The Chef Show (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
29 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Incredibly contagious passion and fun for food
jornolthof11 June 2019
I love the movie Chef, and I have a little passion for food. This show is great because it feels real and heartfelt. I thoroughly enjoyed that it felt like Jon Favreau just placed a camera in some kitchens and winged the show. Jon Favreau is learning trough the episodes from chef Roy Choi, and you get to learn with him. The show is contagious in its passion for food. The guests are great and the conversations are fun too watch and listen to. I would love to see more of this with new guest chefs or people from Jon Favreau's life/work. I love the bit in the first episode with the beignets where it feels like both Roy and Jon don't really know what they are doing and screw around with box instructions, this makes it feel a lot more lighthearted than other cooking shows I've watched.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fun Cooking Lessons!
mlwpost11 June 2019
As a fan of the movie CHEF I was intrigued enough to check this cooking show out. What a fun find! I loved the guests and the conversations while they're prepping and cooking. Jon and Roy are a great pairing to host. My favorite: the Aaron Franklin episodes, so fascinated with the Texas bbq style he's mastered and I appreciated the lesson in how to make the brisket. Can't wait for the Hot Luck Festival 2020 😝
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Mouth-watering Food.
swordsnare12 June 2019
Much like "Chef" the movie, it would be difficult to watch this series if you are hungry...or even if you have eaten already. Have liked Jon Favreau since "Swingers". Not traditionally into watching too many cooking shows, but like the different take to this.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Laid-back, authentic, and absolutely delightful
ghouligan13 June 2019
This show is genuinely wonderful. The laid-back dialogue and easygoing nature of the hosts really makes it a relaxing watch in line with shows like Tidying Up with Marie Kondo and The Joy of Painting with Bob Ross. It's something nice to kick back with, y'know? It's also serious eye candy, like most cooking shows, and its star power is seriously insane. The first episode alone has Jon Favreau (of course, he hosts it!), Roy Choi, Gwyneth Paltrow, and Bill Burr.

It's also definitely a must-watch for Marvel fans-- so many superhero actors and actresses make appearances in this show, it's ridiculous! But really, what can you expect when one of the main hosts plays Happy Hogan? Seeing them interact in such a casual environment is a real treat. Iron Man and Spiderman fans will be especially pleased!

Overall, it's an absolute delight and 100% recommended-- especially for fans of the movie Chef, although foreknowledge of it isn't required by any means!
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Have you seen Chef?
isaksamm11 June 2019
Have you seen the new hit Netflix show The chef Show. His name Chef. He is a Chef, He is the big Jefe. Good Chef. Nice. Still waiting for those Japan vlogs Max :)
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watched it with low expectations
adam-porreca20 June 2019
It's actually amazing. I love John and Roy's rhythm, the cooking the subtle and not so subtle jokes. Must watch for cooking an Favreau fans.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT SHOW!
antoniopicon9 June 2019
If you loved the 2014 flick "Chef" you'll definitely love The Chef Show. Jon Favreau and Roy Choi are back and better than ever. Their having a good time on screen so yiur having a good time watching it. Definitely recommend, can't wait for season 2
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just good
mogadanutz-6314123 June 2019
I started watching this a few days ago, just made me cook and laugh for two days. The perspective is good, not too scientific but detailed enough, combined with the natural charisma of Roy and John. Watching this is like enjoying a good meal
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
one of the best of all time
burdoc10 June 2019
This show is one of the best of all time, no matter what.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ego Trip
alexandernolan11 September 2019
It basically feels more like one of those Made for a Day shows. Its just an ego trip for Favreau to try and tout that he knows people through connections. These great chefs and cooks come on and its totally overwhelmed by him trying to boast that he is totally on the same level as them. It feels more like watching a grandmother cooking at home and a 5 year old taking full credit for making everything cause he added some salt. Method acting and spending 20 years actually working the line are two totally different things.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Cooking Companion Series to Chef (2014)
fsogfan18 June 2019
If you loved Jon Favreau and Roy Choi's Chef (2014) movie, you'll love this 8 part cooking companion series. It replicates many of the dishes in the movie (Scarlett Johanssen's pasta aglio e olio, cubana sandwich, gourmet grilled cheese, chocolate lava cake, berries with caramel dust & whipped cream, Cafe Du Monde beignet). Guests include cast & crew from Chef & Jon's Hollywood and Marvel connection (Robert Downey Jr, Tom Holland, Gwyneth Paltrow, director Robert Rodriguez, Marvel Studio Pres. Kevin Feige). One episode honored the late LA food critic Jonathan Gold who helped expand Roy Choi's Kogi as well as Jitlada Thai restaurant. Chef David Chang puts in a guest appearance along with Pitmaster Aaron Franklin and the Atlanta staff of Holeman & Finch and The Optimist. As Roy and Jon cook, you get some great cooking tips and I love the animation that dissects the ingredients in each dish.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Narscistic show, nothing else
lottevalk7 October 2019
This shows is about two people who love to talk about themselves, while making food, sometimes with guests who they ignore. It get what they wanted to achieve, and it has potential, but the two hosts are way to self involved. I really don't get the high ratings.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fails on two levels
shanayneigh19 June 2019
It doesn't work as a cooking show since there is very little focus on how to actually prepare the food, and it surely doesn't help that the ingredients are listed in an animation for about a second and a half.

It also doesn't work as an interview show where the cooking is just a tool to get to know someone better. Favreau has simply rounded up some of his famous friends (great marketing tool) and hopes that will be enough for an interesting conversation. It's not.

I miss the Favreau who directed the fantastic movie "Made" (2001).
9 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Jon Favreau's Narcissistic Pet Project
ojja-8389817 June 2019
This show seems to be nothing more than Jon Favreau fancying himself Roy Choi's apprentice/protege and getting off on it. They do a dish with Babish from "Cooking with Babish" which Babish is leading and when it's time to plate the dish, Jon pushes him aside and says, "this is my job." I find Jon to be an incredibly annoying part of the show. It's a shame, I used to love him in stuff, but I think his success has really gone to his head in strange ways. This would also be a very interesting show without him in it warping things to be centered around his "apprenticeship" with Roy.
8 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Vanity project
uberholly21 June 2019
Episode #1 starts with Goop, and that's red flag #1. Following episodes seem dominated by Jon Favreau playing with the host chef's equipment while they talk. We get it, you made a chef movie, you know how the toys work. Fun visits for the guy, maybe it just didn't need to be filmed. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat reset the bar.
9 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Mixed feelings
karaca-26 December 2019
From the get go I need to tell you that I loved the movie; In fact I probably watched 3 times with different people.

In one of the earlier shows Jon Favreau says they don't know what the show is about. That's spot-on. Unfortunately I don't think they end up knowing what the show is about till the end. And nothing is wrong with it. It's just that my mind is looking for a theme in each episode and just can't find it.

I loved Jon Favreau in this show. He is really down-to-earth, he always takes the backstage, and asks (at least to me) really good questions. I wish I was a guest in his house.

For Roy Choi, I have different feelings. I felt he had a chip on his shoulder and was trying too much to assert himself. Obviously he is a good chef, but his interjections (especially with Jon) are so minuscule that I was wondering whyyyyy? Anyways that is the way it is.

Did I learn anything new? no Was it entertaining? mildly Did I learn new techniques, recipes, etc.? no

I finished it till the end but am not looking for new episodes.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
All around lovely experience
mariemoskau23 October 2019
My first time watching the Chef movie was only at the beginning of this year and I've watched it about once a month since. It's so nice to see people just get along and want to help each other deal with the struggles that life brings sometimes, and this show brings the same sentiment to a real kitchen. Jon and Roy have incredible chemistry (my only critique and point deduction is that as a non-native speaker I need the captions to understand them, especially Roy, and the reading sometimes distracts from the actual cooking) and it's a pleasure to watch them spend time together doing what they love. I equally enjoy the episodes with professional chefs and celebrity amateurs or proficient homecooks and it is fun to see celebrities in a setting that isn't an interview. They feel much more approachable and real, less mediatrained if you know what I mean. Jon and Roy do a great job and showing the cultural and social role that food plays in many people's lives all while showcasing amazing expertise. A great side feature is the thechefshow.com website that features some recipes, so far only from the first leg of the season but I hope more will be added soon.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
???
c_sims7623 June 2019
Are you trying to show people how to cook or cook in front of people and it's a talk show. You act like both without actually showing people how to cook anything. Seems kinda pointless
6 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Boring
tom-838-59914313 June 2019
No how to dos. Just a bunch folks stirring and chopping while stuff cooked. So what?
8 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not seeing the appeal
Bryan-14 June 2019
It's just a couple people cooking food and hanging out. Bill Burr was the only saving grace in the first episode. I think I'll stop here. The actual "Chef" movie was pretty good.
6 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I am addicted to this show
stukafgm6 January 2020
My wife and I recently stumbled onto this show and we can't help ourselves and are binge watching. I love the relationship between John and Roy, they complement each other well. I also like how humble they both are even though they are experts in their fields. This is a show about how food it's the centerpiece of relationships. It's not a cooking show it's a show that introduces you to food and the culture and love behind it. I am so happy that this show is on the air and I hope to see it go for a long time!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
not the worse movie I've seen
braquecubism17 September 2019
It's a 4 star watchable- if you can tolerate this trite theme about a chef with a calling. chefs have become the new Rock stars- and they are still butchering dead animals and boiling lobsters alive. so sad. if not its a 2-
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing food and people
meringoff9 October 2019
The only I don't like about this show is I can't eat the food they make.

They have such passion and care for the food they create and I enjoy watching what they are doing and how they do it. Great show.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Yummy food but please stop calling it a cubano
jcrich-6966623 June 2019
Easy fun show to watch with yummy food and fun guest stars, but to start with a veggie Goop soup and then butchering a Cuban sandwich, I can only give it so many stars. A Cuban, a Tampa ORIGINAL Cuban, you don't pre toast the bread, you don't grill the sliced (???) pork and ham and where is the salami??!! And a Cuban that doesn't have salami isn't a Cuban. Yes, Tampa has mastered ofthe Cuban and sorry John, that's not a Cuban. Maybe that's why you called it a Cubano.
2 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Loved Chef & Roy & John
bridgetbreland8 June 2019
As a super serious amateur cook, I was so excited about this show. Overall great concept but my thoughts (as a not kidding around foodie who loves you guys and loves to cook) are: Please stop the voiceovers! Very annoying/distracting Better recipe list/list of ingredients to take a screenshot of for the many viewers who'd like to give making each dish a try Don't pack so many recipes in one episode. 2 is plenty and delve in Celebs guests are fine but not needed. John & Roy are enough. Too bad as I'd love to watch another episode but the above especially the voiceover:( was too off putting.
2 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed