Resident Evil: Afterlife (2010) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
418 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
What once was buried, should have stayed dead
urizen-77 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
While I usually refrain from writing reviews, RE: Afterlife was such an excruciating experience to endure, I had to somehow vent my righteous anger. Thus: the review.

While I quite enjoyed the very first Resident Evil movie (except for the CGI showdown), starting with Number two (Apocalypse) the movies went from thrilling, spooky zombie movies to something like a low-budget Zombie-Movie-in-the-Matrix. I say low-budget, because the special effects and action sequences screamed of cheap and shoddy work, the stories were laughable at best, and yet, here comes another entry in a series that should have stayed dead.

To see all of Afterlife's Non-Glory in 3-D, probably made it even worse for me. As much as I like 3-D movies, RE: Afterlife cannot be salvaged by anything at all, short of standing up after the first three minutes and walking out the door. Or maybe urinating on the screen, then walking out the door. Or maybe adding another dimension, time, which would allow me to go back to the beginning of the film and shoot myself repeatedly in the head.

Starting with the first (of many) utterly ridiculous action sequences, dominated by so-bad-it's-funny-in-a-sad-way wire-fighting and wire-wall-jumping, the movie actually manages to go downhill from there, which is somewhat commendable, since I thought it not quite possible to even get any worse.

What follows is an assembly of disjointed, poorly conceived action sequences, way too many slow-motion captures, incoherent story telling, continuity errors that made my teeth hurt, and then you realize that the movie has only been running for thirty minutes, and you ask yourself what you could have done in a previous life to deserve this.

The "story", if you want to call it that, is driven by ludicrous plot elements that only exist for the sake of driving a non-existent story ahead, while half of what happens seems to only happen in order to create the need for even more embarrassing zombie-killing action. Or poor attempts at creating some of that Wow-Feeling we all shared when we first entered "The Matrix".

As some critic once wrote about the new Star Wars Episodes (I-III), the Resident Evil movies offer great actors the chance for the worst performances of their lives. I am still astounded by the fact that Milla Jovovich has not filed a law suit against the producers for prolonged career murder or violent destruction of reputation.

I honestly cannot find more than two good things about this film, and I actually am an avid fan of the video game series, so seeing some familiar faces, as well as monsters, should have at least appeased my inner nerd-ness, but alas, it wasn't so.

As my final verdict, I will now present the two and only good things in this movie: 1. Ali Larter in wet clothes. 2. Kacey Barnfield in tight clothes.

The rest deserves to be laughed at, tarred, feathered, quartered, strangled, drowned, poisoned, stabbed, clubbed, and then buried in a toxic landfill next to the remains of Uwe Boll.
101 out of 143 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Did we see the same movie?
CrimsonKingLives11 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I'll be honest, I went to see this knowing it wouldn't be great. The 3D looked awesome, and I was excited to see Wesker. What I wasn't expecting was a dull, pointless, plot less, horribly-acted cornball "action" movie.

Milla has worn out her welcome as a poor-man's Angelina Jolie. I love her, I really do, she's one of my favorite actresses, but this has gone too far. That said...

Without trying to spoil anything, it seems that Paul Anderson had no idea where to go with this sequel, thus throwing everything out from the last film, (I wont go into detail), while shoving small things from the video game in, just to fill time and justify the 'Resident Evil' title. It falls flat, and leaves many of the scenes feeling unneeded and forced.

My MAIN grudge against RE:A is the lack of plot. I do like to see a good mindless action/horror film (Machete and Piranha are on my top 10 list already!), but this film took itself way too seriously, and forgot where the hell it was going at times. Taking a look back at the movie, it seemed like nothing happened throughout the whole 96 minutes! The action scenes, in my opinion, were lame, tame, dull, overdone, and the slow-motion wasn't impressing anyone. It came off, once again, as forced and corny.

I'm a fan of the RE videogames and do nitpick, but at the same time, I've taken the movies for what they are. The first film was great, second meh, third bad, but this one was downright horrible. I'm really not sure I saw the same movie as most of the reviewers here, because what I saw was a flashy, dull, pointless entry in an already dead series. Time to give it a rest Paul.

Resident Evil: Afterlife gets a 3/10 *'s
134 out of 201 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Survive in a plane crash?? What were they thinking???
alexlee190514 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Damn...I registered IMDb just to review this movie... Could the plot writer make something explainable ?? The story line confused me again and again.

How come Alice survive in that plane crash? She was normal human already! And where is Wesker when Alice leave the crash site? Since when Alice learn to fly? And where is the fuel? Food? Makeup?? The building in LA keep burning for 4 years? The armory has a shaft of something take you to the roof top? Wesker can dodge bullets (ok fine he is a superhuman), but can't dodge the knife? Here comes the most ridiculous part....what kind of self-destruction bomb is that? I mean look at the size, no way it can blast a ship that huge! OK even it is some kind of alien technology, if it was designed to blow the ship, would you mount it on a corridor where everyone can touch? Not even you can touch it, you can just dismount it with ease and dump it like a grenade?? WHAT KIND OF SELF-DESTRUCTION SYSTEM IS IT??? What were they thinking??? Not to mention there is a couple of helicopter there and Claire knew which one Wesker will go aboard! And She knew Wesker will came back after she and Chris punch hundred of holes on Wesker and shut the gate. In conclusion, don't pay to watch this movie, rent it on DVD or watch it online!
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Resident Evil(series) needs Fresh Blood or R.I.P.!
manjodude22 August 2011
Sheer disappointment! This is surely the weakest Resident Evil movie in the series. Although we still have the ruthless Umbrella corporation and the undead here chasing the survivors, their characterisation also left much to be desired.

The only thing which was and still goes good for the series is Milla Jovovich. That's unfortunate because how much of the movie's success can she carry on her sexy shoulders :) Yes, she still looks smokin' hot and ably kicks b***. She also gets nice support from Ali Larter although you don't miss anything if you'd replace her with anyone else :) Seriously, I think Larter's better off in negative, villain roles than just being a side support. And except for Albert Wesker(head of Umbrella) who was effectively menacing in his act, we can forget the rest of the cast.

Even if we were to include the good visual effects and the action choreography, they don't help much to mask the mediocrity of Afterlife. Which is sad because I really like Paul Anderson's first in the series. That was quite scary & memorable. The second in the series was good too. The third wobbled a bit but this one just crashed! So I guess Paul should stop making any more REs unless there's a complete makeover in the writing, direction and casting(except for Milla Jovovich)

Verdict: Hardly much life in the movie, forget Afterlife! Chuck it.
34 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rather Stick Rusty Pins Into My Eye Balls!!
rodders8119 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I went to the cinema with realistic expectations; however even my with my very low outlook I was shocked by how poor this film was.

The plot was so thin that I honestly feel that it didn't exist. The movie instead was random events of poorly scripted action scenes that at times looked like an 80's cartoon. I am going to list in no particular order the glaring aspects of the movie that exemplify the lack of thought and continuity that went into its creation.

Ammunition: Call me a cynic but surely even futuristic weapons, require to be reloaded or even ammunition? Instead we have full blown automatic fire from handguns that just never run out.

Food: Where does the food come from? Stored? Why is the Hollywood sign still burning 5 years after the end of mankind? Make up: Character been through the 'wars' covered in mud and guts, blink and perfect makeup is reapplied and hair in perfect condition. Miracle!! Fashion: Again would a few survivors, ever have designer trimmed beards, haircuts, clothes in perfect condition? Fuel: A small aircraft that can fly without the requirement for being refuelled.

Ship: Here comes more of my sarcasm: ' I have searched the whole ship and can't find 15,000 people hidden on board, or a giant science lab, or hundreds of fighter planes' .... Oh did you mean check that out that massive door with the umbrella logo on it... well blow me!! Giant Hammer: Random monster with a hammer, comically knocking down a metal door, if you've watched the movie you'll know what I mean.

Armoury: Look lets swim underwater, whilst holding our breath for 20mins to an armoury. Luckily for our intrepid characters the weapons and ammunition are stored together in the same room and oh look at the giant air conditioned unit in the ceiling, fantastic security and it leads straight to the roof of the building, magic.

3D effects: I have watched many 3D movies of late and this one was so poor that I think they forgot to make it 3D.

I feel that this movie could have been a five star bonanza except that there was not plot, thought or direction put into the movie. The movie never promised to be a dramatic enterprise with gritty story lines and depth of characters, never less I am sure any self respecting director of any note would have the self pride and integrity to produce something of more quality and reverence. My recommendation, do not watch this movie!!
68 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A collection of failures
thelazydoc10 October 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Afterlife fails on every level of what makes a decent movie.

Which is probably the most fascinating aspect about it. If one wants to learn how NOT to direct, cut, narrate, explain, suspension curve and visualize a movie, this is where it's all in one place. Adding shallow characters, mediocre acting and an incredibly insulting script does not make it better.

RE used to work as a zombie movie. While this has arguably gotten a bit old, Afterlife is just without purpose. In hindsight it seems to be set up as Alice vs. Wesker or the other way round, but it does not work at all.

1. The action scenes do not follow any logic, create no climax and are mostly pointless. Some style elements such as matrix-slow-motion etc. are placed randomly across the movie without purpose.

--Start: Alice infiltrates Umbrella headquarters, killing the first guards close combat. This is about the only decent scene in the whole movie. Reinforcements are then just annihilated by her superpower-look, along with devastating the entire area. Which makes the initial effort to kill people one-by-one feel pretty much effort. After that, suddenly she has countless clones of herself for support, who conveniently all die in a fire when the complex finally explodes. WHAT THE.. !?!? OK. Let's ignore the script, it just fails.

2. Suspense/Cut: There is no suspense at all. Things happen. Any chance for suspense is muted by the insane script and the incredibly bad cutting, where the scene switches EVERY TIME as soon as anything remotely exciting could be about to develop.

3. Visuals/CGI: Afterlife has no "feel" to it. The Umbrella stuff is always brand-new shiny tech and of the outside world we do not see much at all. At the end, when they enter the tanker-like ship, it promised to be some dark grungy place. Instead, EVERYTHING was bright white. Except the helicopters, which were just black. Actually it looked like the CGI budget ran out, but it could also be that silly intentionally.

4. Acting/Characters: Cheesy and generic. Not totally annoying at the best times. Kim Coates wasn't bad in the 2 scenes he got, this is not the type of movie he should be in but he is at least interesting.

I feel this movie was only pieced together lovelessly to generate some new video game sales.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
What happened?
cycoone30 September 2010
One of the things I like about the Resident Evil films is that they take the time to fill in the details while holding the audience in suspense.

This forth film completely falls flat on both accounts. Thanks to 2 dimensional characters, an overdone plot, and poor use of foreshadowing, the entire film is predictable. At the same time it doesn't bother to show or explain how certain important plot devices came to be. The movie reeks from it's overuse of Deus ex machina.

The special effects were the only engaging thing about this movie. A lot of it felt like The Matrix in 3D.

One other thing this film did well was continuity from the 3rd film. I like that they didn't spend much time on flashbacks while being faithful to the events of the 3rd film.

All in all my feeling after seeing the movie was that I was expecting more. They could have made it longer, filled in some missing details, developed the plot/characters more, and had a much more enjoyable film.
94 out of 154 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
no story, but enjoyable
msb-utils6 October 2010
I liked this compilation of scenes. I liked the soundtrack; I liked the acting; I liked the settings; I liked the effects. As a game, it works greatly. The movie is a sum of chunks of stories. Most of them are action stories. A few are horror stories. Another few are mystery stories. And none of them are connected to each other. They just share common characters.

Honestly, the plot is just an excuse for great action scenes. And I liked the action scenes. I rate it zero for the story, ten for the technical quality. And I have to admit it: in the end, I liked it as a whole.
97 out of 162 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
They should've ended it at the third one. Utter trash.
the-timelord-victorious10 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I've always enjoyed the Resident Evil movies, I know they're far from being Oscar worthy material, but overall they've been entertaining one way or another. The first was great, Apocalypse was alright, Extinction was great, if not on par with the first. Afterlife however, is just awful.

Who the HELL is the Executioner? and who created him? Why is Afterlife full of pointless slow motion shots? Why does Alice never show any emotion at all? Why is she making a video diary for half an hour? Why do the zombies have weird tentacles? Yes, I know that they're from Resident Evil 5 but honestly, it's never explained. Why are they here? Why is Wesker dressed like The Terminator? Where is Jill Valentine? She was credited but I'm positive that she wasn't even in the damn thing. Why does Clare disappear for half an hour? Oh, and probably the most important question of all, who in the right mind hires composers under the name 'TomandAndy' to compose a movie like this?

Also, I love how confident they are about a sequel. They even left the damn thing on a cliffhanger. Probably one of the worst cliffhangers I've ever seen. The only redeeming feature I can actually think of in this garbage is Milla Jovovich and even she isn't on top form.

Overall, probably one of the worst films I've ever seen. Bad acting. Bad writing. Bad dialogue. Utterly pointless. They should've stopped at Extinction.
79 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What did you expect?
ztlfire22 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
To even begin to describe just how right people were to doubt Mr. Andersons ability to write a script and direct would be a book in itself. His inability to capture the imagination, to remain consistent to his own plot, to develop characters, and a story line that coincides with the overall story, even understanding the term continuity is a feat for Hercules alone - obviously. Mr. Anderson's lack of creativity and possibly suffering from short and long term memory loss is abundantly in effect with this farce he's created. He claimed it would 'pull the audience in' when in truth all it did was make people walk out - and people are usually easily pleased but not from where I was sitting.

Battle field Earth marries matrix and has an affair with ultra Violet the end result is the bastard child he calls Resident Evil Afterlife.

I will pull out just an example of how terrible the plot was by quoting the goof's section and adding a few of my own: (spoiler next) During the final confrontation with Wesker, Chris and Claire enter the scene. Wesker addresses them by NAME and states they "have become quite an inconvenience". How, and when did they do this? Chris has been locked up since the outbreak of the virus and Claire had no impact on Weskers operations in this or the last movie WHATSOEVER.

In Andersons mind this was a 'salute' to the fans. THE PROBLEM Mr. Anderson is that when a character has no idea who is who and has NEVER encountered them before the dialog makes absolutely no sense and the 'confrontation' is redundant. Not to mention the entire story is warped. Quite a HUGE thing to escape his mind and I wish it ended there. But the man did not just develop a huge plot hole; the entire movie was nothing but plot holes INSIDE plots holes. I never even knew that was possible until now.

His only focus was the 3D CAMERA with his wife as the 'little piggy'.

Mary-sue is back and is now the living embodiment of an oxymoron (which also isn't possible tech but there you go ) and an utter cliché. She loses her powers but can still leap 20 feet in the air and kick a tray of sharp objects with absolute accuracy, not to mention take blows from GIANT Ax's full on and get up with not even a broken rib let alone a bruise. Oh and there is a stabbing but you'll mistaken it for a tooth pick because it seems even when a blade is run right though the arm of Ms mortal Mary-sue all you get is a GUH! and it's business as usual.

The acting WOODEN and the stunts are ridiculous! Considering it's apparently the real world with no 'jacking into' a massive computer world where basic physics don't apply, it's hard to sell and digest just about most of the stunts.

The OC meets the Resident Evil characters and the movie is one god awful fan fiction. With plenty of WTF moments and FTS, even Micheal Bay would be LHAO as the terribly created explosions and gun shots. Because even gun fire is digitally created badly resembling old Japanese English dubbed movies with the lips moving and the dialog happening a few min later! WHERE DID ALL THAT MONEY GO when making this movie?! the answer: 3D.....3D.....THREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE DEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE Slow motion thrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeee deeeeeeeeeeeeeee Really Mr. Anderson, if you wanted to molest the camera there are cheaper ways of doing so than getting a production company to cough up millions of dollars, rent you their staff, and devote more minutes to agonizing slow motion scenes (instead of developing THE ACTUAL STORY) - and cheat people out of their hard earned money which we desperately need in these hard times.

SHAME ON YOU.

To those readers who want a good time SAVE YOUR MONEY for marvel and DC because Capcom has seriously misjudged Andersons professional integrity and ability to deliver the only thing he's achieved is proving his doubters right- he is a hack. His work is a drop out middle schoolers work. Your money and your time will be greatly wasted. Those positive reviews are beyond misleading. They paint a picture of a movie that never happened. Or are written by EXTREMELY generous people or people with low expectations and just wanted to get out of their houses.
37 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A disappointed fan, a mediocre movie and the 3D was a fuzzy mess
quinnox-111 September 2010
I'm a huge fan of Milla Jovovich and the Resident Evil movies. The last one - "Resident Evil: Extinction" - I thought was a great movie and the best in the series so far.

So I had to see this latest installment, what a disappointing and mediocre movie it turned out to be. The 3D was so fuzzy and distracting throughout the film but even if it hadn't been in fuzzy 3D it still was badly directed and poorly written, with hardly any of the signature action scenes, and all the actors were very pitiable and amateurish, with an exceptionally lame lead villain. Most of the action was blah and boring, in routine slow mo cuts. Don't go to see this movie if you want good or creative action scenes or an interesting story.

Most of the actors made no impression whatsoever, with the exception of Milla and Wentworth Miller of "Prison Break" fame. And even Wentworth Miller was given little to do, he didn't have but a handful of lines in the movie and it was a waste of his considerable talent. I really hope that he does better movies and roles in the future. I think he could become a major movie star, but not with appearing in crappy movies like this.

I am giving it a generous 5 rating, and that is from a fans perspective. If I wasn't a fan I would give this movie a 3.

Please let the next Resident Evil have a different director than this sub par effort had, and please let it not be in horrifying 3D.
66 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Alice unites a group of survivors who want to relocate to a strange place called Arcadia
ma-cortes20 December 2011
Fourth spectacular , action-packed and stirring installment of the ¨Resident Evil series¨ , adapted from the video games characters produced by Hiroyuki Kobayashi . Yet another noisy film rendered from a video game which never gets as eerie as a Zombie picture should . Umbrella Corp (The Hive) is the front for some genetics operations and a secret military tech . The deadly virus has decimated the world, exception a little zone in Alaska where live people no-infected . Years later , one time Racoon was destroyed , the Umbrella corporation led by ambitious Dr. Albert Wesker (Shawn Roberts) continues his weird experiments with the deadly T-virus . The deadly virus has been released and reanimated the dead , the Zombies spread the epidemic and those exposed to cruel bite suffer a complete transformation turning into meat-eating sickos . Alice (Milla Jovovich) is attempting to survive , and goes to Alaska , traveling throughout ice desert . While still out to destroy the evil Umbrella Corporation , Alice flies with Claire (Ali Larter) to Los Angeles, where she sees a group of survivors on the roof of a prison asking for help and under siege of the undead . Alice finds new mysterious survivors (Kim Coates , Sergio Peris Mencheta , Boris Kodjoe and Wentworth Miller) at a building in L.A . Alice joins a group of survivors and they must confront carnivorous hordes of zombies starving of human flesh and an evil corporation chief who creates the most horrifying creatures ever made . The survivor group is surrounded , facing the world destruction by deadly epidemic . The misfit bunch wants to relocate to the suspicious but supposedly unharmed safe haven known only as Arcadia.

Unstopped-action gore-feast that provides for high-octane escapist amusement with some eye-catching visuals and pulsing soundtrack . This exciting picture contains thrills, chills , action-filled with fierce combats and lots of gore and guts. The horror and action moments are fast moving and compactly realized. This sequel takes more , more approach , more fights , more blood and gore . The film turns out to be a crossover between 'the nuclear apocalypse of Mad Max 2', the 'George A Romero's Zombies', 'Zack Snyder's Dawn of the dead' and genetic experiments from 'Sigourney Wever-Ripley in Alien saga' and the monsters from ¨Blade¨ and ¨Lord of Rings¨. Of course, the film takes ideas from former parts as 'Resident evil'(2002, Paul W. Anderson, here also producer , director and screenwriter) and 'Resident Evil: Apocalypse' (2004,Alexander Witt) . The creepy images of wide range from the genuinely fantastic to the bizarre along with scary and amazing frames. It's predictable but we have seen the previous chapters but also its predictability is redeemed in part by the charismatic acting from the action-women, Milla Jovovich and Ali Larter. The flesh-eating mutants appearance deliver the goods, plenty of screams, shocks and tension . The make-up assistants create a truly horrible zombie cannibals . Horrifying and astonishing images about apocalyptic events with deserted and destroyed cities, such as the fantastic scenarios in Los Angeles totally inhabited by flesh-munchies creatures . Cool,luminous cinematography using Steadicam by Glen MacPherson and haunting,pulsing Techno-musical score by Tomandandy .The motion picture is regularly directed but with startling visual style by Paul W Anderson.

The complete saga is formed by the following films : ¨Resident evil¨ by Paul W Anderson with Milla , Eric Mabius , Michelle Rodriguez , James Purefoy , Colin Salmon ; this is the best , dealing with a group of containment specialists are sent in and have to fight employees who have been contaminated , while A.I. computer instigates a series of defensive measures to contain the virus . It's followed by ¨Resident evil II : Apocalypse¨ by Alexander Witt with Jared Harris , Iain Glen , Oded Fehr , Sienna Guillory . And ¨Resident evil III¨ by Russell Mulcahy with Ali Larter, Ashanti , Mike Epps , Oded Fehr and of course Milla Jovovich.
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Resident Evil: Full of Life
springsunnywinter5 September 2010
I am a huge fan of the video game series; I've played & completed every Resident Evil game there is and I have 100% trophies of Resident Evil 5.

I loved the previous Resident Evil movie trilogy although many fans were disappointed by them because it wasn't to close to the games and Alice is the main character who isn't in any game. The filmmakers can't please everyone when it comes to movies based on video games because if the movie is very similar to the game then people will say that "What is the point of the movie when it is just as same as the game?" but if it is very different then people will complain that it is not related to the game in any way, shape or form. What Paul W.S Anderson has done is created an original story and had the setting of the game in the first film & in this one as well. Which is the best thing to do and he has proved that he is a terrific writer & director, he may not be the best filmmaker ever but he does know how to make good movies based on games and he is one of my favourite directors. His two movies Mortal Kombat & Resident Evil are both the best video game adaptations to date.

The plot of Resident Evil: Afterlife is that it takes place after Extinction and Alice is continuing to look for survivors in world that has been infected by T-Virus that has turned into flesh eating zombies plus she wants to take revenge on Albert Wesker and this time she if fully prepared with her clones, telekinetic powers and awesome weapons. Fighting Wesker isn't an easy task because he is superhuman himself just like in Resident Evil 5. This instalment is very close to the games and particularly Resident Evil Code Veronica & Resident Evil 5. Those who have played the 2 games will get flashbacks while watching the movie.

This was the most anticipated film for me this year and it absolutely did not disappoint me at all. I loved every minute of it right from start to end. Resident Evil: Afterlife was relentlessly entertaining, exiting and a perfect popcorn movie at the cinema kind. The movie had a great blend of action, horror, sci-fi and thriller. This one had a much more post-apocalyptic look than in extinction and has amazing special & visual effects in just in a $60 million budget. The monsters were just like in Resident Evil 5, e.g. the zombies look like the majini's with their predator like mouth, the executioner and the dogs that split their heads open with teeth inside it. So it was fascinating to see that.

The cast was great, Milla needs no introduction & is fantastic just like always and she is improving in acting, stunts and she doesn't struggle to get the job done because she can do it. Shawn Roberts was a much better Albert Wesker than Jason O'Mara in Extinction.

Overall it's not an Oscar winning kind movie & it doesn't need to be. It's a movie for the fans not for critics so ignore their negative reviews but I had a really good time watching it since I am a fan and check it out if you're looking for an entertaining movie and it's a must see if you are a Resident Evil fan.
173 out of 351 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Had more fun when my toe was septic
rkarsdorp23 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Big fan of the underworld series... But this is just bad...no really... If you don't believe me give it a go....the skyscraper scene is pretty good but the rest is a matrix ripoff. Mila Ill always loved you...ever since when you spoke the word 'multipass' but this....bad! To write a review requires 10 lines but... but I might have to stretch it with nothingness...like the movie. The bad guy looks like 'agent Smith' from the Matrix, dodges the bullets the same way and pretty much uses the same lines. The scenes on the ship looks fake. The storyline is weak and the best acting comes from on of the infected standing on the roof 3rd row and just having his head blown off when trying to say his lines...sorry...Im gutted! Its not good!
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Afterlife" is great-Milla's return to the role, that fits her the most!
drakula20052 September 2010
I saw Resident Evil when it got out back in 2002, and was impressed by the tension and action and, by Milla Jovovich, of course.Although flawed, the second installment of the franchise found more room to expand to than i could've ever imagined.And though it was logical, the third one provided the goods as well with more action and a bigger picture, as well.

Now, visiting a pre-screening of "a movie", everything would've been perfect, if the movie was one of Zack Snyder's upcoming efforts, or Milla/Anderson's new Resident Evil.And boy, was i happy to know it was one of my most anticipated movies this year.

Now, Alice is back, once again.I wasn't sure what to expect, because the series were strong and solid so far, but it isn't easy to keep up the good pace.So, at first, i thought it wasn't going to be easy to match the prequels, especially the scale of the last installment.

But then, the news about the 3D came around, and followed by the fusion system technology announcement, the infamous Cameron creation, that will be used almost ruthlessly often in the future, it was all clear.I saw it getting better and better, the development of the movie was incredible lately and, though the trailer wasn't saying much, i was kind of hoping to cover the best parts, and i luckily hoped right and this was the best part-i wasn't expecting even half of the action and battle sequences i saw.

And i must say, that the cast is the best, that could've been assembled.Ali Larter is great, she's grown so much to the series, that fits her perfectly well.Wenthwort Miller is cool, a little bit Scofield-like, but that's normal.After all, he was great as a con.The only thing i missed was Oded Fehr, who has portrayed a very likable and convincing character in the 2-nd and 3-rd installments.

And, surprisingly, the script had more incommon with the videogames than the prequels had.I mean, that's a fresh take, and the 3D makes it better.This is probably the best 3D since How to Train Your Dragon was around, and as a horror/action movie-the best of it's kind.Just to compare, the technology was way better than the 3D, used in the last "Destination" installment and, as well, better then "Valentine's Day" remake.And those movies made a lot of profits at the Box Office.

And to add something up-i red a review, claiming that the movie is a "Matrix" rip-off.So my advice is this-don't listen to those claims-first of all, there were some stunts, looking very similar to a couple, featured in "The Matrix", but the script led very logically to them, and this isn't a trademark for "The Matrix".People dodging bullets or walking on walls-wow i've seen this somewhere else-oh yes, in, at least 2 or 3 movies.Second of all, those scenes are very sane and surely not even looking close to those, in the Wachovski movie, instead being shot in an entirely different style.It's like claiming that a car, plane or train explosion is a trademark for some movie.And those people should admit, that The Matrix is also copying a couple of movies.And those movies are Alex Proyas's "Dark City" and Germany's "Welt am Draht".So don't give the audience false infos.

Another interesting thing was the way Anderson shot the movie-in entirely different style from the previous ones.This new moves are definitely a change in direction for Anderson as a director, a fresh and surely an epic one.

So expect "Afterlife" to surpass the domestic achievements of its predecessors, because, aside from the fusion tech and the hype surrounding it's release, the movie has something the above-mentioned movies don't-a convincing lead.Because Milla Jovovich sets the mark for lead female characters in all movies to come, and she's fantastic-Alice's return and the role that fits Milla Jovovich the most.

Fantastic movie for fans, a real peak in it's genre.

And one of the best movies of its kind this year.

My rate:A deserved 10/10 for Milla & co.
149 out of 304 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Patchwork filmmaking
p-stepien6 January 2011
Alice (the eternal Mila Jovovich) is back and in multiple copies. Her prime target is the Umbrella Corporation and the now T-virus enhanced Albert Wesker (Shawn Roberts). After a full frontal attack the Umbrella base is left destroyed, but the whole batch of Alice clones get blown sky-high, when Wesker manages to fly away unscathed and detonate the plant. Conveniently for the movie the original Alice survives unscathed as a castaway on-board the plane. During a skirmish with Wesker Alice gets injected with a antidote, that turns her back to being human (but somehow she still manages to survive a terrible plane crash unharmed and keeps her over-the-top fighting abilities largely intact). With Wesker dead and Umbrella disposed of Alice returns to the States to search of her friends, who left for sanctuary in Alaska, only to disappear in mysterious circumstances.

In general a much improved instalment of the series and if anything the whole series remains enjoyable, if uninventive. In this part Anderson actually outdoes himself and instead of thinking up something original he starts borrowing scenes from other movies. Wesker looks and fights like Neo's twin brother, the new zombies bring to mind "Blade 2", whilst The Executioner has a disturbing familiarity to Pyramid Head of the Silent Hill franchise. Nonetheless some of the scenes are very memorable with the combat with The Executioner a real highlight for the movie (especially given the abrupt ending of the final fight).

There may be a bit too many generic elements with this movie, but that has never stopped the franchise from being mindless slash-em-up fun. Even if a somewhat weakly scripted one. Also Alice remains a very likable heroine, so no matter how bad the script if she gets proper screen time and a couple of intriguing fights, than the movie just never seems to feel like a waste of time.
22 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just like all the others its awful
dregj11 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Bad acting nonsensical plot a series of boring action set pieces and just like all the others -absolutely nothing to do with resident evil. Why on earth has this franchise made it to a fourth movie? It fundamentally fails on every level As a cheap game cash in type movie it barely references the source material as a film in its own right its appalling i didn't not care about the characters because they were cardboard cut outs with zero personality i actually found my self hoping the bad guys would win at least then the movie would demonstrate some originality.

fat chance alas
27 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Completely Lives upto it's Expectations!!
creedreaper10 September 2010
If you are a fan of trilogy, you shall not be disappointed. This movie completely lives up to it's expectations. Honestly I don't think 3D was necessary but still it was a great add on. They introduce a new star cast who were familiar from TV shows etc. and they also did a great job. Also don't storm out of theaters right after the credits, stay for few minutes and see a MAJOR clue. Milla Jovovich yet again surprises us with her charismatic hardcore action. I cannot imagine anyone else for the role of Alice besides her. Ali Larter didn't had a major role but she also kicked butt! And offcourse if you like Zombies, this one has more than the previous parts. The soundtracks of the movie were breath-taking. They literally gave me goosebumps! I'm just not happy that it wasn't long enough. I was hoping for it to be at least 120mins but it was instead 90mins but I guess they are saving it for the next chapter. And yes believe me there will be a next one! I cannot wait to own this movie in Blu-Ray.

Go watch it, you will not be disappointed!!!
65 out of 132 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
OMG! It was freakin' AMAZING
agnello-dei7 September 2010
I loved every moment of it, I'm a fan of Milla and I've seen most of her movies, even the terrible ones, and I have followed the Resident Evil franchise since the first movie, my favorite was the second one for it had the most action...

but now I absolutely love the 4th one! It has so much action and fun! The 3D is the best I've seen (along with Avatar) and nothing like the crappy conversions done to Clash of the titans and Alice in wonderland.

I'm sure there are whinny little haters on the franchise, but they need to take a seat because this movie is solid.

The cinematography is beautiful and the visuals are stunning, you can definitely tell they invested a whole lot more money and time on it.

If you are looking for a fun kick ass action/adventure with horror in it this is your movie! Best action I've seen in years!
62 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Only enjoyable if you're mentally handicapped or lobotomized
slackers-mailbox19 September 2010
..or just six years old. This movie is so full of *beep* i don't even know where to begin with. The opening scene, starring a bunch of cloned ninja-sword wielding bitches. The helicopter crash.. seriously.. WTF? The permanent Matrix-style slow-mo scenes. The ultimately lame "story" or the god awful and annoying music. The 3D effects were the only good thing in this movie, but still couldn't save it from being utter trash.

The only reason to watch this movie would have been a naked Milla Jovowitch. Unfortunately, there is no naked Milla in it.

This movie get's a solid one from me. You're better off playing the video game, or watching your neighbors dog licking it's ass.
32 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
res 4......more like the matrix 4
chrismullally5118 September 2010
where did it all go wrong? This was not the best game adaption to begin with, for me silent hill is still the closest game to movie effort. But I really love the first 3 resident evil movies, the third being my personal favourite so when I seen a trailer a few months ago for afterlife I could not wait to see this. Maybe that was the problem, expectation.

I have read some other reviews on this site and I am puzzled, maybe I missed the point or I'm being to hard on the film? But for me the games and the previous 3 films had all being about atmosphere: this has none at all. It just rambled along until the next "slow-motion just for the sake of it" scene, of which there are a lot (id guess 20mins of the film is slow motion).

I just don't know what happened to the series, as I said I am a huge fan of both the games and the films, barred this one of course, and can't understand how people can be so happy with this poor rip off of a film. There are so many direct rip off bits from the matrix, the obvious ones being the trinity style jump out the window from the trailer and even Wesker looks and moves like an agent.

But this said, the easiest job in the world is being a critic. I am just so disappointed that it turned out like this, but I will just cross my fingers and hope against hope the nest one is a lot lot better.
47 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Why did I give this a 10?!
rjaymolina16 September 2010
I gave Resident Evil: Afterlife a 10/10 because I got exactly what I wanted out of it: GGG! Short for GIRLS, GUNS, and GORE! If you haven't figured these movies out by now, then you're most likely some loyal fan who expects too much. Yes, I am a fan of the games. But that doesn't mean I want to see an exact replica of the games. There's no suspense, you know who's going to live and die. I mean if I wanted an exact shot-for-shot Resident Evil adaptation, I would play the game! Is this film dumb? Yes. It's a guilty pleasure. And I'm fine with that. I love seeing gorgeous women kick ass, I love seeing ridiculous gore, I love being smart enough to see that this movie is NOT supposed to be Oscar-worthy. If anything this film was more fun than the previous installments, there was humor, great action, and hot chicks. Seriously folks, you should have figured this whole film series out after the second one. Don't come in with high expectations. Go with a group of friends and have a good time. If there's one thing that's absolutely incredible, it's the 3D. Probably the best since Avatar. Overall Resident Evil: Afterlife is a bloody good time. Definitely a great way to end the summer.
62 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
From a Resident Evil Gamer's Point of View...
WerewolfWinters11 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Don't waste your money. It's a good movie ONLY if you haven't played the games. Here's why it angered me;

They messed up Wesker's virus. They claim he's infected by the T-virus and than make him have "symptoms" from the Majini parasite from RE5 game. And even then, it's wrong. His virus is the Progenitor virus - which isn't the same as the T-virus or the parasite that make the Majini. Not only that, the Plagas that is used to make the Majini often spurts out of the infected one's mouth, which they had Wesker do TWICE. They also had him crazy enough to foolishly believe that if he "ingested" Alice's flesh (who was the only one to perfectly bond with the T-virus) he would gain control over his own virus. Wesker is crazy- smart, but he's not crazy enough to go cannibal (though he is crazy enough to believe he is God).

The Cerberus are also infected by the same parasite that make the Majini (Type 2 or Type 3 Plagas). This is not correct - as the Cerberus enemy are T-virus infected dogs - not Plagas-infected dogs.

Alice was turned back into a human by Wesker injecting antibodies to the T-virus into her and she's still Super-God moder throughout the movie. (But her clones were all killed within the first 10 minutes, so that made me happy).

Claire gets one AWEsome fight scene in the entire movie, and than Alice usurps her by finishing off the Executioner.

They stole a scene DIRECTLY OUT OF RE5 and replaced Sheva with Claire. Here's that scene (minus the conversation - starting from 0:17-1:20): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mNs0pF5iCVo And it should be noted, that while that scene was going on, Alice was just STANDING THERE, afraid of the two Cerberus, even though in the first movie she managed to kick one in the face LONG BEFORE SHE WAS EVEN INFECTED.

They also made the P30 devices, used to control people, on K-mart and Claire ridiculously easy to tear off while in RE5 it takes forever to rip it off of Jill. Not to mention they added "memory loss" as a symptom of that device - which is also incorrect.

Also, the zombies from previous installments of this movie franchise have suddenly evolved into the Majini from RE5. Zombies are beings infected by a VIRUS while Majini are beings that host a PARASITE. The virus does not mutate or evolve into a parasite, thus this is incorrect as well.

I can't say anything on the 3D, since I tend to avoid them because I can't get contacts in my eyes and I ENJOY seeing the movie clearly.... and it's hard as high heck to get the 3D glasses over prescription glasses anyways...

The soundtrack was iffy to me, I liked the music but not for the movie and the action scenes. Not to mention the needless amount of slow motion scenes that were, as I've seen posted around here, used only to further show off the 3D effects. Speaking of action scenes there were only a handful of them and when a character died it was often too quick to see much gore or it was off-screen, which does not make for a good horror genre film like the Resident Evil movies are SUPPOSED to be.

Many of the video game characters that were copied over from the games weren't played through right. There was an emotional distance between Chris and his sister Claire even though in the games, Claire was caught in Raccoon City because she was searching for her brother Chris, while Chris went running off to Antarctica to save his little sister when she needed it (though Claire had amnesia at the time, so her being emotionally distant is understandable). Albert Wesker's name was never once mentioned, either - so only those who are familiar with Resident Evil's big bad via video games would instantly know who he is.

In fact, I'm convinced the only reason they added Wesker into the movie was so they did not have to create a big bad villain of their own, as Wesker is one of the most notable villains of all time, even ranking in Game Informer's Top 10 Most Notable Villains in the past. This shows lack of thinking and creativity on their part - not to mention all the flaws and mistakes with the information that come directly out of the game's franchise (as noted above) - which leads me to believe that Paul W.S. Anderson was lying when he claimed to be a Resident Evil fan.... or they just had some random intern with an IQ of 10 play the games and take notes for them...

It would just be easier and a much happier time for everyone to buy all the Resident Evil games and make a night out of it. Get the Playstations/XBOX 360 and GameCube/Wii hooked up and go to town on some zombies. While the games themselves have flaws it's much easier to understand than that plot-less movie that is Afterlife not to mention I've played each game several times through and some parts STILL make me jump.
31 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Eh, it's got its moments.
evilresident0979 August 2011
Plot: As Alice (Milla Jovovich) continues her fight against the nefarious Umbrella Corporation, she meets up with a group of survivors in Los Angeles, who are trying to reach the safe haven known as Arcadia.

So far, here's how the series has done, in my opinion: the first was great, the second was horrible, and the third, though somewhat laughable, was still entertaining. After seeing this one though, I think the series is starting to go downhill again. The movie delivers basically what you could expect: tons of zombie-killing action, some cardboard cutout characters, and a useless story. Afterlife succeeds in all of this.

Aside from the lead performance by Jovovich, I could hardly care less for any of the other actors. One of the unfortunately bad performances actually goes to Wentworth Miller, who played an agonizingly hollow Chris Redfield. And the story needed a complete re-do, because it was almost pointless. One example is the use of the Executioner from the game series. Though I thought his fight with Alice and Claire was cool, I was completely puzzled as to what his purpose in the movie was.

It does do well in the action sequences, including an awesome, though short, standoff on a rooftop. But some of the action is overdrawn thanks to the ridiculously large amount of slow-motion. If they ran the movie without slow-mo, I bet the movie would lose half of its running time. XD I also liked the soundtrack by media boys tomandandy and the film's use of 3D really helped during some of the more intense moments.

Overall it does have its perks and the 3D's good, but this is nothing more than a one-trick pony. Believe me; I'm a big fan of the games, and even I was disappointed.
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Where were the Zombies???
wacjam13 September 2010
For me personally this movie was a major disappointment. I consider myself a fan of all things Zombie. Being such I believe Zombie movies should include "Zombies" as a main part of the film. Unfortunately in this movie the Zombies were used basically as a morbid backdrop at best.

Resident Evil Afterlife was more about Annie's ongoing battle with the Umbrella Corporation and its waves and waves of armed guards. It began looking like a cheap rip-off of the Matrix trilogy from years gone by. Even their new Umbrella Corp. "bad guy" seems to be invincible like the Agents in the Matrix.

The Zombies themselves (although true to the game) have taken on a new squid faced appearance turning their looks into something more like a bastard child of Davy Jones (Pirates of the Caribbean) apposed to a traditional Zombie.

If you are looking for a true representation of the video game you'll probably be pleased with this movie, but if you are looking for a great Zombie flick you just might end up being as disappointed as I was.

I guess I'll have to wait for World War Z for my next Zombie fix... I just hope it turns out better than Afterlife did.
31 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed