Louie (TV Series 2010–2015) Poster

(2010–2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
70 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Welcome to the Pantheon, Louis C.K.
jadekite227 September 2010
I hate giving the 10-star rating because it appears exaggerated and the best I can do to avoid people looking down on the review/plea for people to watch this program is to say, "It's the best at what it's trying to be." I'm not going to use that statement to save my ass here because I'm not sure what this show is trying to be other than honest.

'Louie' is the first show I've come across that I absolutely refuse to let myself wait for DVD to see. It's the first show that I don't sit down to watch with the sole anticipation of having it either cheer me up with comedy or shock me with dramatic twists. 'Louie' is simply something I watch because it feels like I'm gaining life experience from it, which is impressive considering Louis C.K., or at least the Louie character's self-proclaimed life goals are to raise his kids and hold his title as World's Best Masturbator.

It's also impressive considering that I, and I'm sure many viewers, have already experienced nearly every situation this show covers, from being forced out of the house with no plans to being on a date with someone who thinks less of you for doing the right thing despite saying that he/she valued righteousness. So what's to gain from reliving these unpleasant situations every Tuesday evening?

Great shows like Curb Your Enthusiasm bank on this question by allowing the main character to vengefully act on his everyday irritations only to have it bite him in the ass by the episode's end. This way you can laugh at the absurdity while saying, "I know what he's feeling, man," followed by, "but I'm sure glad *I* didn't act on it." It's a winning formula because the audience always comes out unscathed. 'Louie' makes that show look like it's playing too safe (which it isn't, by the way.)

If the Louie character ever acts on his irritations, he does it in a way that almost feels like he's seen Curb, and thus trying to avoid any unnecessary harm while still following his gut instinct. In other words, he's a coward sometimes, just like we are. Curb's Larry David states in interviews that his eponymous character is more like him than he is. Louie is simply Louis, and perhaps, Louis is simply everybody, and PERHAPS that can be a little discomforting. But that's okay, because at least, just like when we look back on mistakes or simply situations that we wish we could have handled differently (so that we could've gotten laid that night), it's almost always hilarious. The difference here is that it's *always* hilarious. . . though it's still unbelievably discomforting.

For that, I'm more than happy to not save my ass on this one. Enjoy chewing on it, critics.
185 out of 214 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I Laughed, I Cried. Then I Watched Louie, and Really F$@#ing Laughed.
eddiez6127 February 2011
Louis C.K. has found his voice. He's always been unaffected, without gimmicks, both as a stand up and as a comedic actor, but he now speaks and acts with near elegant confidence. His old HBO show "Lucky Louie" was original, edgy and often hilarious, but it was basically a sitcom, and even though it thoroughly mocked its own premises, it felt constrained by its traditional format. He was also quite raw as an actor and his rhythm was often awkward and rushed. But this latest project has him portraying a much more genuine version of himself and it takes its sweet time setting up and delivering its original punchlines. The humor now is very organic, arising not from slapstick absurdity but from honesty of character. Integrity is a word that just might pop up in a more competent review.

Like Seinfeld who inter-cut his show with staged fragments of his live routine, Louie uses his nightly club sessions to vent his daily frustrations, but the mood and feel is very different because Louis C.K. is not just riffing on airline peanuts and oddly buttoning shirts. He's also describing his complex, often extreme reactions to being alive. His carefully argued opinions on the inane and demoralizing nature of modern urban life are brilliant. Taboos are the targets at which the better comics aim their lacerating wit most emphatically, and the taboo that Louis mercilessly eviscerates most is fatherhood. If his frequently profane and sinister comments on parenting weren't so poignantly true and uncomfortably familiar they'd qualify as grounds for denial of custody. His honesty in expressing just how tedious, cold, and bland so much of his waking time actually is only works to heighten the comedic impact of his concise eloquent rants. His pacing and timing are at expert level now, as he has relaxed into himself; his aging, decaying, disappointing self. That's the kind of truth that "reality" TV could never pick out of a police line up.

The supporting players are all sensational and equally genuine. His friends, cohorts, and sociopath side kicks are marvelously candid and natural. Together they have some of the most entertaining, informative and enlightened discussions on life's more sensitive subjects. And they do it while exchanging great dick jokes. Pamela Adlon, who played his tough, often stressed working wife on the old HBO show, joins him again but now as a more crass and disillusioned fellow single parent. And the recurring visits of Ricky Gervais' maniacally demented doctor are sublimely outrageous, positively some of the most excruciatingly intense laughter I've ever experienced. That pudgy Brit is deranged!

What else can I add to this near solemn memorial I've contrived for this most enjoyable, most satisfying show? Just the fact that it is without a doubt the quickest passing twenty two minutes of quality comedy I've ever enjoyed. Yeah, it flies by way too fast.
115 out of 135 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Everyman's Misanthrope
jzappa4 April 2011
Seinfeld revolved around a stand-up comedian constantly sabotaged by the catastrophic social faux pas of himself and the people inextricably involved in his life, intercut with performance sets by the actual comic. So is Louie. But where Seinfeld was purportedly "a show about nothing," Louie is a show in which from moment to moment, you can safely expect nothing. Not only does Louis C.K. straddle the gaps in social protocol and everyday confrontations we all understand, but also the extremes of comedy and tragedy. It's a gallows comedy, in which we can find ourselves laughing in elation at the both wry and surreal absurdity of one moment, then clenching our chair arms in both tension and incredulity at moments of agonizing pain and even at times a true sense of impending brutality.

There is no continuity from one episode to the next, or even from one vignette to the next. Each episode is comprised of usually two scenarios book-ended by stand-up sets by Louie, which may or may not turn out to be part of one of the scenes. It's the direct inversion by an observant everyman's misanthrope of the TV sitcom. Whereas every sitcom we've ever seen has one essential soundstage, an ongoing play-like farce that runs before two cameras, all the same characters show up and everything not only works out but is just the same as before by the end, each week Louie will give a stream of consciousness an unsystematic narrative silhouette almost invariably a sequence of encounters with characters who enter and exit, yet very few ever return. Some actors and actresses return in different roles. Louie's mother is at one point played by an old woman as an appalling malignant narcissist and in another episode a humble, warm-hearted young working-class woman.

The show is written, directed and edited by its star, and he creates a visually realistic look and atmosphere for his small stories, captured quite cinematically. In the God episode, arguably the boldest, most powerful episode, he injects solemn amber tones, almost I dare say comparable to Gordon Willis' work on the Godfather films. There is a considerable proliferation of long takes in which two characters will share dialogue that sounds and feels no less real than that which we'll share with someone tomorrow. Sometimes, he's bold enough to prolong a single, stationary take in which nothing is being said on-camera, but all the action that affects the character in the shot is occurring off-camera, and in that very single take, we're carried seamlessly and steadily from deadpan absurdity to genuine terror. Then comes the cut: Life goes on; nothing's really that big of a deal. Simply put, each week, C.K. delivers one or two of the most powerful and memorable short films you may ever see.
77 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most bizarrely refreshing show on TV today
misterkyo-19 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Louie is a very weird show. I can honestly say I have never seen such an unorthodox approach to directing and editing in television. Comparisons to Curb Your Enthusiasm have their merit, as the show often thrives on propelling awkward moments, but the focus of the show is in a much different direction.

Louie has a knack for blurring surrealism with reality. Many times in the series, the viewer can enjoy scenes that seem to scream 'it was going so bad, this might as well have happened,' except there are no visual or audio cues as to when the show transitions into such moments. As such, at least in my experience, there are several moments of jaw dropping, I-can't-believe-that-just-happened ecstatic laughter in every episode.

The writing is as sharp and precise as Louie's stand-up, of which live bits are heavily incorporated into the show. The casting thus far has also been great. Perhaps it's due to the direction of the series, but the acting seems far superior to that of the also hilarious Lucky Louie, even in scenes with actors from that show--exchanges between Louie and Nick DiPaolo, for example, are much more believable than the HBO series. Louis CK is by no means a world class actor, but for one who describes himself as a man who "hates acting" and is "bad at it," he delivers the goods more than well enough.

I recommend this show to just about everyone. I would practically instruct any fan of dirty comedy to watch this show, as not only do many fantastic comics appear on the series, but the show has a sense of humor that seems distinctly tailored to stand-up comedy fans. FX allows for some coarse language, and the series takes advantage of that; however, the show is accessible for any adult with even a moderate sense of humor. Watch this show, and re-watch it again.
51 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Louie, please save comedy for us!
vkostelic16 December 2010
Louis CK is a genius and he once again proves it by making this miraculously humorous show.

The humor is of the best kind - dry and effective, and Louie faces some real problems that are common for all of us at one point - aging and going through tough (but hilarious) changes in life... Seeing THAT from Louie's point of view is particularly interesting... The show itself is refreshing new gem in the sea of mediocre popular boringness that we see today on TV.

Anyway, I think that this show is underrated and needs more reviews...

Can't wait for the second season!
57 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Started Slow But Faith in Louie
Muia17-114 September 2010
This show as everything else can be compared to other shows but it is its own in many ways. First of which can be said is kudos to Louis C.K. is he greatly underrated and should be a much more respected star. His comedy is genuine and honest and i know it sounds corny but his show feels very real the dialogue and the situations are how real life i think would be. I've heard it be compared to seinfeld but the only comparison is that there are clips of louie doing stand up, the actual show is nothing like it. Also id like to commend FX on giving it time to grow, they are a very good network for that, same with SUNNY IN PHILLY, that show grew into an excellent show. Shows get canceled to quickly. Anyways to sum up. Louie gets a 10/10, its just my opinion.
53 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Disturbingly refreshing
hiphoptourist2 July 2011
I watched this show for the first time last week after Wilfred (another great new show), and I must say - Louie is wondrously on a WHOLE new level. Where have I been?! Yes, the show is quite explicit, vulgar, and just plain dirty - all of which I'm not a huge fan, but the writing/dialogue depicts the everyday thoughts and issues that are really running in the minds of the rest of us, but we're just too afraid to speak our minds. That's what really amazes/captures me about this show. It is rough around the edges submerged with complex, bizarre, vulgar situations, yet the overall tone of the show is so...simple, mundane. This very stark contrast is not only captivating and mind-blowing, it is very intense and disturbing to the human psyche. It is just a whole new level of comedy. I am thoroughly and mindbogglingly wow-ed.
52 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of today's best comic's raises the bar for all future situation comedies
GeorgeB-111 July 2011
Louis CK began his career as a writer for various show's like the Ben Stiller Show and Late Night with Conan O'Brien. He also made several surrealist style short films which I highly recommend you look up on YouTube. With "Louie", CK has essentially perfected what he's been working at for over twenty years: short films/comedy sketches.

While the show retains an overarching structure revolving around Louis' daughters and his stand up comedy, the actual content of the episodes can cover virtually anything CK chooses, a sense of freedom he clearly loves. In fact, in a recent interview with Jimmy Kimmel, CK talked about the inconsistencies on his show: how characters appear out of nowhere and then disappear, never to be seen or spoken of ever again. Why? CK lost interest or couldn't think of anything funny to do with them. Other shows require their less interesting characters to have scenes in each episode, forcing the writing staff to jimmy them into the plot just so the actor can have a line of dialogue. CK views this as an unnecessary formality that it's about time television moves on from. I heartily agree.

If you enjoy laughter, watch Louie. If you hate boring, dull characters, watch Louie. If you're fed up with every character speaking like a comedy writer and having their conversations broken up by the requirement of canned laughs so that you, the stupid viewer, will know when to laugh, then watch Louie. Finally, if you like to ruminate on topics like inevitable death, the tragedy of aging, the annoying yet fulfilling requirements of parenthood, and then after much brooding, find yourself laughing at the absurdity of it all, then watch Louie. Because that's the show.
49 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A promising start to quite possibly a great show.
Kyle_Fitta30 June 2010
I was watching Rescue Me tonight, and I saw the previews of this show. I didn't know if it was old or new. I later checked on the cable box and saw it was new. I gave it a shot, and I was a bit surprised that there might be another great show on TV.

While I am not going to sit here and say this is the next Seinfeld, it had certain feelings to it, like the stand up comedy part in the start and the end. But "Louie" seems more edgier and more explicit than Seinfeld's method of 'beating around the bush' of what they want to say due to restrictions. The jokes I would say are more like Curb Your Enthusiasm.

I will not try to spoil much for those who haven't seen it, but the show is basically about a middle-aged man who has two children, both girls, and recently split up with his wife. He is a stand up comedian for a living, and while off the job -- he is looking for a rebound for his break up with his wife. His character symbolizes Larry David's to a degree, although I don't see his good will like Larry shows time to time, yet he's still a very sympathetic character and one who is easy to get behind.

I love the comparisons to Seinfeld and CYE, because I think they are both excellent shows, thus I hope this show can use that type of formula but also be able to come up with some innovative and compelling ideas on its own. It's already did its main job with me: making me want to see it again. I am looking forward to see if this show becomes something epic or something that epic fails.

Worth checking out, especially if you're a Seinfeld and/or CYE fan.
79 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellently different
OleBlackDog9 September 2011
Is truth, I would not call this a sitcom. It is not sketch comedy either, so...what is this? I can not call it anything but genius. Brilliant comedy, in a creative format. I love this. SNV has said he is a great fan of Louis for make me watch him. I also not like to rate a ten, as like previous reviewer say. But I am forced to maintain an integrity? Yes! And, so, I must give highest of rating for this because I feel it is deserving. You will not know what to expect or how to expect it to be delivered on any given episode. Everything comes anew and is very refreshing. It is not stuck in format like most sitcoms and sketch comedies you find. I find those often bore. This, I am no bore, you see? I plan to watch until they cancel! They always cancel the 10/10 ones!
40 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Promises, promises
getupday7 July 2010
Ricky Gervais called Louis C.K. "the funniest comedian working in America today", so it's fitting that Louis should repay the compliment with a guest spot for Gervais on his show. And what a guest spot! Gervais is allowed to do what Gervais does best, say ridiculously sublime and horribly tasteless things while still remaining oddly endearing. Ricky's jokes in anyone else's hands could seem the punch lines of a sociopath. Whether Louis C.K. will fulfill Ricky's pronouncement as "the funniest comedian working in America today" remains to be seen, but he's off to a good start. Each episode of Louis is presented in two vignettes, two seemingly random episodes connected by a greater theme, such as aging, love, death, health, wealth and happiness, etc. And so far, Louis C.K. has surrounded himself with excellent playmates (Gervais, for one). Now let us hope that he takes a cue from Ricky Gervais and keeps his comedy grounded in a painfully bittersweet hyper reality, as opposed to a Jerry Seinfeld/ Larry David world of snarky cynicism. The random quirkiness of his show has already drawn Seinfeld comparisons, but it's pretty obvious Louis has a hope for humanity his predecessors have never had. Louis C.K. (the character) is both a schlemiel and a schlimazel, a loser either way you look at it, but he has a dignity befitting a Ricky Gervais character. And that's a winner anyway you look at it.
50 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Probably the ultimate legacy of Louis C.K.
cafevincent5 July 2017
Did I just watch the best ever series ever? Arguably yes! How does a comedy show get to this level of cinematic quality so it can be compared with modern marvels of storytelling such as Fargo, Better Call Saul, Silicon Valley or Twin Peaks: The Return?

It's unique blend is dirty, raw, delightfully surreal, honest, touching and truly hilarious. I never would have guessed Louis had this kind of talent in him. It's so surreal that while watching I had to check if David Lynch was part of the production. No wonder he agreed for the cameo, he must be a big fan!

For this series alone Louis C.K. shall be remembered as THE comedy genius of our time and not only for his killer standup specials. Mad kudos, Louie, I will forever love you for this!

The horrible downside all this is that there's only 61 episodes so let's all cross our fingers and hope Louie will return for another episode of few! Or at least another standup special..
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Louis CK is at a new level
sidekickjosh10 December 2010
Warning: Spoilers
To preface - i am not one of those people who hand out 10 star reviews. I rarely if ever write reviews. With that said, here are my impressions of this modern masterpiece.

I think it is quite evident that Louis CK has moved on to the next level of comedy with this shows efforts. I feel like he has reached a place where he is now not just a comedian, but a voice. He isn't going for gags (this guy makes being funny look so effortless). Some episodes you don't laugh out loud once, but come out of the experience thinking about what you saw, and the humor exists as a whole, not as individual jokes (it has those too though). It feels like he really has tried to say something about growing up and assimilating into adulthood together.

It sounds so serious from my review - but not all of it is. There are so many moments that are just so funny you want to rewatch the episodes again. But, even as ridiculous parts of it are, you end up really caring about the Louie character, because it is so believable. I really didn't realize what a genuine experience the show was until the last moment of the last episode. It was like, tear inducing if you could believe. I really feel like it was a classic moment in modern TV, and I don't feel like I am exaggerating.

The more I watch this show, the more I understand what he was going for, and the more I appreciate it. This will be one of those shows I come back to decade after decade, and will probably appreciate even more when i become a father.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Comedic mastermind
Brave_TraveIer26 May 2017
In a nutshell....It can be as funny and uncomfortable as Curb Your Enthusiasm, and maybe even more so. The big difference is that the show is heartfelt. Louie has a soul but his life sucks! Louis C.K.'s stand-up comedy is also shown throughout each episode. The show is filmed in sepia/dark tone so it has a somewhat depressing feel, which fits in with Louie's life. If you're expecting a lighthearted, silly show, you may be disappointed. It delves into some uncomfortable topics at times, but, it's always a topic worth considering. It remains as comically fresh and no-holds-barred as prior seasons were. As far as I'm concerned, Louie C.K. is this generation's George Carlin. Whereas Jerry Seinfeld points out the comic infrastructure of every potential situation, Louie shows us parts of ourselves we'd rather not look at. (Consider Vanessa's speech on fat women.) George Carlin made us blush (and made history) with "the seven words" -- Louie's observations make that bit seem tame by comparison. But that's Louie. Louie is about life. And sometimes life is messy. He makes us laugh about it. He embodies the mans mans and the comics comic! I can relate to him on so many levels in this series and this series is without a doubt terrain of, rather than comedy or drama or simply dramedy, it's simply life! Don't underestimate this man because you see him on stage with a mic with such offensive vulgarity to some. This man is a genius and makes very heavy emotional episodes that have very deep meaning. he injects a soul into this series that has such a pulse and it beats with a rare brilliance! This series is the best dramedy I've ever seen!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I genuinely tried to like it
arian-hakim29 June 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I think the reason why it was so god awful for me is because it was a very slow paced comedy, and not that there is anything wrong with that, but it just really was not all that funny. There was one scene that was so fruitless. Him waving for a taxi, right outside of the hospital, the taxi driver stopped 5 yards ahead of him so he had to limp to the door to open it. But then the taxi driver just took off. I mean i understand that sometimes life can be crappy but this just reminded of very badly written German satire. It just was not entertaining or funny. And I Love his stand ups. This however seems to be something else that he has been having up his sleeves that I just do not appreciate.
30 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Unique, hilarious, touching and true-to-life; "Louie" is a masterpiece that mixes comedy, drama and tragedy seamlessly
pere-2536631 May 2019
Say what you will about Louis C.K. but his talents as a director, writer and actor are truly incredible. The writing in "Louie" is at times hilariously vulgar and other times touching and sad; there are moments of sincere honesty and other times of complete bizarreness. That is one of the ways the show is truly one-of-a-kind - you simply don't know what you'll get in any particular episode. Aside from that, the acting, directing and cinematography are all fantastic in their own right. If you're not ready to commit to the show, watch Horace and Pete (2016) and you'll be running to see more from this man shortly after. Masterpiece Television. 👏
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow. This is probably THE worst show I've ever seen in my entire life!
Prince_Ingus13 April 2012
But its soo bad its good! There isn't a single episode that doesn't give me chills, make me sick to my stomach, unbearably uncomfortable, or hate myself for continuing watching this show. Its so wrong, yet so real, yet so surreal it feels fake. His acting is so bad that it feels totally unscripted and genuine..(and he actually says in many episodes and stand-up that he hates acting and actors bc its so fake). EVery episode leaves me saying WUT The FUQ did I just watch??!? And if that isn't good television America, I don't know what is..

Ps I watch Always Sunny, Curb, Increasing bad decisions of Todd Margret, Arrested Development, and other dark comedies. Its probably my favorite genre. This is on a whole different plane of wrong.

Mainly because it feels so real..yet impossible..wtf
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Never go full retard.
fredericks7924 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I loved this show until episode 4 of this latest (4th) season. It seems Louie has now gone full retard in his show now and has broken those sacred words of wisdom. I'm now on episode 7 and I haven't even chuckled since episode 3. The show has gone from uncomfortable comedy to just unbearably painful to watch and zero funny. He barely speaks anymore, and when he does he barely puts a coherent sentence together. The episode where his daughter get's into trouble at school is one of the most ridiculous scenes I've ever seen in TV history. She violently rips a dress off of a teacher at her school and when he gets there to pick her up no one says anything to him about it!? Give me a break. That is just infuriating unrealistic. He needs to stop forcing these situations to prove his dumb points. Its getting really old and predictable now. Furthermore the idiotic relationship with his Hungarian neighbors is just pointless, stupid, and worst of all not funny. Louie has forgotten you never go full retard, and a comedy can never go full darkness. Without at least 20% funny in his show, the formula falls apart and it just becomes watching a pathetic retard in a fat mans body doing things that make people angry and embarrassed for him. Even Louie's biggest influence Woody Allen would never dare leave out the funny. If Louie is going to pull this show out of its tailspin, he must bring back the funny. With that said Louie is a brilliant and extremely talented comedian and I will keep watching and rooting for him that he turns this ship around.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A show about you and me
dkshkndpal11 September 2016
I've been sitting here trying to come up with a word that best describes 'Louie' and 'honest' is the best I could do. This show is a comedian's life for all to see and it's surprisingly not that different from yours and mine. I never thought that the life of a simple unremarkable man could be so engaging and funny when seen from different eyes. I guess the thing I liked the most about the show is how it doesn't try too hard. It doesn't try too hard to make you laugh or to rope you in. It's like an art in the museum that speaks to you even though it doesn't and you get sucked in. The show's just there and you just keep watching it and a few episodes in, you'll say to yourself "yeah man, that's so true" and it'll probably hit you then what a masterpiece Louis C K has created. Louie is like a painting without all the artsy paraphernalia. It's like a perfect stroke of single colour (life) by an anonymous artist. So, if you're looking for a show that'll make you laugh your eyes out or a show full of witty one liners, this is not for you. It's for the people who rejoice in simple things and don't mind admitting that you've no control over your life but still strive hard to be better at their jobs, at being a better father, a better friend. To me the show says "this is my life and this is how I go about it" and that's it. It doesn't preach you about living your life a certain way, to start eating healthy, to hit the gym, to do your chores and embrace all your duties happily. It's just a show about a man and I hardly think it's important that he's a comedian, living his life. I am going to go ahead and call 'Louie' the best depiction of life. If somebody asked me "what is life?" I would hand them the DVD set of this show as an answer. 'Louie' reminds me a lot of Woody Allen's movies and it's because there's a common thread,' New York'. Now, I am not an American and have never been to the States but from what I've seen in the movies it's pretty evident that people from New York truly love it there. The romanticism that Woody Allen shares with New York was pretty evident in his movies and I think it holds true for Louie too. The show is shot beautifully and you get to see why it is that this city has captured the hearts of so many people All in all, 'Louie' is a great show and I can't recommend it enough. So, if you are alive and healthy watch it.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
is it a comedy? is it a drama? its boring
debudabu19 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
titled as a comedy but as much as I have tried I could not find a single moment of comedy in this boring "sitcom". there is more "drama" than comedy in this miserable "sitcom" and it is not the good kind. even the Standup bits (wannabe Seinfeld) are boring, cannot believe anyone will pay to watch him. I would feel ripped off if I would pay for such a level of standup comedy. and the worse thing is that those boring jokes, keep repeating itself.

want a spoiler: summery of Louie in two lines I am divorce I am ugly, I have two daughters which take too much of my time and I will tell you about it even though that it may shock you! (and this, friends is the entire first two seasons). did I have mentioned boring?
32 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Too vulgar and monotonous by far
mpless27 August 2013
I read many of the reviews and so tried to watch this. After seven episodes I can no longer continue. It is just not funny, a major failing in this genre.

I don't mind the occasional sexual joke, but for them to be the sole source of attempted humor, I just gave up. I don't think endless references to vaginas (vaginae?) are in any way clever or fresh. It isn't a word that comes up commonly in mixed conversation, so I guess Louie was trying for shock value, but this would have limited attraction to anyone not brain-dead.

In one episode Louie, in his stand up act verbally abused an audience member in a particularly coarse manner. True, this was part of the act and the show, but it was too extreme. In terms of observational humor, Jerry Seinfeld was masterful and managed it without excessive mentioning of his or anyone else's genitals. Billy Connolly did a hilarious act where he discussed his genitals, and I'd encourage the shows writers to observe and perhaps take note of how a professional works.

Quite simply, if you like your humor to be witty and intelligent, you'll have to look elsewhere.
20 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
From Love to Hate
degeddes-51-8779464 May 2015
I have never before gone from loving a show to so completely hating it. After the first 3 seasons I was really looking forward to season 4. After season 4 I was disappointed but then I thought - everyone's entitled to an off show or an off season. So when season 5 came along I thought that I would give Louie another chance. But after watching season 5 episode 1 I am done with Louie. Firstly this is not a comedy - that's okay but people should know that going in. It's not only not a comedy it's downright depressing. Every episode seems to be an excuse to portray how twisted Louie's experience with other people, especially women is. There is not one likable character in Louie including Louie himself. They're not even particularly interesting people because I simply can't relate to these repressed, narcissistic New Yorkers. And this is all coming from a guy who loves Louis CK's stand up, his interviews on Stern and the first 3 seasons of Louie. I would watch S5E2 but I have no hope that this gets any better and I just can't bear the thought of spending 22 more minutes inside Louie's sick, sad mind.
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Louie (Fox) - Review
mail-479-2411238 February 2013
The more television comedy I write about, the harder it is to make me laugh. I seem to have almost become desensitised to mirth – far more likely to quietly and coldly utter, "That's funny," under my breath, than to clutch my belly and guffaw. But I have recently discovered an American stand-up comedian who makes me laugh out loud, consistently and uncontrollably, every single time I watch his show.

It has taken a while for Emmy Award-winning Louie CK (Comedy Central) to establish himself on this side of the Atlantic, and I only wish it had happened sooner. Part stand-up show, part semi-improvised sitcom, this is a quite remarkable series, made even more remarkable when you learn that Louie not only writes, performs and produces this show himself, he also directs it and edits it as well.

Louie CK shouldn't be anywhere near as funny as it is. It covers all the usual barn-door stand-up subjects that we're painfully familiar with: Sex, death, divorce. Jewish Manhattan angst. Seinfeld was churning this stuff out twenty five years ago, and by now it should feel stale and repetitious.

But there's something about the way Louie CK does it that makes you feel like you're watching stand-up comedy for the first time in your life. Because Louie takes honesty to the next level.

It boils down to this: Here's a 45-year-old, divorced white guy with two kids, who knows that pretty soon he is going to grow old and die. There's no escaping it. You can wrap it up however you want but soon we'll all be in a box. Which isn't funny. That's why it's funny.

Louie knows that everything he holds dear is going to decay and fall apart – that the Universe, second by second, minute by minute, is returning to the dark, brutal, miserable, bleak chaos from which it evolved. Which is a truly terrible thought. But when Louis talks about it, it somehow it makes you feel glad to be alive.

Your darkest thoughts and worst fears seem less frightening when some middle-aged, ginger schmuck in a T-shirt pitches up in a basement in New York City, and shares them with a room full of fellow human beings. This is comedy that is worse than self-depreciating. It is self-annihilating.

Humour that ploughs the very depths of the human condition. Everyman comedy that goes right ahead and lays it on the line for every man, woman and beast on this planet, with a clear, central core message that is quite simply this: "We are all screwed. Enjoy."

I never thought I'd hear myself say it, but this guy is as good as Bill Hicks. For all the same reasons. And there's a bonus: Louie is still alive. At least for a while.

This week's episode featured a guest appearance from Ricky Gervais as our hero's wise-cracking doctor – a man who's idea of a joke is to tell you that you've got Aids, then say he's only joking, you don't really have Aids. You have cancer.

Gervais has struggled to make me laugh since the heady days of The Office, but his performance in this episode was quite inspired – almost as if Louie has the magical ability to make the people around him as funny as he is.

Louie CK is not for the faint-hearted. If you're easily shocked or you don't get vicious, gut-wrenching post-modern comedy then give it a miss. But if you're a living, breathing human being with a half-decent IQ, check out Louie CK. It's almost worth staying alive for.

More TV reviews at Mouthbox.co.uk
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's going downhill
deloudelouvain20 February 2015
First of all let me say that Louie C.K. is an excellent comedian. It's never easy for a stand-up comedian to get full attention of the whole audience but he manages to get it easily. The two little girls, Hadley Delany and Ursula Parker, that play his daughters Lilly and Jane are very good as well. Especially the youngest one Jane. The first season was to me the best one with a lot of humor on day to day topics. The second and third season are good as well but with fewer jokes but still it is enjoyable to watch. But with the fourth season I don't know where he is going. It's less funny and I really hope he gets back like the first season otherwise I might just skip watching it.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Go ahead, give me a NO!
Lomedin8 September 2013
I can't help but notice how many people pressed the NO button at the bottom of negative reviews when asked if they found the review helpful. I can understand this, since the world is full of nonsense. Or, who knows, maybe this Louie guy spends his time on the net clicking NO buttons.

Anyway, I'll just spit out why I don't like this show:

Louie is ridiculously UGLY. Not funny ugly, simply hurtful to look at ugly. Don't take my word for it: he says it himself.

Alas, the more important stuff. First episode: he is telling a joke to an audience. It goes something like "Blah, blah, blah (laughs), Blah, blah, blah (laughs)". Suddenly, he comes out with the way people are dying in Africa (laughs), how that it's happening when there are people driving big cars around (laughs), and how he himself is one of those people (laughs) who could simply sell his car for 10000 dollars (laughs), get a more little one (laughs) and give that money to the people starving to death in Africa (laughs). Not sure if you get what my problem is here. Let me explain: firstly, I can't understand how anybody (except for a bunch of selfish, egocentric individuals) could laugh when they hear a person saying that people are right now starving to death. Where is the joke there? Secondly, anybody who makes a joke out of that and how he is supporting that happening can't be anything but part of that bunch of selfish, egocentric individuals. Is that not a bit disturbing?

That makes me think of those people who go around saying that you just have to laugh at everything, take everything as a joke. The real joke is how those same people don't find funny the bad stuff that happens to them. I can't imagine Louie witnessing how his two little daughters go through an agonizing and torturous death by starvation and saying "hey, let's make a joke out of it!". But, well, maybe I'm wrong. Maybe he could even make a joke out of himself starving to death while his body is eating is own stomach due to the lack of anything else to provide any minimal sustenance. I guess he could joke about that for a while, since he seems to have enough fat reserves to go for a while. Sorry, I hope I'm not crossing any lines here by stating the fact that he is fat (by choice, not because he has any thyroid problem). After all, is it not allowed to laugh at everything?

I won't go into any comparisons with Seinfeld or Curb your enthusiasm. Enough said that I find humor in lots of different places, some more refined than others, ranging from Father Ted or Scary movie to Frasier, for example.

In this show, I can't find any real humor ANYWHERE.

And now, die-hard fans and critics of rough parts of town, go ahead and enthusiastically click the NO button down there. I don't give a damn. I have real important things to care about, like the way you carelessly destroy the planet while sitting on your butt laughing with shows like these, or the children starving to death while you cruise around with your big car, grease from the burger in your hand spilling on your belly when making an effort to swap it for your ringing new model android phone.
25 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed