Still Mine (2012) Poster

(2012)

User Reviews

Review this title
46 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A heartwarming, brilliant story of a couple's journey into later life!
michael-335-14159427 January 2013
I was shocked to see the low rating this film has received here. It is a brilliant flick that left everyone in the packed audience on the verge of tears. The film, based on a true story, is a about a man who sets to building a home that is suitable for his wife with early signs of dementia. An independent sort, he mills his own lumber and builds the home to the exacting standards he learned from his father. He soon runs afoul of the county building inspector. The sterling performance of James Cromwell is one that will echo with you for weeks after viewing. Bujold's disjointed performance perfectly captures the supreme loss of dementia, a silent invader that steals the self. Not in any way smarmy but perhaps suited to an older viewer.
49 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
superb movie made with sensitivity
cjjay200025 June 2013
what a pleasure it was to view this movie. i picked it as the best of a bad bunch to go and see on a rainy day. what a great and pleasant surprise to sit through such a thoughtful and well made movie. a brilliant script delivered by two great lead actors who were supported by a very strong cast. it is such a long time that i have been moved to tears by a performance and an even longer time that i have found a movie to be totally believable due to the actors work.

the simple plot was well developed and allowed for some unexpected twists and pleasant surprises along with some intense moments of personal angst.

well done to the actors and makers of this hidden gem.
37 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A heartwarming story for sure
woodward-janet29 January 2013
I remember reading in the Globe & Mail in the fall of 2010 about the people and events on which the screenplay of STILL was written by Michael McGowan and was delighted to see the story come to the screen less than two years later. It is so refreshing to see an honest film with no gimmicks. Produced with a budget of just $3M, filmed in northern Ontario and New Brunswick, it is a delight. It isn't easy to deal with the topic of dementia but McGowan handles it gracefully, with gentle humour and respect. Geneviève Bujold and James Cromwell give outstanding performances. It is a heartwarming story for sure, and garnered much applause from the audience.
37 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not just for the oldies
filmly15 April 2013
Agree with other reviews here, there must be a ratings error. I see a lot of films for work and for pleasure and Still Mine is one of the best I've seen in the last couple of years.

No, you won't get CGI, explosions and budding romance from this film. It's from an emerging genre - films for oldies - think Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (which I loved), Quartet (which I didn't) and Amour, to which it has been compared.

Except to say, it's a compelling story, tightly written, with exceptional performances, which should interest most people, of any age, as long as you don't solely crave superhero sequels.

On one hand, this is a tale, based on a true story, of the short-sightedness of bureaucracy. Who hasn't fought red tape, at some point in their lives? On another, it's about trusting each other and allowing those with fading powers to live the life they want to live for as long as possible.
33 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Mistake in rating?
ralph-818-39428525 March 2013
How could 43 out of 57 reviewers rate this movie 8 or higher and yet produce a cumulative score of only 4.8? Still Mine was the SF Cinema Club's selection yesterday. Not a dry eye in the theater (though I swear mine was allergies). It's Amour with feeling, and a Canadian sensibility, i.e., more like Away from Her, the other Canadian film that deals with aging and dementia, than the steely, unsentimental Amour. Cromwell is gigantic. Is there any other male actor of his age who says more with less? And Campbell Scott proves what they say about no small roles, only small actors. His is minor--but flawless in its understatement. This movie may not crack the big time, but that in no way should diminish its beauty, power, and lasting impact on those who seek it out.
32 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rage against the machine
copyright90820 July 2013
STILL MINE It's funny, that for all the hubub about liberalism in Hollywood, some of the greatest achievements in cinema have been decidedly libertarian. From Chaplin's "Modern Times" to Nicholson's McMurtry in "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" we have watched our heroes adhere to their own personal codes, battle against the inherent dehumanizing repression of the institutions we create, ostensibly to serve the public good. Our heroes don't always win,but it always makes compelling drama.

Comes now to this cinematic tradition is the Canadian production "Still Mine" written, produced and directed by Michael McGowan which is shot in New Brunswick where the actual events on which this story is based,took place.

Craig Morrison (James Cromwell) is a remarkably robust octogenarian. Irene (Genevieve Bujold)his wife of sixty years is sinking into that long, slow descent toward the abyss that is dementia/Alzheimer's. Craig decides that their old house is clearly unsuitable for Irene as she declines,so he decides to build a new, smaller house, on their own land, and by his own hand, since they don't have the money to hire a contractor.

Craig embarks on his project with considerable enthusiasm, but that is soon overwhelmed by the local building code bureaucrat Rick Daigle(Jonathan Potts) who buries Craig with permits, plans, standards, and regulations. He intends to enforce those codes with the soulless tenacity of Les Miserable's Javert.

If Craig does not correct and comply with all the violations cited (26 I believe) Daigle tells Craig that he will bulldoze the house.

"Is that a threat," says Craig

"No," says Daigle with a chilling bureaucratic assuredness, "it's the law."

As Craig fights, haggles, and cajoles the powers that be; Craig and their grown children must watch and endure as they see their wife and mother slip ever farther away from them. This is not a dysfunctional family, it is a very close family in a community full of friends and neighbors. However, that doesn't mean there are no conflicts, tensions and angst as together they face the difficult circumstances and decisions that lie ahead.

Those of us who saw Bujold those many years ago in "Ann of a Thousand Days", remember, aside from her obvious beauty, those expressive eyes. Now well into her 70's without a hint of plastic surgery, she still projects the powerful inner strength that is so critical to this character; as she faces the certainty of a bleak future while still maintaining the mental wherewithal to cherish the moments she still has left. It is through those eyes that we will see the anger, the frustration, and the fear of the oncoming oblivion, but we will also see the loyalty and the love she has for her friends, her family and most of all her husband.

James Cromwell has become something of a national treasure with movies like "The Artist", "LA Confidential" and "Babe"; TV shows like "ER" and "The West Wing", the list is truly astonishing. I remember him in a commercial where he played a Marine gunnery sergeant. He looks down (he's 6'7") at some nerdy little dude and says "Were you ever in the Corps?" The nerdy dude says "no", and with the confident arrogance of veteran Corps drill instructor Cromwell says "I didn't think so." I don't remember the product, but I remember him. He has that kind of presence and it is well used here.

I was struck when I walked into the theater by the possibility that I may have been the youngest guy in there, and I assure you that I am not a young man. I hope that despite the obvious tag lines that go with this movie, that this doesn't become known as a geezer flick, because it is much more than that.

I can't remember a movie that affected me more emotionally. It is true, as they say, I have some skin in this game, as I am growing older and I watched my own mother ravaged by this cruel and unjust disease. When Irene cries out, "What if I forget everything!? " My lips mouthed the words, "You will, you will." So it was pretty close to home, and some viewers may not have as strong a reaction as I did, but I can tell you that the audience I sat with was greatly moved.

Nevertheless, as we inexorably march toward the curing of societal ills with institutional remedy; we give scant notice to the corresponding loss of liberty, freedom, individuality, and our identity. Key elements all, in making the decisions and choices that are best for ourselves. Or they could be the worst for ourselves, but that is of no matter, the important thing is that they are our choices. Craig and the whole Morrison clan are an inspiration to remember that in times of trouble or crisis our most reliable ally to carry us through will be the faith we have in ourselves to call on our own inner strength.
28 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Still Mine — A man can only do what he thinks is right
AvidClimber4 June 2013
Still Mine is an example of why sometimes laws and rules can mean a lost of freedom.

The good. Compelling and touching story. Well built scenario. Nice photography. All together, a solid film.

The actors. The whole cast gave a spot on performance, but James Cromwell shows himself as a true star here with a very attaching character.

The bad. Most of the plot elements have been seen many times in different forms over the years. Even though the mix is unique, you get an overall sense of déjà vu.

The ugly. Nothing.

The result. A simple tale that can resonate with anybody. Don't expect action or great drama, and you'll be pleasantly entertained.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Heart warming love story
sierk-27 November 2012
Warning: Spoilers
STILL is a fantastic, emotional and touching story about an old couple. Espcecially the relationship between the two old people opens ones heart. Based on a true story, the film is not a classic tear-jerker. It also shows the problems of getting old and demented without becoming a heavy drama. The film also shows us that love is not a question of age. The couple is married over 60 years and "STILL" in love with each other. When the wive becomes demented, her old husband resists to give her in a home. He wants to build her a last house which allows her to stay at home as long as possible. But without permission it is not easy to fulfill his plans, even if he builds the house on his own land. Beautifully shot, great acting. Definitely a film for best agers.
22 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cromwell & Bujold knock it out of the park
callanvass4 November 2013
I was easily able to empathize with this movie and especially our lead Craig Morrison (James Cromwell) as you grow older, your abilities start to slowly wane, and you want one last chance at glory. Craig's plight is much more about glory. He is fighting to keep the relationship with his wife, and avoid suggestions from his kids to put her in a home (Bujold) despite her early signs of Dementia. This movie hit me on so many emotional levels. Not only did I care about the fate of Craig & Irene, but I became truly angry at how Craig was being belittled by the bureaucracy for such a minor thing, like not following all the rules, despite that the house is perfectly safe, and Craig knows exactly what he's doing. His battle of handling his wife's slow descent into Dementia was also heart wrenching to watch. I felt the children of the Morrison's were a bit selfish at first, but as the movie went along, they grew on me, and I understood them more. Cromwell & Bujold are absolutely magnificent together, and their relationship is one of the most enjoyable I have seen in eons. It was genuine, and it didn't feel contrived in the slightest. James is an ordinary man, and one we can all sympathize with. He's a good man, and you'll be rooting for him all the way. He's a man passionate about his beliefs, and his wife. I give all the credit to James Cromwell's fantastic performance. He's always been a great character actor, but never has he shined like this. He conveyed his emotions perfectly. Geneviève Bujold is equally as good as Cromwell. She is utterly phenomenal as a woman slowly losing her way, due to dementia. I feared her, but felt for her at the same time. She's always been a great actress, and this is one that will be talked about for some time. Jonathan Potts is great as the unlikable bureaucrat.

Final Thoughts: It's just a wonderful film, and one not talked about nearly enough for my liking. As a Canadian, I am proud of how good this movie is. Any one should be able to get into it. It's a very moving film

8.7/10
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Touching And Sensitive Movie
sddavis6311 October 2013
"Still Mine" is not a movie that's going to win any awards for excitement, so if that's the basis on which you judge a movie, then it will disappoint. But there's more to a movie than "excitement." There's thoughtfulness and sensitivity - and, of course, there are the performances.

"Still Mine" is a thoughtful and sensitive Canadian-made movie, based on the true story of Craig Morrison and his wife Irene, played in the movie by James Cromwell and Genevieve Bujold. It's in many ways a gentle and slow-paced movie that combines two generally unrelated subject matters: growing old, and fighting the bureaucracy. Irene has dementia, and is gradually losing her memory. To keep her safe, Craig decides to build a new house, but gets into trouble with local building inspectors in a small town in New Brunswick, who issue a stop work order until he agrees to do things their way. Craig knows what he's doing, and the house he's building is perfectly safe, but the bureaucracy only sees that he hasn't followed all the rules. Meanwhile, as Craig battles the bureaucracy, he also deals with Irene's decline - most often sensitively and lovingly, but sometimes - and understandably - getting overwhelmed and lashing out at her.

The performances from Cromwell and Bujold were very good, and Cromwell won a Canadian Screen Award (sort of the Canadian version of an Oscar) as Best Actor for his performance. They brought their characters to life, and as a viewer you cared about Craig and Irene.

No. This isn't an exciting movie. But if a movie that's touching and sensitive appeals to you, "Still Mine" is definitely worth watching. (7/10)
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Supporting actor becoming lead
AlejoSoler16 July 2014
On occasions supporting actors carry the weight of the movie. James Cromwell is the perfect example of this. After decades of being a supporting actor, Cromwell does 'Still Mine' as his first movie in a lead role. It was long due for him to be the star of a film. No only he does a marvelous job playing Craig Morrisson but also stars Genevieve Bujold as Cromwell's wife. This two awesome actors play an elder couple who want and start to build a house against local authorities laws. Never a dull moment throughout the movie, and totally worth the while. It will take you on a journey of watching an elder man take care of his wife and do whatever he has to, so she is comfortable for the remain of her days
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
http://filmfanboy.com/still-mine/
SConIrish9 June 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Canadian filmmaker Michael McGowan hands James Cromwell a gift with the character of Craig Morrison. It's the role of a lifetime and Cromwell seems to understand the opportunity that has been handed to him. Still Mine following the darker Amour is another journey into the challenges of growing old and protecting your independence amidst the absurdity of modern life. At its core it's the story of an heroic individualist who just happens to be a sprightly 89 year of age.

Hauled into court and facing jail time Craig Morrison staring down a visibly unimpressed Judge asks "Do you watch baseball, your honor?" This comment transports the narrative back to how his story let to this moment in time. Morrison lives with his wife Irene (Genevieve Bujold) who is progressively losing her memory with the onset of Alzheimer's. Attempting to build a new home to make life easier for his wife he comes up against an unforgiving system represented by the officious government inspector (Jonathan Potts). Craig just wants to do things his way, on his land and to be independent. Not wanting to go into debt or sell off the land he has worked his whole life, he decides to do what his father did build a home. It's a simple story, beautifully rendered.

At first glance Craig seems cantankerous and stubborn to an outsider, refusing help from his family and friends he intends to care Irene single handily. Yet beneath the surface he is stubbornly self-reliant and strong. The cruelty of Alzheimer's throws up some challenges for the couple as Irene becomes dangerously incapable of looking after herself. She falls once and then again and their luck seems to be running out. Yet amidst the heartbreak of losing Irene to dementia there are still moments of deep tenderness. McGowan's finely crafted script captures the intense love and affection of two people ingrained in each others soul. The bedtime conversations of remembrances of a life spent remarkably happily. Even stripping down to enjoy a night of passion after 60 odd years of marriage brings a celebratory joy to the proceedings. In these moments Cromwell and Bujold create a lifetime together, and their chemistry is palpable.

The decision to shoot in New Brunswick lends the film authenticity and beauty. In many ways the picture is conventionally shot, no stylistic flourishes, no fanfare but it suits the tone of the piece. McGowan who has a mixture of TV and films to his credit, understands the power of words and character. In his actors he has two giants who bring this great story to life. Mumford and Sons contribute their talent to the soundtrack.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A primer about love for all ages!
afugue-030 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
After getting by the confusion of the poster "Still" and the fact that the movie is now called "Still Mine" everything about this movie is wonderful. Cromwell and Bujold are magical together and the supporting cast are all naturals. My Dad died at 71 from lung cancer in 1995, and one of my regrets, which I shared with him a few days before he passed, was that I was hoping that I could learn from him how to grow old with dignity. Cromwell has given me a large part of that lesson, not perfect, just human, but always true to himself and his true love. Thank you sir. While this film is "Canadian" it's story is universal. The acting is mostly underplayed and the director appreciates the intelligence and sensibilities of the audience. My wife and I laughed out loud and sobbed openly and came away feeling good about our prospects of growing much older together.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautiful and moving. Worth far more than IMDb's 7.1
deschreiber15 December 2013
Somehow IMDb has calculated a score of only 7.1 for Still Mine. When I check that against Rotten Tomatoes, here is the surprising result: Professional Reviewers 93%, Audience 87%. The truth is much closer to the Rotten Tomatoes score than the IMDb score.

I won't repeat all the tributes given here by other reviewers. It's such a pleasure to see a film made with grown-ups in mind, a sensitive story based on real life and everyday occurrences. And, of course, you marvel at the outstanding acting of the main players.

It's hard to criticize the casting of James Cromwell in the lead role. He is magnificent. Yet in such a Canadian film--when his pride is confronted by narrow-minded bureaucrats, he never raises his voice, says "Have a good day" with just the lightest touch of sarcasm, does not burn down the house, or return to the government office with a shotgun--I had the niggling wish that the role had gone to a Canadian actor. Christopher Plummer might have been up for the job. But the thought of the job done by Cromwell makes such a reservation seem like a ridiculous, maybe narrow-minded quibble.

Listen to the score, too. It is quiet and subtle, very distinctive, at times haunting, sometimes sad, always barely at the threshold of your consciousness. I seem to remember much use of horns, but they are subdued, and set off against an unusual mix of other instruments.

Do see this film if you ever get the chance.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wonderful Love Story
bob-rutzel-128 June 2014
Octogenarian Craig Morrison (James Cromwell) sees his wife Irene (Genevieve Bujold) slipping into Dementia and decides to build a one story house to make life easier for her. He runs into building regulations that hamper his construction.

This is based upon a true story

What a wonderful pairing of Cromwell and Bujold. When we see Cromwell on screen we feel entirely comfortable with him (that is unless he is playing a bad guy, then look out) and his scenes with Genevieve Bujold are pure gold and much of that credit goes to Ms. Bujold. She is still a hot babe in her 80s and as we watch her we could very well see ourselves taking care of her and loving every minute of it. What we get to see are two beyond-excellence performances by both. Their banter is pure gold.

We feel for Craig as he suffers silently while trying his best to make Irene comfortable. He realizes she is getting worse, but that doesn't deter him.

He does try to follow the law and the building regulations imposed on all. However, he knows what he is doing exceeds many of those regulations. The problem is he doesn't stop construction to allow for inspections. In time he is taken to court.

We go along and hope we see Craig be successful in court. We don't get to see much of that and this was a big let-down. Since this is a true story, the court battles should have been shown, at least the most important parts. Didn't happen. Some of the earlier scenes could have been cut down or cut out so we would have time to see the court proceeding. Didn't happen. And, we waited especially for these moments. Bummer.

He has a baseball signed by Babe Ruth. My problem with this scene - as he handles the ball with his bare hands - is that the ball was not protected in one of those plastic baseball covers. Most people know not to allow greasy hands to touch such a prized and valuable baseball. Someone fell down on this job. Hey, the ball could have been wrapped in Saran Wrap or something. Didn't happen.

Also one would think the Babe Ruth baseball would have more or an impact on the story. Craig does use a baseball story to tell the judge about standards then and now and relates them to building construction now. That's as far as it went. Bummer.

One more thing: the title sucks. Not once in the movie does Craig bellow the words "Still Mine" referring, perhaps, to the land and the new house he owns as he knows exactly what he is doing. We waited in vain to hear these words. Didn't happen. Bummer.

Despite some misgivings above, this is an excellent story and we cringe along with Craig and hope Irene fares well. This is truly a wonderful love story. (9/10)

Violence: No. Sex: No. Nudity: Yes, partial. Language: Soft stuff only: GDIs, JCs
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Much much better then I expected. I really liked this. Full of heart and shows that love is stronger then laws.
cosmo_tiger4 April 2014
"We're still here, we have each other and isn't everything else a bonus?" Craig (Cromwell) and his wife Irene (Bujold) are in their 80's and beginning to feel it. Craig is being hit with new regulations on his farm and is unable to adapt as fast as he needs and Irene is beginning to show signs of dementia. Rather then admit they need to enter a home Craig decides to build a new home on their land that is smaller and easier for them to manage. Once again Craig is hit with new regulations that hinder his process but some things are harder to break then laws. Going in my first thought was...an old guy building a house, sounds exciting. It didn't take long at all for me to realize how wrong I was. The movie is filled with heart and the roadblocks Craig has to go through make you want to throw something at the screen. The fact that this is a true story makes it that much more touching. Overall, much much better then I expected, if you liked Amour you will like this as well. I really enjoyed this much more then expected. I give this a B+.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
aging man fights bureaucracy to serve wife
maurice_yacowar17 May 2013
Warning: Spoilers
If you haven't seen Michael Haneke's Amour (see blog below), then Michael McGowan's Still Mine will prove a very good film. Craig (James Cromwell) and Irene (Genevieve Bujold) are solid New Brunswick octogenarians confronting their looming senescence together.

But if you have, this film will seem thinner -- in the rhythm, the performances, the harshness it confronts, the stiffness of the dialogue, the depth of the films' respective ellipses, and in its framing of the narrative in social satire -- ooh, that nasty bureaucracy -- rather than in Haneke's more sweeping depths of personal responsibility. Even allowing for her fading memory, Irene is marginalized in the film, undeveloped, especially in contrast to the Emmanuele Riva role in Amour. Irene's relations with her children are omitted altogether.

Still, it's a beautiful, moving film. For more see www.yacowar.blogspot.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Freedom
jamalking157 December 2018
Freedom vs progressivism. Individualism vs collectivism. Common sense vs group think.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Heart warming and hard hitting in it's display of some troubling social dynamics.
bianaryabyss24 January 2015
It's a wonderful heart warming story that puts on display some of the more troubling dynamics in our society. Everyone should see this movie! This movie could have been written about me. I've lived every aspect of this movie including the attitudes of an entitled younger generation incapable of doing anything without a certification, degree, governmental rubber stamp or some other external approval or authorization. America is giving up it's soul and drowning in the schemes of politicians and over leveraged business cronies and it's all on display here. I've actually had some of the same arguments with the same officials nearly verbatim.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Distinctly Canadian Story
JackCerf20 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
The geezer movie has become as much a genre as the teen coming of age story, the superhero movie or the mega-scale action flick. Still Mine is the recent Canadian entry. It centers on Craig Morrison (James Cromwell), a quiet but tough old bird up in New Brunswick. Craig is still vigorous in his late 80s, a small scale lumberman, small scale farmer, carpenter and man of all work, who has somehow gotten hold of or hung on to 2,000 acres of what looks to be mostly timber land. Old age, the market and bureaucracy are beginning to close in on his independence. He gets rid of his small beef herd that no longer pays. He can no longer sell the strawberries from his one acre patch because the local packing house only accepts delivery in refrigerated trucks, and it isn't worth buying one on that small a scale. His seven children, in their 50s and 60s themselves, have increasingly strong opinions on how he and their mother should take care of themselves.

Worst of all, Irene (Genevieve Bujold) his beloved wife of 61 years, is gradually but visibly descending into Alzheimers. Their old farmhouse takes too much wood to heat, and Irene can't get around like she used to. She absolutely refuses to move to town or go into a retirement home. So Craig decides to solve the problem by downsizing to a smaller, one-story house that he'll build across the road. He's got the whole project in his head, and he's perfectly capable of doing it all by himself (with a little help from his oldest son's backhoe to dig the foundation), from sawing the lumber to painting.

Unfortunately, the local building code official won't let him. He insists on a building permit, filed plans, inspector approved lumber, and full compliance with the code. Craig just wants to be left alone to finish the job, growing more determined as Irene's condition worsens. The inspector keeps stapling stop work orders to the framing, Craig keeps taking them down, and his final confrontation with the local authorities is inevitable.

This is a very Canadian telling of the story. If it happened south of the border, there would be bumper stickers on Craig's pickup, there would be shouting and expostulation, and there would probably be firearms involved. Not in New Brunswick. People are stubborn and principled, but everyone is quiet, everyone is decorous, and the forces of law and order politely grind their glacial way forward to a sensible resolution. It's a sad, sweet, beautifully played little movie with a happy ending, and definitely worth seeing.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Small Scale
TimMeade9 July 2013
It's not uncommon for the titles of films to be changed when they are released in Australia and New Zealand – and no doubt elsewhere. The wonderful comedy Airplane! Starring Leslie Neilson is known as Flying High! in the Antipodes; the Lindy Chamberlain biopic A Cry in the Dark was released under the more sinister title of Evil Angels.

Sometimes it can be amusing when a film title is not changed. I read many years ago, without verification but quite believably, that the British distributors of the American film, Free Willy, implored its producers to change the name for British audiences, explaining the title could easily be misconstrued. The Americans weren't having a bar of it and insisted the original title be used. I recall sitting in theatres as the film was trailed. Audiences fell about laughing as the sententious voice-over intoned 'Free Willy will touch you; your heart will ache for Free Willy' or words to that effect.

Why the Canadian drama Still needed its name changed to Still Mine for Australian audiences is unclear.

Like so many films being released recently, we are told at its beginning that the film is 'based on a true story'. Quite what that phrase means, and the licence it gives to film-makers, is open to the widest interpretation. It is a specious use of language. It allows writer and director to re-frame events, dissemble, misrepresent people, and, if challenged on points of veracity, hide behind the fact that it was never claimed to be a truthful recall.

Still Mine follows the story of octogenarian Craig Morrison (James Cromwell) who decides to build a smaller home on his 200 acres for he and his wife Irene (Geneviève Bujold) as she slips ever further into dementia. He knows what he's doing but is unfamiliar with modern-day planning regulations and his plans and actions fail to satisfy building laws. He gets into a stoush with the local council, whose employees are all shown as heartless, uncompromising automatons, and eventually ends up in Court for failing to comply with Stop notices.

James Cromwell and Geneviève Bujold are both fine in their roles having to deliver some rather turgid dialogue on occasions. But overall the film is just too small-scale.

Direction from Michael McGowan, who also wrote the film, is uninspired. The film is set in rural New Brunswick yet it fails to give much sense of location. In telling such a minor story and putting it on the big screen, he really needed to draw the audience in. Had he interspersed low-key dramatic events with linking shots showing the magnitude of the land and the beauty of the changing seasons and ocean then the film would surely have been more suited to a cinema release. Yes I know it was never meant to be a travelogue. But as it stands, it simply has the feel of a hastily made TV movie of the 1970s with limited production values. The paying audience are entitled to more than this.
6 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sobbing Tears
dli-997296 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was the tale of such a heart touching story between two very in love people. The way they interacted gave me all the feels - from being turned on to desperately seeking my Kleenex. I can not believe i hadn't heard of it before coming across it in my public library. I think it beats the notebook and the titanic if not at least being in the same realm. Seriously, Kleenex. If you've ever felt like you needed a patriarchal point of view on family, then you wont be disappointed in the main characters portrayal of a husband and a father. You'll love his point of view on life and how to live it and you'll want to either be him or have him! Five star performance!!!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What is a husband? What is a wife?
namelessfarmfc18 February 2016
Watch this and find out! The lead actors playing the elderly couple are extraordinary. Not only about what marriage used to mean, commitment and deep intimacy and complimentary gender roles, And how well so many men and women used to work together on their own for survival. But also a profound and clear picture of what we are losing in society, independence, personal responsibility, self growth, creativity and the satisfaction of knowing yourself and doing things on your own. And how it is nearly impossible or even illegal to live that way today. A journey back when D.I.Y a necessity not a luxury. And all of it without some need to believe some hocus pocus Love commitment and personal self security based on your ability to actually do things for yourself. Almost lost nowadays.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cromwell Still Has It.
anaconda-406586 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Still Mine (2012): Dir: Michael McGowan / Cast: James Cromwell, Genevieve Bujold, Campbell Scott, Julie Stewart, Jonathan Potts: Independent Canadian drama about those things we hold dear. James Cromwell plays a farmer in his eighties whose wife has health issues so he sets out to build a new house in order to aid her. Problems piles up when he must pay money to build on his own property then plans must be drawn up, etc. This becomes predictable and repetitious but it is sure to tug the heart strings. This is a struggling relationship that contains much more heart than many of the young couples who just hook up and have sex. Cromwell delivers a strong performance as someone fighting the system, or in this case, government bureaucrats who are attempting to prevent him from moving forward in this project. Cromwell steals the moment just from speaking but we also feel his aches and desperation when constant opposition presents itself. Genevieve Bujold is equally good as his wife who breaks her hip in a stair fall. She suffers from memory loss, which presents a whole new issue. The supporting players are mainly the grown children who show up and urge Cromwell to move Bujold into a nursing home but he prefers to build the new house and ignore their gripes. Jonathan Potts also plays a less than stellar villain in his quest to relieve them of their home, as well as the new one. This is not blockbuster status but it is a touching film about true love that transcends through a lifetime of heartache and trials while realizing that nothing can take it away. Score: 8 / 10
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A movie about finding meaning in life
annuskavdpol14 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Still Mine 2012, is a pretty good movie. It is about an elderly couple who live in a house that had been made by the husband. The movie was filmed in New Brunswick, Canada. The landscapes are really pretty beautiful. There is a subtle background music that illuminates certain scenes in the movie.

In a sense this movie is kind of a cliché. The male is the one that fends for his wife and protects her. He builds a house for her, in order to make his wife a little bit more comfortable and he fills himself with his love for her. Furthermore, because of his wealth and power he is able to sway the courts by using the media to point out his virtuoso building skills, which allows hims to by-pass regular building code regulations.

This movie does illustrate hierarchy and power structures and is no doubt a film for the rich about the rich. Perhaps the underlining theme is about finding a purpose in ones life (despite having money or no money) and holding true to the path that one follows.

This concept of holding true to ones true purpose, the one that is self-discovered, is a human trait found in many films, the one thing to be cautious of is a sense of selffishness. For example, in this movie the family, two grown up off-spring - seemed to have been worried about their parents, as some of their parents actions did seem unsafe and at times dangerous. I guess there is a fine line between finding ones own true path in life and at the same time being considerate to other peoples' needs.

In the best case, forfilling ones dream and being considerate and caring to other peoples needs is probably the most optimum result. However if one choose to make another happy other him/herself then this is, in my opinion, rarely achieved.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed