Blood Ties (TV Series 2007) Poster

(2007)

User Reviews

Review this title
47 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A series that has a lot of potential
Tenchi6458913 March 2007
Since age seven, I've always been into vampires and vampire-related anything, and when I found out that this series was premiering on Lifetime I jumped at the chance to log this into my DVR.

The story itself is rather intense: an ex-cop teaming up with a vampire to solve supernatural cases... it sounds crappy on paper, (on paper being the key words.) but when you see it first hand, it's actually quite entertaining.

Say what you will about the premise, but as soon as you watch just one episode, I guarantee you will be sucked in... no pun intended.

9/10
77 out of 93 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Pleasantly Surprised by Blood Ties
penelope-3526 March 2007
All right, I grudgingly watched the show and was really ready to hate it as derivative (of Witchblade) or be bored with the cliché'd vampire theme. Boy Was I Wrong! Yes...there is the tough-girl Sara Pezzini style heroine but Christine Cox holds her own creating the likable and cynical "supernatural" P.I. Vicki Nelson. I honestly expected the vampire to be broody and over done...not so. Kyle Schmid is surprisingly charming as the Lothario comic-book-writing vampire. Dylan Neal plays Mike the cop who is dead set on defending his position to be more than just friends, and Neal just sucker punches you with his bigger than life, leading man type appeal.

The writers and directors did such an excellent job of keeping the tone well-balanced between the suspense, sexual tension and comic relief that I immediately set my DVR to record all the upcoming episodes.
59 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yeah, Sunday night isn't boring anymore
l-hayes-119 March 2007
I, like another that commented, ran across the movie last week by accident. It caught my attention right away. I was ecstatic when I found out it was going to be a series. In a time of not so real reality shows which I despise, it is so refreshing to find a show that is truly entertaining and actually takes you away from everyday stress to another delightful, possible world. It's like taking a mental vacation!!!! The cast is great! Kudos to the casting company! The lead female is someone you can identify with, attractive, smart, tough but not too tough and still vulnerable. Thankfully she isn't too young, unbelievably pretty or a product of silicone. The leading males are interesting both attractive but I must say I think one is more so than the other. Each with his own distinct personality. One is charming but dangerous the other is level headed and stable. The supporting cast are equally as interesting and add beautifully to the show. The writers are awesome!! The script is well written with just enough smart comebacks to give you a laugh and not be cheesy. It has wit, little twists of plot, some suspense, romance, it's just the perfect mixture. I hate when it's over but look so forward to the next episode. My thanks to all involved in this series for this wonderful bit of entertainment, may it be around for a long time to come!!!
53 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great, another show I HAVE to watch! :-)
sandymorgan712 March 2007
I started watching this show thinking that it was a "Made for TV" movie. I was totally drawn into this new world. What an imaginative story; ex-cop turned P.I. investigating supernatural cases with an unlikely "partner" who just happens to be a Vampire (OK a super-hot Vampire.) I loved the characters we were introduced to. It's like the "X-Files" meets "Underworld." Then towards the end there was a commercial for "Blood Ties" the new series on "Lifetime." Series? What? I told my husband, "Great now there is another show I will HAVE to watch each week!" He laughed. But I already can't wait for the next episode!

I must admit, I was surprised to find such an awesome show on"Lifetime." Good move on their part is all I can say. The ONLY time I have ever watched "Lifetime" in the past has been to see the made-for-TV Nora Roberts movies.

The only thing I can say negative about this show is that some of the special effects weren't all that special.....kinda cheesy. But that said, I do think this series is a hit and I hope it stays around!
54 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So hooked..........or bitten
kapnkitty5 July 2007
Always with an open mind, I went into this show allowing it to take me wherever...........and it did. So much so I bought the books and read them too. Vicky is a cool and tough, Mike is the hard nose cop, but quickly given into whatever Vicky needs. And the vampire is so very charming, and sometimes sad, but very sensual. Together they face Henry's world that sets them in danger that takes them so over the top. Hard enough believing you know a vampire, without finding there are demons with nothing better to do than make your day even worst. So I fell for it and how Vicky manages to have two men of very different worlds by her side (what every woman could use). Looking forward to the second season..........
28 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Seires so far
kschniekert25 March 2007
This show is even better than the novels- which were excellent! Maybe because this Henry is much sexier than the novel's Henry or maybe because there are 3 extremely talented and believable leads or maybe its Ms. Huff's influence as a script writer. Whatever, I hope this series lasts several seasons. Buffy pales in comparison! It is also wonderful to see a series filmed in Toronto actually "set" in Toronto. The locals and views all again fit with the novels. Maybe the thing I personally like the best is that there is a heroine that wears glasses and still not only gets the guy- she gets two of them!The young actor portraying Henry will be one to watch ( he was outstanding in History of Violence as well)- talented, sexy, and with an endearing smile that any incubus would, yes, die to have!
39 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Blood Ties is Fantastic
auntyrobin18 June 2007
Like some of the other posts I've read, I too stumbled upon Blood Ties on accident and was immediately hooked. Once I realized it was a series the DVR was set and I was scrambling to figure out how to download the episodes I had missed. October seems far away for the series to continue. I've got my fingers crossed for reruns for those of you who don't feel inclined to download. This is truly a series that has a little of everything and something for everyone. Two male leads that are while both similar in their noble aspects have completely different personalities and a female lead that is attractive as well as intelligent and is feminine without being prissy or dependent on the men in her lives, almost to a fault. And while very adept at what she does professionally, still out of control in her personal life enough to be an interesting character. An excellent writing job that crosses the historical and mythological with action, fantasy and crime drama. Oh and a little romance. Definitely worth checking out.
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
blood ties
streetwalker4513 April 2007
This is a very good show. It has a love triangle in it and it is a few steps above Angel and Buffy. I hope to see this stay on for a very long time. Keep up the good work. I wait every Sunday night just to watch the show. And then I stay up to see the encore after wards. Just in case I have missed something from the time before. I am hoping that at some time Henry gets the girl. But I enjoy the cat and mouse game that is being played out with these two people. You feel as if you are right there with them as you are watching the show.I have told a lot of my co-workers about this show and they are now as hooked as my self. We meet at the water cooler as on TV. And talk about the show and what is next. We never seem to be able to guess right. But that is the fun of it.
27 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Good even if you have read the books.
skooshie18 March 2007
I must say I am a huge fan of the novels and who would not say that Kyle Schmid is one of the most lovely young men I have ever seen. I even thought so in that dreadful straight to video horror movie he made that he would be someone to watch and now he has his own series. Christina Cox is lovely and has also done other outstanding film work and Dylan Neal helps to round out an almost too beautiful cast. The show is actually very good and with any luck will be around a couple of years. It has a nice little bit of three way tension going, but let us hope it is not like a lot of shows that either give us too much or too little depending.
24 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Started a little bland, but now is HOTTTTT.....
walnutgrovecrafts9 April 2007
Okay, so I was apprehensive about watching this show at first....Hence the getting into something that I truly love, then it winds up getting canceled, for low ratings, etc.

This show started out a little slow and bland for me. Henry, the Vamp, is however so hot, you find yourself looking past some of the dragging scenes, just to get more scenes with him in them. Vicki, the PI, is edgy, hard, and doesn't take an ounce of crap from anyone. I like that about her, but I find myself looking for a softer side to her as well. Well, I got it.

The past few episodes, it seems that she still has that edginess to her, but we are also seeing her softening up to a degree, which I think makes the show better. In these last few episodes, I've highly enjoyed them, and now I am truly hooked! You really don't know what's going to happen, and the love triangle with Vicki, Henry, and Mike is yum-yum-yummy.

I hope this show is around for some time to come, and that it stands a chance to improve and get better as the episodes go on....

I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!! (and of course hope that Vicki and Henry wind up together down the road... :-) )
31 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I hope this show runs as long or longer then Buffy!
turtleshelleyes26 October 2007
I have to say that the minute I watched this show I was an addict! Brilliant humour, action packed, sexually charged and Angel, step aside sweetie you just got replaced by a vampire who can make any woman happily tilt their neck to one side for him, especially with that smile! Oh WOW! I can't wait to see what the creators have in store for the characters! The distance that this show can go is cult status and beyond followed by the religious production of DVD box sets with the extras, the special guest appearances on TV chat shows as well as the action figures and conventions. This show is also acting as a huge audience magnet for Christina Cox and Kyle Schmid.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome!!
anda_andreea20029 October 2007
I adore this show! I like everything in it! Even though you would like to see more action, you can't simply not adore every single episode, and hate when it ends. I hope it will go on ... many years from now. Extremely easy to watch and relaxing, this show is very entertaining for almost any age. It makes you live in the same time with the personages, without annoying and too childish situations, as you can see in other shows or movies of this kind. It is excellent for Sundays or Saturdays nights, when you feel like you just wanna sit down lazy on your sofa and watch something easy, juicy and pleasant.

Long life and BRAVO!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I love Hot Vampires!lol.
Sarahkrklnd12 March 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Loved it!! It's probably going to be one of my favorites on television right now! Good Vampire guy is really hot!! Love the fact that they didn't make it cheesy,Like if they put nothing but: " I Love You" And " Be careful, my love" in the first episode. That would be a little stupid. I would love to see things develop between her and the vampire. They both kicked ass the first episode I saw, but sadly missed the firt 40 mins. So if someone could fill me in, i'd love that. This show is just great, and it teaches ya to never get in a strangers vehicle.I Guess this is all coming from a girl who listens to " My chemical Romance" and lives on novels on vampire and supernatural romance. Anyway,it's a good show and deserves good ratings, and a good look.=)
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome Show!
HorrorMonster27 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
I watched this show purely out of boredom at first. I saw one episode, and I was hooked. I tape Blood Ties on TiVo every Sunday night. I can't believe what Mike did to Henry two episodes ago. I was shocked. I really loved it when Vicky punched him, and he said to her are you finished yet? He knew that he deserved it. I love Blood Ties, it is one of my favorite shows, although I do miss the TV show Missing, which used to have the time slot that Blood Ties is in now. The love triangle between Hanry, Vicky, and Mike is really starting to heat up. I really would like to know what happened between Vicky and Mike when they used to work together. I hope that eventually the secret is revealed.I can't wait until Sunday!
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This show is so good
mysticnox27 October 2007
The chemistry between the actors is amazing. This show has a good chance of becoming a cult hit.

And Henry... well Henry is everything a modern vampire should be. Charming, overconfident, powerful, incredibly seductive and sexy, educated, and very dangerous. He is Lord Byron, Percy Bysche Shelley, Don Juan, and Jim Morrison. He can bite me any time. Men need to watch this show to see exactly how they should be doing it. The seduction I mean.

He's just incredibly sizzling hot. I imagine the actor thats playing him has learned a lot about how to truly seduce a women just from this little bit working on the show.

Wow, just wow. I REALLY hope this show continues. I find myself waiting with baited breath until next week when they show the new episodes.

Before this, Supernatural was my favorite show but I haven't felt the "can't wait until next week" thing with any show since Charmed.

Excellent. Just excellent. Please please don't cancel this show Lifetime.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing show
vivianadeva2 March 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Even if I came across this show by purely accident I became hooked. It is an amazing show. The actors are amazing, and their characters are so so interesting. I love the mystery, the characters and their personalities so different and yet so complementary in the same time. The show has a bit of everything in it: mystery, drama, romance. I truly loved it. Christina Cox is just perfect for this role and Vicky's relation with Henry is fascinating. I love their growing attraction and Vicky's balance regarding this relationship. Every episode leaves us with wanting for more. I just wished there were more than 2 seasons, because I just can't get enough of it.It is really worth watching.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great, engaging show
superchic331197616 October 2007
I remember seeing previews for the show before it premiered and thinking that it looked like a Buffy copy-cat. It had all the same elements that Buffy did: an attractive, tough, female lead; a mysterious and sexy male love interest, and a couple of loyal sidekicks with stories of their own. However, being that I am such a fan of Buffy anyway, I had to check it out. If this show couldn't live up to my favorite show of all time, then it wouldn't be worth it. The first episode took me by surprise. I found that immediately, I was interested in all of the characters, who they were, the lives they were leading and what was going on, all within the first half-hour of the show. From the start, I was hooked. The main core of characters, which include Victoria Nelson, Mike Celluci, Henry Fitroy and Coreen Fennel all have fantastic, varying personalities. Even during the hiatus, I ran across a plethora of fan lore, delving into the lives of these people, all the while keeping their equal obsessions alive and looking into the lives of such a dynamic cast. The plot kept me interested and after the first episode was over, I couldn't help but be obsessed with what was going to happen next. It's an amazing show and I can't wait to see more of it.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
blood ties rocks
debidenter17 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
i watch blood ties plus 1 other TV show and lots of different movies. i feel blood ties has a great plot line.it also keeps you guessing and/or you get a twist on what you think is going to happen. i like adventure,romance and scare plus magic as well as a little mystery' it is a wonderful show. i love the fact that henry is hot. Vctoria is a tough gal with a soft side.plus mile is so out of his "place" that he doesn't know or understand and is not scared but confused and leery of whats going on !! this show contains many different types of plots. i have seen each one out. i have not been disappointed yet.this show has had demons,voodoo,creatures and almost normal stuff for a pi.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Nice try
shaggydog5324 January 2008
Don't get me wrong, folks, this was a nice try, but no banana. The series definitely has some moments; there have been better attempts at "friendly vampires", though (e.g. "Buffy", "Angel", "Forever Knight" etc.)

I read "Blood Price" when it first came out in 1991 - and the TV series doesn't hold a candle to it or its sequels. If you want my advice: get the books by Tanya Huff, an awesome writer in Fantasy and Horror BOTH, and hope that SHE will come up with another sequel, not the writers of this series (which moved further and further away from the original with every installment).

I think the only character they really cast right was Celluci. Got on my nerves in the books AND the series ;-)

P.S.: Whatever happened to Tony Foster?
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Tufty in Toronto and Buffwatch Canada
tipsy-422 December 2008
I'm enjoying this. A tough and sassie, blonde, female vampire hunter teams up with a centuries old, good vampire who likes to wear dark clothes, places great importance on hair care and has a penchant for drawing. After years of wandering in Europe he finds his way to North America and, together with the sassie blonde, chastely fights a different demon every week. Oh, and the sassie blonde's wackily dressed assistant is interested in witchcraft. Familiar? Can't quite put my finger on it.

Not to be confused with the superbly dated Forever Knight which has another centuries old, good, vampire detective; also keen on the black leather and the hair products. And keeps blood in his fridge.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Simply Put The Best of It's Kind
oldhouselover9 March 2008
Simply put Blood Ties is the best show ever of it's genre ever produced...great writing,superior acting,hot chemistry,this one has it all.If you love vampires,the supernatural,romance,comedic situations,originality and quality content you can not help but be pulled in.Vicki,Henry,Mike a love triangle for the here and now.If you are looking for cheese then you will be out of luck with this one for there is none to be found here.This is a show worthy of many entertaining seasons and a prime example of what can result when all the main elements of a show are addressed in their entirety.Lifetime hit one out of the proverbial park when they chose to air BLood Ties and they need to come to that reality.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Show On Lifetime
missyfawn11328 December 2007
i love love love this show. Christina cox kicks some major supernatural but in this. i love her, she is such a great actress. this is the best show on lifetime and they would be stupid to cancel this show. if they do, i hope sci-fi picks it up cause i will discontinue watching lifetime network if the show is canceled. this show is so great and i love the vampire genre. it is nice to see a strong woman on t.v. this is like a buffy the vampire slayer but all grown up. the cast is excellent. the story lines are awesome and the love triangle really is real and gut wrenching. if u haven't seen this show yet. try watching it one time and u will be hooked if not bitten by the show.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bloodties
cajmatey15 October 2007
This show may not have the big budget effects but it more than makes up for it in its writing and acting. Christina Cox is the kind of strong actress that makes any performance her own. Shes the kind of believable female role model young women need today. Both Schmid and Neal flow gracefully right beside her. Schmid makes being 400 and something more than believable for one so young. His portrayal is exactly what the romantic vampires of great novels is supposed to be. Neal plays the frustrated cop and torn ex lover to perfection. This show has such great potential to be a real classic if only given the chance to spread its wings.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This show is my necessity!!
Claire-42112 October 2007
I love love love this show!! I only decided to check it out from the ads and because I have a fetish for vampires...and it had me from the very pilot episode...completely and utterly sucked me in!! (pun intended :p) And I can't remember any other show that has gotten to me so quickly and so passionately as Blood Ties!! It has everything you could possibly want in a TV show - drama, humour, romance, the supernatural, passion, action and adventure!! The acting is superb - the chemistry between characters completely believable and I find the scripts subtly very clever...the wisecracks, the mythology, the passion...it's all slipped in there so easily, and the actors deliver every line so wonderfully, there's no wonder I developed such a love of this show!! Not once have I sat there thinking 'yeah right, as if'...the characters suck you right into their world...you're convinced it all exists (and personally I don't see why not - I believe there's a heck of a lot more out there that we don't know about, than what we do!) You care about the characters, you care what happens to them and long to find out what's going to happen to them all...the rather unique love triangle is certainly intriguing, if not slightly frustrating at times!! I for one pray and hope this show sticks around for many, many more seasons...it would be a complete tragedy to lose something so damn good far too soon!!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A little grit, a little gore and lots of sex appeal
lottatoes33666 October 2007
This is a must for any vampire fan, just the right blend of sexual undertones and vampire attraction. Henry is very lovable in this role which is built for the new age horror freaks. I can not wait till the series is picked up or sold and kept on the tube for us to enjoy. I am looking forward to it as will everyone else who lets Henry in to play. Also, for a horror based show it was very clean, something I would not mind my grandchildren watching or teenagers. I feel with all the friends this investigator has she will prevail in the end and perhaps Henry will be the healing note she needs. There is so much that can be developed within this script that it has nowhere to go but up. If this one can get the right spot, the right evening it will take off like the X Files did in the 90"s. We need diversity on the television now I truly hate reality TV and new shows with a little grit suite me fine.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed