"Family Guy" Girl, Internetted (TV Episode 2019) Poster

(TV Series)

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
11 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
One of the best episodes in a while.
checkinac6 May 2019
This episode reminds me of season 16 episodes 6 and 18 because it satirizes how people want instant fame and validation on the internet to be cool these days. I love this episode. Definitely a fan favorite episode of mine.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Welcome back, Family Guy
hgeri-494416 May 2019
The episode before this was a clear improvement compared to the rest of this season and I thought it was only because Cherry Chevapravatdumrong wrote it.

Now we're still far from the old Family Guy, but I really enjoyed last night's episode. Nothing too special about this one, it deals with today's social media trends, but does so in a way that makes it look extremely exaggerated while in reality it's pretty accurate unfortunately.

A few hit and miss jokes here and there, but overall a much needed highlight of this season.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious Episode
DrMaxLaugh6 May 2019
There wasn't anything too extraordinary or special about this episode but it was funny from beginning to end, with Meg going to the extremes for Internet game and Brian with his Hummer. Peter's Instagram adventures was a great moments too. And Lois ranting at the end was nice twist on "everything's back to normal", and I'm glad they stopped doing those meta jokes about about not having a proper ending. There's some gross out moments but it works within the context. Overall, a fun episode.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Absurd, clever fun
mattiasflgrtll69 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Meg becoming an internet celebrity due to overeating might not sound not exciting at first. After all, I was not a fan of the previous episode where Meg became famous with gross results (This Little Piggy). But this one was so well-thought out and packed with great gags throughout that I enjoyed it a lot more than I expected.

This episode is even more cynical than HTTPete. While that one was more of a general pisstake on how dumbed down the internet has made people, this one touches on a specific problem: people who glorify endangering your own health because it's "cool". The dark satire is further amplified by Meg continuing to promote unhealthy habits even when she's literally losing her legs, promoting some phony drug which apparently promises immortality. I like how Mila Kunis conveys a change in Meg's way of speaking as she put on a cool exterior and starts talking in that exaggerated way "kool kids" do, where every sentence sounds like she's promoting a mountain bike and waves her arms around constantly. Before she starts the eating trend, I thought it was funny when she told her dad which kind of abilities she has, and described what I'm sure is incredibly vulgar that was bleeped out. Meg having a dirty sense of humor has always has always made me chuckle. The plot goes to increasingly sillier lengths, which results in some real laugh-out-loud moments. Joe having the "Shining"-like ability to tell if something's wrong with people's legs, and Peter stabbing Cleveland just like in the movie. But the funniest part of that scene was the added reaction shot with Chris getting the abilities transferred to him with the same shocked reaction as Danny. Peter taking the Pancresta drug near the end is too crazy for words to even describe, but that made me laugh too.

The subplot involves Brian temporarily getting a new car after his old one is totalled, a Hummer, and starts driving around like a badass. I liked the transition of Brian first refusing to admit how he actually likes driving around liking cool, and then when he finally admits that he's having a ton of fun doing so feels devastated over the thought of giving it away. It was funny how they made fun of car fanatics by having a rock song (preferably a glam rock band) playing loudly on the radio, with Sam Elliot's smooth, countryside voice narrating. The two plots also intertwined into each other nicely by Brian coming to the rescue when Meg falls down, with Lois barely hearing him as "Lick It Up" is played at full volume. Brian and Stewie driving Mark Ruffalo bonkers at the end was a mirthful way to end it.

Lastly, Lois retorting Peter's claim that everything is back to normal listing off how things couldn't be more out control is one of my favorite ways for a Family Guy episode to end, where the absurdity is still very much present.

This and the previous two episodes have been very strong. I feel certain this season will go out on a positive note.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So funny
immortalmahyar10 May 2019
The best episode of the 17th season. They've really posted that photo of Peter in that fake hospital and those stories on Instagram of Peterpumpkineater69!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Girl, Internetted
bobcobb3017 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
There are only so many social media jokes you can make here.

I did laugh a few times, but Meg was beyond annoying here. It just didn't work for me as an episode.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
6
Edvis-19979 June 2019
Well those episodes doesn't make any emotions anymore which is really sad. Ur watching cartoon and it's like okay and nothing more. Basic.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Meg, NOOOOOO! Don't do it, Meg!
nasdagoodshepherd9 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
What's this? Another bad episode of Family Guy? OH BOY! Holy cow! Holy...okay, ya know what? Let's just get this crap over with please? I'm not offended, but I'm deeply disappointed and disgusted. Meg got the attention she deserves, but in a BAD way. How? It is because she ends up getting fat by eating to much food in order to get high ratings from internet viewers. Brian and Stewie got an SUV and as usual, Brain still acts like an arrogant, obnoxious jerk of a mutt. Well, I did get a good laughs from the episode and Sam Elliott is in it, but I'm still disgusted by Meg's ugly, nasty obesity. This episode isn't the worst, it is not as bad as April in Quahog and when I call Girl, Internetted "bad", I didn't mean bad as in "cringeworthy bad" What I meant to say was....meh. It could've been worst. So consider this episode...meh. I give Girl, Internetted a 6.3/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Family Guy Fan must watch!
Viper882829 May 2019
The Meg (Peter 2ndary) storyline had some decent moments but were mostly a good look at todays society.

The Stewie Brian storyline had some really strong stupid silly moments that had me laughing and made this episode a must watch simply because of them. Definitely going to watch this episode again and I havent said that about a FG episode in quitee some time.

laugh wise id give megs part about a 7/10 but maybe a 9/10 when it comes to the social media aspect of it. Stewies and Brians id give about a 8.5/10 so gonna go with an 8ish/10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome ep! As always !!! ....
mikecas20 May 2019
"Pan-cresta "

short for pancreas , which regulates insulin neeeed to break down sugars- {foward}_ .... is what the stories all about!!! LOL LMAO
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Been a while since a really good episode and it was a Meg one
harrylt13 May 2019
Family guy started off amazing, it was so random and funny. The last few seasons hasn't been all that great, it seems like the writers have taken a different approach and don't have that random original humor as well as they used too. Now family guy will only have a handful of good episodes per season with the others just tolerable. This one had me laughing out loud a few times and what surprised me more is that it was a Meg episode.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed