The Minis (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Not a complete waste
niibu_yaa10 December 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This first 10 minutes of this movie is so horribly edited, shot, and acted that I almost stopped watching. Luckily from here it gets better. Roger (Joe Gnoffo) and his friends decide to play in the Venice Beach Basketball Tournament in order to raise cash for his son's college tuition. After some convincing, they agree but are still short one player. So they try to enlist the help of Dennis Rodman. Joe Gnoffo struggles with his role at times, and gives a pretty poor performance. That said I was mildly impressed by Gabriel Pimentel in the role of Chevy. Most of the others involved did a fair enough job, with the exception of Megumi Hosogai whom was very over the top. Not sure if I can blame her for that or not. Bad direction perhaps, or maybe her level of campyness was intended. Either way it didn't work and was rather annoying. None the less, it was entertaining at times, and had a decent message.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'm a dad and this film was great for my kid. Help me find the original songs!!!
chadthenightbird11 January 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I am posting on this website for the first time just to find a way to get the songs from The Minis. They are all original and great. If ANYBODY knows where I can get the CD, please let me know. I read the comment about the film and all I can and wanna say is: People who post comments, get a life. It's funny how I myself used to criticize others and talk bad about things just for the sake of it, because I was bored, because I used to feel so much better about myself. Then, one magic day, I became a dad... and everything changed perspective. This film was not made for me or for you. It is so clear: It was made for kids like my child, who was FINALLY able to see a film with good values and no cussing or violence. The acting is bad? I don't think so. Sure, Rodman is not a real actor, but he did his part. Everybody played an important part bringing this fairytale to life and making my child believe. At the end of the film, he loved those little people and, thanks to this film, he'll look at them like real people, because that's who and what they are. Real people have human feelings, simple needs, and normal lives. From this film, expect nothing more and nothing less than good heart-felt emotions... and an awesome soundtrack for all ages.
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible movie
schieuwnierig10 May 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This is, without a doubt, one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I know they try to convey a positive message of believing in yourself and not giving up, and I'm all for it. There are excellent movies out there with that message. Unfortunately, this is not one of them.

The entire cast, with the exception of Richard Portnow, are horrible actors. They're really teeth-grindingly bad. They were so annoying, I didn't even want them to win the tournament. They're that bad.

The story is one you've seen 1000 times before, one of the underdog going against all odds. Everything is so predictable. The only surprising thing about it, is that the Minis don't officially win the tournament in the end. But, big surprise, the crowd considers them the winner.

And the camera-work seems like an amateur did it. All standard camera angles and framing. Nothing spectacular about it. Looks more like a bad 80s B-movie than something made in 2008.

Same goes for editing. Scenes/montages that are supposed to show the team having fun or in action, take way too long. It gets boring.

If anyone is to like it, it might be young kids. But if you're older than 10, don't waste you time watching this.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dwarfs playing basketball... with Dennis Rodman.
arfdawg-117 May 2014
Dwarfs playing basketball... with Dennis Rodman.

That's all you really need to know.

There was no budget.

It's essentially filmed with a hand held video camera.

IMDb claims the budget was $5 million!!!! HUH? Was that for Rodman's booze? The production values are non-existent.

This was one of the worst movies I have ever ever ever seen.

There is not real plot at all.

Just an endless parade of snips that are horribly filmed.

Honestly, the budget had to be about a grand.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Little People Big Team
shrinkingman063 May 2009
An inspiring tale, full of great music and some funny moments. The messages here: believe in yourself, follow your dreams, and never give up. Four dwarf men want to raise money for the son of one of the men to go to college, so they form a basketball team and get Dennis Rodman to join them. Rodman's agent (the funny Richard Portnow) encourages them, as it will improve his image and make them money. (Though of course he's not above exploiting the dwarfs for an embarrassing ad endorsement!)

There's a cow-obsessed gal from Paris (...Texas); the dwarf waitress who befriends the smallest of them, Chevy ; his Worm-ness himself, and Chevy, (Gabriel Pimental)who thinks a risky limb-lengthening operation would help him. Can this ragtag team of little guys win?

Fast paced action and catchy music enlivens the story, which is suitable for all ages.
5 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What was I thinking?
gndsqrl14 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Seemed like it would be a interesting, funny and all around good film worth watching, until I started watching it. The idea of the film was a descent one. Four little people teaming up with an ex-basketball star to play a local ball contest. That's the best it got. The acting, on all accounts was just bad. The story was nothing original either. Father wants son to play ball, son wants to do something else, son does not get scholarship to school, father doesn't have enough money, so of coarse, enter a local contest to win prize money. Guy likes one girl that doesn't know he's alive. Another girl likes him, but he's to stupid to see it. Those ideas have been done way too many times and they never get any better.

The film tries to send the message, don't call them "midgets", call them dwarfs or little people. But with a terrible script and bad acting all the good morals they try to convey, end up being drowned out by your snoring because you keep falling asleep from complete boredom.

The only thing I can think of saying good about this movie is..... It has descent cinematography. They seem to have use good quality cameras and film, along with someone to run the cameras that appeared like they knew what they were doing. Audio is descent too. You can clearly hear that bad acting going on.

If you want to see a funny and good movie with a ex-basketball star, I recommend saving your money and just rent Space Jam for the hundredth time.
1 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't believe the lies! The Minis was perpetrated by members of our own government!
edandkatie3 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I've watched this movie three times not because I enjoy it, but because I feel the need to inflict it on friends and loved ones to help them understand the nature of suffering.

It's as if everyone involved in this movie (save maybe one or two actors) was actively trying to sabotage the making of this movie. The only question is whether they did this out of contempt for the filmmaker or for the people who would debase themselves by watching this movie.

The scene where they meet with the big-shot Hollywood agent was clearly shot in a storage facility? Better leave the blinds open so the audience can tell we couldn't afford to rent an actual office space.

In spite of the totally-not-written-by-people-involved-in-the-movie endorsements of the soundtrack made by some of the other reviews, the soundtrack is...well it's bad. Not even bad in the way the rest of the movie is (where you can kind of sit in awe of how horrid it is) it's just bland. On the plus side, it's not nearly catchy enough to get stuck in your head, so it won't haunt your nightmares or anything.

Probably the worst part of the movie (spoilers ahead) is when the son (who's name I can't be bothered to look up for fear that would result in me putting more effort into reviewing this pile of wet crap than the filmmakers did making it) starts "playing" basketball at the end in full clown gear. It's not the clown gear part that's bad (at this point in the film it takes way more to shock you) it's that the kid is the worst actor in the whole thing (which is kind of like being the worst glass of horse pee you've ever had to drink). Like, you could go to any high school in the country and find at least one drama kid more capable of delivering his lines believably than this kid does. You watch every line this kid delivers, and you just assume that he's some super good high school basketball player that they cast for the inevitable scene at the end when he takes the court. Then he takes the court, and, bless his little heart, is bad at basketball in a way that makes suspension of disbelief impossible. Like, I can buy a dwarf balling out of control way easier than I can buy this kid being good at basketball.

This movie is truly awful. Maybe the worst movie I've ever seen, and I've seen Santa With Muscles.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Stupid
maxmoser39 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Minis is a film that at first I knew what I was getting myself into and was expecting it to be the worst of the worst, but Minis isn't exactly the worst I have seen ever but it's not exactly a film I like(as for this 3/10 rating). First off, the opening scene is what feels like a home movie from the 80's and the voicing feels poorly dubbed like its mouthing the words or something. Then the opening credits and several shots of the film have painfully colorized annoyingly shot scenes that feel like a YouTube video or something like that. The 3 high notes of Minis are Chevy who is quite entertaining, some of the basketball shots, and the lines of dialogue made by Dennis Rodman. Overall, Minis is a stupidly bad movie that has a few positive parts but with lots of issues such as sloppy camera-work, bad editing, supposed dubbing, and terrible acting.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed