Shrink (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
45 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Underrated. Brilliant, Simple, Real.
NewSkol2 December 2009
If you are an IMDb addict like myself who has set himself or herself strict guidelines as to the minimum score and/or number of votes, then this movie is one of those films that are underrated. Personally, I broke my rule of a minimum of 7.0 rating due to the fact that Kevin Spacey was in the picture. Very glad I did so. In fact, I am going to cancel all rulings based on this movie alone.

Before I go on, I must say that it is understandable why the movie is underrated. The movie develops at a slower pace than what the average movie fan is used to and it definitely lacks the suspense moments, action, thrills and so on. However it has so much more to compensate for it. Intricate character development, superb acting, deep and very well though through screenplay and dialogues, makes this movie a brilliant and yet simple unique creation.

It makes you think about your own lives, the lives of those around you. Everybody has got problems, everyone has got issues, its not just on the big screen. Often, the stories of those around you are far more profound than what you see on the screen. The screenplays and movies have tried nearly every possible scenario, every possible plot. Directors and screenwriters, alike, try to deliver ever more complicated and twisted plots that the movie watchers would be surprised by. This movie strikes all that, it forgets Hollywood and delivers something unique and true to humanity. It brings you down to earth and sheds light into the lives of those around you, on something that happens to a lot of us, everyday.

As always, Kevin Spacey delivers a top notch performance. This is the movie that you would want to see more than once, maybe it is one of those movies that you would be willing to watch twice… in a row. I believe that there is something to be found in this movie upon each new time that you watch it. It is definitely one of the best movies in the past year or so. Simply brilliant.
86 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great movie, bad directing?
lorriebeauchamp19 November 2012
I just caught this quirky movie on Netflix. Yet another exploration of the ennui that surrounds celebrity status, this is a great little gem that showcases Spacey's talents well. It came very close to being great, but stopped short, I suspect because of bad decisions in direction and editing. Characters were brought in (Robin Williams being one) for side stories which never quite connected to the main plot. Pot addiction is shown as a series of untimely naps, which is not realistic. The audience never gets a glimpse into the main character's despair, or the circumstances surrounding his wife's death. A love interest is developed and then never followed through. Characters walk in and out of the story without strong reasons. The ending is trite, as if they just needed to wrap it up. Too many loose ends, and a waste of some good talent. Nonetheless, because of Spacey (and a nod to the well-developed friendship with his drug dealer, that was fun to watch) I hung in there happily right to the end.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Shrink is not for the Phatom Menace crowd.
RonniBrant12 December 2009
This movie will not satisfy your endless hunger for car chases, explosions and over-the-top joke-every-nine-seconds sitcom dialog. Shrink is a subtly funny drama of depth with real characters in real pain, each coping in their own way. The directing is perfect. This picture called for downplayed artistry...and that's exactly what Jonas Pate delivered. He knew well enough to keep this film grounded and let the characters breathe. And speaking of the characters; they were all beautifully written and performed. I really wasn't familiar with most of the cast...but I felt they all did their character's justice. Spacey wasn't the only one that brought his A-game to the set. Shrink is not a bundle of excitement. It's a beautiful, touching movie that will be enjoyed by any adult with a taste for quality drama.
39 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Disappointingly not engaging
Gordon-1119 September 2009
This film is about a psychiatrist who fell into a mess of drug addiction and emotional turmoil after his wife's death.

"Shrink" could have been interesting, as it chronicles the healer's life being wounded. Acting is good, sets are nice and production is good too. However, the pacing is simply too slow. I also find the characters not so engaging. I view their lives, their pains and their struggles, but I don't feel for them. I just don't care about them. This lack of engagement kills the movie for me.

The strong cast and strong acting (especially by Kevin Spacey) failed to translate into a piece of touching cinema. It's a great pity.
67 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Alternate Title (?) "LA-LA-Land's SHRINK to the STARS!"
KissEnglishPasto1 August 2016
Certainly, despite going uncredited here, Los Angeles is a silent partner in SHRINK, since it couldn't possibly have been set in any other place on earth, where "Dysfunctional" seems to be more the norm than the exception, when it comes to family, as well as to interpersonal and intra-personal, relationships! SHRINK can mean many different things to many different people in many different situations. That's an answer many Shrinks would be absolutely intrigued by; especially our conflicted anti-hero in this Kevin Spacey vehicle!

For IMDb Reviewers SHRINK is just about as close to perfect as it gets: Writers, especially the "Screen-" variety, of every stripe abound: Ex-, failed, latent, undiscovered, washed-up, wannabes and hacks; they're all here. Hey! Aren't WE all writers? Wouldn't most of us love a crack at writing a screenplay with major backing? Acting, as well as producing, also find their way into SHRINK. Of course, the 800 pound Gorilla in the room here is Kevin Spacey, in a tailor-made, tour de force role as the somewhat self-absorbed, teetering-on-the-brink, grief-stricken, performance-impaired, celebrity Author/Shrink. His rendering merits 9*. Yet what surprises me most about SHRINK is the quality of the ensemble performance, by a relatively unknown cast.

WOW! Director Jonas Pate, (His 3rd go in the Director's Chair, his first in 12 years!) certainly managed to get the very best out of his cast! Keke Palmer (AKEELAH and the BEE, remember?) has morphed from elementary school girl to high school student, and turns in a gifted, natural-as-can-be performance. Remember her name...We'll be hearing it a lot in coming years! Dallas Roberts is exquisite as the Uber-neurotic agent/production exec. His "I'm Afraid of Everything!" monologue is Oscar-worthy! There are others who deserve mention, but I want to leave some things to you! A few flaws, but willing to overlook them. .. 9*....ENJOY/DISFRUTELA!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Interesting start, mediocre middle and a disappointing end.
badoli14 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Sadly, when i see Kevin Spacey in a such serious movie, i instantly start comparing that movie to "American Beauty" or "L.A. Confidential". But this film doesn't even need great examples to underwhelm.

It starts off really well, setting the mood of desperation nice and subtle with well thought-out scenes defining the character of Henry Carter as a tragic shrink doubting sense in life and his ability in helping people. Alas, it doesn't last. Too many characters are introduced, too often the movie jumps around back and forth, too abrupt and radical the atmosphere of the movie changes. For example: As much as i like Robin Williams, but what purpose had his character in this movie? It just added another storyline distracting from the main story of the movie.

The saddest part is the finish though. I did expect a twist to solve the whole situation, but this superficial solution just left me speechless. I felt angry that i felt sympathy for the protagonists! A Hollywood flick has to end good of course, i understand that. But come on, after an hour into it all the people tune from dark and desperation to joy and happiness thanks to the best script of the world? Only writers can seriously come up with that! Not even the brilliant Kevin Spacey can convince me of that nonsense.
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A whole lot of nothing going on.....
mjk28015 December 2009
This movie has some very good elements going for it, but for me it never comes together in a nice crescendo. Kevin Spacey is very good in my opinion, with a more honest performance that isn't too much like his usual Spacey-ness (you know what I mean if you've seen him in other movies). The rest of the cast is fine too and there's a good bit going on in the movie.

The problem I had was that it seems like it takes forever for anything to happen (and it pretty much doesn't until the very end). There's SO much heavy dialogue followed by solemn stares by the characters that at first you don't mind it because you know it's an emotional film going in, but eventually you just get fed up and can't stop thinking when something, anything will take a dramatic turn.

Unfortunately it just didn't cut it for me. It's not a horrible film by any means, but not quite worth watching in my opinion. With some snappier dialogue or a tighter pace I probably would have really enjoyed it.
34 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Dreams and desperation in L.A
BernardoLima15 September 2009
Kevin Spacey plays Henry Carter,a very famous and successful shrink,practicing in Hollywood, with a very extensive celebrity clientèle.With 2 self help books published,Carter seems to have it all figured it out but these days he's the one who needs help. Unable to cop with his wife's suicide Carter has been self-medicating with marijuana falling into a depressive state. Jemma is a young girl who's mother committed suicide as well.She doesn't understand why and develops an angry behavior.The school sent her to carter for some therapy sections.Then we have several secondary characters, Kate Amberson, an actress past her prime,Jeremy, a young writer trying to come up with a good script,Patrick, a successful and ruthless Hollywood agent who suffers from paranoia and anxiety,Shamus,a young actor who wants to do meaningful films and be taken seriously,Daisy who is Patrick's assistant,Holden,one of Carter's patients who is an alcoholic and Keira, an actress who's sleeping her way trough Hollywood.Shrink is an amazing movie.All the story-lines are obviously intertwined but in a very subtle way (not like crash).The characters are very human and none of them is two-dimensional.They were all well written and their stories were well explored. Each one is memorable in their own way.Kevin Spacey is absolutely fantastic as Carter and so is Dallas Roberts as the eccentric Hollywood agent. The musical score couldn't be better, beautiful slow melodies that compliment the movie perfectly. Shrink is a subtle movie,it doesn't try to hard to grab your attention but it certainly does.I wonder why this movie hasn't been talked about a little more. Shrink is small in hype but big in quality.

8/10
29 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Every Day, In Every Way,They're Getting Better (or are they?)
druid333-21 September 2009
This is one of those oddball films that despite the fact that it boasts a fine cast,it somehow manages to slip between the cracks (at least in distribution terms). Shrink concerns a cadre of Los Angelas head cases,searching for some kind of better meaning in life. Kevin Spacey is Henry Carter,a successful psychologist,who has written a best selling self help book who's own life is crying out for meaning. His wife committed suicide the year before,and he seeks solace by medicating himself with Marijuana,and has all but given up on his own patients. Keke Palmer is Jemma,an angry high school student who is sent to Henry,but opts to hide out in the movies,day after day (she wants to be a film maker,herself). Mark Webber is Jeremy,Henry's friend,who is taking an interest in Jemma (but mostly as a friend). Add the likes of Saffron Burrows (Fay Grim,Time Codes,and not nearly seen enough in films as she deserves),is Kate,Henry's neighbor,and oddly enough,Robin Williams as Holdin,one of Henry's patients,and it all comes together in an uneven,but not unwatchable drama/comedy. Director Jonas Pate,moving up from producing and/or directing for television,makes the most of Thomas Moffett's script about screwed up Los Angelas arch types. Not rated by the MPAA,but contains pervasive pot smoking,raunchy language & adult situations.
37 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very, very memorable example of filmmaking
christianvillagomez12 September 2010
First of all I've been very aware of how critics gave this film lackluster reviews yet I beg to differ, and thankfully so do most people rating this on IMDb. It's essentially a Hollywood dramedy revolving around the couple of individual lives including Dr. Henry Carter played oh so charismatically and sharply by Kevin Spacey with many other characters such as Jeremy, an ongoing writer played by Mark Webber and Jemma: an emotionally struggling teenager girl played by the very identifiable star Keke Palmer. Be aware though, I watched this on T.V and was very close to passing this up due to it's not-so-appealing 2/4 star rating on Dish but I really felt like I needed to see this at least once due to its interesting premise and after watching it I was proud to say to myself that it exceeded beyond any short-term expectations I may have had for it at the moment. The most identifiable trait that really characterized it is that it may be just over an hour-and-a-half but it feels just over 2 hours, most people would assume that's a bad thing and would immediately go on to bash it for its slow pace, I prefer to call it STEADY pacing since the characterizations are done so right considering director Jonas Pate's very realistic and, should I say, very TRANQUIL style. You really hang on throughout this whole journey of a movie embracing what next step each of these people have to face in their lives and I couldn't help but feel satisfied by the end of the movie, which is indeed the sure plus way of knowing it was a good movie wait, change that: a fantastic movie.
18 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Overflowing with great performances and multi-pronged plot lines
secondtake31 January 2011
Shrink (2009)

We know the joke that is no joke at all--psychiatrists are the ones who need the help.

The rest of the cast needs help, too, but Kevin Spacey is a perfectly dour, complex, troubled, and rather smart shrink. And if his performance is nuanced and powerful in an undramatic way, the large supporting cast is exceptional, too. Exceptional. There might be issues with the neat ending, or with some of the motivations here and there, but there is so much going on within this clearly deceptive world of Hollywood insiders and outsiders, almost anything goes.

This is director Jonas Pate's first feature, after many t.v. episodes and some music video. That he coordinated such an involved plot, and made it look good, is impressive. That he got such an array of actors to be their idiosyncratic selves without too much strain and affectation is also impressive. It might help that I expected an ordinary film and found it extraordinary. It has an echo in many ways of "Short Cuts" and in many ways equals it, though that 1993 film had nothing but the highest expectations (Robert Altman directing, based on Raymond Carver stories). "Shrink" is refreshing in how it approaches Hollywood peripherally--not through a producer's office and some actors looking to make it, but through this psychiatrist who treats Hollywood's elite.

There might be a sense, especially at first, that there is no clear direction to the plot. But that's a matter of having so many pieces, and they haven't started fitting together. I found each subplot engaging enough to lead me along quite happily right away. And so when it got more integrated, and the stakes of the characters were raised, the whole just got better and better.

I'm not sure how this slipped by everyone's attention. Don't let it slip yours.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Uneven, hectic plot - but well performed
BeneCumb2 March 2013
The plot is probably realistic, but as nothing catchy is happening most of the time, it becomes annoying soon; well, there are some twists, but they are not surprising or so - bearing in mind the past or present behavior of the characters and the things happened to them. The number of characters is very big and the level of their interlocking is difficult to monitor at times. The cast is strong, but Kevin Spacey's character (Dr. Henry Carter) is still most elaborated and visible on screen; however, it is not among the best roles Spacey has performed. Moreover, there are also good small supporting roles (Robin Williams as Jack Holden, Robert Loggia as Dr. Robert Carter, Henry's father).

I presume it is well accepted in the U.S. where seeing a shrink is almost a regular element of life and success. But the topic and the types were uninviting to me - although I tend to like Sundance movies.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A movie that reinforces the sad reality of life for many in L.A.
jeffrey494930 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
The plot is simple and well tried - a group of seemingly unconnected people become connected for good or for bad by means of a common denominator - in this case Kevin Spacey, who is a 'Shrink to the Stars'; but a shrink who himself is so lost through the death of his wife that he himself can't cope. He needs more help than they do. Even his father, who is... yes, you guessed it... a shrink, can't seem to do much to help.

The movie is set in L.A. and does a great job in reinforcing the picture that the rest of the world has about many people in L.A. (especially those who are Hollywood connected), who seem always to be wallowing in a mix of self-pity and helplessness, and who are dependent on drugs and shrinks (or should that be shrinks who are themselves dependent on something or somebody else?).

I don't rate 'SHRINK'. Kevin does his very best to deliver weak lines and he must have been fed up that the director could only think to show how screwed up he was by making him either slump in a chair for hours endlessly puffing on cigarettes and marijuana, or sitting for days in car with a low life drug pusher gaining buying both more drugs and homespun therapy. In fact the director struggles throughout to make something of this script and screen play. Probably because he is tasked with showing people having problems who really don't have any bigger problems than millions of others around the world in or outside L.A. Robin Williams appears in a cameo role as... well himself, as far as I could tell. His appearance adds no weight to the movie whatsoever (in fact the opposite) and the producers should have saved his fees and given a less well known actor a chance. The feel-good ending is nothing more than a convenient way to finish. No. The director of SHRINK should not be too proud of himself. As a movie, Shrink fails to deliver any meaningfull story or memorable experience. The only smiley aspect of the whole production was the movie producer character who is paranoid over cleanliness and calamity. That added a light humorous touch, but it was not enough to redeem the director in general and he should never be forgiven for the unimaginative way he handled the 'kicking over the motorcycle' scene. Even my parrot knew that was coming.

Shrink fails to convince the viewer that anyone in the story has such a serious problem that can't be solved by sipping a nice cup of tea and chatting with a sensible friend.

Watch it but don't expect too much.
20 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Tell it to me straight, doc
moviemanMA4 October 2009
Shrink stars Kevin Spacey as Henry Carter, a psychiatrist who's fortune and fame just doesn't seem to matter any more after the loss of his wife. Now is the time to cope, and that is something that he just cannot deal with. Instead he goes into a downward spiral of self pity, denial, and drug use.

Basically it is going to take a lot for Dr. Carter to see what he is doing to himself. What unfolds is a Crash-like web of interweaving stories that end up coming together in the end. There is the agent, his taken for granted secretary, the up and coming movie star, the aging movie star, the drug dealer, the distracted and misguided teenager, the young, talented, and undiscovered writer, and of course, the shrink. I might have even missed a character or two.

This film means well. It has some good characters and a good direction of where it is going. The only problem is that it has too much going on. Films like Pulp Fiction and Crash have a lot of characters and subplots going on, but the material is so rich and powerful that is can support big twists, connections, and revelations. This film just doesn't have enough "umph" to get off the ground.

Spacey does a pretty decent job at portraying Dr. Carter. He is mostly deadpan and emotionless, with the exception of a few revealing scenes. Other than that he doesn't show off too much of his skill, just fulfills the role of his character. I was pleased with Robin Williams performance as the aging actor trying to find himself during a late mid-life crisis.

What would have made this film better would be to limit the number of stories going on, following just a few, or maybe even one. I think Spacey's conflict is enough to carry a film. It also would have given him more freedom to explore his character. There is a lot going on under the surface that we only get to see for a little while. I wanted more. I wanted something like in American Beauty where we get to see everything that the character has to offer. It's like watching the metamorphosis of a butterfly. Each stage is so defined and clearly labeled. Here we just see a few rises and falls, and that's about it.

It's a pretty run of the mill indie dramedy with a few laughs here, a few tears there, and nothing really outstanding going on otherwise. I wouldn't say avoid it, but I wouldn't go out of my way to find it. You will not need therapy after viewing this, that's for sure.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Boring, disappointing, yawn
maggie-mc28 February 2010
I can honestly say this was a very dull movie. It's not often I fall asleep watching a movie, but this was one of them. I am a huge Kevin Spacey fan and was main reason I decided to continue to watch after the first 30 minutes. Shortly after that time, my son fell asleep, then the spouse, then myself. I felt Kevin was wasted in this role and was miscast. I found him neither likable or dislike-able, just bored and bland. The story and scenes were disjointed and I found it didn't go anywhere for a LONG time. I would have liked to have seen more reference to the reason why the character was so detached from life. If you see this on the shelf, give it a miss!!
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
'Shrink' (2009)
Pain-of-Salvation1 August 2009
Unlike last year's similarly undercirculated film chronicling the interconnecting lives of several people in the Hollywood film biz, 'What Just Happened,' 'Shrink' succeeds in dismantling the barrier between characters and audiences.

The film's main character, Doctor Henry Carter (Kevin Spacey), is just one of several that manages to slowly earn your compassion. Kevin Spacey has always done an excellent job playing Kevin Spacey, but his role as Carter gives him a slightly larger emotional gamut to run, making it his best of the decade.

The rest of the cast (including a seldom seen Saffron Burrows and an unusually placed Robin Williams) complements the core crux of Spacey's character, especially Dallas Roberts' Patrick, an eccentric agent.

As the film plays out, it seems as though it will have a hard time wrapping up all of the sub- plots in introduces, as the list of important characters is relatively long. Unfortunately, that seems to be the case and is perhaps the only noteworthy flaw of 'Shrink' (a big flaw, however).

That said, even if you walk out wanting a little more from one or more characters, you'll still walk about thinking about them all, as each is memorable in his or her humanity.

The New York Times review suggests that some of the characters are a little too "sketchy" and the plot somewhat "contrived," but with a lot of films, those criticisms are a little misleading. To vehemently endorse realism is to take away from what makes these characters so relatable. If some character skeletons have become cliché, it's because audiences connect with those clichés. And, at the end of the day, while 'Shrink' is probably a more than slightly inaccurate portrayal of the world and characters it presents, that inaccuracy doesn't matter when you empathize with those characters.
18 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Closure in the Land Where Dreams Come True
zulu78921 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I saw this film twice. Oddly enough, each time i was able to pick up something else. Perhaps the most important thing that left a big imprint was closure and how it can be achieved, sometimes with the help of others, who are suffering and looking also for closure by themselves. The cloud of marijuana smoke can't numb the pain of the main character, Hollywood shrink, Henry Carter, played by Kevin Spacey, who is alone and living on top of the hills of LA, rich and famous, with the city at his feet, but still a wounded man in search for closure after the death by suicide of his wife. Kevin Spacey with his face alone does an excellent job showing to the camera, the progression of the emotional decay, which Dr. Carter is experiencing.

All this framed by a city, LA, and Hollywood, with all the loneliness and empty feeling of their manicured lawns and beautiful houses.

His network of friends are now patients, and he's alone, but without knowing that, all his patients are in one way or another seeking for the same closure.

Jemma, Keke Palmer is experiencing the same emotional anger for the lost of her mother, but instead seeking refuge in movie theaters and dreaming of one day be part of that world.

Shamus, Jack Huston, perhaps channeling Colin Farrell, the hot new Irish actor of action films, is hurting because he wants to be taken seriously, even if he doesn't know what that means.

Jeremy, Mark Webber, the aspiring writer suffering from Writer's block in search for an idea and a new love.

Kate Amberson, Saffron Burrows realizing that is too old for Hollywood but still young to feel love again.

Jack Holden, Robin Williams in a rare cameo appearance, portraying the aging macho actor in search for the last round at the sex game, to prove that he still has it.

And I left for last, Dallas Roberts, with his character of Patrick, the movie agent, with a compulsive disorder and a talent for hurting others people feelings. All that done in a incredible job with all the mannerisms and "talk" of Hollywood.

As the films moves on, you can see some of the same synergies showed in "Good Will Hunting" between shrink and patients, but in this case is more concentrated on the side of the doctor, the healer.

All these characters come along and resolve their issues, sometimes by themselves sometimes with the help of the each others, and in the process,they achieve the most important objective, to heal the healer, Dr. Carter.

This movie is a small gem, with very good character description and excellent acting especially from Kevin Spacey and Dallas Roberts, perhaps not as powerful and strong, but it achieves what the director had in mind in a very subtle and consistent way. I agree with a comment expressed before "Shrink is small in hype but big in quality."
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A European movie from Hollywood?!
alexo-85 November 2009
I've seen movies like this one, but the thing is they're all European. So, I ask my self, why would the Americans want to make a European movie? The movies should be fun and entertaining, not depressing. That's what the European filmmakers usually don't know, and that's why they rarely come out with a big success. I believe that "Shrink" is one of the rare American movies that take European approach, usually it's the other way around. Don't believe me?! Go and take a look at the Italian film "La Stanza Del Figlio" and "Shrink" will look like a sequel. But don't get me wrong, I don't dare saying the movie is bad. I really think that these guys deserve 9 out of 10 just for making an effort to come out with something new and for being able to withstand the pressure of Hollywood (and it's well known clichés), while going upstream.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
All that acting for this script??
ozytheoz4 June 2010
I love Kevin Spacey and believe he is more talented than just an actor. He has done his job for this movie and I wouldn't finish watching the movie if it wasn't for him. This movie has no script that pulls the attention of the viewer. It's just a compressed version of an ordinary TV series. This girl assigned for that shrink by the school, shrinks patient is a movie producer and his friend is a broke writer and they all find themselves interconnected throughout the movie.. What is this crap? Please be more creative, I would give a D grade if this script was handed in to me for screen writing class. Please do not shoot movies just because the right actors are hired. Read the script and get objective criticism first..
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Yet another L.A. Suicide Flic
theoryneutral9 November 2009
As the title may suggest, this is just another film that follows around the very depressing lives of L.A. residents.

Add 2 suicides to the mix, an OCD manager and a pregnant secretary, and you've got 'Shrink'.

The problem here is that what we've got is not a genre but the same movie being made over and over again.

Here is the formula:

Depressed L.A. residents as protagonists who feel like utter failures because that is exactly what they are

+

A couple of tragedies to explain the depression (how does that make following these characters around any more interesting?)

+

Flirtation with the idea of character bonding and development, but falling short.

We get it. It's reality. But we don't go to the movies for reality now, do we?
9 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Well written and well made, but the plot is replaced with depressed characters
napierslogs29 December 2010
Kevin Spacey is the "Shrink", a pot-smoking, dejected L.A. therapist. Celebrities walk in and out of his office, leaving him even less caring. There is a fair amount of humour in the dialogue making all of the lonely, despondent people not quite as sad as they otherwise would be.

The plot should develop when he meets Jemma (Keke Palmer) a downcast teenager. She's the one that seems to tie in all the characters; the suffering screenwriter, the delusional executive, the pregnant assistant, the ageing actress, and the womanizing, alcoholic Robin Williams (I think he probably is playing his real self). It's an ensemble film with interweaving characters, but not much happens.

It gets interesting at the end, but they don't take the potential amusing conflicts anywhere, just giving the characters happier resolutions. "Shrink" is a well written, well made film, but the plot is replaced with depressed characters searching for just a little bit of meaning which the film is actually able to supply.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
I wanna be sedated after seeing this trash!
meeza24 May 2010
I am calling my movie shrink! Yes, they do have that! I have just witnessed the most appalling excuse of a movie entitled "Shrink". Director Jonas Pate's movie had no uppers but plenty of downers. Kevin Spacey stars as Hollywood Psychiatrist Dr. Henry Carter who loves to smoke his shrinking marijuana joints and indulge in self-pity due to his wife's recent suicide. Dr. Carter is a psychiatrist to many Hollywood types including: movie stars, inspiring writers, and narcissistic agents. A few of those fill in the intertwined supporting story lines of the movie, which were non-therapeutic to the non-existence viewing pleasure of "Shrink". Thomas Moffett was definitely "off it" with his mind-numbing screenplay. Just 10 minutes into the movie, I wanted to enlarge my DVD remote control's shrinky mute button to get to it faster so I would not have to hear more of the "Shrink" atrocious screenplay within the numerous story lines. I cannot fathom that the multitalented Kevin Spacey would be crazy enough to be a part of this unauthentic narrative. He did what he could in his starring role as Dr. Carter, but I would have counseled Mr. Spacey to skip his acting session with this stinker of a movie. The supporting acting was in need of some thespian therapy and the only act it called for was an Actor Baker Act. However, I must commend Dallas Roberts for his amusing performance as the self-indulged Hollywood agent Patrick. Patrick's session with Dr. Carter discussing his obsessive compulsive disorder was the only worthy scene of the movie. Director Jonas Pate's disorderly direction of "Shrink" was an exercise in inferiority; this Jonas Brother hit all the low notes. All of this negativity is a shame because I was psyched about the premise of "Shrink"; but after seeing the shambles of it all, it should have been institutionalized in the "scared straight to DVD" department. * Failure
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lost in LA
Xof_in_UAE27 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
At least a movie who is different...

1h40 of feelings, good or bad, with great acting... This movie reminds me about Lost in Translation, where the story line was just here to create an atmosphere and a very special mood... The very creative and artistic way of filming and lights help a lot! Kevin is amazing. I wish i know how he manage to look as depressed and tired. This can't be only make up. Keke has a great career in front of her. Good acting, very smooth. Just hope she will not go for "easy" movies. But actually, everybody else is great. There is nobody that really is neither below the expectation, nor above and tries to get the attention on him.

Of course, if you expect something more, you'll be disappointed.
6 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
American Beauty Part 2
merylmatt23 December 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I like Kevin Spacey. I don't mind movies that make you think. This movie reminded me of American Beauty. Spacey plays middle aged man who is depressed, again. Smokes a ton of weed to help him cope, again. Struggles to rediscover himself and meaning in life, again.

Robin Williams has a small role, his talents are wasted. Characters who you don't really care for stumble around in LA. ***********SPOILER**************************

Spacey plays a shrink who is depressed because his wife committed suicide. He is teamed up to help counsel a young girl who is upset because her mother committed suicide. A bumbling script writer, arrogant, hostile Hollywood agent and his secretary are also portrayed here.

Their lives intersect and instead of a realistic ending is hoped for - it would make watching this depressing film almost worth your time, but sorry - scriptwriters, producers (Spacey is one) went for the easy, Hollywood, Happy ending. Everyone gets what they want & hoped for. Like that really happens in Hollywood.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Must see non Americans wishing to be
aivarsaaaa23 October 2009
I am Latvian. Things are not going good here now. Maybe they haven't been good at all.

There are many people wanting to leave and leaving. Because - there is better where you are not. So - they are leaving their homes, families, friends and going to other - better, happier - countries.

They come back. Almost always. Understand, that no place is perfect. Latvia too. America - too. This movie shows it very good.

Movie doesn't say America is bad, it says - it is crazy, huge, with possibilities, dreams. In Latvia there are no such possibilities. But there are others.

Thanks for such a movie. Just inspires to be better, to try. And then all around will be perfect. People are who make surroundings perfect or bad, not surroundings do it with people.

My place is not perfect, but it is the best for me. I guess.
6 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed