Outlaw Country (TV Movie 2012) Poster

(2012 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
TV needs this
shorty6_1_9031 August 2012
With The Sopranos and Weeds on it's last season all we're left with is too many stupid medical dramas(come on Grey's Anatomy die already) and shows about solving crimes or catching murderers. What we need is a show that doesn't have to make a statement. We need a show that is wild, exhilarating , and dangerous yet oh so thrilling to watch of course a little less graphic than Sons of Anarchy. At first I thought it was a movie and when I watched it as a movie at the end I thought that was pretty good but why would you end it like that. Once realizing that it was a pilot for a TV show and watching it over with a different mindset I realized wow this will be great when and who is picking this up only to realize the disappointment of learning that it had been passed up.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Leaves you wanting more!
daniellemacdonald201025 August 2012
I really enjoyed it and think that FX made a mistake by not taking it on as a full series. I would love to see what happens next. I just don't get it some of the series they have are horrible compared to this. I get the since of what happens next, I actually care to set my DVR, I tried looking it up on line to see when the next episode was only to find out it was a turned down series. I think Outlaw Country is not getting as much credit as it deserves all the parts are there to captivate an audience. The way they make it seem is that it never stood a chance and I personally think they are dead wrong! Keep it coming FX...WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!!!!!
18 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show!
beezus22810 September 2012
At first I was sorry I turned this on. After 20 minutes I was hooked! I sure hope this makes it into a series. Love the casting!Who would have thought Mary Steenburgen would be believable as a country singer? And the storyline. Romance, murder, mayhem, music. It has everything you'd want in an entertaining show. Has a true Southern feel to it. A lot of money went into making this work. Please, more episodes!I rarely watch network TV, but this would be something to look forward to every week.Can anyone in Hollywood hear me? Like another reviewer said, there are a lot of crummy shows on the air. This would be an exception. Kind of like an other side of the tracks Dallas.
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good.
hangman7720 October 2012
Very good first show,surprised it was dropped,hope somebody else has the foresight to screen it in the future.Thought it contained not too many different story lines/plots and was obviously easy to follow.Combined good music,nice settings and believable characters and situations.Lets hope we see a lot more in the not too distant future.Cheers.I was drawn to viewing this programme/film by the title and was not disappointed.Firstly Outlaw makes me think it's going to be about criminals or/and fugitives and secondly Country makes me think it's going to be set out in the wilderness.I was right on both accounts I think and then had the bonus that there was plenty of Country music as well to be enjoyed.Please somebody out there take up Outlaw Country for us fans.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Travis Fimmel
bettyannchicken30 October 2018
I wanted to buy this movie because of Travis Fimmel was staring in it,,
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Great movie, with a very disappointing ending.
jnbbookworm21 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This movie had tons of potential. We loved the southern back drop and the music was the best. A nice mix of western and blue grass. And who knew Mary Steenburgen could sing.

The locations selected for this film were authentic. You could feel the humidity and warmth of the southern comfort nights, jammin' while sitting around a camp fire.

However, if you enjoy seeing only the first half of a movie, this one should fit the build. Seriously, they need to finish it! It was a huge disappointment for my family! Until they complete this film, we honestly can't recommend this one. Sad as the cast is stellar and worked amazingly well together. This could have been an awesome mini-series. We're hoping they will continue with the story line, or film part 2!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good old fashion southern crime! Rich and poor. Family feud,s and power struggles
trixiemyrtle12 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
WellI I  enjoyed this and found the story line refreshing. Rich verses poor. Grope verse's evil. Sex, drugs and a good love story. Family feud's and power struggles to stay out of the family crime work. With awesome music! What more could someone want on a Satirday night? And many new face's with good acting abilities. I wish I knew how to pursued FX into picking the series back up. They left me wanting more. I would of come back next week if it had been a weekly series! What a pity!  Great sexual chemistry between Haley Bennett and Luke Grimes. Please pick this up where you left us all hanging! All it needs is some good advertising to let people see the trailer! This was a well kept secret
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
great story of country life and family.
mm113366996 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
all i want to say is when will i be able see the rest of the story fold out. it was the greatest show i've seen on TV in along time. i'm so excited to see what's next. i can't believe it was ever past on. it was exciting and had me on edge the whole show. i only hope that there is more to come. the cast and the story line are such a great combination. the music was a great touch and the singing brought chill bubs. the way it took a twist in the end put a well needed spin on it all. the fact it took place in a area I'M familiar with was also a great touch for me. it brought the story closer to home and helped me relate. i grow up in south central Kentucky near the Tennessee border. the connection between the families and the fight for territories brought a spice to the story that really made me interested though out the show. i would be a fateful follower of the show if it becomes a series and a multiple watch of the movie if that's the direction they decide to go. i only hope to be able to see the entire story fold out. if they don't show the whole story fold out, i will be one of many disappoint fans!!!!!!!!!
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Show was buried WHY???? IT WAS GREAT!!! BRING IT BACK!
jorgofthejungl4 November 2012
This show was an awesome show and it proved to be really difficult to find. Even searching under actors names they have omitted it from their biography. The ideal of southern mafia is very intriguing and also a bit of a true story. I wonder did the real southern mafia change their minds? With the show Nashville a hit, this show could of been just as popular. AMC or FX should pick this back up because its a definite moneymaker. The show was not really even advertised in my area, mid-west and the episode i watched had me hooked from the get go. Just don't understand why its been buried so deep. The acting was top notch and the plot has so many angles that this show could be on for 3 seasons at least. People love shows about Nashville and i think the networks are missing a home run with this one.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed