Gran Hotel (TV Series 2011–2013) Poster

(2011–2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
74 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
So Delicious and Addictive.
heather-190-36477919 December 2014
OK, all of you fans of Downton Abbey, I have found an even better show: "Gran Hotel" http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2006421/ It is so addictive and wonderful you forget you are reading subtitles and begin craving each new episode. Yon González is the sexy Spanish young Matt Dillon. Llorenç González is the Spanish Jake Gyllenhaal. I just love everyone in this show. The connection between the leads is palpable and I am always lost in their dilemma. This may be my favorite series ever! I get it, the Spanish win the telenovela.

I just saw the first two seasons on Netflix and am craving the third. Please say there is an ending!
46 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow! Highly recommended!
jerryjeff19 July 2014
This is one addictive show! It grabs you from the start, thanks in particular to the charismatic leads, Amaia Salamanca, who plays Alicia and Yon González, who plays Julio. The other actors are also compelling and excellent; the location, a beautiful old Spanish estate on the water, is glorious; the costumes are a delight; the scenes of old Spanish towns, with cobblestone streets and lanes lighted by torches, are wonderfully atmospheric! The plot swings from some truly touching moments to flights of operatic grandeur but it is the love story of Julio and Alicia that keeps the whole thing grounded and keeps you glued to the screen. Awesome!

Watched this on Netflix and am waiting breathlessly for them to add Season 3 so I can see the resolution of the plot!
43 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best series I have ever watched.
georgepap12343 January 2015
Gran Hotel is an amazing TV show, that contains all the right elements in perfect balance: Mystery, drama and comedy. I have concluded watching all the episodes, and I was impressed by the fast pace of the most of the original 75-min episodes. The pilot episode can make even the most demanding viewer addicted. I had never watched a Spanish TV show, and I decided to give it a try. And I was instantly hooked, I remember my face when the first episode finished. I was amazed. The script is fantastic, the most characters on the show are unique and unforgettable, the actors that are playing them are top, the costumes are well made and the mysterious scenery is breathtaking! The direction is exactly what this series needs. As many of the viewers, I thought that Gran Hotel would be an imitation of the Downton Abbey. I'm glad I was wrong, it is one hundred times better. If you have the chance, simply watch the first episode. I guarantee that you will not move your eyes from TV!
28 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Everything you never knew you wanted in a tv show
marielledeheij26 August 2018
Rewatched this show numerous times and it gets me every time. The setting of the show (early 1900's), the clothes, a forbidden romance and no character without a secret or two. It all fits together somehow and makes me want to watch another episode and another and another. And each episode ending with a major cliffhanger doesn't help either! The two main characters, Alicia and Julio, forbidden love is the main story of the show and the chemistry beteren them is obvious. The actors are well-casted and really convinced me of the story they're telling
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great journey, but disappointing arrival
boldsirbrian9 August 2014
Fun Spanish series, which owes quite a lot to "Downton Abbey". Great villains (almost everyone is morally dubious at some point), interesting characters and a nicely twisty plot line, with emotion, suspense and humor all mixed in. With slight reservations over to the number of people who found themselves lurking in exactly the right place at the right time and the fact that the hero never actually seemed to do any work, we really enjoyed the whole thing....until the last 5 minutes of the last episode which were (a) inexplicable (b) unexplained and (c) a real letdown. However, don't let this detract from the other 30 odd hours of entertainment. Thoroughly enjoyable and borderline addictive.
25 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fabuloso and nothing is addictive as this beauty!
Mary4448 September 2014
THE best series I've seen in a long time. Gran Hotel just DRIPS in passion, mystery, clever twists, dreamy costuming, authentic stagecraft, and a music score unparalleled in current television. It's Downton Abby and Upstairs, Downstairs on steroids, with brilliant cleverness! The ruthlessness of the family and insiders rivals The Tudors and Deadwood, but no sex (YAY), no cussing (YAY), no violence except occasional slapping and bullet-holes (YAY, no graphic violence), and no CGI (YAY). And all of this is wrapped in an amazingly-tight script with the talented actors rapid=firing Spanish to one another while we, as viewers, are stunned at the beautiful actors, underlying mystery, clever twists, dreamy costumes (impeccable linen, silk, cotton, and wool!), gorgeous outdoor/indoor scenes, heart-throbbing music, and engaging acting! Season 1 and 2 come with subtitles so turn them on and ENJOY! BONUS: Spanish language lessons for those of us who might remember third-year Spanish. Lo siento, de nada, pero, por favor give us more!! Just dreamy!
37 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love, love loved it!
missymill3 March 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I'm not one to give top ratings easily, but with Gran Hotel, I couldn't help it!

That's not to say that the series doesn't ever have little things that make you say, "Huh?" It's important to suspend your logical side and just GO with it! Yes, it's odd that clothing changes are done too quickly, characters show up just in the nick of time, people don't realize they're being followed and, does Julio ever actually WORK? Also, the characters are not perfect. Of the main characters (at the hotel,) the only one I can think of that had a spotless character to my view was Alfredo for the Netflix episodes.

The reason I still think this is worth 10 stars is that I have never before been so obsessed and intrigued by a show. There's the cinematography, the gorgeous costumes, top-notch acting, the music, and the humor. I can't stop watching - to the point that when I finally found the final episodes in Spanish - with no subtitles - I watched and enjoyed them without understanding a word!

Gran Hotel is a romantic trip back in time and and to a beautiful location - well worth the "trip!"
17 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
excellent drama
jamaud19 March 2014
An excellent drama, full of romance, murder, mystery and mayhem. Although some suspension of disbelief is required for some parts (eg following people and not being seen), it is well written and acted enough that it does not impact and I am truly hooked. It is compelling and one of the best things on TV at present. To say it is the Spanish Downton abbey does it a disservice, as this is so much imore with all the intrigue involved.

At present I am part-way through season 2 and I will be very sad if it ends after season 3. That said, if it were to continue it might lose something as it could be difficult to stretch the story further.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT show, but don't count on ever seeing the concluding episodes
jenifer-1523 July 2014
Addictive indeed! The kind of series that lends itself to binge-watching. I fell in love with the hotel, the characters, the actors (Von Gonzalez, where have you been all my life?) and the twists and turns of the storyline.

Unfortunately, we are left hanging at the close of season 2, with no resolution in sight. According to a post I found at Sky Arts, the season 2 'finale' was actually episode 8 of season 3. Apparently that's why season 2 had so many episodes. So when, where, how will we ever get to see the concluding episodes? That is anyone's guess. I've searched the internet far and wide for an answer and come up empty. :(
23 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
If you love the BBC period drama you will love this!
jennifer-weterings6 July 2014
Out of curiosity I watched an episode on Netfilx and immediately fell in love with the series. The cinematography, acting, costume, location all was most beautifully and convincingly done. The story line is wonderful, and the sexual tension and connection between the romantic leads just draws you in. Some of the story lines carried on a bit (there are a Lot of episodes) and I felt that they sometimes took a turn that was too much out of character, It's wonderfully cast and there is a new standard for portraying simmering evil! the leading couple stayed magnetic and now can't wait for the final season 3! A beautiful period piece.
20 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Move Over Downton Abbey!
lilly-benavides18 October 2014
Gran Hotel has it all; gorgeous historical drama, romance, mystery, intrigue, even a serial killer. Yes, it's a bit over the top but I couldn't get enough and wish there was more. I am Spanish so speak the language but since I was born here I often needed to refer to the subtitles which was a bit annoying because I didn't want to tear my eyes away from the action. So, I understand the hesitance to watch a subtitled show but it is worth it! If you love shows like Downton Abbey or The Paradise, Watch the first episode of Gran Hotel and you will be hooked...ENJOY! P.S. This is a show made in Spain, not to be confused with "The Grand" which was a very good British variation, but not as good as "Gran Hotel".
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A pleasure to watch!
kiwes811 August 2014
It is rather refreshing to see that good taste has not gone down the toilet drain where many recent series (Banshee comes to mind) should have never emerged from. This series is a pleasure to watch. Everything about it is simply charming, captivating. The plot, the characters, the directing and the acting, the location, the costumes, you name it. Adriana Ozores' vocalization is so good that many times the English subtitles are not needed. Concha Velasco and Lluis Homar complete the luxury triad of top veteran leading actors. Their younger counterparts also deliver convincing and elegant acting. All in all, the series feels more British than Spanish and one can find elements from Downton Abbey, Ripper Street and even Harry Potter. I've only just watched S1E1 but look forward to the many more episodes to come. Highly recommendable.
21 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Couldn't stop at just one episode.
iammelba27 June 2018
This show is sooooooo addicting. The twists and turns throughout every single episode leaves you sitting on the edge of your seat. The show is so riveting that you forget you're reading subtitles. And just when I thought I had every character figured out, another twist happens.

I enjoyed this series so much that I just may go back and watch it all again.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thanks for keeping me up night after night!
sdiazsons24 June 2018
A great cast of beautiful and talented actors; gorgeous costumes; gripping story line; and a fine eye for details on the props and scenery.

I loved every minute of this series with its twists and turns; tragedy and humor. Detective Ayala had me cracking up with his dry wit and sarcasm.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love Gran Hotel
dalebermanphoto7 May 2018
My local PBS station KCET here in Los Angeles started showing the Gran Hotel series a few months ago on Sunday nights. The show is a Spanish production and is in subtitles. KCET showed a Danish show called Borgen that was in subtitles a few years ago and that was a wonderful show too so I gave Gran Hotel a look see when the first episode was broadcasted. The story line writing, acting, directing, camera work & lighting, art direction and period styling is top notch in Gran Hotel. This kind of show could has been an HBO series if it was filmed here in America. It is better than any current American network TV series. The only issue is you have to watch from the beginning to understand the characters and their personalities. Each week there are new twists and plot lines which keeps the viewer wanting to see the next upcoming episode. So far I plan my Sunday nights around this show. I guess if I miss a show I could watch it on Netflix and I could binge watch but for now I like looking forward to my Sunday night TV watching. I give my review of Gran Hotel a top score and I highly recommend this show.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best series ever for me
ivanakarasova28 January 2018
Just finished Grand Hotel series on Netflix - binge watching for a few weeks- stayed up to late night just to see as much possible episodes as I could and I cant get over it - will miss many characters- I just fell in love with many of them , had laugh on some humorous situation although they were supposed to be serious but the way actors were portrayed them were brilliant - I cant name just one character particularly as I love equally all of them except of bad ones on the other hand admired their acting. Its just one amazing journey of mysterious, romantic and historic story through the lives of each characters and you just cant find another series who can beat that one - personally for me the best ever I have seen - probably will watch it second time :).
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bravo!
rosirisub5 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I felt like going back to 1900 while watching the show. One of the best I've ever seen. The acting was flawless. Thanks to Amaia Salamanca and Yon Gonzalez,such a great couple-on-scene. Concha Velasco kills it. If you're looking for something new, out of the routine of cliché love-drama story I think this is one of the best you can get. I like the fact that they didn't play it out around one thing which makes the show interesting, not-boring and addictive. The way they made out the stage is just awesome. All the mystery involved, the love triangle between Diego, Alicia and Julio is too involving.

I love the fact that neither Diego or Julio are the type of prince charming or Jafar. They are just guys in love, each one on their own way. Alicia is neither the princess who gets everything good in her life; she has to pass through a lot to finally taste a bit of happiness. She risking everything to help Julio without knowing him at all since the beginning, the determination to solve the mystery behind her father's death, how she fights for being free to be and love who she wants to just makes her perfect. I already finished the show and 2 years later they got me wanting for more. Bravo!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best series I've ever seen.
derstevenhenning10 July 2019
This series is one of the best series I've ever seen. It is a pity that the series hast "only" 3 seasons. After all, the series has a completed end. Very good performance from all of them. Nice set an very detailed
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A little bit of everything
manoilmarv21 September 2014
Alicia, Julio, Teresa, Diego, Andres, Angela, Sofia, Alfredo, Inspector Ayala--these are some of the characters that will grab your attention, and hold it for the 42 episodes that are on Netflix. The Spanish subtitled series is filled with mystery, intrigue, suspense, and romance. The episodes take place in the early 20th century, at the luxurious "Gran Hotel", where the lives of the owners and employees are cleverly interwoven. The soap-opera style series is filled with overheard conversations that provoke suspicions and actions that make each 45 minute episode move quickly, and often end with a cliff-hanger, tempting you to quickly move on to the next one. There are so many coincidental overheard conversations, as the characters move through the corridors of the hotel, that you recognize the writers' tongue-in-cheek humor that is cleverly inserted, which makes for some lighter moments in the drama. Excellent acting, great period costumes, and interesting plot line will keep you involved with a great cast until the resounding finale. Watch them all--you'll love it
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fabulous Spanish series
blanche-223 December 2014
"Gran Hotel" is a Spanish series that has everything: sumptuous production values, engrossing story, and eye candy. It also has Spanish subtitles - after 42 episodes, I can practically speak Spanish like a native.

The story concerns a fancy hotel, which is the first to have electric lights -- we open on New Year's 1905, when there is a huge party that introduces the lights. Also, one of the maids is murdered. Very soon, her handsome brother appears, incognito, and takes a job in the hotel, determined to find out what happened to her.

He becomes involved in the machinations of this highly dysfunctional family, full of murder, blackmail, infidelity, power struggles, illegitimate children, betrayal, treachery, family secrets, reversal of fortunes -- in short, everything you need for a top soapy drama.

The acting is fantastic. Top honors go to Adriana Ozores as the manipulative Dona Teresa, matriarch of the family; Concha Velasco, as staff head (and much more) Angela; Llorenç González as her son, Andres; and Pedro Alonso as the ruthless Diego. Many others - I could not find the name of the police detective in the cast list, but he was wonderful. No one hits a bad note. The love interests, Amaia Salamanca and Yon Gonzalez, are gorgeous. She looks like Michelle Pfeiffer and he's a dreamboat. Salamanca is an excellent actress; I think Gonzalez is not as good, but then again, their roles are not as showy as others.

I only saw what is available on Netflix, but I understand there is a third season. I look forward to seeing it. Once you're involved with the Alarcon family, it's hard to break away.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome costume drama
cbrohi25 September 2014
I immediately got hooked on this show despite having to read all the dialog. I have binge-watched 5 episodes once. It is so great. The costumes, the backdrop are amazing. The location itself is a character. I am glad to know that there are more episodes not yet on Netflix because I was stunned by the last episode (#42) on the Netflix list.

Even if you think you don't like subtitled shows. I now see why Tele-novas are so popular. This is the best of a soap opera with the style of the very best costumed drama film. It begins in 1905 so you are treated to what Spain would have looked like in the early turn of the 20th century. The costumes are beautiful and the formality and rules between the staff and the owners of the hotel reminds you of the very best in British "upstairs/downstairs" way of life.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Gets Your Attention
jim-verdolini28 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Let me start by saying I must be one of the few women who don't usually watch soap operas, especially when they deal with the by-now-tiresome, antiquated, melodramatic theme of "love among the social classes." Having said that, I find this (1st season) of Gran Hotel extremely entertaining. It's a whodunit set in 1905 Spain. A young girl who works at the posh Gran Hotel is murdered. Her brother arrives to the place to find out what happened to her. That is the central theme. What I like about it is that it is very fast-paced. Definitely keeps your attention. The subplots only contribute to make the story more interesting.

The actors and actresses are very good in their roles. Adriana Ozores is terrific as Dona Teresa Alarcon, the ruthless matriarch who will do anything to keep the family business going. She finds her match in Diego (Pedro Alonso), her would-be son in law, who is just as ruthless and ambitious as she is. Amaia Salamanca is very good as Alicia Alarcon, Dona Teresa's beautiful younger daughter, a reluctant peon in her mother's scheming. Luz Valdenebro and Fele Martinez play Sofia Alarcon (Dona Teresa's eldest daughter) and her husband the Marques de Vergara, respectively. The two are eternally fighting Diego for Mother's favoritism and affection. They remind me of Gooper and Mae Pollitt, in Cat on A Hot Tin Roof. Pep Antonio Munoz is superb as Ayala, the Poirot-like detective, who is determined to do his job, and who remains stubbornly unimpressed by the peremptory airs of the high and mighty.

And then there's Julio Olmedo, played rather woodenly by Yon Gonzalez (more of a Pretty Boy with Funny Hair, than anything else). He is the murdered girl's brother, intent on finding out the truth about his sister's death. Yes, what happened to his sister is tragic and awful, but unfortunately, that is not enough to make him likable. The reason why I cannot entirely sympathize with him is that he is so bloody selfish. He does not hesitate to steal the job at the Gran Hotel from another poor man, who traveled a long way (at his own expense), and had the legal papers to fill the job. He takes outrageous advantage of his friend, the saintly Andres, even though it means putting said friend's job on the line every time. He is of course Alicia's love interest. But he's not exactly my idea of a Romeo. He practically forces Alicia to renounce to her family (much as she might not like them), her way of life, everything she has, and elope with him (unemployed and high on the police's wanted list), and when Alicia gives in, he goes, "Sorry, old girl. Another clue came up and I must continue my investigations. Love will have to wait." What a guy! Now how can any self-respecting woman resist such devotion(sarcasm mode off)? I guess that is considered "romance." Well I was never one to confuse love with stupidity. Then again I've always been an impenitent cynic.

Anyway, I don't want to give too much of the plot away, so let me just say that I fully recommend this interesting series. Chekhov it ain't. Instead, it's a great deal of fun.
10 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
SO ADDICTIVE!!!
kanchanaabil16 August 2018
This is the first foreign language series i watched and was totally hooked from the very first episode.If you thought Downton Abbey was good would you beleive if i tell you that this is way better!The series is loaded with lots of drama and mystery and is so addictive.Pity there are only three seasons.Definitely one to watch!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Moves like un tren de carga rápido!
Michael_Linder28 March 2018
The forty-four reviews preceding mine have taken the air from most of what I could offer in praise of this extraordinary series. But as a producer, I've never before seen an episodic -- especially a period costume drama -- that moves at such a wonderfully ferocious pace with a superlative cast that rises to the challenge with skill and dexterity.

Executive Producers Ramón Campos and Teres Fernández-Valdés, and Bambú Producciones' directors, have redefined both a genre and the art of the arc. They have created an industry game-changer by packing each episode with an unprecedented number of plot twists that supercharge their storyline. There's an undeniable hint of telenovela here, but Gran Hotel has built on its roots to create exceptional television that's perfect for these times.

Time for TV storytellers everywhere to despierta y huele las rosas!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Enjoyable
vivbish-1754626 February 2017
Loved watching this series. The subtitles were sometimes rather amusingly bad. The fascination for me was in the Spanish language , the characters were well-portrayed and actors did their best with script. The story line though - what a joke. It just got worse and worse, until it stretched any credulity at all. Mills and Boon on the screen. If that's what you enjoy reading then you will greatly enjoy the series. Otherwise its a good way to enjoy learning Spanish.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed