"Inspector Morse" Death Is Now My Neighbour (TV Episode 1997) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Well worth watching for John Thaw and Richard Briers!
TheLittleSongbird7 July 2009
Death is Now My Neighbour is an excellent episode, featuring a wonderful performance from John Thaw, who never messed up anything he was in. Kevin Whately is perfect as Lewis, as is James Grout as Strange. I liked the performances of Judy Loe-Kate Beckinsale's mother-, John Schrapnel, Roger Allam, Holley Chant and Maggie Steed. But Richard Briers, with black dyed hair threatens to steal the show as the manipulative and truly nasty college master Sir Clixby Bream, who sleeps with Dennis's wife to get back at him for ruining his marriage. He doesn't quite, save one (Day of the Devil) Thaw's performance is every episode's main merit. The plot is complicated, and flawlessly told through an intelligent script. For me, the highlight was finding out Morse's first name, I loved Lewis's reaction, "you poor sod!" All in all, above all other things, watch for John Thaw and Richard Briers having fun. 10/10 Bethany Cox.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This is tough to watch, due to the brilliance of Briers
Sleepin_Dragon28 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A more traditional story for Morse you couldn't dream of, Morse called in to investigate a killing at an Oxford College. The College is going through change, a new Master is taking over from Sir Clixby Bream, and the candidates will do anything for the prestigious role.

A fantastic story, very complex and twisted, beautifully performed by all concerned. An incredibly tight script, and notable for being the episode where his name is finally revealed.

One of the latter episodes, and for my money possibly John Thaw's finest performance in the much loved role. I mention I find it a tough watch, not through the story or quality of the episode, just because of the venomous and abhorrent character that Richard Briers created with Sir Clixby Bream, even that black hair is repugnant. The scene where he confesses his misdemeanour to Shelly Cornford is shocking, but well executed.

All the cast shine through, Maggie Steed and Judy Loe are particularly good.

So good, I wondered if there was a consideration for it to have rounded of the series. 9/10
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Would have made a very satisfying series finale
trap4910 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I've watched all the episodes on IMDb, but didn't begin watching Morse until I'd already watched every episode of Lewis. It was a wonderful experience to watch the Morse/Lewis dynamic unfold. I suppose I'll have to begin watching Lewis all over again now.

This episode hit so many right notes for me, that it would have been a great finale for the show. Morse solves the case, reveals his first name, and at long last, gets the girl. Walk off into the sunset, fade to black. That would have been great.

Interesting side notes: after watching all the previous episodes filmed in old standard-def 4:3 format, it was stunning to see an HD 16:9 episode. Also, nice to see Roger Allam when he was young, and it's great that he's now the senior partner in Endeavour.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Did the full stop on the writer's keyboard get stuck on auto?
clangfield16 October 2009
Decent plot twists and performances as always, but the one thing that stands out in this episode is... and once you start to notice the absurd number of unfinished sentences, you can't help... which is unfortunately rather distracting from the rest of... there is of course a place for a character's thoughts to drift off occasionally, but in this episode... You get the point (as it were). It's not so noticeable in other episodes so it's a bit strange the way it is so overdone in this one. It contains the same running themes as other episodes - one has to wonder how anybody gets out of Oxford with a their life, let alone a degree. Anyway, worth watching, try not to let it...
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Oops. Wrong door, sorry.
rmax3048235 March 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I rather liked this one, partly because I was able to follow the story, clotted though it was. A young woman is shot to death while having breakfast alone at home, for no apparent reason. Later her neighbor, a reporter, is shot and killed with the same pistol at about the same time of day.

Morse and Lewis determine that the second victim has been gathering material that allows him to blackmail just about anyone he wants. He's been concentrating on two rivals for promotion at Oxford. The murderer is nailed down properly but the true villain is the smiling dude with dyed hair who is in charge of the promotions at the college. That would be Richard Briers as Sir Clixby Bream (a name to conjure with). Boy, is he a rude lump of moral deformity or what? He hounds the wife of one of the ambitious candidates for promotion into servicing him, then cackles and tells her he's not going to give her husband the post anyway. He revels in his evil. The wife is Holly Chant, who has a nice figure, a queer face, and a soft, seductive, and somehow reassuring American voice. She could be on late-night FM radio announcing that the next selection will be the Academic Festival Overture. I was sorry to see her get it.

I was glad that the other candidate -- the one who isn't her husband -- wasn't guilty of anything more than a bit of musical beds because he's an anthropologist whose specialty is the Pacific Islands, the same as I are. I do think they could have made him a little more attractive though.

Morse's father was obsessed with an explorer of the Pacific Islands. In fact, Morse's first name is revealed and it has to do with Captain Cook, the British explorer who discovered Hawaii, at that time called the Sandwich Islands. It's ironic in view of Cook's later becoming a kind of unwilling human repast himself.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
How the mighty have fallen!
mcgregor_neil11 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
The Morse series were finely-produced television, often exquisitely subtle and well-judged. What a shame therefore that this horrible episode was made. The screenplay is a self-conscious hash of Morse clichés, repeated mercilessly as if to a half-wit. It's like an extended overture to 'This Is Your Life' for Morse.

Here are just some of the many irritants:

# 'I never think, Sir. Didn't get a degree' is a pale shadow of 'I wouldn't presume to *think* in an Oxford college. I *imagine*..' which had suggested all of the contradictions of Morse's position - his time at Oxford, his choice of career, his lack of ambition, being nourished by the job itself, his talents being applied in a way that Academe would scarcely appreciate.. But in this episode, it is replaced with a chip on his shoulder, perhaps even an appeal to class envy.

# Ingratiating himself to Adele Cecil, Morse denounces Verdi's work as being only good enough for cheering one up (perfectly reasonable); but the set designer should have paid attention - Morse's office later has a Verdi poster on the wall. Or, even more clumsy, was this intentional?

# Shelly Cornford's dubbed unbroken screaming as she rolls down the college staircase (not to mention Lewis' inept CPR - open her airway, man!)

# Far too much personal background info about Morse in one episode, with all the subtlety of a 'Popular Classics' compilation CD. Too many references to his parents; and then of course the first name 'reveal' travesty, signposted with the Quaker mother (clang!) and Captain Cook-obsessed father (clang!) hints.

# Indeed, there is too much repetition in general e.g. there are at least half a dozen gags about Morse not having any money and Lewis having to pay for the round of drinks, newspaper etc. Mildly amusing the first time, unbearably ham-fisted by the fifth or sixth.

The queasiness is somewhat abated by my sympathy for the actors and crew, who manage to get through it so well, especially Richard Briers.
9 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Inspector Morose
BILLYBOY-1012 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Snobby Chief Inspector Endeavour Morse tells a woman he just met that he has spent two years trying to teach is sidekick the difference between using "whom and who". What a prick. This character is deliberately a self indulging, boring, pretentious academic wannabe, continuously barking at anyone within hearing distance, an essentially functioning alcoholic who can't think without a couple of beers (also a beer snob) and drives a vintage Jaguar with opera blaring. He also declares to the same woman that he is a Wagner man, well, so was Hitler. I like this series a lot, but only for the plots, great writing (not many, but some holes), locale and the ever suffering Lewis.

Actually Lewis' own series, later on, after Morse has died, is much better; more intense use of the university, and his sidekick, Hathaway is really an interesting part of the whole series and it's excellent production, writing and acting and musical scoring as well. So, in conclusion, I watch it
7 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
University Soap Opera
Hitchcoc11 March 2018
This is a case of some ambitious men trying to take over as heads of a major college. In the midst of this is the slimy guy who has maintained that position for some time. A beautiful, single young woman is shot through her window shortly after picking up a bottle of milk from her front stoop. We are soon let into a group of players with lots of history--including the aforementioned men. Their female counterparts offer an interesting part of their overall makeup. Soon more murders are committed and Morse is forced to look into those who are friends. Morse is immediately taken with an attractive woman (as is his want) and she is mingled in the mess. Victims abound because of the ongoing duplicity taking place at the higher university levels.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed