So Undercover (2012) Poster

(2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
38 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
bad mix
SnoopyStyle24 January 2015
Molly Morris (Miley Cyrus) is a private investigator working with her dad ex-Dallas cop Sam (Mike O'Malley). FBI Agent Armon Ranford (Jeremy Piven) is working a case against the Georgian mafia and he needs her to watch over college girl Alex Patrone (Lauren McKnight). Alex is the daughter of an important witness and she may be holding some evidence. Sam continues to gamble and Molly needs money to pay off the debt. The grimy Molly has to infiltrate a sorority.

This starts off as somewhat serious. That could actually work but it goes kind of silly. The girls are either Bs or really stupid. This feels like there are two movies trying to come out on top. It's not silly enough to be Disney teen frivolity. It's definitely not serious but the camera sometimes use shaky hand held style. The styles are all wrong and conflict with each other. It's like somebody thought that Hannah Montana needs to be filmed by Paul Greengrass. If they wanted to do a realistic movie, that would be interesting to see. It would be like Veronica Mars goes to college. Also the name of the movie is horrible and somebody should be fired for it.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
looks really familiar
cra29896 December 2012
From the clothes, to the make-over, to the speech at the end of the trailer, where all you have to do is replace "pearl-white Bentley" with "world peace," this movie looks like a very poor knock-off of 'Miss Congeniality.' They didn't even attempt to use a different agency investigating into whatever the actual problem was--in both movies, it was the FBI. Hairdresser and a make-up artist that insult her while she's getting a makeover for her FBI assignment? Hmm, seems familiar. A little bit. Handcuffs in her hand on the cover while she's dressed up (and for the character, that IS dressed up)also seems vaguely reminiscent of a certain Sandra Bullock movie.
46 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This is not a good movie
thenekassyni16 January 2013
I think this would be OK for the very young kids that still like Miley Cyrus but for anyone older I think this is a waste of time. Miley Cyrus is not a good actress, plain and simple. She can get away with Hannah Montana but continuing to act like so is not going to work in her favor.

It was hard to sit through the movie for me and I highly advise anyone to steer clear as well. It's a very cheesy movie, not like a good B movie or a good comedy movie...not even a teen movie like in the 80's. I'm not sure how to classify this as it doesn't live up to expectations for any of the categories.
44 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
A lame vehicle for Miley Cyrus - nothing more than Miss Congeniality/Kindergarten Cop for undiscerning teenaged girls.
barnabyrudge14 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
In her latest attempt to graduate from kids TV starlet to serious Hollywood actress, Miley Cyrus takes on the unlikely role of an all-action private investigator. The film is a strictly formulaic Miss Congeniality/Kindergarten Cop clone, in which the young sleuth is recruited by the FBI for an undercover job in a posh 'n' bitchy sorority house in New Orleans. One presumes that the target audience is teenaged girls who don't care much for high quality cinema… they will probably find something to enjoy in the film. Meanwhile, for the rest of us the film is a long slog which manages to make 94 minutes feel more like 194 minutes.

Private eye Molly Morris (Miley Cyrus) specialises in photographing philandering husbands cheating on their wives in the Dallas area, helped by her dad Sam (Mike O'Malley), an ex-cop who now dabbles in surveillance work. FBI agent Armon (Jeremy Piven) approaches Molly with a new assignment… he needs someone to track down some ledgers that are crucial to an upcoming court case. Apparently, there's a strong possibility that the ledgers are being hidden by a college student named Alex (Lauren McKnight) who is resident in a sorority house in New Orleans. Worse still, Armon is convinced that someone in the house is not who they claim to be and plans on harming Alex if the ledgers don't materialise soon. Initially unwilling to accept the job, Molly is forced to change her mind when her father's gambling spirals out of control, resulting in sizable debts. She switches her identity to 'Brook Stonebridge' and goes undercover as a college student on transfer from Hawaii. The rest of the film deals with Molly/Brook's escapades in the sorority house, where she tries to fit in with her weird, wacky and often downright air-headed sorority sisters. On the one hand, she must find the ledgers and uncover the 'mole' in the house. On the other, she has her own blossoming romance with college biker Nicholas (Joshua Bowman) to contend with, as well as a new-found interest in her college studies.

There's little to say about So Undercover – it knows its target audience and gives them what want and expect of a film of this kind. Beyond that, it has no wider aspirations as a piece of cinema. The story is by-the-numbers in the extreme, with obvious red herrings and lots of lame dialogue. The attempts to give Cyrus an action-woman makeover are embarrassing to say the least, although once the action moves to her undercover assignment in the sorority house she does at least look more slightly more suited to the role. The film was pencilled in for an autumn 2012 release at American cinemas but was later shelved and sent direct-to-DVD… it did manage a brief tenure at UK cinemas, but disappeared extremely quickly. Films bomb for a reason… and upon watching So Undercover you won't need to be much of a detective to figure out that this one simply isn't very good.
25 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
You don't need a wrecking ball to notice that So Undercover is a mess of a movie. This movie is so underdeveloped.
ironhorse_iv3 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
OMFG, This campus comedy direct-to-video movie needs to be school on, how to make a successful comedy. It's because this movie is pretty mediocre. Directed by Tom Vaughan, So Undercover tells the story of Molly Morris (Miley Cyrus), a successful private investigator who specializes in adultery cases. Gaining the respect of the FBI; Molly starts working with them under Agent Armon Ranford (Jeremy Piven)'s control. Ranford recruits her, to pose as a transferring sorority sister under the name, Brooke Stonebridge at a New Orleans college in order to cozy up to Alex Patrone (Lauren McKnight), a potential witness in an important Russian mafia investigation. Can Brooke AKA Molly protect Alex from those who are seeking to hurt her, or will the criminals get, what they want for her? Watch the movie to find out, if you really want to! Without spoiling the movie, too much, I have to say, Miley Cyrus's acting skills are so limited and green here. Cyrus's only previous successful work before this; was playing a young singer that has a double life in the 2006-2011's TV show 'Hanna Montana'. Seeing, how much that role mirror her real-life, it's not much, of a stretch in the acting field. She looks so uncomfortable, with her role, here, as if she didn't want to do it, but had to. Miley Cyrus barely had any chemistry with anybody else on screen. Her character's relationship with Nicolas Dexter (Josh Bowman) felt a bit forced. I really didn't see them, falling in love, at all. The only redeeming aspect of the movie is the tender and close relationship between Molly and her father, Sam (Mike O'Malley), but it's far too short. Worst of all, She really look like a fish out of water, big time, when she's acting with the much, much superior actor in Jeremy Piven. Who, by the way, gives a hell of a performance, here! I really surprised, how much work, he really put in, into his role and not phone it, in. He really outshine his co-star, Cyrus. Miley Cyrus in the other hand, is way too young for this role. Cyrus was 19 years old at the time, playing somebody that should had been in their mid-20s. Even, if she's playing a character that supposed to a bit older, it doesn't explain, how her character is so successful. It's clear, that her character never went to college or had any other police/military training, so where did, all her investigating skills came from? Another thing, where did she get all that equipment in the beginning? Her father, Sam? I doubt, it with his gambling troubles. Another problem with her playing Molly, is her look. Her body is such a small frame, and her face, child-like. It's a bit jarring for me, to watch her, act as if she was a badass. I never saw much Jiu Jitsu skills that she bragged about in the beginning. The whole motorcycle scenes really didn't fit, with her character. It was a bit unbelievable. Don't get me wrong, small frame actresses with a 'southern twang' had played pretty convincing FBI agents in the past; like Jodi Foster in 1991's Silent of the Lambs. So it can be done, but sadly Miley Cyrus can't pull it, off. Have you ever heard the whiny noise a cat makes after you've accidentally stepped on it? That's exactly how Miley Cyrus sounds. The rest of the female supporting cast wasn't all better. Most of them, were playing one-dimensional dumb posh blonde stereotypes. They were all somewhat likable, but a bit annoying at times. Megan Park as Cotton Roberts was funny, but her performance was so over-the-top, I couldn't say, it's good. Kelly Osbourne as Becky Slotsky was meh. It's a bit weird for her, to try to do, a Texan accent at first, and then abandoning it, throughout the film, for her normal British voice. She really got annoying, toward the end, with her b*tchy tone. Last, worth noticing is Eloise Mumford as Sasha Stolezinsky/ Suzy Walters who pretty much channeling her best queen bee, Regina George from 2004's Mean Girls, impression. She was a bit too mean-spirited to be a real character. It's not only the acting that's the only weak link, here. The whole movie has problems, like the very predictable and clichés plot. I really didn't like, how the movie like to flashbacks on things, that happen a minute, ago, as if we were too dumb to notice, the minor twists. Anybody with eyes can see it, from a mile, ago. Even the "big twist" can be deciphered halfway through the movie. Despite, not making no sense, afterwards. The action scenes in this film are limited, and not fun to watch. The humor in this movie really falls flat and wasn't funny. The only reason why, anybody would watch this, now is to see what Miley Cyrus look like, before she went overboard with not wanting to be known as Hannah Montana. So Undercover is one of the last film, Miley Cyrus did, before ditching her squeaking clean Disney image. She then, went forward in trading her country-grass singing roots for the over the top, over-sexuality, pixel hair Madonna rip-off pop star delusion persona. It's nice to see her, try to act like a normal person, here, before she gave up, and commits to being a loud, boisterous hypocrite that sleeps with anybody for attention. Overall: This movie is epitome of the recycled garbage produced by the entertainment industry. It's has little to no different, between other teen noirs film & television programs like 2007's Veronica Mars, 2007's Nancy Drew, and last, 2010's Uncovered Princesses. It's so sad, that many teen are still sucked into the hype that this is something new. It isn't. This movie isn't a party in the U.S.A. It was bad. Miley Cyrus's fans might love it, regards what I say, but for me, I don't think, I will rewatch this movie. It's not worth the climb.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not good
pennyelenabooks1 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The story goes like this: Molly is a private investigator who is hired by FBI to protect a girl. And so she has to become a sorority member in order to be close to her and discover who is set to kill her. While reading the description of the film one can not fail to be intrigued to watch it. It sounds fun and entertaining, maybe a little thrilling. And at the beginning, it brings you the feeling that the movie not be just a comedy for teenagers, but it will present a deeper perspective of the characters and their lives. However that feeling soon is being corrected, as the rest of the movie is about sororities, girl problems and teenage love stories. Not even about spying. The performances were bad and the script didn't help them improve. And so, because of all that I am rating this movie with a 2 out of 10.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A Nutshell Review: So Undercover
DICK STEEL13 January 2013
Once in a while we need a teeny bopper chick flick to update us on the lingua franca used by youths today, so from Clueless which led the contingent in the mid 90s, we now have Miley Cyrus doing the same with her new film So Undercover, which is based on the cliché laden premise of a cop of sorts, because of one's still youthful attributes, getting assigned as an undercover on a mission back in school, and taking to it like a fish out of water, having to relive bad memories and experiences, encounter romance with either a fellow student or teacher, and get to save the day.

Making things worse is having to be assigned to a sorority of sisters in the KKZ sorority house, being amongst yet another group of clichéd characters who are the usual vain pots, bimbos, back stabbing rich kids who dream of Bentleys and having to marry scions of senators, spending time dolling up than actually studying in school. Is it the Hollywood cliché now that the nerds in writing departments actually get back at their high school or college nightmares through film in this fashion by painting everyone in sorority and fraternity houses as such? One can only guess.

In any case, Miley Cyrus plays Molly, a rather tom-boyish go-getter of a private investigator in her dad's small firm in Dallas, before getting hired by FBI agent Armon (Jeremy Piven) to assist in a case involving the mob, a key witness, the witness' daughter Alex (Lauren McKnight) and some ledgers. Needing the money to bail her dad out of trouble, Molly accepts the role, gets transformed into college student complete with wardrobe, accessories, vehicle and weapons, to investigate into anything that's out of the ordinary. Nothing is out of bounds when required to use her skills to break into fellow sisters' rooms and rummage through their belongings, for clues of anyone being a suspect waiting in the wings to get at Alex.

Expect the usual episodes complete with the quintessential bimbo (Megan Park) written into the story just for weak laughs, the easily envious head of the sorority house (Eloise Mumford) ever looking over her shoulder for threats to her power, and well, the rest of the forgettable actresses in thankless roles that you won't remember much of once you step out of the cinema hall. Romance comes in the form of Cameron (Cameron Deane Stewart), being probably the only guy in college who rides a Triumph motorcycle, together with tons of red herrings that pop up now and then to keep one guessing in this tired tale of who-could-be- whom, and for Molly to show off some deducting skills every now and then, while frequently tripping up over the latest girly lingo, which isn't too funny nor going to be included in the Oxford anytime soon.

There's a neat plot development in the film for the final act that finally lifted the narrative from its lacklustre slumber, but that was too little too late, and unfortunately didn't hold up to scrutiny because it introduced a gaping plot loophole involving resource issues. I'm not quite sure who the intended demographic is for this film, because Miley Cyrus fans would already get it that she's trying to move further away from her Hannah Montana days by taking on roles that are less saccharine sweet, but skirting around characters like this one won't do her film career any good. She probably needs to tackle stronger dramatic roles if given a chance to really break out of her stereotype.
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
90 Minute Root Canal
chow91325 May 2013
Producers obvious failed to realize that semi cute bad acting Disney Channel kids can grow up to be ugly, really bad acting, and annoying adults. The mere fact that a director, cameraman, boom mic operator, and other crew actually committed this to film is truly disturbing.

Dentists everywhere may be out of work, as 'So Undercover' can inflict far more pain than ever before imagined.

Every single last second of this trash had me reciting the 23rd Psalm, "Yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I shall fear no evil," until I realized that was written long before the agony of Miley Cyrus' "acting" was ever know.

Just in case you're having any thoughts of actually seeing this film, perhaps a "plot" synopsis will dissuade you.

Cyrus "stars" as chubby faced Texas private investigator who's supposed to be "bad ass." Considering Cyrus' figure and face that term may be taken in more than one way. Cyrus is pathetic as a 'La Femme Nikita' want to be. (or in any other role) She agree to work undercover for FBI agent Jeremy Piven (What bet with the Devil did he lose too be in this?) In order to pay off her father's gambling debt. Although since the film ends with Cyrus failing to collect her fee it's unclear how her father is still alive and well. This could have been easily explained away with Cyrus receiving reward money from the FBI but that would be to logical for the "writers." Cyrus must go "so undercover" as a spoiled sorority brat at a New Orleans university, in order to..........? Well again, the "writers" never really bother to explain this or how Jeremy Piven has an unlimited budget to supply Cyrus with her undercover rich brat identity.

Only Disney is able to film on location in a city 60% black and give us a 99.9% white cast. I actually counted the token minorities in this film. There's one Mulatto girl! They couldn't even be bothered to work in a few minorities even as extras in the background! At the sorority house Cyrus discovers that all sorority girls a dumb blondes. THAT'S THE SOLE PREMISES for every "joke" in this movie! Pretty girls are dumb! Although Cyrus proves that ugly girls are more dumb.

How else could the "writers" explain why Cyrus' cover isn't blown the first day as she randomly brandishes a handgun sticking it into the faces of her sorority sisters? Since this is Disney, the sorority makes an Amish farm look like 'Animal House' as there is NO sex, beer, or rock and roll, even at a pool party with a fraternity. No, Disney music does not count as rock and roll.

There are several other MAJOR plot holes, such as Cyrus taking photos with a digital camera and then stating she left the "negatives" in a mailbox. And ad nauseam diatribes against the RICO act of 1970. Yes, "diatribes," there's more than one.

But the real nail against the chalkboard is Cyrus herself. She is so annoying, it's unbelievable anyone actually paid to see this film.

Worst film I've ever seen since 'The Starfighters' 1964.
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Actually quite good...
paul_haakonsen1 February 2013
Alright, well I must say that I can't claim to be overly familiar with Miley Cyrus's former work, aside from the occasional zapping across her Hannah Montana stuff on TV, and knowing that she sings as well. And I didn't realize that she was in this movie before I started to question whether or not it was actually her whilst she was doing the stunts on the hotel balconies.

That being said, then you shouldn't be intimidated or scared away from watching "So Undercover" just because Miley Cyrus is in it, because the girl can actually act, and she does have a certain charm to her as well.

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, because it was fun, and it was well put together, and the story was interesting enough, despite it being a late teenage comedy. But Jeremy Piven and Mike O'Malley also helped the movie along quite nicely.

Forget about Hannah Montana and try not to let the overshadowing stereotype that Miley Cyrus is stuck in overcast your opinion when you watch this movie, because it is actually a great fun ride for people of all ages.
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A role that brings out Ms. Cyrus's true acting abilities.
alspachdebbie21 January 2013
This film was pleasantly surprising, coming from Miley Cyrus. I went into it not expecting much and coming out with a whole new perspective on her. At the beginning, her acting seemed a bit choppy. As the film progressed, it seemed to get progressively better. She played Molly Morris perfectly and I had a lot of laughs throughout the movie as well. Definitely the best movie Cyrus has done yet. She should really do some more films in the future. I would love to see them. Yes, the movie that is being portrayed here is a bit cliché. It reminded me a lot of "Get a Clue" with Lindsay Lohan with some big twists towards the end and somewhat towards the middle as well. A lot of relationship drama in this film as well, if you're into that. But yeah, overall I think everyone should definitely watch it. I don't think the 4 stars is quite justified and is actually a bit unfair.
16 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
3,2,and 1 stars??!!?? really? c'mon!!!
sikrick5718 January 2013
c'mon!! this is a comedy!! stick to reviewing bond or batman!! that said, yeah, this is similar to other movies, but so are many other genres(vampire movies for instance) that do the same thing. so pipe down on the "it's like every other movie like this I've seen" crapola. as for miley's acting, I have seen far worse out there, and you can do better? REALLY??!!?? I can't wait to see your next major film!! I find miley to be refreshing. while she will win no miss America contest, she does not hide her flaws(no nose fix, no teeth straightening, and WHOH!!! the pimple on her nose!!) as most people in showbiz do. so kudos to her!!

kudos to DICK STEEL from Singapore for telling it the way it is: "she's trying to move further away from her Hannah Montana days by taking on roles that are less saccharine sweet, but skirting around characters like this one won't do her film career any good. She probably needs to tackle stronger dramatic roles if given a chance to really break out of her stereotype." I think miley has really good potential to be a very good actor.

as for the movie itself, I found it to be a funny enjoyable watch. I laughed out loud at times, and I thought I had figured out who the bad guy was, only to be wrong. this is why I gave it a 7. had I been correct, I would have gone a 6.
17 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A funny, exciting and romantic film that people of any age or gender should enjoy
geoffgee14 December 2012
I think Miley Cyrus is well cast in the main role. She gives a convincing performance of someone who's work (undercover) requires them to stay calm under pressure and when faced with unexpected situations. I found the story to be quite complicated, but despite my getting a bit 'lost' now and then over what was happening, I nevertheless enjoyed the challenge of trying to follow the ins and outs of the plot. I thought the script was well enough written (I'm no expert) with several original sounding lines. In spite of having Miley Cyrus (formerly Hannah Montana) in the starring role (and a few somewhat excruciating "O .. M .. G"s!) I wouldn't say this is a particularly 'teenage girl' oriented film. All-in-all a funny, exciting and romantic film that most people (from, say, 12 to 70+) should find enjoyable. (I'm a 68 year old male btw.)
17 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
So Underwhelming
Fluke_Skywalker19 January 2015
The box touts that Miley Cyrus is a "tough as nails, street smart private investigator.", so naturally there's a need for a HUGE suspension of disbelief going in to 'So Undercover'. That said, Cyrus really does have a more mature bearing than one would expect fresh off of a teeny bopper show like 'Hannah Montana'. I don't know that anyone is going to buy her as a P.I., but she does pull off street smart with enough credibility to make it work.

'So Undercover' is occasionally amusing fluff, and though she's no Meryl Streep, Miley Cyrus makes for a likable and energetic lead in a film that is often neither itself.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
miley--so undercover!
swingline824-16 February 2016
So, Three Word Reviewer says my summary says it all! Miley, who is so out there, and so in front of all of us, like way more than what we want (tmi, Miley) is undercover! As a sorority girl, no less! Has Miley even gone to college? Does she need to? First, we're asked to believe that Miley is a private eye--more or less, someone that snaps pix of cheating couples, all in support of poor old dad, who is a boozing, gambling shell of himself since he got kicked off the police force. He's trying to get back in somehow, by being a bottom feeder private eye. Then, we're asked to believe that the FBI has seen her stellar work as a teen photog in truck stop diners, and they desperately need her to infiltrate a sorority house to help some sorority chick whose daddy is a mob boss. They're willing to pay her big bucks, which of course she has to take because old boozing daddy just lost a bucket at the racetrack. THEN, we're asked to believe that after oh what, ten minutes, no, I'll be generous, a half day of FBI training, tough-talking, motorcycle-riding Miley is ready to be a sorority girl. This is of course, a transformation, a la Eliza Doolittle, because we all know sorority girls are all the same, and they all talk, like, so unbelievably real. And they're all bitches...and dumb...and vain. (But secretly majoring in chemistry). So yeah, the story makes no sense, and it's not supposed to.

It's your fault-you chose to see this movie, knowing that Miley Cyrus is a private eye that becomes an FBI agent, posing as a sorority girl. And yeah, you'd have a right to be mad if you walked into this movie not knowing that. But odds are, you knew that walking in. And so, since you knew that...guess what?? It's not that bad! She's likable...yes, I said it. And she's a better actress than Britney or Mariah. The movie is fun. You can't be mad, because it's not a serious movie. Yes, you can be mad when you are ready for a serious movie, and there are plot holes galore. But this is not a serious movie, nor does it pretend to be. So, sit back, be entertained, and don't worry about the plot holes-worry about plot holes for a serious movie. It plays, don't think about it, watch it when you're hungover and need mindless entertainment. Because that is how it works. And the Miley in this movie is the Miley we want to know...it's not a star vehicle, she doesn't sing, and she really doesn't overact. Honestly, I can see a future for the girl if she ever wants to bust out some serious acting chops.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An average teenage-movie
sweetboyy_997 May 2013
So, you gotta lower your expectations for this one. It's a Movie that's obviously made for teenagers aged 10-19. Miley Cyrus performance in this Movie was good, her acting is pretty well, even though sometimes she's underacting and sometimes overacting she still does a pretty good job. So Undercover is not much of an action Movie, more of a Comedy and mostly a drama. LOL was a good Movie, but it had no story. This one has, and i gotta say i was entertained even though i'm a guy. For this Movie i Think it's mostly a chick-flick but teenage boys can also watch this Movie. It's a Movie for all genders. And i Think teenagers will have a great time, while more adult individuals will Think this Movie is lame. But that's what this Movie is made for, teenagers. So you gotta turn off ur brain for a while and just enjoy the Movie.
6 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I Love This Movie (So Undercover)
jeffy-0811611 September 2016
This movie called So Undercover starring Miley Cyrus was such an awesome Movie. I remember when it first came out, I was super excited. I quickly rushed to the cinema with my family and friends. The advertising for this movie was great. I watched this movie at the cinema and I bought the DVD afterwards. It was a movie with loads of comedy and excitement. Miley's acting was fantastic. Even today this is one of my top favorite movies. I love the comedy of this movie a lot. I remember that a lot of people at the cinema were laughing because this movie was entertaining. The director knew what they were doing. Today's movies are full of drama, I just wish that they made more movies like this one, that are comedic and funny. Because I would definitely go and see them with my family and friends.

Thank You

Alex
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Not that bad, what I'd call a fluff movie - easy to watch.
MsMovie5 February 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I gave this movie a higher rating simply because I don't think it deserves the lowest scores it has. Miley Cyrus can act, I think people are put off because she has a pretty deep voice compared to a lot of girls her age and it can sound a little strange. The story here is nothing original - she's undercover at a college working for the FBI, etc, etc.

The story is maybe a C+ story, but I think Miley carries herself well enough, and if she was given something a little better to work with she could surprise all the naysayers on here.

Unfortunately for Miley, she's at that age that many former child actors struggle. It took Jason Bateman years to prove he was better than the show Valerie gave him credit for.

This movie reminded me a lot of Ms Congeniality, but was only a sub par version of it. It was like Clueless meets Ms C, but it missed the mark a lot in both areas as it didn't seem to know what audience it was aiming for.

I have definitely seen far worse, and it is one of those movies that you can watch without expending too much brain power.
6 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Noticeably better than expected
neil-47614 December 2012
Warning: Spoilers
Molly helps her Dad ("retired" from the force because of drinking and gambling problems) in his private detective business by photographing philandering husbands. The FBI recruits her to go undercover in a sorority house to keep an eye on a girl with Russian Mafia connections who is likely to be used as leverage in a witness protection case. And this starts with a makeover...

Miley Cyrus, who plays Molly, is not a phenomenon with which I am greatly familiar, what with me being an old git on the other side of the pond. I gather she sings, has a famous Dad, and has appeared as a youngster on Disney-type stuff. Here she gets a chance to play young adult in a movie which is a mild variation on Miss Congeniality (which was, itself, a mild variation on countless other similar offerings).

Based on the small amount I had heard beforehand, I was not expecting great things. And I was pleasantly surprised. The plot, surprisingly strong, holds together well, there are some tolerable gags, Miss Cyrus discharges her responsibilities (which consist mainly of shallow sorority girl responses followed by look-away "What the hell am I doing?" Expressions) well enough, she has the courage to look grimly plain in the early stages, there are decent development arcs for her and the sorority girls, and there are little bits of action and romance.

The whole sorority/fraternity thing continues to remain a complete blank to me.
9 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Honestly, it was better than it should have been, mindless silly fun
Robert_duder8 February 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This film immediately becomes fodder for every comedian and hate filled blogger in the world. Miley Cyrus is an obvious target for them though I never really understood why. The biggest issue with So Undercover is certainly not her, but rather how extremely by the book, predictable and cookie cutter this movie is. It copies a handful of films and mixes them together and spits them back out at you. Still if you can get past the cake made from Miss Congeniality/House Bunny mix then you'll get a few laughs and chuckles and actually mostly enjoy yourself. It is very nearly vapid but sometimes I think...who cares. Sometimes a movie can be pure entertainment and mindless vapid fun is okay. The performances are decent and the story is good enough to keep you entertained. The script is surprisingly thorough and creates some fun and good characters.

I don't hold the hatred that everyone else seems to towards Miley Cyrus. I think she is very talented and I think its unfortunate that the media has pushed her into revamping her image so much. She does a decent job in this film as Molly. It is a little bit of a stretch to call her "tough" and "street smart" but you know she actually does pull it off pretty well. Sandra Bullock she ain't but for the purpose of this movie, she is good. Jeremy Piven is simply hilarious and excellent in his role as the FBI agent who sets Cyrus up with her undercover gig. He has some great lines and really steals the show with his performance. He makes the film that much better. Joshua Bowman is the typical romantic male lead. That being said, he does a good job and him and Cyrus have solid chemistry together. His character is so predictable but he still does his best given what he has. The girls of the sorority are all decent but realistically they are really all the same. None of them truly stand out except maybe the small role played by Kelly Osbourne because her character was at least a little different. I felt like Lauren McKnight's character should have had more development and more scenes but she is really the same as the rest of the girls in terms of character. Mike O'Malley is perfect and really well done as Molly's doting father. More of him would have been good as well but he's great in what he is in.

You have to know what you're dealing with going into So Undercover. I mean I had very low expectations and essentially I knew what I was in for. It does deliver exactly what you would expect looking and reading the cover. So you can't say your expectations won't be met unless they are unrealistic. Tom Vaughan is a bit of a strange choice for directing this film. This is definitely his first of this type of genre but he seems to have a good handle on what its all about. I'm not sure the demographic they were hoping for with the movie though. I think it would certainly appeal to Miley's younger fans (13 and under) but there is a fair bit of bad language too which was unnecessary if they wanted it to find a popular demographic. Basically, you can't say you will hate this movie because just by reading about it and looking at the cover you should know whether this is for you or not. It wasn't a great movie by any stretch of the imagination but it was acceptable and fun and entertained me for an hour and a half. 6.5/10
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Much better than LoL
Kristen999 July 2016
Warning: Spoilers
So let's start by the plot.I voted 8/10 since it's a really good chick flick.The plot evolves nicely.I didn't notice any major holes.It has a well written scenario.It is easy to watch and interesting at the same time.Miley was quite good in this movie.All of the actors were good on their parts.I am quite satisfied by this movie.You should watch it.It's not a waste of time.Has some funny moments.But it's a teen movie.So nothing extraordinary or something that earns your wow.It an okay movie.Music is good.Has some quite nice songs.I loved the scene were Miley handcuffs the guy.It was a funny one,especially since we knew she was wrong about it.Out of all the movies in which Miley has played this is the best one.It is a good spy teen movie,about girl world
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very good
SanteeFats3 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I don't know why this movie is so underrated by reviewers. I guess they did not see what I think I saw. Yeah it had the typical sorority acting when Miley got to the sorority house but give me a break it was a very decent movie. Miley Cyrus acts well enough and I don't know where she got those legs but boy are they nice!!! The acting is adequate and I like the dad as back up wt the end. This movie is suppose to be an action/adventure but they forgot to add comedy as well. I like this movie and found it to be decently acted, written, and cast. The eye candy is nice and I still think Miley Cyrus is a decent actress, hot, and in spite of her on stage behavior, not that bad a person. Of course I have been wrong before.
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not so bad
rrobvalley18 May 2013
I rented this because on a typical Sat night at the red box, all other movies were gone. My child once loved all movies with Miley Cyrus so why not. At first, I judge it and thought this movie sucks, but actually it turned out to be a good rental. Got a few laughs and has a lot of familiar characters. The girl who plays Grace on Secret Life is in it, the guy who plays Daniel from Revenge, the dad from Gossip Girl are also in the movie. I would say if you have a teenage/preteen girl who still likes Miley go ahead and check it out. I actually could see the potential for a sequel and probably would watch it. Miley plays a girl named Molly who goes undercover for the FBI and goes to college for the mission. Her dad in the movie is actually the guy who plays Jimmy in Yes Dear. I say give it a shot.
5 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie ever.
ergars16 August 2019
I can't believe I just watched this, is literally the worst movie I have seen in 2019. As a comedy, it sucks, as an action film, gave me the chills on how bad it is.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
OMFG
nogodnomasters3 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Molly (Miley Cyrus) works with her dad (Mike O'Malley) as a private investigator. She was "practically raised by the Dallas police force" which gives her the superhuman skills and savvy of a woman far older. With her dad in a fix, Molly accepts a job from the FBI (Jeremy Piven) to protect a crime figure's daughter, Alex (Lauren McKnight) who may be a target.

Molly goes undercover aka "Miss Congeniality" and enters a sorority to get next to Alex. She doesn't quite fit in with this crowd of "plastics" which makes for the fun of the film. And of course Molly develops a love interest. The story has a nice twist too.

This is a fun film. The acting was a little cheesy by design. There is humor in the film, poking fun at the younger generation's language and mannerisms. Weak outtakes during the end credits. This is Miley Cyrus who is no Jennifer Lawrence and thankfully no Kristen Stewart. A film you can watch with your teen daughter and enjoy without feeling embarrassed during any scene.

Parental Guide: No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Girls in bra tops and slo-mo car wash.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Watchable, but unrewarding
Phil_Chester24 March 2019
It's clearly aimed at a tween/teen girl audience and it probably works well for them. There are certainly some major plot inconsistencies and the pacing is a bit off, but the overall film is reasonably watchable. Definitely not a complete disaster, but there are better films you could watch.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed