Rush (2013) Poster

(I) (2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
529 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Well worth the wait!
robertjenkins45615 September 2013
The film is just over 2 hours long, but when it was over it seemed like I had been in the cinema about 30 minutes.

The film centres on the battle for the 1976 Formula 1 World Championship, and the rivalry between the Austrian "professor" Nikki Lauda and the British playboy James Hunt.

The two are depicted as enemies, but in actual fact they were good friends who trusted and respected each other on, as well as off-track. This bit of artistic licence does not spoil the film and is reasonable in order to make the battle between the two for the F1 crown more intense.

The film is nicely paced. We are introduced to both characters through their own narrative and scenes that leave the watcher in no doubt as to their background and philosophy on life.

The two are first seen in competition in 1970 at a Formula 3 race at Crystal Palace (where they have a coming together) and sets the scene for the rivalry throughout the film. I'm not sure if this is further artistic licence. The two definitely did race each other in F3, but I am not convinced as to whether this actual incident occurred.

After that we are given a whistle stop journey between 1973 (when Hunt came into F1) to 1975. We are shown the dangerous nature of F1 at the time with the Francois Cevert accident at Watkins Glen in gory detail – although this does not seem like gratuitous, but necessary to bring home just how unforgiving the sport was back then – and it truly was (of the top 12 points scorers in 1976, F1 cars were to claim 3, 1 ended up in a wheelchair and 1 had his career ended by a leg crunching crash).

We are then taken to 1976 and that titanic struggle for the World Crown. Only one real issue here – the British Grand Prix result, but I suspect this was simplified in the interests of time.

The casting is superb. Chris Hemsworth, an Aussie, does an excellent job on public schoolboy James Hunt, while Daniel Bruhl both sounds and looks frighteningly like the Austrian. There is little room for a supporting cast amongst the drivers which is a shame – only Clay Regazzoni has a part of any real substance. Peterson, Watson, Depailler, Scheckter, Andretti et al could have featured a little more I think. What did their contemporaries think of the two protagonists? The supporting cast is mainly required for Hunt – Lord Hesketh, "Bubbles" Horsley and Teddy Mayer / Tyler Alexander of McLaren, while the Ferrari team principals are rarely seen.

The love angle is perfectly catered for by Olivia Wilde (Hunt's first wife Suzy) and the gorgeous Alexandra Maria Lara - of Downfall fame – as the future Marlene Lauda. Both give quality performances.

The attention to detail is superb. Although the tracks are not the actual ones (for understandable reasons) the cars, the helmets, the sponsors are all authentic. The film "feels" like it's happening in the 70's.

For anyone interested in great personal stories, F1, the 70's, cars or just like to see a great film, then Rush is for you.
321 out of 347 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Gripping, Adrenaline-Ridden Fuel Ride From Howard
CalRhys28 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Just come out the cinema in York from watching Rush! Oh my god! One of the most intense films I have watched in a very long time with gripping performances from Hemsworth and Brühl! An extremely clever script from Peter Morgan in which he doesn't pick sides, but instead allows the audience to view these characters in their own light.

I am a huge fan of F1 so when viewing a film relating to that sport it would be questionable that there are some anachronisms or minor problems. But no! There was not a single fault with this film, it is the most realistic sports film I have viewed! A film that portrays the rivalry between the British and Austrian world champions and the fateful crash. With some powerful dialogue from Lauda and Hunt.

Even if you aren't a fan of F1, the intense action and no-holds adrenaline should keep you entertained from start to finish. With a great sway of emotions from melancholy to ecstatic! This film deserves the acclaimed reviews it has been receiving.
102 out of 109 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Chris Hemsworth as James Hunt? Really??!
Muttley_McLad15 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Really.

His performance in Rush came as a huge surprise. This is his best performance by quite some margin, a role which he plays with a great deal of maturity and respect. He plays Hunt with just the right level of arrogance, cockiness, confidence and audacity to convince you that he was real life 70's playboy James Hunt, a man destined to live fast and die young.

Bruhl is superb as Niki too. It's a role that he deserves much recognition for, particularly his accent and mannerisms. Lauda was one of the first of a new generation of professional driver, driving the old playboy characters out of the sport and Bruhl nails this icy determination to succeed magnificently.

A particular nod goes to Christian McKay's portrayal as the slightly eccentric, petrol head extraordinaire, ever so aristocratic but hopelessly financially incompetent Lord Hesketh.

The camera work is spectacular, none less so than with some very creative angles of the beautifully filmed on track action. The brief in-helmet camera shots are inspired, giving you a glimpse of the drivers world. CGI work will be spotted by the keen eyed, but you have to consider that without it that there are certain scenes involving priceless period machinery (the sound of a Cosworth DFV firing up and filling the cinema was worth the ticket price alone) that would be just impossible to film as accurately as they were depicted here with real machinery. As a result, they are able to use the CGI sparingly and to good effect.

The main facts of the 1976 season are on the whole handled very accurately. Certainly, some liberties are taken with poetic licence, but this is still a scripted film and not a documentary. The factually heavy writing of the script along with beautifully filmed and liberal use of period machinery being recorded at pace on real asphalt will be enough to keep the fans of the sport well represented.

It's a gripping telling of the 1976 Formula 1 season, which whilst not sharing the same shear spectacle of Howard's other 'too unbelievable to be true' film Apollo 13, Rush tells a story which would be just too unbelievable in terms of human bravery and personal destiny for any fictional story to be given credence. It's a tale which will be enough to hold the unfamiliar or casual viewer's attention with a steel firm grip to see how the different personalities handle the pressures of life both on and off the track and how rising to the top takes it's tole on these two polar opposite real life gladiators of the race track.

With the lead actors clearly committed to giving their best performances yet and a tastefully handled script, Ron Howard delivers a visually impressive account of events that may well become one of his most respected directorial efforts yet.

10/10
240 out of 267 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
F1 finally has an amazing film
bm275916 September 2013
This is an amazing film. I can't recommend it highly enough for F1 fans like me, sports fans, or anyone interested in a story of rivalry i.e. something different to the unoriginal junk movies which get churned out each year.

All the crew involved should pat themselves on the back. They've done a fabulous job making this film critique, explore and honour two memorable F1 drivers.

James Hunt's fun, party lifestyle along with his brash and raw driving talent. This is contrasted against Niki Lauda's methodical thinking, technical brilliance and professional lifestyle. These two characters are total opposites but as their lives are explored it also acknowledges the value of an enemy, i.e. something to beat. I believe this is a commentary on human nature in that the best of us shines when we have something to beat or overcome.

Do yourself a favour and see it now.
225 out of 251 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent
rob-armstrong-913-2125126 September 2013
What a breath of fresh air... A brilliant film in every respect. I was lucky enough to this movie at a special preview and I cant tell you how great a film this is... At first you think its about racing cars, but its not it really does give you an insight into the human condition...

The rivalry between Hunt and Lauder is just played brilliantly... The race sequences are superb, really taking you back to the 70s... The heyday of this awesome sport. It shows the end of an era where the gentlemen drivers begin to give way to professional sportsmen and the end (in my opinion) of the excitement of the sport. It shows what a pale reflection today's F1 is of this once great sport, and what great characters we have lost...

A real must see movie
347 out of 400 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Bound to win Academy Award nominations - and rightly so
rogerdarlington15 September 2013
In 1976, the rivalry between two brilliant racing car drivers, the British James Hunt and the Austrian Nikki Lauda, came to a head in the almost literally life-and-death struggle of the Formula One championship. American director Ron Howard ("Apollo 13", "A Beautiful Mind", "Frost/Nixon") and British scriptwriter Peter Morgan (both play and screenplay of "Frost/Nixon") have done a terrific job bringing the titanic struggle to the big screen, aided by some excellent casting and powerful sound and cinematography. Those were the days when most years a couple of drivers would be killed, so the stakes could not be higher.

Sensibly the car racing does not over-dominate, since this is essentially a character- driven conflict, but when the racing is on screen - notably in the final race - the excitement is visceral. The Australian Chris Hemsworth (previously best known as "Thor") and the Spanish-born German Daniel Brühl ("Inglourious Basterds") are so good as the British and Austrian drivers respectively that the dialect coaches should receive a special commendation. Arguably Brühl gives the stronger performance which should auger well for his future career.

A great strength of this tale is that there is not a hero or a villain. Both drivers had privileged backgrounds and were superbly talented, but both were flawed. although in very contrasting ways, including styles of thinking, driving and womanising (Olivia Wilde as model Suzy Miller and Alexandra Maria Lara as aristocratic Marlene Knaus respectively).

I never saw the recent film "Senna" (2010) so "Rush" reminded me most of the much older "Grand Prix" (1966), but what is stunning about "Rush" is that it all happened. A season of the fastest sport in the world decided in the last race by one point - you couldn't make it up. Rush to see the movie.
126 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best movie this year so far!
joechang-113 September 2013
Mr. Ron Howard is a great story teller, this movie is about human nature, love and tears.

It is difficult to make a good movie about car racing, especially to make one for the time period from 1970 to 1976. I don't know how they did it to bring those old F1 cars back to life. You will feel like you are really there watching the racing, it's really unbelievable.

It is truly touching to see each character played their perfect role for this movie, Chris Hemsworth did a great performance, he is such a talented and devoted actor. Daniel Brühl also did a great job on portraying the eccentric and unsociable legendary F1 driver Niki Lauda.

A great movie is like having a great meal, a good starter, a good soup/salad, a good main course and a good dessert, well balanced. Rush is that good meal, it's a fun ride!

I have to say I really enjoyed watching this movie. Thank you Mr. Ron Howard for making this masterpiece.
208 out of 246 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb all round
tj_seabrook7 September 2013
Having seen the trailers and TV set-up (BBC as a Grand Prix insert) I was thinking OK so I've probably seen the best of this and it's going to be 'clunky' in parts or too far up it's own a$$.

But hey we can all be wrong, Ron Howard has added depth to a story I knew well, the presentation has a feel for the era the colour's are sometimes harsh and edgy.

The set pieces are well researched, the owners of some of the classic F1 hardware must have had an enjoyable time (not quite so sure about the Insurance Underwriters).

Where the story hits the spot for me is the acting of the main protagonists, they have life and depth. Hemsworths presentation of James Hunt is uncanny it's like a documentary he's almost as good as Daniel Day-Lewis in Lincoln.

If your not a F1 fan or from the 70's it may not be more than a blokes film, but give it a go it is going to end up being a important as Apollo 13 in the life of Mr Howard and quite frankly is by far the best car racing movie ever
145 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thrilling character study
tomgillespie200219 January 2014
As Asif Kapadia's gripping and extremely moving 2010 documentary Senna proved, cinema audiences have a thirst for the larger-than-life characters that inhabit the Formula One track. The sport itself is frightfully dull (although I'm sure plenty will disagree with that), but the sportsmen willing to lay down their life for a kick and a trophy are infinitely more fascinating, especially in the days of lax safety rules. The sport nowadays is little more than advertising on wheels, but when the likes of James Hunt and Niki Lauda battled it out on the track, epic rivalries were created, and no matter how talented these men were at driving these "coffins on wheels", every race could spell out death. Rush portrays the clash of two opposing personalities. The long-haired, dashing Englishman James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth) was all about the adrenaline, embracing the post-race parties and lying with the many women that would throw themselves at him. He was reckless, willing to risk his life and others in order to win, but, as described in the film, there was no better driver in the world in terms of raw talent. His rival, Austrian Niki Lauda (Daniel Bruhl), was focused, clinical, and even helped design the cars he would drive. He was the early-night type, 'rat-faced' and cold. In every sense, he's the perfect villain. But where Rush succeeds the most is challenging our early conceptions of these two characters. There's little fun to be had with Lauda, but played by Bruhl, he evolves into the underdog of the movie, perhaps the only one that actually gives a damn about his own life and the life of his opponents. This, naturally, leads to tragedy and a particularly wince-inducing scene in which Lauda requires having his lungs vacuumed, but it's at this point that we realise just what these two drivers mean to each other. As Lauda watches Hunt claw back some points in the 1976 Formula One season, it becomes clear that these two need each other to survive. Their hatred of one another only serves to fuel the flames, and leads to Lauda's defiant early return to the driver's seat, scarred and bandaged. Fast cars, beautiful women and exotic locations hardly sounds like a recognisable workload for Ron Howard, one of the most play-it-easy directors out there. His past films have been unjustifiably successful, critically and commercially, never stamping a recognisable directorial trait onto his work. Yet here, although the bright sheen of the 70's initially takes some getting used to, he has managed to create a world that is very much alive, using snappy editing, a pumping soundtrack and some growing sound design to re-create this world for petrol-heads. But he doesn't neglect his characters, and evokes the great work done on Frost/Nixon (2008), which was also a study of two giant, clashing personalities coming together on the world stage. Rush is an exhilarating experience, able to distinguish each race from the next and literally putting us in the driver's seat with the use of digital cameras. Although it occasionally drifts into formulaic territory with the introduction of the 'wives' (played by Oivia Wilde and Alexandra Maria Lara, respectively), Howard cleverly uses this as an insight into Hunt and Lauda's personalities. Hemsworth is very good in his first 'proper' post-Thor role, but it is Bruhl that you take away from the film. How he gets you to initially loath him, only to be cheering him on at the climax is the work of a great actor, and it's a crime that he has been snubbed by the Academy this year. Hopefully this will inspire a host of decent sports movies, as Rush proves that you can mix character study and even existential musings with the thrill of sport.
56 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well made, Well Acted, Surprisingly Good Movie
simonedwards_14 September 2013
As a Cineworld Card Holder I was invited to a screening last night of Ron Howards new movie Rush.

Before I start...I am not a F1 fan, but I knew enough of the history of the main protagonists to appreciate the film. The main set pieces of the film set a year before I was born in 1976, so mainly my knowledge was based on my Fathers recollection of the events. I'd seen James Hunt in interviews and recently watched footage with Niki Lauda so got an idea of the characters.

The film is bang on in period, cars fashion and sets the tone excellently, the cinematography is nothing short of breathtaking and the fx are very much in keeping with the period, no ridiculous CGI.

The acting, on the whole is nothing short of miraculous, Hemsworth and Bruhl are fantastic, particularly Hemsworth, who's accent, mannerisms and natural acting was a big surprise. I could see a few awards for this role. I have seen Bruhl in quite a few films and I am always impressed so this just continues the trend. All the support actors are very good in smaller roles.

The film is well paced for 2 hours and quite graphic, particularly a few accident scenes.

Direction: Ron Howard - nice job, I'm not a massive fan and particularly after the da vinci/Angels fiasco's a big return to decent form. The flair was there but played safe (As normal) but let the story and the actors take centre stage.

If you like History in F1, a well documented rivalry and a film that capture this, watch it. It is similar to the excellent Control, Moneyball etc but with a bit of heart.

8 1/2 out of 10
100 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rush brings intense racing action
insessionfilm1 October 2013
DIRECTION Ron Howard is amazing. His camera work here is absolutely incredible. I wouldn't at all be surprised if the cinematography and the sound editing are nominated for Oscars. The engines roaring alongside Hans Zimmer's score really gets you into the mood. The backdrop is gritty with lots of dark and gray colors giving it a tough 1970′s aesthetic. Howard places is camera so specifically and we get so many different angles that are gripping. Camera work inside the cars giving you the intense look of driving an F1 car as well as camera's on the grass looking up as they fly by. Howard's use of slow motion is also perfect and helps build the intensity of the rivalry he is exploring here. The racing is intense and the dangers are shown in some dramatic ways as the suspense keeps building up. The biggest problem is that Formula 1 isn't the biggest of sports here in the U.S. If people can get past that and go see this, they won't regret it.

Grade: A

SCRIPT The story follows two F1 drivers in the mid 1970′s that don't always get a long but have a mutual respect for one another. It centers around British driver, James Hunt and the Austrian Niki Lauda. Peter Morgan's script is brilliant and Howard brings it to life in some really great ways. In essence, both characters are the protagonist and the antagonist of the story. The film explores Hunt and his immature ways but at the same time makes him very likable. Then the story switches to Lauda and his quest to live his own life outside the big family business, yet again making him likable. However, at the same time each take their own turn in being the "bad guy" and showing you qualities that make this person flawed and unlikable in some ways. But then the movie brings it back around showing you why these characters are good characters to root for and the mutual respect they have for one another. It's the competition that drives them in this story. What makes it so great though, is that the audience really gets to choose who they want to root for. They build up and tear down each character so flawlessly. The use of narration at the beginning and at the end was a perfect choice as well. The ending becomes a bit sentimental and hits the buttons that you'd expect from Howard and company.

Grade: A

PERFORMANCES Daniel Brühl and Chris Hemsworth are amazing. This is perhaps Hemsworth's best as he portray's James Hunt in some incredible ways. He's the dangerous driver that has Tony Stark mentalities in terms of partying, women and being extremely likable. Yet Hemsworth shows some depth and some emotion here as well which this character calls for in some ways. Brühl, who you may know from Inglorious Basterds, almost steals the show. He's the Austrian car genius who becomes famous for knowing how to make the cars lighter and faster, thus making him part of the Ferrari team. One can argue he's the bigger lead here as he narrates a good chunk of the story and brings in some great perspectives. Brühl's performance is spot on though and brings life to this character even when Lauda is more deadpanned. Olivia Wilde is good here although her character is a small role. This is about Brühl and Hemsworth and they carry the movie extremely well.

Grade: A+

SCORE Freakin Hans Zimmer. The dude is on fire lately. A lot of people like to criticize Zimmer for having score's that are similar or nothing new but they work. His score for Man of Steel added a lot to that film and his score for The Lone Ranger was about the only good part of that movie. And his score for Rush was really great, again. It added a lot of intensity to the racing moments and has become something he's perfected. The score here is more laid back and in the backdrop though many moments but when the action ramped up, so did his score as well as your emotion.

Grade: A-

FINAL THOUGHTS Rush was an unexpected pleasant surprise. Given the sports stature of F1 in the U.S., I didn't have much expectations but Ron Howard usually delivers and he does once again. The cinematography is gorgeous and makes it visually very exciting. The performances are stand outs which makes the story feel so alive in many places.

Overall Grade: A
68 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly Great movie!!
ishan_vadera9 September 2013
RUSH is such an enthralling movie!! Amazing direction by Ron Howard, strong performances by Chris Hemsworth and Daniel Bruhl (he exactly sounded like Niki Lauda). Hanz Zimmer is the man for scoring this movie. The movie is not about the sport, it's about the hateful and envious relationship between two rivals the whole world knows about. I did not expect this movie to surprise me so much as it did, the drama was invigorating and exciting at the same time. It was such an honor to meet Niki Lauda who flew himself specially from Monza, Italy for the premier at TIFF. Such an amazing night.

The movie is based on the rivalry of Britain's McLaren F1 driver James Hunt and Austrian driver Niki Lauda who represented Ferrari at the time. Great men!
77 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Criminally Underrated and Extremely Involving
CANpatbuck36649 February 2019
Formula One racing isn't a sport that I watch regularly but I certainly respect it more than its competing leagues. The tracks are complex, the opportunities to pass are limited and the pit stops must be carefully timed. But this movie isn't current F1 racing, this movie largely takes place in the late 1960s till the mid 1970s where it was far more dangerous and that much more invigorating because of it. We get a classic storyline of two rivals with two very different styles, they had to respect each other due to the sheer magnificence of their driving.

There are so many things that I want to praise this movie for. I guess I'll start with how thrilling the world of 1970s Formula One is. The cinematography, the sound effects and the camera angles make this as close to a racing experience as you can imagine. I literally felt like I was in one of the cars racing and I haven't had a theatre experience like that in a while. It was like being on a roller coaster, I got caught up in the "Rush" so to speak. The racing sequences are exciting, and the movie does a great job reminding you of how dangerous the sport is. One of the taglines for the film is "more powerful than the fear of death is the will to win" I couldn't agree more. People are decapitated, ripped apart, cars burst into flames, this is not a sport for the weak hearted. The movie is involving, white-knuckle tense and I couldn't turn away for even a moment.

Perhaps the biggest credit to Rush is how balanced and even the story is between the two main characters. Neither man is a hero, they both are arrogant jerks who are only interested in their own success. Lauda is cold, calculating, pompous but he has the wit and the skill to back up his big talk. Hunt on the other hand is like the handsome jock you knew in school. He is just as cocky, determined and unlikeable as Lauda but has the drive to win and the silver tongue to gain acceptance from the racing community. The movie does a great job showing you the virtues and faults of both men and amazingly enough you want both to come out on top. A good comparison on how well layered and how well balanced the characters are would be Warrior, another favourite of mine. It's a feat in storytelling and they pull it off perfectly here.

The acting in the movie is superb to say the least. Both leading actors give excellent nuanced performances that would be worthy of Oscar consideration. Chris Hemsworth seems like a logical choice for the charismatic and determined Hunt. Detractors from this movie claim that it's another typical Hemsworth performance, but I was really surprised with how effective he was at portraying the gauntlet of emotions that Hunt goes through. He has a ton of natural screen presence, but this movie shows he's got real leading man skills (outside of Thor) If I was forced to pick between them though, I would credit Daniel Bruhl with the best performance. I've only seen him in Inglorious Basterds but in this movie he does a flawless accent and has so many levels to his acting job as Lauda. You believe he is Lauda and he's just so wonderfully unlikeable, I would give him the Best Supporting Actor Oscar. Lauda is a complex man with a strict code and due to Bruhlh's performance he's captivating.

I've talked about the dual leads enough but another pleasant surprise about this movie is that it features some strong female characters. Olivia Wilde is only in the movie for a short period of time but she's good. Olivia is more known for her amazing good looks but she's a better actress than she's given credit for and has done some good work (House, Deadfall etc.). She's talented and she makes the most of her screen time. I also really enjoyed the performance of Alexandra Maria Lara as Marlene who is the woman who eventually marries Niki. She's feisty and she's a good match for Niki. She's strong, beautiful and she plays a critical role in shaping where Niki heads in the course of the movie. With a cast that lacks proven Oscar contenders, the acting is Oscar calibre and is one more firing piston in the proverbial engine that is this movie.

Much like any classic, the movie runs the gauntlet of emotions so well. This movie was sold to audiences through the trailers as an action/sports movie but it's more of a drama with some solid action scenes in it. I've gone on about how much it involves the audience in its plot but what I haven't mentioned is how tense and thrilling the end is. Its lean back in your seat and hold your breath type nerve wracking. The movie has its comedic moments as well, largely thanks to Hemsworth's charm and timing. The movie touches all the bases, making you want to cheer your favourite racer when they cross the finish line first and then drop your jaw in awe when they risk it all, almost killing themselves in the process.

Rush had all the action you could want but turned out to be a superbly crafted drama. It's a beautiful movie with some Oscar calibre acting and wonderfully stylish moments. It's my favourite movie of 2013 and it's one of the bigger pleasant surprises I've ever seen in a theatre. I'm giving Rush a 9.5/10 rounding up to a 10/10.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A dazzling story of F1, rivalry, respect & cheating death.
TheSquiss5 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Those who have seen the trailer will know that Rush is the 'Formula 1 film'. The presence of Ron Howard's and Chris Hemsworth's names above the title may put some bums on seats but the fact of it being a film about motor racing will undoubtedly ostracize some potential viewers.

So stop right there. Rush is not a movie about motor racing for speed fans any more than Titanic was about sailing for merchant seamen. Rush is a superbly shot, directed, edited and performed film that transcends the sport of motor racing, just as the principal protagonists themselves did almost forty years ago.

The rivalry between F1 drivers James Hunt (Hemsworth) and Niki Lauda (Daniel Brühl) is common knowledge. Just a couple of minutes trawling through Google's gifts will tell you how many championships each driver won, how they met, how they sparred, how they lived and (nearly) died… Rush isn't a film that tells you their story. Rush is the film that takes you into their world and shows you how that story unfolded in all its fast, crazy, riotous, dazzling, cynical, brash excess. By the end you may still not want to be an F1 driver or even watch a grand prix, but you sure as hell will wish you could have been there for at least some of the 70s.

Howard has provided us with a mixed bag of films over the years with schmaltzy, flicks (A Beautiful Mind), thoughtful biopics (Frost/Nixon), compelling dramas (Apollo 13) and utter twaddle (Angels and Demons). So which category would Rush fall into? The tension Howard creates is ridiculous. Pistons pump, colours blur, the scream of engines deafen us. The editing is so tight it feels as though something will snap. The anticipation prickles the skin and, though we already know what and when, it is almost too much for us to watch it unfold. Technically, Rush verges on exquisite. The digital creation blends flawlessly with the live action and the skids, tumbles, crashes and explosions are horrifying.

But it isn't just with the speed and madness around the track where Howard guides perfectly. The hospital scenes when Lauda is treated are almost grotesque. We find ourselves shying away from the visuals, involuntarily grimacing at Lauda's agony even when he demands more pain in order to drive him towards recovery and revenge.

Rush boasts one of the finest film scores of the year so far with Hans Zimmer proving why he is among the busiest composers in Hollywood. It's not that the score that makes the film, but it enhances it beautifully, adding emotional colour to the startling visuals to magnify the tension.

The joint leads are on impeccable form. Hemsworth portrays Hunt as the playboy we wish we could be (or bed) and his charisma doesn't ooze, it gushes. He is arrogant, cocksure, charming and handsome. He makes it obvious why men wanted Hunt's life and so many women welcomed him into theirs. It is a confident, full performance from Hemsworth that marks him out yet again as an actor with a certain chameleon-like quality and undeniable star power. Immediately we like Hunt but as 123 minutes rush by, he evolves into a flawed man we admire but ultimately decide we don't really want to be and, in some ways, pity. It's a fine performance that engages us on every level.

When Brühl's (The Edukators, Inglorious Basterds) Lauda strides onto the screen, it is with purpose, his Austrian directness and confidence taken as conceit and arrogance. He does not suffer fools (or almost anyone else) whether they are subordinates, rivals or the men paying for his drive. Supremely confident to the exclusion of social niceties, the Lauda we observe puts our backs up immediately but, just as the Hunt on screen evolves, so, too, does Lauda and by the film's end our allegiance has wavered. It is a sensitive performance from Brühl and his understanding of the man he portrays and clear admiration for him infects us thoroughly.

Some of the dialogue is lumpy, there are numerous liberties taken with the truth (though not to the extent that U571 completely rewrote history!) and much is glossed over. Howard has perhaps tried too hard to appeal to a mass audience by focusing on the principal women in the drivers' lives, notably Hunt's wife, Suzy (Olivia Wilde) and Brühl's, Marlene (Alexandra Maria Lara). In Marlene's case, she is relatively impactful on her husband's life, suffering through his accident with him. In Suzy's case, however, though she was influential on a period of Hunt's career, it is difficult to see her as anything other than a bystander in his life and yet Howard sees fit to return to her though she is far from his thoughts.

These are minor quibbles that make Rush a very good film instead of a 'great'. Nevertheless, my companion for the film who has no interest in motor racing and less knowledge gave a simple summary: "Excellent."

Me? I'm a fair weather F1 fan. If there is a realistic hope of Button, Hamilton and Di Resta winning or there's been enough hype, I'm there. Otherwise it's Formula what? But, as I wrote, Rush transcends the sport. I was gripped throughout, I gritted my teeth, I gasped, clenched my buttocks and willed the drivers to the finish, on the track, in the hospital and in life.

For more reviews from The Squiss, subscribe to my blog and like the Facebook page.
29 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More than just a film about cars.
Winduct25 September 2013
''Rush'' is a very good film about the rivalry between two Formula 1 race car drivers and their lives behind it. Directed by Ron Howard, the film is a triumph concerning action sequences, film editing and sound. Despite it being a sports film about racing, ''Rush'' never fails to develop its characters, its story and its suspense thus delivering a deeply satisfying conclusion.

Beginning with the film's performances, one would expect to see little character development, acting and emotion but a whole lot of action. However, this is not the case. The film's performances are very good. Daniel Brühl gives an outstanding performance as Austrian Niki Lauda: from the character's personality, body movement, expressions and emotions to his speaking accent, Brühl manages to handle it more than well and deliver a very authentic and powerful performance. From his first appearance in the film, he stays a very powerful figure throughout the film and very memorable after it. He realizes the character's motives and feelings which enables him to fully portray his character. Despite his performances in films such as ''Thor'', ''Red Dawn'' and ''The Cabin in the Woods'', Chris Hemsworth gives a decent enough performance as James Hunt. He is far from outstanding but he portrays his character as he should be, never overacting nor underplaying his character, thus delivering a satisfying and believable performance as a race car driver. The rest of the cast doesn't have much screen time since the film mainly focuses on the two protagonists but their acting does not disappoint.

The film's exhilarating action sequences are probably the main reason people will go to see it and they will not be disappointed. With rapid but smooth editing, the renowned film editing duo (Daniel P. Hanley, Mike Hill) manages to ''tell'' the story rather clearly rather than just smothering it under its heavy action scenes. Other technical aspects such as sound editing, sound mixing and cinematography are superb. Sound, especially, plays a very important role in the film and luckily, the sound is clear, realistic and not bombastic as most Hollywood action films. The racing sequences are superb: we see them from every angle possible, never confusing nor annoying the viewer with their rapid cuts, instead keeping the viewer interested (especially during the final climatic race). As for the score, Hans Zimmer's fast paced music adds nicely to the film's racing sequences, turning the suspense meter way up without distracting the viewer. As with most of Zimmer's works, the film's score is very epic and memorable which captures the film's action.

What works very well in the film is the fact that it's not just a film full or car explosions, racing and trophies but a film which tells the story of two people who succeeded in the race tracks, a film which doesn't drown its characters under its impressive action sequences but allows them to breath.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Motor Racing Film Ever!!!!
davidyoung-id4 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I like the film Rush as it's about two Formula 1 drivers and they are called Niki Lauda and James Hunt who were both fighting for the World Championship in 1976.

The best part of the film that I like is when Niki Lauda has a fiery crash at the Nürburgring in Germany as it was raining at the time of his crash and he had to be taken to hospital for his injuries to his face as it was upsetting to watch when he was get surgery done to his face.

I think that this film is better than the Senna film because it's more realistic and upsetting.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Daniel Bruhl even beats Oscar bound Leonardo
RichardvonLust20 January 2014
Niki Lauder is among the most well known personalities in the history of Formula One. Even today millions of Germans watch his TV presentation at every race. We know his manner and speech extremely well and any actor portraying him faces an uphill if not impossible task.

But Daniel Bruhl delivers a performance so wonderfully convincing in his faithful and profound portrayal that he should clearly be among the Oscar nominees for Best Actor. The story of Lauda's famous struggle with Hunt in 1976 has become the stuff of legends. And perhaps this production has used some artistic license to enhance them.

But the film isn't really about the thrilling story of those events. That's just the vehicle for a much deeper drama examining the ever relevant dialectic between hedonism and pragmatism. It's about the self beneath the skin rather than the glamor of the surface: a concept normally quite alien to the Oscar awarding Hollywood elite. So poor Daniel Bruhl must await another vehicle to display his superb talents. And one day he might be remembered internationally in his career as Niki was himself.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Couldn't get much Louda.
Quietb-12 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
On of the best Grand Prix movies ever made.

RUSH is a testosterone race fest. Ron Howard deserves credit for taking a redundant series of races and making them interesting and watchable.

Good performances all around. The movie is elevated by an outstanding Hans Zimmer score. Excellent cinematography and ear pounding sound of engines put the viewer in the action.

The hospital scenes are a bit tough for the faint of heart. The quiet face to face scene at the end between the competitors takes the movie to a higher level.

This one should be seen and heard on a big screen.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
F1 fan or not, You will Love this movie!!!
Four_Door_Cinema_Club16 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
i just saw this movie a few days ago at a special advanced screening. as and avid F1 fan myself i loved it. this review might contain Spoiloers depending on how much you want to know about the movie. i don't give many movies a 10/10 but this one got it. overall a superb movie, this is Hollywood's first attempt at telling and showing F1 on the big screen and they nailed it. yes there were a few things they could have done better but not everything is perfect.

When you hear those V12 engines start up in the opening scene, you get that Rush of testosterone in the pit of your stomach because of the sheer ferociousness of the sound in the theater. from that point on you are hooked. even if your not an F1 fan that scene will make you want more. every girl i talked to about the movie said they were seeing it for Hemsworth, and after the movie they were in awe about the awesomeness of Formula 1 and what it takes to succeed in the sport. from then on the movie moves at a good pace. as an F1 fan i wish there were a few more race scenes, but it is a Hollywood movie not a documentary so they have to appeal to everyone. the plot and the way the present it was great. i wish they went a little more in depth on Lauda and Hunts backgrounds and also went more in depth on the supporting characters like andretti and regazzoni. but since they didn't do that it lead to a better look at the intense rivalry between lauda and hunt. the small amount of comedy that was in it was very funny, it was somewhat unexpected. the Cinematography is amazing. so many different shots throughout the car and driver as an audience you feel like your right there with them, and as an F1 fan you get all the shots you expect and more. you also get a very good sense of the 1970s era, it feels like a movie made in the 70s with modern quality. some parts look gritty like they used 35mm film.

overall i think this is one of, if not the best movie I've ever seen. i saw it 4 days ago and i cant stop thinking and replaying scenes from the movie in my head. i cannot wait for it to come out on blu ray. obviously go see it if your an F1 fan, but even if you aren't i guarantee you will like it. take your girlfriend or sister or mom to go see it and they will enjoy it no matter what. and you definitely wont be bored, it kept me on the edge of my seat the entire movie. not one person left the theater once it started.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very close to cinematic perfection
In my world it is impossible to achieve a 10 out of 10. It does not exist.

That is the only reason Rush gets 9 points from me.

The last 10min of this film are as close to cinematic perfection as I have seen.

The story, the score, the cinematography all reach a beautiful climax.

I would urge anyone to watch this film, even if they are not Formula One fans.

The casting is absolutely brilliant if you compare the actors with the people they are based on.

The acting is also great, with Daniel Bruehl picking up on small traits of his character that make him even more believable.

"Everyone needs an enemy in life" Someone to bust his balls and push him further.

The themes in the story are about working hard and never giving up.

But also about enjoying life after having worked hard.

There is no antagonist in this story, only two equally great but very different protagonists and the audience has to decide who they identify with more.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What's This? A Ron Howard Movie That Isn't Intolerable?
evanston_dad8 May 2014
I never thought I would ever watch a Ron Howard movie again much less write a good review of one.

Howard hasn't made a movie since "Parenthood" that has not bored me to tears and almost angered me with its pedestrian refusal to take any risks. He's turned into a lesser version of Steven Spielberg -- his films are just as maudlin and emotionally manipulative, but they lack Spielberg's technical panache.

However, the great reviews of "Rush" and the awards attention that swirled briefly around Daniel Bruhl got my butt in the seat for it, and I was surprised by actually liking it. It's a lean, mean telling of the intense rivalry between race car drivers James Hunt and Niki Lauda. You don't need to care much about race car driving (I certainly don't) to enjoy the story, particularly that of Lauda, who overcame a devastating accident to return to the track. Bruhl is as good as everyone said he was at the time, and Chris Hemsworth, as Hunt, is serviceable if nothing special. This is still a Ron Howard film, so don't expect it to push any boundaries, but it's much more technically daring than anything else he's made, the cinematography and editing putting the audience in the driver's seat more than once.

Grade: A-
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Precision craftsmanship
Bob-4516 February 2014
When my wife and I first saw the US trailer for "Rush," my wife asked me, "Do you want to see it?" "Well, it IS a 'racing movie," I replied. I have mixed emotions about NOT watching the international trailer, before watching "Rush," because I would certainly have held much higher expectations. First and foremost, "Rush" is NOT about Chris Hemsworth's pecs; nor, for that matter, is it that much about about Chris Hemworth's character, James Hunt. "Rush" is about two extraordinary men's visions of life and their approaches to racing; and, it is viewed from James Hunt's most famous challenger, Nicki Lauder. Lauder is a technocrat; a man who, at least, appears to "know the price of everything and the value of nothing." Hunt is free spirit; one of simultaneously knows the value of everything and nothing. Hunt and Lauder are presented in much the same manner as the two main characters of "Lonesome Dove". Like, "Lonesome Dove," "Rush" is majestic in its presentation of these two lives. "Rush" is poetic in its presentation, absolute precision,from its score, to its cinematography, to its performances to the most both memorable and appropriate score I have heard since "The Good, The Bad & The Ugly".

If you have not seen "Rush," watch the international trailer, available on YouTube. This trailer is the perfect encapsulation of the movie. If you still are not interested, don't bother. However, I hope you are as impressed as I with my favorite film of 2013.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Rush" Review
TheConnoisseurReviews29 September 2013
"Rush" is one of the best films of the year. I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of depth and emotional story telling this film possess. From its brilliant script that infuses humor, drama, and a story about a fascinating rivalry to its impeccable and detailed oriented direction, this film succeeds on every level.

Ron Howard's direction is extremely noteworthy as I felt like a part of the journey and involved with the characters as I cheered them on. In the beginning, I was rooting for James, but as the movie progresses and things unravel, I was cheering for Niki. However, as the movie moves forward, I couldn't choose one over the other. This is the type of engagement that I love in movies, it keeps the audience involved and contently thinking about every situation and the characters as a whole.

This film is well edited and shot as well. I couldn't find a useless or uninteresting moment in this film. Everything flowed very well and the film moved at a brisk pace. It felt as every shot or sequence is catered to moving and developing the characters and their story forward. The racing sequences are well shot and make you feel a part of the race. My heart rushed when characters successfully made narrow life endangering turns. It is a really good film to look at as the scenery and environment crafted feels inviting and absorbing.

The cast in this film is superb. Chris Hemsworth gives his finest performance to date as a carefree playboy. Even though his character James Hunt doesn't appear serious, he struggles with his inner demons trying to be taken a bit more seriously. Daniel Bruhl also gives and equally impressive, if not better, performance as Niki Lauda an arrogant self-absorbent racer. It's interesting to see his character go from caring only about himself and racing to something more important. The greatest aspect of the characters are their interactions. I really enjoy how they can't stand each other, but can't be successful without each other either. While they hate one another, they find a mutual respect for the other. It's quite endearing to see how they have each others back off the tracks.

Overall, "Rush" is an amazing movie and totally worth your time. It's a movie that has everything, from drama to humor to love. The greatest aspect of the film is its truly brilliant and masterful score by Hans Zimmer. His score gives the right amount of emotional punch along with improving everything we see and giving the film a greater amount of importance. I give this film an extremely high 4.5/5, a well oiled film that has no wasted parts.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ron Howard shows what he does best
freemantle_uk21 September 2013
The true story of the rivalry between F1 drivers James Hunt and Niki Lauda and the 1976 Formula One season is one of those stories where true life is more extraordinary then fiction. Fortunately two men with great experience at adapting true life stories, Ron Howard and Peter Morgan, have taken this project on, giving us a movie that is about a clash of ideals and personalities as well as about the drive of motor sports.

James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth) and Niki Lauda (Daniel Brühl) are racing drivers with different approaches and philosophies whose rivalry starts in Formula Three racing. Hunt is a good looking playboy who enjoys drinking, partying and sex and has charisma to boot. Lauda is a serious minded, extremely determined, technically astute and is able to get the most out of a car, but is a cold, distant man who drives people away. Soon the men's rivalry see them battling it out in Formula One leading to the 1976 season where back-stabbing, danger and disaster affects the sport.

As a sports movie Rush is a very well made and entertaining film that focuses on its characters ideals and differences. Hemsworth and Brühl are in top form as they play these very different men. Lauda is a self- determined man who is willing to risk everything to get into F1, but easily rubs people the wrong way, whilst Hunt had a greater support network, media friendly but is a loose cannon. Both end up becoming each other's hubris as they take bigger risks in a sport that already dangerous.

As well as the focus of their profession, Rush looks at the personal lifestyles of the two drivers, particularly Hunt's as he womanizes as Lauda settles down with a woman. Hunt is a thrill seeker who uses pure talent whilst Lauda is aware of the risks of his profession, but does not want to add to them.

To anyone who knows about Niki Lauda is he suffers a tragedy and the easy route would have been to make Rocky style picture about someone overcoming adversity. Fortunately, Howard and Morgan made something more interesting by showing both men to be faulted, that Lauda is not a man who is easy to like, making personal digs against and being a very sore loser.

At a running of two hours, three minutes, Rush moves along at a very brisk pace. The first 40 to 45 minutes focuses on a six year period as the rivalry builds up. Many story elements are dealt with quickly. A great example of this is when Hunt meets model Suzy Miller (Olivia Wilde, who does an impressive English accent) in the team garages and the next scene is them getting married. Rush is a movie that tackles many story elements with broad brushstrokes. It does seem like a longer cut may exist.

Even though the film is called Rush, Howard and Morgan build up to the racing segments. We get a F3 race near the beginning and then we have a long wait the F1 races. Howard and Morgan focus on three main races in the 1976 season, Nürburgring, Germany, Monza, Italy and Fuji, Japan. Howard shows his technical acumen with the racing sequences, as we get up close to the action on screen with camera being place many on the parts of the cars, in the driving seat and even in the engine and in the air gun during a tyre change. There are intense, exciting sequences as Howard uses stylistic flashes and slo-mo as we see how dangerous races were in the 70s. Morgan also uses a similar montage trick he used in The Damned United to quickly build a picture of the '76 season with Howard using title cards to the sequence a bit of flash.

The story about James Hunt or Niki Lauda could have made for a compelling movie on their own terms, but Howard and Morgan give us two films in one. Rush is a very well-made, engaging and compelling sports flick that is character driven and is about the build-up as well as the racing.

Please visit www.entertainmentfuse.com
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
And the award for "Best Cinematography" goes to...
hardrockhess28 September 2013
When I was a child, I used to walk out of movies all the time with chills and a sense of awe and wonder, thinking that was the best movie I had ever seen. However, that's because I WAS a child and at the time, any movie was automatically on that list.

It has been a LONG time since I had that feeling. Usually, I now walk out of the theater saying "Yeah, that was a great movie, but it's not one of the best I have ever seen."

"RUSH" was different. When I walked out of that movie, I had those chills and that sense of awe and wonder again. Not only did that movie have me at the edge of my seat at every turn like a good racing movie should, but I can safely say that that movie had the best cinematography that I have ever seen in any film. More often than not, I was sitting there thinking "Holy s**t, how did they get a shot like that??" To this day, when I think about that movie, I still ask myself that question. I would not be surprised in the least if this movie wins the Academy Award for Best Cinematography.
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed