Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son (2011) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
50 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
The Vidiot Reviews...
capone66618 June 2011
Big Momma: Like Father, Like Son

The worst day for an African-American actor is the day that he or she must put on the first of what will be many fat suits.

Unfortunately for the teen actor in this comedy, his moment of humiliation has come at an early age.

When his partner hides a flash-drive on an all-girls arts college campus, Detective Turner (Martin Lawrence) must don his Big Momma persona to infiltrate the student body.

Aiding Turner on this undercover endeavor is his arrogant stepson Trent/Charmaine (Brandon T. Jackson), a hopeful rapper and an unintentional murder witness.

Now, Big Momma and Charmaine must locate the flash-drive before the bad guys catch on to their disguises.

The third installment of the Big Momma franchise, Like Father, Like Son is a failed attempt at resuscitating an unfunny and insulting series.

Besides, there are more comical issues to exploit in a skinny character who use to be fat. (Red Light)
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Tootsie (Roll)
kosmasp14 December 2011
The eye of the beholder. It is tough doing comedy and it is tough explaining why something is not to ones taste. Martin Lawrence made quite a lot of money with this series and not only a few would wonder how this could happen in the first place.

While this isn't complete waste (you might be able to laugh or chuckle at some of the silly jokes), this really is by the numbers and has no surprising element whatsoever to elevate it over other movies with similar themes. Not only that, it isn't really that well executed either. But what would you expect from a movie when it reaches its second sequel (part 3 that is)?! So while the (general) census suggests that you won't like the movie, you might see it otherwise (especially if you liked both prior movies)!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Borderline Unwatchable
limoncella-641-4223522 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
We get this every January/February, one movie comes around that reminds us all how good Oscar season was, 2 months prior. In 2009 we had Bride Wars. In 2010 we had When in Rome. This year it's Big Momma 3.

Absolutely nothing in this film was funny, nor I or the audience of about 40 people laughed once at this cataclysmic attempt at a comedy. Martin Lawrence sets the art of humour back an entire decade with this go-nowhere performance, he's practically sleep-walking through the entire movie, are things really that bad Martin? how badly do you need a check? the last thing i remember seeing him in was Wild Hogs 4 years ago and that was a masterpiece compared to this slop.

The plot circles around Lawrence's stepson (Brandon T. Jackson) being targeted by some Russian mafia for witnessing a murder. Lawrence's character is a respected FBI agent, is the only thing he can think of to hide his stepson; dressing him in drag and enrolling he and himself as members of an all girls school?

This obviously paves the way for a ton of teen-sex jokes, alas there are barely any attempts at this (got to keep that precious PG-13 rating guys).

A comedy that fails to get a single laugh out of some 40 people is a huge failure in my eyes. Let's not let this film be forgotten because it came out so early on in the year, critics at the end of 2011 need to be prepared to put this on their list of worst films of the year. If not - then any of the films that beat it will have to be spectacularly awful.
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Has it really come to this?
keiichi7319 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
To live in the world of Big Momma, it helps if you have the intelligence of a box of instant potatoes. That way, Detective Malcolm Turner (Martin Lawrence) and now his 17-year-old stepson Trey (Brandon T. Jackson) can pass themselves off as women, despite both of them looking like they escaped from a bad Saturday Night Live sketch, and not arouse suspicion. That both of them are able to fool an entire girl's college campus is one mental hurdle the movie asked of me that I just could not accomplish.

Of course, given the attempts at humor on display in Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son, it probably wouldn't hurt if the audience shared the same IQ as the characters up on the screen. There's not a single laugh to be had. Believe me, I counted. But then, that's not surprising when the film's sole joke was explored to its fullest in 2000's Big Momma's House. That was the movie where Lawrence went undercover as a 300 pound Southern granny in order to crack a crime. Somehow, this idea struck a chord with enough people to see the movie gross over $100 million, which led to 2006's Big Momma's House 2. It was less successful at the box office, but here we are with the third film. Not only does the Big Momma disguise that Lawrence dons look a little more worn out than before, but Lawrence himself seems confused as to what he's doing back in the role. It's an encore performance that no one, not even the star, asked for.

Lawrence is back as Malcolm, although his love interest (played in the previous two films by Nia Long) is nowhere to be seen. I guess they couldn't pay her enough to come back, so they explain in dialogue that she's away at a retreat. This leaves Malcolm to deal with family problems on his own, such as stepson Trey wanting to ditch a college education at Duke University, so that he can become a rap artist. Trey is underage, and needs his dad's signature in order to sign a contract with a music producer. In what is probably not the brightest of ideas, Trey decides to follow Malcolm on a bust of some Russian gangsters, hoping he can corner him and convince him to sign the contract. (I told you these characters were dumb.) This leads to Trey witnessing a murder, and having the gangsters gunning after him. Malcolm decides that the best way for his stepson and him to remain inconspicuous is to dress in drag, a fat suit, and clothes that look like they were stolen from a circus clown's wardrobe.

They head for the Georgia All Girl's School for the Performing Arts, where incriminating evidence against the mobsters has been conveniently hidden, and even more conveniently, a position for housemother has opened up. No need for any real credentials or background checks, apparently. "Big Momma", with Trey posing as her granddaughter, show up and immediately get wrapped up in campus life, and the various emotional problems (boys, the stress to be popular and "perfect") that the students face. The movie can't think of a single funny thing to do with its premise. Every scene ends with either a tired physical gag (Big Momma poses nude for an art class!), or sometimes no laugh at all, just an awkward transition to the next scene. I guess we're supposed to get caught up in the subplot of how Trey falls for one of the girls at the school (Jessica Lucas), and is forced to keep his feelings and identity a secret. All I could think about is how does this girl not realize that Trey and his female disguise are one and the same person, especially since she spends ample personal time with both of his identities?

I don't think I'm spoiling much by revealing that Big Mommas ends with the gangsters getting what they deserve, and father and son bonding during their time in drag together. This is an unwanted and miscalculated comedy that is so lacking in energy and entertainment, it's mind boggling. Nobody up on the screen looks like they want to be there, and as the movie dragged on through its overlong 107 minutes, I felt a connection with them. At least I was feeling something.
42 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst Big Momma
barrettcolin123 April 2011
Big Momma is back in this horrible 3rd installment of the Big Mommas House franchise. This is about undercover agent Malcom Turner. He is on another case and his son Trent sneaks into the middle of a drug deal and witnesses a murder. Trent than needs to go undercover with his father to an all girls school . Where the key to the case is hidden.

I thought this movie had a few and i mean Few funny jokes. Trent played by Brandon T. Jackson was the only one who made a slight joke. These movies had jokes that you would see in a Tyler Perry movie. If you like the Tyler Perry movies. I suggest you see it but if you hate them do not see it
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Is there anymore soup to be made from this...?
paul_haakonsen30 March 2011
"Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son" is the third movie in the series, and honestly, they might have considered stopping after the second movie. The first one was hilarious, the second one not so much. And now the third one has been unleashed upon us movie-lovers.

For a comedy, then "Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son" is rather weak, because there is only a handful of situations that proved to be funny. And even less so actually managed to make me laugh. I think I laughed once or twice throughout the entire movie. So it was a disappointing experience to watch this movie.

The storyline is somewhat simple, so even your family's dog can keep up with it. Some incriminating evidence is stored on a USB key, evidence that can bring down some big criminals. Yeah, very original there already. And the USB key is hidden in an all-girls school, and it is up to detective Malcolm to find it and bring the criminals to justice. Only this time he brings his son into it! Yeah, his son. Now, what father in his right mind would bring his own flesh and blood into a situation where his life is in danger, and much more so bring his son into cross-dressing? Back it up right there! The storyline was weak and very hard to believe and get into, because it was so over the top.

Now, Martin Lawrence does a good job as Malcolm and Big Momma, as he did in the previous two movies. So if you are familiar with those two, you know what you will be getting. This is good, but at the same time it is also bad. Why keep squeezing the lemon when there is no more juice to come out? Brandon T. Jackson (playing Trent/Charmaine) did a good job as well, except for when he portrayed Charmaine; I found that strenuous to watch. Ken Jeong (playing the mailman) was a hilarious spot to the movie, despite he was there for only a few minutes. And for a noticeable performance of the younger talents, then Michelle Ang (playing Mia) brought a good deal of spark and comedy to the movie. In overall, the acting was good and the performances were well enough. The movie was just suffering from being a movie that had a weak story.

I suppose for hardcore fans of Martin Lawrence, then "Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son" will be a blast. But for the ones that watched part 1 and 2, then part 3 is a very dull and humorless movie.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A complete disgrace for the comedy genre
I can't believe I'm saying this, but this atrocious sequel makes look the original film(Which was pretty bad) almost decent by comparison.

I just can't stand this kind of "comedies" (Filled with bad jokes, annoying characters, offensive and irritating stereotypes) In fact, I think this movie reached a new level of boredom and annoyance.

It is one of the most irritating and least funny movies ever made.

This movie is the complete opposite of fun: In fact, I think that the world turned a bit worse for the sole existence of this film.

At least the movies that appeared in "Mystery Science Teather 3000" were funny to watch, despite being bad. This is just...Bad.

My recommendation: Avoid this film, and watch anything else instead.

I would rate this film with zero stars if I could.
21 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Charmaine's House
musanna-ahmed16 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
It's funny how an FBI agent goes under the guise of a fat woman (or more precisely, a Big Momma) and uses it as his modus operandi during the bigger missions. The second time on doing so was inconsequential and by the end of the unendurable, unnecessary stay in Big Momma's House, he gave the family a farewell letter which was a dreadful debacle made worse by the promise on it – 'Keep a lookout. You never know when Big Momma might be back." So Big Momma is back but the subject is changed to plural.

Big Mommas: Like Father Like Son is exactly what it says on the title. Brandon T. Jackson, Alpa Chino from Tropic Thunder, supersedes Jascha Washington as the teenage stepson Trent, alias Charmaine Daisy Pierce when undercover who is Big Momma's great niece. The film, as well as sequel, is a reboot to the series by initiating Trent as the lead character and opting to appeal to a teenage audience instead of a mature or family-friendly one like the predecessors. Trent predominates on-screen time here hence gives some room for character development, seeing Malcolm is at it for the third time and his antics have become predictable.

The hindrance that Charmaine suffers from is his romantic susceptibility with his irresistible urge to enunciate a sound in such a way that shows his impression of the lady. Unable to adapt to a lady without having sexual desires, this state of affairs sets up the film's subplot of him dating school colleague Haley – like Malcolm and Sherry in the first film hence this film's title. Over the course of the film, Trent develops from conceited rapper to a more mature man comprehending and appreciating women in a greater manner. The side of Trent that isn't established as well as it should have been is his goal of becoming a rapper. It becomes sceptical to an audience when Trent transfers his identity that he wants to become a rapper. No fighting back with Malcolm to prevent himself from entering undercover mode nor an attitude showing commitment to achieving his aspiration. After that, several references are scattered throughout that he already is his own rapper despite a record label contract pending from the start and all throughout. The idea that I got was that being a rapper was just a background to quickly import his character into the story and as something to identify him.

Brandon T. Jackson is literally indistinguishable as his female alter ego. The wardrobe team went to town on make up with the character like they did with Big Momma. It's ludicrous how the father and son manage to dress and undress as their other half with an outrageous amount of fully body prosthetics in a terribly short amount of time when they're on the run. Often it could be wondered, are they undercover FBI agents or lame superheroes? Not even Mrs Doubtfire could prepare so quickly, and Robin Williams didn't spawn any sequels to wreck his amiable disguised character.

If credit is due for any character in this film, it belongs to Kurtis Kool, played by Faizon Love (video game buffs must remember Sweet from GTA: San Andreas whom Love voiced). By far the most entertaining character in the film, the only character sustaining the comedy the film intended for, even if its just the way he says "Momma said knock you out!" The character's crazy crush on Big Momma makes for a hilarious little sub-plot that is perhaps the best bit of the film, ranging from his funny feelings for her to an amusing game of Twister between the two.

This is the third time unlucky for Martin Lawrence as a single character. The first was merely decent, second went down like a lead balloon, and this part definitely shows signs of a universal panning. The injury added to the insult that this film is that there was no positive production changes - no new director and more importantly, there is still not a good screenplay which was a calamity in the previous films. On the other hand, the first two rocketed in grossing at the box office. Judging from the financial success of the first two, Big Mommas: Like Father Like Son may be another surprise hit but in this dead zone of cinema, there are far better alternates to view.

Verdict: Martin Lawrence should seriously stop. For Brandon T. Jackson, if there's another instalment, the production will need to be fixed a lot before the crimes are looked into. And I guess you were hoping for a positive review but sorry, I'm only being honest.
19 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
All the funny parts from first two are replaced by High School Musical-like singing and dancing. I say C-
cosmo_tiger12 June 2011
"How you gonna hide swag as big as this?" After Malcom's (Lawrence) aspiring rapper step son Trent (Jackson) sees a murder it's up to Malcolm to hide Trent and find the evidence he needs to put the murderer in jail. There is only one way to complete this...become Big Momma again. After watching the first two I was actually kind of looking forward to this one. The first one was a good movie, but I thought the second one was funnier. This one took all that was funny about the first two and replaced it with "High School Musical" aspects. A lot of choreographed dance sequences and a lot of singing, not what I expected to see in this movie. Although there were a few funny parts, the movie was a re-hash of the same jokes from the first two, but not as funny. This is a perfect example of Hollywood running out of ideas and only doing re-makes, turning TV shows into movies, prequels and sequels that don't need to be made. After a five year break another sequel to Big Momma didn't seem to be needed, and after watching this it only made that fact more clear. Overall this movie does for the Big Momma series what "Batman & Robin" did to the "Batman" series, or what "Rocky 5" did to the "Rocky" series. Makes you think...why didn't they stop at the last one? I give it a C-.

Would I watch again? - No way, but like the other series I mentioned I would watch the others before this one if they were on TV.

*Also try - Big Mommas House 1 & 2
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really quite dire
TheLittleSongbird19 July 2011
I have to re-watch the previous Big Momma movies, but my memory of them was that they were mediocre. I don't remember them though being as bad as this one, which is one of the worst movies of the year so far in my opinion. The film doesn't look anything special visually, likewise with the soundtrack which was nice to listen to but forgettable not long after. The direction is often unfocused and while Martin Lawrence is good Brandon T.Jackson tries too hard and ends up over-compensating. It was the humour, characters and the story that sinks the film. The story is rushed and predictable, the characters are annoying and little more than irritating stereotypes-some of whom also verge on offensive- and the script is dire and the jokes tasteless. All in all, really quite dire. 1/10 Bethany Cox
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just stop already
solarfox-993-5940205 March 2011
This movie is so bad it's actually embarrassing to watch Mr. Lawrences already washed up career flounder back to the shore after such thorough and unsettling disappointments as Roscoe Jenkins and the hack work that was Death at a funeral. At this point I think its safe to say that "Life" with Eddie Murphy was probably his last legitimate comedic work. Even in the much hyped Bad Boys 2 he was reduced to portraying yet another whining caricature of himself from his sitcom days.

I wont even bother with a synopsis here. In fact if you cant figure it out yourself by watching the trailer then this is probably just the thing for you.

A terribly sad and abysmal endeavor.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The Best Thin Black Comedian in a Fat Old Black Woman Suit movie ever!
gusfaute24 February 2011
Big Momma's House Three - Like Father Like Son is the Best Thin Black Comedian in a Fat Old Black Woman Suit movie ever! That says a lot that out of the thousands and thousands of Eddie Murphy, Martin Lawrence and who knows who else thin black male comedian movies where they put on a fat old person suit to get (or really just try to get without succeeding) cheap laughs, this one is the very very best. But it also says even more that this movie is still a one out of ten on the IMDb rating scale, because even though it's better than those movies it is still one of the worst movies I have ever had the bad luck to see in my entire life.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A Brilliant Look at Transgenderism within an African-American Family
equinizzle18 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
In the vein of films like "Boys Don't Cry" and "Transamerica", "Big Momma's Like Father Like Son" dares to take on the taboo subject of transgenderism, a subject so often dodged by both mainstream and independent cinema. Yet this film dares to travel further into the taboo by displaying this theme with a backdrop of the relationship between an urban African- American father and son (a community that often shuns or ignores LGBT issues).

This dramatic comedy stars Martin Lawrence as Malcolm Turner, a frustrated man stuck behind his tough machismo identity, as both an FBI agent and African-American father. But the viewer quickly learns that the machismo displayed by Turner is guise to the true identity that liberates him, that of Hattie Mae Pierce, a confident large elderly black woman.

Unable to connect with his rapper son, brilliantly played by Brandon T. Jackson, the younger Turner is invited into his fathers secret world, when Hattie Mae Pierce takes a job at an all girls school, and insists he join him as a student under the guise of a female identity. But the line of Turner/Pierce's life between housemother and FBI agent becomes complicatedly blurred while trying to give her son a first hand understanding of her chosen lifestyle. Meanwhile the son grows increasingly tired of masking his true identity (thus finally understanding how his father feels) and ends up rejecting the transgender lifestyle for a cisgender one after falling in love with a female classmate.

As the film closes with Malcolm Turner finishing a final FBI case, father and son, née, mother and son, head back home, both equipped with a better understanding of who they and each other are and what their relationship truly means to one another. Bravo to director John Whitesell for making such an inspiring addition to LGBT cinema! 5/5 stars.
23 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gem of a movie!
eddclinic4 September 2011
I have to write this review after reading all of the negative ones prior to watching it. This is a gem of a movie! I put off watching it for several weeks after reading all the bad reviews. However, when I did watch it, I got just what I look for in a movie, pure entertainment. The chemistry was great! I really enjoyed watching Brandon Jackson and was impressed, not just by his acting, but also by his singing and dancing—very talented! And that Kurtis Kool! He was the same thing to this movie that spice is to gumbo—it wouldn't have been the same without him. I'd like to see more of the movies he's in. I watched this movie twice in 2 nights and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to laugh!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not comedy, but family
Herdervriend24 May 2011
Dear watchers of this website,

I myself just watched the movie (downloaded, it's out of the theaters, have no DVD set, so, had to see it HD on my PC). And must say, I liked it.

Now you all ask, what did you like then, because I've read the reviews here and they weren't quite positive, also the income was clearly not that high for this movie, which I get. Here I go!

  • Music: Loved the music, all of them. Rap, isn't my music, but, this time I loved it. - Family no comedy: This film was nowhere funny, first 2 were barely, this movie is more a family one, because, it's mainly for children in my eyes (high school movies are never for adults with just, no humor) - It looked like it was just the same as the last 2 movies, nothing actually really changed besides the setting/actors (barely) and story line. Which I don't mind, but a lot of people do.


So, my conclusion is!

Watch it when it comes out on TV I would say YES! Renting it also. But, it's not worth 10 euro's (cinema money).

First time ever doing this, so sorry if I still broke the rules.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I am so glad I didn't waste any money buying tickets to go watch this, but I indeed regret the time I lost.
troy-manatunga5 June 2011
Been awhile since Big Momma was in the house and well she is back and she is big and this time she is dragging along her niece. Malcolm who is trying to crack open a case ends up getting his only witness and snitch killed. Trent who just happened to be at the wrong place at a wrong time witness the murder and now becomes the hunted! In an effort to retrieve some valued evidence and also to protect his son's life, Malcolm aka Big Momma enters an all-girl school dragging along his son Trent aka Charmaine with him. It gets into all kind of crazy when that young boy ends up in an all-girls dorm. Boys will be boys.

John Whitesell should have left the franchise be. He just revived it and it fell harder than it did during the 2nd movie back in 2006. Everything was not right in the movie. I will shine some light on a few.

The Cast.

You can't bring in amateurs alongside a star comedian. Martin Lawrence aced his way through the movie. He was brilliant as Malcolm and he was even better as Big Momma. I wish I could have said better about Brandon T Jackson. He was good, but Lawrence was just too good for him. It was not Just Jackson the entire cast I felt was too weak to be up beside a great like Lawrence. Imagine watching "Wild Hogs" with Martin Lawrence and this same cast. Wild Hogs was a hit, but if the cast was not right, it just won't fly well. Jessica Lucas was gorgeous but her performance was not very convincing either. It was a good strategy to cast in Lawrence to boost the ticket sales, but it just won't fly without support.

The Script

This was the only good thing out of the bad. The script was written with a lot of fast moving and slapstick comedy. This is a good sign. When a script is average this means with the right talent behind the camera and the right talent in front of the camera, the production will scrape to come above average. A good effort by the writers. Sadly yet again, it will not fly without the support.

Direction

John Whitesell is no newbie. He has been around for some time. Although he is not household as many of the big fish in the industry, he did give us "Malibu's Most Wanted". Although not a soaring success story on its own, it was watchable and it was funny. It's sometimes felt as if this was done on a very low budget. A very low one indeed.

I am so glad I didn't waste any money buying tickets to go watch this, but I indeed regret the time I lost.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not terrible. But not great.
BRAwesome5 March 2011
Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son (2011) was what i was expecting, an alright, fun movie. I wasn't going to watch it thinking 'this is going to be better than the others, the best one!'I watched it thinking ah, a hour and 40 minutes of fun with Big Momma, and that's what i got.

I thought Martin Lawrence was excellent as Big Momma like usual, also i thought Brandon T. Jackson was fabulous! Some parts where a bit cheesy though I'll admit that! The overall film was nothing like the previous ones, the previous ones were great, especially the first Big Mommas House. That was Genius! At the end of the day, Its a fun movie, and if you're just looking for a nice fun time at the flicks, then why not?!
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Big Momma is Back With a Vengeance!!!
Pumpkin_Man22 February 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I don't understand why this movie is receiving such low ratings. I thought it was a really good and very funny sequel. It's like a mix of The House Bunny and Sorority Boys. Malcolm's son, Trent is out of high school and wants to pursue a music career. While trying to get him to sign a contract, Trent witnesses a murder on his dad's stakeout. Malcolm and Trent are forced to go undercover and disguise themselves as Big Momma and Charmaine at an all girls college. Big Momma becomes the new den mother to the Divas. At night, Big Momma is trying to find a flash drive that can put a Russian gangster in jail for life. Meanwhile, Trent is slowly falling in love with Haley. I highly recommend BIG MOMMAS: LIKE FATHER, LIKE SON!!!
9 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
2.6 / 10? How Did That Happen?
poto326 February 2011
I saw this movie tonight at the local AMC theatre, it was me and my father. I thought this movie was a hoot, I loved it! So I looked it up on IMDb, and saw that the ranking is 2.6 / 10, which I do not understand. I thought this movie had a good storyline, great plot, was very funny at some portions, I just legitly loved it.

Pretty much, "Big Momma" goes undercover at a female preforming arts school to find a flash drive containing some evidence that will put some crooks away. It's a simple plot, but there's lots of great moments in the film, I thought the wend finale ended funny and was something I did not expect at all to happen.

I loved this movie, I gave it an 8/10, go check it out if you want a good laugh. This is without a doubt something I'll be buying on DVD one of these days when it comes out.
13 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son Review
magow-0124 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Federal agent Malcolm Turner (Lawrence) and stepson Trent (Jackson) head to an all-girls performing arts school to search for evidence of a murder. "You never know when Big Momma might show up again," warned Martin Lawrence at the end of Big Momma's House 2 and he's carried out the threat. After his teenaged stepson Trent (Brandon T Jackson) witnesses a murder, FBI agent Malcolm (Lawrence) takes him undercover at an all-girl school for the arts. There, they search for a flash drive whose location will be obvious to audiences. Both must don frocks: Malcolm in his Big Momma disguise, Trent as a female student. To be fair, both drag up well, but the story's as inane and low on laughs as its predecessors (main joke: a boy dressed as a girl fancies girls). This also spends an inordinately long time on bland musical numbers - trying to Glee-up Big Momma ain't gonna fly, child. Whoever demanded a third instalment of Lawrence's mirthless mash-up of weak gags and cross-dressing horrors should be imprisoned and forced to watch it on repeat until they repent. Avoid.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No , stop it Hollywood !
JokerMichel12 May 2018
That's what they do in Hollywood : sequels ! And we all know sequels are most of the time worse than the original In this case , this movie is a big exemple of how a sequel can be worse than the original They've gone to far with the terrible script and the lack of suspense
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Big Mommas: Like Father, Like son
yahyabasaran21 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Short summary: Agent Malcolm and his son, Trent hide themselves in the "Georgia girls school for the arts" by being dressed as women. Trent witnesses a murder and together with his father, they are trying to locate the killer. Malcolm tries to find evidence against the murderer and with Trent, they make lots of adventures at school!

Content: Trent passed the high school and was accepted at Duke University. His stepfather, Turner wants him to continue studying, but he wants to be a rapper. He tries to sign him a contract after his mother is on vacation, but he refuses. To get the signature, Trent chases his father and witnesses a murder, committed by the Russian Chirkoff. Therefore, they dress up as women and go to the "Georgia girls school for the arts". Malcolm is looking for a USB stick containing evidence against the killer Chirkoff. He discovers that the USB stick is in a music box, which was stolen from the library.

Trent screws up the undercover mission when he was seen by friends during a date with Haley, as himself. The gang members of Chirkoff introduced themselves as record producers to Trent's friends and asked to inform them if they saw him. The members can not find him when he goes undercover as Charmaine Daisy Pierce. Unfortunately ,Trent exposes himself when he sings a song with his own voice. Therefore, he escapes with Turner and Haley but get caught by Chirkoff. The school guard, Kurtis shoots him and rescues them at the last moment. Finally, the killer and his accomplices are arrested. They return to their house and then, the movie ends.

Opinion: Big Mommas: Like Father, Like son is an American comedy movie which contains American humor. The passage in which Turner talks with a white person on the phone occurs a typical American humor scene. The white person calls him chocolate and this is a situation humor. Turner, as Big Momma is pretty and gives spontaneous reactions. His jokes are simple and you don't require any background knowledge. So I think that this is a great American comedy movie because the jokes were easy and it amused me. From my viewpoint, this is a must-watch movie!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Martin Lawrence needs Bad Boys III
mic9026 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Warning: spoiler alerts

Big Momma is back in third movie.. and it was bad move. This time the story is about that his son Trent witnesses a murder. Then father & son duo is ready to investigate a murder. Traces leads to an girls school. Once again the world needs Big Momma's help. What Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son offer to audience? Unfunny jokes and tired cast. Especially Martin Lawrence who desperately needs better movies like this. Maybe he got a big paycheck. I don't see any more reasons why this movie got into production. Typical Hollywood plot and that is getting older. The cast is from B-movies and it felt more like "the girl" movie. The music is like from nowadays Music Television: nothing new and uninspired. There are some funny jokes but other ways the movie is very bad.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Even If Your a Fan of the First Two You Won't Enjoy This,
lesleyharris3022 September 2013
Big Mommas: Like Father,Like Son is a brutal movie with a stupid storyline that is mainly only trying to be funny,but even fails at that.I've seen the first two,which I didn't find brilliant,but there are plenty of funny scenes in them to make it somewhat enjoyable,and that is completely absent in this.The main thing that made the first two so enjoyable is Martin Lawrence,and he isn't in this as much,its more about his step son played by Brandon T Jackson,who I didn't enjoy,his fat suit wasn't as funny and his voice as a woman wasn't either,the scenes that Martin Lawrence is in is the only reason i'm not giving this a lower rating.Even if you are a big fan of the first two Big Mommas,I don't think you'll enjoy this,and definitely not if your looking for something funny to watch,I wouldn't recommend this movie to anyone.

After his stepson Trent (Brandon T Jackson) witnesses a murder,Malcolm (Martin Lawrence) and his stepson Trent must go undercover in an all girls art college as Big Mommma and her daughter.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Disposable Comedy !
elshikh42 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Ahh, what can I say? It's weak and dry. At times, I wanted to leave my seat. And instead of laughing, I suffered the absence of laughing or even smiling !

To know why it was like that; I have one fair answer to you: The Script. This story is worn away, and the writing didn't spend much effort on renewing it a bit. I recalled (Some Like it Hot) all the way, (White Chicks) for some time, and the original Big Momma's movie; (Big Momma's House), naturally. Though, it isn't bad for a movie to be like older movies, the real bad is being anything else their qualities as well. And that's what this movie pulled off perfectly !

I saw all the events miles before happening, and to add a ton of fuel, the comedy didn't compensate. In fact, I didn't run into comedy in the first place. All what this movie had to make laughs was couple of situations, which you could call, truthfully, nauseating and unfunny !

So there was no new story, new dealing or any comedy. The third alone is sad for a comedy to achieve. Add to that, side bugging notes. To instance: While the sight of Big Momma is horrible, she always finds a man who falls for her. And, this time, the man who fell for her before then knew her secret as a man, does it again ??!! The teacher of the fine art class sure got enough time to know Big Momma's fact as a man, though the movie rushed that moment strangely. It tells a lot that there was something wrong with the comic sense of the movie's directing or editing !

Nevertheless, it wasn't all bad. It had some, rather a few, merits. It preferred not to use the nasty stuff that every comedy nowadays obligatorily has (sex jokes, rude language, and - yes - some farting). Although it contained an unnecessary urinating scene, but thank god it was just one ! Brandon T. Jackson gave so right performance. Dancing with Martin Lawrence, in one scene, was done without any artificiality. And the moment of writing a song during the first date was inspired and sweet. However these were the only "original" moments of this ceremony of failed rehashing !

I was sad the most for Martin Lawrence. That guy assures, with many movies, that his mentality is poor. Look at him choosing no daring project, no original idea, one after another. And he just doesn't work it out smartly. Thus, here, I messed him on screen. There was no actual funny stuff for him to perform, and clearly he didn't come up with a material of his own. This is one of his least enjoyable comedies. The thing is, you can say the same about most of his comedies lately !

I have always said that Lawrence doesn't have it to do pure action, drama, romance like his fellow Well Smith. But according to movies like (Big Momma 3), I knew that he doesn't have the clever mentality of Smith too ! So he must learn himself a lesson and think twice, or think, about the scripts which he selects, since there is nothing uglier than non funny comic star !

The problem of (Big Mommas: Like Father, Like Son) isn't about having no originality with the formulaic plot; it's about having no juice inside this formulaic plot, as if the writers didn't have time to make any creative situations or amusing lines (I bet, this movie doesn't make its own makers laugh !). So with another script, or true script, it could have been comic and memorable. Because being the way it is, makes it a disposable movie to be watched and forgotten. Dully watched and quickly forgotten to be precise !
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed