Halloween II (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
533 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Dear Lord....
madness3004330 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I was an extra in this movie, and even on the set I knew it was going to be a disaster....what I was unprepared for was the level of disaster that they took it to.

I have no problem with language or violence, but I do have a problem with it when there is no good reason. The script sounds like it was written by a middle schooler (honestly, who uses THAT many F bombs in regular conversation?). And the violence, while somewhat expected, went WAY over the top as far as simply telling the story. On the plus side, whoever did the makeup effects for this movie has one heck of a demo reel to show off now.

I'll agree that casting Maclolm McDowell as Dr. Loomis was a good move...it would have been even better if they had made him even remotely likable. Same goes for virtually any of the characters in H2.

Oh, memo to those who griped about Michael grunting....he grunted in Carpenter's original as well...just check out the scene where he strangles Lynda, or when he's breaking into the closet, or choking Laurie.

And of course they had to go the whole "oh-my-God-she's-his-SISTER!" route, which was stupid in the first HALLOWEEN 2 and is even more so this time around. John Carpenter came up with the idea in 1981 and even he admits it was a dumb one. Michael Myers is far more terrifying as simply the "boogeyman".....anybody could be his victim, nobody is safe. With this lame subplot, as long as you aren't related to him or between him and a relative, you're safe! Maybe it's nostalgia for the "good old days", but I think I'll avoid any of Mr. Zombie's future HALLOWEEN efforts and simply stick with Carpenter's classic....the unequaled original.....
172 out of 272 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Halloween II was a total waste of time and money!
ethaskins28 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
First off, I am a fan of Rob Zombie's "The Devil's Rejects" and "House Of A 1000 Corpses." Also, I liked Rob Zombie's first Halloween. It wasn't great, but it was decent. I was looking forward to having a lot of fun watching this sequel; only to be set up for extreme disappointment. The movie lacked suspense. Also, for some reason, Rob must have thought that to be extremely loud is to be scary. Wrong! Also, Laurie Strode a/k/a Angel Myers was so whiny and unstable, I couldn't wait for her to be killed, which, sad to say, never happened. Every character was just a cookie cut-out waiting to be killed. There were many of the actors in which you didn't even get a good look at their faces before they were killed. The movie was disjointed and extremely loud and gory. I love gory, but this was a bit over the top. Michael Myers was popping up everywhere. It was too much like a Wile E. Coyote cartoon. Oh, I guess Sheri Moon Zombie wanted a bigger role. Wow! What a big mistake! She cannot act. And she was annoying. Also, Sam Loomis's character was only there to be killed off. Believe me, by the end of the movie, you'll be cheering for his death. I also didn't like the fact that the movie veered so much into her nightmares that most times you didn't know if it was real or just a nightmare; or was Michael Myers like Freddy Krueger and he could be anywhere. All of the characters were white trash and severely stupid. I never thought a movie could be so violent and gory yet be so dreadful and boring at the same time. As I was watching the movie, I kept thinking about the original Halloween 2. It was a much better movie. Also, Rob Zombie should know better! Introduce the characters and let us get to know them before you go and kill them. In this movie, Michael Myers went on a happy and silly killing spree, popping up everywhere at the same time, with such silly and extremely loud stabbing sounds! Rob, do you know what overkill is? Do you actually know how to write a decent screenplay without excessive "F" words? And can you write a movie without having to put your wife in it? It's not enough to have style, Rob, you also need to have some substance in there. Halloween 2 (2009) was just a stylish piece of crap.
110 out of 178 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This movie was a disgrace....
wttstrange28 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I am a huge Halloween fan, so I am not foreign to the series. I understand that Rob Zombie tried to create a whole different movie and not follow the original movies but really? ghosts? seriously...

So right when the movie started I loved how it continued right on from the end of Rob Zombies first Holloween where laurie is walking down the street covered in blood with the 357 still in her hands, but what i loved about Rob Zombies first holloween is that there is a lot of criteria covered showing Myers life at the beginning, but this goes straight into killing with no motive.

Even though it is a new movie not a remake I do believe that Dr. Loomis shouldn't have sold out, Loomis has always been the badass trying to hunt Myers down, now he is a sell out who dies in the end... there is no where to go with a sequel on this because it wont be Holloween without Loomis.

But the number one thing that ruined this movie is the ghosts... seriously what the hell, Ghosts? this is a slasher film not a ghost film, keep casper out of this, throughout the whole movie his mom's ghost, and him as a kid ghost(by the way the kid taking Daeg Faerch was terrible, he was a terrible Micheal he no longer had the creepy kid ambiance) just keeps popping in and saying these terrible lines like "were ready Micheal", seriously rob zombie what were you thinking...

So if you are as big of a Halloween fan as me don't see this movie.
72 out of 116 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Painful Movie-Going Experience
Film-Fan28 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I want a refund! This ranks as my worst movie-going experience of all time.

The first Zombie "Halloween" is eons above this disaster. My primary complaints (besides the ridiculous, convoluted plot): annoyingly loud sound effects that take the violence to comedic levels (all you need are SPLAT, CRUNCH and ZAP title cards a la "Batman" to make it complete), always way too dark photography (no one thought to plug in a few lights?), a Michael Myers that looks like Vincent from TV's "Beauty and the Beast" (what's with the flowing robes?), and a love for characters that give the phrase "poor white trash" a whole new meaning (do these people EVER clean anything?). I also resent the introduction of characters just to butcher them off 45 seconds later.

The actors try their best, but have nothing to work with. A script overburdened with profanity (The F Word over and over and over) really doesn't allow for much "acting." I love Malcolm McDowell...but NOT in this movie. What a waste of a good actor.

I admit horror movies are not my greatest love...but HALLOWEEN II is just plain painful to watch.
81 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Bloody Waste of Time
J_Trex2 September 2009
This movie has badly damaged the Zombie brand of horror movie. I liked Rob Zombie's earlier slasher\horror flicks. Movies like "Devils Rejects" and "House of 1000 Corpses" combined genuine real life psycho characters with tongue-in-cheek humor that made the movie viewer feel in on the joke. These movies didn't take themselves very seriously, and while gory, were also at least a little bit fun to watch.

Zombie obviously tried to bring some of that camp levity to "Halloween II", notably by including "Weird Al" Yankovic in a cameo role, which helped a little. I think the movie could have used a lot more of "Weird Al" and a bit less of Mrs. Zombie (Zombie's wife played a leading role in this turkey, some type of angel of death as Jason's Mommy...don't ask, too stupid for words).

Unfortunately, this move really stunk. It was just bloody disembowelment after decapitation after evisceration. It was a stupid and bloody mess and a complete waste of time.

Stay away from this stinker.
109 out of 193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Made HalloweeN Resurrection look like a masterpiece
randyfromscream16 September 2017
This is has to be the worst Halloween movie of all time. The theatrical edition sucks and I bet the rest might be bad. Please don't buy this; this is a money grab. The slow motion scene sucks like their not scary in this film at all. The original Halloween II with Jamie Lee Curtis was better like they try hard in that film but in this Rob Zombie made the Halloween franchise a joke. I hope that new reboot is better than this garbage. 1.9/10
27 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I loved Rob Zombie's Halloween 2.
sdbridgewood55331 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I know many people did not like Rob Zombie's version of Halloween 2. Well, I did. One must look beyond the f bombs. Michael Myers was not seeing ghosts. Michael Myers was nuts and he was seeing what he thought was himself and his mother. I think Rob Zombie was showing what was making Michael tick.

I loved the actress who played Lori Strode. She delivered the scream queen role with passion. The kill scenes did not seem lame like in the awesome slasher 80's horror movies. I thought Rob Zombie showed a more intimate kill. The people who were getting killed seemed to be more scared and the kill scenes were brutal and nasty. I liked that.

Could Dr. Loomis have been more deep in the movie? Yes, but oh, well.

I think Danielle Harris's death scene was amazing. The scene where she sees Michael in the bathroom and the slow motion starts and the look of terror on her face as she was running away was amazing. She pulled that scene off well. I also liked how they showed the picture of her with her dog when she was young. I took that as a shout to Halloween geeks who are fans of Halloween 4 and 5. I thought the way that scene was shot was done well.

I own this movie and will watch it again. One must look at the acting and the characters and the way in which Rob Zombie was showing how hardcore crazy Lori was getting. Over all I give this movie 2 thumbs up and 3 stars.
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Brutal, Bloody, Badly Executed Mess
Marcus23029 August 2009
I don't know where to begin after coming in from seeing Rob Zombie's Halloween II. The comments/reviews that I've read so far sum it all up perfectly. It's bad beyond belief. It's not scary or suspenseful. There are just back to back ugly, mean-spirited, and brutal killings. The main characters aren't likable at all especially Scout Taylor Compton as Laurie Strode. We cared for and wanted to see Jamie Lee Curtis survive every time she played Laurie. Compton is so bad, she should have been the first to get wiped out. There is no real story either, just ideas and visuals ripped from Freddy, Jason, and Leatherface plus other stuff that must have come from cocaine and or meth usage. Think of the worst Nightmare, Friday, Texas Chainsaw, or SAW volume you've viewed. I guarantee that this is worse. Zombie should start paying people like Sam Raimi, Wes Craven, Sean Cunningham and others to ghost direct his films. Uwe Boll could do a better job.
185 out of 340 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rob Zombie strikes back
TheLittleSongbird17 January 2018
John Carpenter's 1978 'Halloween' is wholly deserving of its status as a horror classic. To this day it's still one of the freakiest films personally seen and introduced the world to one of horror's most iconic villainous characters Michael Myers.

Its numerous sequels were wildly variable, with 'Halloween H20' being the only above decent one for me (the fourth one was also watchable but not much more) and 'Halloween: Resurrection' being proof that the series shouldn't have been resurrected and that it should have ended at 'H20', a perfect place to stop. Something that was further felt in Rob Zombie's awful first 'Halloween' outing from 2007. His second 'Halloween' film, this one, is even worse and even more pointless than its predecessor.

The only real good thing here is the make-up which is pretty good. Brad Dourif comes off best in the acting department and does his best but he deserves better and has been better too.

Everything else fails...and not just by a little. Catastrophically. The rest of the acting is scarier than Michael Myers himself (at his least creepy here) in how bad it is. Scout Taylor-Compton, in an embarrassingly appalling career-killing performance, and Sheri Moon Zombie, who should be nowhere near in front of a film camera, are especially bad. The film also brings the worst out of Malcolm McDowell, actually a good actor wasted in a very poorly written and used role.

All the characters are bland, annoying or both, nobody is remotely likeable here or worth rooting for (even those intended to be) and the dialogue down there with the worst of SyFy and The Asylum, and worse. The production values are too gimmicky, Zombie continually seems to think taking a self-indulgent smug approach to his directing is being cool and the music is constantly at odds with the mood and the action, nothing atmospheric or appealing here and more outdated attempts at being cool.

Overused and a vast majority of the time gratuitous expletives, artificial gore and sickeningly brutal violence completely get in the way of a coherent or engaging story, that's instead paper-thin, unintentionally silly, nonsensical, dull and contrived. As well as tension, suspense, chills or terror (none in sight). The whole Deborah and white horse stuff was not needed, felt completely misplaced and just added absurdity to the story, while the ending is as slap in the face a joke as it comes.

In summary, awful and had no point to it whatsoever. 1/10 Bethany Cox
29 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I actually liked this
greendaybeans30 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
For all the bad hype this movie is getting, i actually liked it. I liked it for the exact reason others hated it: it's DIFFERENT. Rob Zombie was able to make his own original story line with slight psychological elements that i enjoyed. Also, i liked the fact that there wasn't as much sex in this as the first one.

Being an art student at an art college, i enjoyed the trippy, artistic dream sequences that he put in the film, but a lot of people will hate that because they are afraid of change or something, i don't know, i think the haters just wanted a remake of the original Halloween 2. Whatever.

Anyways, another thing i liked about this movie were some of the heart-wrenching scenes acted out by Brad Dourif near the end. He is a great actor and i am glad he was chosen to play Sheriff Brackett for these two films.

Now, all that aside, it's not perfect. For one, and this made a LOT of people angry, the traditional Halloween theme barely makes an appearance in this, as does Laurie's theme. Also, there wasn't too much to the story--in other words, a LOT of blood and guts. I am indifferent about Samuel Loomis' character change, i like it but i don't at the same time...

All in all, it's a solid attempt at Zombie putting his own lore into the franchise, and yes, some of the scenes actually DID scare me. Zombie's good at what he does, i believe. If you aren't afraid to see something original tried to put into an old franchise, then go see it. Just don't go in expecting an Oscar winner...expect a slasher movie with some good scenes.
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Halloween movie ever made!
IssaGuy18 February 2018
Man Rob Zombie what got into your head? This is why the Halloween series in the 2000s suck! This is like a long rejected Rob Zombie music video. Bad story, bad script, bad plot, bad acting, and bad ending. This is worse than part 6, Resurrection, part 5, and the remake! My head hurts from writing this review. TERRIBLE MOVIE, SKIP IT! If you going to watch it, I recommend you skip the movie and watch the trailer instead.
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pumpkin men, Weird Al, and a ghost horse; Halloween II is one bizarre movie
dyl_gon30 August 2009
It was quite the dilemma deciding whether Halloween II was a good film or a bad one. One thing is certain: it's a "weird" film, undoubtedly the most bizarre major studio release of the year. Rob Zombie's sequel or "vision" – as it's being touted – seems to have been envisioned with the aid of various hallucinogenics and mind-altering substances, withering away whatever was left of the original John Carpenter Halloween mythology after Rob Zombie's remake and leaving a nonsensical, uber-violent mess in its wake. This isn't a so-bad-it's-good movie, nor would I call it a just-plain-bad one; this is a so-weird-it's-good movie, a blood-drenched collage of absurdities and irrationality, which like a train wreck (a term some would use to refer to previous Zombie efforts), is hard to look away from. Little of the iconic original Halloween is left here – all that's left is Michael Meyer's mask, which itself is less recognizable beneath the grime and torn pieces – but perhaps it would be foolish to try to match the original masterpiece anyway. Zombie has crafted something entirely different; something quite frankly silly, dumb and, for lack of a more politically correct term, "retarded", but nonetheless entertaining, not in spite of, but because of this.

Picking up where the remake left off, Halloween II sees Laurie Strode recovering from her ordeal with psychopath Michael Meyers. Mentally-traumatized after both the Halloween day massacre of nearly everyone she knew and her own dispatching of Meyers – by way of shot to the head -, Laurie finds herself dreading the one-year anniversary of the serial killings, plagued with the irrational fear that the deceased Meyers will return to small-town Haddonfield to finish her off. Well, low-and-behold, Meyers is alive, and he makes it his mission to track down Laurie and finish what he started.

The general plot outline is as generic as can be, but it's hard to fathom or comprehend the insanity that occurs. Michael Meyers, the original mask-wearing soulless psychopath, the "pure evil" murderer, the "Big Cheese" of all horror movie villains, has now been transformed into a homeless vagrant who randomly eats dogs. Yep, that's right, he's a hobo that eats dogs now. When a film is remade, one expects some alterations, but this is akin to remaking Indiana Jones and turning him an extraterrestrial who molests children. There is practically no semblance of the original character...and the new ones just messed. As well, Meyer's is followed by his deceased mother, himself in child-form and a gigantic white horse, seemingly all figments of his imagination. Except they interact with Laurie as well...making them ghosts? Except Meyers isn't deceased, so it makes absolutely no sense for there to be a ghost version of him. Maybe Laurie is inexplicably psychic and seeing into Meyer's mind? Or maybe Zombie just ate a few too many shrooms. Either way, this mom-boy-horse trio follows Meyer's around as he kills various victims, instructing him on what to do next. It's as stupid as it sounds.

Dr. Loomis has also been changed significantly. The remake hinted at Loomis profiteering slightly off the Meyers incident, but here it has been taken to ridiculous proportions. He's now a prima donna celebrity who travels around in a jet black limo with his publicist, throws hissy fits at reporters and threatens to beat on woman. One sequence has Dr. Loomis appearing on a talk show alongside Weird Al Yankovic, with the famed disc-joker lampooning the doctor and Michael Meyers (making puns about whether this is the same guy who starred in Austin Powers) until Loomis finally explodes with anger on air at the hosts assertion that Meyers is a shark. If it sounds like this has nothing to do with the film, it's because it doesn't. This irrelevance not only pertains to the Weird Al scene, but all of Dr. Loomis's scenes. His entire role is a completely separate, unrelated tangent in which he gallivants around the country promoting his book. For that matter, even Laurie and Michael have about ten minutes in the way of plot. Laurie, up until the last fifteen minutes, never encounters Michael. The near entirety of Halloween II is Michael fighting random people – farmers, strippers, tough-guy scumbags – while Laurie lives her life as per usual.

The rest of the film is a compilation of pumpkin people, vans running into cows, "golden showers", discussions about fornicating with corpses, and sex with a guy in a wolf costume who sounded suspiciously like Michael Cera. It's weird, undoubtedly convoluted, but in the end it's pretty entertaining. It's punctuated with displays of head smashings, throat slittings, and other displays of excessively graphic violence. Nudity is slightly down from the first one, but there are still several scenes involving bared breasts. In the end, between all the nonsense, gore and nudity, Halloween II is a big-budgeted, toned-down Hollywood stab at a Troma movie. In other words, a pretty fun movie.

I'm one of the few who actually enjoyed Rob Zombie's remake of Halloween – a lot. For reasons I won't get into here I enjoyed it immensely, but at the same time I could completely understand why so many disliked it. It took some of the things that made the original Halloween so great in many people's eyes and switched them around completely. Those who despised the first Halloween for that reason will likely loathe this second installment with a passion. However, if one can go into Halloween II not expecting a Halloween movie – or even a reasonably scary horror – they might just have a good time. It's not "bad" per say – although it's hard to say what Zombie intended it to be – but it's enjoyable in its bizarreness. Worth checking out if you don't mind Carpenter's story being completely bastardized.

  • Dylan, allhorrorfilms.com
60 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Killer Instincts
Jonny_Numb29 August 2009
In my review of Quentin Tarantino's "Inglourious Basterds," I wrote that those put off by "Death Proof" would also likely be put off by his latest. Go figure that one week later, I am applying the same notion to Rob Zombie's sequel to his 2007 remake of "Halloween." One of the most heatedly derided remakes to date, I found Zombie's take impassioned and sincere while transcending John Carpenter's minimal, workmanlike low-budget-horror-flick terrain. While not a perfect film, "Halloween" epitomized (to me, anyway) the creative potential of the remake when placed in the right hands.

"Halloween II" finds Zombie returning to the Michael Myers maelstrom while tightening already-established character arcs, employing a harshly gritty style (courtesy of DP Brandon Trost), and topping it all off with a heapin' helpin' of carnage. Whereas "Halloween" focused on the inception and evolution of Michael Myers (Tyler Mane) from a murderous youth to the hulking masked madman we all know and love, Zombie's thematic focus this time out is "family" (and its many incarnations), using the traumatized character of Laurie Strode (Scout Taylor-Compton) as its axis.

Picking up one year after the fateful night her brother decided to come home, Laurie has become a punked-out version of her former virginal suburbanite self, and now resides with Sheriff Lee (Brad Dourif, sporting a Ted Nugent hairdo) and Annie Brackett (Danielle Harris). Meanwhile, the Eve of All Hallows is looming over Haddonfield like a shadowy blanket, with a rejuvenated, hooded-angel-of-death Michael Myers making a pilgrimage back home, guided by the specters of his younger self (Chase Wright Vanek) and his mother, Deborah (Sheri Moon Zombie). In the meantime, Dr. Sam Loomis (Malcolm McDowell) has become a pop-psychology celebrity, authoring yet another book on his last run-in with the notorious Myers.

With "Halloween II," Zombie drops the slick, polished look of the initial film, replacing instead with dark, grainy stock punctuated by flashes of neon and the soft focus of black & white. In many ways, the director has created a film that, like his characters, is schizophrenic in its style, cleverly threading complex dream sequences into reality, and cutting away from scenes with little warning. While the employment of dream sequences in most films is a cheap tactic for a "GOTCHA!" moment, Zombie keeps his motives ambiguous: do the dreams represent a psychic link between Laurie and Michael? the erosion of Laurie's sanity? Michael's distorted concept of pilgrimage? Either (and every) way, they give the proceedings a richly layered psychological weight that, in addition to their shock value, make us feel that the characters each have something at stake. The events leading up to the brilliantly-staged climax are both unpredictable and surprisingly affecting.

Unlike the "Saw" sequels (which have become the bane of the discriminating horror fan's existence), bathed in a hypocritical morality amid all the twisted flesh, spilled blood, and dungeon locations, Zombie is cognizant of death as something horrifying and destructive--the murders in "Halloween II" are played straight, executed with a fury that is disquieting; Myers has become a driven beast whose path of destruction possesses a joyless, workmanlike quality, removing any potential glamorization from the act. Every flesh-tearing slash, every helpless scream, cuts to the bone.

Quite admirably, Zombie uses his second go-'round with Myers as a chance to tie up character arcs and plot threads that felt truncated in the over-ambitious "Halloween": Loomis, who seems detached from most of the main plot, is given a chance to redeem his greedy, bottom-feeder ways; Sheriff Brackett gets to exhibit a paternal side, but also an authoritarian mentality once the code of law is broken (he has several great, emotionally wrenching scenes near the end of the film); as Deborah, Sheri Moon Zombie's detached, trancelike performance is apt for the physical manifestation of the voice guiding a psychotic mind. Amid the carnage of his corpse-strewn landscape, Zombie's interest in character interaction and moral ambiguity gives "Halloween II" a depth that, for those with the stomach to take it, is downright refreshing.
116 out of 216 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rob Zombie threw a party and Michael Myers just happened to drop by
Smells_Like_Cheese28 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
A couple years ago we had the release of the re-make Halloween, directed by Rob Zombie, he claimed that it wasn't a re-make as more of his own vision. I was very much looking forward to it and was greatly let down. So when I heard that Rob was working on the sequel, I just laughed and knew I wasn't going to see this movie. But then I saw the trailer for the film and darnit, curse Rob Zombie for feeding my hunger towards scare and gore. The trailer looked so great, I just had to see the sequel, I don't know maybe it had hidden messages saying "see this movie" or something. But I saw Halloween 2 today and once again, I fell for it! Now I think Rob Zombie is a very talented director, his visionary style is incredible, coming from a graphic design background, I admit this movie still has some great and creepy images. He has this knack for these gritty horror films and I believe that down the line his film The Devil's Rejects will be a cult classic. The reason why; despite the fact that The Devil's Rejects is somewhat of an homage to the old gritty dark horror films of the 1970's, it was exactly meant for Zombie as it was his vision that made it into the classic that it will be. Halloween is not meant for Zombie and the reason why is in one word: Simplicity.

Simplicity being the reason why this isn't Zombie's picture to mess around with, Michael Myers is evil, no specific reason why, he just is. As we saw in the first movie, Zombie tried giving Myers a soul and it took away the scare more than give it to the audience. He's made Michael Myers into a bum, or at least he looks like one, take for example: The Mask. Myers does not wear the mask for most of the film or at least it's ripped off and we can see a good amount of Myer's face and it's not Michael Myers without the iconic mask. His look for me is just all off as well, I don't see his height as much of something to be bothered by, while his kills are extremely creative and fun to watch on screen, he still didn't do much for me as he looked like a hippie bum with that long black cloak. Zombie also has all his trademarks in this movie, as his love for the 1970's, strippers/boobies, gore, sex, drugs and dirty ugly bums who look like they still haven't figured out that the tooth brush has been invented. But here's Zombie's version of what he thinks the sequel should be.

Taking right where we left off from the first film, Laurie has a vicious nightmare that Michael is still after her, but she wakes up. It's one year after all the murders and Laurie is now living with the Bracketts. Michael's body has been missing since last Halloween, presumed dead, and Laurie has been having recurring nightmares about the event. While Laurie deals with her trauma through therapy, Loomis has chosen to turn the event into an opportunity to write another book. Meanwhile, Michael has been seeing visions of his mother's ghost and a younger version of himself, who instructs him that with Halloween approaching it is time to bring Laurie home.

Scout Taylor-Compton, this girl, I have no idea why she was picked as the strong female Laurie Strode, because she spent 98.9% of this movie crying, sobbing and blubbering "he'sgonnagetmeeeee! I'mnotwhoyathinkiam!", and how in the heck was I supposed to root for that kind of a female lead? Scout is a lousy actress and the writing was all wrong for the character as well. Another trademark that I forgot to mention earlier that Rob loves putting in his movies, his wife Sherri Moon, pretty woman and over all a talented enough actress. But how in the heck was her role needed in this movie? Zombie is ripping off Psycho by making Myers see his dead mother all over the place saying for him to kill everyone. Again, I like the simplicity of Myers just being born evil with no explanation. Rob Zombie delivers in images and gore, but not in the scares. While the movie has some awesome kills, it's not worthy to add to the collection of Halloween sequels which the first 7 are actually good and worth watching. This was a project that wasn't meant for him nor should have it been for anyone, Halloween should be left alone. With Zombie making this into his vision, he's turned Mike Myers into a bum who dumb people for some odd reason pick a fight with and then get killed in the end and I'm supposed to feel sorry for them? Not likely, just skip it.

1/10
55 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
21st Century grindhouse retelling of John Carpenter's classic
sryjones2 September 2009
If you're a fan of Rob Zombie's other films *House of 1,000 Corpses, The Devil's Rejects, and Halloween*, I honestly can't see any reason why you wouldn't like this movie as well. The weird visions/dreams that Laurie Strode receives are very reminiscent of HO1C, it has the gritty look and feel of Devil's Rejects, and it takes the characters from the previous Halloween and instead of retreading the same story again, Zombie puts them into something entirely new and uncharted that was never attempted in the John Carpenter originals. Yes, it's extremely brutal and violent, but, it IS a horror movie, and a Rob Zombie one to boot, so what did you really expect out of it? Zombie said from the get-go that he set out to take the Halloween story and make it his own vision, which is exactly what he's accomplished with his two entries into this franchise. It's not high art, nor does it set out to be. It's a pure escapist, pop-corn genre flick, much in the vein of the exploitation movies that Mr. Zombie was weened on, and I applaud him for making it in such a fashion. Kudos.
73 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Disturbing, Distressing and Seeped in Atmosphere.
murnank31 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
In "Halloween 2" Rob Zombie returns to Haddonfield, Illinois the fictitious small town Americana whose residents are slowly recovering from the legacy of serial killer Michael Myers who's trail of bloodshed one year earlier on Halloween night hangs over the town like a monument to death. The story picks up moments after Zombie's original "Halloween". Laurie Strode has survived her initial violent encounter with Michael Myers and is being rushed to the Haddonfield clinic along with her seriously wounded best friend Annie Brackett and Myers Psychiatrist Dr Sam Loomis. We quickly discover that (Surprise of all surprises) Myers isn't really dead and the first 20 minutes of the movie becomes an exercise in relentless terror and suspense as Myers slaughters his way through the clinic to find Laurie and finish off what he started.

Flash forward one year later. Michael Myers is now missing, presumed dead. Haddonfield and its populace are preparing for the Halloween celebrations and among these small town folk we find Laurie, Annie and her father Sheriff Brackett cooped up together in the same remote farmhouse outside town. Dr Loomis is also in the area promoting his new book "The Devil walks among us" based on the previous years murders. Each character is dealing with the aftermath of last years massacre in varying self-destructive ways. Physically and emotionally scarred Annie has become a recluse and won't leave the farmhouse. Sheriff Brackett has become a neurotic, thinly masking his anxiety for his daughter by playing happy families. Dr Loomis is wallowing in the escapism of fame from his best selling book and Laurie has become a functioning bi-polar individual who from frequent visits to her counselor (Played by the excellent Margot Kidder) we learn her troubled and disturbing nightmares are challenging her sanity.

What Zombie has created here is a clever character study. He reveals to us a universe where nothing and no one is pretty. His characters muddling through disaster and loss are portrayed with such ultra realism and powerful emotion we care about them deeply so that by the time Myers returns to Haddonfield to kill again the tension is incredibly high while rooting for them to survive.

Zombie could easily have taken the formulaic root, phoned this one in and dealt us a sequel that mirrors the original series. Instead he takes us into his world. This is His Haddonfield and His Halloween. A movie seeped in dreaded atmosphere and menace where the charming, wood framed shops and houses, the cutesy but creepy decorations of Halloween old sparsely hide the grim reality of what could actually happen when a violent, deeply disturbed killer targets an unprepared town.

This movie is a work of art, especially compared to most of the "Halloween" sequels and most other horror movies of late. It's intelligent, it challenges you to ask questions, doesn't spoon-feed the viewer and has four main characters (Laurie, Annie, Brackett, Loomis) that are so realistically developed and driven by such diverse psychological responses to the same problem it almost feels like you're watching a documentary on their lives.

The spectre of Myers mother could very well be the spectre of death. We are dealing with folklore here also. Halloween is a time when traditionally the veil between this world and the so called supernatural world is meant to be so thin beings can pass from one to the other. It's true she is meant to be one of Myers multiple personalities, his justification or rationalization for slaughtering those around him. This is what Zombie intended. Or is it? What if she is "pure evil" taking on the guise of someone Myers trusted the most. A demon manipulating him into believing that "Only a river of blood can bring us together"... This opens the movie up into a whole other world. After all, Laurie as she slips further and further into insanity starts to see her as well. Could Zombie be saying that the insane are closer to evil than we could have believed. This is a movie that leaves you unsettled long after the credits have rolled.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Ignore the rules of the genre, and this is what you get
Field789 November 2018
Halloween (1978) is a classic that may have lost a bit of its shine over the years because of its copious use of genre clichés, but it is the movie that actually *started* most of these clichés, and therefore worthy of its status. It was a film that didn't necessarily need a remake, but one was made nonetheless in 2007. And apparently it made money, which explains why there had to be a sequel. However, Rob Zombie's vision for the remake, though authentic to his usual style, wasn't particularly groundbreaking, and this sequel is of the kind that makes the original Halloween II (1981) pretty good in comparison.

Where did it go wrong? A better question would be: where didn't it? The biggest problem may be director Rob Zombie himself. Granted, I am not a big fan of his work. I liked his House of 1000 Corpses as a tongue-in-cheek slasher, but The Devil's Rejects and 31 got bogged down in a lot of nasty and humorless physical and psychological torture, lacking any redeeming suspense. What I will say for him is that he is a good actor's director, though. No matter how uncomfortable his movies get, the casting is always good, his characters feel authentic, and I have not spotted the bad acting that plagues many horror movies. He also has a keen eye for uncomfortable situations, gory details and, unlike many American directors, he doesn't shy away from the amounts of nudity that were common in the 70s.

But a quality that I have consistently missed in his movies is a talent to build a tense atmosphere and suspense. His first Halloween had plenty of explicit killings, but you saw them coming from miles away, and they weren't very scary. Sure, there was gore and violence, but we have seen enough of that during the horror renaissance of the 90s and 00s to no longer look away (or faint) from that. The even bigger lack of suspense and good scares in Halloween II is what makes this an overlong, boring and predictable horror movie. You can actually set your clock to the jump scares this time, and Zombie still doesn't understand how to create a suspenseful scene. The trick is to suggest that there is danger around the corner without showing, or to let the audience know more than the characters. Sadly, he seems too preoccupied with his leading ladies correctly delivering the lines from his script, or having knives thrust into bodies repeatedly to bother with that.

Another problem is that despite all the previous criticism, Zombie keeps trying to (literally) give Michael Myers a human face. He clearly hasn't learned his lesson from the previous movie where he controversially gave him a complete backstory. What makes Myers scary is his complete inhumanity: like the Terminator, Michael Myers is a silent, single-minded and unstoppable force that can't be reasoned or bargained with, and whose inner mechanics and motivations remain undisclosed. Zombie now found it necessary to have Myers without the mask and talking, and give him visions of his mother guiding his younger self. It is killing for the horror, but potentially interesting if this were a character piece on Myers; however, Zombie has no further interest in that dramatic side of him as soon as the mayhem starts.

The final blow comes from the other main characters. Dr. Loomis has now been reimagined as a sensational writer who is making a living off his famous case. The complete antithesis to his previous incarnation who was determined to stop this force of evil in any way he could. This could have been an interesting spin if they had stuck with it until the end. However, not only does this plotline have little to do with the central story most of the time, it suddenly changes direction at the end, as if the makers chickened out. At least Malcolm McDowell is a joy to watch with his characteristic British politeness with thinly-veiled disdain. Something that can't be said of Scout Taylor-Compton, whose continuous hysterics get so annoying that you actually hope that she runs into a knife somewhere. Giving her character PTSD could have worked, but not in the direction that the movie takes her.

So this film managed to make all the wrong choices because it failed to follow the basic rules of the horror genre: you should feel sympathy for the victim and hero, and fear for the killer. I apparently watched the Director's Cut, which adds 12 minutes of tedium to an already long-winded snorefest, something that isn't exactly compensated for by the gore or shocks. It would actually take another 9 years for someone else to make a Halloween film that was received favorably. I am anxious to see it, and hope it can erase the memory of this dull slasher.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved it
bondjamesbond30 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Halloween 2 was never an enjoyable experience for me. I never had a good time watching it, but I still loved it. This film may be the most brutal and bloodiest I've seen. Rob Zombie set a stark tone to Halloween 2 that was executed perfectly. Michael Myers is a psychopath with visions of his dead mother guiding him towards his sister. When he kills her, the family will be complete. Michael of course kills anyone else that happens to get in the way, and his rage has worsened since Zombie's first Halloween. The way he kills his victims is mostly simple, no elaborate traps or any of that crap to contend with. Using mostly his trusty butcher knife, Rob Zombie's Michael takes people out in some of the most vicious and violent kills ever put on film. There is a lot going on underneath the surface here, as we see a remarkable Scout Taylor Compton become completely unhinged as her nightmares begin to take over her life. The mental health problems that run in her family are taking effect in her, and it's a sad thing to witness Laurie, once a sweet and innocent girl, unravel into madness. Halloween 2 is a depressing, haunting, troubling and ultimately sad film. The feeling of emptiness that I was left with is hard to describe. It's hard to watch what happens to these characters that you care about because you know there won't be any kind of happy ending for anyone here. Rob Zombie has taken a lot of crap for his vision of Halloween. I absolutely appreciate what he has accomplished with his two films, and especially with part 2. The original Halloween storyline, as convoluted as it became, will always be there. I'm thankful that Zombie stepped in and showed us his vision, but I think some people would rather watch Michael Myers get in a brawl with Busta Rhymes. Halloween 2 is not an easy film to watch, but I highly recommend it for the surreal, haunting images and storyline that I think, unfortunately, not enough horror fans are appreciating.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
letdown.
pgtmatrix27 August 2009
Yes I'm one of the few people who thoroughly enjoyed rob zombie's remake of halloween. So I was extremely excited to find out he was making the second one.

I love Zombie's directing style and I do think he is somewhat talented. But this movie just wasn't his best. The style and feel of the film was perfect. But the storyline was complete trash. He should have stuck to the original story.

Zombie's "re-imagining" of the second coming of Michael Myers was way off. Yeah he spiced up the original with Michael's backstory, but he completely redid the second one.

So if you just want to see people get stabbed with a cool directorial style and nice lighting(oh and boobs, lots of those) then yeah you might like it.

But for what it's worth, the backbone of any good movie is good source material, and the source material for this was Zombie's lackluster screenplay.

Shame. The first one was so promising. This one definitely ended it. Not only because Zombie says he won't direct another, but because it went so far downhill from the first one it basically killed itself.

Oh and the final scene in the movie is ridiculously laughable and will most likely give you a WTF look on your face.

5/10 for this one. Just don't take it too seriously and think of it as another slasher flick and you may enjoy it for what it is. Just another slasher flick. Nothing special here.
59 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Horror film NOPE...BRUTE FORCE SLASHER... YUP
joselnieves8128 August 2009
I have been a huge Michael Myers fans for many years since the original (1978) and beyond that. John Carpenter set a blueprint for what many slasher flicks copied and some mastered. Michael Myers is the original slasher and only a sick twisted mind as is ROB ZOMBIE could remake and in a sick twisted way make it his own!!! Halloween 2 is not a remake as the movie does not take place inside a hospital and its not a hide and go seek fest. This movie is a runaway train. Michael Myers in H2 is a beast that kills for the fun of killing. Rob Zombie really made Michael Myers into a beast, a killing machine. The plot is pretty simple as are all the Halloween movies, but the unique twist I find is that Rob Zombie tried in his own way to explain what motivates Michael, what keeps Michael going as no other Halloween movie even tried to do. The movie is not one i would take my child to see because as I said its a murder fest and it's done so sick and twisted no child should see it. Rob Zombie yes is not a great story teller, doesn't have the most interesting characters but he is a breath of fresh air in the horror/slasher genre. He takes in back old school to the early 70's and shows you what a slasher movie is really about.

If your a Michael Myers fan you will not be disappointed at all the movie is a fresh idea, a fresh look into the mind of Michael Myers. Rob Zombie has showed us what a real horror/slasher killing machine looks like. Many death's in this movie will have the view saying "oh man stop already, he's - she's dead" Myers is relentless and its a good way to end the summer of CGI trash!!! GO SEE HALLOWEEN 2!!!
31 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Strike Two....Put a Stick in It
Michael_Elliott28 August 2009
Halloween II (2009)

* 1/2 (out of 4)

Sequel to Zombie's 2007 remake starts off shortly after the events in that film as Laurie Strode (Scout Taylor-Compton) has a hard time getting over the fact that all of her friends are dead. She doesn't have too long to sit around as brother Michael Myers is back, killing and slaughtering by the orders of the ghost of his mother (Sheri Moon Zombie) but Dr. Loomis (Malcolm McDowell) is back as well to try and make up for a damning book he wrote on the earlier events. There's no secret that I didn't care for anything in Zombie's remake and this film here proves that he needs to quit writing screenplays. I think this film, as well as his previous ones, have shown that he can handle the director's chair but as far as writing goes he's starting to become very boring as he doesn't know how to write a story, characters or dialogue. What does someone do when they get scared? Say the "F" word countless times. What does someone do when they're having fun? Say the "F" word countless times. What does someone do when they're sad? Why, of course, say the "F" word countless times. Zombie's screenplays come off like they're written by little children because he can't write dialogue that has anything more than cuss words being thrown around. It's hard to find a single line that doesn't feature some fifth-grade level cussing. Not only that but other logical problems come up like how Michael is able to be deep in the woods on scene but then back in town the next only to appear back in the woods for the next scene. How on Earth does Loomis see the end events on television and yet a second later he's right there? Not to mention a stupid flashback scene where we learn that Michael is going to be seeing his mother's ghost throughout the rest of the movie, which basically is just a stupid way for Zombie to give his wife a part. Even if you take away all the dumb logic you are then treated to countless, graphic and at time vile violence. It's clear Zombie believes that no one should be given pity because even characters we care for get slaughtered. Bad characters die brutal deaths just like the nice people. Taylor-Compton isn't too bad in her role even though it's not written too well. McDowell is one hand to cash a paycheck but Zombie's screenplay mostly has him doing talk shows including one with Weird Al. Brad Dourif comes off the best as Sheriff Brackett and Danielle Harris also gets to come back. As with the first film, this one here features cameos by various people including Caroline Williams (TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE 2). Now, I would probably say this movie is better than the first due to some nice sequences including one early on where Zombie has a nice scene where a nurse is about to be stabbed but before getting it, we see a close up of her face as it prepares for the blow. This was an effective scene as was one a few minutes later when Laurie is trapped inside a small shack with Myers trying to break through. Once again Zombie's vision is perfectly clear and he moves the film along just fine but with a screenplay so bad there's really no winning in the end. It's clear Zombie has a very good movie in his but it's not going to happen when the only thing he can write is dialogue for white trash, which appears to be the only thing he knows.
86 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Rob Zombie trolling Halloween-fans
t_atzmueller8 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
It has become a sad sport for unhappy horror fans to watch the numerous franchises drop to ever-lower depth – and none of the franchises have fallen as low as "Halloween". Most series had a good numbers of duds and stinkers but "Halloween 2" takes Michael Myers to new lows that the fan couldn't have imagined.

Rob Zombie has two things in common with German director Marcus Nispel: both managed to breathe fresh air into the slasher-genre; Nispel with his Grade-A remake of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and Zombie with the TCM-cum-Easy Rider blood-letting epos "The Devil's Rejects". And both managed to take two slasher-classic and almost run them into the ground.

The new Jason Vorheers is now an inbred survivalist – Michael Myers 2.0 is a hobo with lots of facial hair who does a lot of walking through the countryside, looking a lot like the fairy tale giant Rübezahl. Indeed, for an instant we're almost glad that movie giant Matthew McGrory ("Big Fish", "The Devil's Rejects") passed away before Zombie could cast him as Mike Myers.

As in all his films, Rob Zombie invites us into his private parallel-universe, where humanity consists entirely of white trash and degenerates and where Emo-, Goth- and Heavy Metal kids rule every household. Brad Dourif looks like a bum put into a sheriff uniform, while his (adopted) offspring deface their home with "F**k You"-scrawling, satanic graffiti and posters of Charles Manson and Kiss.

Unlike Zombies prior works "House of a 1000 Corpses" and "TDR", there is not a likable or even remotely charismatic character in sight. The "heroine" of the film has the charm of a pubescent loaf of bread, trying to hide the inability to act by throwing many-a tantrum, adding to the film 'length'. The male cast invariably looks like they all slept in their suits and didn't bother to shave for a long time.

If there is any good word to be dropped on the flick, we might name two or three well choreographed splatter scenes. True, Michael Myers never has been an imaginative killer like Freddy Krueger; mostly he stabs his victims while grunting a lot. Stab, grunt, stab, grunt - simply grunt; it's like watching a woodchuck chuck wood for an hour an a half.

I could also speak of unwarranted dream-sequences, of fairy tale settings and white horses, of the world's worst actress (I give you a tip: she's married to the director) but the memories seem painful and the electronic ink too precious.

The honourable Razzie of the year must invariably go to Malcolm McDowell. Granted, he's not given much to work with. Most of the time he doesn't even appear with the rest of the "main-cast", content to rattle down his lines in some parody of a Dr Phil media-hack. Only in the very last minute does he appear in the real film, only to be killed by Michael who of course is then killed by the police. Yes, it is the scene where Michael Myers has dialogue: "DIE!" Let it be a man more bitter than myself, who wishes that a disgruntled fan repeat that line when expressing his 'gratitude' to director Zombie. The worst I'd wish upon Zombie is that the most mediocre MTV-pop-hip-hop-trend band will cover Rob Zombies hit-album "La Sexorcist" just so that we can ask him: "How does it feel, Rob? Sucks, doesn't it?" Speaking about music: the Coup de grâce is delivered by the soundtrack: perhaps the fan must be thankful that the iconic "Halloween"-theme is not featured. Instead, Zombie decides to let some god-awful Psychobilly band play a couple of songs give – hey, did I mention that Zombie will be producing that bands next album? Coincidence over coincidence.

The Halloween franchise has pretty much covered the entire spectrum of badness. However, this train wreck of a movie has added a new one: embarrassment. If you thought Zombies first "Halloween" film was bad, boy, you haven't seen anything yet – this is worst, infinitely worst. Where are those minus-ratings when you need them?
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How to Reboot this film Series
Sober-Friend24 May 2017
The Rob Zombie films are the worse films in the series. They are worse than "Halloween 8". Where the original films had distinct voices for the three girls Rob Zombie makes everyone sound like tattooed White Trash! I guess He wrote t he knows"

Now if it was up to me I would re-start the series. I would called it "Halloween: The True Michael Myers Story". I would have take place in the 1970's. I would have 3 houses where Michael is Stalking and people disappearing. I would show him breaking into a store and steeling "Mask, Rope, & a couple of knives". I would change the name of the girls so that way you don't know who will be the final girl.

Now if you liked this film that's fine but "Its garbage to me"
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Recommended with an open mind...
austinbrtndr1 September 2009
I knew going into this movie that it was not a John Carpenter flick. If I wanted to see that version, I could have Netflix'd it and saved myself a few bucks. I wanted to see Zombie's take on the movie, and I wasn't let down. Like all of Zombie's films, there are no Beaver Cleavers (haha... cleaver) or Mr. Wilsons... They are just the type of people that you see every day and your average white collar worker wants to stay away from. The movie is meant to make you uncomfortable, and it does this fabulously. I honestly don't know what everyone is upset about, it's a movie! I appreciate RZ's effort to take a classic such as this and put his own demented, modern twist into it. Great movie, highly recommended, but if you want to see the Carpenter version, go to Blockbuster!
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Nightmare in Haddonfield
zardoz-132 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
No, you don't have to be a degenerate to enjoy director Rob Zombie's violent remake/sequel of "Halloween 2." Director Rick Rosenthal's original "Halloween 2" (1981) qualified as a one-dimensional, no-brainer sequel bloodbath with stabalicious Michael Myers prowling a hospital and killing everybody in sight, not always with a knife. Michael assumed a supernatural omnipotence in "Halloween 2" and he survived virtually everything, even being blinded by Laurie. Nevertheless, "Halloween 2" told us nothing new about Michael other than he derived satisfaction from killing more people in different ways. Writer & director Zombie doesn't make this mistake with "Halloween 2" and it is virtually as brilliant and psychologically insightful as its predecessor. The cinematography and the songs, especially "Nights in White Satin" by the Moody Blues, enhance the atmosphere of this chiller. Zombie's "Halloween 2" is a surreal saga and a commentary about family values. This remake of "Halloween 2" is far more ambitious, gruesome, and psychological than the original.

Briefly, in the prologue, Zombie flashbacks to 10-year old Michael at the mental asylum conversing with his mother (Sheri Moon Zombie of "House of 1000 Corpses") about a white horse that she has given him. The first thing we see is a definition of a white horse and that it symbolizes the rage of the protagonist. Meanwhile, the Michael that talks with his mom is the Michael before he retreated behind the mask. Sure, it is unfortunate Zombie couldn't bring back Daeg Faerch to reprise his role as young Michael. According to Zombie, young Faerch had grown too old to play a 10-year old. Nevertheless, Chase Wright Vanek brings his chilly presence to the role, resembling a murderous munchkin.

Thereafter, Zombie's "Halloween 2" replicates the original as ambulances deliver both Laurie and Annie (Danielle Harris) to Haddonfield Hospital where the emergency room physicians perform miracles, especially the hacked up Annie. Meanwhile, Sheriff Brackett (Brad Dourif of "Dune") orders the coroner to lock up Michael's body until he can examine it. No sooner have the two sleazy attendants loaded Michael and driven off than they slam into a cow on the highway, killing the driver instantly, smashing up his partner, and allowing Michael to escape. At the hospital, Laurie isn't doing so well. Laurie is frantic about Annie and she still suffers from the trauma of having emptied a revolver into Michael. Just as she is regaining her grip on reality, Michael comes a-slashing and nobody can keep him out. He chases a hysterical Laurie during a storm around the hospital and corners her in the security guard shack with a fire axe. He chops his way into the shack, but Laurie manages to escape.

Indeed, Laurie escapes by waking up. Dreams, hallucinations, and nightmares pervade "Halloween 2" and you can never be sure when reality is real. Michael is driven by the image of a giant white horse held on a rope by his dutiful mom Deborah, with himself standing alongside her as an angelic 10-year adolescent. Family solidarity means a lot to Michael, and Michael has sworn to reunite the family, even if it means butchering Laurie like a steer. However, Zombie shows us a deeper, psychic linkage between Laurie (Scout Taylor-Compton) and Michael. When Michael (Tyler Mane of " Troy ") slaughters a dog and dines on it, Zombie cross-cuts images of Michael devouring the dog with Laurie eating a pizza. Psychically, Michael and Laurie groove on the same wavelength and Laurie winds up vomiting. because she can taste the dog meat. Without spelling it out in dialogue, Zombie tells us it is this deep, psychic connection between Michael and Laurie as blood kin that enables him to track her down.

Life after Halloween has not been a picnic for Laurie. She visits her therapist (Margo Kidder of "Superman"), works at an old hippie-style coffee house run by none other than Howard Hesseman of "WKRP in Cincinnati ," and hangs out with two trippy girlfriends. Repeatedly, Laurie has lurid nightmares about Michael's attacks, but Michael is nowhere nearby. Indeed, he has gone into hiding in the woods, until two pugnacious rednecks catch up with him and too late realize their error. Like the original "Halloween 2," Laurie doesn't know she is related to Michael Myers, and this revelation scrambles her brain.

Laurie Strode is the chief protagonist in "Halloween 2" and the film justly belongs to Scout Taylor-Compton as she struggles to survive. She lives now with Annie and her father at their rural house. Not only does "Halloween 2" look different from its predecessor, but also Zombie emphasizes the rural quality of the area. In his remake of "Halloween," we were trapped along with the principals in what appeared to be a rural suburb. "Halloween 2" takes us back to the woods. Michael spends his time communing with nature and the visions of his mother, the white horse, and himself as an innocent adolescent before he resumes his murderous ways.

Not surprisingly, the violence in "Halloween 2" is gruesome but not sickening. In other words, we rarely see close-ups of the knife penetrating flesh. Zombie's favorite tactic is to let Michael strike just as things are calming down and part of this involves sudden movements and things like glass or wood shattered by his fists. There are moments when the violence takes on a traumatic weight that will scare the daylights out of the squeamish while gorehounds may yawn at some of Zombie's discretions.

"Halloween 2" is both a triumph in style and substance with an ending that suggests Zombie may pull the biggest surprise in the franchise should the saga continue.
22 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed