Madea's Family Reunion (2006) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
148 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Inspiration to keep on keeping on.
OldSchool221 September 2006
I rented the DVD and watched this movie three times before returning it. I bought the DVD to watch parts of it often enough to keep me keeping on just like Medea does. The show inspired me. I laughed tears. Funny thing was my daughter called and told me to watch it because it reminded her of me, her grandmother, and great-grandmother. It made me so brave that when my 29 year old son (semi-brain damaged drug addict) came through the house popping his mouth off at me I went into "Medea Mode". I jumped back with, "This is my house and I will whoop your butt no matter how old or big you are! I rattled on with I'll catch you asleep and beat the s--- right out of you. And on Medea Mode I rode! Sons and grandkids broke out laughing and going crazy cause NAN was back. Get on out of here boy, I don't want to see your ugly face for awhile." It sure felt good. Medea is my hero. No Tyler Perry is. Thank you. You are writing my life. Whew! Do I have stuff you should hear!
31 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The one isn't standing in for a zero--it's standing in for a negative ten!!
alanrayford4 August 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a Black man living in a predominantly Black city. That being said, I have some major misgivings about Tyler Perry's work. I realize that some people out there feel the need to praise him, because he's Black and trying to portray a positive image about the culture. But, I honestly do believe that, were Perry White, this film would have had the NAACP, Al Sharpton, and Jessie Jackson all over his ass.

I have been forced to watch this movie one whole hell of a lot recently and each repeated viewing makes my blood boil. The characters are poorly written and acted. The jokes are so bad, I have to actually be told something is supposed to be funny. I'm just going to break this big pile of sh-t down.

Madea=suck. The character may have had some appeal, but it doesn't anymore. When the only thing she ever seems to do is smack around children and threaten adults with violence she is less than useless. She is unnecessary.

The situation with the wife beating fiancé was horsesh-t. If a woman was so scared to death of her husband, why would she try to run away when he's sleeping in bed. Wouldn't it have made more sense for her to leave when he was at work. At any rate, the characters in this arc were so annoying and overbearing that I hoped he would throw her off the balcony and was royally ticked when he didn't.

Then there are the two lovebirds. A bus driver asks a woman out by harassing her while he's making his rounds. I couldn't believe it. I really couldn't believe when she agreed to go out with him even more. But, what takes the cake is that a grown man was reduced to tossing pebbles at a window and passing notes like a ten year old by a castrating mega bitch. I don't use this term lightly, but that woman only had two modes. Morose victim and psycho momma. No matter which of these two faces she showed, however, there was one constant. The bus driver wasn't going to get any. He even married her without sampling the goods--WTF!

Then there's the family reunion scene. Here we've got the mother load which includes implied incestual taboos, grinding for the sake of grinding, shirtless, overly musclebound, b-ball, plus the great taste of Maya Angelou. When those babes dragged their butts outside and called a meeting, was I wrong to wish that the oldest of them was claimed by a heart attack. All this crap is going on at the reunion, in laughably easy to separate groups, and then they ring a bell. When they do, everyone drops what they're doing and heads on over for a stern talking too, just like a pack of Pavlov's doggies--WTF!!

Then you have the final five minutes of the film. In it we see the abusive fiancé get manhandled by his longtime victim and all around bad actress. There is an impromptu wedding where Black people are dressed like angels and are hanging from the ceiling--WTF!!! The only reason to watch it this far, besides testing your threshold for pain, is the hope that the second villain of this story gets her ass handed to her as well. Guess what, it doesn't happen. Instead, Perry takes the testicularly challenged way out and plays it safe, ending the movie on a tone of forgiveness--WTF!!

I'm pretty sure that, if given a day , I could probably write a doctoral dissertation on all the ways this movie sucks. Don't even get me started on the rest of Tyler Perry's films. I'm just going to say this. In my opinion, as a Black guy, D.W. Griffith's legacy lives on. The irony is that it is doing so through a Black man who will be praised for doing what Birth of a Nation did, selling us down the river. I only wish Perry's films were dudes so I could kick them in the nuts. Thanks a lot, dude!! What are you going to follow this up with in 2009, a comedy about the raping and savage beating of slaves in Colonial America?
29 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
And What a Family Reunion!
cdelacroix14 March 2006
This is to me just an amazing, funny, delightful movie.

But first ... to be honest, I wasn't planning on seeing this movie at all. I had (woe be to me) never even heard of Tyler Perry. And the film's title alone sounded ... well ... unappealing at best. The synopsis I'd read suggested yet another movie with a man playing an overweight black woman. That might have been funny once or twice ... in Big Momma's House, and The Nutty Professor ... but surely can't keep carrying so much water as to make yet another movie about this same motif, right?

Well, be that as it may, I noticed that this film had hit the top of the box office when it opened a week ago. And then I read a review this morning by a typically politically correct reviewer who was "dissing" the movie. Now this is a reviewer I've come to rely upon as always panning movies I like and waxing enthusiastic about movies I dislike. So reading this reviewer's badmouthing prompted me to try out this movie ... and I am so glad I did.

I think I can see why high-minded PC reviewers wouldn't like it. It's a "popular" comedy, full of rough, earthy humor, celebrates Black cultural child-rearing values, and unapologetically celebrates God and family. No wonder it's been a hit with the general Black American culture, especially Black Churchgoing culture.

What is it that makes this movie so funny and so deeply heart-warming at the same time?

Well, in some ways, this is something of an old-fashioned morality play. Such has a wonderful tradition in Western Culture ... and in African culture. A resurrection of the Morality Play is fine by me: just a shocker, that's all. I kept thinking, "how are these characters getting away with saying things like that?" As when the leading lady says she's given her life to God and has been celibate and will stay celibate till she's married. How is it possible for something like that to show up in a general release movie in this day and age? Not as a statement to be mocked, but as an expression of genuine faith in God and Chastity? I just shook my head and smiled and enjoyed the sheer frank morality of the movie every time it surfaced ... which was pretty often indeed.

The music was resplendent throughout the movie, but the sound seemed a little problematic at times. The audio was almost echoing, flat, tinny ... sort of like a somewhat bad mono recorder.

The cinematography was fine, but in a way, very old-fashioned ... stylistically similar to the movies from the early days when films were often framed as theater transferred to the screen. Maybe that reflects Tyler Perry's background, I understand as a playwright. But for example, the camera follows the action in a very straightforward, even simple way: head on, straight up, no angle shots, no through shots, no complex dissolves or modern "realistic" camera "jiggling". Maybe this is intentional: the movie is telling a plain, straight story with feeling and humor and no hint of subtlety. If this is what's going on, it's fine by me: because this makes for a very candid, very honest, but never discomforting style. Perry's narrating a Story, Telling us What's Happening. Nuance is not what we're after here. Very basic human themes are painted with strong strokes. So we have a basic cinematography to fit this purpose. Fair enough.

There's an interesting interplay of serious and humorous material at two levels. First, there's some very tight sequencing in which strongly emotional material is followed by strong humor. Some will like this, some not, but it's very much at the core of Madea's character, and the overall character of the movie. Second, "serious" scenes are sometimes interspersed with humorous scenes inserted clearly for no other reason than plain comic relief. I think some might find that a little jarring. Still, it works for me very well. And this kind of thing goes back to Shakespeare at least, so I know it works for others as well.

The acting and characterizations were wonderful. Now again, don't look for subtlety, that's not the nature of the movie. But if it's good, solid performances matching characterizations to characters, this movie has it all. Tyler Perry as Madea and Joe was simply perfect. But the entire cast provided strong, reliable performances. Including a delightful cameo by Maya Angelou.

A few "plot holes" have been alleged. I see what's meant, but frankly, don't agree at all. This is a movie that for the most part is stylized, full of art and artifice, not a "realist" movie in which careful plotting is critical for believability. A movie like this is more like a painting, or a song ... a ballad. A popular folk ballad, full of humor and fun and tears and hugs ... and lightly textured but unapologetic moralizing. This movie is a classic combo of Entertainment and Edification. The final scenes at the farm, and at the wedding, really sum up the movie in both respects, and keeping a scorecard on consistency of details is very out of place, it's directly contradictory to the genre.

Last but not least, I have to say that the figure of Madea ... tying everything together with humor and wisdom ... is a sheer delight. I'm told she'll be back on the silver screen. Good ... I can't wait to make her acquaintance once again some day.

And needless to say I'm going to try to find and watch Diary of a Mad Black Woman as soon as I can find it ... !
55 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Madea's Family Reunion More than Drag!
threedropsofcaramel28 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I noticed on the message boards a lot of criticism about men in drag being done before and that is true, but none of those have been done like this.

Madea's Family Reunion is about family, love, hurt, painful secrets and laughter. It features the infamous, gun-toting tell-it-like-it-is Madea, but this movie introduces a lot of well-rounded characters that are played by some incredible actors. We meet Vanessa the older of the two nieces in the movie. She has two out-of-wedlock children and has moved in with Madea. We also meet her sister Lisa, the younger and meek one who is engaged to a wealthy and violent investment banker named Carlos. To round out this group is Victoria, Lisa and Vanessa's mother, a strong-willed, domineering mother who has a favoritism for Lisa and a troubled past with Vanessa.

Although the movie is titled Madea's Family Reunion, the viewer gets caught up in this dual story of the sisters. One finding what love is, and one finding out what love isn't. The movie boasts powerful issues that are acted out to perfection. Tackling such controversial issues is rarely seen in films today where the movie industry has caught remake and horror fever. What is most compelling is the way Perry tells this story of love and pain, it is without color. Anyone, no matter what race or status can relate to this movie.

I also liked how the movie tackled foster parenting. Madea takes in Nikki, a rough quick little girl who has been passed around in the foster care system. With a little patience, a lot of love and encouragement, we see her metamorphosis into a sweet young lady.

The film also features strong matriarchs, garnering appearances from both Cicely Tyson and Maya Angelou. The family reunion scene in the movie is exhilarating and honest. It also gives a very moving speech by Cicely Tyson that defies time.

This is a must-see. A movie that tackles the good and the bad. There is good acting, great story lines, great character development, great music and it will leave you feeling stronger, encouraged and educated on the lessons that life deals us. Don't assume this movie is like the play or is simply about a man in drag. Trust me, it is not. Go and see it, you will be pleasantly surprised and definitely entertained.
27 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Family Movie
mariea321 July 2006
I think it was an excellent movie. It's one of those movies that you have every emotion with. You laugh, you cry, your shocked and angry. I would definitely watch it more than once! Good family movie also. It teaches kids about respect, family about caring, and shows kids right from wrong. It also teaches you about black history and where they came from. There are amazing actors and actresses in the movie!!! To see Maya Angelou and Cicely Tyson was awesome. Tyler Perry is amazing as Aunt Madea and once again keeps you laughing! The music selection was great and the wedding was absolutely beautiful. I think it was one of those movies that teach you that anything is possible and that you can be whoever you want to be no matter who tells you different. Seeing a child from the foster care system be turned around from a rough child into a beautiful, caring, loving child shows you as Aunt Madea said all a child needs is love, caring and compassion and to be taught to believe in yourself. The world today is quickly falling apart. Family values are being forgotten and everyone seems to be going their separate ways. The movie teaches you that family is everything; never forget where you come from.
38 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie worth watching!
diamond94805 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Tyler Perry really did his thing in "Madea's Family Reunion". Though it has a strong plot like his last movie and plays this one is definitely different from what you expect. If you are contemplating on seeing this in theaters as to buying it for $10 off the streets or waiting for it to come out on DVD, take your family to see this and I trust you that from the beginning and even during the credits it is definitely worth each minute. It addresses all the issues of family, forgiveness and self respect to give an ending that can leave one in high spirits. After seeing this movie, I am not anticipating to see Perry's next work. And unlike other movies where you say the first is always better than the others to follow, this one definitely did not leave me disappointed and I can personally say is at the same level as Diary of a Mad Woman.
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Madea's Family Reunion was heartwarming and sincere! I loved it!
paula-mann5 July 2006
I applaud Tyler Perry for his many talents including writer, producer, director, song-writer. This movie will be included in one of my favorite movies. The issue of domestic violence, rape, bridging gaps, highlighting the importance of our place in society, the important roles that grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, play in our lives. Cicely Tyson is an American Icon, along with Dr. Maya Angelou. The breathtaking beautiful actresses, Lisa Arrindel Anderson & Rochelle Aytes, were magnificent in their respective roles. The incomparable, elegant, sophistication and timeless beauty of Lynn Whitfield was sensational to watch. Whitfield is a diamond. She is the female 'Denzel Washington'. It has been said about Ms. Whitfield that her eyes can tell a story. The emotional drama scenes featuring Whitfied and Arrindell Anderson and Whitfield and Blair Underwood were remarkable. No one brings the drama like Lynn Whitfield. She is so beautiful I could watch her all day. Great movie! The wedding scene made you cry. The look on Lisa Arrindell Anderson's face when she is walking down the isle to the song by Johnny Gill was astonishing. It was a beautiful movie with beautiful people and incredible acting. THANK YOU TYLER PERRY!
20 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What's wrong with these reviewers?
streetballa_413 July 2006
I think everybody that reviewed this must be white. Haha, it really seems like it, but it's funny because I am white. This movie was awesome in my opinion. I almost didn't watch it because the rating was so low, but I'm so glad I did. It was the most ridiculous movie I have ever seen, in a good way. It HILARIOUS in some parts while in other parts I was almost crying. That's crazy 'cause I'm just a 16 year old dude. I can't wait to show my girlfriend this film, I will definitely get it on DVD. It's been so long since I've seen a movie that's actually made me laugh, like the kind that I would laugh at if I were alone. This was definitely one of them. It's superb the way Tyler Perry was able to script and produce this, addressing very very delicate subjects in a way that somehow managed to be respectful, yet at the same time humorous. At the same time he acted 3 characters and he was really the life of the movie. Blair Underwood (Carlos) really did a good job at being somebody you love to hate, it's hilarious though because he was also the man that got left in his last movie Something New. Overall I was very pleasantly surprised with this film, outstanding performance by all in my opinion.

Great movie!
40 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great movie about love, self-worth and family.
MollyTheWanderer3 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Medea's Family Reunion was amazing, it was funny, heart warming and important all at the same time. Of course, people who haven't been exposed to the culture of the movie may not understand it (for instance, Medea discipline's a girl whom she has been charged with after the girl skipped school by hitting her with a belt several times. However she doesn't really hurt the girl and the "beating" is mostly the equivalent of a spanking.). There are three intertwining stories in the movie that tie into each other, two sisters attempting to find their own voices, two love stories (one good the other the epitome of evil) and Medea's endeavor to help her young charge take hold of her life and rise above. All three are tied together within Medea's family (might I note the wonderful speech given by one of the family elders at one point, or the beautiful character Maya Angelou portrays) I loved this movie, and I hope everyone else who sees it will go in with an open mind and a ready heart.
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
"I am my mother's daughter"--Oh, yes, that's a line from the film
mswatsoninc4 September 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Having grown up in the rural south, I am well schooled when it comes to home grown Christmas trees and the run of the mill cedar tree. But, I'm afraid all that working knowledge of sap couldn't have prepared me for "Medea's Family Reunion." Those of you who are diabetic, I would avoid this sickeningly sweet melodrama at all costs.

My one hope is the girls hanging from the ceiling during the over the top wedding scene towards the end were well paid for the hours they must have been dangling there. Is that a spoiler? Oh, lord...let me spoil it further....

Let's see...we have molestation, family dysfunction, marrying rich, domestic violence, overbearing mothers, and a saccharine soliloquy from Cycelie Tyson to-boot. Oh, and let's not forget the beat the crap out of the child for laughs angle. Honestly, does any one edit films anymore? "Madea's Family Reunion" is like the worst soap opera, after school special, public service announcement, and bad Flip Wilson homage rolled into one. Tyler Perry made the mistake of directing his own script. Of course, one could argue that his sitting down to write it might have been his first offense.

If you want to see Tyler Perry do bad drag and think it's funny, I'd say watch this film. If you want to see every emotion in hyperbole acted out on the screen in front of you, and if you still have the wherewithal to endure it, watch this film. If you're looking for anything of substance, outside of a Judge Maybelline cameo, I'd look elsewhere.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tyler Perry is highly overrated
drt051913 August 2006
This is one of the most unoriginal hack jobs I've ever tried to watch. It was less a feel-good family comedy and more an over-hyped minstrel show. The humor was painfully predictable and devoid of wit. Tyler gave three uninspiring performances that were only outdone by a plot and script that were deep as dinner plates. I empathized immensely with Blair Underwood for not having enough Hollywood juice to pass up this project. There are way too many poorly developed characters to comment on them all but I will say that type casting must save Perry a lot of time and money most writers waste producing memorable characters. I don't generally waste time with this type of movie but my family insisted that I give it a shot. All of my preconceived notion were validated. A bad script, poor plot line, horrible acting, and a mediocre writer/director/actor will always yield a film that should be buried under a pile of other bad treatments in a studio executives trash can. Save yourself!
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
who do I speak to get my two hours back?
ell_wu10 January 2007
Warning: Spoilers
My girlfriend got this movie from net flicks on recommendation from her friends and I loathed every moment of it.

The plot was predictable, tone was preachy and condescending, the acting was flat, the script was uncomfortable, clumsily written, and some of the characters seem more like borderline fantasy cut outs than say, real people.

I can understand that this movie wants to send a strong Christian morality message out to it's audience, and that's fine. Heck, I even think the black empowerment message is a pretty nice one. But they deliver it in such a way that it feels like Tyler Perry is constantly underestimating and being condescending to his audience.

In this particular case, I feel that the moral message has taken precedence in this movie over the substance and quality of the writing.

The inclusion of some of the other characters felt also very unnecessary like Cecily Tyson, China Anderson, and Maya Angelou. (Maya Angelou's poetry was a nice touch, but having her in the movie just so she can deliver that bit was unnecessary) These characters could have been condensed into Madea alone and that would have helped develop rapport with the audience. Madea's character is probably one of the more identifiable and ultimately more real characters in the movie. As such, I felt that any messages delivered through her would have been a bit more convincing.

And then there's the whole polar extremes of good and evil. The characters in this movie are either extremely good, or extremely evil. They have either no redeemable qualities or no clear flaws in their character that required development. Or rather, their short comings are a result of circumstance and not one of character. Why? Because it's painfully clear that the characters are each meant to be a symbol. Unfortunately, such a symbol took precedence over the development of the character. And as a result, these characters are single dimensional and just not believable.

The movie continuously hammers away at the Christian values morality to the point of absurdity and sometimes I feel like the movie tries to white-wash the moral landscape that is reality. I guess if you're just want to sit down and enjoy a movie with very clear messages and little after thought, this movie is good for just that. (in a way, it functions very much like an action flick. you enjoy it, you put it away, you move onto other things.) It spells out everything for you so clearly that you should have no delusion as to what the movie is trying to say. However, if you like movies that can sustain a bit more discussion and god forbid, a second viewing, this movie is not for you.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best Tyler Perry Film Yet
brean_38128 February 2006
This film is a brilliant piece of work. Tyler Perry combines all the elements needed to make a very heart warming memorable drama as well as a outrageously funny comedy.

There were a few people who dogged the movie who claimed they were expecting something like Big Momma's House. One person even went as far as to call it "Afro Trash." To these close minded people who obviously lack the ability to enjoy a film such as the one Tyler Perry has made I say go out and rent Mrs. Doubtfire if thats the kind of attitude your gonna have.

Mr. Perry, thank you for making a film that makes people stand up and pay attention. I can't wait for the next one.
39 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bloody well done!
relichunter9627 December 2007
Being white, South African and predominantly Afrikaans speaking, This film tickled me absolutely pink!

When i saw the trailers, I thought..."Maybe not". But while working one day, I was bored, so I rented this film.

Bloody hell, Madea is a gem and Tyler Perry should be honored by someone for saying the things he said. This is a man, not afraid of saying what he believes and has the "balls" to use his faith in a film. Wake up Hollywood. Maybe this isn't a "Mainstream" film, but I will be watching Perry's films whatever they may be. And whoever reads this and disagrees, That's your choice. My choice is to watch the films that are uplifting, not degrading.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
mitzitaylor-325-99638023 March 2012
People that watch these movies and find them funny and/or amusing are seriously lacking either a: intelligence, b: something else worthwhile to do with their time, c: a smart sense of humor, or d: all of the above. "D" is the most obvious answer to that rhetorical question. These movies are at their very best dumb and idiotic. A friend of mine (whom I had previously thought had good sense), extolled the virtues of all of the Madea movies tried to get me to watch a part of one of them and I made up a lie so that I could leave and spare myself more torture. These movies are horrible and an insult to all movie-watchers. Don't waste your time. It's hard to believe that there is a ridiculous number of these movies that continue to flood the theatres and that people actually spend money on these stupid films. The cinematic content of the Madea movies is only contributing to the dumbing-down of the American public. If I could give these films a negative ten stars, I would.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I'm black and African; and i don't likeTyler Perry movies
madhouse_kc15 February 2008
Warning: Spoilers
i would like to start by saying; going to movies was originally made so you could escape reality, that's why star wars and lord of the rings where such hits; if i need to identify with reality, there's reality TV i am hoping that one day a black man would make a movie so intriguing, mind boggling and mentally challenging that it would sell across all races. All i see in black movies is a myopic view of life, for godsake we have Korean's making a visually artistic movie called "D-War" i believe that our talents don't end with sports, singing, Sit-coms (no offense to friends) stand up comedy; we need to be more creative, explore the outer limits of life. i feel a guy like John Singleton could put together a water tight script that would hit the nail in the head.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wow... disappointing...
jaddison3831 February 2007
The original show was so much better. They should have left on a good note. This movie killed the whole idea. It was boring, over-dramatic, and the funny parts were too far in between to make up the slack. This movie really seemed like it was trying way too hard to be serious, and that was definitely not what I was wanting from this sequel. Not to mention, that for a long time it was just depressing about the same thing over and over again. So, sorry, Tyler Perry, but try harder next time. This movie is just kinda dull, and not that funny either. Sorry. 4/10 stars is it.

Jay Addison
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
abysmal doesn't come close
jesuswalksagain12 March 2007
The only bits i found funny were the ones with Madea, and they were few and far between. weird mix of brutality and comedy. shallow characters that felt not 3D, barely even 2D; weak plot lines, the conclusions of which i tried in vain to care about, and terrible soundtrack that may appeal to some... but who? sentimental scenes were not touching, but nauseating. the whole thing felt very dated, maybe ten years too late. the only positive was the speech at the end by the old bid about black people remembering their roots and striving to be better. but even that was overly cheesy, especially when they all hugged. a terrible, truly terrible film. i think straight to DVD is almost too good for it. i want my 2 hours back.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The worst movie I have seen in recent memory...
ceccon-126 February 2006
I expected a comedy like the "Big Mama" movies. Instead, the movie was a bizarre mix of comedy, drama and a love story.

This movie has three plots: The first involves Madea and her taking in a foster child. The second involves a woman who is engaged to a rich man who is abusing her. The third involves a relationship between a single mother with 2 children and a single father.

There is actually very little comedy in the movie. There are also a number of very twisted messages in the movie. For example, Madea beats the foster child with a belt (in a comedic manner), to convince the child to straighten out. The child does, in fact, turn herself around. Apparently, it pays to beat children.

There are plots dealing with child rape (with the consent of the mother). There are scenes with old men ogling young girls who are related to them. (The ogling takes place at a family reunion.) The movie jumps from plot to plot such that you are always off-balance. Is this a comedy, a love story, or a drama? It is, in fact, nothing ... except a waste of time and money.
36 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Madea's Family Reunion-Superb
nball-327 February 2006
I recently saw the Madea's Family Reunion movie and loved it. Tyler Perry is a very gifted man and deserves so much more credit than he is actually given. His movies and plays hit home to a lot of families and people and deal with issues that happen in everyday situations. As an African American woman, I am proud to to see a young brother handling his own and doing what obviously comes natural to him. Back in the day every African American family had someone that played the role as a "Madea". Madea keeps the family going and brings everyone together. Tyler Perry, continue to do what God has placed on your heart. I have enjoyed the plays and will continue to join a packed movie theater whenever they hit theaters.
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie, with a great message!
r34per28 February 2006
Madea's Family Reunion was a great movie. I watched it with my family, and we laughed throughout the whole film.

It has a very good message behind the film, besides from the comedy. Most people who didn't like this film clearly didn't understand the comedy. I could relate to everything, and I thought it was a great movie.

As others has said, this movie doesn't relate to a lot of people. To me, it was seeing a lot of my life playing on a film. This film was a lot better then Diary of a Mad Black Woman, a lot more of madea.

Tyler Perry, you have done it again!!

10/10
22 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Tyler Perry keep them coming!
RecoWilliams26 February 2006
"Madea's Family Reunion" is a stage play adapted to screen by the original playwright Tyler Perry. Tyler Perry has a huge following because of the success of his stage plays and the DVD sales of those stage plays as well as his movie "A Diary of a Mad Black woman" This movie starts out kinda of slow with a lot of weird shots and angles, but this one is directed by Tyler Perry. This is his first time behind the camera, so that made me a little forgiving.

About 10 minutes into the movie you as the plot point was established so did those weird shots. This movie is very inspiring like all of Tyler Perry works. It is by no means a Christian movie, but is an healthy alternative for the movies put out by mainstream Hollywood.

There was a very complex story line that was dealt with in this movie. Many movie goers can really empathize with all of the main characters. Blair Underwood and Lynn Whitfield were absolutely marvelous in this movie.

In my review of "Diary of a Mad Black Woman" I suggested that Tyler Perry cast a real actor in the role of Madea to give the movie more believability. Him playing Madea on stage works great, but it doesn't work as well in a play if he insists on playing himself and the uncle, you shouldn't have other characters that look just like you. He should really take a not from Eddie Murphy, although he played several different characters in the Klumps they each all looked different to an extent. Madea her son and her nephew and her brother all look exactly alike. He should either give up doing Madea or give up the other two roles.

This movie in-spite my objections to his casting himself, was quite good. It dealt with a love story of a woman who could not overlook her dark childhood. A woman who seemed trapped in an abusive relationship. And the family reunion was a glimpse into how modern blacks have strayed away from the struggles of the past generations.

It was such an awkward scene to have those old men lusting after their own cousin.

This movie was not written to be an Academy Award Caliber movie so I can't judge it as such. I really think it played to it's idea target audience perfectly.

My family who live in South Mississippi all went to see this movie together. That's over 20 people who normally don't go to the movies went out as a family to see this one. This movie has a huge drawing power amongst blacks of all ages. My elderly grandmother went to see this movie the last movie that she saw was guess? "Diary of a Mad Black Woman".

Tyler Perry keep on making your plays into movies, because you have some good messages and you are able to draw people that Hollywood could only dream of!
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Drama once again
IrockGswift4 March 2006
In Tyler Perry's second movie installment he has issues of domestic abuse,a controlling parent,and taking in a foster child. The problem some people have with this movie is that the subject matters of this movie has nothing to do with comedy. But Tyler Perry can put in a way to make people laugh. Now beating a fiancé or spouse is a serious matter,forcing an offspring to marry for selfish gain isn't funny,and another offspring trying to find love again sounds more like drama. But this movie is drama with a comic twist and Tyler Perry is brilliant enough to make the viewers laugh instead of continuing to be overwhelmed with such intensed scenes. I haven't seen a black family movie like this since Soul Food(1997). Tyler Perry is the new well-known sassy and outspoken character Madea who is the biggest comic relief in the movie. Blair Underwood is the snobbish Carlos who continually tries to impress his upscale colleagues and beat his fiancé behind closed doors. Recently Underwood been playing this same character but without the abuse in the movies like "Something New" and "G". I think Blair Underwood is starting to be type-casted. Though anyway Madea family reunion is a good movie but some scenes could have been left out (Madea's husband checking out the young relative and Madea beating the child with a belt). Still the movie is worth seeing.
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A delightful insight to a family that lives an everyday life
dducre28 February 2006
This movie made me laugh over and over again, I cried a little too and even experienced anxiety during the dramatic scenes, but most of all I loved the way Tyler continues to make his creations true to life. All of us have times of Joy, sadness and emotional upset in our lives. I will purchase every movie and play Tyler writes, produces, directs and stars in. We need more real life movies these days to bring us back to reality. The fact that Tyler chooses great actors to portray his characters and both young and old actors to share the fame and wealth is very touching to me. I hope Tyler continues to takes his plays and movies to the communities, so that we can laugh and share the joy with friends and family members.
20 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This screenplay is like a salad.
vitracm4 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I thought this movie was awful. The one character I enjoy in the movie that is original and multi-dimensional, should be the one carrying the movie. That character is Madea herself. Madea's part in the movie has been reduced, in my opinion, from the stage plays and that character is really the attraction. This screenplay is like a salad. It's full of a lot of things but there's no substance. The plot however, is always the same. A bad man, abusing a woman with extremely low self-esteem, who rises out of the ashes of her abuse and meets the good man who sweeps her off her feet, or in this case her abused and unloved sister's feet.

Perry really needs help with his screen writing. Is it a comedy or is it a drama? It's all intermingled and isn't easily transitioned. The best scene in the film was between Lynn Whitfield and Blair Underwood. The acting was good, there was pretty good dialog and the chemistry was excellent. However, the monologue by Cicely Tyson at the family reunion made absolutely no sense in relation to the context of film.

Perry tries to include too many sub-plots and in doing this just skims the surface. This keeps you from caring about the characters because they are not fully developed. There's the sub-plot of the abused woman, the sub-plot of her abused and unloved sister, the sub-plot of her abusive mother, the sub-plot of the foster child, the sub-plot of the guy who falls in love with the abused sister, the sub-plot of the abuser (which never develops, i.e. we never find out anything about him or why he's abusive, but just that he's abusive), and we've got the family reunion to deal with. However we don't know who's who in the family. Suddenly these unknown characters have these massive monologues we have to deal with in addition to trying to figure out why these characters are important to the film. It's a mess.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed