"Doctor Who" The Parting of the Ways (TV Episode 2005) Poster

(TV Series)

(2005)

User Reviews

Review this title
16 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Excellent conclusion, and the Daleks are still as entertaining as they were in 1963
ametaphysicalshark15 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Ever since their very first appearance in the second story of season one way back in 1963, the Daleks have remained the most entertaining, compelling, and frightening of the Doctor Who villains. This fantastic season 1 (or 27 depending how you see it) conclusion is nothing more than further proof of this. Eccleston is a terrific actor and he was a good doctor who is missed, though Tennant is every bit as good if not better. All in all this is a massively entertaining season finale that I doubt could've been done any better. Eccleston made an excellent doctor and will be remembered as one of the better Doctors. A satisfying end to Eccleston's short but memorable reign.

Letter Grade: A-
36 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Farewell, Number Nine...
MaxBorg8918 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
"I'm gonna rescue Rose Tyler right from the middle of the Dalek fleet. Then I'm gonna save the Earth, and then, just to finish off, I will wipe every last, stinking Dalek out of the sky!". As far as promises go, few are as big as the one made by the Ninth Doctor at the end of Bad Wolf, upon discovering that the Dalek race was far from extinct and about to invade Earth. Talk about a great cliffhanger.

And now, the conclusion: with Rose held hostage and the invasion already begun, the Time Lord must use all his wits, plus some help from Jack and Mickey (conveniently doing all the work from home like in World War Three) to defeat his archenemies once and for all. Even if it means someone has to die...

In terms of delivering a memorable season finale, Russell T. Davies pulls out all the stops and crafts a tale of epic proportions, filled with emotion, suspense, the odd comic aside and, of course, lots of Daleks screaming: "Exterminate!". The intelligent script brings the Bad Wolf subplot to a head and does its best with Rose and Jack, planting the seeds for possible evolutions in future seasons, while also giving more details about the Time War and its dramatic implications. And as far as villains are concerned, the Dalek emperor is a stroke of genius.

More than anything else, however, The Parting of the Ways will always be remembered as Christopher Eccleston's swansong as the Doctor (save for possible multi-Doctor specials in the future). Not the biggest of surprise, since a slip-up led to his departure being announced long before the episode's air date, but it still comes as a bit of a shock to see him hand over the role to someone else after only 13 episodes. That said, what he did in those 13 shows was quite amazing, and for my money he will always be THE Doctor. I mean, what's not to love about his farewell speech, which neatly sums up the entire season? As he says to Rose: "You were fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. And do you know what? So was I!". Yes, he was.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Timelords Have A Little Trick, A Sort Of Way Of Cheating Death
msb_rock27 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This episode was like the Doctor says 'Fantastic' I watched this episode knowing that it was going to be Christopher Eccleston's last story and so I was gripped by every single moment. This story see's the Doctor having to make decisions that are bigger than the Dalek fleet. Should he create a machine to kill every Dalek in existence and therefore become the biggest exterminator of all time or should he stay as the Doctor who refuses to kill. He decides at first to kill and as a result has to send his beloved Rose home, the performance of Eccleston is breath taking, as you see him trick Rose and turn and make the Tardis take her home, you see in Eccleston's eyes the heartbreak and pain that is going through him as he saves the woman he loves.

The final scene is a classic and contains the best line in the whole series that sums up how we all feel about what Eccleston had done. As Eccleston's Doctor begins to die, he gives his farewell speech, he explains the premise of the regeneration to calm Rose down "Timelords Have A Little Trick, A Sort Of Way Of Cheating Death" he then begins to say goodbye "It means i'm not going to see you again, not like this, not with this daft old face, and so before i go, i just want to say" and as Rose tries to stop him from saying this he continues with the public on the edge of their seats "I just want to tell you, you were fantastic" and the next line is the best line of the series and god bless Russell T Davies for writing this as Eccleston's last line, it goes "And you know what, so was I" and as that line is delivered, everyone at home nods there heads and agrees.

And with this line, Chris passes on the Doctors sonic screwdriver to possibly the best Doctor, David Tennant, but Chris, you were the Doctor and you will be remembered as one of the best.

"Fantastic"
32 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One Of The Most Heart Stopping , Tear Jerking Pieces Of Television Ever Produced
Theo Robertson10 June 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I was looking forward to seeing this episode which spelled the end of Christopher Eccleston's reign as The Doctor . For once in my life I wasn't disappointed . It's one of those rare instances where writing , directing , acting and musical score all come together to make a wonderful , unforgettable piece of television . The highlights were :

The Tardis landing on the Dalek command ship and the occupants meeting The Dalek Emperor

" Emergency program one " One of the most poignantly sincere scenes the show has ever produced

The winning contestants getting their rewards

Rose thinking of The Doctor , the end of the human race and the death of her father in a cafe in present day London

Captain Jack vainly fighting off the Daleks

The ninth Doctor regenerating into the tenth . " New teeth that's weird "

There is one aspect that does undermine the narrative slightly and that is the whole concept of " Bad Wolf " which is a cop out for the season's running plot mystery but it doesn't ruin the story because everything else is so well done , even the little things that no one notices like the editing and lighting are superbly handled

It was so good that my mother told me the next day how much she and my dad enjoyed the season in general and this episode in particular and this coming from someone who previously only watched the show because her son was an avid fan . The later RTD seasons might be better produced but despite limiting all the stories to London , Cardiff and space stations season one has a strength unmatched in seasons two and three and that is Christopher Eccleston in the title role . He is the most brooding and introspective of Doctors . It's no exaggeration to say if he stayed for another season he'd have become THE Doctor
37 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great ending to a great beginning!
eschetic-218 September 2012
The Doctor first crossed my personal time line during the Tom Baker years; science fiction in general (with the exception of the first Star Trek series on television) with the fourth volume of Isaac Asimov's "Foundation Trilogy in 1981." I must admit that I was at best a tepid fan of science fiction before discovering Dr. Asimov's page-turners and of the Doctor's before discovering David Eccleston's intense, intensely sexy Doctor (not to mention John Barrowman's Captain Jack and the remarkable dramatic comedy of Annette Badland's Cardiff Mayor Margaret! While she was last seen as the collapsed skin suit on the floor of the Tardis, I do hope some way will be found to have *her* time line cross the future or past of one of the Doctors or Captain Jack) in 2005 in the admirably written, reconstituted series.

The "modern" Doctor Who series (and Torchwoods) have gone on from strength to strength, but if a parallel can be drawn from an earlier series, just as the overwhelming quality and technological shift from the original Star Trek to the Next Generation made going back to appreciate the simplicity of the earlier series difficult, after Eccleston's new "First Series" with the often over-rated CGI effects (in that, well executed as they are, they threaten to overwhelm and distract from the vastly improved writing!), all previous Doctor Who episodes and stories became decidedly "BACK numbers." Calling the all too brief Eccleston Season "The First Series" as the DVD release does, is hardly hyperbole. In a very real sense it is a practical reality and a great new starting point. Bravo.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ten years on and still possibly the best Season finale.
Sleepin_Dragon12 August 2015
We have had wonderful penultimate Series episodes, The Pandorica Opens, Dark Water etc, all brilliant, but all followed up with slightly lesser conclusions. The Parting of the ways is the exception to the rule, it's a glorious finale.

The Doctor rescues Rose, meets the Emperor and discovers the Daleks are insane and hate their own skin. Several lives are lost, Lynda, Broderick, the TV bosses, and seemingly Captain Jack. Rose is satisfyingly heroic and saves the day in a wonderful ending.

The music is glorious, Murray Gold's scores are so good and fit beautifully with the show. The episode manages to maintain and build on its epic feel. We get a re-worked Dalek Emperor, such a good creation. The Daleks now have a true element of menace about them, they're back on good form. Jo Joyner is brilliant and seemed like she was being primed for more appearances, so a big surprise when she was cut down. The effects are superbly done, the mass Daleks look very realistic.

I literally cried at the time watching Chris Eccleston regenerate into David Tennant, I felt robbed, it was a feeling of 'He's brought the series back to life and now he's going, it will surely end?'

The Parting of the ways has the lot, it is a perfect 10/10.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"I just want to say that you were fantastic"
greggt8926 June 2006
Warning: Spoilers
well this is an a excellent conclusion to the first of the new series of Doctor Who. Christopher Eccelston passes the Dr Who torch to the ever popular David Tennant in this war against the daleks.

the C.G.I is fantastic in this story (such as the attack on the tardis and the daleks leaving their ship to invade earth. Billie Piper is excellent as Rose Tyler and John Barrowman is brilliant as Captin Jack Harkness.

i could not have asked for a better end to such an excellent series and series two seems to be an even better series than this one and what i have seen of Doomsday and Army Of Ghosts it seems that the ending to series two will rival this episode.
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic!
Otter_21 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
A great conclusion to a criminally short-lived Doctor. Christopher Eccleston shines as always, and his scenes with Billie Piper are absolutely touching.

The Daleks mixing with human DNA and therefore having a concept of religion (to an extent) and self-hatred was just amazing to watch. I can't help but find it difficult to imagine them setting up the Game Station itself, though? But the phenomenal acting and the whole Bad Wolf conclusion cancels out that negative.

It broke my heart to see Jack all left on his own at the end, even knowing what's to come for him.

I watched Doctor Who every week as it came out growing up, starting from Rose, and David Tennant was always my Doctor. Even though I remember crying when Eccleston left, I remembered sulking with Tennant... watching that regeneration now made me emotional and excited to watch the rest of his episodes.

Just a great end to a great series.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fine season finale
Tweekums2 April 2018
Following on immediately from 'Bad Wolf' this episode opens with The Doctor rescuing Rose from the Daleks. In the process he learns how they survived the Time War... or more precisely how they were recreated by their emperor, who is now their god. Returning to Satellite 5, The Doctor formulates a plan to defeat the Daleks. He then puts Rose in the Tardis and sets it on a one way course for Earth in 2005. Rose is determined to return to him but the Tardis appears to be dead. Back on the station it becomes apparent that if The Doctor's plan to wipe out the Daleks succeeds it will also exterminate everybody on Earth... a price worth paying to rid the universe of the Daleks?

I enjoyed this episode more than I expected; there was plenty of tension, several exciting scenes, emotional intensity and we finally learn why the words 'Bad Wolf' kept appearing throughout the season. The number of deaths is quite surprising; particularly in the case of one character although he does 'recover'. Having The Doctor send Rose away along with a message saying he didn't expect to survive worked well; it showed us just how far each of them was prepared to go to try to save the other. Christopher Eccleston was on fine form as The Doctor; he may only have been in the series for one season but he was a fine first Doctor for the new era of the show. Billie Piper and John Barrowman were impressive as Rose and Captain Jack; the former bringing real emotion to her role. The Daleks made an impressive enemy; I especially liked how the say they survived the Time War slightly changed them. The final scenes serve to indicate that the next Doctor will have a distinctly different personality.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Strong and moving season finale
dkiliane30 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The season one finale was a gripping and touching finish to the season. From Rose's exciting rescue to the Doctor's fantastic speeech at the end of the episode, the finale was gripping through and through. The acting was impeccable and emotional. The Daleks serve as threatening villains suitable for the finale and Rose's reveal as the "bad wolf" is rather awesome, if not a bit unnecessarily convoluted.

Which brings us to the few negative aspects of the episode, namely, the plot holes. The bad wolf aspect is a slightly clumsy way of tying the season together, but overall works on an emotional level. Also, how Rose basically brings back only one person while leaving dead a whole slew of innocents doesn't sit well with me, especially when one seemed poised as a new companion for the TARDIS. But these are minor complaints overall and don't detract too much from the episode. Just enough to rob it of a perfect 10. 9/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Doctor is dead, long live The Doctor
A_Kind_Of_CineMagic7 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This is the second part of the two part season finale. This part is really excellent in almost every way. The only real downside to this episode is the unlikely plot element when it is revealed the Daleks have been controlling human society via Satellite 5 for many generations to supposedly set up an attack on Earth is an extremely convoluted and pretty unconvincing plot when a simple attack could have been simply carried out by a Dalek fleet without all of that effort beforehand.

The Doctor, Rose and Jack are on Satellite 5 as the Daleks attack and they all do their part to try to heroically stop the Dalek Emperor and his fleet. The episode has great drama, great action, great effects, great emotion and great script. The acting of the 3 heroes is great with John Barrowman, Billie Piper and Chris Eccleston all at their best. The Daleks are properly formidable and impressive with great voice performance by Nicholas Briggs.

In addition to the great adventure we also get a regeneration! Eccleston is replaced by David Tennant as The Doctor regenerates at the end of the episode. I was very worried but it turned out Tennant was going to be my second favourite Doctor behind only the legendary Tom Baker. Obviously the excitement of a regeneration adds to the qualities of the episode.

All of that outweighs the unconvincing part of the central plot which would normally drop my rating a couple of points. I feel I still have to take half a point off for this seemingly illogical planning by the Daleks so I rate this 9.5/10 which happily I still round up to ten for this site anyway haha. For the two parter my score is 17/10 therefore 8.5/10.

Russell T. Davies did a great job bringing Doctor Who back to our screens so successfully and this first series of the returned show was of good quality with some superb stories. A few less impressive episodes mean this series was not amongst the best in the show's history but it is a strong medium level season of Doctor Who. Christopher Eccleston was a great actor to bring the series back and portrayed the strength and the edgier, more thoughtful parts of the role really well. He struggled a little with the lighter more comedic aspects which he more recently admits were behind his discomfort that lead to him leaving. He looks slightly uncomfortable when acting more humorous scenes.

Series 1 Average Rating (therefore also all Christopher Eccleston episodes average): 8.38/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Farewell Nine.
wetmars1 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This episode is fantastic! Good speech before the Doctor regenerates. Liked it when David Tennant's says his first words. FANTASTIC!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Doctor versus a fleet of Daleks
The_Sandheaver2 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
After the suspense following the end of the last episode, The Doctor and Jack Harkness fly the TARDIS through a fleet of Dalek ships to save Rose, and they are introduced to the Emperor of the Daleks, who is something of a god to the Daleks.

As the Daleks declare war on the humans, the only thing in their way is the Doctor, the only one the Daleks fear, the Last Time Lord. To save Rose from the devastation that is to follow, he sends her back home to her own time. However, Rose is determined to find a way to get back to the Doctor to help him end what seems to be an increasingly dire attempt to defeat the Daleks. Can she find a way to reactivate the TARDIS with the help of her mother and her boyfriend Mickey? But, if anyone can think of a way to defeat the Daleks, it is the Doctor. But, has his luck finally run out, after 900 years of travelling and eight regenerations since he crash-landed on Earth in 1963?

I have only one problem with this episode. Although there is great tension built up and some great fight scenes, it all seems to be brought to an end far too quickly, and if you want a great climactic fight scene, I'm afraid you're going to be denied. But, you will get a fantastically emotional finish...

Trivia: This episode introduces the magnificent David Tennant as the tenth Doctor.
8 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
My expectations...
vshmarov23 November 2018
When I was going to see this episode, I thought: "Oh my God, there's so much mystery here! All is unknown, all is so hard-to-solve... but when I watched it till the end, I was really disappointed! The way Doctor and Rose were solving the situation is smart, yeah, but I asked myself every time: "Why have I watched that episode 12? There are almost no connections with it, except the Bad Wolf idea, which also, finally, was realized TERRIBLY! You had so much potential! You had 12 episodes before! You had a TIME-TRAVELING MACHINE AT LEAST, COME ON! I wanted to see the epic battle (stunning graphics are not necessary, though!), the way Doctor saved the day at the last time, and all I have got is the army of Daleks! For me, it wasn't such a perfect end of the season ("The empty child" became the best episode of the season 1 for many people and me, though!) It was only a common episode and not an ending at all. 6 from 10.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Forgot something.
wetmars1 February 2018
Grade: B+ Doctor's Grade: Fantastic! That's all ok,
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good episode but poorly written in parts
tartydoris18 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
First off I'm writing this review years after it originally aired as I'm re-watching the entire series from the start. This does give one a uniquely lofty position in which to assess the relative merits.

My overwhelming thought from this two-parter is that it was OK but quite sloppily written by Russell T. Davies with little imagination. The premise was fine. You reboot Doctor Who for the modern age and you make the conclusion to the first season about the shows most iconic villain - the Daleks. With little teasers that have been sewn throughout the whole season. BAD WOLF.

This kicks off my first major gripe. The whole Bad Wolf thing was so esoteric that it made little sense. This is what I've gleaned from other sites it means: Bad Wolf was a message scattered in space and time to tempt Rose back to the Game Station to save the Doctor. Later the phrase 'Bad Wolf' became a warning, the TARDIS translated every word to Bad Wolf letting the Doctor know that the universe was in danger.

How did the Bad Wolf message do either of these two things with any great efficacy? It's not as if they had any great hidden meaning.

Secondly, the previous episode was so lame up to the point of realization that the Daleks were behind the space stations strange 'Games'. The idea that 200,000 years into the future that Big Brother, The Weakest Link and Trinny and Susannah are still the most popular shows on television. Judging that most shows have a life span of about 10 years. How did these last 200 millennia?

After watching all 9 seasons of Doctor Who. You know who the good writers in this show are and how poor some of the others are. It is no coincidence that shows with particularly low ratings on IMDb are quite often written by Russell T. Davies and, in my opinion, is the main reason why he was eventually replaced as lead writer by Steven Moffat, who's episodes were widely praised. Such as the two parter in this first season - The Empty Child and The Doctor Dances. The two episodes, along with this final episode, that each scored 9.1 - the highest rating of the first season.

What I'm saying is that I just think Russell T. Davies is a very average writer and does not show much imagination with his work. Even the little underlying things, clues and mysteries that tie a season together are so ham-fisted and don't make much sense (Bad Wolf). Something Steven Moffat does really well.

I think the reason why this episode, and the previous one, rate as high as they do is because they were about the Daleks and the Doctor Who fans love the Daleks and were excited to see them so prominently. However, as a story goes I think it was pretty average and could have been written so much better and more competently.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed