Ye Maaya Chesave (2010) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A visual feast and a love story for everybody.
vpat4828 February 2010
While most other Telugu films continue to be the same routine of blowing up SUV's and long winded dialogs of bravado, Gowtham Menon puts out a love story that is so simple it is ingenious. Ye Maaya Chesave is the story of a girl named Jessie a Christian and a guy named Karthik who is a Hindu. It turns out she is also older than him and her father disapproves of him. She doesn't want to disappoint her dad nor can she let go off Karthik. How the movie turns out needs to be seen on the big screen. Naga Chaitanya as an aspiring filmmaker brought out the right dosage of charm and conviction to the role. Newcomer Samantha was a perfect fit for the role of Jessie. She had a dream debut and hopefully we will see more of her. Gowtham Menon showed that there is still place in the industry for a girl who doesn't need expose nor for a guy to throw out vulgar dialogs. Krishnudu as the friend of Karthik is very apt and provides great comedic relief. 80% of the movie focuses on Karthik and Jessie that you even forget there are other characters. While some may consider the movie slow and long winded Menon took the opportunity to make the movie that focuses on it's story and nothing else, no separate comedic track or a villain or any of that. Watch out for cameo's from Puri Jagannath, Simbu and Trisha.

A huge tip of the hat to the maestro A.R. Rahman for providing some melodious music and background score that really add to the film. This is him first Indian film since his Oscar victories. One of the real stars is cinematographer Manoj Paramahamsa. The way he captured Kerala and it's surroundings as well as New York City is just a visual feast to the eyes and to be seen on the big screen. He really was able to capture why Kerala is called "God's own Country".

For me personally this is the best family movie on the Telugu screen since Bommarillu.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A beautiful canvas
ksowmitra9 March 2010
It's a beautiful movie. Most of the love stories go through the situations pictured in the movie, though the ending in Telugu is predictable. But it doesn't matter as most of the film revolves around the two principled characters describing their journey.

Many of the situations in the movie stand out. The whole sequence of samantha asking chaitanya to take her to a movie and then finally as they return back home, their small dispute is very engrossing.

Even the dialogues are so simple, there is no loud music, bang-bang going on and finally samantha is mesmerizing. She allures you and even her acting for a first timer is brilliant. The scene where she asks chaitanya about why he is so crazy about her is terrific; her expressions, body movement and the way she speaks is superb. Also to be lauded is the person who dubbed the dialogues to samantha.

Kudos to chaitanya also for underplaying so wonderfully and trying to venture into subtle kind of cinema.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
loved it, but then...
bharatdgreat12 March 2010
when i watched this movie, i kept thinking i so feel like i'm seeing an Indian version of '500 days of summer'.

the quirky characters, contrasting personalities, great soundtrack, beautiful cinematography, witty dialogs are all too similar to the '500 days of summer' theme.

so am i saying, is it bad? no. not at all. what i liked most about YMC is that it's not afraid of what it has to be.

it doesn't have scene fillers, characters just for the sake of having it, songs, stupid dances, item songs that define the Indian ( Telugu) cinema.

both the leads do their job well, keep you engrossed, but one thing i can find is, their acting seems to be pushed far by the director. sometimes, the acting looks too strained.

and now the man himself, AR Rahman, i was interested in the movie, 'cos of him. what a kick ass soundtrack man, and the score, god, he just shows, why he's miles away from his contemporaries. i so love Shreya Ghoshal humming "aaromale" just after the interval.

Gautham Menon, anybody who'd seen his previous movies would know he roots for urban settings, stylish dialogues involving a lot of English sometimes, and a lot of artificiality. you see them, you love them, but somehow you feel they're artificial when you walk out of cinema. that always happens with Mr.Menon.

but that doesn't mean, he ain't talented. he definitely is. the attention to minute detail is very appreciable so are his shot angles and of course keeping the screenplay grounded to reality.

it's not great film-making here, no surprise endings, a boy sees a girl, falls in love, proposes to her abruptly, only to find out she's confused all the time. he tortures her, as the lead says in one dialogue. he finally kisses and makes out with her in New York and they get married. end of story.

one doubt? how does Karthik ( Naga Chaitanya) get Simbu and Trisha to sign a movie, without writing the climax? he even says to Jessie( Samantha Ruth Prabhu) that he's left with some 30 days of shooting... care to answer, Mr.Menon?
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A feel good movie...
chaitubuk3 March 2010
Ye Maya Chesave...It's about the love and only love,,,, i never seen a movie like this on telugu screen... I would like to appreciate Mr Gautham Vasudev Menon for his brave attempt...it is a movie of excellency...

It is the story about two people and their feelings (excitements,conversations,fighting's & pain ) in love... the characters in this movie are so realistic and romantic... dialogues are very nice & simple, just like how we would talk to anyone in real life...Music by AR Rahman is excellent... songs are picturised well and placed nicely in the movie...
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
more then perfect
kathpencill22 January 2019
Definitely it should be in your watchlist. direction , story , star , location, song tune, song lyrics all crossed their standard. love to see this movie again & again.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A love story that will stay in our hearts for many years to come..
myspacehere9 February 2016
If I have to say just one word to describe "Ye Maaya Chesave", I would say - Classic!

The feeling I get when I watch it now is no different from what I got when I watched it for the first time 6 years back, when the movie released.

The soul of the film is the background music and the songs by A.R.Rahman. Right from the beginning titles to the end credits, we will experience out-of-the-world music. Music alone takes this movie to a whole new level. Take a moment to appreciate A.R.Rahman's talent, because I'm afraid India wouldn't see such a great artist ever again.

Beautiful cinematography by Manoj Paramahamsa, Samantha and Naga Chaitanya's brilliant performances, simple yet haunting dialogs, the depth in Jessie and Karthik's characters, sensible story & screenplay and top-notch direction - each element complements every other element so perfectly, making this an experience rather than just a film.

This movie holds a special place in my heart, just because of the fact that I can relate to many scenes and how it effortlessly transports me to my first-love days every time I watch it. I'm really grateful to all the people involved in making this movie.

There are two versions of this film. Telugu (Ye Maaya Chesave) and Tamil (Vinnaithaandi Varuvaaya) versions, which are same except for the ending. The ending drastically changes our view towards the film. I personally like the Tamil ending as it's close to reality. I believe that's what makes our first love special (you'll know when you watch the movie). Having said that, I loved watching both versions.

If you are watching the Telugu version, just make sure to watch the climax of the Tamil version as well.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Beautiful Romantic Tale - CLASSIC
Vihari_Krishna7 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Plot - It is about a complex relationship between a girl and boy, which explores the complexity of girls' attitude.

Performances - Naga Chaitanya is the best among the current lot when it comes to acting in romantic movies. May be, that quality is inherited by him from his father (Nagarjuna) and his grand father (Nageswara Rao) who are known as the best actors for romantic roles in their respective times. His cool attitude and underlying arrogance is just fabulous. He carried the role with élan. Samantha makes a fine debut. All other actors like Krishnudu, Sanjay Swaroop, Devan, Surekha Vani, Sudheer Babu,Lakshmy Ramakrishnan did well in their respective roles. Director Puri Jagannadh, Trisha Krishnan and Simbu shine in their brief cameos.

Story, Screenplay & Direction - Story is wafer thin though a refreshing one. Screenplay is what makes this thin story-line workout. It is outstanding. Direction by Gautam is superb.

Music & Background Score - Music by A.R.Rahman is just out of the world. It so melodious, intricate, intriguing, captivating, serene... Well words fall short to describe his genius. This is easily his best work for straight Telugu films. And the Background Score is equally extraordinary. Each and every emotion undergone by the lead couple has his backing. In a way, he carried the entire film on his able shoulders. This again proves a point that, what a great music composer can do to a subject which has scope for good music.

Dialogues - Dialogues by Umarjee Anuradha are classy.

Other technical Departments - Photography by Manoj Paramahamsa is just extraordinary. Editing is good. Art work is nice. Production values are excellent.

Finally - This is a beautiful Lovestory and is shot beautifully & aesthetically. Don't go looking for some cheesy commercial elements. This is not for you if you anticipate a few laughs and larger than life fights. Thumbs up for Naga Chaitanya's acting, A.R.Rahman's music, Gautam Menon's direction and Manoj Paramahamsa's photography. Thumbs down for a (little) slow second half. Classic movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Epic love story
s-sangishetty24 October 2012
I went 2 watch this movie for a first time ,as Nagchaitanya was new to the industry ..less expected from him. But once the narration started i went crazy after the entry of Samantha in the movie.As the movie goes on a feeling u get from it was amazing ,meanwhile i remembering my love story.

Gautam Menon was amazing in direction department as we know he is too good in romantic love stories by the last romantic movie of Gautam menon's RHTDM.

Last segment would be ...this could be the must watch movie for break-up couples ,as it would remind your great moments.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
a journey deep into love
aphaniphani31 October 2010
well to say...days after the movie released....still the memories preserved fresh of the flick "ye maya chesave".i myself bought the blu- ray....that grabbed a place among the few telugu flicks i have in my rack.the beauty lies in the narration of the story,which is scintillating and flamboyant. gautham handled the script in a sensible manner(may be his own personal depiction),and the dialogues are laudable.the costumes are catchy(spykar) that adds a light to the background scenes.

this is to be lifted,the cinematography.manoj has done it all.it is the main reason for the beauty of the movie.

music by arr is outstanding.all the songs in the album are awe(,after boys)

chaitu has done a better performance than his previous flick josh. samantha the new comer stole the hearts.

overall a perfect movie without the so called bang bang scenes,tear rolling sentiments,nasty items and head cracking dialogues.

thanks to gautham for bringing this flick to us.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Mind-boggling
hhaile11 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Reconsider before watching this film.The cliché's were too much to take and I kept thinking to myself whether or not the character's had gone mad! Granted, some people say that if a movie affected you enough to make you write a review about it, then the directer has done his job. Nevertheless, I am wondering whether or not a romance constitutes of complete confusion, wish-washy promises, and a complete disregard of logic. If so, then this is the general theme of the entire movie with an ending that satisfies all. Not to mention the complete lack of complexity of the female protagonist. (Spoiler) She barely spoke, and when she did, it was either reproachingly or overly dramatic. Either way, she was semi-obedient to her parents until she finally stood up for herself. That annoyed me the most. A female has to mature before she comes to her senses? She may have been two years older, but she certainly did not act like it. Adults, I'm assuming, speak their minds. Why couldn't she when Karthik did? The male lead, Karthik, did that way before she did even though he cowered away from Jessie's family when they were arguing with his. In conclusion, it is a mind-boggling film and if you want to be confused, go ahead, and watch it.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed