This Christmas (2007) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
33 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
"This Christmas" Blazes Bright and Is Filled With Cheer
D_Burke21 December 2011
"This Christmas" is a little bit more adult than a typical Christmas movie. Fortunately, it also is not nearly as cynical as many Christmas comedies of late, while simultaneously still maintaining humor, charm, and warmth that may make it a perennial favorite in the years to come.

The plot of the film can be described in two sentences: Three brothers and three sisters return to their mother's house for Christmas, and bring with them excessive baggage from their lives. They reunite, and work through the troubles in their lives.

In terms of story, there's not a lot else to say. However, it's really what the actors here bring to their characters and how they interact with their other family members on screen that make this movie work.

Loretta Devine plays the matriarch of the Whitfield family, affectionately known as Ma'Dere to her six children. Despite being a divorcée, she does well for herself as the owner of a laundromat. Of her six children, the only one who lives with her is Michael "Baby" Whitfield (Chris Brown), who does not want to tell Ma'Dere about his aspirations to be a singer.

The other five children not only live away from home, but all of them have a story. Quentin Jr. (Idris Elba, great as always) is a saxophone player whose life on the road has prevented him from coming home for the holidays for years. On top of him holding a grudge against Ma'Dere's minister boyfriend, deacon Joe Black (Delroy Lindo), for not being his father, Quentin Jr. also owes debts to bookies. Part of the reason he's home is to hide from them.

The whole story with Quentin Jr. could take up an entire movie, but the film does well balancing most of the other siblings out. The second eldest child, Lisa (the great Regina King), is a stay-at-home Mom who decided to raise a family instead of go to college. Her sister Kelli (the beautiful Sharon Leal) did go to college, and is successful and residing in New York City.

Her other sister Mel (Lauren London) is in college, and brings her boyfriend home for the holidays. The final brother Claude (Columbus Short), who I believe is fourth eldest, is in the Marines, but is holding back a few secrets, including but not limited to a bride with whom he eloped.

So with six children, there are a lot of stories. Most of them weave together very well, and the other children's reactions to each one is really believable. However, I feel as though Mel could have been cut entirely from the story. By the time the other five subplots really got going, Mel's bringing her boyfriend home from college seemed less interesting, plus her character got pushed right to the back anyway.

I really liked the interactions between Regina King and Sharon Leal. They look nothing alike, but both acted so well in scenes together that you really thought they were sisters. There was also a lot of believability between King and Idris Elba, especially when the dynamic is played out on how she stayed near the family while he drifted as far away as you can get.

I also thought the tension and eventual resolution between Elba and Lindo was pretty believable. Lindo's character is not a bad guy, but Elba as Quentin, who knew his estranged father the best, plays his uncertainty against the new man in the house well.

As a Christmas movie, it was unique in the way it took place in Los Angeles, the location of no other Christmas movies I know. It's sunny, the grass is green, and everyone is still wearing shorts & T-shirts in the film. Every other Christmas movie shows people bundled up in heavy jackets and winter hats while snow is on the ground. It was brave of the filmmakers to show Christmas in such a geographic location. After all, many people celebrate the holiday in places where it's not so cold outside.

As a family movie, the cast clicks together so well, making the touching parts more poignant and making the funny moments even more familiar. My favorite line comes after Lisa reveals the news that brother Claude is married. When Kelli says that it's not funny, Lisa replies, "No it isn't, but I'm going to keep drinking until it is!" Classic!

"This Christmas" will inevitably be misattributed to Tyler Perry, not only because it's a movie with a predominantly African-American cast. The facts that Lindo's character is a deacon, and Devine plays a church-going, God-fearing woman, a role into which she is frequently typecast, don't help much.

Thankfully, however, Lindo, as Joe Black, doesn't shove Bibles in people's faces. He's religious, but not a moral crusader. Devine's character is also refreshingly more rounded than those she played in movies like "Kingdom Come" (2001) and "Death At A Funeral" (2010), which was basically the same character. Her blaming music on her ex-husband's abandoning her seemed a bit too myopic. It would have been more so if she had actually said so. Instead, it's speculated by others, especially Quentin Jr., which makes it a bit more credible.

The Whitfield family here could have been white, Latino, Asian, or any other ethnic group, and it still would be relatable to anyone who comes home to family they see only a few times a year. "This Christmas" has a similar charm and universality to "A Christmas Story". It may be a holiday movie you find yourself wanting to return to again next year. The same may not be said about your family.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very pleasant surprise!
greedtx25 November 2007
I went to this movie expecting a humorous funny slapstick black comedy. I was mistaken. It was a real look into families at holiday time. It had several story lines which were interesting to follow and the actors did an excellent job in carrying them out. There was some really good humor as well but I appreciated the drama and the real look into what so many of us experience. I don't know the names of the characters but I've seen many of them before and they have done good work. You're going to love the very end(after the movie) so don't leave! Granted we all want a warm good feeling Christmas movie and this one will certainly not disappoint! The only hint I will leave is don't miss the scene with the baby oil! Go see this!
31 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Wonderful Christmas Surprise!
xenafina25 November 2007
It is unfortunate the previews for this movie are so low profile. I didn't know what to expect and wasn't sure I wanted to see the move, but my 16 year old saw it on Black Friday and told me the movie was excellent. He's usually into movies like Live Free or Die Hard, hated Dream Girls and thought American Gangster was "just okay", so I HAD to see what had him so excited about THIS film. I must say, he was dead on with this one. This movie was EXCELLENT! The script was well written, the acting was SUPERB, and nothing was left out of this movie, which everyone, irrespective of race, can identify with in some way.

I wasn't sure if it would be appropriate for my 7 year old, but I did not find myself cringe once and say to myself "I wish she hadn't seen that." There was very minimal use of profanity (I think the "d" and "s" words were thrown around a few times) and no sex...although Regina King did a couple of scenes in her underwear.

I just can't say enough about the solid acting done in this movie. Delroy Lindo, Loretta Divine, Idris Elba and Regina King did stellar performances (I've never seen any of them NOT perform well) and EVERYONE did a great job. Chris Brown showed us he is more than a wonderful singer and dancer. I look forward to seeing him in more serious roles like this one. I believe he has a lot of potential to be a serious actor.

There are just not enough good things I can say about "This Christmas." You have to see it for yourself. One of the best gifts I gave myself this year.
35 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A New Christmas Favorite
justlikegrandma17 December 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie! I watched this movie expecting it to be another movie making fun of us but instead I found it to be an enjoyable movie. I love the way it each character had real issues and real conflicts that affect real families. Regina King, as always, did an excellent job portraying a woman scorn that has had enough. This movie cannot be compared to any other movie out there because it offers something for everyone without nudity. Surely, everyone who watches this movie can relate it to themselves or someone in their family. Chris Brown rocked singing "This Christmas." He takes 2nd place with this song only to the original singer, Donny Hathaway. And who doesn't do the soul train line every once and a while?
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Family movie - but NOT for the family
contact-112421 November 2007
I'm not a big moviegoer, but I do know that this movie was too full of drama to be reasonably resolved within a 2-hour window. Maybe it would have made a better novel??? The only plot that seemed to actually play through was the husband-wife scenario, but even that was rushed (though it was resolved with great humor). The movie also didn't "warm my heart" in the traditional sense of a holiday movie. I was left wondering what the true message was supposed to be??? As a side note, I took my middle school daughter and a few of her Chris-Brown-crazy friends to see this movie, and I was disappointed. I knew it was rated PG-13, but I'm convinced now more than ever that the range of PG-13 is far too wide. The movie trailers look made it look like this would be a family movie. Well, it was ABOUT family - but it definitely not FOR the family. Specifically, I was disappointed in the way the family "ideal" was portrayed. In the words of my grandmother, there was too much "shackin' up" in this movie - in fact (the viewer learns in the first few minutes of the movie), the wise, God-fearing matriarch has a live-in boyfriend who happens to be a deacon in the church. Needless to say, two of the matriarchs apples don't fall far from the tree. And since when to do one-night-stands lead to true love??? I know that this movie was not marketed as a moral movie per se, but the matriarch and live-in patriarch sure did talk a LOT of Christian talk to be living with each other and leanin' on the Lord for deliverance from their family problems. I realize that this is life - people do what they want to do. I'm just saying: don't try to do the Tyler Perry thing (add a spiritual connection) at the same time you're trying to do the Zane thing (everybody-get-their-freak-on). Just let it be one or the other, and don't sell us out with a teen-magnet like Chris brown if you're going the Zane route (and DON'T try to hide it under the "holiday film" radar)! I do hope that the film-makers remember: when you put Chris Brown into a film, you're going to attract a lot of young, impressionable girls. Be mindful of the message you're sending. I do try to support films that portray African-American families positively and I know how important that first weekend is for a new film. But, next time, I'll have to wait and see what a few of my friends say before viewing similar movies.
41 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Times and Bad Times
maroontimes8125 November 2007
Cons: I despised the movie "Waiting to Exhale" because I think women who destroy a man's property because she's mad that he's cheating on her is not only corny, but it's childish. There was an SUV scene in this movie that was beyond stupid to me, and I turned up my lip in disgust. Then there was another scene that annoyed me about a domestic dispute, but I heard women cheering during that part. For the life of me, I do not understand why ladies think it's funny for a man to be physically abused under ANY circumstances, but if a man does it, then it's wrong. That scene almost made me walk out of the theater because it's so hypocritical.

There were some plot scenes that were a little overused, such as the mother's name, the mother cooking big meals, the couple going through marital issues, and the one son being chased by bookies. After awhile, I started thinking the plot to this movie was a blend of several other movies I've seen. However, it's not like these plots are not common within African American households, so I shrugged and kept watching.

Pros: Chris Brown. Flat out, he made this movie interesting for me. Whereas Columbus Short was the highlight of "Stomp the Yard" and Chris Brown fell to the sidelines, Chris Brown really showed out tremendously within this movie. I liked him as a singer before, but I LOVE him as a singer now. He did a couple of songs within this film, and I've never heard his pipes be so on point. I was impressed and grinned big during every one of his scenes. He's such a great artist no matter what he does: acting, dancing, singing, comedy (he isn't a comedian, but he's hilarious). Other than Chris Brown, there were some stellar actors in this movie like Idris Elba (even with his rough hairstyle); Delroy Lindo (who gets more handsome and charismatic in every single movie I see him in and always an excellent actor); Laz Alonso (who played a jerk to a tea--great job!); Regina King (love her acting generally but did NOT care for her character in this movie at all); Sharon Leal (who I'm seeing more and more--she's such a pretty woman and does a great acting job as well); Keith Robinson (the pantry scene was cute); Lauren London (pretty woman and improving in every single movie she's in, although I think my favorite will always be "ATL"); Loretta Devine (who played a great mother, but I liked her spin with having a man and her own mind; her back story with her ex was a refreshing switch from the usual widow story); and David Banner trying out his acting chops. All of the actors were cool in this film. It was in Chicago, but it was looking awfully warm for the wintertime. I enjoyed the musical parts of the plot and all of the siblings got along. I also appreciated how they flipped the script on the white wife scene (although I won't go into that and ruin the plot).

I enjoyed the film, but those cons are what gave this movie three stars. Other than that, thumbs up.
20 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This Christmas...
pbt-324 November 2007
Saw the movie today, and LOVED IT!! Some parts were unrealistic, but that's with ALL movies! I loved the family interaction, the humor. This was a movie about the ups and downs that happen in ANY family, the secrets in ANY family, the infidelities in ANY family. The cast is outstanding. It was a wonderful role for Chris Brown (loved him), Sharon Leal is being seen more(Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married?), and Regina King is not seen often enough. I enjoyed seeing Delroy Lindo and Loretta Devine.

See it if you want, it not, then don't! Life is all about making choices.

To see or not to see, that is the question...
19 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
underrated
mr-payton22 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Strange how this flick gets an average rating of 4.9 while lame garbage like, say, Lady in the Water gets a 6...

One thing that sets this movie apart from lots of other recent "black" comedies is that it doesn't rely on cheap lowbrow humor. Instead of painting black folks as various comedic stereotypes, it tries to create characters that everyone can sympathize with. It falls flat sometimes, mainly due to your basic family movie clichés (The Shocking Baby Revelation; We Have Money Problems; The Cheating Spouse), and a kinda slow pace, but the strong performances and dialogue manage to do some good for the plot.

Of course it wouldn't be a comedy-drama without the heavy stuff, and this one has it in spades. I'll tell you what: One scene shows two sisters screaming and clawing at each other in the middle of a rain storm during an argument. That's basically fair warning that this flick can get pretty tough on the drama front. It's balanced out well enough, but it's liable to make you shake your head at some points.

All in all, you could do worse than this one.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This Christmas is about a family on Christmas
lilaangel27 August 2009
This Christmas is a very good movie.I didn't think it was going to be good cause Chris Brown in not a actor he is a singer and usually singers don't make good actors.Laruan London is a very good actor she played her part very well.This is a movie that the whole family can watch together and love it.This move symbolizes what a everyday family goes through on holidays.I would recommend this movie to other people if they haven't seen it yet,and they wont be disappointed when they watch it.They need 2 make a second movie to so how the family is with them find out that there brother is marring a white women and having a baby by her.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wonderful family story thats pretty free of clichés
dbborroughs27 April 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Family drama of a(black) family coming together for the holidays. I mention the color aspect only because there is a moment where color plays a role, however color and race are really irrelevant since this is an excellent little family drama about the things that make us family-what ever our color. A strong cast that includes Delroy Lindo makes what is occasionally a clichéd story into something more universal. Frankly these are real people up on the screen and any cliché's reflect that life is something like that. Huge bonus points for the fact that there aren't really movie of the week problems or histrionics. Things happen, but the family takes it all in stride with out a great deal of gnashing of teeth and rending of clothes. I really like this movie a great deal and look forward to seeing the film again down the road. 8 out of 10 for making a truly universal family drama that is just good time with good people.(This is very much deserving of a longer better review but I haven't figured out how to explain the tapestry of the film with out making it sound petty or less than it is.)
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A movie that is worth watching over and over
danceability-130 November 2009
A movie that is worth watching over and over I went to see this movie twice last year! it was sooooo good! I had a feeling that they were going have it come out on DVD around the holidays this year, which is good to watch wit the family for the holiday season! its a lot of laughs and some tears! very good movie!

The movie is more than just excellent. It has an all star cast that not only delivers the story they live and are the entire story. This is already a classic in our home where it is watched on a regular basis. I love the growth of the entore family as they lived, loved, and fought around the holiday. Wow it is beginning to look a lot like Christmas.

Chris Brown, Regina King, Columbus Short, Nia Long, Delroy Lindo, Idris Elba, Laz Alonso, Sharon Leal, Lauren London, Keith Robinson, Loretta Devine

danceability-1, Amsterdam Holland
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I would love to watch this movie for every Christmas eve
crazyan200726 September 2018
Such a beautiful movie with beautiful different characters. they really looked like a family. felt like i was one among them too. people who need a holiday movies like "This is where i leave you", "Family Stone" & "Dan in real life". hit this movie without any second thought. you will definitely love this movie. there are no movies recently in this genre. wish we could see lot more of this kind movies in future. Family drama is really needed now a days. but its fading away slowly. this movie will hit you hard <3 iam an indian but i wish i could celebrate christmas like this every year <3 just go for it and you will love this movie for sure :)
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Are there families this screwed up? Well, yes.
vincentlynch-moonoi1 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This film is about as far from my favorite "Black cast" film as you can get. The biggest reason is that -- and this was mostly before we saw the dark side of him -- Chris Brown can't talk well, can't eat normally, and definitely cannot act worth...well, you know what. However, his performance of "This Christmas" is stunning, but today it's sort of in the shadow of someone like Chris Brown singing "Try A Little Tenderness"! And then there's the problem of Idris Elba. His character was so unlikable in most of this film that I pretty much avoided any film he was in for the last 10 years, although recently I've begun to respect his acting more.

The rest of the cast is likable and does fine, and I remain convinced that Loretta Devine is a terribly underrated actress. She excels in so many films.

As to the story...well, for a while I was thinking how many families are this messed up...and then I thought of my own family when I was growing up, and I put that whole criticism of the film to rest. However, there's an awfully lot of family dysfunction packed into one film. But, it has some interesting story lines and is reasonably entertaining.

Again, not one of my favorites, but well worth watching...except for the Chris Brown segments.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this movie one of my favs
juzwaitinonmimoment9 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I so love this moviei watch it every year for Christmas and throughout the year sometime 3or4 times a day hope there will b a part 2. I love the plot the cast i can watch this movie over and over again. I love that it circles around family it reminds me of the good ole days n what Christmas is really about n ways it reminds me og my family my grandma kids. Please make a part 2. I want to see the aftermath n part 2. Maybe even see a part 3 or 4 i can see this movie as a series. The Whitefield Christmas every year im so excited. I would recommend this movie . i can go on n on about this movie. And the cast phenomenal. Outstanding cast. I want to see joe n ma'dear get married mel finish school settle down baby go off to school Quentin accept joe Sandy and Claude and their baby the whole family doing good.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Art, semi-imitating life
bsdalton15 February 2009
I just saw this movie today on cable and I was entertained. Yes, the plot lines were predictable, but name a movie in the last 25 years that wasn't. The cast was perfect: have you ever seen a bad movie with Delroy Lindo, Loretta Devine or Regina King. Look up the definition for "dysfunctional" and I'm sure it mentions family. We all have them. I am a 53-year-old white woman with only one child and and I related to this family. Ma'dere is doing the best she can to stay on top of her brood, while realizing that its unrealistic to do so. She's trying to find some happiness with Joe without betraying the fathers of her children. Her children are just trying to find their places in life, without severing all family ties. The scene where the new daughter-in-law comes in ("I'll keep drinkin' till it's funny") followed by the bookies ("Are YOU secretly married to one of my children?") is hysterical. So is the baby oil scene, whether or not its politically correct. This movie will be added to my list of Christmas movies.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good movie for grown-ups
robwicks23 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This was a pretty good movie, though it is certainly not a conservative family movie. The members of the family have some significant flaws, and not all of those flaws are identified as flaws. This is a very secular Christmas movie, so be forewarned. The moral values depicted sympathetically are not the ones which some might find appropriate, and there is too much sexual content for young children. Some of the issues brought forth are very real, though some of the subplots get too little time. The issue of racial tension with the surprise white daughter-in-law amidst a black family is only touched on for a short time, and the issue of a church deacon living with his girlfriend is not touched on at all. Also, I personally have always found it disturbing when a film intimates that a casual sexual fling is a good way to start a successful relationship, which is suggested somewhat in this film.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
do not go see it sucked!!!
biomedical41116 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was titled as a "comedy" it was no such thing. My favorite part was toward the end when everyone came together at church throughout the whole 2 hrs movie, there were maybe 3 of 4 funny parts the rest do not go see!!!! not worth 8.50 wait for the DVD. They had too much arguing/family talks in it for it to be called a "comedy." It was a very strung slow pace movie with 90 secs of fast past Christmas related stuff in between. The dance off at the end was pathetic. I was lost throughout the whole movie. I know for sure my holiday's aren't anything like the one portrayed in this movie. I was almost ready to walk out because this movie was so bad. The directors need to go back to film school, and learn take film making 101.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
do not see it
piwojcik11 December 2007
this Christmas is a very very poor movie. It is very lame and the dialogues are pathetic and predictable. There is nothing amazing in this movie, nothing that would make me not regret $8.5 spent on the ticket. The cast was OK i guess but they did not do a great job. Basically it is another movie that will be forgotten in a couple of weeks. It is not funny and I do not know why someone would say it is a comedy. There is nothing interesting in it, the issues of the main characters are kind of forced upon them and seem just too general. We have all already seen it somewhere. If you set out to see the movie do not expect anything great from it. It is boring, dull and has a very poor happy-ending when everybody realizes their faults and says "I' sorry". If you are a fan of well done movies that make you think about them and reflex upon the ideas presented... do not see this Christmas.
10 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The only saving grace in this fiasco of a movie was the debut of R&B singer Chris Brown
raysond8 January 2008
"O Come All Ye Faithful!" It's that time of the year. Time to make the pilgrimage back home to the folks. Everyone has family and being home for the holidays is near universal comfort--or dilemma. This is one of the reasons why a film like this was released during the week of the Thanksgiving holiday comes early before the rush of the Christmas movie madness,and righteously so. Director/Writer Preston A. Whitmore II,taps into this common thread with verve as frothy as spiked eggnog. Whitmore's previous films were a formulatic sports movie Crossover(a disaster with the casting and the movie debut of Britney Spears)and the poorly conceived war film The Walking Dead. This time around and for good measure he's eschewed genre films for a family comedy/drama/romance that not only recalls his own experiences,but experiences from any and every family member that we come to know and love in the most joyous time of the year.

The result is a tumultanous holiday fete with a very personal feel and beguiling flair that will carry audiences over some arrhythmatic pacing. For the first time in four years,the Whitfeld family flocks to its Los Angeles home that has more bedrooms than the White House. The family matriarch,Ma' Dere (Loretta Devine) still resides here,thanks to a family dry-cleaning business that's on its last leg. She has put her kids through college and continues to give her youngest son Baby (Chris Brown)a roof over his head. Lisa(Regina King)arrives with her two kids and two-timing,domineering husband Malcolm(Laz Alonzo),who pressures Lisa to convince the family to sell their dry cleaning business to used the family's money for a financial scheme. Malcolm's the moral enemy of Lisa's feisty-independent sister Kelli(Sharon Leal). Claude(Columbus Short)surprises everyone;he's on leave from the Marine Corps. Mel(Lauren London),a perpetual college student,brings her latest boyfriend Devan(Keith Robinson). And Ma'Dere's lover man,Joe(Delroy Lindo),is the gentleman of the house;although he's living there on the down low. Presents are wrappedd. Dinner plans are made. Barbs exchanged. Love is in the air. Jealously and envy too. In between the holiday greetings,family drama and tangled relationships emerge. This is when the film goes from family-friendly perspective into a black soap opera. Its changes too when the family goes from season's greetings to season's ghetto.

Characters get bitten by the love bug in which Kelli falls for the Gerald,the firemen(Mekhi Phifer). While the eldest brother Quentin (Idris Elba),makes a guest appearance,this gives the house one more alpha male too many. Tempers flare. Words are said. Feelings are hurt. Thugs show up,unexpected. The police arrive. Half of the family members are arrested and thrown in jail. Merry Christmas! This a movie that has its sexy moments,but there is no nudity or offensive language. There is only a wisp of blood. Tangy enough to please an adult,but it is safe enough for the kids. With this many characters,and accompanying conflicts happening just around every corner,the excessive subplots weigh the film down especially with the cast the live-wires such as Loretta Devine,Regina King,Sharon Leal and Delroy Lindo. The only saving grace here that prevented this film from going into a fiasco was the acting debut of R&B sensation Chris Brown--who steals the show with his breathtaking rendition of a R&B Otis Redding classic. With other music from Aaron Neville,James Brown and Kool and the Gang,its worth watching.
6 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
When you watched the movie did you realize this?
topdany17 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Oh boy... I'm worried. I read the 59 reviews (until now, Nov 17 2008) at Netflix and only 2 (two!) of them addressed my concerns. At IMDb only two of 19 did the same. The Whitfields are a Christian family, and even one of them is Deacon in their Church. But as Christians they are supposed to live by higher standards and be example to others. Despite of this one of the girls have casual sex, the other one sleeps with her boyfriend at mama's house, another got pregnant his girlfriend and even the Deacon of the church is living unmarried with a woman!!! Besides all of this, the movie portraits as "normal" that one man abandon his family (wife and children) to pursuit his "dream". What about responsibility? And the bathroom scene involving baby oil and a beating is not funny at all. Is pathetic. The guy could sue her for domestic violence and all of you know the consequences for it...
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
a families reunion for Xmas has frailties but the love family bonds them together
2karl-23 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
A Christmastime drama centered around the Whitfield family's first holiday together in four years. this Xmas there's no place like family for the first time in 4years the Whitfield kids have come home baggage in all to see their parents ma Doré played Loretta deving and her boyfriend Joe played by delroy lindo they play the perfect African American family with the home decorated and tree trimmed secrets revealed no plots being given away relationships testes idris Elba has been cast in this film as a rogue family member but as their lives converge again they join together to rediscover the wonderful gift of family this film is just under 2hrs
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Entertaining Family Movie
Blackace11 December 2007
Warning: Spoilers
It seem people are still trying to sabotage these black films on this website. There are over 300 scores that are "1", which is ridiculous for this film. The same thing has been happening with Tyler Perry films. Very sad, but these movies are doing very well at the box office, so the actors, directors and producers really have the last laugh.

The movie is about a black American family getting together for the X-Mas holiday. Of course the movie wouldn't be very interesting without a lot of drama about family members. Ma'Dere is trying to get everything ready for the holidays, but finds out along the way that her kids have several secrets that could make the holiday season a bit difficult. Quentin, her oldest son who has been gone for 3 years, returns home, but bring along some bad baggage with him. Ma'Dere's other some Claude is home from the service duty, but he too has several secrets that will shock the family. Daughter Lisa is dealing with an unfaithful husband, who's real motive could hurt Lisa's family business. Kelli is home as well and must deal with the family issue and try to find love at the same time. Even Ma'Dere youngest son Baby is keeping something special from her.

The story is well told, but lags in some areas. If you are expecting a lot of laughs and crazy outbursts like in "Why I Got Married", then you're at the wrong film. This film could have easily have gone straight to DVD, but I'm glad the producers gave it at chance at theaters. It's actually has done very well.

Chris Brown does a decent job of acting in this film and obviously has more then a few fans. There were teenage give behind me screaming and giggling every time he appeared on the screen. Aaahh..kids. It was good to see Delroy Lindo and Loretta Devine on screen again. These are great actors who definitely deserve more chances to shine. Overall the movie is entertaining and worth a look if you want to bring the whole family to the movies. Otherwise wait for it to come out on DVD and rent it.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
There Were So Many Plots In This Movie That It Was Hard To Keep Up
leighabc1231 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I had to laugh at the fact that Loretta Devine played the family matriarch in this movie! It was never revealed to the family that she was still "married" to Senior while sleeping with Joe. Regina King's character waited too long to get revenge on that cheating husband. And why does someone always meet someone and fall in love instantly in the movies? We all knew that Quentin was going to come back at the end of the movie. And Chris Brown's character just happened to be singing at the club that all the siblings went to late at night. This movie couldn't be too bad with fly Lauren London, fly Sharon Leal, and Regina King in it. There were too many problems in this family. a corporal who went AWOL and married and got a white woman pregnant. A brother who owes bad guys $25,000 and gets beat up by them a lot. And many many more subplots!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
great family film
monstermayhem3226 November 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Even though This Christams doesn't really have anything new to offer, it is still an interesting Christmas holiday film with a strong cast lead by Delroy Lindo, Loretta Devine, Chris Brown, Sharon Leal, Keith Robinson, Regina King, and Mekhi Phifer. I thought that Chris Brown would only be used for sex appeal, but surprisingly he is actually a pretty good actor as Michael Baby Whitfield and steals the film with many one liners and good singing. Regina King is also pretty good as Lisa a neglected wife who is unhappily married to her husband Malcolm who is secretly cheating on her and blames her sister Kelly played by Sharon Leal for living her own life while Lisa took care of the family. Mekhi Phifer was pretty good as Kelly's love interest Gerald who is actually the childhood friend of eldest child Quentin Whitfield played by Idris Elba I would recommend this film as a good Christmas film that show the meaning of family.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
an unfunny Christmas comedy/drama
MLDinTN24 November 2008
This Christmas film wasn't very good. It's rather boring. I think it was supposed to be a comedy, but it wasn't funny. It's about a black family's Christmas. All the kids come home to their momma's house. One kid owes some bookies thousands. One has a husband cheating on her. One is very high toned and hooks up the first night there. One is awol from the military and has a secret wife. Plus the mother has a secret of her own: she's living with her boyfriend. All these different people coming together was supposed to be amusing and entertaining. I didn't think so.

FINAL VERDICT: Not enough Christmas music in this for a Christmas movie. Not enough amusing ideas.
5 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed