good atmosphere, and left things to the imagination with Erica's relationships with her classmates, her family and of course Alison Ashley. All in all, an enjoyable coming of age film, which I enjoyed immensely and class it under my top ten favourite Australian films.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very nice film
mulveymeister21 February 2009
Australia loves quirky and does it better than everyone else. It has allowed their film industry to create great films over the decades. Lately they have concentrated (in this part of the world anyway) on children's' television. This seems to fit in here and is very well done. The acting is very good, although Delta's wig is distracting. There is great attention to the minor roles and Saskia is perfect in the lead. I think this works best for slightly younger kids than the ages portrayed in the film. They possibly relate to teens a couple of years old, without being adults. Hopefully, it will open them to the wonderful treat of Aussie film, which as for me, will last a lifetime. It's good.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great fun, and a real laugh
flavs28022 March 2005
Excellent Aussie movie, Saksia really portrays Erika Yurken very well and guaranteed to entertain adults and children! Especially if you read the book when young, a must see. Great casting, very good to have Delta as Alison, as she does it so well and really looks every bit the part, you'll hate her to your heart's content! Other stars include Rachel Carpani from McCleod's daughter's and Richard Carter form White Collar Blue, two other great Aussie shows. Craig McLachlan also makes an appearance as the clumsy PE teacher, and puts on a great show. Jean Kittson as Miss Belmont fits the part like a glove as the strict teacher we all hated at school but somehow admired for putting the bad kids in place.. A must see for young and old!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A masterpiece of work
mightmagic96215 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
A excellent film for a budding TV man. The fact of Delta Goodrum and Saskia Burmeister (both over 20 years of age) can play out he roles of 14 year old's is an astonishing work of art thanks to the make-up artists. An excellent storyline that followed the novel it was based on. Most movies these days follow another plot and don't contribute to the base of the storyline. Hating Alison Ashley also has an excellent plot. Meaning, a student treasure by a teacher is soon replaced by a more beautiful and noble character. With a perfect place at a school camp Erica Yurkin (Saskia Burmeister)can show up Alison Ashley (Delta Goodrum). Children of all ages should enjoy this film. To like this film you have to concentrate on the plot, not the female impact. I regard this film as an excellent director's work of art. A film that is plotted through a based on children's novel the people have enjoyed from Robin Klein's collection for many years
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An excellent Australian Movie!
bec-delta-goodrem15 January 2007
This is a great Australian movie. The actors and Actresses in it are hilarious and excellent!!! Delta Goodrem and Saskia Burmister are fabulous! There are many jokes and funny comments that people of all ages will enjoy. there are many faces that you will have seen in Different Australian movies/TV shows. It is one of my favorite movies. Probably best suited for 9+ but anyone will enjoy its loving story line of how two very different people can be very much the same!!! DELTA IS AMAZING!! The special features on the DVD are really good- give you a great behind the scenes look on how the movie was filmed and great actor and actress interviews. The music in the film is also great-a lot of it Aussie!!!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
delta is a brilliant actress and is so lovely
musicsman8 December 2005
i watched Delta Goodrem in neighbours as Nina Tucker and thought she was so talented but was gutted when she left. my heart rose when she brought out innocent eyes and i thought it was brilliant then i got mistaken identity and also loved that. i heard about Hating Alison Ashley and decided to go and buy it because it didn't get released as a movie or DVD in the UK so i bought it on e-bay and it is one of the only films i will watch because it is superb both Delta and Samantha were brilliant and credit goes to all of the cast/crew for making this film.i believe that Delta Goodrem is probably the most beautiful woman in the world and i have got everything she has brought out e.g. albums singles photos calenders films DVDs
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loving Alison Ashley
michelaham7 April 2005
I loved this film, and thought Delta's performance was really good. You have to remember she is seen as a perfect, pristine character who just glides through life: she is a creation of Yuk, not a real person warts and all. Saskia Burmeister is fantastic as Yuk, and I really liked that the film is about something, not just a stupid comedy that goes nowhere. I relate to the idea of really wanting to be something then finding out you're just no good, and of trying to find a place in the world. That this film is about serious things but still makes you laugh is a credit to the film makers. I think Hating Alison Ashley is a classic - all that great stuff going on in the class and the hilarious stuff that Miss Belmont and Mr Kennard get up to makes it all the better. Go see it - it's a great film!
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great,Great,Great
Kittykat_6981 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I thought hating Alison Ashley was anything but the book. I liked the movie, but a few people in it annoyed me one was Saskia Burmeister(Erica Yurkin)I found her to over act and a boor. I am not a very big fan of Delta Goodrem either, but in this I found her great. She Dian't over act and applied the right note of anger and sadness in some scenes. Another person who I thought was great was Alexander Cappelli, he applied the right amount of acting for his part of being the mean but sometimes thanked bully. A bit of mystery was applied in his part I thought. But I must say I thought everyone was very old to be playing 14 year old grade 9's., in the book they were a grade six class. But they were very old to playing grape 9's anyway with Alexander Cappelli having stubble in some of the scenes. And I have a brother and neither him nor any of his friends had stubble around this age. But over all I thought it was great and if you have not seen it. See it and if you have see it again!
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best movie ever!
jacee-163 February 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I absolute love this movie, it is now my favourite of all time. While keeping the plot of the movie similar to that of the book, they have modernised it and made it so much better. All the cast did an excellent job, even Delta although many say she didn't. How Delta portrayed Alison to me was how she was supposed to be.

I feel however that with the way the movie ended, there should be a sequel. How Alison's night at the Yurken house went, Barry and Erica's relationship, and most importantly how or if Erica's relationship with her family and the way she views them has changed. I would like to see the wedding of Erica's mum and Lennie. That's why I'm running a petition for a seqeul at the following website. Anyone is welcome sign.

http://www.PetitionOnline.com/haas6/petition.html

This storyline is just to good to only have one movie on it. So producers if your reading this...please make a sequel. And make sure the actors all remain the same because they were brilliant.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed