Sin City: A Dame to Kill For (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
252 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Poor Sequel
utgard1423 October 2014
Sin City was one of my favorite movies of the 2000s. A fun, creative film noir cartoon with unique visuals and a style all its own. The first problem you run into with this sequel is that it offers nothing new. It's a stylistic retread of the first movie, only less impressive. The visuals copy the first movie but somehow seem cheaper. The makeup effects aren't as good either, with Marv's jaw easily twice the size of the last movie. The action is weaker, with no memorable sequences and a final showdown that is derivative of the first movie. The other big problem is that the writing is very poor this time and the stories don't flow well together. The Dwight story is lame. The Johnny story is pointless. The Nancy story is impossible to take seriously, especially the ghost parts. Sadly, this movie is boring, listless, and disjointed. It's a movie that didn't need to be made. Still, it's always nice to see Eva Green naked. That's something that never gets old.
116 out of 159 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I don't see why everyone hates it so much.
jessemorrison9916 September 2014
*Minor spoilers involving structure of the film, no plot points*

In short, it isn't nearly as bad as everyone is saying. Let me elaborate.

In case people don't know, the first Sin City from 2005 was based on the 1st, 3rd and 4th books in the 7 part series by Frank Miller. These follow the story lines of Marv, Dwight and Hartigan respectively. In addition to those, there are also a few shorts thrown in, either from the books or not. So, needless to say, Sin City and its sequel are both anthology films. If you want one single story that takes 2 hours, this may not be your thing.

Sin City 2 follows almost the exact same structure as the original, which I found nice. Sure they didn't do anything original with the structure, which was sort of playing it safe, but I liked it. It felt familiar and reminded me of the original which I loved very much. It begins with another short story, this time starring Marv. It rocks. It continues on with a new story not contained in any of the books. It stars Johnny, a gambler who "never loses". Mid way through, we cut to another story. This is the 2nd book, titled "A Dame to Kill For". If you've read this, you won't see anything new. Like with the first film, they essentially translated the story from page to screen, and it works for the most part. There was one detail I didn't like, but it doesn't last long. Then after that, we finish up the story with Johnny, and finally, we get to the revenge mission involving Nancy and her hunt for Senator Rourke. That's all I'll say about that.

Everyone is complaining about how the movie looks like a cutscene from a video game. They are sort of right, but not entirely. Even after waiting 2 weeks, I was unable to find a theatre in my city showing the film in 2d. It seems like this is happening more and more now. If you want to see an action movie in theatres, it's 3d whether you like it or not. Now, having not seen a 2d version to make a comparison, I can say that the 3d is most likely what makes it look so video game-y. I'm sure in 2d it'll look slightly better at least.

Update: I did see it in 1080p and in 2D, and it does look less like a video game cutscene. You can still tell that there's a lot of CGI, but it's done better than a lot of films.

Also, greenscreen sets have been used for over a decade now, I don't see why people are complaining so much. Everything is a CGI-fest these days, and this story, with a fantastic setting and extraordinary physics pulls it off nicely. You can tell, but it's far from awful.

Everyone is saying they loved the first one, but hated this one. I don't see how that's possible. They stuck very close to the original in most ways, such as cinematography, soundtrack, and directing, all of which were great (for a Sin City movie). Sure it isn't a masterpiece my any means, and it's not as good as the first, but it's super entertaining, very violent, and is sure to please anyone who enjoys the books or the first film. Forget all those jaded movie snobs saying it sucks. They're just focusing on all the negatives, and letting that cloud their vision of the awesome stuff.
197 out of 291 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Bland.
nagybalu15 November 2014
I'd like to begin by saying the original 2005 Sin City is one of my favorite movies. The way it was put together, the cinematography, the characters, the dialogue...everything. It was truly a breakthrough film. This sequel however is a letdown. It's not the type of letdown where the product can't match the hype, it's just everything I enjoyed about the first movie turned over. Yes, A Dame to Kill For is still broken into chapters and shot in B/W with occasions flashes of color, and I loved the allusions to the previous film and comic books- however, in contrast to the rich character depth and storyline, the storyline(s) is flat, bland, and lacks the energy the dialogue contained in the previous film. Also, the storyline isn't remotely as interwoven as it was in the previous, the directors struggled to keep the chapters intertwined-the *only* connection being Kadie's Bar, which all of the characters visited at least once. I appreciated that Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller attempted to bring humor into the mix, but Marv's second, "I hope you don't mind me saying this...." scene really doesn't belong in the movie.

This was my first review I hope you like it, I know it's not perfect, but these are my thoughts in a nutshell.
46 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not as good as the first one but still very solid and entertaining
troymerig21 August 2014
Let me begin by saying that the first Sin City is one of my favorite movies of all time. I thought it was an absolute blast to watch, and the filming style blew me away.

A Dame to Kill For is the same type of movie as the first, but it is not executed quite as well. It may just be be cause the style lost some of its original appeal, but I thought it didn't live up to its predecessor. With that said, I still thought A Dame to Kill For was a great time at the movies. Everything about it was solid. It continued the action from the first and did not fail to keep me at the edge of my seat. And, Marv was his normal, b.a. self.

A Dame to Kill for consists of two story lines that are prequels to those of the first Sin City and one that is a sequel. I felt that it delivered very well in its attempt to support what happened in the first movie. I would recommend re-watching the first one so that you're fresh for this. Sometimes you can forget the names if you haven't seen it in a while.

Overall, this movie was great. If I had not seen the first Sin City, I would have been blown away.

I give it a 8/10. A definite must-see.
129 out of 207 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good and entertaining... but lacks the novelty of the first.
Frogfisher20 August 2014
A Dame to Kill for is by no means a boring or bad film. It succeeds as a satisfying sequel to the far more novel and perhaps stronger Sin City... it is bloody, violent, beautifully made, with cool deep voices, nudity and clearly fitting into the film noir genre. Where it falls short is in the charactersationssliding a bit, the strength of two original stories, the change in actors and the gap between the first and second film. There is also a desperate need for more iconic moments which the Sin City comics and the film has plenty of, but they never really come in A Dame to Kill for.

The characters seems less edgy, less strong charactered and some despite being far more stereotypical carries less of a punch. Especially Marv and Dwight who are the central characters fall a bit short. With Dwight almost feeling detached from the story he is the centre character of. I never thought I would find myself ever thinking that Owen over Brolin. Rourke however seems to have lost some of his edge again, but still causes plenty of mayhem. The new original story lines is probably as good as the rest, but it feels like we never get a very satisfying end out the first one of it especially because it plays as probably the most straightforward story with less of the iconic art work or stunning scenes put in it, it relies on Gordon-Hevitt's abilities more than anything else. The second original story however fairs better mostly due to Alba's dancing and Rourke's brute. If one has not recently seen Sin City and goes to see this it can be a bit hard putting things into place in it's sequel... most people benefit from having seen Sin City recently in order to truly enjoy the film's anachronistic narrative.

It is an awesome film, I will not argue against that, and it does give people more of what they want from Sin City. And there is maybe couple of camels to swallow. But I think in time when seen in union with it's predecessor and sequel(s) it will come out stronger than it might appear now.

I saw the 3D version and surprisingly it actually works well for the film, although I am sure the film would be just as good in 2D alone. It is worth seeing in the cinema, it has the scale/action/importance and beauty to justify that. It will not be remembered for it's visuals as much as Sin City, but it will be recognised for how it fits into the Sin City style.
85 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
+++ The Feeling of the Comic Book with a Small Plus ++++ Warning: Spoilers
+++ The Feeling of the Comic Book with a Small Plus ++++

------- ------- ------- ------- Capturing again that sensation from the comic maybe caused by those black and white scenes with some areas in color that make a feeling of cold and shivers travel all the way up our spine, this second part of Frank Miller's Sin City is completely worth-watching.

Being based primarily in Frank Miller's second story from the SIN CITY series, it was actually the one that I thought that they'd have taken to the big screen when they made their first movie as it was by far my favorite and the one that had a more defined central argument.

Continuing with all the good stuff from the first movie, it uses a lot of characters and elements we already knew, we had a conclusion for the tormented tale of Nancy Callahan portrayed by Jessica Alba and John Hartigan (now a ghost), performed by Bruce Willis which was a very logical conclusion to their story. But along all the good elements in the film, foremost I think that Eva Green's AVA gives us an interesting turn to the plot; unlike her comic book counterpart, this AVA never really seems a defenseless damsel in distress which means that most men falling for her can't be really considered victims, as they fell actually wanting to fall; they could have believed anything she said or even still make her will in the case they didn't. That makes her character a bit more powerful and some of the other characters, much less innocent.

As I said I thought that this was going to be the story that they were going to use in the first SIN CITY movie and now that they have finally taken it to the screen, IMO it was completely worth it.

I don't understand fully why it was not as successful as the first part. My guess is that it was not so surprising for a lot of people because most of the characters weren't new and the interesting visual format wasn't new either, nevertheless I think that both movies are more or less equally good, even when I must admit I prefer this second one by a bit.

Thanks for reading.

IMDb Review written by David del Real.

November 2017.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For all the wrong reasons...
jarthur011122 August 2014
OK, maybe this movie isn't aimed at "mature" audiences, but for adults looking for a trashy good time at the movies then you won't get a movie any better than this. If you want to see unrelenting brutality & most of Eva Green you will get your money's worth & then some.

Green totally owns the "Dame" role that she was perfectly cast for. When her story ends the movie does drop off (fortunately her story is most of the movie).

The "Sin City look" is enhanced by 3D (I normally avoid 3D) & rates as one of the best uses of 3D I've ever seen. Fans (like me) of Miller's "A Dame To Kill For" comic book will be thrilled at it's obsessive loyalty to word & frame screen treatment. It looks fantastic! (Maybe, I mean to say that Green looks fantastic. It's both.) I don't get all the criticism of how this "look" has grown tiresome --not for me in 3D.

All the actors in big roles to small look like they are having a sinful amount of fun, but Joseph Gordon-Levitt is almost as strong as Green in a new role in one the new stories written for the movie. If you saw "Looper" (or "Inception") you already know that JGL can play a tough guy despite his physical size.

Make no mistake this movie is a feature length Roadrunner cartoon for adults --emphasis on "adults"--with all of the ridiculous action & over- the-top violence that only a cartoon can get away with because of the way it's rendered.(No kids, please: there is just enough gore that isn't so cartoonish to make it unfit for children.)

Like the first Sin City 9 years ago, this new Sin City is B-movie bliss. (I still don't like Jessica Alba as "Nancy".)
87 out of 149 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Such a let down
paulholborn2 September 2014
I went into this film with very high expectations, being a dedicated lover of the graphic novels & the original film, I have waited a long time for this film to come out.

I will start with the positives, the film is as beautiful as the original & stunning in its visual appearance. Mickey Rourke is excellent as Marv yet again.

Sadly, that is about all the good I can say. Joseph Gordon-Levitt was very weak & his character almost pointless, beyond being time filler. The script writing was not as snappy as the first. The whole thing just didn't flow as well nor feel as polished as the first, a real let down, they could have made something stunning & just went for easy money
122 out of 221 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Don't get your hopes up
drjgardner26 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a big fan of Frank Miller's work, and "Sin City" (2005) and "300" (2006) are two of my favorite films. But just as the sequel "300 Rise of an Empire" disappointed, this sequel is not up to the original. In fact, it is so far from the original it's disturbing. There is nothing new here, and much of what made the original entertaining is missing as well. More problematic, everyone's voice seems the same.

Some of the guest stars (Christopher Lloyd, Jeremy Priven, Chris Melonik, Jude Ciccolella) are on screen for such a short period of time it's a waste. Meanwhile, the bulk of the story revolves around John Brolin who doesn't have the charisma to carry the film, and Bruce Willis as a ghost is a waste of everyone's time. Jessica Alba has little to do except dance, which she does very well.

If like me you're a fan of Miller's work you'll want to go see this, but don't get your hopes up too high.
62 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Exercise in futility
ArchonCinemaReviews30 September 2014
Almost ten years later, writer/directors Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller try to strike gold again with a second screen adaptation of the Sin City graphic novels.

Unfortunately, A Dame to Kill For suffers from all the afflictions of a bad sequel: an overcomplicated plot forcing a resolved story forward, recasting of previous roles and the addition of new but significantly less compelling characters, and exploiting the spark that made the first film great while still not having that magical appeal.

Once again we find ourselves in hardened and corrupted town of Basin City where the inhabitants exist and resist against the sinful city, while others revel in its reprehensible environment.

Producers started working on a sequel seven years after the initial film was released. In that time Brittany Murphy and Michael Clarke Duncan passed. Though they portrayed minor characters, their characters, Shellie and Manute respectively, were vastly effectual and favorites in the film. Rodriguez elected to retire Shellie, smartly, but recast Manute with Dennis Haysbert, but he did not stop there. He also chose to recast Devon Aoki's Miho with the exceedingly inferior Jamie Chung and Michael Madsen's Bob with Jeremy Piven. Further, Clive Owen's Dwight McCarthy is seemingly recast and played by Josh Brolin. Mickey Rourke's Marv makes a surprise appearance considering he died in the previous film. Eye candy Jessica Alba dons the stirrups once again as Nancy but this time gets an unnecessary and boring principal role.

It's almost impossible to write a summary for the film without giving away key aspects of the plot. Note, the term 'spoiler' was not used deliberately as nothing would be spoiled. Despite having several fascinating and explicit story lines from the comics, Frank Miller and Robert Rodriguez decided to force five seemingly unconnected and irrelevant segments worth of content into a Sin City sequel that is really a pointless prequel-sequel hybrid. Within thirty minutes at least seven main characters and their associated stories, all in infancy, branch out with no time to become invested or even care about the outcome.

The revolutionary awe and savagery of Sin City is gone. The inventive techniques that made the first film extraordinary are exploited and bludgeoned to death. Rodriguez and Miller over-utilize popping colors against the stylized black and white motif so that the significance in these items and moments diminishes to nothingness.

The witty dialogue that succinctly dripped with a retro film noir edge falls flat on the tongue of the, arguably, main character portrayed by Josh Brolin. Brolin lacks the debonair and commanding force that Clive Owen has in the first film. Peppered with lazy and lame metaphors, the script sounds like the banal ramblings of a poorly followed twitter account of a desperate writer. Example: "An atom bomb goes off between my legs. A freight train barrels into my jaw." Then to keep up with the gruesome and shocking content of its predecessor, A Dame to Kill For randomly adds violence as an obvious afterthought.

It is incomprehensible that, after seven years, the producers would rush into filming besides a hefty paycheck with this paltry, tame and inconsequential movie. A Dame to Kill For is painfully contrived and completely pointless.

For more FULL reviews, please check out our website.
74 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
More of Frank Miller's tales brought to life.
joefrettsome28 August 2014
I saw this film last night and I was not disappointed. Being a fan of the first film I went in with high hopes for this film (as most people did after watching the first) and it tells some other Frank Miller stories well.

If you enjoyed the violence, great dialogue and overall aesthetic of the first one you'll love this film.

One of the only parts that really bothered me was the recasting of Dwight which threw me off slightly as I wasn't expecting it. It also gets slightly confusing at times because some stories are set in the present and some in the past which can be hard to keep up with, but if you are paying attention properly you get the grasp of it after a bit.

However overall I loved the film's over the top nature and comic book style and if you enjoyed the first one then you'll enjoy this one.
21 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Film to Kill For
damian-from-dublin22 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Sin City: A Dame to Kill For, much like its predecessor, should really be considered a bad film. Yet its bizarre mixture of cartoonish ultra-violence, cheesy dialogue, and noire aesthetic come together to create something incredibly unique. It is also a film that makes good use of 3D, as at times it looks like you are staring at a three dimensional diorama of a comic book frame, and it is beautiful.

The cast is strong, although with so many big names a lot of them only end up getting a few minutes of screen time. Mickey Rourke returns as Marv, and is clearly the heart of the movie, featuring in three of the four stories in major roles. Josh Brolin takes over for Clive Owen as Dwight, which works well given the darker tone in A Dame to Kill For. As for Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Johnnie, a newcomer to the franchise, Gordon-Levitt does well enough with the role, but Johnnie's story itself is rather forgettable. Jessica Alba returns as Nancy, and is both appropriately sexy and scary at the same time. The casting couldn't have been better.

The plot itself consists of four loosely connected stories featuring the four lead protagonists respectively, it does feel a little rougher during the transitions between them compared to the original Sin City. The titular story, A Dame to Kill For, certainly stands out among the four, and fans will be more than pleased with this adaptation of one of the most beloved Sin City comics.

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For may not be as innovative or as seamless as the original, but it is still a great, unique piece of cinema.

Now I hope you don't mind me saying this... But this here is a film to kill for.
47 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
If you liked the first one, you'll like/love this one, too
marginal119 August 2014
I got to see an advance screening last night. If you're a fan of the first Sin City, you won't be disappointed. It's more of the same, but that's a good thing: hyper-stylized visuals, intense violence, plenty of splattered blood. Film Noir cranked up to 11.

Jessica Alba doing her stripper grind? CHECK. Mickey Rourke causing much harm? CHECK. Josh Brolin is new to the franchise and he is GREAT! JGL is new to the franchise and he is GREAT! But the film really belongs to Powers Boothe. He is just pure evil. If you liked him as Cy Tolliver in Deadwood you'll love him in this.

The only drawback is that the original Miho (Asian female killer) was apparently pregnant at the time of the filming of the sequel, so they had to replace her. That's kind of a bummer.

Fans of the comic / graphic novel will be happy. Fans of Robert Rodriguez will be happy. GO!
55 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Exactly what I expected it to be
sim_belanger122 August 2014
When I learned this movie was in the works, I was hoping it would be as gory, raw, gritty, stylish, and over the top as the first was. And it is!

Like the first Sin City (2005), the movie alternates between several characters and their stories. It also looks the same, feels the same, and with mostly the same actors appearing on screen (though with a sad nod at the absence of Clive Owen), the fact that this second volume has been released a long 9 years after the original is quickly forgotten.

I have to say that Eva Green's performance as the character Ava Lord is really the strongest point of the movie for me. She's electric on screen, and hot, sexy, mesmerizing even with those glowing green eyes. She steals the show, and not just because of her constant, and apparent, lack of a clothing wardrobe. The story arc featuring her character was the movie's best, in my opinion.

Mickey Rourke as Marv, Powers Boothe as Senator Roark, and Joseph Gordon-Levitt as Johnny also delivered great, convincing performances that really draw you into the chaotic and villainous world of Sin City. It was really fun seeing Marv kicking some ass again, as was expected of him. Senator Roark is, obviously, still as despicable and antagonistic as he was in the first film, and Johnny, well, he's a bag full of surprises.

As far as the other characters go, I think they did a pretty good job. Jessica Alba conveyed a rather emotional performance, which I wasn't expecting, and the addition of Ray Liotta, Lady Gaga, and Juno Temple were welcomed surprises. I enjoyed the return of Rosario Dawson, Bruce Willis, and Jaime King as well. Really helps rooting us into the world of Sin City, even with brief appearances.

Sadly, I feel like Josh Brolin's character, Dwight, wasn't fully working. Although he was a central character to the movie, the fact that it was another actor portraying the role took its toll on the final product. Dwight didn't really feel like Dwight, at least to me.

As a last nod, I really think that all the little connections made with the first movie were brief enough, but not intrusive. They were well placed, and great for those who watched and remember the first movie.

Overall, it's, in my opinion, a satisfying sequel to a great movie, and I really hope that a third volume will be made. I want more Sin City!
25 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Sin Sh*tty: A Movie to Avoid
dashoost24 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This sequel is simply a Bizzaro version of the original, and what I mean by that is that every scene from the first film was like a positive exposure of a black and white photograph, while every scene here is the exact negative exposure of that same black and white photo. Every memory I have of the original film has a direct correlation to something seen here in the sequel, with the exception of a real opening or closing scene. That important piece (Josh Hartnett's cameo) was clearly missing here because it was a clever way to needle a thread through the tales about to be told and leads to an ending scene which cleverly sums up what we saw throughout the film starting with that first scene. The fact that this movie just opens up with a very flimsy and rehashed amnesia scene similar to the tale of Marv from the first movie (minus the hot blonde girl) is a sign that we are in for something similar yet different this time? Please allow me to explain. Marv now finds himself with another case of amnesia...another short confusing tale begins, which is severely lacking the quick, witty dialogue, that allowed Rourke to steal the show in the original. We watch him retrace his steps and it all leads back to him murdering 4 very wimpy men who apparently have never been in a fight before. Considering there isn't anything seen here that wasn't already encountered in the original, this opening sequence only succeeds in extracting all of the charisma and mystique created for Marv throughout the original. Next, we are introduced to a new character, Johnny, played by Joe Gordon-Levitt. Initially, he seems to fit in this world, he's got some charm and cleverness about him and there is a slight hope of originality displayed in this story, involving a poker game with the senator character introduced in the first film, essentially giving off the same kind of good vs evil vibe here, just as in the original. We are left with Johnny facing the same fate as all other male characters in the original. Johnny boy takes a solid beating and is left for dead all bruised up and deformed, so... now he's ready to get his revenge and truly enter the grimy legend of Sin City right? NOPE, doesn't happen. What does happen? We are left hanging for about an hour or so before we see him again and there he is, re-introduced to us, all bruised up and again playing poker with the evil senator...The exact same situation from earlier except he's in for revenge this time, right?...NOPE! It won't happen. Basically the only thing that we get from the Johnny story is a contrived excuse to demonize the senator, and, as for Johnny, it turns out he was just some dumb but lucky fool who let his ego grow way too large for his brain to handle. Next, we are introduced to Josh Brolin's story, or what the filmmakers are trying to portray as a re-introduction to the character, Dwight, played in the original by Clive Owen, which was his best role in my opinion. This time around, Clive Owen, I mean, Josh Brolin, is reduced to a dull, lifeless, wanna-be, hero type, who is, essentially, a guy who has delusions of grandeur about his inner rage which, which unlike in the original movie, is never to be on display. Sadly, all of this just made me miss Clive Owen's Dwight that much more. The gorgeous Eva Green is introduced to us here as a dame to kill for, channeling the Carla Gugino bares it all scene from the original. She is completely nude for what seemed to be about ten minutes of screen time. Why? because there's not much else going on here. The filmmakers seemingly hit the jackpot by casting her, because she's the only actress willing to expose herself in the exploitative way the filmmakers most likely wanted the other actresses to do. At this point I will cut my review short because I believe the filmmakers cut the movie short and wanted to turn it into a lame soft-core porn flick, mainly because they knew they didn't have much to begin with. If only they would have spared us the re-introduction of the Michael Clarke Duncan (RIP) character played by Dennis "don't quit your day job as the voice of the Allstate commercials" Haysbert. If only they would have spared us the waitress role being reprised by a hideous looking and aptly named Lady Gaga, originally played by the sexy, yet angelic, Brittany Murphy. (RIP) If only they would have spared us the worst Bruce Willis cameo since Ocean's Twelve, playing a ghostly Obi Wan Kenobi figure for Jessica Alba to obsess over? If only they would have spared us watching the two shady detectives (Michael Madsen) story from the original played by two very fine actors Jeremy Piven and Chris Meloni who, in a cringe-worthy effort, essentially, just mail this one in for a paycheck. If only they would have spared us watching the beautiful Jessica Alba shake it for 90 minutes before giving her the main hero role for the final story, which only serves to help us realize she was perfect as she was in the first film, just twirling around the pole not really having much to do but look pretty. If only they would have spared us seeing Rosario Dawson's character, so hot and sexy the first time around, reduced to some dreary, mo-hawked, freaky looking prostitute character, who had no real reason to be in the sequel other than to tie the link between the Clive Owen/Josh Brolin character. In summation, the only lasting memory the filmmakers want you to have, is of Eva Green completely nude. To that, I say to the filmmakers of this abortion AKA a sequel, Robert "don't call me Tarantino" Rodriguez and Frank "don't call me Nosferatu" Miller...Mission accomplished!
70 out of 146 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
seriously if Elijah wasn't in the first one
dantonstl27 May 2015
shock and awe. its like every movie I see this actress in, the one from year one and killer Joe...I get allsad. and these other reviews, seriously...they are crappy. this movie is awesome. a lot like the first one. the first one rotating around a strip club and a detective named Bruce Willis. yay. I did like it. I like sin city part one. I like sin city part two. I prefereed not seeing josh brolin be bored and boring, but he did fine, he made the right decision ..be bored, bullshi# cun* (bit)ch making problems... Joseph made me feel like whatever was going on with Nancy while playing his poker game...nothing good was gonna happen... the brief interaction with detectives and a powers boothe that looked all healthy was amazing.... oh boy....I don't even see how the Hooker nation from part one wasn't omitted when it seems like they took Precedence once again in this one.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Don't get the negative reviews
phoeny16 September 2014
Sin City: A dame to kill for

This 'review' will be a simple opinion, and will not contain any spoilers. ...

I saw this movie yesterday, and I was a little skeptical because of all the negative reviews on the IMDb.

But now I watched this movie, I can truly say I enjoyed this movie.

Like I said in my summary, I don't really get all the hate this movie gets...

Personally, I like this one even better than the first one.

8,5 out of 10
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unfortunately they used all the best stories in the first one
Vartiainen17 April 2015
Sin City: A Dame to Kill For is not a bad idea on paper. Frank Miller's Sin City universe is a rich and interesting setting, and as the first Sin City film proved, it translates to the silver screen beautifully. Unfortunately they decided to stick all the best stories into the first film, thus guaranteeing its success, but leaving the possible sequel without much material to use. Not that the stories used here are bad, they're just not as great as the ones used in the first one. Tellingly Miller was actually called back to write two new stories exclusively for the film. It shows.

However, there is one exception. The story named A Dame to Kill For. Considered to be one of the better stories in the original comic books, it's a good thing they still had one such story to wrap their movie around. And it is awesome. Just as good as the stories in the original film with same great quality acting, hardcore action and brutal visuals. No complaints.

The second adaptation story, Just Another Saturday Night, is really nothing more than an Ode to Marv (Mickey Rourke), and that's okay in my books. It doesn't have much of a plot, and the supporting characters are nonexistent, but it's a good opening piece.

The Long Bad Night, the first of the new stories, works because of its actors. Both Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Powers Boothe have amazing screen presence and as they're pitted against one another throughout the night the stakes keep getting higher and higher, with satisfying results. A fine story and I could see this as an original Sin City story.

Nancy's Last Dance, our last story, is unfortunately the weakest story by far. They clearly wanted to give Jessica Alba something more to chew with her character, but it just doesn't have that edge. You don't buy it. Still not awful, merely average.

Aside from the material, the biggest problem is the common sequel problem where they want to do the same that worked so well in the original, but with more oomph. Here it means more colour spliced into the black-n-white, and it's very distracting. The original used colour carefully, for emphasis, for popping up important details. Here it seems that every single frame has a splotch of colour in it, usually for no reason, they just wanted colour in their frames. And thus the distinct visual style of Sin City is shattered.

All in all Sin City: A Dame to Kill For is not a bad film by any means. It's disappointing, certainly, but only because I love the first film so much, and wanted more of that greatness, no matter how impossible it is to achieve. Still, a great movie to check out if you're a fan, but don't expect miracles.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It is a sin to go to that movie!
alidur0726 August 2014
First of all, I loved the first one! It was a new breath with lots of colors and the dark humor it had. However... This follow-up couldn't have been worse... It is for kids from age 5 to 12. Seriously, I watch a lot of movies and I am a watcher who loves original stuff. This was such a disappointment. If you love action with no basis, go ahead and be my guest, but if you are, sorry to say, a good movie watcher who loves quality, show mercy on your money and spend it on charity or something! I'll give it a 3 out of 10 since so much money has been spent on this, and obviously, no matter how bad it is, a lot of people worked for this. Very cheesy text, very cheap scenario (feels like it was written in an hour), oh my God it was so bad.
52 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sin City: A Dame to Kill For (2014)
rockman18218 May 2017
Of course I was going to seize the opportunity to use this amazing poster of the gorgeous Eva Green for this post. I re-watched the first Sin City the other day and recalled how much I enjoyed the style and the different stories and characters portrayed in it. The sequel was a long time coming but when I initially saw it I thought it was rather disappointing and far off the standard of the first. I still kind of feel that way but hey I might as well share why this time.

The sequel is shared in the same format as the first with a few stories, some take place prior to the events of the corresponding segments in the first film, others afterwards. There are character changes (most notably a switch of Josh Brolin for Clive Owen) but many from the first film return. There are also a few steamy addition like Jun Temple and the very SEXY Eva Green. I wasn't sure I wanted a sequel because like most sequels, I thought it would pale in comparison to the original. This is the case with this film.

Some of the segments are entertaining. Others not so much. For all the style and blood and violence this film offers, the stories can't help but feel dull. The A Dane to Kill For segment was fabulous looking and so well performed by the sultry Eva Green, but the rest itself was overlong and dreary. The final segment and showdown between Nancy Callahan and Roark was also disappointing. The film and segments definitely could have used more thought out writing.

The film is style stylistically excellent. Its a joy to look at on screen and still has an excellent comic book neo-noir feel to it. The bloody violence is still on point. The main pitfall is not being able to avoid to cap on the stories and brilliance in the stories of the first film. It wasn't without effort, but Robert Rodriguez has still yet to make a good sequel (at least in my honest opinion). Its still a decent to good film but it could have been much better.

7/10
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Anger Management
george.schmidt23 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
SIN CITY: A DAME TO KILL FOR (2014) ***1/2 Mickey Rourke, Jessica Alba, Josh Brolin, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Rosario Dawson, Bruce Willis, Eva Green, Powers Boothe, Dennis Haysbert, Ray Liotta, Christopher Meloni, Jeremy Piven, Christopher Lloyd, Jaime King, Juno Temple, Stacy Keach, Marton Csokas, Jude Cicolella, Jamie Chung, Julia Garner, Lady Gaga. Slam-bang sequel to the mash-up of dynamic duo filmmaker Robert Rodriguez and graphic novelist Frank Miller's collaboration in adapting the latter's cult comic book to the big screen (again) with some new faces (hello Gordon-Levitt as a charming lucky/unlucky gambler) and old (good ol' Rourke as the hulking pugilist avenging Marv) in the seedy titular town of trouble. All sorts of crimes are boiling to a full roil including Brolin's Dwight (replacing Clive Owen) returning for some revenge from femme fatale Green (ethereally lethal) and stripper Alba wanting payback for the suicide of her beloved Willis (brooding in spirit). Gruesome violence, duplicitous women and vice to spare, the film runs on full-tilt, high octane brio with the invaluable skills of Rodriguez (who shot/cut and photographed the sleekly gorgeous black and white with slashes of vibrant color) that only falters in going by too fast to savor the sordid proceedings at hand.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Notes From The Underground
A_Different_Drummer29 October 2014
* the original was not merely a great film, it was a one-of-a-kind, with no analog or precedent or imitation. I think I rated it a 12 on IMDb (no mean feat since the ratings only go up to 10)

* I suppose -- and I am not happy about making this concession -- that if anyone on this sorry planet has the right to destroy the original by making a sequel which is so weak that it borders on caricature (worse, it suggests that the greatness of the original was accidental) it would be Rodriguez and Miller. And that's just what they did.

* To say that Jessica Alba reprised her role from the original would be to mis-use the word "reprise." She best resembled an animated giff file.

* leaving aside the terrible script, a script lacking even a hint of the nuance of the original, it bears remembering that the incredible Bruce Willis is not merely a major star on his own, he is (check the IMDb) an accomplished voice actor too. Therefore, the attempt to fill his shoes (er... narration track) with Josh Brolin is painfully uncomfortable from the start, and only gets worse as time goes on.

* the only one having any fun here is Mickey Rourke, and I suspect that is because, unlike you and I, he is getting paid for this involvement.
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Sins of the Fodder
jadepietro28 August 2014
This film is not recommended.

Frank Miller's Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For may seem like an excessively long title, but excessive and long do perfectly describe this film.

Filmed in black and white, with spatters of killer red blood to give it some panache, the film is a stylish crime thriller with live action and graphic (as in novel and/or violence) effects. Similar to its 2005 predecessor (which I thoroughly enjoyed), but now lacking in its originality and inventiveness, Frank Miller's Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill seems like a cheap knock-off. Its homage to film noir, with its femme-fatales and tough guys, wears thin by its gory conclusion, even if the package looks swell.

Evil is everywhere. After all, this is Sin City. The film's underlying sadism and misogyny is disguised by the film's surreal and artful use of stark black & white imagery with burst of color to accentuate every scene. Women remain highly sexualized beings, objects of desire. Men fall in the category of corrupt fools, desperate schmucks, romantic lugs, or bloodthirsty savages.

Some of the same characters are back. Deformed goon Marv (Mickey Rourke), pitiful stripper Nancy (Jessica Alba), seedy PI and hero type Dwight (now played by Josh Brolin), prostitute and dominatrix Gail (Rosario Dawson), corrupt politician and main villain Senator Roarke (Powers Boothe), even dead dick (Bruce Willis) appears briefly. But their pulp fiction story lines are monotonous reminders of better told tales from the original source. New characters do enter the multi-story format: A young gambler (Joseph Gordon-Levitt), sexy slut Ava (Eva Green), who just can't keep her clothes on, and other unsavory characters come and go. Their stories give the film some needed energy, but most of the action is rather dull, even with the fancy facades.

The excessive nudity and violence is the predominant shock factor in this genre. Blood and boobs reign supreme. In fact, Ms. Green's breasts have a life of their own. Her ample bosoms seem to have more screen time than the actress herself. (But who's complaining? Certainly not the intended audience of fan-boys and adolescents.)

Directed by Mr. Miller himself and Robert Rodriguez, Frank Miller's Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For is a pop extravaganza that implodes from its own excesses. Unlike its first incarnation which had an artistic execution and vision, this version is literally all execution without any artistic vision. The film's overall look has a flatness and artificiality, relying on garish make-up and far too many CGI visual tricks. Its narrative structure is as choppy as one of the film's Ninja Amazon killers.

Frank Miller's Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For just ain't any fun the second time around. Ultimately, this film parody becomes a parody onto itself. It tends to exhaust rather than exhilarate its movie-going audience. GRADE: D+

Visit my blog at: www.dearmoviegoer.com

ANY COMMENTS: Please contact me at: jadepietro@rcn.com
44 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Weak Gratuitous Live/CGI Melee
AudioFileZ3 September 2014
This film is a mess. Gone is the feeling of inventiveness which propelled the original in this repeat. It's a watered-down sequel heavy with soft-porn celluloid CGI live comic strip visuals.. While the original seemed fresh, A Dame To Kill For outright fails.

The concurrent stories are haphazardly strung and, plain, weak. Nothing here makes an impression other than leaving one feeling dirty and used for watching, feeling embarrassed even. Eva Green being nude more than not seemed mostly to shock, or, perhaps, "hook" adolescents. The sole interesting, semi-fresh, role would have to be the part played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt's character Johnny. As Brolin's reprisal of the Dwight character didn't really cut it, Johnny is the sole person one could invest in and root for. Though Gordon-Levitt stood out, he couldn't repair the mess. Pass.
30 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Terrific,Visually Stunning,Thrilling And Entertaining Sequel.
jcbutthead8627 August 2014
Sin City:A Dame To Kill For is a terrific,visually stunning,thrilling and entertaining sequel that combines fantastic direction,a great cast,a fine script and a memorable score. And while Sin City 2 isn't as a good as the original,it's a wonderful sequel that works as a memorable follow-up.

Set before and after the events and stories in the first film,Sin City:A Dame To Kill For gives viewers four more thrilling and intense tales of Sin City.

The original Sin City was a brilliant,unforgettable and groundbreaking Comic Book film and is one of my all-time favorite movies and seemed like a film that would get a sequel. After nine years comes the sequel Sin City:A Dame To Kill For and was it worth the wait? Yes it was because Sin City:A Dame To Kill For is a fantastic sequel that is an absolute blast from start to finish because whether it's the first film or Frank Miller's Graphic Novels I love the world of Sin City and with Sin City it was fun to return to the dark,Black and White Noirish world of Sin City and if you're a fan of the first film or Miller's book you will enjoy this worthy sequel to the first film. Co-directors Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller have given viewers a stylish sequel that right from the beginning gives viewers the same energy and thrills that made the first movie work in the first place and the whole time you're watching the film you can't take your eyes off of it. The movie works as a sequel and prequel combining two stories from Frank Miller's books(A Dame To Kill For and Just Another Saturday Night)and new stories written for the film(The Long,Bad Night and Nancy's Last Dance)where each story interconnects with one another. Sin City 2 also shows viewers that while this is still a sequel nothing has changed in Sin City,the Antiheroes are still tough and the bad guys are more vicious with violence all around and blood splattered with every functioning in a stylized Film Noir world that is amoral and dark with hard boiled attitudes. The Black and White photography is stunning and beautiful because while the audience see horrific things on the screen you can't look away because the movie is amazing to look at. In Sin City 2 we also see some of the known and familiar characters and faces from the first film such as Marv,Dwight,Hartigan,Nancy and others we also see new characters such as Ava Lord and Johnny with both characters who are fascinating and memorable. The Action and violence in SC2 is vicious and at times harsh and brutal matching the first movie and none of the violence is toned down or cut although SC2 isn't as gory as the first movie. The screenplay by Frank Miller is good and memorable giving the characters dialog and moments that is straight out of Film Noir although some the dialog lacks the creative style of the Graphic Novels. If there is one problem I have with SC2 it's the length of the movie which is 1 hour and 42 minutes. Where as the first film was 2 hours and 4 minutes,SC2 is much shorter and while 1 hour and 42 minutes isn't bad I would have loved for the movie to be ten to twenty minutes longer because with the exception of A Dame To Kill For(which is almost 50 minutes and is the longest and best segment)the other two of the four tales The Long,Bad Night and Nancy's Last Dance while wonderful and compelling are too short,rushed and feel like they both should have been longer at 30-35 minutes like the stories in the first film. I hope someday Robert Rodriguez releases a director's or extended cut because even though the movie is fine the way it is I wanted more. The ending of Sin City:A Dame To Kill For is fine in my opinion even though the ending will upset and divide some viewers as some will think the ending is anti-climatic and will interfere with the continuity of the first film but I think it works because of the story and tone of the Sin City universe. A good ending for this entertaining film.

The cast is great. Mickey Rourke is excellent once again as Marv,with Rourke being charismatic and cool every time he's on screen. Josh Brolin is terrific as Dwight,with Brolin bringing an intensity to the role. Jessica Alba is amazing,sexy and at her best as Nancy,with Alba bringing an emotional depth to the role. Bruce Willis is great as Hartigan Joseph Gordon-Levitt is fantastic and memorable as Johnny,a cocky gambler. Eva Green is outstanding and beautiful as Ava Lord,the classic Femme Fatale and Dwight's ex-girlfriend. Powers Boothe sensational and menacing as Senator Roark,with Boothe commanding every scene he's in. Rosario Dawson is sexy and memorable once again as Gail,Dwight ex-girlfriend. Dennis Haybert(replacing the late Michael Clarke Duncan)is good as Manute,Ava's bodyguard. Christopher Meloni(Mort),Jeremy Piven(Bob),Jamie Chung(Miho),Ray Liotta(Joey),Stacy Keach(Vallenquist),Christopher Lloyd(Kroenig),Julia Garner(Marcie),Juno Temple(Sally),Marton Csokas(Damian Lord),Jude Ciccoella(Lt. Lebowitz),Jamie King(Goldie/Wendy)and Lady Gaga(Bertha)give good performances as well.

The direction by Robert Rodriguez and Frank Miller is wonderful and stylish with Rodriguez and Miller always moving the camera and giving the movie and fine pace and look. Great direction,Rodriguez and Miller.

The score by Robert Rodriguez is memorable and filled with energy like in the original. Good score,Rodriguez.

In final word,if you loved the first Sin City,the graphic novels,Robert Rodriguez or Frank Miller,I highly suggest you see Sin City:A Dame To Kill For,a terrific and entertaining sequel that is not as good as the original but still a worthy and memorable follow to the first film. Highly Recommended. 9.5/10.
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed