Mr. Young (TV Series 2011–2013) Poster

(2011–2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Mr. Young is Amazing!
apilash1 March 2012
Mr. Young is Doogie Howser for a new generation and a younger audience. It is the rare kind of show that parents can enjoy along with their kids. The characters are fun and easy to relate to. There is something for everyone in this show! This kids show features the perfect combination of romance, pranks and adventures. The cast are a talented bunch that ooze charisma. It won't surprise me to see any of these actors on the big screen in the future. Most of the episodes tend to be standalone so you won't miss a beat if you happened to have missed an episode here and there. It is a surprisingly intelligent kids comedy that and I hope to see more of it. I can't wait for new episodes!
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
A Teenager's Guide to Racism
phosillos10 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I can't believe this is a modern-day show geared towards kids with so many awful racist generalisations. I mean, I have a pretty irreverent sense of humour, but this is supposed to be a kids' show? Unfortunately, my daughter loves it so I have to explain to her that not all Asians talk with a thick accent, are prolific at martial arts, and all have the same last name. Dang's character is pretty much a close cousin to Mr. Yunioshi from Breakfast at Tiffany's but sadly, his character (while hugely stereotyped) is the funniest on the show. The rest of the characters are ridiculously stupid, even the main character who is supposed to be a genius. I am baffled as to how this managed to get more than a season's run.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupidest show I ever heard
Ehorad14 May 2018
My daughter was watching this show in an adjacent room. I couldn't even stand listening to it. Dumb, dumb, and dumb. Unbelievable that anyone would watch this and think that there was even an ounce of humor in it. There isn't even any good juvenile jokes. Dumb, dumb, and dumb.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I don't like it
serdude23 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
I usually give shows a chance because they're usually good. However, this is the worst show i've ever seen in my life :(. The actors are really bad at acting, the show isn't funny at all, and the plots for each episode are generic and boring. It really isn't a good show. I've watched 3 episodes of it, and it never even made me smile (and pretty much everything makes me laugh). I don't get why Disney thought it would be a good idea to make this show. None of the characters are even likable. They're all stupid except for Mr. Young, and he's a creeper.Seriously,it's pretty bad. I wouldn't recommend watching it unless you feel like torturing yourself.
9 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
nehabanerjee29 March 2016
This show is hilarious and doesn't need the laugh track because it can easily get real laughs from the viewers unlike any other sitcoms I have seen. For the first time ever, I found myself laughing along with the laugh track almost every time there was an attempted joke.

It does contain humour for slightly older children but the 'mature' jokes are very subtle and can only be understood by people who have been exposed to mature content before. There are very few of the 'mature' jokes and I hardly doubt that young children will be able to understand half of the jokes aimed for an older audience.

The characters may act ridiculous and act stupid but that is what makes it a sitcom. Unlike other Disney shows that I've seen, the teenage characters actually act like teenagers with teenage minds, rather than like 8 year olds trapped in a teenage body, and teenage minds aren't always completely pure and innocent.

This show is constantly making me laugh and even though, like most sitcoms, there isn't a single strict plot line, the rough storyline is very interesting, in my opinion. There is lots of humour with elements of cute romance and small aspects of scientific information in each episode.

The only thing is that children may confuse a lot of the 'science' in the show to be real and existing in today's time, which isn't. However, to most older children, it is quite clear when the 'science' in the show is correct and factual and when the 'science' is made up and discovered by Mr Young to take the characters of the show on an adventure.

Overall, I love this show and would recommend it to any audiences aged 10 or older.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hilarious but not for kids.
jamesbornfree1 June 2013
I am a 23 year old male with no young kids in my life. I don't know how exactly I started watching this show as I do NOT watch any other "teen sitcoms". Either way there are many suggestive jokes, but not any worse then the other comparitive shows. Many of the jokes can only be understood by someone with proper knowledge and I don't know how any kid or teen would get half of the humour. There are references to history and movies from the 80's and 90's which I find really funny.

Personally I don't think any teen or kid should be watching any of the "teen sitcoms" as they have far too much suggestive behaviour. (example: "Life with boys" (which airs after Mr. Young) had a scene where a "cool" kid SUCCESSFULLY peer pressures a "nerd" into smoking a cigarette. He is busted by his sister before he inhales but still its totally unacceptable)

BOTTOM LINE: Personally I think primetime family sitcoms are more appropriate for kids or teens as the suggestive (INMATURE) behaviour on these "Teen sitcoms" is not good for kids/teens self esteem or provide proper behavioural role models. At least on adult family sitcoms the maturity and consequences are much clearer. And more properly prepare young people for "real" life (yeah right). But its better then YTV. That being said as I male in my 20's I think Mr. Young is hilarious. Almost ONLY because of the background jokes that no kid or teen would understand. I can't believe they get away with that stuff, let alone air it. Who is really the target audience?
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How is this rated so well!?
taylortillytally23 February 2012
Warning: Spoilers
How is this doing so well?

When I first started watching Mr. Young, I was hoping for a new show that I could laugh at when I had time, but instead I found this show to be humourless and uncreative. First of all, the plot has been done before so many times, and they did not do anything to make this show better or stand out from the others.

Mr. Young is about a boy who is so smart that he has already finished University and has become a teacher. The big twist is that he is the same age as all his students. He is reunited with his childhood friend at that school and of course, ( so cliché) forms a crush on one of his students who has one of the most awful names I've ever heard.. Echo. WHO IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WOULD NAME THEIR DAUGHTER ECHO!? I could go on and on mentioning these generic characters, but I wont.

The jokes in this show have all been done before, and they are just down right stupid. I cant stress enough how bad this show is, and if you actually find this watchable, you probably have no taste whatsoever.
9 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great show
ibrahimayyad-951603 July 2019
Idk why so many people don't like it all the kids like it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cringe Level: 1000
healyjenna7 March 2019
This show. Oh my god. Is the literal worst. It's almost unbelievable how badly written the characters are and the exchanges that they partake in are so painfully unrealistic. I watch this whenever I babysit and the kids laugh occasionally at the typical cliche jokes- but I watch on with the pain that each episode brings. A show like this wouldn't even be so bad if the characters weren't so terribly executed. In my opinion it's the writers' fault for such a poor execution of attempted entertainment. The absolute worst part of this show. And I mean the worst- is the main character, Mr. Young, and his infatuation with one of his students. Though he is his student's age- probably around 15 or 16- it is still very creepy for kids, the target audience, to be watching this show and see that a teacher's crush on a student is normalized. Very bad on the writer's part. They definitely sneak in more "adult" humor in some of their exchanges with one another and it makes my skin crawl. Some of the characters are funny, like Derby and sometimes Slab, but those moments are few and far between. The actor who plays Mr. Young is okay in this character, but I've seen him in a short film before and he was incredible with the role he was portraying. Again scripts and talented writers make all the difference.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Odd but fun
hellofromundertheappletree17 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This is a very odd show and slightly disturbing at times but has an addictive nature to it. First off this is not a politically correct show and should be realized that it can be slightly racist sometimes. And cuts off at the oddest points. Sometimes you expect the story to continue but the show just ends. Now the odd part is when the principal somehow survives getting buried alive at the end of an episode? Anyways despite its quirks I found I loved this show due to Gig Morton's humor and Adam and echo's relationship (which I believe COULD have been done better but it is what it is) I have to say I would love to see a reboot of this hidden jem but with better writing and some as perfect for the role actors
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
this is actually pretty good
kphelan-4715021 October 2017
When I was looking for something to watch I saw this. At first I thought it would be terrible. Then I started the pilot episode. It is a hilarious show. The plot is kind of weird but that lets a lot funny things to unfold. I love the characters. I think they nailed what they would actually say and do. If you are looking for a kid t.v show I would recommend Mr.Young
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A low budget gem!
RyanWinter10010 September 2018
I first saw this show with my kids when it came on the Disney Channel in the afternoons. I would look at bits and pieces as dealt with my kids. I think Disney broadcasted one and half seasons of the show. I sort of liked it, but I just couldn't focus on it. Now, years later, with Netflix, I was searching for something to watch when I saw Mr. Young listed. I was surprised that there were three entire seasons of the show. I decided to watch a couple each night. It didn't take long to fall in love with the show. We live in a time in which tons of money is poured into programs. There is often too much production and to little character and substance. Mr. Young is a low budget show, but they know that; they circumvent the budget by giving you charm. And that charm is supplied by a wonderful ensemble of young actors. The lead, Mr. Young, portrayed by Brendan Meyer is just perfect for the part. He is supported by fine performers who have fun playing their parts. The stories are often silly, but the actors never lose focus and always take the absurd seriously. Near the end of the third season, the writers, producers, and actors knew that their show was coming to an end. Well, they went out with style. The last six episodes worked on the closure of storylines, poked fun at themselves all while giving the audience the best they could afford. I appreciated and enjoyed the simplicity, the honesty, the pure humor of Mr. Young far more than expensive overblown junk. To tell you the truth, I miss all those guys at Finnegan High School.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Choppy and uncoordinated, also annoying and full of shitty stereotypes
divyanka-3449216 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This show is extremely annoying and shockingly inappropriate. All these so-called 'teenager' sitcoms have inappropriate and disgusting parts, but this show has too many. The only good idea is that the teacher is the same age as the students, but the extreme inappropriateness of what he sometimes says and does is repulsive and disgusting, considering it's towards one of his 'students'. The show is also really choppy and it's like it's homemade and people enter the screen out of no where. It doesn't flow smoothly and naturally, it's really forced and fake. The acting itself is not that fake, but the way the people enter the screen or randomly start their dialogues is. And that makes this so annoying to watch. Episodes are also barely funny and the only character who adds a slight bit of comedy is Derby. Echo is the most annoying and stupid character on the whole show. She thinks she's cute but she really isn't, in fact, her acting is extremely annoying and pathetic and she ruins the whole show. Also, the extreme stereotypes in the show is beyond limits. It's so focused on that it cannot be ignored, whether it's based on gender, 'bully', 'nerd', 'dumb one', etc, it's so pronounced and combining this with a choppily made show with no connection between scenes makes it horrible. 4/10.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You Can't Do That On Disney XD?
IlbibPrime26 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I pride myself on remaining true to Family Friendly entertainment. While there were some risky jokes, this show didn't need a laugh track to get its laughs. However, you did need to get the humor to laugh. I don't find "dirty" jokes funny. This show, however, was hilarious. The Teacher student relationship was awkward because of the fact that "Young" is the Teacher (because he's a genius) and has a crush on a student. However, they are the same age and would be in the same grade, too, if not for "Young" graduating and becoming an Educator. I think that he became an Educator is a good example. Also, he loves Science, which is a good example. I thought the show was similar to, "You Can't Do That On Television," but was a tamer version w/ a better budget. I think the show targeted the older kids, who were watching Nickelodeon shows, which I think tend to cross line, more so. If that's the case, God bless 'em. There's so much garbage/ filth on TV and in movies that parents take their kids to see. It seems as though, parents will take their kids to a movie theater and watch movies that are unintended for their age group, but get mad at Disney for trying to catch the attention of slightly older children, all the while trying not to be too wild for younger viewers. I see parents w/ young kids at Nickelodeon Awards. The awards, voted by minors, go to adults/ in adult targeted movies/ adult music entertainers and their too raunchy, for me, subject matter. Yeah, I wish older youth would watch more family friendly shows on Disney. At least, "Young," didn't have cussing and middle-finger cussing/ crudity, of the much popular, "Guardians of the Galaxy." So popular w/ families that they are cartoons on Disney, not to mention all the toys. (Maybe, this is a ranting review. I mean it in respect, though. Just my take on it. We all have different styles.)
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What in the F?!
peltoas24 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I am a parent to a 7 year old. We rarely watch YTV, but I decided to let her watch it. I first watched 10 min of some other awful show, and then this show "Mr. Young" came on. I watched 5 min before I turned it off. Not knowing that the basis of the show was, and not really caring, I was disgusted by the plot. I obviously could tell that the kid "Mr. Young" was a kid, but regardless of if he was a kid or not, he was still a teacher. In this episode he was trying to hide his relationship with a STUDENT named "Echo" (irrelevant, but that name sounds like a dog's name). What is this teaching children?!?! With all the teacher's taking advantage of kid's these days, and all the stories about molestation and child predators, I don't think this show is appropriate for ANY age. All I got from the 5 min that I watched it (and I could tell that was all the time I needed)that it was sending a really bad message to kids. It was sending the message that a)It is okay to date a teacher/ allow a teacher to take advantage of you, and b) that if you do date a teacher that you should hide it from your peers (that's not predatory at all!). I didn't watch much more because I was disgusted, and I had to turn the channel, and tell my daughter and 11yr old niece that it was absolutely NOT okay to date your teacher regardless of the situation.

This show should be canceled and banned. We wonder why our kid's are so messed up today?! It is smut like this that is causing kid's to become the way they are today. Disgusting. You should be ashamed, and any broadcast company that plays this show should be ashamed. What ever happened to educational, wholesome, and fun TV?
4 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just too funny and I love it!!!!!
mountainhiker-2752216 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
What to say. This show has made me laugh since joke one. Its swift, fit for those not expecting to laugh and crack up seriously with every passing bar-moment of its comedy. Those who don't like this show, your definitely entitled to an opinion; but so am I and I give this show ten thumbs up. I was entertained for most episodes and believe the plot, humour, and comedic climax well-balanced. If your a potential-viewer be aware of tremendous laughs ahead, clever jokes meant for older kids, teens and definitely "been-there" adults. The dialogue is well-revised. The jokes bounce back well. Every character possesses an image of humour; and we can tell they've been well-drafted during casting. One of "the" best shows I've seen from Disney. Thank you. !
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ugh.
Showtime234522 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
*** MODERATE SPOILERS ***

Dan Singer's failure, "Mr. Young", is proof that kids shows are getting worse. First of, why is Dan obsessed with child prodigies? He is a creator of this, and "A.N.T Farm" which are about child prodigies, WHEN IS DAN GOING TO REALISE THAT THIS CONCEPT JUST DOES NOT WORK! WHY WOULD YOU CREATE A SHOW THAT ENVOLVES AROUND A TEENAGE BOY THAT IS A TEACHER? It's idiotic! Adam(a.k.a Mr. Young) is very creepy, his friend is bland, his love interest, Echo(???) is cliché and just idiotic, the bully is even more cliché. The story lines, like "A.N.T Farm", are garbage, but even worse than A.N.T Farm's! The humor is very dull, and it is so dull to the point I sometimes think that this show is meant to be unfunny. The dialog and the script is cliché and garbage. Another example why Disney XD is on the rocks. If you like shows that have plot holes like the size of USA, than this show is for you, and by this I don't mean to offend anyone.

0.0/10 (Stupid plot, garbage story lines, bland and clichéd characters, dull and unfunny jokes and clichéd and garbage dialog and script)

Worst sitcom to air on Disney XD!
2 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Awful
duaghnoelie11 April 2019
TypicAl American high school comedy as in its full of white people other than crazy Chinese janitor. It is amazing in this day and age they re allowed geto away this . It reminds me of "Friends
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed