Trust (2010) Poster

(I) (2010)

User Reviews

Review this title
150 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
A powerful and effective film
write_mich11 September 2010
I had the privilege to be among the first in North America to screen David Schwimmer's latest film last night at the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF), with cast members including Clive Owen and Catherine Keener (two of my favourite actors) present as well as the director, Schwimmer himself.

Before the screening, the former "Friends" star provided some valuable context for the film, sharing his personal connection to the topic. It was enlightening to learn that he himself is a dedicated advocate for survivors of sexual assault/abuse and has spent a great deal of time working and interacting with the families impacted, because the film was executed with such a sensitivity and deep psychological understanding around the difficult topic.

Before delving into my review let me just say upfront (for those who are quickly trying to decide whether or not to see this) that this is a good movie, and yes you should see it.

I also went into this film not knowing its rating and I can assure you, that while the subject is very heavy and there are some disturbing scenes and some violence, there is nothing here so sexually graphic that it is too uncomfortable to watch - even my husband who I would consider to be a "sensitive" viewer did not find the film to be graphic.

"Trust" is the kind of movie that relies heavily upon the plausibility of its dialogue and the believability of its actors. If the script was poorly written or the innumerable emotional scenes poorly acted, the whole thing might have been a disaster for Schwimmer.

Instead, Kenner and Owen turned in Oscar-worthy performances that invited viewers into their home, their marriage and their suffering. Under great direction, Owen led his character through a roller-coaster of emotions that was accessible to viewers, as we shared in his character's progression through anger, grief and understanding.

Not to be overlooked, and the true star of this film, is the young Liana Liberato who plays the daughter and the victim with such authenticity that it was at some times painful to watch. Not enough can be said about how incredible she was in this film - I think the career she has ahead of her will speak for itself.

Of course, the best acting in the world would have been wasted if the screenplay was weak, but with Robert Festinger (who wrote the screenplay for "In the Bedroom") on board, you can expect a convincing storyline and dialogue that felt real.

At times, the film comes dangerously close to being cliché or cheesy like a television drama or TV movie-of-the-week. And this is almost inevitable when trying to make a cautionary drama with the underlying objective of raising awareness around a societal issue. However any time you feel the film beginning to veer down this path, it is rescued by the incredible acting and you forget once more that you are watching a film. Even the ending which I thought at first was a bit overly sentimental, quickly took an unexpected and dark turn that, for me, restored its credibility.

This is a powerful and very important film, not just for families but also for David Schwimmer's career because now the sitcom actor-turned- director has established himself as a serious and very capable dramatic filmmaker who is not afraid to take on challenging material.

I'm not sure how well "Trust" will do outside of the film festival or if it would appeal to mass audiences, however I do hope people see it, especially those who care about this important issue.

I would definitely watch a David Schwimmer film again in the future - he has legitimate talent behind the camera and should he make more marketable movies in the future, he might actually make it big as a director.

I give this movie a solid 8 out of 10. Congratulations to Schwimmer and your team on this great accomplishment. And, as a woman and caring citizen, thank you for telling this story.
159 out of 192 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This film reveals the ongoing threat...
DrDarkness27 June 2011
I belong to the first generation which was born in the middle of hi-tech inventions and evolving Internet. I was teased at school and felt that my parents didn't have enough time and understanding, so the Internet was like another world with kind strangers and new friends. They didn't judge me by my looks, they didn't know anything about my past and so on.

I saw this movie yesterday and it hit me down, hard. I could understand the need to be loved and the fear to be left alone. I was one of the victims of a sexual predator, but the fact that they hunted via Internet was either hushed up or people didn't simply know.

This film isn't about happy endings or life being fair. It's about a family, a life of this day, different faces of love and last but not least, surviving.

I want to thank everyone who made this film. I really hope this shakes the parents to look after their kids when they are online. Does it happen in the mall or via Internet, they are talking to strangers. Some of them are okay, some of them are not. Teach them to be cautious -Internet can be a great thing for lonely people, but at the same time it's the most dangerous jungle.
83 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A scary good movie that people need to see
GiftedGuyOnline24 March 2011
I went in thinking it would be a standard-issue, after-school special type of movie that would be most popular when it airs on Lifetime. I'm sure a lot of you may hesitate to go see it because you are thinking the same thing. YOU NEED TO SEE THIS MOVIE.

It's real. It's damn real. The acting across the board is phenomenal. The girl playing Annie in the movie is relatively new on the scene, but she nails it. Perfect range of up and down emotions.

I know a lot of you have seen To Catch a Predator. That show seems scripted and fake when compared to this film. Trust gives you an inside view of what something like this can do not only to a victim but also to the victim's family. Clive Owen and Catherine Keener are spot-on and deliver outstanding performances.

Scary good is the best way I can describe this movie. You'll walk away knowing you just saw something important and you'll immediately want to take steps to make sure it doesn't happen to you.

Please go see this. Tell your friend to go see it. This is definitely an R-rated movie that every parent should take their teenager to go see. The world would be a better place.
118 out of 154 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An Emotionally Disturbing Reality of Internet Obsession
Marjeez24 June 2011
Trust is an important film. This isn't fantasy, this is reality. For whatever message Trust has, it's also about the emotion, pain, and internet obsession.

If Trust was to be used towards educating, it isn't geared towards the victims, but rather the people around the victim. The victims won't be watching this film (for the subject matter), and it was a smart move to portray the daily lives of teenagers realistically while still showing the pain that occurs when situations like this happen. It's something special when you can believe and feel what is happening on screen and the creators of Trust did a terrific job keeping it true. There are other subjects involved, such as how internet communication is "breaking" the formalities of communication, how easily predators can manipulate people by knowing their strengths and weaknesses, and how you may not actually know your loved ones as much as you think you do. There are many subject matters thrown into Trust, and they all play out realistically to the point where the viewer will most likely relate to them.

The performances were outstanding and, even if this is a 2010 film, should be nominated at the next Academy Awards. Newcomer Liana Liberato steals the show with one of the greatest performances I have seen portraying a broken teenager. In a year where there were a few outstanding performances by young actors (Hailee Steinfeld in True Grit), I think Liana Liberato's underrated performance was the best of last year. Clive Owen gives his most dramatic performance to date and Catherine Keener has a few brilliant moments. Chris Coffey, who plays Charlie the predator, gives a creepy (if brief) performance in the vain of Stanley Tucci in "The Lovely Bones".

David Schwimmer (Ross from the show "Friends") did a surprisingly good job directing Trust. He got the most out of the actors and, considering the serious subject matter, had a bleak, disturbing tone to the film. The combination of a happy neighborhood/school/family worked well with the one black spot which is the daughter, the victim. After the assault happens, you see the world change and everyone's life becomes a little darker.

Should you watch Trust? Yes. The performances and the story alone make it one not to miss. There are a couple of moments where you may shed a tear. It's haunting for any age or gender. These crimes DO occur, and they happen often. While it's not a film you watch with friends; it's not an enjoyable film in the least, Trust is just one effective tale that may stay in with you for a long time.
59 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A must see film
lpolin556 April 2011
This movie deserves nationwide distribution. It is a riveting story and although difficult to stomach at times, it's a MUST SEE for kids, parents and teachers.

I saw this movie last night with my Cinema Society and was appalled to hear that the movie was pulled from distribution.

Are we such a sick society that opts for violence and science fiction movies at the expense of a life altering film as Trust. David Schwimmer is to be applauded for tackling such a disturbing subject matter. The acting was superb- Clive Owen, Catherine Keener and Viola Davis did a superb job.

The crime in this movie beyond the obvious is that such an important film will not be seen by all the people in this country that need to see it.
115 out of 159 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Painful but necessary
zep-1119 August 2011
As a father to a teenage girl, and one soon to become one, this movie was hard to watch. Took me 3 days to finish it, it was simply to horrifying and disgusting to witness how those sick bastards do their thing.

Now when that is said, I really value this movie. It is important and necessary. It is an eye-opener to all 'tweenie' and teen parents.

This movie should be mandatory in the treatment of pedophiles, to make them realize what they really are doing to their victims.

Finally I'd like to give full credit to the cast for outstanding acting, and to David Schwimmer for his courage to make this film. You did a good job David!
38 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A film that HAS to be seen
judeepolds24 June 2011
I watched this film without any expectations. To be honest I saw David Schwimmer was involved and let my head devalue the film before it even started.

Boy was I wrong. Trust had me hooked from the first few minutes. The subject matter is controversial to say the least but I feel it has been handled very well here. In no way does it feel exploitative, in fact in some areas I felt it was almost like a documentary.

Extremely hard to stomach in places it does not overdo the shock factor as it may have done in other hands. The cast are superb, there is not as I can see a weak link anywhere.

The only problem with this film is it's certification. Rating it R means that the people who should be watching it can't. IMHO this film should be given to every high/secondary school worldwide as Schindler's List was.

If you have kids watch this film. Them watch it with your kids! This is a subject that needs to be out there and I commend Mr Schwimer for having the guts to make it!
49 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Selling of Sex to Young Girls
gnostic2131 July 2011
My issue is with how the 'crime' is framed - the words 'assault' and 'rape' are tossed about liberally. What is never mentioned is 'seduction', the enticement of naive young women /girls by appealing to their romantic fantasies, which has a long social and literary history. The need to feel 'loved' and 'special'. No violence is ever used. A plot point unnoticed or unmentioned by any of the posters is the father's profession. Advertising. Marketing stuff to 'tweens' using highly sexualized images. Tweens are children between the ages of 9 or 10 and 13. They're fed a constant diet of the ways to be 'desirable' and 'sexy, usually by buying stuff to make them look older and more sexually available . How can parents overcome this barrage of noxious merchandising - especially if that's what provides their good upper middle class life. It also provide the psychological conditions, along with the anonymity of the Internet, for the seduction of very young girls. Charlie is an utter creep, but he's aided and abetted by an economic order that will do anything to find new 'markets'.
39 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Half seriously good, half Hallmark movie-of-the-week
supah7920 July 2011
David Schwimmer behind the lens of a movie with the synopsis of a movie-of-the-week about internetpredators. Wow, this could go either way I thought. And it did.

The Good: This movie is carried by its young leading star. Liana Liberato is Annie and she makes us feel every emotion she has. Sometimes we just don't get her: her actions or what's she's saying. Then, and this is where the screenplay and direction comes in, there are a few lines of dialog or a well chosen shot and we get what's being said. That symmetry is what makes Trust good.

It's never overly dramatic and definitely does not hold back in depicting the loss of innocence and broken trust within the family or the minds of the family members.

This is B-movie with an A-list cast and the movie works because of the above average actors.

The Less: It's still a little cliché. Dr. Phil would approve this film. The Hallmark-channel feeling is never shed off and although it's bold in depicting it's story: it's also very predictable. There's no grey here, only black and white. This goes also for the characters: the innocent teen, the understanding mother, the work oriented father etc.

Overall: The screenplay mixes good dialog and a dramatic look at teens growing up in the information-age with clichés and predictability. Schwimmer passes his exam as a director, as opposed to a actor turned director. It's not bad and watchable alone for the Tour de Force by Liberato, but don't expect a masterpiece. Because that would be too much credit. I give it a 6 out of 10.
37 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An authentic and insightful look into the lives left behind after an Internet Predator strikes.
foamhands71328 June 2011
David Schwimmer is not a man that I have a lot of faith in, not even to make a decent soft-comedy, so he is perhaps one of the last people that I would trust to properly make a movie about sexual abuse. Yet with Trust he has not only proved himself unfairly maligned by such low expectations but has also shown himself to be a director deserving of only the highest. This is not just an improvement on his previous effort, or a shaky, potential-filled first-step into the realm of serious film-making. It is, at this point, one of the strongest dramas of the year (It is billed as a 2010 production but didn't release anywhere until late April this year).

To synopsise the film's story is to do the film a drastic dis-service, not because of any great twists or revelations that it may contain (though I found that there was a great sense of intrigue involved in the experience; seeing just how far and in what direction the film would go), but simply because on the surface it seems like such a bleak and yet strangely banal premise: Girl meets Internet and the two fall quickly in love, it is a symbiotic relationship and each builds the other up to higher and higher points when, one day, her Internet meets his and she is blinded by the bright, stunning storm that unfolds when their new information hits her own, blinded until it is too late, blinded until at last and unfortunately Girl meets Boy and everything goes dark. In other, more straightforward terms, it is the same story that we hear again and again on the news each night, that of the young girls that fall prey to the planets new predators, the virtual wolves, the pedophiles.

And yet this is exactly what sets this film apart from the other examples of 'techno-terror' that are shooting up, now more rapidly than ever. There is no attempt to dress the premise up like I did then, no false poetics and no twist-of-genre. It is instead a straightforward examination of what actually occurs inside the houses and minds of these victims and, to my mind, it is baffling that this 'real' look is the unique approach but not that it is also the most effecting by far.

A lot of the films emotion stems from a foundation laid in the opening act; we are given a glimpse into the life of this family before the incident and they are us. There is a very strong sense of verisimilitude present in almost every scene; it would have been easy for the film to stray into cliché movie-family territory or fall into the oh so prevalent trap of mishandling contemporary technology but thankfully Schwimmer not only avoids these pitfalls but leaps them in a single bound.

Even though it is Clive Owen and Catherine Keener that are on our screen we just see 'the parents'; in Clive we see a father who loves his kids and not an amalgam of starring roles (though I do have to admit that I did think at times, 'Is Schwimmer using Owen as a kind of sexier simulacrum of himself,' but perhaps that is just me). As stunning as those two are in their roles, and I would say that it is likely Owen's best, it is Liana Liberato's portrayal of central-teen Annie that truly steals the show. Again, given the material, her role could so easily have been played with an alloy of equal parts evocation and exploitation but she really humanizes the character; we understand her thinking and feel for her even if what we feel isn't always positive. To think that this is virtually a debut performance is amazing (she has only otherwise done small roles in straight-faced TV procedurals to date) and I would not be surprised to see a lot more of her in the future.

Though I would be surprised, and somewhat disappointed, to see more of Schwimmer because he is just so damn good behind the camera that any time spent in front from now on will seem as if a waste. His direction excels on every level; not only does he show a lot of creativity in his approach to the material - All SMS's and IM's appear on screen in pop-up, colour-coded font which not only relieves us of the very tired ' Dictate everything you type' approach favored by the industry so far, but it also provides a stunning layered effect to a lot of scenes, where-in what the character is writing either adds to or spins the on-screen action in a new direction - but he also manages to deliver the base emotions with a certain kind of ease: when the characters are nervous you bite your nails, when they are angry you steam, when they're devastated you feel just as cold and alienated and when they cry so do you. It sounds like such a simple and obvious thing when you put it down on paper and yet there are few films that truly achieve it like this one does.

It is then an entirely devastating ride, one behest of even the whimsical visuals of Peter Jackson's Lovely Bones, and one not recommended for the squeamish of soul, but it is also a great one and one that I would whole-heartedly recommend to those who are up to it. If movies are about escapism then this one delivers and if they are about getting you to feel something, doubly so. Who knew Ross had it in him all these years? O me of little faith.
25 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Solid, socially concerned, a bit straight forward, well acted
secondtake5 October 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Trust (2010)

A devastating movie that should almost be required viewing for all children as they reach twelve or fourteen years old. It's a loud warning, and an all too realistic one, against internet stalking and seduction and eventually rape. Director David Schwimmer is involved in a prominent anti-rape group, and this almost announces his activism for a needed cause.

As a film it's hard to fault it even though it is in many ways routine stuff. But it's really well acted routine stuff. The star is meant to be the girl, the daughter and victim here, Annie, played by Liana Liberato, who is due to be seen next week for another daughter/thriller role in the Cage/Kidman "Trespass." And Liberato (age 15 during filming here) is terrific, not an overachieving star actor but a convincing regular, slightly privileged kid in a nice Chicago suburb.

But let's face it, it's Clive Owen as a pretty good all round Dad who steals the show, supported by the always terrific and steady Catherine Keener as Mom. Owen plays his man with a range of warmth, understanding, and eventually anger and sadness with enough restraint we don't get too sugary or too dramatically vengeful as we go. That is, he's a reasonable, normal father that we can relate to. And Keener is a terrific mother, too, and the two make a healthy normal couple with a few kids, lots of material comfort, and the usual little worries like having a daughter on the internet late at night.

All this ordinariness might be almost wearing to some, but that's the whole point. Even a really terrific, almost perfect family can have a disaster happen from within due to the overly trusting and naive (and possibly stupid) child wanting and finding some independence in chat rooms. The FBI investigation is subdued here, but totally believable. Dad pushes his fantasies, and his aggressiveness with the investigator, too far I'm sure, but these episodes are the dramatic high points of the movie.

There is drama of course in the rape itself, and I found the details, and the returning again and again to the details, slightly manipulative and abusive. We are supposed to be sickened by it all (and we are) but how sickened and how often is debatable, especially as the plot has moved forward a bit to far for sensible flashbacks of various kinds. And then finding the bad guy, or trying to, with false starts and some home-brew investigating (with echoes of the 2006 "Little Children"), is also part of the frustration and real-life fear we are meant to share.

It works. Again, it stays so mainstream and well made it doesn't rise up as a great dramatic movie, but the themes, and the acting, are solid, important stuff.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A movie everybody should watch
bansal-ankit198515 April 2013
I saw this movie yesterday and I must say this is an amazing movie and a must watch for everyone.

The movie revolves around a 14 year old girl who got sexually assaulted by a much older guy. Director David Schwimmer does a commendable job in showing this sensitive issue with so much of perfection. The movie is not like a typical movie to try to catch the guy, but its more into emotional aspects of it. How hard it is for girl to believe that the guy doesn't actually love her and has used her for sex and how hard it is for family to handle it.

This movie is for everyone. Though it carries a strong subject but there is no obscenity shown and its a movie that family should watch together. Its not only good for kids be it girls/boys to understand how easy sometimes it is to get carried away and how they should be careful but also for elders that how they should be avoid/handle such situations. Full marks for Schwimmer for the movie.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good start - then falls apart
ThatDoesntMatter16 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
The subject matter of this film - pedophiles chatting up minors on the Internet, meeting with them, having sex with them - is an important issue of our time.

The first part until after the rape was okay to good, an average upper middle class family, all's well it seems, to illustrate that this could happen to anyone.

The chat between the girl and the perpetrator is shown a bit, but not to its full extent (as we learn later from the chat records...).

The plot is fine until the police pick up the girl at school (hello??? Talk about trying to minimize traumatising the girl...) - then the film loses its focus, turning it from the girl to the father. A PR manager who turns into a psychopath, apparently at his age of approx 40+ unable to deal with the situation.

Not that I'm saying that it is not a horrible thing to happen to your family, but please, this SHOULD have stayed being a film about the girl. But the girl, who, for whatever reason (for it is not explained) is delusionally in love with her rapist, is hating everybody now, but for whatever reason (for it is not explained) opens up to her therapist a bit.

After much drama she realizes that she really was raped, then tries to kill herself because of some photoshopped Internet picture of her, the father turns from psychopath to crybaby (both not mature ways to communicate with your kid!) and everything's peachy again between father and daughter.

End of film.

Oh, and in between the FBI says it's working very hard to catch these guys.

This film could have been good if it had stuck with the girl, if it had really explored why she fell for some guy (any guy!) on the Net, why she did not know better, why she did not speak to her parents - before or after.

It seems she was left very alone - ah, there's the rub...and that should have been the issue - communication within the family, talking about sex crimes, personal boundaries, giving your children confidence in themselves, their worth, to not care about looks - that yes, a teenager's life is not easy, and I mean that, that is why I'm saying they should have focused on that.

As it is, the story did not gel after the crime happened, it went into several directions, losing its focus in my opinion.

I did not relate to the characters very much in the whole second half, it was all overly dramatised and most of them acted very stupid I thought.

Hard Candy was much more satisfying than this...;-))) I know I know, different kind of movie, same theme.

Sadly, this film was more a Clive Owen vehicle. As much as I like him, this was a wrong choice within this film, unbelievable on top of that.

Watch it for the first part, for that really is educational. After that, it's Hollywood drama at its most average.
16 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Coming of Age in Times of Lack of Privacy in Internet
claudio_carvalho26 November 2011
In Chicago, the fourteen-year-old Annie (Liana Liberato) lives with her family in the suburb and she has been chatting in a teen chat room in Internet with the sixteen year-old Charlie. When they get close to each other, Charlie tells that he is actually twenty years old. They schedule to meet each other but when Annie meets Charlie (Chris Henry Coffey), she realizes that he is about thirty-five years old and is disappointed. However, she is seduced by Charlie and loses her virginity to her "boyfriend" in a motel.

Her best friend Brittany (Zoe Levin) tells to the school counselor about the relationship of Annie with an older man and the teenager is sent to medical examination. Her parents Will (Clive Owen) and Lynn (Catherine Keener) are visited by the FBI Agent Doug Tate (Jason Clarke) that is in charge of the investigation. The family is torn apart and while Lynn supports her daughter, Will becomes obsessed to find the sexual predator.

"Trust" is a good film about coming of age in times of lack of privacy in Internet. The theme is very important in the present days when the youths disclose their lives in social networks and chat with strangers on line. The film is good, but could be better and better. Clive Owen is a great action actor, but as a family man he is miscast. Catherine Keener and Liana Liberato have great performances. There is a downfall in the screenplay in the end, turning the dramatic plot into a melodrama. The conclusion with the school teacher Weston and his family is excellent. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Confiar" ("Trust")
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
People Call It "Hallmark Film" But These People Exist
doc-35030 July 2011
After reading a few of the very "I want to be Roger Ebert" type reviews many of which indicate this is too much like a Hallmark Movie I had to wonder. The victims of the portrayed crimes are often 'Hallmark' types, innocent, trusting, young, inexperienced and would never cop to any of those attributes. Presenting 'real' patterns and characters that behave as victims often do doesn't a Hallmark movie make.

Parents with girl childs should see this... you may be worldly wise and cynical yourselves but do you have any idea of the Cinderella fantasies you pretty baby embraces? In fact the hard workers making the grade into upper middle and above incomes are often the parents of these victims solely because their world and their kids are eons apart. Then it can crash.

Acting, script, performances are very good in this film and it moves along but the real kicker is simply that it is a true representation of what happens too often because people think "Hallmark" is not real life. Innocence is easily tricked and then lost. Well done movie.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Hard Hitting Realistic Scenes
joshuasugarman2 September 2011
Working in the internet child protection industry I had a keen interest in this film to see how it portrays the relationship of an internet predator and how it would dis-spell some of the myths that fly around about how it happens overnight.

This film showed everything from the build-up, to the action, and then the consequence and focuses on the life of the family and how the whole thing affects them on a day to day basis. What was almost "chilling" was the fact that, though this film is not a "true story", this DOES happen exactly as portrayed.

I think it's a fantastic film to watch as a parent to alert you to the danger, how it happens, and how it really is all related to trust that is built up, so I would especially recommend this if you have kids, but to anyone to highlight the type of real life danger the internet really brings to our youth.

The acting was brilliant, and though the girl does seem much older than her character age suggested the storyline all made sense with some very realistic scenes.

Definitely a 10/10 for this one! I'm still getting chills now thinking of it!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
with a tent of realism but get old and very cliché
hhcosmin10 July 2011
Warning: Spoilers
first of all i must say that my vote of 4 does not mean that the movie is horrendous or too bad but it's my take so here it goes. it started with that all American happy, have it all (iphone, Mac, ithing). the boy is leaving for college, the girl is a teenager and is going to a good school, with good kids that you see in American family movies. dad works for big company, mom also works. girl chats using her apple arsenal to a guy. all is sweet and happy. then she finds out that the guy is older and older and she then accepts to meet him. then she anyway meets with him and they make almost consensual sex. and then dad goes nuts and everything goes into a drama where father is so much affected. a big drama is made on this. the father, the mother, the detective, the school shring start agitating around the girl. to me it got old after the first where i felt that all was so exaggerated and to much around the 14 years old girl. she was tricked by an older man and that is not something nice but i felt that too much fuss was done because of all this unfortunate happening. all is boringly plausible to the fact that the detective is not able to find out more about the pedophile, even if he could get months of internet chat records. the girl had photos of the guy but this somehow is not used. this is realistic... if you believe the all happy American familily image, however things are too much dragged on and too much accent is put on the educational side. may be a useful movie to see for a parent or a teenager but it gets sloow and grinding too fast
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Trust" is a movie that all Must See.
dhaufrect-117 May 2011
"Trust" is a film that is difficult to find, yet all should see it because of its importance to our current societal worship of the use of electronic communication and the inherent dangers. Millennium Productions has created a truly important piece despite the fact that we had to find it in the Museum of Fine Arts Houston. One of the authors, Bellin, gave a very astute question and answer session, yet there is so much in this cinema that it will have you discussing its impact on you long after one has left the theater. Don't miss it. It contains one of Clive Owen's best performances. And the first film for Liana Liberato of Galveston Texas is a true work of art. It is especially important for those raising daughters to see and digest the characters and the theme. Please go out of your way to find a screening or one can wait till July for the DVD according to Bellin. Dale B. Haufrect, M.D., M.A.
15 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good subject if a bit over the top
tdivw1 August 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This movie definitely kept my attention which says a lot in itself. It is well executed film making with first rate acting IMO.

The problem I had with the movie was the very unlikely and not standard situation that was presented. Here is an apparently happy, balanced, conscious, communicative and successful family situation with a very beautiful, intelligent and talented daughter who knowingly places herself in an uncomfortable and potentially dangerous situation.

It is very, very unlikely that this girl from this family would have willingly gotten into this situation. Give young girls some credit, they are not all as naive or bold or stupid as the girl portrayed here.

Do internet predators exist? Of course they do but the real problem is young girls and children who are living in compromised situations. I'm referring to those living in or coming from broken homes, not properly cared for, inadequate supervision, abusive environments where many have already been sexually molested by family members or relatives etc and so on. These are the ones who give themselves over to predators on the internet.

It's not hard to imagine youngsters in this situation turning to strangers for comfort or escape, but it is hard to imagine the girl in this family doing so. I'm sorry, it just doesn't happen under the circumstances portrayed in this film. This is a Hollywood-ized version of a phenomenon that is a bit over blown in my opinion. Sort of like the TV show To Catch a Predator, wherein a crime is created where none would have existed otherwise.

So to me, the film plays the "mistrust" card a bit heavily. If it can happen to this family, it can happen to anybody, right? Fomenting fear and making people think every other guy out there is some kind of pedophile. It kind of reminds me of the whole terrorist fear-mongering wherein Americans are conditioned to believe terrorists are hiding behind every bush.

That guy with a video cam at the amusement park or school event is actually taping your daughter, etc, etc. Lets create more fear and loathing and suspicion to build more walls between people. Fear sells though, right?

Yes parents need to be vigilant, yes parents need to have actual, functioning relationships with there children and yes, our children need to spend less time focusing on computer, TV and cell phone screens.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A brilliant topical drama that is handled sensitively and tackled intelligently.
jamiemarks-116 July 2011
Trust is a drama I have wanted to see for some time. I was shocked when I saw it wasn't being shown at any of the odeon cinemas. So instead I went to the nearest cinema complex that was showing it and came out convinced I had just seen one of the most intelligent and interesting films this past year.

Trust directed by David Schwimmer (yes Ross Geller from Friends) really struck a chord with me as I am sure it did with the few who have reviewed this and the over three thousand who have rated this who were able to relate to this in some way. I know because what happened in Trust almost happened to one of my friend's young sisters. She was fifteen and when she went to meet the guy who she thought was the same age, he was forty. Luckily her parents were there with her to quell their fears, which were justified. They called the police and managed to arrest and convict him. Trust chillingly reminded me of what could have happened to my friend's sister if her parents hadn't gone with her. The consequences to her, the family and my friend would have been unimaginable and could have unfolded just like in the film.

Trust tells the story of fourteen year old Annie (Liana Liberato) who is constantly on her phone and an internet chatroom talking to "sixteen" year old Charlie. We see their online relationship unravel through coloured speech that pops up on the screen. Her nice liberal parents Will (Clive Owen) and Lynn (Catherine Keener) have no idea about Charlie's true identity. As the drama progresses Charlie confesses to Annie that he isn't sixteen but twenty. But she is feels so close to him as she tells him no one understands me the way you do she accepts it. But then he tells her he is twenty five and then when she goes to meet him for real at the mall (as her parents take her brother to college and she tells her Aunt who is looking after her that she is going out with a friend), he is in fact thirty five. Despite this she goes to dinner with him as he manipulates her and acts charming and makes her feel good about herself and says all the right things, where he takes her to a motel and they have sex.

Then things get worse for Annie as everyone at school is talking about her and she feels estranged from her parents particularly her father. The ramifications for them as well is that Annie defends Charlie and insists he loves her even when she finds out he's had other girls her age. Will ends up torn between guilt at not being there for Annie when she is raped as he believes he could have prevented it and rage at Charlie the paedophile as he tries to obsessively track him down. As he becomes so consumed with rage his marriage also starts to become strained.

Trust could have become easily sleazy and exploitative, but David Schwimmer tells the story from Annie and her parents point of view and tackles this sensitive subject intelligently (with a terrific script) and with sympathy and total plausibility with how the family suffer. David Schwimmer himself confessed on here in an interview that children that had been sexually abused affected him deeply as for the last fifteen years he has participated in charity work for the rape foundation trust and actually sits as a member on it's board. He wanted to make a film for parents with teenage girls who use the internet or anyone else who can relate to this issue to help them understand better.

This is a brilliant topical drama that bought out all the emotions Schwimmer wanted his audience to feel, shock and horror and enormous sympathy of what the family go through. I had tears in my eyes myself as it was so powerfully moving. The acting also helps in this respect showing Schwimmer is excellent with actors as they turn in some of the most truthful and believable performances I have ever seen. Both Catherine Keener and Clive Owen (one of my favourite actors) are on top form with possible best career performances, which should have been Oscar nominated. You really feel the depth of their character's pain. But the revelation is young actress Liana Liberato who I saw in an episode of CSI Miami and House. She was good in them but she is incredible in this with a performance of extraordinary power and depth. She is someone else who I think has been overlooked. It's criminal Trust wasn't at least nominated for any Oscars as it deserved it. One reason it didn't and was undervalued by so many critics is because Schwimmer wisely restrains himself from falling victim to the Hollywood cliché ending of the whole family dealing with the issue and living happily ever. Because if he had done it would have ruined the movie for me making it seem false.

I always like Schwimmer for his acting in Friends and a couple of romantic comedies he directed including Run Fatboy Run but I didn't think he could pull off as something mature and thought provoking as this but I was wrong and as a director he should become much more recognised after this. I have a new respect for him. All parents with teenage girls should see this film as it is a timely film particularly in the digital media age we are now in of communicating with each other. It is a very important film to see and should have received much more attention than it did. Saying that this is an outstanding drama which was made and acted superbly. Well done to all involved for making this film.
7 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An important movie- parents should see it with their teenagers followed by discussion
FilmRap5 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
This is an important movie. It addresses a serious problem that every family with budding teenagers will have to face. We want our children to master the Internet and the unlimited horizons which it offers them in their education and future ability to navigate in this global world. We also don't have any choice because this wonderful technology provides us instant communication with cell phones and the ability to stay in touch with family and friends. It also gives young people the ability and opportunity to meet and communicate with anyone and everyone. There are teen chats where teenagers can meet other teenagers anyplace in the world or in the next town. Of course teenagers, especially girls tend to develop crushes and infatuations and it is only natural that they might want to meet their computer/phone pal. What if it turns out that he isn't really a teenager but a little or a lot older but still seems like a nice guy? This is the situation that a 14 year old from a very solid home with successful loving parents, a brother going away to college and a younger kid sister, found herself in. Teenage life being what it is, includes up pressures in one's school and social life and a natural desire to be accepted, loved and to explore their new sexuality. This very relevant story written by Andy Billin and Robert Festing , produced and directed by David Schwimmer considers the devastating consequences which befall this girl and her parents. Liana Liberato captures the spirit of an enthusiastic teenager who just made the volleyball team but yet has the uncertainty and vulnerability of so many girls who are trying to get hang of the complexities of socializing in their new school environment. Catherine Keener plays her impacted mom and Clive Owen is her dad originally from Great Britain and a successful advertising executive which is helping to create the tween market which he at one point ironically and sickeningly realizes may be creating sexual interest in youngsters the age of his daughter. He struggles with his own feelings of inadequacies as a father and rage at anyone who might threaten or hurt his daughter. You might expect this subject to best dealt with by a documentary which could provide statistics, interviews with therapists, police and FBI agents as well as some parents or victims. This movie had all of the above in the form of a fast moving drama which conveyed the emotional pain of everyone involved. Schwimmer, who actually is on the board of directors of the Rape Foundation for the Rape Treatment Center of Santa Monica, with this film may have ended up protecting untold numbers of young girls from being hurt because of knowledge and awareness gained by viewing this film. In fact this is the ideal movie to be viewed by parents and teenagers together followed by a nice dinner or snack to provide the vehicle and a good discussion. (2011)
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the greatest movies ever made.
PWNYCNY3 April 2011
Elaborating on this movie is a challenge because it can easily be summarized in one word: great. This movie may be one of the best movies ever produced by Hollywood. The story is straightforward, the acting is stupendous and the themes addressed are timeless. Without revealing the details of the story, this movie is about change - sudden, painful, uninvited, without warning. It's about what happens when someone has to grow up, fast; when innocence is stripped away revealing the seamier side of humanity. It can be quite a shock. The movie also deals with the nature of crime, victimization, and rage. Indeed this movie is effective because it tells a story that everyone can understand and because what the movie dramatizes is actually out there. Yet, despite the disturbing nature of the story, its presentation is far from morbid. Instead, it suggests that people have the strength to survive overwhelming crisis and remain emotionally intact, which is why this movie deserves recognition and respect.
19 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
downright awful after school special
Yogi89 July 2011
I can only describe this movie as a bland and tedious waste of time.

The only emotion I felt for the characters was pity for Clive Owen and Katherine Keener for having to go through the motions of making this film. What a waste of time and talent. I have never seen a bad performance from Keener and was attracted to the movie because she and CO were in it. Unfortunately their talents could not cut through the abysmal direction from David Schwimmer and the plodding script.

I haven't seen the young actor that plays the daughter in anything before and it would be unfair to judge her abilities based solely on this film but she comes off as empty, slightly irritating, ranting, one dimensional girl and I could not muster up one iota of sympathy for her. Her swings from victim to complicit partner could have been exploited by a much better script and direction and acting, but as it is the character seems a better fit for an after school special than a feature film. I suspect the filmmakers were looking for an Ellen Page, but they certainly did not get one. Page would have brought layers of complexity to this character but like Keener and Wilson, they would have been lost in this inept piece.

If you are looking for an after school special to alert you to a potential threat, and to be playing in the background while you have a nap I would recommend TRUST, but if you are wanting a sassy Keener role or a bit of savory Clive Owen look elsewhere - you will be disappointed!

David S. - please stick to acting.
17 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Trust
scgisamazing24 March 2011
I just saw a film screening of David Schwimmer's directorial debut Trust. First off I would like to say that the subject matter of this film is a very important and I applaud Schwimmer for taking on this project and addressing the subject of internet predators and rape. With that said...I wish this was a better crafted film. It comes off as kind of a cheesy ABC After School Special much of the time relying on typical family drama clichés. The dialogue at times is pathetic making me wonder how on earth this script was not improved upon or green lighted at all. The film needs stronger character development and needs to breathe. It moves along so briskly in the beginning that I felt like the two minute warning had just sounded and the players went into their hurry up offense. The only thing that even remotely saves the film making it watchable at all are the strong performances from Liana Liberato (she has one hell of a career in front of her) Clive Owen, and a couple real nice scenes between Catherine Keener and Owen. Clive Owen is one of the best working actors of today and Catherine Keener is one of my favorite comedic actresses..although she is obviously not flexing her comedic skills within the serious subject matter of this film. I was very surprised Schwimmer went for an R rating with this film...because it doesn't need to be rated R. If you take out a few F bombs this film is rated PG-13 and has box office numbers far exceeding what I think it will do. If you rate the film PG-13 you get parents watching the film WITH their teens and experiencing this important subject matter together...but with the R rating you are losing a large part your audience and box office I am afraid. At times Schwimmer's direction is fair but then it is quickly taken away with the aforementioned cheese. You just don't feel like he has a confident grasp on the wheel most of the time and his inexperience shows as a first time film director. With a more competent director, DP and tighter script this could be a really great film...but that is a lot of missing items..keeping this film short of hitting it's mark.
13 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Way better than I expected
imdb-487220 July 2011
I saw this on a whim. I'm familiar with Cive Ownen, but I never thought much of his movies. This, however, really is a great movie in terms of both story and acting. The story is complicated enough to hold the interest of the audience, and the acting is good enough that I could get lost in the story. I hope that everyone involved is recognized for their outstanding work.

Plot Summary: Family tries to come to terms with the rape of a young girl without further traumatizing her. The young girl's father is confronted with his inability to undo the wrong done to his daughter, and the daughter is, in turn, confronted with the fallibility of her father.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed