Young & Hungry (TV Series 2014– ) Poster

(2014– )

User Reviews

Review this title
69 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
nice!
joannaloup5 July 2014
This seems to be a very nice comedy... i have seen a couple of episodes, they are fun, they are original, it does remind me of some older comedies, but at the same time it is quite refreshing. The acting and directing is good, the writing is nice, the budget is obviously seriously low but however they managed to create something really cute! will be watching for sure ! just hoped they would make these comedy shows last a bit longer than twenty two minutes.. Why do we only get 22 minutes of laughter and always 45 minutes of drama drama drama.. This is frustrating..! Anyway, as I was saying, if you are looking for a nice new comedy series for summer, you should totally check this one out.
67 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Emily is no kid anymore - This show should stay on the air
CableExecPA28 April 2015
A hilarious vessel for Emily Osment (always has been one of my favorites). Emily gets to show herself as the young adult that she is now and Y&H is filled with adult innuendo (as I said - Emily is no kid anymore and the rest of the world is all the better for it).

This group's on-screen chemistry is evident - they are fabulous together and their comedic timing is impeccable. Their characters are each their own people and I can't wait to see what happens to each of them from one week to the next.

I'm glad that they chose to develop Aimee's character as she is definitely able to pull it off. I certainly want to see more about what happens with Sofia. The same for the characters of Rex and Kym. They are all a howl to watch.

The writers need to develop Jonathan's character more if he is to be more prominent in the show, but it's not absolutely necessary. I expect we'll see more of Josh as time passes.

I expect this show to kick off chapter 2 of Emily's career, boost Aimee's into orbit and further validate Rex's and Kym's already successful careers.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show
lockmanbree8 September 2017
I love this show even my husband like it. I've watch every season 3 times already I can't wait for the next season. It not only has romance women but it has comedy for men and women. I got so hooked I had a marathon and was up for 36 hours. I will be watching all the seasons again I'm sure. Please don't cancel this show, I want to see more Gabby and even Elliot.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Cute but a bit Juvenile
DevastatngDiva7 August 2018
As a light comedy about nothing serious, it's a great 30 minute escape from the everyday. Each episode is good for a quick laugh or two, and when it's over, you go back to your life with a clean slate.

But, if you really think about it, it's just an adult version of a Disney show. From the silly story line (someone creates a problem and, instead of handling it responsibly, they plot and plan some silly scheme to weasel out of the problem), to the overacting, it follows the Disney formula to a "T." The only difference between this show and "Hannah Montana" or "That's so Raven" are the adult themes and the liberal use of curse words. Thank goodness Emily Osment has done other projects to show that she can actually act.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Funny if you can get past the total UNreality & 2 broke girls knock-off
kalliope9329 July 2016
First-off, Young & Hungry is a shameless knock-off of 2 Broke Girls but it lacks the sharp edge of 2 Broke Girls. I find myself watching Young & Hungry because it is a harmless, feel-good piece of comedic fluff. The characters are quirky and like-able. The sits of the sit-com are funny.

BUT ...

I have actually worked the jobs depicted in this series (private cook, cleaning staff, etc.) and these jobs SUCK. Often being a private cook means sacrificing your own social life to work split shifts and generally be available on nights, weekends, and any other time the employers are having a social occasion. Add to that an incredible amount of stress b/c I have never met a quirky likable millionaire like the boss on this show.

If I block-out the reality of working as domestic help for the uber-rich ... I can have a few mindless laughs and pretend its all in good fun. I sort of hate myself for liking this show at all ... but until 2 Broke Girls comes out with their new season ... it's all I got.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Glorious
florin-radu-343-90009427 September 2014
Best sitcom in many many years, it would be a shame if it is not continued. The main quality for a sitcom is to be credible, to deal with real life. If it concerns hypothetical situations, it becomes artificial and unconvincing. So far, only three sitcoms worked for me: M*A*S*H, Married with Children and Taxi. 'Young and Hungry' is a worthy addition to the pile. It is spontaneous, exhibited and sparkling. You really feel that you are part of the plot, because the plot is tangible enough for you to blend in. Enjoyment, effervescence, wit, it has them all. It just reinvented the sitcom, a genre undermined by ill-fated precedents such as 'Friends' or 'Seinfeld', meant for pea brain viewers. Absolutely brilliant.
30 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
No cooking, no fun
juliforrai3 May 2017
I was curious about the viewers' opinion on this show and was honestly amazed to see so many positive ones - so I decided to read them all. If you want to get a realistic picture of whether this show is for you or not, I can recommend bigfootpat's review. Completely share that opinion, allow me to quote from it: "The stereotypes! An over the top gay character, an over the top black woman, everything is blown out of proportions with little subtlety. And that laugh track, it's incredibly annoying! And with unfunny jokes, subpar acting, and stereotypes, the laugh track is the final nail in the coffin of something that's labeled a "sitcom". " Indeed. This show is full of stereotypes, the acting is very forced, the story-line is not at all original and I at least expected a bit of cooking done which may have added some atmosphere (Gabi's a CHEF, for Christ's sake!), but the hilarious thing is: they NEVER show anything what she supposedly does in the kitchen, all you see is that she's got tons of designer dresses you'd never ever wear anywhere near a kitchen/food and she also has designer aprons that go with them! Watched a few episodes when they started to air it in the UK, then - and that says it all - it magically disappeared from the screen after a couple of months... So many great shows got canceled last year. It amazes me that this one's in the 5th season now. It's a very dumb way to waste your time, if you ask me.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
One series and it has already lost its way
watf-7114427 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The show has lots of problems, most of the jokes', the acting and writing seems to be aimed at the intelligence and sophistication of the average young teenager, but the subject matter is very adult. I would stay though my biggest reservation is the unlikeability of the two main characters. Both are your young and beautiful and have relatively successful lives. Yet they are hideous people. They have no problems treating their own and each others partners with horrrible distain it borders on the sociopathic. They cheat lie and show themselves as totally without any moral compass. I would say they do deserve each other, for the worst possible reasons, but whenever they do, you know it will last for more than it takes Josh to meet another femail.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
WHY?!?!?!?!?!?!
ccalhoun-6169316 September 2018
Why did you have to end the show like you did? What happens? Did he say yes? Is Sophia and her b/f getting married too? I need one follow up episode to bring it to a conclusion. If you knew the show was going to end why end it on a cliffhanger? BAD BAD writing!!!
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dull & Painful Jokes
jalaguier22 November 2015
Barely funny and dull and found myself thinking of something else when I was watching this stupid show.

Why do some American comedies use laugh tracks still? Do they make the sitcoms funnier?

All I know is that this show is so boring that the laugh tracks do not go with the lines.

I couldn't bear to watch the second episode. The script is stupid and predictable i.e. The tech entrepreneur says "I want you to make her say Yes" and the cook answers "I will make her say Yes Yes Yes" and the laugh track roars....

This show is made for people whose sense of humour is not sophisticated or not highly developed enough but it is good for teenagers.....

My favorite is Crazy Ex Girlfriend, now that is what I call a comedy, and it does not use laugh tracks !
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Adorable Rom/Com!
ronneevr10 August 2016
I absolutely love this show! In a world full of nothing but crime shows & reality TV, Y&H is a welcome breath of fresh air to let us all relax, laugh, think happy thoughts & believe romance is not dead! It's wonderful to actually be entertained for a change with an upbeat, well written, hysterically presented comedy that gives hope to finding true love while making great friends along the way! The characters are perfectly coordinated with enough fun & friendly tension (even when it tries to be not all that friendly). Who needs any more depressing, violent, boring content on TV? We have enough of that in our world lately. Keep up the great show! Freedom, DON'T take another happy,family-fun show off the air! Television needs a break. Young & Hungry Season 5!!!
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It was good at first
lynneenguyen13 September 2018
Really? Gabi is such a horrible character. It's not even realistic. Like you want to like her but you can't because she's so stupid and plays all these games. I could never imagine befriending someone like that.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I enjoy the show, but Gabi gets on my nerves
beccaccrum8 September 2018
The shows hilarious and I love a lot of the characters (especially Sophia, Alan, and Yolanda), but Gabi is just so selfish in every single episode. She never considers anyone else's feelings and it's just pathetic. Sophia has put up with so much of Gabi's shit, but Gabi doesn't care about Sophia. I honestly feel way worse for Sophia than I do Gabi. I sympathize with her way more. Also, Cooper was way better for Gabi than Josh is so
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
It Had Promise
heatherdeitchman9 July 2017
The first few episodes had a bit of promise. We have a young chef with some talent that falls into bed drunkenly with a tech mogul and then has to navigate a new job with the tension of that background.

The story goes awry rather quickly with extremely campy humor that never changes and story lines that repeat over and over. For example, Gabi has some hair-brained scheme, she drags Sophia, Elliot, or Yolanda into it and nothing goes well. Josh gets legitimately upset, forgives Gabi and takes her back as chef/love interest.

Repeat the above paragraph for the next 4 seasons.

The only character growth that exists is Elliott and his love interest and their relationship.
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
"No, I hate good looking men with lot's of money..." Warning: Spoilers
This is going to come off very sexist, and I'm probably starting a fight here.

First off. I don't hate the show at all. It has a good cast and is well written. It's even funny sometimes. My issue with the show is the female characters.

Instead of being an ambitious Chef trying to build a cooking empire, Gabi is a manipulative gold digger that has been stringing her boss along for the show's run. She's broken up several of his relationships with her meddling, just to turn him down once she has him interested in her again. He even bought her a reliable car so she could get to work, a food truck so that she could start a business with his own brother, and sent her on an expensive vacation AFTER she broke him and his girlfriend up.

When he then hesitates to commit to a relationship with her she has the nerve to be mad at him for holding back his feelings. He's a smart, hard-working, self-made millionaire, who helps out his employee and her friends all the time. She constantly snubs him, but when things don't go her way she runs back to him for money and a hug.

Gabi is the worst, but Sophia is bad too. While the actress is funny, the character wants nothing to do with men who don't make tons of money and can't buy her stuff. Some guy likes her, but has to hide the fact that he works as a mascot so she'll pay attention to him. A successful man wouldn't have a problem with a woman working at a gym, but a rich woman would have nothing to do with a guy working there.

Again, I like Emily Osment and Amie Correro. But this show unintentionally highlights major problems between wrong with young men and women in the 2010's.
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
No one is laughing
PopcornCreature26 November 2015
No. Call it a shtick, call it a spoof, I have no idea what audience this show is trying to appeal to. The humor is pure cliché sitcom with its "likable" funny poor girl. Emily Osment's Disney roots, Hannah Montana, shares level of maturity with her new show except that most of the jokes are based on tacky lines on sexual tension. The plot is completely predictable and shallow. If this was some genius retaliation on Disney's TV shows from former Disney stars, then I applaud. They definitely also desperately try to chase today's popular trends while not understanding any of this material that's in their scripts. The crap acting doesn't help either. So far Yolanda is the only one who is surprisingly believable to me. Now since this clearly not for mature adults and clearly not for children what audience is this for? Teenagers and young adults? Well, I am not trying to represent all teenagers, but as a teenager I find this show annoying and stupid. The whole conflict of this show is booze and questionably work ethics.
16 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why do shows like this get made?
jeremyj-307-74753524 July 2018
Everyone involved with this show should feel very bad about themselves. Hammy acting, nonsensical plot, and canned laughter.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great sitcom!
tom-reddragon21 October 2015
This is the definition of a great sitcom.

It has great comedy, a little drama and you can somewhat relate to situations.

If you liked sitcoms like Two and a half men & The big bang theory then you possibly like this one too.

It is noticeable that the budget is very small. However, the jokes, the people and the overall harmony are very good.

I just finished watching the first season and I'm definitely going to watch the next one. I hope this show stays on for a long, long time.

This might even be my new favorite sitcom!
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Who is the target audience?
xhidden9926 February 2018
Teens and young people? Adults? Children? The characters are cardboard cutouts, the writing is by a computer or punchlist and the laughtrack is absurdly heavy handed. There's an odd sexual edge which puts off 'clean' and 'family' audiences. I can't understand how this is still on the air. It's not the worst think ever put on by ABC Family but it's one of the strangest.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Deeeee-Lisha!!!
PeachHamBeach27 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
THERE WILL BE SPOILERS...YOU WERE WARNED!!!!

Emily Osment is a revelation and a delight as one of the newest faces of prime time comedy, taking on the role of Gabi Diamond, a Po-arse aspiring chef who applies to be the household cook for a self made dot- com millionaire named Josh Kaminski (one of my male harem members, Jonathan Sadowski), a naive and sweet-natured genius who believes he's found his soul mate in West Coast Socialite Caroline Huntington (Mallory Jensen). Against the protests of his longtime publicist and right hand helper Elliot Park (the one and only Rex Lee, who I'm so happy to see since they canned one of the other delightful comedies of recent years, SUBURGATORY), Josh "sort of" hires Gabi after she makes him an gooey- gooey lopsided grilled cheese, and then asks Gabi to please make him a fail safe proposal dinner so that he can make Caroline his wife.

Oh what food porn awaits! And this is AFTER Caroline abruptly tells Josh via phone that she wants to break it off for a while, that things are moving too fast. Translation: I'm a selfish gal...and I've met a guy...and I feel like having a 14 hour ff-a-thon rather than honor my previous plans to have dinner with you. Oblivious to the fact that she has torn Josh's heart out, Caroline makes merry with her temp fling while Gabi agonizes not only about the heartsick Josh, but about the possibility that since the proposal dinner is a bust, so is her job.Both Gabi and Josh live in that most beautiful of all cities, San Francisco, but Gabi lives on the less glitzy side.

Using her telepathic abilities to know what food will comfort Josh, she begins feeding him the sexiest mashed potatoes of all time...Sweet Jesus!!! Frankly, I can't blame either of them for what happens next. It would never have occurred if Caroline hadn't been the biggest flake since the Kellogg's Rooster. Josh was crying and Gabi was upset too. Suffice it to say, that a few too many delicious glasses of cham-pag-NE changed the course of the boss/chef relationship forever. Oh me, the curious perv has so many questions...what did they say to each other? Did they cry some more? Did they both confide that they were lonely and felt empty inside because they felt like people didn't love them for who they really are? My, my, my...this is what they mean by "less is more!"

Next day, Ms. Selfish appears at Josh's door, claiming she was wrong, that her psychologist tells her it's all about how her growing up a spoiled brat has made her crave conflict and challenges. From this moment on, you can see that Caroline treats Josh like an accessory rather than a human being. Would she have fallen for him, the sweetest tech nerd in Creation, if he didn't have the money he has? What draws him to her, and vice versa? The pilot was my favorite episode, followed by the episode guest starring Ashley Tisdale, and now, the fifth episode, in which Gabi attempts to jump start her dating life with a hot little number who lives a few floors down from Josh.

I love each and every character in the show. Yolanda: "I ain't clean-in' up after no horse!" and of course Gabi's roommate Sophia, who works at some bank or law firm. I splattered my screen with lemonade during this: "Yo, Gabi I need pizza...worked up an appetite...Babe...still waiting' on that pizza!"

Oh, and the FOOD! The hog within you will love the food as much as the hyena will love the laughs...those mashed taters, Chinese duck and catfish, salted caramel creme brulee, Scandanavian princess cakes, and holy moly...sriracha jalapeño poppers and Oreo-gasms (what they should be called, right?!)

Something new and wonderful to add to my fave of all time shows: That 70s Show, Big Bang, Suburgatory, Chasing Life and The Fosters. Please let YOUNG & HUNGRY stay with us for a long long time!!!!!!! It's a keeper!
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Been there, done that, little to no funny aspects
bigfootpat22 November 2016
I haven't been able to watch more than a few episodes, but I also don't intend to. So far it seems like this show is a cheap Melissa & Joey knock-off, with the genders reversed.

The acting isn't that bad, but it isn't good either. I have the feeling that the actors have problems with keeping a straight face after something (apperently) funny happens.

I don't know the overall story, but the stories in the episodes are done a million times already and feel really tiresome to watch. Overall an episode brings a faint smile on my face once, which is pretty bad for a sitcom, but the worst is yet to come:

The stereotypes! An over the top gay character, an over the top black woman, everything is blown out of proportions with little subtlety. And that laugh track, it's incredibly annoying! And with unfunny jokes, subpar acting, and stereotypes, the laugh track is the final nail in the koffin of something that's labeled a "sitcom".
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
you just gotta love it!!!
RedRainbowUnicorn2329 August 2015
This is funny and good wrapped up in one package. It stars one of my favorites Emily osment. A young "chef blogger" gets a job as a chef at a rich tech's home.One night she accordantly slept with him.OOPS!!!! There's also a lot of funny moments,a fake pregnancy,a relationship with a car and a very funny love triangle. Let's not forget Yolanda(the housekeeper)and Elliot(the organizer) those two are hilarious. Give it a look its laughoutloud funny!!!!!!!Abc family really shows good shows I am happy that this got a second season bc its not easy to get one many shows gets canceled after a couple episodes!!!!

Season 2 is continuing in august 2015!!!!!
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Super funny.
Shopaholic3526 December 2015
The show started out awkward at first but after awhile I began to really enjoy it. It's actually really funny. Still a very clichéd sitcom but it works. It's something light and fun with an outrageous side. Besides I cannot wait to see the show play out. After watching one episode I could see where they were heading and the more I watch the more invested I get.

I've got a sneaking suspicion that the success of this show has something to do with the hilarious cast. Emily Osment holds her own as the lead (which completely shocked me), but honestly it's the supporting cast who really make this show. They are all brilliant but the surprise talent is the best friend. Her comedic timing is great and she shines in a group of equally talented actors.

I hope the show continues to get better and better.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Every episode is the same
nspence0030 August 2018
Gabby is selfish and every episode is the same. She messes up and josh forgives her and so does her best friend.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Another mass produced bag of fries from the Free Flow Robot
xhidden997 May 2018
ABC churns this stuff out like dog food. Every sitcom is the same one with slightly different casting. Same story, same jokes, same laugh track, same writing, same acting, same stereotypes. You just want every bland episode to end so you can move on to the next one. Like eating McD fries.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed