Falling Skies (TV Series 2011–2015) Poster

(2011–2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
357 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
It's lost its way.
woodyteegra-118 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
A show that started out showing us how a group of Americans were resisting an alien invasion in a post-apocalyptic world just appears to have completely lost its way and become about how many times we can save Tom Mason's family. Who really cares anymore?

In Season 4 it appears that Earth's only surviving group of resisters are in about 4 camps. One of them is lead by Anne Glass, Tom Mason's partner who leads them all on a merry go round searching for her daughter (like they all don't have missing family of their own). Another of the groups is now lead by said daughter - who have laid down all arms by the way. A third group has just escaped from an alien camp and have the unfortunate deal of having 2 Masons in their group. Father Tom goes off to search for his youngest son leaving first son in charge of the rest of the resistance who have to wait for him risking alien abduction. The final group are being indoctrinated by the Aliens with the 4th Mason Matt being one of the only resisters.

Its fascinating how some of the aliens have gone from being indestructible with guns in season one through to being killed by knives in season 4. Completely lost its way in my opinion. Lets get back to Earth Council, organised resistance, real military not all led by Masons (is there a hidden message there?) and please is there any other resistance anywhere else in the world? If the future of the world depends on this group of 100 odd people led by Masons, then the aliens might as well kill them all off now!
39 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Well hell
drfinchsince197731 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This series started off good, took a weird and barely entertaining turn in season 4, and ended with a dud. I spent 5 summers watching this show only to have the climatic victory last around 10 minutes. They tried to introduce too many new characters and story lines with very few episodes left, leaving the last season feeling crowded and unfinished. The aliens entire reason for the invasion might be one of the stupidest moments I've seen on TV, right up there with the Rachel/Joey romance and that weird ending to Lost with all it's flash forwards and sideways crap the last few seasons. I mean come on, earth defeated the aliens once with sticks and rocks and it took these guys 5 years to do it? I'm not buying it. Like I said I enjoyed the show early on but I only hung around the last few seasons to see how it would end, and now I'm glad it's over.
20 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Started promising as a campy sci-fi, ended up being post-apocalyptic Parenthood
abridgem7 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Season 1 was pretty good for a low-budget sci-fi. There was a family dynamic, there was true tension, and there were constant alien attacks. Out of all of the seasons, the first was the most realistic.

Season 2 was pretty good, too. A trek to Charleston, political infighting, aliens winning the war. Season 2 was probably the best. However, the writing was on the wall, and the decline was inevitable. People began developing "relationships," random events were becoming more and more fortuitous, and the purpose of the 2nd Mass seemed to disappear.

Season 3 was a significant decline in the quality of the story. With the introduction of the bubbleheads, plot lines became cheesy, the characters became idiots, and the storytelling style began to resemble Parenthood more than War of the Worlds.

Season 4 is in line with Season 3. I think the series has jumped the shark with the Lexie storyline. Not only is it highly derivative (see the Adria storyline from Stargate:SG1), but poorly written. Not only that but you get GI Jane version of Dr. Glass, insane zealot Lourdes, blind to reality Tom, and cardboard sidekick Weaver, but you also get plasticky bubbleheads that have similar personalities to the Asgard of SG1. I can't overemphasize the fact that Season 3, and especially Season 4 feel like poor remakes of Stargate:SG1.

I'm not sure that I'll stick around for season 5. I loved Season 1, I liked Season 2, I was OK with Season 3, and I'm bored with Season 4. In the end, I'm afraid of season 5.
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Season 4 - The Sky has Fallen
b_imdb-912-11349714 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I do not know what happened behind the scenes leading up to Season 4, but something major changed back there.

I would assume I would have heard about a major writers strike, but whatever the reason, this show is now sunk, in my opinion.

There is a dramatic shift in tone moving into Season 4, something which is executed in an extremely clunky manner. The context, pretext, and everything else about this season is so very amateurish.

The character & plot evolution that happens should have taken a season in and of itself, but is crammed into a single episode. Mild mannered characters are suddenly expected to be accepted as Rambo. Other characters change Race with no explanation (no joke). Major opponents shift tactics in a seriously fundamental way. (Nazi Germany, to Starship Troopers) Honestly, it's as if there's an entirely different crew behind making this show... and they're all interns.

Throw out all the knowledge you've built up during the first 3 seasons, suspend your disbelief, and you might just enjoy it.
26 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The most random TV show I've ever watched
pphatsoull31 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
After watching the entire show - honestly, after S2, continued to watch just because I really respect Steven Spielberg - gave it 5 out of 10 stars because it's average in just about every category. There is no clear story line, most of the key events happen randomly, out of nowhere, and the pace also seems to be changing at random. Also, you just know, since day one, which characters are expendable, and which ones will survive. No matter what happens, no matter how cornered they appear to be, the Masons always manage to pull out easily. Surrounded by 1000 Skitters? No problem, there's probably a subspace turbomodulator buried right under their feet. There's a top secret enemy agenda that could turn the tide of the war at the last moment? No problem, there's a random orange semi-sphere, made by the enemy, that has only one purpose: to transmit those super-secret messages to those who touch it. Sorry, I HONESTLY believe I wrote smarter sci-fi stuff back when I was a 14-year old kid. As sci-fi as a genre declines even further, the audience seems not to care at all about the quality of the shows anymore. Honestly, I'm surprised by the number of people calling this show a good, fresh or smart one. It's really not.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Avoid season 4 onwards..
jameswardtemporary16 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
In my original review I had many positive things to say. Seasons 1-3 were constantly moving between 'good' and 'excellent', at least for me, But unfortunately the show took a real dive from Season 4 Episode 1, and like most people, I went from an avid fan to someone who quit watching after no longer being able to justify my time on it.

Season 1-3: The series is a drama/sci-fi hybrid about a family (and by extension-- the remnants of a society) post-alien invasion. We see some great acting, war, survival and drama (albeit sometimes a little cheesy). The acting is usually great and the story progresses at a steady pace as well. We see twists, story arcs, character depth, back story and lots of science fiction. Its certainly worth a try for any sci-fi enthusiast. Not quite Stargate or Battlestar standards, but good in its own right.

Negatives: The CGI is awful. Be warned that your suspension of disbelief will have to be stretched a little further to be convinced that anything CGI is really there.

Falling skies season 4 onwards: Absolutely abysmal. The story is completely turned on its head and moves absolutely nowhere for literally 6 episodes in a row(where I finally gave up). The characters Lexi and Lourdes are horrendously irritating, their story-line is boring, unresponsive and absurd, even by sci-fi standards. Tom mason is basically an unkillable superhero, and all of the progress or the first 3 seasons went straight out the window.

As with everyone else on the forum at the time, I was completely bewildered as to how a show with (at least) a watchable standard could suddenly turn into....that. But it happened.

I would highly recommend seasons 1-3, at least for a try But I would avoid Season 4 completely.
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
American stereotypes + teenage drama. Oh there are also aliens.
freecore8828 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
OK, i've made it to the third season. What did i see until now? A bunch of people survives an alien invasion, tries to group up with other survivors across the USA and tries to fight back the bad aliens helped by the good ones, which arrive without any decent explanation, the most obvious deus-ex-machina ever. in like in more than 1200 minutes of series this is all that happens: so whats the deal you say? Well, actually there is none. This series a MEGA LOAD of useless and empty dialogues, between stereotyped characters, mixed with all those "already seen" family dramas (the lost/captured/infected son, the boyfriend/girlfriend, the hard role of the leader/father and every clichè you ever seen in any post-apocalyptic movie/series). Topped with ultra evolved aliens with ROBO MECHS who cant even aim at a car and shoot randomly killing 1 human out of 100 alien-plasma-gatling-rocket gun ammos. But hey, lets shoot that bad ass alien war machine with my ak-47, i like the sound of bouncing bullets. Really stay away from this, sci-fi doesn't have ANYTHING to do with this series, because the prefix SCI actually means that there is something scientific in it, while there is not. There is no logic in the behaviour of characters, in the action scenes, everything is driven by what every stereotyped character has to do to fulfill his predictable and boring role. If this wasn't from Spielberg it'd have died in one or two season, i can guarantee you that. Or maybe even not, considering another series which is the copy of this (yes, The Walking Dead) had an unbelievable success where i found it the most boring, melodramatic, stereotyped, zombie flick ever, even among some b movies. Im giving this a 3 just because the majority of actors are good and the CGI as well, too bad all those good resources were wasted on a SO EMPTY storyline. There is a ton of good series that are worth your time if you're looking for some sci-fi, don't force yourself to get to the point when you're watching the screen after 120 minutes and think "my GOD is something entertaining gonna happen or what!?". Spielberg phone home and never come back.
24 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Surprised by some of the "reviews" posted here
scarhavok11 September 2011
Having read so many "reviews" which consist of watching 1-5 episodes I would like to comment myself having watched the entire series. This is not one of the best sci-fi series i've ever watched. However it is much better than anything else out there now. I wasn't too sure about the series after the first couple episodes and it had a strong Stargate Universe feel to it. I'm not going to post any spoilers but I can say the story significantly improves in my opinion and so does the care factor for the characters and where its all going by the end. The finale is a blast and had my girlfriend look at me with her mouth wide open after the ending and that we need to wait until next summer for the follow up... She wants to see it right now! As do I. The season ended very well and the show has been massively underrated on here.

If you haven't seen the show or you've seen a few episodes and aren't sure. I encourage you to use your own opinion and give it a chance i'm sure you will like it much more by the end.
186 out of 244 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Falling Skies aka How to safe Tom Mason's Family
joannahelt18 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I've given the show a 5-star rating because I actually liked the first two seasons. But after that the show went downhill.

The plot is illogical, slow and boring. The show should really be called: How to safe Tom Mason's family. The protagonist, Tom Mason, is the most annoying character ever. He's narcissistic, stupid, loud and a hypocrite. He'll gladly throws the hole 2nd Mass under the bus to go save someone in his family (which he has to at least once every season) but when it comes to anyone else's life they're usually "sacrificed for the greater good". A quote from the shows antagonist Pope.

The Espheni has wiped out 90% of the Earth's population but they just can't take Tom Mason out, a history professor. It's so irrational. Tom flies to the moon and then magically surives, he wakes up in the ocean (?).

This show sucks.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad. Don't. Just... don't.
atrzcinska2 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Maybe I have seen too many films and shows on this topic, maybe the fact that I play RPGs is preventing me from enjoying "Falling Skies"... but man, this show is SO bad from the very start! Irrational actions, phoney dialogues, "we are fighters and we're better than civvies but we'll not observe any sort of hierarchy or orders because it's lame" attitude, shooting skills like Stormtroopers (we have scopes but why use them, it's lame, so let's waste ammo instead), and my personal favourite *SPOILER ALERT* we're being pursued through the woods by armed guys, not a soul (apart from us and our pursuers) for miles around, we come across an empty house, go in to rest, what do we do? Play the piano, because of course nobody will hear us. Nobody. (sarcasm sign) *SPOILER ALERT END* Unfortunately, it is yet another show after which I come to the sad conclusion that the human race simply does not deserve to survive.

Oh, and if you thought that the President's speech in "Independence Day" was full of pathos, wait till you hear ANY GIVEN utterance of Mr Mason.

Lord.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Watching this was a truly masochistic experience
marinwiki10 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
At first, I have to say that I really had some expectations for this show. I mean, yeah, the plot was nothing revolutionary but i still hoped to get some good post-apocalyptic/drama/sci-fi TV out of it. Oh God was I wrong.

The acting was awful. The actors were stiff as boards, not as nearly depicting the situation they were really in. Combine that with truly annoying characters and you have the recipe for a disaster (man did I hate that religious girl). And the babbling about history and great battles in the past where smaller armies defeated much larger ones? Well how many times in history did armies wage war against aliens? *facepalm*

The writing was so cheesy and full of clichés that at one point, I actually hoped that the aliens were just gonna nuke them or something, just to put an end to it. An awful soppy family drama with huge holes in the plot.

But nevertheless, I continued to watch, hoping that it might get better. Well, it didn't. It just got worst, the season finale being not worth watching and insulting my intelligence. As user idonotexist wrote on the message board, the scene where the aliens tell Tom that they didn't expect such resistance, well I "wanted to peel my eyes off".

p.s Who the hell gave money to do a season two!?
74 out of 99 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Only bearable with a fully operational fast forward button
pontram23 February 2015
Some movies and shows are a mystery to me. Why are they appreciated and loved and high rated by a community which claims to have high standards and no easy 'suspension of disbelief' ? OK, maybe I have too high expectations from that community, namely the SF-lovers. I am at least one, but luckily no part of a community.

I had no high expectations from 'Falling Skies', when it started, but they were lowered in an instant after watching the first episode, as I had to realize, that this show is not about Aliens, Science Fiction, or war, or even surviving the ultimate invasion, but about the American Dream, which is a dream since it isn't allowed any longer to be lived out: Adults and teens (male only in the past, but now also female) running around in then open, wavering and shooting all kinds of guns in a so-called situation of self-defense.

That means complete freedom, no more fences, no more tax payments, no more traffic rules. A world full of rednecks, even some with academic degrees (at least those who can yield a gun fast enough), more or less united against the common enemy, some more or less willfully collaborating.

And so it stayed, for the full first season, the full second season, the full third season, and the full fourth season. That is continuity, I said to me, at least.

Maybe some people who get permanently bashed at work can come home, watch this show and go to sleep thinking about their lead role against foreign invaders like...everyone, in case of an invasion, of course.

It doesn't do the show any good that Steven Spielberg is involved. On the contrary, it seems that a work of Spielberg today does mostly look for satisfying the smallest common denominator of the biggest number of viewers. There he failed with 'Terranova', which was one step above 'Falling Skies', but at least delivered some good CGI, some interesting theories and strange characters.

Which 'Falling Skies' doesn't. It is a straight-to-beer-can delivery and grabs random pieces from the third-class storytelling wasteland of pulp magazine, that should never see the light of the telly in order to store the cockroaches where they belong.

After unbelievable four seasons, that 80ies-like torture of an SF show will hopefully come to an end with the final 5th season. Oh, it's a shame, many will cry, there would be so much more to tell....

The only satisfaction that came to me is the idea that the story of the show has some parallelism with the US Iraq adventure. There, they devastated the country, too, tried to install a submissive government, which failed, too. Conversion of the society to western standards failed also. Because at gunpoint, such things usually do not work out very well. Which Israel could have told them long ago (if she would have had realized that, eventually).

However, the season 4 finale was actually so massively ridiculous, predictable and stupid, I thought I would have maybe completely missed the subtle humor (or horror) of all four seasons. Am I a damn idiot, I asked myself ? Yes, I answered, it was idiotic alone to watch this show, hoping it would improve a bit in time.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Very crappy and naive idea of asymmetric warfare
the_wolf_imdb28 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Some Americans may feel this TV series is somewhat relevant to what is happening in Iran or Afghanistan or something like that. But these Taleban or Al-Quaeda warriors are several grades of magnitude better that the crappy folks from the Falling Skies. The show presents the Americans as very stupid bunch of folks who try to fight the asymmetric war as if it would be some sort of road picnic.

So, we know the aliens are advanced, do have absolute air superiority, have the ability to sustain huge damage by bullets and their war machines are almost immune to normal weapons. So our heroes decided to fight them this way:

  • Form a large group of folks, move during the day in a open space. Camp near bridges, if you want to camp in city, pick up the biggest building you can see. This way you can form the most visible target well suited for bombardment.


  • Even when you know the normal guns are almost useless, always form search parties equipped exclusively with firearms. This way you can shoot a lot of bullets with almost no effect while running away. Noise from the shootout is always fun!


  • Even when you know the enemy has air superiority, enjoy a lot of group activities under fresh air in broad daylight, especially with your kids.


  • When the enemy is near, it is always fun to fight and scream something like "WE HAVE TO RETURN FOR THEM!" "NO, WE HAVE TO RUN AND LIVE SO WE CAN BEAT THEM THE OTHER DAY!" Or try to play the catch the ball with your dog, so aliens can easy notice you. It is always fun to reveal your position to the enemy for some really stupid reason.


  • Even when you are under the pressure from the enemy, it is always fun to have disagreements about the strategy, the food supplies or just enjoy some firefight with a group of other folks. You will not get bored this way!


  • An last but not least, please remember that all the supplies are in the cities in the supermarkets. I'm somehow scared that the series will end when the heroes die of hunger because they will be out of canned beans and biscuits. They will not be able to find any other food source!


The show is retarded and shows the Americans in a very stereotypical way they are usually displayed by their enemies: As a bunch of egoists unable to survive harsh times, unable to adapt or invent some creative new strategy against the superior enemy. The Taleban folks have adapted more quickly an in more creative ways. Maybe the creators of the Falling Skies may learn a trick or two from them...
34 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Falling standards
paulfinn1629 June 2015
I could not finish watching the episode I saw tonight (series 4, episode 6). I am not one to judge too quickly and I thought the series might be a slow burner - but sadly it was a dud with Spielberg's dead formulaic hand all over it. I had enjoyed the first few series but the later ones rather than building on the earlier efforts are just hideous. There are so many unbelievable events, not just physically unbelievable but emotionally and logically. It is an unholy mess driving onwards to a climax I don't care about anymore. This is a bad series, with no real development of the characters. Some of the leads, who are very good actors try their best - but it's not enough. When it comes down to it, the reason why this is a pile of chowder is the fault of the great fish head who made his name with another fish. If there's one thing I hate, it's film and TV makers who don't care about their audiences.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Emotional bullshit.
stefangeser8 March 2015
Having allot of night shifts in a row, with loads of hours needed to be spend doing something, i started on this TV-show, mainly because i just love sci-fi.

However, the sci-fi part is really a small part of this TV-show, mainly is is a constant emotional roller coaster ride, up and down, in every episode, one just have to close his eyes and listen to the background music, its just crazy how it can keep on going.

1. try to count how often "Family", "hope", "faith" and trust" are used, its just ridiculous.

2. Notice how they never seem to learn from anything, they keep doing basic kids mistakes, yes, the fire will burn your fingers again the second time you put them into the flames. 80% of all the problems they get into, is not because the aliens are tricky, its because they are just really really damn dumb.

3. Notice also how they don't evolve to the situation, in a show like the walking dead, they slowly get more and more bad-ass, cynical and thorough, survival becomes a part of them. But not with these, its drama, drama, and then some more drama.

Only my damn stubbornness and curiosity kept me going, i wanted to see how season 4 ended, but i can assure everyone, that I'm not gonna watch season 5, out of fear from becoming transformed into an emotional wreck.
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I am totally hooked on this show.
StoicBlade10 August 2011
I do not understand why so many people are being so harsh regarding this show. Yeah, its basically "The Walking Dead", except with aliens...but I think this is a good thing. Unlike "V", this is a show that focuses on the survivors. Many reviewers have said that the characters are clichés. However, I would simply call them archetypes and I thoroughly enjoy watching most of the characters when they are on screen. It seems that many reviewers have based their opinions on the first 2 episodes. However, with so many characters, it takes time to get to know them. The show definitely starts off at a slow-burn. I think many people are having the same problem with this show as they did with "48 Days Later". Many people wanted to see a zombie horror movie. However, once they realized that the movie was a human drama and the zombies where more of a situation that humanity had to deal with, the reviewers whined that the movie sucked. "Falling Skies" is the same way. The show is not about aliens. The alien invasion is just the situation. The show is about the human drama that is the result of the situation. Watch more than just 2 episodes before you form an opinion. I think that you will enjoy it.
153 out of 224 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not worth anyone's time
donatas-813-92303530 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
*** Mild spoilers maybe ***

I have seen most of it up until 4th season's start. I just keep returning to it hoping that with each new season it will improve, at least something. But it doesn't. It is least logical, worst scripted, worst acted shows I have seen. Nothing makes sense there.. How can aliens come here with so advanced technologies, but fail to catch a bunch of barely surviving people in few years. And people are just walking around or sitting there for so long.. I could go on and on about the flaws of this show, and I keep wondering, how did it get to the 4th season at all???? I thought this show wouldn't survive the first. But unfortunately it did.. My sincere recommendation - there are so many more better shows to invest your time into, this one is totally not worth it.
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unrealistic, corny cliché (with a Christian touch)
daniStakset22 December 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Let me just settle one thing before i bash Falling Skies. When i say it's unrealistic, some people tell me "it's a show about ALIENS, it's SCI FI, how real do you expect it to be?" Well. Shows like Falling Skies and The Walking Dead are supposed to be realistic set in an alternate location. That's why you will never see a dog grab a gun and shoot invisible clowns. The shows are supposed to be realistic with a touch of fiction.

I haven't watched Falling Skies for a while so i might be off on some details but i liked the first episode. It did show some promise. Of course, this was before the clichés and speeches with the sad music started to happen 2-3 times per episode.

How annoying is that cute kid? What is it with Spielberg and his kid heroes? You know, the kid who whines about his birthday in the middle of an alien invasion, an apocalypse. His brother, Hal, is supposed to be 16. We only find that out after a couple of episodes, i assumed he was in his early 20's (i think the actor is like 22-24 too) but na, he's 16. Lacrosseplayer. Who happens to be the only handsome man in the camp since all the ladies are attracted to him (his GF, the Christian fanatic girl, the girl in the house where those guys were making deals with the skitters) How annoying is the Christian fanatic girl? Everything she says has some religious message. It's so forced, she's so happy and positive because she has God and she REALLY believes in the whole he-works-in-mysterious-ways thing because if there is a God who is good and mankind is about to cease to exist, that sure is mysterious.

How annoying is Jimmy? He's one of the worst actors on FS; you know the scene where the Christian girl spends her daily 8 hours in front of the shrine praying, and Jimmy walks up to her and says "why are you praying for these people? You don't even know them" and he was VERY surprised at seeing someone pray for someone they don't know personally. Is that a big surprise in America? Or is his character just poorly written? He was genuinely confused when he saw that. I think it's weird. He already knows she's a religious freak, she believes in talking snakes, yet it's such a huge thing that she prays for a kid she never met.

Moving along to the commanding officer. Don't know his name because he is so corny i never really bothered to remember it. He looks like a drunk redneck in a uniform his wife made for him. You know the episode where he had a breakdown and went to his house, prepared to give up the war and everything, but suddenly he finds glasses on the floor and completely changes his mind. Later on, he says that those glasses are his wife's. A week after the aliens attacked, he went home, and his wife wasn't there, neither were the glasses, but now, there they were. Like, he remembers in detail what his wife's glasses looked like and he also remembers the exact location of every obstacle in that house.

What about the scene where they used mech bullets against the mech? They seriously waste all their ammo on one mech, they didn't even aim, they just sprayed it and it turned out, all it took was 9-10 hits to bring it down. Don't get me started on Toms RPG hit in the end.

What i really didn't understand is the final scene. The alien actually tells Tom that he is impressed by the resistance. Wow.

This "resistance" is moving in snail pace with huge groups of people along roads, not even caring if they are detected, in a world where mankind is down to 10% of it's species. They have been invaded and almost conquered. But despite all that, the alien says he is impressed. I don't buy it. I can't allow myself to buy since it's a load of crap. It's like if i have to fight a 10 year old kid to death, and after breaking every bone in his body, i hold up and tell him "can we please talk this through? I'm impressed by your performance" Spielberg keeps making a fool of himself with Falling Skies and Terra Nova and i'm sure that people only watch Falling Skies because there is no competition. Same goes for Terra Nova and The Walking Dead.

Unrealistic, corny cliché. But hey. At least i know that when the aliens come, Christianity will be the correct thing to apply.
56 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Plot holes the size of craters
ggbyrne29 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This isn't just bad sci-fi, its dreadful TV. The plot holes are the size of craters. If this is supposed to be post-apocalpse - the producers have failed to hire a continuity editor to make sure that there is some sense of damage. The high school of refuge is in pristine condition with floors dust-free, the science lab immaculate and the medical supplies in brand spanking new boxes of apparently unlimited quantity while the civilians can't find food other than lima beans. Preposterously - the world best doctor shows up in a clean button down shirt, belt, and khakis as though he just stepped out of a limo.

The children have ample art supplies, civilians apparently clean and ambling about raking leaves (what happened to the seasons?), and the local suburban housing un-used and not ransacked for supplies. The plot, already thin and laughable, isn't support by context. The CGI is irrelevant since the aliens are so incompetent with weapons one wonders why they have them.

If there weren't bad enough, the characters are clichés. The only interesting person in the entire three hours I've seen so far is the bad-guy-turned-chef. I find myself more interested in how he made lima beans edible than how the best hope for teenage captives is a propane torch and morphine drip. Which as a surgical technique is plumbers work, literally.

At least Mad Max had grit.
114 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It started quite OK and degraded to pretty bad
CineRaph3 September 2014
The saddest thing about this show is how few SciFi-Fans actually get how cheap, unimaginative, repetitive and lame the show got over it's course up to season 4.

There is very little good to say about season 4. Actually I can't think of anything. About every idea is old, every dialog feels phony, acting appears bored and staged and the plots and main plot are just plan stupid.

Do the people making this show and the actors saying those lines really not notice how bad this show has become? Or do they not care? Or are they in a collective hype and don't see clearly anymore?

But anyways. The fact that some people call this still a good show or even praise season 4 to be the best saddens me a even more than the quality of the show which had such potential.
54 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Truly Awful, Lazy, Patronising....
whatutalkinaboot29 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
If you're going to do an Alien Invasion series, it should, at the very least, be as good as 'V' from 1983. Well it's 2011 and Falling Skies isn't even a quarter as good. The acting is wooden, the script, lazy. Think the Waltons meets Party of 5 with a few aliens and 'baddies' (the aliens are bad but the real danger to the humans are the humans themselves - so terribly patronising - it's been done to death) thrown into the mix.

Even the design of the Aliens themselves seems to have been undertaken by a below average sub-prime banker who, having lost his job, is now trying his hand at working in TV and got a job in the design team via an uncle producer who owes his family after they donated large sums of money to cover up his dubious personal practices which were discovered by the Stanford campus police back in 1984. Bi-peds copied from starwars. Skitters copied from starship troopers. Slightly changed of course, but nothing original.

And the whole premise of a band of wholesome people on the run from a deadly force seems a bit irrelevant after the quite excellent Walking Dead has done the same thing, only infinitely better.

Watched the 3rd Episode last night. I wasn't at all sure that anything could be as bad as the first two episodes, but that thought would evidently appear to have been vary naive. Shame on me for having a shred of hope that the series might improve slightly over time. Yes, you are right dear readers, the 3rd instalment was the TV equivalent of chewing someone else's toenails. Horribly wrong.

The world has been taken over by an oppressive alien force. The humans are on the run. Despite this, the humans appear to be able to live in large numbers quite comfortably and undisturbed in a sizeable unconcealed above-ground building, strolling about without any sense that they might be attacked. What the heck are the aliens playing at? Just nuke 'em and put us all out of our misery. To compound matters, there only seems to be about 2 or 3 Aliens in the area at any one time, whereas there are about 300 humans. What the heck are the humans playing at? Just rush 'em with numbers, overcome them and be done with it.

No sense of dread, no sense of suspense and no sense that any character is in mortal danger. Noah Wyle's son is staring down the barrel of an alien gun, the picture cuts to black and ten minutes later he shows up alive? I am Jack's complete lack of surprise.

And as for the character of that bloke who was the leader of the outlaw group - one minute he's the leader of a gang of men guilty of rape and pillage and the next he's (voluntarily) the cook for the entire group of wholesome humans (who just killed all his buddies). Yeah, he's a real stand up guy all of a sudden. Are we just supposed to swallow this without question? Well sorry Mr Spielbergo, you might get away with that stuff with certain audiences but not with me sunshine.

I'm angry at how bad this show has turned out to be. Im a massive sci-fi fan and usually i would got over certain flaws if the show has enough imagination to compensate. This has none.
238 out of 380 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Seasons 1-3 were decent, season 4 terrible
zidangus15 November 2014
Well I really liked seasons 1 to 3, although there were some plot holes, there was nothing major that put you off watching the show, in fact seasons 1-3 were quite enjoyable, and I was really looking forward to season 4. However, from the first 5 minutes of season 4 it was quite clear that something went wrong with the plot, indeed I can only guess that the script writers lost the plot, literally. Nothing that happened really made that much sense, and the story became very disjointed, confusing and at times patronising. I watched every episode of season 4, and it seemed to get a little better after episode 6, but still no where near as good as season 1-3. I lost count the number of times I asked myself, why would they do that, or can the Aliens be really that stupid ? I can only hope they sacked the season 4 script writers for the final season and hired people who can actually write a story that makes sense.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Must see the next episode!
Jobbe927 July 2011
Normally not one to watch many TV-series but this one caught my eyes. The storyline was simple enough: a group of people trying to make ends meet in a post-apocalyptic world in the aftermath of alien invasion. Simple! But oh my was I ever wrong.

The show will probably not change your viewing-habits but it will leave you with an deep impression of the great care the creators worked by. The characters are well-written and well-acted, they have emotions and soul, personality. They seem real. The story is paced moderately and the show rarely focuses on one element, like pure action or spacey Sci-Fi-phenomena, for long but manages to find the balance between these genres, making a show everybody should be able to sit through. And enjoy :-) The setting, mood and world is believable (as believable a post-apocalyptic world would be to me) and the atmosphere reaches a point of realism yet maintaining the fourth wall. The aliens are charming and sounds like the velociraptors from 'Jurassic Park' (actually a good thing), but they are more than meets the eye. We want to know more of them, yet the show keeps them at bay. They blend seamless into the world of chaos thanks to the before mentioned care by the creators. This is not one of those series that rely on cheap jokes, puns, mundane stereotypes, half-cooked morale and whathaveyou, but rather depicts a world not unlike your own: clever and natural.

Check it out :-) BTW, my first review ever on IMDb so be gentle with the rookie :-)
209 out of 339 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not terribly impressive so far and getting worse with each episode!
Rob_Taylor26 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I love post-apocalyptic stories. I love sci-fi. Given those two statements I was, naturally, looking forward to this series with a great amount of anticipation.

But oh my! On the strength of the two episode pilot, I am sadly rather underwhelmed.

I expected Walking Dead with Aliens. Instead I got an unhappy mix of the War of the Worlds TV show, Battlestar Galactica and the Brady Bunch. There's altogether far too much "family drama" and not enough action/grim reality on display here. Token nods to reality, in the form of "we need to find more food" and such-like comments, do little to increase the believability of the show.

Acting is passable, on the whole, but the show has what appears to be low production values. I'm sure this wasn't the case, but it just looks cheaply put together.

In addition, though the Earth has apparently been conquered by the aliens, there seems to be no real sense of menace to the group. The aliens appear, but only here and there. Somehow, I would think the aliens would take a little more interest in a group of three hundred people trolling about the countryside. Instead, the aliens seem intent on "lurking" wherever the humans might conceivably go. Logistically, this is a nonsensical idea that is clearly a plot device, however idiotic.

Likewise, along with the lack of menace, there is a total lack of urgency displayed by the group. They appear in no rush to move away from the infested city, no doubt in part due to the seeming lack of interest on the aliens part in rooting them out.

A whole boat load of "family crisis" has been unloaded into this pilot. So much so that even those with a particularly sweet-tooth will find themselves feeling sickly at the sugary niceness of it all.

Another rather irritating thing....along with the family melodrama comes one of the most cringe-inducing melodramatic scores I've heard for a long time. It's just overdone to a terrible extent. I'm sure it was meant to evoke sympathy for the plight of the poor citizens, but all it did for me was to make me, by turns, scowl or chuckle at the screen.

The characters are thinly drawn and somewhat stereotypical. Grizzled War Vet, knowledgeable Professor, Lady Doctor, Annoying teen brats etc, etc. Of course, they all display the typical TV show lack of intelligence when it comes to dealing with their situation. So, for instance, a discussion in which they wonder why the "Skitters" have six limbs and the mechs are bipedal, doesn't end with any kind of speculation on the nature of the invading force, just a shrug.

There's a whole military vs. civilian friction dynamic that simply shouldn't exist. An "us and them" mentality that is beyond foolish. The opening child's narrative points out that all the soldiers were killed and "then the mummies and daddies had to fight". Except...apparently not every mummy and daddy. It's a world invasion....shouldn't everyone be a warrior now?

On the plus side, the series started out with a low, so things can only get better from here. Right? I certainly hope so, else this show isn't going to survive long enough for us to find out much about the aliens.

SUMMARY: Looks cheap, stereotypical characters, no sense of menace or urgency, enough saccharin sweetness to give you Diabetes five times over. Will not survive the first season unless things improve greatly.

EDIT: Episode 5 was the worst yet.....so much sentimentality and melodrama...I'm drowning...help! Help! Some TV company throw me a frickin lifeline here! There must be better things to watch......gurgle.

EDIT, EDIT: Oh God! There's to be a season 2! Here's hoping they listened to what was wrong with season 1.

EDIT FOR OPENING OF SEASON 2: Well, it IS better... but there is still the tendency to drop into piano-music accompanied melodrama at the drop of a hat. You have to be a real cheese lover to enjoy this. Hopefully it will improve, but then, I've been saying that since the first episode of season 1, so....

EDIT FOR END OF SEASON 2: Yes. I watched right to the end! It is getting better and I will tune in to Series 3 when it airs. I've even given it an extra star. But no more! I have my limits!

EDIT FOR SEASON 3: Ah, what to say. Opening episode skips 7 months of time. New alien at the end of S2 are now allies with no attempt to show how that all came together. The tendency to melodrama and over sentimentality has returned with a vengeance. For God's sake stop with the piano music. It takes more than that and having the main character cry or be angry in turn if you want the audience to connect with your hero. Speaking of which... get rid of Noah Wyle. Get somebody new in or at least have the guts to kill him off and do away with the whole vomit-inducing "Family is everything" shtick. It got old in season 1 guys! Stop with the formula writing crap already! -1 star for failing to shoot the piano player!

END OF SEASON 3: It got better! Oh no, wait... I started watching Revolution, which is so bad it makes this look better. Falling Skies... better than Revolution! There is a ray of sunshine on the horizon!

SEASON 4 EDIT: It is much better! To the point where I've given it another star! It's a little over the top, plot-wise, but enjoyable. I'm actually now a little sad that it is finishing after season 5.
115 out of 182 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The only skies that fall is the ones in the Seventh Heaven
dinoosmancevic9 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILER ALERT

I'm not a sci-fi fan so I don't really understand the comparison people make between this show and Stargate and Battlestar Galactica. But I do enjoy post apocalyptic films, and that's why I was looking forward to watching Falling Skies; it looked awesome in the IMDb description.

What I didn't know before watching it is that lately, Mr. Spielberg has gotten a thing for family drama set in alternate locations.

I get the feeling the people behind Falling Skies were thinking "lets do a family drama. We got the rebellious, good looking teen age boy, the dead mother, the brave father trying to to the right thing but has issues raising his children on his own and of course, the youngest child who has no clue of what's going on and misses his mom. Every time the child's emotions are displayed (and it happens in almost every episode) there is some cheesy line with a sad piano playing in the background as he whines about his birthday not being celebrated while they walk through a chaotic and ruined world. If i whined like that in the aftermath of an alien apocalypse, my father would've probably slapped me back to sanity.

But we have seen this kind of drama before, so many times. So the writers got the brilliant idea to display this family drama in a future where Earth has been invaded by aliens.

Yeah, I know. I get the feeling that the focus is all about emotions and sadness amongst the people because there are tons of plot holes in the alien part of the story.

They got brilliant technology, still they can't spot the big amount of people that is 2nd Massachusetts. We don't get to see them enter Earth, we don't see how it all started, all we get is some kid explaining it in the beginning of the pilot in some drawings. Awww.

The actors are very corny, but that's probably because of the script. It's such a terrible script, it's purpose is to force you to feel something for the characters. You get the FEEL-SORRY-FOR-THE-KIDS feeling thrown at your face as the adults in every episode spend way to many minutes TALKING about how important it is to keep the kids safe. Why is this? If the adults get killed, the kids will die too, won't they? No wait, they will become aliens because it seems the "skitters" were once human as well.

The whole first season could've been displayed in 5-6 episodes and the ending of the first season was so terrible. The RPG he launches at that one alien air plane of course hits it (while the air plane was flying to the mother ship). One shot, one kill. Who could've seen it coming? Yeah, everybody.

So as Tom walks back from the "fight" they had with the aliens, this space craft lands and one of the superior aliens wants to talk. The alien says he's impressed by the resistance the 2nd Massachusetts put up. Really..? I just get the feeling the aliens are to lazy to kill the Massa squad since there are about 100 soldiers and 200-300 kids and women.

Must be something magical going on in the regiment because the same aliens that invaded the ENTIRE EARTH have such difficulties killing these people. Oh wait, there is magic involved, Ben got that thing where he can mess up the aliens frequency.

I give this 3/10 because I like the story (even though its not even slightly original) and I do believe we need more TV shows with this storyline, but Falling Skies fails in everything else; script, actors, special effects - you name it, they fail it.
36 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed