Eddie the Eagle (2015) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
171 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Feel-good Biopic
BigGuy27 January 2016
First of all, I have to say that I'm generally not a fan of biopics, they just aren't the type of movie I seek out. I got tickets to the sneak preview and my wife really wanted to go. Anyway, that preamble out of the way, I really did enjoy the movie.

Eddie the Eagle is a story about an underdog in every sense of the word. One theme that is repeated throughout the movie, is the quote from Pierre de Coubertin (father of the modern Olympics), "The important thing in the Olympic Games is not to win, but to take part; the important thing in Life is not triumph, but the struggle; the essential thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well." The story follows Eddie from the time he's a little kid with dreams of going to the Olympics. It follows him through his many assorted set-backs, and all the people around him who saw only failure in his future. It also shows the moments when he got helping hands when he most needed it. This movie is about his struggle.

The casting in the movie was quite good. I remember Eddie the Eagle from TV when I was young, and Taron Egerton does an excellent job in the role of Eddie. Hugh Jackman puts in a good performance as the coach Bronson Peary, and manages not to overpower Eddie's character. But while Taron Egerton really assumes the part of Eddie, a lot of Hugh Jackman leaks into his role as coach Peary.

The roles of Eddie's parents are also well played, and the actress playing his mother, Jo Hartley, gives a particularly poignant portrayal. The father, played by Keith Allen (currently uncredited on IMDb) is a bit of a caricature, but well acted. Actually, a lot of the supporting cast of characters are caricatures, especially the other ski-jumpers/coaches and the British Olympians/Olympic Committee. But to an extent that serves to emphasize the struggle for Eddie. Also, for those intent on seeing this film for Christopher Walked, he has a very small role.

While, I have emphasized the struggle aspect of the story, there is a lot of comedy thrown into the mix as well. The tone is upbeat throughout, even when Eddie has setbacks. While some of the failures are played for laughs (mostly early in the film), it's mostly Eddie's perseverance that makes this film endearing. It also feels like we're laughing with Eddie rather than at him, since it seems Eddie's in on the joke.

If you're on the fence about seeing this movie, I say give it a shot.
83 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not an Oscar Winner - But a Satisfying Film
joshh83-283-17183727 February 2016
Some films are merely created for entertainment and to tell a story. This is one of those films that you're not going to hear about during award season but it was certainly satisfying and worth the time.

Egerton was a perfect choice to play Eddie, from his off beat humor to his on spot facial expressions, and Hugh Jackman is a great compliment as the supporting role. Both characters are total opposites, each flawed in their own way, but really mesh together on screen.

The movie is fun and the story, based on the Eddie the Eagles dream of going to the Olympics, was nicely told with clean comedy paced throughout.

Not knowing the outcome of the true story, I was on edge rooting for Eddie throughout - just like the crowds in the stands on film.

Really glad they made this film, it's such a fun story and Eddie The Eagle is so deserving for a film that honors his hard work dedicated to his Olympic dream.

Have fun with this one!
49 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Great Movie that left my Wife and I satisfied, inspired and smiling
rbeardslee-9781711 February 2016
A very funny, enjoyable and inspiring movie for the whole family.

A human interest film that are rare these days with so many movies that rely on bravado and special effects.

Based on a true story, which proves if you have dreams from a young age that persist you should follow them no matter what the odds are against them and ignore all the doubters that tell you you cannot achieve them.

The human spirit and believing in one's self are very powerful forces.

Eddie is a character that you cannot dislike.

Hugh Jackman's character helps Eddie achieve his dream since Eddie would not be deterred.

Eddie unknowingly helps Hugh Jackman's character out of his funk and he is re-born again.

We highly recommend this film.
62 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must See feel good Movie
homer-4587212 February 2016
With a nice touch of humor you cannot come away from this movie without feeling a sense of accomplishment regardless of the actual outcome. The movie inspires you to reflect on any challenge we may have faced on our own lives and inspires us to actually rethink how we may have handled it or behaved differently. Taron Edgerton played a very believable character giving the audience a real sense at who Eddie Edwards really was and how he lived his youth through perseverance and fortitude by simply not giving up. The film cleverly portrays this very quickly through a brief introduction into Eddies childhood. The story is written well and the story really gives us a sense of who Eddie is and the drive to fulfill a promise to himself. Hugh Jackman brings a humorous side to the film with just enough serious touch that you do not loose sight of the significant effort that was made by Eddie Edwards. I was glad to be invited to a early preview and hope that all who see this film enjoy it as much as I did.
63 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Eddie the Eagle is no downhill crash; it flies with upbeat spirit and lands with a comedic tone.
RforFilm4 March 2016
As a Southern-Californian, snow might as well come from a different world. We receive at the most, a few flurries in the winter, but even then, it needs to be on a full moon on a leap year if it's not Tuesday. That said, we can still provide a wealth of athletes in sports that are played in the winter. Both local ice hockey teams, the Anaheim Ducks and the Los Angeles Kings, have won the Stanley Cup and are seen as some of the best hockey teams in America. Shaun White, famous snowboarder, hails from San Diego and Michelle Kwan, the figure skater, is from the L.A. area.

The lesson here is that a champion can come from anywhere. A good movie that provides this example is Cool Runnings from Disney. This portrays the country of Jamaica creating a bobsled team for the 1988 Winter Olympics. Though goofy and clearly not a realistic representation of what happened, the movie was upbeat about one following their dreams to become an Olympic athlete. What's interesting that today's movie was set during the same 1988 Olympics. Eddie the Eagle looks at an aspiring ski jumper as he tries to go fro the gold.

Ever since he was a young boy, Eddie Edwards has wanted to go to the Olympics, yet has little athletic skill. He tries his hand at several sports until he sees skiing as his best shot. As an adult, Eddie (played by Taron Egerton) seems to be doing well, he's not selected to join the British downhill skiing team due to his odd technique and just simply not being one of the best. He then sees that the country has not had a ski jumper in a long time, and decides to take advantage of that empty spot to secure a spot.

He packs his bags for Germany at the official training facility where his attempts to mingle with the other ski jumpers are met with laughter. While trying out the hills, he comes across alcoholic snow groomer Bronson Peary (played by Hugh Jackman). Eddie finds out that he used to be a part of the American Olympic team under the coaching of Warren Sharp (played by Christopher Walken). He takes pity and agrees to give Eddie the proper coaching. Eddie manages to win a local match that qualifies him to join the Olympic team. While the odds of winning are low, he's happy to be chasing his dream.

Eddie the Eagle sounds like your run of the mill sport biography and…basically is…but it's also self aware of that and has fun with itself. I can't think of another movie where ski jumping is portrayed and it looks really cool on a cinematic scale. The sport's high flying action allows for some impressive shots to prove that it was not computer generated.

Like Cool Runnings, it's also clearly not using the same story, given how silly a lot of the scenes flow. While it's not laugh out loud hilarious, it makes up by being just as upbeat as the latter. Taron Egerton is proving his worth as an actor, managing to be the perfect athlete and dweeb in one crazy experiment. You know his character is out of their element, but Taron makes him very likable. Hugh Jackman does well as his coach, more or less throwing in a lot of his charm and ability to play off the comedic writing to his advantage. Hugh gains cool points for his shot of ski jumping with a cigarette in his mouth.

Going into Eddie the Eagle, you really need to be in the right mood for it to hit you in the right spot.

I'll give this eight and a half ski jumpers out of ten. Those that want a gripping story of an athlete should look someplace else. But for those that want something upbeat like Cool Runnings and Rudy, then Eddie the Eagle should please you well enough. Despite the premise, this is no downhill crash; it's a flier that knows where to land.
30 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Go see it, better than 90 percent of the garbage out there
asrivarde17 February 2016
Saw this movie at an advance screening and Eddie the Eagle was awesome.

The movie did not disappoint at all.

Great insight into the story of Eddie Edwards and the sport of ski jumping.

Very dangerous sport but very beautiful to look at.

The movie had a lot of heart and humor.

Will look forward to this movie making its way on Blu-ray.

I would gladly pay to add it to my collection.

Great visuals as well.

I wish the movie gets the praise it deserves as it really is better than a lot of the trash coming thru movie theaters now.
87 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Taron continues to impress as 'Eggsy' (sic) the Eagle
bob-the-movie-man29 March 2016
The British love a plucky loser. "Eddie the Eagle" tells the astonishing but true story of everyman plasterer Eddie Edwards who qualified for, and then competed in, the Calgary Olympics in 1988 (probably most famous for those other plucky losers – the Jamaican bobsleigh team of Disney's "Cool Runnings" fame). I have absolutely no idea how the traditionally more success-driven and competitive American audience will see it, but the packed English showing I attended all clearly loved this film as a feel-good classic.

The film starts with Eddie's childhood, struggling out of leg braces to try to pursue his Olympic dream with no success whatsoever. (Excellent performances here by brothers Tom and Jack Costello who set-up the tone for the film). His battle is not just against his lack of skill: whilst his mother (Jo Hartley) is quietly supportive, his father Terry (Keith Allen) is – not unreasonably it must be said – hugely frustrated at his son's fanciful ideas, wanting him to follow in the family plastering tradition with the same zeal. (The gulf in ambition is vast – Eddie: "Didn't you have a dream when you were younger Dad?"; Terry: "Yes, plastering".)

Eventually Eddie finds a sport he is half decent in (by British standards!): downhill skiing, but is thwarted in following his Olympic dreams by smarmy and sneering Olympic selector Dustin Target, played by Tim McInnerny (from "Black Adder" and "Notting Hill"… someone who has rather cornered the market on 'smarmy and sneering'). It is then that he exploits ancient rules in the UK Olympic playbook to try to qualify in the discipline of ski-jumping: something no one has done since the 1920's. Linking up in Austria with an alcohol-infused coach and ex- jumper Bronson Peary (Hugh Jackman), Eddie faces the terrors of the 40m and then 70m jumps to try to learn the sport (16 years too late).

This film has been long in gestation, with both Steve Coogan and Rupert Grint originally earmarked for the role. But Matthew Vaughn's involvement in the current project probably contributed to Taron Egerton getting the job following their work together on last year's "Kingsman". And a great choice he is too. Almost unrecognizable from the sharp- suited Eggsy in "Kingsman" and gangster-sidekick Teddy in "Legend", Egerton switches effortlessly between clueless goofball and steely determined sportsman.

The film's emotional heart though is with Hugh Jackman's side-story, battling with drink after throwing his own chance away with US-coach Warren Sharp (a nice cameo by Christopher Walken). Although going a little OTT at times (we see for example that he is no Meg Ryan!), Jackman provides a solid acting foundation that the rest of the cast can play off.

Rounding out the cast are solid performances from Jo Hartley ("This is England") as Eddie's Mum, Mark Benton ("Waterloo Road") as a BOA official, Rune Temte as a bear of a Norwegian coach and the ever-warming Jim Broadbent as a BBC commentator.

An 'attaboy' should also go to the special effects crew headed up by Marty McLaughlin for making believe a man can fly. Whilst – you understand – not in any way doubting Jackman's ability to risk his pretty face on a 90m jump, the nighttime sequence of him doing that jump is really nicely executed (with cinematography by George Richmond).

A quick browse at Wikipedia will make it clear that there has been a lot of license taken with this as a "true story", and to be fair the prefix "based on a.." was used! And the film is not without irritations: Terry's negativity to his son's actions is about 25% overplayed in Simon Kelton's story, and the coach/protégé sub-plot has been overused in the past. The soundtrack (music) by Matthew Margeson is also rather grating particularly early on in the film: it is presumably going for 'period' in its use of Hammond organ cheesiness, but that music was tiresome in the 80's too! Fortunately Margeson redeems himself with some kick-ass (no pun intended) classic 80's tracks neatly edited into the action.

These criticisms aside, I dare you to come out of this film without a silly grin on your face. I certainly did. Directed by Dexter Fletcher ("Sunshine on Leith") it's not likely to win any Oscars, but in setting out to deliver what it said on the can it succeeded in all respects.

(Please visit bob-the-movie-man.com to see the graphical version of this review. You can also subscribe there for future reviews. Thanks.)
28 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feel good and let the tears of happiness flow!
nrau14 February 2016
My husband and I saw this in a free screening prior to it opening for regular audiences, and I even wondered if I loved it so much because it was free, but I think I would have liked it just as much had I paid to see it! I do think that the movie benefits from being shown on a big wide screen with all the outdoor scenes - not sure I would have liked it so much had I seen it on a TV size screen. I felt all the characters were perfectly cast. While it may seem like a nit, the only annoying factor to me was that Eddie's glasses were falling down his nose the whole time - and while I know that was part of the character, it drove me crazy watching him!! However, the movie kept my interest the entire time, and was extremely enjoyable. By the end, I had tears of happiness streaming down my face - definitely one of the best feel-good movies I have seen in a long time!! HIGHLY recommend!!
34 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Exactly as expected
patilsachet00727 January 2016
The film makers themselves warn you with the movie being publicized as a feel-good, underdog tale that provides family entertainment. And that is EXACTLY what this movie is!!! And even though the movie does not bring in anything new or more than what was expected from it, it is definitely a good watch.

The characters are extremely likable and the movie will have you rooting for 'Eddie' in no time.

From what I have read, the movie was not shot in Canada and is very loosely based on the actual life of the real Eddie the Eagle, so people from Calgary and people who actually know a lot about the real Eddie might be slightly disappointed.
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Important Thing is Not to Win, But to Take Part
ThomasDrufke3 February 2016
Everyone loves a good underdog story, and sports films have always been a good avenue for those stories to thrive. I know a lot of people like to complain sometimes about 'biopics' and how they should be as close to the source material as possible, but I look at it a different way. I go to the movies for an experience. Whether that be to laugh, cry, smile, or whatever, I go for the experience. If a film would be better off taking plenty of liberties, I'm all for it. Eddie the Eagle definitely took that philosophy, and for the most part, it really worked.

First of all, I have to give a shout out to Elk Grove Cinema (not that they would actually be reading this) for inviting me to a preview screening of the film a few weeks before its wide release. Of course I jumped at the opportunity considering Hugh Jackman and the up and comer Taron Egerton were starring in a sports film, especially a seemingly uplifting one at that. The film absolutely did not disappoint. Similar to last week's Finest Hours, I went in with mediocre expectations, and came out very pleasantly satisfied with what I got. It's a feel good story that I think everyone can get behind. Eddie dreamed his entire life of competing in the Olympics and was told that he would never make it, naturally that's someone we would root for.

The good thing is that Egerton does more than just portray a sympathetic character. He transforms into Eddie the Eagle. I didn't know much about him before the film but it seems like he really pulled off Edwards' emotions and body language to a T. Jackman is also very good as the clichéd drunk washed up trainer that takes Eddie from being a wannabe to an Olympic athlete. I think that's what a lot of people will come out of the film saying, it's so clichéd. To an extent, they're not wrong. Each and every character is the prototype of what you would expect them to be, whether they are supporting Eddie or entirely against him. But I also don't think it was always a detriment to the film. Sometimes the clichés worked.

As I said, the film is incredible satisfying. It's one of the best examples of a pure crowd-pleaser. There's not much to dislike about the film. I absolutely loved the music choices including the score and some timely 80's song choices. Sure, I think the stakes could have been raised a bit here or there to give an even bigger emotional moment, but I can't say the film didn't already bring me to teary eyes at some points. And that to me, is an experience at the movies.

+Emotionally satisfying

+Egerton is terrific

+Music

+Jackman

-Some clichés are unnecessary

7.5/10
29 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"Eddie the Eagle" soars!
dave-mcclain21 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
We all have a dream… or have had a dream at some point, at least. You may not have achieved your dream (yet), but I'm sure you remember what it is, even if you're not currently pursuing it. You may have been stopped or been hindered from seeing your dream come true because people told you it wasn't realistic or refused to support you when you needed them to (or both). Or maybe you chose to give up on that dream because you decided yourself that it wasn't practical or because you came to believe that you were too old, too busy, too poor, too… "whatever" to dream anymore. If any of this sounds familiar, then "Eddie the Eagle" (PG-13, 1:45) just might be your kind of movie. (And if ALL of this sounds familiar, you need to drop everything and go see this movie immediately – before it's too late!) The movie poster says "Inspired by a Dream Come True". That's appropriate (even if it's also a bit of a spoiler). In other words, this film is indeed inspired by a true story, but it's a highly fictionalized account of what really happened. There really is an Eddie Edwards who was nicknamed "The Eagle" and became Britain's only ski jumper in order to realize his childhood dreams of Olympic glory at the 1988 winter games in Calgary. Except for a few more details, that's about where the similarities between the film and reality end. Personally, I think the omitted details of Edwards' story are even more interesting than what appears on screen, but maybe they were left out to simplify the movie or make it even more of a crowd-pleaser. If that was the goal, mission accomplished! The filmmakers did, however, cast an actor who could act and be made to look like the real Edwards, right down to his gestures. It is impressive.

Since childhood, Eddie Edwards (Taron Egerton) had Olympic dreams, even though he was pudgy, had no discernible athletic talent and even wore a knee brace for years. But he kept his dream alive. Eddie tried his hand at a number of different Olympic events, unable to find the right one for him. But he kept trying. Many different people, including Eddie's own father, criticized and even mocked his dreams. But he just ignored them. Eddie decided on ski jumping even though he didn't know anything about it and was told repeatedly that, even in his early 20s, he was way too old to learn it and get good at it. But he still gave it his best shot. There were even multiple predictions of Eddie's failure, injury or even death if he pushed forward. But he refused to let fear or uncertainty stop him. At one point, Eddie proclaims, "I taking jumping very seriously. I love it. Nearly as much as I love proving people wrong." That he does.

Eddie didn't even have a coach. That is, until he suddenly left the home of his frustrated father and supportive mother (Jo Hartley), traveled to a ski jumping facility in Germany and met one of the employees, Bronson Peary (Hugh Jackman). Bronson is a former Olympic ski jumper who let his bad attitude derail his jumping career. He squandered his potential, ending up working as a maintenance man and drowning his sorrows in alcohol. As Eddie does small jumps and tries to learn how to jump by trial and error, Bronson repeatedly tells him to quit. Eventually, Bronson agrees to teach Eddie a few things, if for no other reason, to keep Eddie from killing himself as he trains. And if Eddie manages to overcome his alcoholic coach's gruffness – and his own lack of experience (talent) as a jumper, he still must get past the British Olympic Committee whose leader (Tim McInnerny) is intent on stopping Eddie.

"Eddie the Eagle" soars! Egerton is powerful, fun and funny in what is best described as a transformative performance, to be appreciated even more by those who saw him as a street-punk-turned-suave-secret-agent in 2015's "Kingman: The Secret Service". 2016 just serves to confirm Egerton as one of the finest young acting talents working today. Here, he makes a wonderful and endearing underdog. This film's story arc recalls another inspiring (basically) true sports story – 1993's "Rudy". Like many such movies, "Eddie" is guilty of being formulaic (right down to Jackman's charming, but now familiar portrayal of an underdog's main supporter) and I wish this film had stuck a little closer to the actual story, but these issues do little to harm the movie's emotional power and the sheer enjoyment of being in the audience.

Regardless of how successful Eddie is (or isn't) in the end, you'll want to stand up and shout, "Do you believe in miracles? YES!!" Hmmm. Sorry. Wrong Winter Olympics movie, but you get the point. "Eddie the Eagle" IS the feel-good movie of the year! If you have (or ever had) a dream, you're likely to enjoy this film… and it may even inspire you to dream about things you never thought possible. Isn't all that what movies are for? Everyone reading this review is witnessing the beginning of me realizing my dreams. This film reminded me of the rewards of determination and the joys of overcoming obstacles and accomplishing goals. I believe it will do the same for you – and entertain you in the process. "A-"
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Movie!!
kylereid-186-65017624 May 2016
I went in to this movie not knowing what to expect. I hadn't heard anything about the movie from anyone I knew, but I am so glad I ended up watching it. Eddie the Eagle, like most biopics, does not strive for historical accuracy, but rather tries and succeeds in tugging at the heartstrings. In a trending wave of serious, depressing, anti-hero, "realism-pics" Eddie the Eagle shines. This feel good comedy/drama was inspiring. Taron Egerton's portrayal of Eddie Edwards was fascinating and believable, not in the sense of historical accuracy, but rather in his ability to make the audience believe in the impossible and dare to dream. Even when everyone but your mom is rooting against you, you can still achieve your dreams! You can't leave this move not feeling good. It was a great movie, and more should be made like it!
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved It ...
josepainumkal11 April 2018
As a movie, it was so thrilling and engaging. I loved it... Hugh Jackman is one of my favorite actors in Hollywood and he didn't disappoint me in this flick also. Taron Eagorton gave us a promising performance as Eddie the Eagle. The 1:45 hrs was worthy and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My small advice to those who haven't seen this movie is, "don't check more on Eddie in internet or elsewhere...just watch the movie and forget this was a biopic..." and that will definitely help.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Insightful
zlifb12 July 2017
I remember Eddie the Eagle as a joke, a laughing stock, incessantly pilloried by the gutter press and sneered-at by the mainstream media alike.

This film made me realise just how wrong I was.

Those shots peering down from the top of the ramp at the tiny people in the distance barely hint at the terror, standing up there and knowing that when you set off, there is only one way down.

They don't so much fall, as plummet.

I enjoyed the humour and the music, but most of all the story ... just ... worked. I know it's dramatised, it's not a documentary. Doesn't matter. It was something unique, truly special. And the film captures the essence of Eddie's '15 minutes of fame' in a remarkably positive and upbeat way. A true Olympian.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Finally got to see this movie and it was really nostlagic and feel good
lisafordeay12 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Eddie The Eagle stars Taron Egerton,Hugh Jackman,Jim Broadbent and Christopher Walken and tells the true story of a young British boy named Eddie(Egerton)who dreams of being an Olympic skier ever since he was a little boy. His father of course(Keith Allen)doesn't want Eddie to become an skier but a plasterer. Now all grown up Eddie goes to the headquarters in England (led by Tim McInerney from the live action 101 Dalmatian movies)who tells Eddie that he just isn't good enough to become a skier. All that changes however for Eddie as he travels to Germany and tries the 40m jump,the 60m jump but failed at the 60m jump,that is until he sees a tough cookie named Bronson Peary(Hugh Jackman)a former Olympic skier who lost out a long time ago and all he does is drinks heavy and smokes. At first Bronson doesn't want to help Eddie out as Eddie,but the two form a bound and he helps Eddie compete with the Olympic games by travelling all over from Austria and even Canada. But will Eddie's dreams of winning the Olympics in 1988 come true?

Overall I thought this film was a very good biopic. The music is phenomenal as its got this 80s edge to it,the acting is top notch,I thought Taron Egerton was fantastic as Eddie "the Eagle"Edwards and Hugh Jackman had a lot of laughs as the washed up former skier Bronson Peary who's manager happened to be Christopher Walken(who makes a cameo near the end of the film).If you love underdog movies where you've got people who are proving to others that they are wrong and they are right or you loved Cool Running's along with any of the following actors then you will love this film.

SO glad I got this on DVD as I was unable to have seen it in the cinemas this year.

Thumbs up

4/5 stars
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Surprise Hit. A real feel good movie 2016 FAV
lemontmom226 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I had free early preview tickets for this movie and forgot to use them. My daughter came home from school and told me it was released today and she wanted to see it. I was like what the hay. It was a surprise hit in my book. The casting was great, story flowed well, and the ending was a tear jerker. Was not a big budget, well advertised film, but sometimes those can be the most satisfying. I would highly recommend to anyone. One of the most enjoyable movies I have seen in a long time. This movie really exceeded all of our expectations I can't wait for the DVD. Hugh Jackman was fabulous the main character Eddie was perfectly cast. I'm not sure what else to say but his is a must see movie.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Feel-good inspirational film.
paulclaassen3 July 2018
If ever there was a feel-good movie, this is it! Based on a true story, this film is suspenseful, dramatic and hilarious all in one, resulting in an insanely entertaining feature. Taron Egerton is brilliant as hero Eddie Edwards. He conveys emotion so well that you feel every feeling, every failure and every triumph. He is perfect as the nerd, likable hero and champion. Hugh Jackman is perfectly cast as a has-been champion who unwillingly becomes Eddie's coach. His 'Bo Derek' scene is fabulously hilarious and brilliantly acted.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Eagle Soars
kirbylee70-599-52617915 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a sucker for an underdog story. Movies like ROCKY always get to me. I find myself cheering along the hero of the film in the hopes that they will achieve their dream, that they will win, that they will become larger than life. EDDIE THE EAGLE is that type of film. Based on a true story it's not about what ski jumper Eddie Edwards achieved but more about the journey he had to get there.

As a young boy Eddie Edwards dreamed of being in the Olympics. Saddled with physical issues he fails to succeed at track and field events. This leads him to attempt something else, downhill skiing. He develops into a good skier but snobbish representatives of for Great Britain look down on his social status and don't allow him a spot on the team. Determined to enter the Olympics one way or another he sets his sights on a different goal, that of ski jumper.

This should make things easier as Great Britain doesn't have a team in this event. Except for the fact that Eddie has never ski jumped before. Ever. But through his determination he finds his way to a training facility in Germany and starts off on the smaller jumps. Ridiculed by the other Olympic jumpers he gets help from a woman who owns the restaurant near the hill. She allows him to stay there, to work for her and then guides him to someone who could help him achieve his goals. Except that the man wants nothing to do with the idea.

Bronson Peary (Hugh Jackman) was once one of the top jumpers on the American team when he was in his 20s. A disagreement with his mentor/coach Warren Sharp (Christopher Walken) led to his leaving the team as well as his Olympic dreams behind. Resentful, disheartened and unlikeable Peary now runs the jumps and grooms the snow on the slopes. Determined to get his help Eddie continues to pressure him threatening to jump without his guidance which he does. Seeing his determination, his spirit and how the other jumpers try and humiliate him, Peary finally agrees.

Eddie gets better and is about to be added to Great Britain's list of attendees until the same snooty team official who ousted him early on has them change the rules for him to qualify. Unwilling to bend or play by their rules Edwards and Peary enter another competition for him to qualify. While on the verge of not making it he eventually finds himself qualified and off to the Olympics.

If you know the results of what happened it won't make a difference. If you don't I won't tell you here. For Eddie Edwards his goal was to simply be a part of something larger than himself, a childhood dream of being in the Olympics and representing not only his country but himself as well. His enthusiasm, his determination and his passion are what make his character so lovable and inspiring. His story is one that all should hear and see.

The movie is exceptionally well made with breathtaking cinematography that puts you right in the shoes of Eddie as he jumps. The acting is amazing with a nearly unrecognizable Taron Egerton as Eddie. He looks nothing like he did in KINGSMAN: THE SECRET SERVICE from 2 years ago. He breathes life into Eddie here rather than make him a cardboard cutout of a man. Jackman takes on the role of sideman here instead of grabbing the spotlight and in so doing displays what a terrific actor he is in the process. At a point in his career where he can take the lead role easily he shows what a true supporting actor can accomplish.

The story of Eddie Edwards is an inspiration. I defy anyone to put this movie into their DVD player and not find themselves cheering him on by the films end. Win, lose or draw when the final competition arrives (I told you I wouldn't reveal the ending) doesn't matter. His story of finding a place for himself in the history books about the Olympics is more than enough. The movie entertains, enlightens and leaves you with a smile on your face. Overlooked when it arrived in theaters now is the chance for this film to be discovered. It deserves that.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great movie not a documentary
SirMono12 August 2016
I hate sports. As long as I can remember I wasn't any good at them and I was some times bullied for it as a kid (but I'm not some fat nerd sitting in a basement at the computer eating chips either so don't get me wrong!) so at some level I think I can relate to Eddie as a character. I also hate bio movies. Mostly they are not accurate, as well as this one.

How ever when watching the movie I didn't know it was based on a real story and it managed to do what movies are supposed to do: It made me feel. So I don't care if it's accurate or not. Not very many movies have brought tears in my eyes. This one did, and I'm not very emotional guy. I enjoyed every moment of it. The acting was great, especially Egertons. Only thing i didn't like as a Finn, was Matti Nykänen. He should have been played by a real Finnish guy (now played by a Swedish actor) that could have done the accent and everything as badly as we Finns do.

If you want accuracy go to Wikipedia. This is a movie that's going to make you happy.

Sorry for my poor English.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The best sport films need a true underdog story
DavidLindahl29 June 2016
I've seen some sport films through the years but I've actually never seen one about ski jumping. Eddie the Eagle is the truth based story of the British ski jumper Michael "Eddie" Edwards who participated in the 1988 Olympic winter games in Calgary, Canada. Eddie has since childhood, dreamed of becoming an Olympic participant. When he gets older and is denied to compete in downhill skiing by the British committee, he decides to try ski jumping instead. The problem is that the Olympic games is one year away and Eddie has never before in his life tried ski jumping. The incredibly charming Taron Egerton plays Eddie the Eagle and Hugh Jackman also takes part as the drunken American ex pro jumper Bronson Peary.

Classic underdog stories always works well within the sport genre and really are a well played card by now. And yet there is something with the story about Eddie that grabs hold of me. Nobody believes in him, he is odd and rather strange. Despite dealing with all the resistance and sometimes humiliation, he never gives up. The thing that also really keeps me interested is the ski jumping. I have always found that sport pretty funny, but I now seriously have to confess that I would never dare to jump that high with skis on. Hugh Jackman's mentor character is actually very cliché and perhaps a bit exaggerated. They should probably have toned him down to add a little more realism in the story.

According to the filmmakers the story is really not that truthful, especially not the parts about Eddie Edward's life outside of ski jumping. His result and what happened to him is however not changed that much, but besides that much of the story is made for film. I really don't think that's a problem. I rank Rocky as my favorite sport film and it is because I think that the ultimate sport film needs an underdog story. It is actually the same thing here in Eddie the Eagle. A struggle for the little man and a display with an encouragement to never give up. Perhaps well needed in our sometimes dark world.

David Lindahl - www.filmografen.se
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great drama film - enjoyable and enthralling
anthonymaw28 February 2016
I was kind of skeptical about the film at first, based on it's name I expected it to be a comedy but it turned out to be much more than that. In some way the movie is inspirational to take on life's challenges to achieve one's goals and dreams. Based on a true story, the movie documents a personal challenges from personal motivations to bureaucratic by officials to ridicule and derision by team-mates that Eddie encountered and ultimately overcame to compete in the Olympic Ski Jump competition as the lone competitor in a field that the British are not known for. My only caveat with the film was that the producers faced certain logistical challenges re-creating the look and feel of the actual 1988 Olympic Winter Games in Calgary Canada so they focused a lot on close-ups and low-angle views which is understandable. Nevertheless I found the film highly enthralling and inspiring.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Jump.
stonedraim22 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
**** May contain strong spoilers ****

This is a review made by StoneDraim... and that means that if you want to read a probably different kind of review, keep reading....

This is my personal experience, my personal point of view/perspective and my personal opinion... and my opinion is just one of like 7 billions in this world.

I remember part of this Olympic Games. I was 9 years old and someone told me there is a man that is insane that just jumps for the fun of it. It was like a man had been brought into the Games to only entertain. Later on.... well....the Eagle had landed.

I get a sense that the story behind this all were magic and wonderful. I also sense that the movie has been given a little to firm touch of the feel good sense, as it first is a struggle in everything, and the last say 40 minutes everything is just going great and easy. This brings down the rate for me.

This motion picture is spot on in giving a good time and a little nostalgic journey back in time. If all events happened in real life as in the movie, then that's fine. Maybe they could have in some production way twisted it up to get even more response from the audience.

Anyway. I recommend Eddie The Eagle. Good solid movie and all the music and Olympic Games soundtracks just make me wanna fly back to the ages were television and the Olympic Games were more focused and followed. As for an Olympic movie, I have to still say that Miracle with Kurt Russell is my favourite.

Oh... I almost forgot.... after the successful jump, Jump settles in an the goosebumps are going wild all over my body.

Over to the movie as a product: - The production : Great work on everything. The Olympic music and the tunes from the 80's gives pleasant flashbacks. - The actors : Overall standard to give it a push. - The story : True story. Period. (And an important one to always reach for your dreams.) - Entertainment : Feel good throughout... and good. Delightful - Age : 7

7,4 out of 10. (The final rate is based most on my own entertainment of the movie. Short elucidation of the rating: 8 Excellent movie and a solid production 7 Well made movie. Proper entertainment.)
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Outstanding docu-film!
TheTopDawgCritic17 February 2018
They don't get any better than this! This docu-film was as close to perfect as they come. Taron Egerton nailed his character as did Hugh Jackman and for that matter, the entire cast. The whole production - from directing, cinematography, writing, editing and even the score were all on point. A fun, inspirational, heartwarming and entertaining film for all ages, and a great tribute to Eddie "The Eagle" Edwards. A well deserved 9/10 from me.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Must see
simonpj10 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is the first review I have ever left but I was moved to write it by this movie.

I don't doubt that it includes some significant departures from real life but the essence of Eddie's struggle against adversity and the system is true. The attitude of the authorities in belittling his attempts to be an Olympian managed to annoy me all over again!

The movie is entertaining and fun while also challenging the over-professionalisation of the Olympics. Reminding us several times of the quote from the founder of the modern Olympics, that it's not about the winning but the taking part, not about the triumph but the struggle. Something is lost when the British Olympic Committee raise the qualification bar in a deliberate attempt to stop him going. And remember the IOC actually raised criteria straight after Calgary to ensure that there will never be another Eddie the Eagle.

The casting was brilliant, Taron Egerton a very believable Eddie (I'm someone who remembers 1988 all too well) and Hugh Jackman is always enjoyable but without stealing the show.

The only things I'd say as a slight negative are that I hope the BOA official wasn't quite as sneering in real life as Tim McInnery in the movie, and the 90 metre jump was spectacular it its own right and didn't need to be over dramatised - let's remember this guy jumped over 60 metres, with one year in the sport and the 90m jump at Calgary was his first!

Add in a cracking 80s sounds core and some superb visual effects and this movie is a cert for mine and many others' blu ray collections.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
No surprise, just a nice movie that you will enjoy
plasticsestimator3 March 2016
I won't say this is a great movie but it is very enjoyable. My wife enjoyed it more than I did but I think that was due to the fact I knew how it turned out, I remember watching Eddie in the Olympics. They guy playing Eddie nailed it, Hugh Jackman was okay, a bit over the top as the washed up and drunken, bitter former ski jumper. Christopher Walken was very subdued in what amounted to a cameo. The story takes you on a journey of, basically, a lovable loser. A kid with an Olympic dream and almost no athletic ability or talent. However far he goes will be due to stubbornness and, probably poor judgement. Not to mention a whole lot of guts! Anyone that has ever seen "The agony of defeat" on ABC's Wide World of Sports knows ski jumpers are crazy. That The Eagle takes up the sport well into his 20's makes him almost certifiably insane. The movie takes the viewer through all the ups and downs, improbabilities and seemingly impossibilities but it does a pretty fair job. Several smiles will cross your lips, perhaps even a few laughs, you will, by the end of the movie, feel some emotion. Normally feel good movies leave me cold, not this one. Don't expect an Oscar nomination for Movie of the year but it is a lot closer to an Oscar than it is to a Razzie. Two Thumbs up!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed