The Newsroom (TV Series 2012–2014) Poster

(2012–2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
284 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
I signed up for IMDb solely to give this show 10 stars
rakkirakkason25 June 2012
I have never felt as driven to make sure other people understood just how perfect a show was. Not for Game of Thrones, Firefly, Sopranos or any of the other shows I obsess about. But this show changed that! This show boils down everything that is wrong with America and puts out a simple answer to solving that. DO THE BLOODY NEWS LIKE IT'S NEWS NOT A HIGH SCHOOL PROM ELECTION!

Jeff Daniels is perfect in his role as the tired beaten down journalist that just doesn't give a damn about anything anymore, but used too. And we can see the spark that ignites him to become great again. Why aren't real reporters like this? Why oh why?

If this show get's cancelled I will camp out in front of HBO HQ and not leave till the last Game of Thrones series comes out (because I have to get on with my life at some point).

This was my first review ever on IMDb, all because of this amazing show! You better watch it as well!
591 out of 700 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Witness to genius
Lightseven24 June 2012
I've been watching television for all of my 57 years on the planet. It is a rare thing when I see a show that grabs me from the first moments and holds me to my chair until the very last, but this just happened tonight as I watched the first episode of The Newsroom. Brilliant writing, terrific characters, excellent dialog, smooth and sexy directing that organically brought all the pieces together, and there couldn't have been better casting. Every character just felt exactly right. When it was over, I said this will be the new West Wing. Jeff Daniels shines in this role and what a great opportunity to showcase his effortless acting. I can easily see major Hollywood "A" listers grabbing their telephone's right now making late Sunday night calls to their agents demanding they get a guest appearance on The Newsroom. I was hoping for good when I heard about this show last winter, but what was delivered was excellence. Well done HBO. You've got me hooked. Well done!
388 out of 464 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Critics be damned! Welcome back, Sorkin!
nikhil_taneja26 June 2012
In the tradition of his earlier 'behind-the-scenes of TV' shows, Aaron Sorkin's The Newsroom takes a hard (and witty) look at the behind the scenes of cable news. And like all his other shows, The Newsroom deals as much with themes of honour, ethics, loyalty, idealism and love, as it does with the news. It's also written in Sorkinese – Aaron Sorkin's fast-paced, back-and-forth, sing-song dialogue that'll leave you heady on a good day but with a headache on a bad one.

So, like critics have lambasted, is it "weighted too heavily toward sermonizing diatribes (LA Times)?" Maybe. Does it "choke on its own sanctimony (NY Times)?" Perhaps. Is it "yet another platform in which to Set the People Straight is a worthwhile purpose (Huffington Post)?" Most definitely yes. But is this all really so horribly, terribly bad? NO!

The main bone of contention for critics for this show seems to be that it tries too hard to be good, do good and instill good, just like all of Sorkin's earlier work. But when did that become a crime, in times of shows about becoming the next scrawniest supermodel, douchiest reality housemate or Tim Allen's 30th comeback? What's wrong with a show fantasizing about a world upheld by a long-forgotten morality in a time infested with shows that fall over each other to portray stark, grim realities and apocalyptic futures?

The Newsroom's got a fantastic cast with enough charm to last you till the next Woody Allen movie. Emily Mortimer's already got me falling in love with her, Jeff Daniel makes you really root for him, John Gallagher Jr and Alison Pill have an instant chemistry and Sam Waterson's singularly enough to bring you back every week. Yes, it's longer than it needed to be, and yes, it could have done with a little more Noam Chomsky and a little less Don Quixote. But really, as long as it does what so few show can ever claim to together – rouse you, make you think and ENTERTAIN, bloody well at that – who's complaining?

Admittedly, I'm a fan of Aaron Sorkin. I've seen (repeatedly) and LOVED Sports Night and The West Wing, and I think Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip is one of the best shows ever made. His writing has inspired me in the past, and after watching The Newsroom, I have all reasons to believe that it will continue to, well into the future.

Critics be damned, watch this show simply because it's good television. It may not change the world, but at least it's trying to.
365 out of 445 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It is great to have him back
squirrelsheryl25 June 2012
I am watching it for a second time. All of the critics are acting as if Aaron Sorkin kicked dirt in their faces. The critics said nothing of substance- just vitriolic rants. Maybe Sorkin has hit a nerve. In a sea of crap T.V. this is entertaining. Believe me, we all know that the Newsroom characters are no more realistic than President Bartlet or Sam or Toby, Josh,Leo, C.J., Josh, or Donna. I don't think for one minute that the President of the United States has a secretary who doles out cookies, but I desperately need to believe that we are capable of being all of these characters. I desperately need to be quixotic for an hour a week.
222 out of 287 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant and Challenging
Filmbrewer25 June 2012
Rarely does a television show come along and sweep you off your feet with brilliant writing, an amazing cast and an actual message that is relevant and inspirational. Aaron Sorkin has done it again with The Newsroom! This show is truly a display of what television can achieve if we have the right people who are willing to break the rules of the mundane drab to make an engaging and intelligent show.

Jeff Daniels plays Will McAvoy, the cautious, veteran news anchor tiptoeing with his career in order to "play it safe", concerned more with keeping his ratings than stepping on toes. He has the smarts, the background and the ability to be something more, a challenger of beliefs and a defender of ideals, but lacks the motivation until Mackenzie MacHale (played beautifully by Emily Mortimer), a woman from his past, reenters his life. She is the spark to ignite his flame and gets him burning with an unquenchable passion once again.

Within the first five minutes of the show, Jeff Daniels delivers a speech of Aaron Sorkin's words about the state of America that is extremely touching, stimulating and brutally true for a vast majority of the population. It's reminiscent of his West Wing days, but with even more flare and aggression. I only hope he can keep the pace that he has set with the pilot; the bar is set high.
156 out of 213 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Over, but not forgotten
mynexthome7 December 2014
Maybe I am just coming into adulthood after my 45 years, but The Newsroom has always been food for thought. The pace, direction and writing has been excellent. I have watched and re-watched every episode over the past 3 seasons and really can't understand why they would cancel this show for the ages. First I was not a person that watched West Wing. I was younger and dumber for the show to stick. this show grabbed me from the get go and I have never been more surprised with it's greatness.

HBO - why oh why are buying into the big network belief that the public is not getting what you bring us. This show is why I subscribe to your network and seeing it leave is a shame. The past episode "Oh Shenandoah" was brilliant is so many ways. It left me thinking about my father and how we can challenge ourselves in moments of being tested. I came here to tell everyone I will watch the last episode with sadness and wish I could continue this great program going forward, but it's over. I will save these three seasons and remember every episode with fondness and hope to see these great actors, directors and writers in the future where they can continue to express themselves without worrying about ratings or money driven desires.

Thank you for 3 great seasons!
30 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant, Briskly Intelligent Writing
gradyharp25 June 2012
A new series launched on HBO with a star-spangled episode 'We just decided to'. As conceived and written by Aaron Sorkin it is a timely, incredibly intelligently written show populated with some of our best seasoned actors as well as some very fine actors on the way up. This is the kind of television that reminds us that at one time the news programs informed us about current events and ran a continuing commentary on the development of events in this country and around the world in a manner that kept us alerted of why we as a nation needed to remain alert to both good and bad events, to celebrate when indicated and to fight back when injustices were occurring. This direction is indicated in the background imagery for the titles – running glimpses of the likes of Walter Cronkite, Edward R Murrow, Huntley/Brinkley etc who were responsible news anchors instead of the flippant celebrities more concerned with ratings of their show than the news we see today.

The first episode opens with popular news anchor Will McAvoy (Jeff Daniels who proves his acting chops here) being interviewed on a college campus and responds to a student question 'Why is America the greatest country' by answering 'We're not. We used to be' and then runs us past our history of reportage on television that proves that the country has fallen in world view because we no longer care about our initial basic rites an freedoms and concern for humanity. It is a powerful start with some of the most gut-wrenching insightful history of this country that has been written for television.

From there, McAvoy returns to his station to find a support team missing and a replacement named. But enter an old flame, the war correspondent fatigued Mackenzie MacHale (Emily Mortimer, never more brilliant) who has been assigned Will's new Executive Producer and in the midst of many changes the new arrangement (not a popular one for Will) evolves into a return to actual news reporting of the significant type – all over the 2010 BP oil explosion and spill that threatened the Gulf of Mexico. It is raw, real, factual, and immediate news delivered with veracity and commitment.

Greg Mottola directs with keen precision, allowing moments of comic relief to be present if subtle and keeps the momentum of the show propelling smoothly. The cast of superb actors includes John Gallagher, Jr. (brilliant), Dev Patel, Allison Pill, Sam Waterston (never better), Thomas Sadoski, Chris Chalk, Trieu Tran, Charlie Weirauch, Margaret Judson, Olivia Munn, Adina Porter – and more. A more talented and committed cast would be hard to imagine. THIS is the kind of television series we so very sorely need right now. It is refreshingly free of the usual clatter and gimmicks that clutter the airways, and it s full of information and food for thought delivered in an entertaining manner. And this is only Episode 1!

Grady Harp
129 out of 186 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sensational!
steph_jt25 June 2012
I've been waiting for what seems like forever for a top notch show to present itself, and I truly feel this is it. To say the first show was riveting is a gross understatement. As a news show, this fictitious newsroom had me planted on the edge of my seat, and when things finally got going, I found myself fidgeting and wide-eyed waiting for what came next. I have to say the leads in this show have amazing chemistry, the sort of chemistry that usually takes several shows to develop, yet here it was, in spades no less. It's easy to believe that I'm overstating this, but I truly believe this show has the potential for greatness, and believe me, I'm normally a fairly harsh critic, but in this case I feel completely justified in touting this as the next great show. There's some great social commentary on offer here, while not exactly new, it's offered up in a far more palatable fashion than the usual polarised and emotional manner. Needless to say, I implore all to watch this first episode, as it was so good, it could have been stretched another 30 minutes to become a great movie. The fact that we get more, is the icing on the cake. I can only hope the writers can keep producing scripts near the same level as this one. 5 stars, or 10 out of 10. Watch it!
129 out of 186 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Future Emmy Winning Show
ibiggmikei24 June 2012
I watched this show after watching True Blood, which I watch out of habit on Sunday nights with my wife. I am SO glad we kept HBO on. I remember hearing about this show from different promos and snippets of interviews on the computer, but wow. Aaron Sorkin leaves his mark all over this show, right from the intro, which was very reminiscent of The West Wing right until the ending. Fantastic creation by him.

Without mentioning any spoilers, the show is about a news anchor (Jeff Daniels) who is beloved by his viewers but not so much by his co-workers and employees due to his aloofness, biting sarcasm, and general malaise. His character has a turning point in the opening scene and it is phenomenal. The writing, acting, cinematography, and tempo of the show are excellent. I fell in love with it right away. And how great is Sam Waterson on this show? I hope that this show has a domino effect and REAL news anchors take note and feel inspired. Hopefully, this show may lead to REAL NEWS STORIES by REAL NEWS ANCHORS. 9/10. Emmy's are DEFINITELY in this show's future.
122 out of 183 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic start
harpy32125 June 2012
I watch a lot of TV shows and I have to say that The Newroom has impressed. Quick witted, fast paced and dealing with issues that exist in American news coverage and to some extent beyond. The main characters were engaging and their interactions into the future will be interesting to see as well.

What I really enjoyed was the exploration of what news reporting really is and how reporters should act when in the pursuit of a story, as well as what stories are relevant. Though not explicitly stated it brings to mind the image of a reporter who is actually unbiased and unafraid to go after the truth. The first episode covered the events of the BP oil spill in 2010. I look forward to the coverage of other major news events from this inside perspective as well.

Definitely recommend it as a show to see. I hope it continues on in the same vein.
105 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hot new show
THIS IS THE MOST EXCITING SHOW I HAVE SEEN ON T.V. SINCE "THE WEST WING."

I used TWW because, yes, this too is an Aaron Sorkin tour-de-force.

Imagine your most idealized concept of how news SHOULD be reported. Now, imagine any news service (network or cable) who would actually report the news. Now, put someone in charge who will clean house and hire people who will actually do their jobs, without regard to ratings or demographics.

Aw, forget it. That only happens on T.V. Usually HBO. Wait!! This IS HBO!! And, when that oil rig in the gulf blows out, only a couple of people see the true potential of the consequences of that explosion. And they just happen to be well-connected enough to get on-the-record statements from people who are in positions to know what they're talking about. Like the people who would become known to all of us soon while the greatest oil spill in history gets out of control, but also gets spun to everyone's benefit.

But this show is NOT about the spill. It's about a group of highly- qualified people coming together to produce a news show that actually dispenses NEWS. I have great hope for future episodes. I even watched this first episode twice. Great show.
96 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Why The Newsroom won't survive.
heresmark15 September 2012
Several years ago, Aaron Sorkin created a show called "Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip." I enjoyed this show a lot. It wasn't as good as "The West Wing," but it wasn't real bad.

But as the series went on, more time was spent on relationships between the characters than time spent on what the show was suppose to be about: producing a weekly "Saturday Night Live" type of show. That got old fast, the show got boring, and it was canceled after only one season.

Now along comes "The Newsroom." I had great hopes for this series. Great writer, good cast, great setting (a cable network newsroom). The first episode was really enjoyable. That Aaron Sorkin dialog that requires ones undivided attention was there, and I loved it.

Unfortunately, too much time is spent on personal relationships, and their stories are really hard to follow. When Will McAvoy is doing a story or interviewing someone, it's great TV. When he's concerned about stories some tabloid is reporting, it gets boring.

Likewise, the love lives of Jim Harper, Don Keefer, et al, are just not very interesting. Sorkin should spend more time on news stories and broadcasts than on these relationships.

If this situation isn't corrected, I predict "The Newsroom" has one more season in it, if that.
33 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Eh
r-dodger5426 August 2012
Firstly overall I think this show is well done. There are a few issues that bug me.

Will is supposedly a Republican yet never really has a view point that would support that stated fact. It is almost as if they have the title there so people can't argue that it is a show about a typical liberal news network. Which is obvious because they grill republicans on the show all the time. Yet to see any liberal points of view being attacked or questioned.

Maggie is a very annoying character seems overacted. Love triangle between her and two other male characters is really really over used.

The show comes off as pretentious and condescending at points.

Jeff Daniels and Sam Waterstons acting are superb and really anchor the show.
29 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Children in big bodies
Amadio23 September 2012
First of all I know this is American drama and that emotions are a key component of such products. Second, I expect the characters to be somewhat believable and somewhat likable. While most comments on IMDb that dislike this program are about the perceived left-wing bias, my criticism is that all the characters seem to be on day-release from intense psychotherapy. If they are not, they certainly should be getting therapy. Everybody seems unable to deal with who they are, and what others do around them. Everyone gets upset at the slightest action of another. Everyone is either maudlin, fearful, or angst-ridden. They have the emotional response of emo teenagers. And this does not for good drama make. You have to care about characters in order to be involved and feel for them. Instead, we are subjected to children in big bodies who are eminently unlovable. This is the worst of American drama. While I understand that HBO made this for an American audience, it is so self-absorbed as to make Paris Hilton look positively interesting. The newsroom? Oooh! Television! Wow. And people get upset! Fascinating. And there are real stories as well. I mean real stories! How can you not want to watch it? It's not even boring, it's painfully masturbatory. It is so full of its own self-importance as be an exercise in politics. While some might like it because it is 'socially relevant' the script means that you are constantly being subjected to trauma. Ugh!
58 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Starts great, finishes off mediocre
danshabash14 November 2012
The reason I starting watching Newsroom is seeing Will's rant from Episode 1 on Youtube. It's quite good, and points out a lot of America's problems.

Unfortunately, the rest of the show consists of him blaming the Tea Party for these problems. Do I have a problem with Will smacking the Tea Party? No, in my opinion they deserve it ten times over.

What I do have a problem with is the show being JUST Will smacking the Tea Party? Yes. I thought this was supposed to be about the real news, or unbiased political commentary, or at the very least work in the newsroom.

Instead, the show might as well be called "Aaron Sorkin bitching about the Tea Party (with some teenage drama on the side and a very romantic re-imagining of newsroom work)".

I love the idea of the show, and I loved the first couple episodes; however, towards the end it became nearly as one-sided and repetitive as the Tea Party rhetoric it seems to hate. No wonder the show got such a high rating - people who agree with the huge bias love it, and the people who disagree don't watch it.
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
OK, I started off loving this show
jsfiller18 July 2012
I signed up just to review this show, but not to review it so much as to respond to another review who commented "THIS IS HOW THE NEWS SHOULD BE DONE!!!" (Not really a quote, but pretty close.) I felt exactly as this reviewer did after the first episode and a half. The opening scene was outstanding. The seen where Mac is laying out the new format and rules had me cheering.

One of the worker bees responds to a story idea with, "Jon Stewart had a *some guy* on last night. We could book him." To which Mac replies, "Were you listening to what I said just now or were you distracted by a bumble bee?" And she proceeded to repeat one of her main rules: "Is this the best form of the argument?" I almost rose from my seat and cheered I was so ecstatic. Finally, we're going to have a program that doesn't see the news as entertainment, treats opposing views respectfully and only is concerned about getting the facts out to viewers.

I was betrayed. Aaron Sorkin betrayed me. He pretends to portray a newscast that is serious, respectful of opponents and focused only on what is true ("only the facts"), but instead, the newscast he portrays is every bit as malicious and rhetorical as Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, Jon Stewart, Al Franken, Keith Olbermann or anyone else. He pretends to be "fair" by having the protagonist portrayed as a Republican. Opponents, however, are caricatured. As someone I read said, Sorkin is noted for setting up his opponents in his shows so that his liberal position can win. That is plainly evident here. We get the same inflammatory rhetoric we see all throughout the media. An example: at one point the main character says, "I only appear liberal because I believe hurricanes are caused by high barometric pressure and not gay marriage." Great, Aaron. I know of no conservative who thinks hurricanes are caused by gay marriage (and I know many ultra conservatives). What a ridiculous and childish statement. This is exactly the kind of rhetoric the show bemoans in the first episode and a half, and it becomes more and more evident as the show goes on. At least, as far as I watched (3.5 episodes).

I would not be so upset, but I am really sick and tired of the ad hominem, rhetorical attacks both sides of the political spectrum launch against each other, and I thought, I THOUGHT, I had found a show that recognized this travesty within society and was going to address it. But, as noted above, I was betrayed. Aaron Sorkin betrayed me. Instead of recognizing the problem and offering a solution, this shows contributes to the problem. What a shame.
86 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good, but slanted
Royson588 July 2013
The general idea of the show is easy to sum up: cable TV "news" shows have been doing a poor job educating the American electorate, focusing on ratings (which means focusing on entertainment). Sounds great.

Also understand there is another premise: Liberal arguments are correct and factually based, Conservative arguments are incorrect, and only rely on emotion. Basically, FOX News, turned 180 degrees, and with as nasty attitude towards the opposition as Sean Hannity. Just as "Fair and Balanced". Stereotypes abound.

A close examination of the personal stories will show the greatest weakness. Relationships are just too complicated for too long. And instead of getting resolution, you get more complications. And just like previous stated about the lone Republican doing nothing like a Republican, the one "Christian" has only gotten mad at other Christians, and never stood up for any "Christian value" that could be deemed controversial (between numerous drunken spells and booty calls).
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a show.
andyjwilcox15 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I love this show. I watch a lot of TV, not all good, but this is far and away my favourite.

From the beginning with Will's speech, to the American Taliban the Tea Party, to Genoa, to the story that took Will to Jail, this show is incredibly well written. The full on dialogue means you have to pay attention but is gripping, clever and often funny. Implausible, silly and regularly controversial, its very Aaron Sorkin, it was fantastic. The story lines are varied yet consistent and leave you thinking about the problems the characters face and how you would deal in the same situation.

I wish more people watched the show so I could talk about it more, and wholeheartedly recommend it. I am gutted that it is over so soon!
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What's Up?
frodegrotheim28 July 2012
I have no idea how this show is currently rated 8,8 on this site. It's a perfectly viewable show, there was after all bound to be some quality here given the creator of the show. The main problem for me however is the soap opera level acting. It's really quite shocking, and not at all what you would expect from HBO.

Ironically the show has gotten more stick on IMDb for being liberally biased, self-righteous and condescending. I am a liberal, and highly enjoy watching someone like Bill Maher, but there is probably something to this critique. In what way the main character is a conservative I have yet to figure out. Just giving him the label of being Republican, doesn't make it believable.

The hands down most annoying character of the show is by the way Maggie. I am sure we as an audience is supposed to love her by now, but I rather find her tiresome and obnoxious. It's certainly not clear to me why she has two suitors fighting over her, and that illustrates the problem of the show. Something always feels off.
32 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Extremely Strong Start and from there in completely crashed down...
S-Schoeningh1 September 2012
When I saw the first episodes I thougth WOW, what a fantastic new show, the covering of all the dramatic events in the past years, the research behind it and how a news channel works was very interesting and entertaining. I guess this is also the reason why all the positive reviews here are from June, because the show was really good back then. Sadly it changed after the first episodes and now it is only a Republican bashing show which has some love stories going on to add some drama. All these love stories are pathetic....come on.....also Mackenzie sometimes acts like a 12 year old....and what the hell why are the Republicans and the Tea Party the ONLY topic in this show?? No one believes that Will is a true Republican, this fact should just make the bashing legal because he is one of them....but its just embarrassing. I really can say this because I'm not from USA, I'm not a Democrat nor a Republican and for me as a neutral viewer this is already extremely annoying.

So I really don't know why the show got renewed.....the show has soooo much potential if they had concentrated on NEWS!! and not only Republicans. Normally I'M a huge fan of HBO series but this....Its a shame to waste all this potential.....
32 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Wallows in its own hypocrisy
dhgunit17 July 2012
First, the good things about this show.

I love the cast. Jeff Daniels is brilliant, and plays the role perfectly. The writing of this show is excellent when it has to do with personal relationships and comedy.

The rest of the show is ruined by Sorkin thinking that its viewers are dumb. After the fourth episode, I can no longer watch this show because it just feels like a propaganda piece now. I had no problem with Sorkin and some of the things he wanted to talk about in the first 2 episodes. I don't mind him coming after conservatives at all, I am a libertarian so I share some of his beliefs in these stories. But I have waited for him and his "fair, truthful" newsroom to cover a story about something other than evil conservatives.

Sorkin's premise is solid. There isn't any fair news in this country, and hardly any around the world as far as I know. Agreed completely. It is all affected by money and personal opinions. But just calling your character a Republican and having them not care about ratings does not mean you have a newsroom trying to fairly inform the electorate about the important matters of our country and world.

If this show really presented that, this would be a wonderful series. However, political propaganda is never that great....and that is all this is.
31 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Could have been, but in the end it isn't
t-grammatikopoulos4 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
From IMDb: "A news anchor's life is stirred up when he's forced to work with a new team of colleagues". My first thoughts were that a show based on the media world, on HBO would be interesting the less. It even started so good that I wanted to rate it with 10 stars without even watching it. And by start, I mean Daniels's "breakdown" in the first 5 minutes. From there it went straight downhill... But let me explain what i mean.

First of all we are talking about a multi-billion dollar worth corporation with a network channel. As seen from this point almost not a single character is believable. I mean c'mon... A producer considered "the best damn producer" who acts like a drama queen, never stops mixing her personal life with her job, her right hand, a promising young guy who gets bossed around by nearly everyone, even though he is their boss, a super hot and sexy economist who refuses to work as an actual economist for 4 million dollars more because she is loyal to the "news"... I mean seriously...

The whole show is to me a high school drama parade, with a prime time news show as background. It may be well written, but it is more a romantic comedy to me than it is a drama set in the cruel and hard world of the media. Everyone is in love with everyone else and that gets more screen time than the actual processes involved in a "newsroom".

I am not an American so I can't tell if they focus on some political aspects/parties more than others, although I get a strong pro-Obama vibe but I'll leave that to people who know better.

To sum up I would say this is an easy to watch show, fun and entertaining, but not a "world of the media" dramatic series. It would be better off as a comedy.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Sadly, Sorkin resorts to his worst tendencies
theucydides9 July 2012
Sorkin seems to have two modes of writing; insightful, intelligent, witty or Didactic, condescending, overwrought. Unfortunately The Newsroom is an example of the second of these Sorkins. I have a love affair with The West Wing and rewatch the entire series every couple years to remind me how good writing for TV can be. I think he can be one of the smartest, most intelligent writers alive today. But his tendency to fall off a cliff of self-righteousness has brought more than one of his shows to a sudden stop.

Newsroom seems to want to be very sincere in it's attempt to make the American public less dumb by quoting facts and figures while pontificating, at great length, about what's wrong with the way that you think. They set up straw-men that are 2 dimensional caricatures of wrong thinking, then set about knocking them down self-righteously. It tends to make the main characters on the show look not like high-minded journalists, but intellectual bullies. I mean really, a beauty queen to defend some conservative legislation? That's a real hard-won victory.

It actually has the opposite effect that they seem to so earnestly desire, to speak truth to power and edify our fellow citizens. The journalists seem so intent on speaking truth that they appear uninterested in anything that someone else might have to say. They speak AT each other rather than engage in discourse.

I won't even go into the broad acting that seems better suited to stage than screen, or the thinly written characters that populate the show. If they can just fix the breast beating and condescension the show would be, barely, watchable. Without making some serious changes to the basic premise of the show I don't see how it can't be another Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip.

Any resemblance between this show and real journalism is purely coincidental.
29 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I loved it!
saleinaenachiya24 June 2012
So when I heard about The Newsroom I was kind of skeptical, especially because it seems a lot of people aren't interested in political programs, or news shows...well the great thing about The Newsroom is that it seems more realistic then FOX news! I absolutely adored Jeff Daniels who knew how good of a mean guy he could play, and just the acting is amazing. I loved this show and was so happy to have started recording it after True Blood. I hope we see more seasons of this show because it is definitely up there. I love the fact that the first episode threw you right into the situation, and that the news story they covered...actually happened! The BP oil spill was huge and to watch it develop in the show knowing that it becomes a huge deal was even more amazing!
20 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This Was It - While it Lasted!
bruce2-128 December 2014
In the nature of entertainment on television, In that it must somehow appeal to the masses and also must inexorably fail to put those people with half a brain asleep, this show failed miserably.

I can safely say that it was the only HBO show that I ever watched that didn't feel it had to sling boobs and ass at the screen, in a vainglorious attempt to keep people watching. The fact that it was also engaging enough that I could spend any time watching, without feeling that the entire planet was populated by brainless alien robots, was also quite attractive to me! Needless to say, all of the above was more than enough to make sure that the program would fail, as indeed it did!

I do not agree with some that this was Sorken's last ditch effort to try and tell America just how f'ng stupid and isolated from reality it is... I think even he has given up on that failed plan of attack.

What I do think he was trying to say is that the best and brightest of the brains and the brawn of America has been outsourced to roof jumpers in China, and that something should be done about it, before this country falls in on itself like an acid etched house of cards!
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed