Walking on Sunshine (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
34 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
5/10
Nowhere near as great as its soundtrack, but this is harmless, cheesy fun if you're in the mood for it.
shawneofthedead10 July 2014
Very few films aspire to the heights (or, more accurately, depths) of chirpy cheesiness achieved by Mamma Mia!: a cinematic guilty pleasure if ever there was one. Walking On Sunshine is that rare film which does. In fact, it's dancing merrily into theatres, so intent on recreating the unexpected blockbuster success of Mamma Mia! that it's forgotten to tweak the formula even a little bit. And so, we go from the sun-washed beaches of Greece to the sun-washed beaches of Italy, from cheesy but super-catchy ABBA tunes to cheesy but super-catchy 80s pop hits, from an awkward love affair to... an awkward love affair. Do you see where we're going here? The unfortunate thing is that Walking On Sunshine never quite hits on that elusive magic which allowed Mamma Mia! to be so bad and so darn good at the same time.

Here's how the story (what little there is of it) goes: Taylor (Hannah Arterton) meets and falls in love with gorgeous Italian hunk Raf (Giulio Berruti) on a sun-kissed beach in Italy. But the summer is drawing to an end, and she has to be responsible and go back to school. Three years later, when she finally graduates, Taylor returns to the same Italian village to meet her headstrong, impulsive sister Maddie (Annabel Scholey) - whereupon she learns that Maddie, on the rebound from her horrible ex Doug (Greg Wise), is due to get married in a matter of days. The twist in the tale, of course, is that Maddie is planning to marry Raf - the love of Taylor's life.

In other words, the plot, such as it is, is flimsy and contrived. The narrative staggers predictably from song to song, whether it's Taylor and Raf realising they still have feelings for each other (It Must Have Been Love), or Doug and Maddie crooning about their toxic relationship (Don't You Want Me). The characters seem to function on the basis of narrative expediency: Doug, for instance, waltzes in and out of the film, teetering dangerously between unforgivable jerk and viable love interest. Truth be told, if you're looking for depth or complexity, look away now. The film seems to operate on the blithe assumption that yet another karaoke-friendly song will sweep away the awkward writing that preceded it.

The film also falters somewhat where its cast is concerned. All of them are earnest to a fault, belting their numbers with more passion than skill. They certainly work incredibly hard at playing characters with little more complexity than a batch of paper dolls: Arterton is the textbook lovelorn but responsible girl, torn between her head and her heart, while Scholey sizzles efficiently as the bubbly Maddie. But they never really manage to give off the sheer, unmitigated joy that practically radiated from the A-list cast populating the Greek islands in Mamma Mia!. Of the supporting cast, comedienne Katy Brand wins most charismatic honours as the sisters' best friend Lil - not something that can be said of X-Factor winner Leona Lewis, who should really stick to her day job.

To be fair, Walking On Sunshine does have its merits. If you're in the right mood for it, it's a silly, summery burst of fun - not quite as funny and sweet as you might want, but good enough in a pinch. Its soundtrack is great, jumping from Madonna (Holiday) to George Michael (Faith), before taking a delightful detour into tomato-strewn mayhem in the huge musical number that accompanies the title song. There are even a couple of unexpectedly rich character moments that come courtesy of the two sisters: Taylor's bravery in returning for Maddie's wedding is a surprisingly emotional moment and one of the high points of the film.

Of course, when it comes down to it, no amount of critical analysis will matter anyway. Walking On Sunshine is, quite simply, the kind of film that's largely critic-proof. It may not even be as good as Mamma Mia!, and its story and characters are almost wilfully poorly-constructed. But it won't matter because the film is also relentlessly fun, silly, sunny, and cheesy. Berruti is gorgeous to look at, as are the sun-kissed beaches of Italy. The songs are catchy, summery and joyous. That certainly doesn't add up to 'great' but, if you're open to it, it just might add up to 'good enough'.
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Sunny, but highly unoriginal
neil-47615 July 2014
Taylor fell in love with hottie Raf while on holiday in Puglia, Italy but, despite his entreaties to stay, she left to go to university. On graduating three years later, she returns to Puglia to holiday with her sister Maddie who is already there (they had decided on Puglia because it meant to much to Taylor). Maddie, who has a history of relationships with unsatisfactory men, announces that she has had a whirlwind engagement and is about to get married in two days. No surprises for guessing who the lucky fellow is...

So, let me see - a British film with a frothy story involving family relationships, secrets, romance, deceit, love, and squealy young women, in a sunny Mediterranean setting, with the plot advanced by way of the cast bursting into 30-year old pop songs at regular intervals. Walking On Sunshine isn't even a blood relation of Mamma Mia!, but it has definitely sneaked into its wardrobe, nicked its shorts, T-shirt and sandals, and put them on to make you think it is. Which gives two grounds on which to consider it - on its own merits, and by comparison to MM!.

On its own merits, it is amiable enough. The good points are that it is bright, colourful, cheerful and tuneful, and the two sisters (Hannah Arterton - younger sister of Gemma - as Taylor, and Annabel Scholey as Maddie) are both attractive and likable performers. The bad points are that it is completely predictable, the dance routines are pretty obvious (even as a non-dancer I can spot that they are not especially challenging) the cast includes two funny fat people (despite giving good performances, they are included solely for the sake of being funny fat people which, as a not particularly funny fat person, I object to), and the hot Italian blokes are indentikit and interchangeable (I accept that those who are fans of the male sixpack may feel differently).

And, compared with Mamma Mia!, it fares worse, for three main reasons. One, its following of the MM! template is absolutely transparent, from the squealy reunion at the start to the dramatic and heart-rending showstopper towards the end. Two, the selection of 80s hits doesn't have the emotional heft of a soundtrack selected entirely from the Abba catalogue. And third, and most importantly, it doesn't have a cast who bring the commitment and credibility to the froth in the way that Meryl Streep and co. did. Walking On Sunshine features a bunch of attractive 20-somethings (and one louche old lothario) who don't appear to work or have a single worry other than romantic ones: contrast Streep and the three Dads, all of whom were grounded in the real world.

If you didn't like Mamma Mia!, you aren't likely to enjoy this. If you did - well, like I said, it's sunny, cheerful and tuneful, so you may. And if you didn't see Mamma Mia! - then I guess it depends on why you didn't.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
The Musical Movie Event of the Summer!
leroyspierings20 June 2014
Well, that's because it's the only musical movie of the summer.

They wanted to make a movie for the female gender, so if you're a male and you're forced to see this you better relax your butt and let it happen. The girls want to watch this to see Giulio Berruti, because he is handsome as ****. I'm a guy, 100% heterosexual, but if you deny that this man belongs to the top of our class, you are lying.

The acting is average. Every character looks like he is living in a fairy tale, so everyone is happy and starts singing at random and sometimes inappropriate moments. You notice that every actor in this movie is enjoying their work. They act playful and enthusiastic, so you can't help yourself smiling sometimes. The dark side of this acting style is that you don't take the more emotional moments very seriously. It's a happy-family-summer-musical-movie after all, so everything is going to be be okay. Oh yeah, the jokes are horrible though.

The movie itself is not that bad. I would call it a budget version of Mama Mia!, because the A-list actors were the main reason people wanted to see that. There's one location, one annoying girl and at the end a wedding with a 'twist' that won't surprise anyone.

It's extremely cheesy, but if you fancy a brainless movie night, this is not the worst choice you can make. Don't see it in theaters though, unless you want so see Berruti's abs in widescreen-size, and don't forget the alcohol so you can suddenly sing along with everything.
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Mama Mia minor
mapkonanyo18 October 2014
What everyone has failed to mention is how terrible the singing is in this movie. It is obviously an attempt to do another Mama Mia. When you have Meryl Streep and Colin Firth etc singing with average vocals you can accept it because it's big stars on screen. When you use unknowns who can't sing it does not work.

I watched this because of the 80s music only to see the songs murdered on screen. At least get unknowns with singing ability to do justice to the music. They had Leona Lewis acting in here and she sang about three lines, what a waste.The story is your standard rom com boy meets girl, girl leaves boy etc. don't waste your time. If the singing was at least listenable it might have been worth a fluffy afternoon distraction.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Summer fun
mattjeanes28 June 2014
While this movie panders to all the clichés of 'a chicks night in musical' that's also what makes it good. Viewing it on a wet afternoon in summer with no holiday in sight it just made me happy and I left the cinema smiling and singing the songs from my youth. How many movies can you say that about these days. It was cleverly thought out, the dancing and staging was fun, the leads were appealing, the hot boys were hot. Downside was that the girl playing Maddy was hopelessly over the top as was Greg Wise,, but this was a pantomime musical generated for a few drinks and a hen night in the summer. Where as MamaMia was trying to convince (and never did) the bad acting, singing and dancing have at least been rectified here and you are laughing along for the right reasons. It works in most part from a lovely lead performance from Hannah Arterton proving she's a MUCH better actress than her over exposed sister (Gemma).. In the cold light of day this movie makes you feel like you've had a romance on holiday , fallen in love and then you go home, whether you re-visit will be up to you.. I will.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Semi-enjoyable summer flick
cinematic_aficionado11 July 2014
The familiar story of a British girl going on a holiday in the Mediterranean and getting involved with a local boy. Once the summer's over so is the romance.

Three years later her sister is to marry that boy, so what is she to do?

The story unfolds in the background of beautiful seaside, nice old buildings and of course lots of songs from the 1980's. One needs not read too much into the story as there are few issues, especially with the ease which the main characters use the word 'love' as well as the speed at which they are prepared to marry...or not!

Ultimately, this is nothing more than a summer flick and will provide for a fairly pleasant 90 minutes.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
High on ... love
kosmasp3 April 2015
I'm not sure if this isn't too sweet even for hopeless romantics ... or that a lot of people who watched this were cynics. Now the songs used here, all have a history and are really good. Most of them even fit into the situation they are used. At least the title of the songs do. But "telling" a story (actually singing it) with lyrics that don't always fit the situation 100% is a bit of a stretch.

Or you don't care at all. As you shouldn't with the predictable outcome of the movie. But that shouldn't be the issue, other movies "struggle" with that too. If you don't care about clichés and just want to listen to the songs, have at it. Rock of Ages was way better and funnier, but you have to have nuances in movies I guess
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Decent lightweight entertainment
rolandddd24 June 2014
Bad girl Maddie is just about to wed hunky Italian Raf, and goody-two-shoes sister Taylor flies in, just to discover Raf, incidentally, is her holiday fling from three years ago and, even more incidentally, the love of her life. This is the ridiculous premise of this feel-good musical film which is also a blatant Mamma Mia rip off. The wedding, the songs, the locations, it is impossible not to see the link between the two movies.

Flawed as Mamma Mia was, at least it could rely on heavyweight actors like Meryl Streep, Colin Firth and Pierce Brosnan. The cast of this movie is nowhere near as good , and what the movie lacks in the embarrassingly simple plot, it fails to make up with chemistry and charm.

This paper-thin feel-good movie no doubt hopes to cash in on its many similarities with worldwide hit movie Mamma Mia, and both movies basically works as advertisements for holidays in Italy, showcasing breathtakingly beautiful settings.

All in all, the movie is not without its little charms and the 80s soundtrack surely appeals to many, so for an evening of feel-good fun this might just work for you, just don't expect any form of depth, thoughtfulness, cultural weight or lasting memories. I'm pretty sure you will have forgotten all about this movie in a couple of months.
9 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't worry about the plot it's a real feel good movie
Figgy66-915-59847030 June 2014
30 June 2014 Film of Choice at The Plaza Tonight - Walking on Sunshine. To quote my friend Debbie that was "cheesier than Camembert"........but oh my word I LOVED IT. Definitely inspired by Mamma Mia but much brasher, it was a toe tapping journey back to the 80s with a soundtrack I wanted to get up and dance in the aisles to (certainly a Fame moment or two). Once again I think I am bucking the trend by liking what others have put down but I had a smile on my face throughout the whole film. If you're a child of the 80s put down whatever you're doing and get yourself a seat in front of the big screen and prepare to lighten your heart. Great!!!!!
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Fluffy film!
traceytummon29 June 2014
Pretty much what I expected - a just reading the trailer with a bit of common sense tells you all about the film and you can work the rest out with little effort! Music was OK - storyline totally predictable, acting pretty rubbish. Not my usual sort of film but went in a group. If you liked Mamma Mia you will probably enjoy this, but definitely not my cup of tea! Good bits were the scenic vistas (does make you want to visit) and the Italian eye candy for the ladies. Definitely not a 'deep and meaningful' film and when they launched into song at the drop of a hat, it got quite amusing (though I am not sure that was the intention). What I would call a fluffy film - no substance to it but I didn't fall asleep and I did tap my feet a few times!
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My 7 years old kid said it was so much fun!
poison_br27 October 2014
Really can't believe this one is so underrated. I lived the 80s and for sure i was expecting some weird covers but hey, while i was singing along and ignoring the actual story of the movie, acting was really decent and the singing is actually amazing from all the actors. Give it a break guys, can't do nothing about you being borne in the 2000s. Mamma Mia was good, yes, but this one is quite brilliant also, even more when they offer a less known cast. My 7 year old daughter loved it all, from beginning to the end, she danced along, sang along, and even asked me why she have never seen this songs on TV... well, had to show her on youtube and she loved them all. Great songs, great performances, brilliant singing. 10 out of 10 as i loved it and my kid also.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic Feelgood Film
ElSaunders15 July 2014
I really don't get these bad reviews. This is meant to be a fun upbeat film, which it is. You cant help just sitting with a smile on your face while you watch it. The film is so ridiculous that its amazing. The cast randomly burst out in song at inappropriate times and a lot of reviewers have stated that it wasn't good but I found it funny and endearing, it just makes you want to grin. The songs are all classic popular 80s hits that you just want to sing along with, their voices aren't amazing but they are real which I really liked it made the film more enjoyable in my opinion.

I loved this film and am looking forward to its DVD release as I will be first in line to buy it. Seriously if you feel like you need a pick me up this is the film to watch.
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best film I've ever seen
ahowes-643074 July 2018
This was a very pleasant surprise for my wife and myself. It is a completely enjoyable film from the first moment to the last. Fabled songs, good scenery, great choreography, entertaining storyline. Two very lovely actresses (who were unknown to me). A truly gay time (in the correct meaning of the word). It is an unrivalled experience of unalloyed pleasure in every particular and the best film I have ever seen!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I loved it!!!
kaiash10 October 2017
This film has everything I love!! It is cheesy, romantic and just beautiful. All of my dreams in one film! I loved everything about it. The love, the place and also the handsome main character. Everyone who is a romantic and love movies where love always wins have to see this movie!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Hard not to smile
mrocco-130 March 2017
Don't take it too seriously but it's not a bad movie. I pretty much love anything with romance at the core, so I probably liked this more than most. Don't love musicals per se, but thought the musical choices were great. It seemed like the actors were actually singing which was impressive. Either great editing or they can all sing well enough.The main thing that I enjoyed is that the actors are clearly having a BLAST making this movie, especially that last dance scene, and that's infectious. Couldn't help but smile along with them. It's a fun lighthearted movie that of course is geared towards those that like romantic movies, no matter how 'lightweight'. I was entertained.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautiful story and songs
f-2775324 July 2016
It is a love comedy of musical style. Since it contains some iconic hit songs, some of them might be familiar to you. They can make it possible that you get thrilled by the story much more.

Particularly, the relationship of each characters are portrayed uniquely in the drama. For example, a younger sister, the lead character, considers her oldster as trustworthy beloved person, but in the light of her love affairs, she can't help see her sister as a rival. She has been bewildered by such an unstable situation, and in other words, she has been in a dilemma whether she should betray her sister or follow her honest feeling for her ex-lover. Under such circumstance, her old sister, on the other hand, can be both protagonist and antagonist for her younger sister. The fluidity of the character's role sounds very new to me.

Over all, story is very dramatic enjoyable, and some well-known songs successfully doubles its feature.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sometimes you don't need the best, you just want happiness
CeeBee8628 January 2019
A few years ago, around December, I saw this movie for the first time and I immediately fell in love with it! Soon after, I bought the bluray and watched it many more times.

Now, a few years later, I still watch this movie about once or twice a year and I realised it has been my "Need of happiness" movie." My Go to movie. The one I grab when I feel down, when all I need is some fluffy love story. When I need some eye candy, when I need my fix of pure joy, my fix for summer, beaches and just 90 minutes of holiday.

I'm honest; this movie is filled with clichés, the dialogs are at some point cringy, the dancing and singing is sure not the best of the best (honestly, far from it) and there are even some scenes I skip. Just because I don't care for them. But I always remember a radio DJ a few years ago, saying that he saw this movie and he liked it, because he felt like the creators knew they were making a fluffy, not so high on quality, movie. They weren't trying to make the movie the next big thing, they were trying to make it a happy, fun, enjoyable movie.

And that's what it is. This movie takes you on a 90 minute summer holiday to Italy, together with the great 80's music, a sugar sweet love story and a bunch of good looking people (Especially Giulio Berruti! DAMN!!!), plus, the chemistry between the cast is there, which is a huge plus!

Don't watch this movie if you are looking for the next spectacular movie! Watch this movie when you want summer, sun, joy and happiness. Cause thats what this movie is!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Walking on Sunshine
jboothmillard17 December 2017
Warning: Spoilers
From the makers of the StreetDance movies, I found out later that the film was set to a soundtrack of popular 1980s songs, I was hoping for something worthwhile. Basically it opens with Taylor (Hannah Arterton, Gemma's sister) and her boyfriend Raf (Giulio Berruti) by the sea, Raf wants to stay in Italy with Taylor, but she wants to go to university. Three years later, Taylor goes on holiday to Puglia ("Holiday" - Madonna), her sister Maddie (Annabel Scholey), who went there following the break-up from her boyfriend Doug (Greg Wise), is there with their friend Lil (Katy Brand). Taylor is shocked when Maddie tells her she is getting married in two days, Taylor tells Lil that she does want to rekindle the relationship she had three years ago. Taylor goes down to the and reunites with her friend Elena (The X Factor winner Leona Lewis) and her boyfriend Enrico (Giulio Corso), as well as her friend Mikey (Danny Kirrane). Then she spots Raf, and follows him ("How Will I Know?" - Whitney Houston), before falling right in front of him, he is about to greet her, when Maddie interrupts and kisses him, revealing that Raf is Maddie's fiancé. Taylor pretends that she has never met Raf or the others, but Elena thinks she should tell Maddie the truth, Taylor says she would prefer to keep it secret and not worry Maddie. Later that night, the group go to dinner, Raf makes a speech about Maddie, Taylor tries to disguise her tears, then Maddie makes a speech ("The Power of Love" - Huey Lewis and the News). Taylor goes outside, Raf follows her, they say their relationship is "weird", Raf wants to tell Maddie about their relationship three years ago, but Taylor refuses, to protect Maddie and to not be made to feel like a fool. The next day, Maddie sends Raf and Taylor to sort out their clothes and the rings, Raf and Taylor argue about the past, they refer to their feelings; Elena, Mikey and Enrico overhear them, it is hinted the pair still have feelings for each other. Meanwhile, Doug turns up and surprises Maddie, he tells her he made a mistake breaking up with and wants her back, she declines, but he tries to persuade her ("Don't You Want Me" - The Human League). Maddie agrees to have dinner with Doug as a "final farewell", Elena and Enrico are discussing Taylor's secret by the pool, as Maddie walks in, she finds out Elena has a secret, Elena panics and tells her she is pregnant. Raf and Taylor return from wedding preparations, Taylor finds out about Doug and Maddie's dinner, an argument ensues, the others break up the argument, taking Taylor to the tomato festival ("Walking on Sunshine" - Katrina and the Waves), while Maddie is pampered for her hen night. After the festival, Raf and Taylor spend time by the sea ("Eternal Flame" - The Bangles), they almost kiss, but Taylor runs away, thinking of Maddie, Raf chases after her and demands to know if she has any feelings for him and to discuss what happened between them on beach. Maddie walks in and her hen party guests led by Elena and Lil surprise Raf and Taylor are arguing, Taylor is forced to reveal that Raf was her old love from her past Puglia holiday, but she lies and says she has no feelings for him, upset Raf says the same. After Lil kicks Raf out, the girls go out on the hen night, dressed up ("Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" - Cyndi Lauper); the boys do the same ("The Wild Boys" - Duran Duran). Taylor leaves the party, contemplating her true feelings for Raf ("It Must Have Been Love" - Roxette), he sings along in another part of Puglia on his stag do, Taylor realises she still loves him, and decides to leave to avoid destroying Maddie and Raf's relationship. While Taylor leaves for the airport, Doug is back waiting for Maddie, she realises he is still trying to woo her again, she plays out that they are going to have sex ("Faith" - George Michael), but she pushes him in the swimming pool, after which he reappears holding engagement ring, which confuses Maddie. The next morning, Lil finds Taylor at the airport, she says she needs to let go of Raf, her relationship with her sister is more important, Taylor agrees, and they go to the wedding. Lil and Taylor are late, Maddie also wakes up late, she hugs a picture of Raf, he meanwhile has been duct taped to a tree next to a nunnery, but everyone congregates at the church ("White Wedding" - Billy Joel), Maddie and Taylor reconcile before heading inside. At the altar, Doug stands objecting to Raf and Maddie's marriage, but Maddie tells him to sit down, Maddie then realises he is not truly in love with her, she says he deserves better, Raf leaves, but Taylor pursues him to apologize ("If I Could Turn Back Time" - Cher), at first is does not work, but Raf eventually joins Taylor on the rooftop, Taylor tells him she loves him, and they kiss. Later on the beach, Elena admits she actually is pregnant, Enrico is overjoyed, Lil hints to Mikey she has feelings for him, Taylor and Maddie reconcile, Doug interrupts them, Lil and Taylor strap him into a hang glider, he screams as he flown up, the entire cast perform together ("Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" - Wham!) and the film ends. The cast are all fine, the songs chosen for the scenes do work well, and I admit I couldn't help but sing along, it obviously wanted to cash in with the same success as Mamma Mia!, it is a predictable, cheesy and not always funny, but it is charming and feel-good enough to go along with, a reasonably fun musical romantic comedy. Worth watching!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
OK on a cold winter evening.
halexjack25 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I was looking forward to this film as I am a fan of musicals on stage and screen. I have to say the only good thing for me about this film was the rather good looking love interest Giulio Berruti. The storyline was very predictable and again Gilulio good looks made it bearable, as you had to wonder what he saw in either of the sisters... The singing was mediocre, the acting was very amateur and I have to ask what Greg Wise was thinking when he took the part... I did take my mind of the fact that I was watching on a cold winters evening and I did enjoy the singing by Leona Lewis. I do not think it is a musical I would watch again.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great choice of music but lame dance choreography
benlee-230-6476324 February 2015
I guess most people have not even heard of this musical movie. It is similar to Mama Mia without the big stars, and with pop 80's song instead of just ABBA. People from my age group will recognize all the songs. The interesting thing is this movie has a character similar to Pierce Brosnan in Mama Mia. Can you recall his singing talent? I found it fun to guess and recognize all the songs. However, the dance choreography is quite standard without much wow effect. The acting of some makes you feel like watching high school musical. Overall, I enjoyed watching it but not too many repeat in the future, which is rare for a musical movie.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Scenery, an abundance of Scenery Warning: Spoilers
Well what a film, Walking On Sunshine was. It was fantastic, exuberant. There was no shortage of Eye candy. But what caught my eye was the fantastic views, photographic chances. What I mean, is that had I had a camera(of course allowable) I would have taken BUCKETS of pics. The sunsets, the beaches. The plot was very simple. WE were treated to a relationship at the beginning that Taylor(Arterton) and Raf(Berruti) were having it off - hahaha. 3 years afterwards, Taylor flies into Puglia, Italy to see her sister Maddy(Scholey). Maddy then reveals that she's actually getting married. Both Taylor and myself nearly choked. What great timing indeed. Then with Whitney Houston's "How Will I Know" Maddy's boyfriend is revealed to be actually Taylor's Summer Romance 3 years ago. As my friend says "Awkward". The film is based on music of the 80s. So we got to hear The Power of Love; How Will I Know(Houston) and Fate. It was also revealed that Maddy's ex love Doug(Wise) is throughout the movie. He serenades her with love which sadly does not come into fruition. When Maddy eventually found out about Taylor's(her sister - might I add) Summer Romance, she was a bit mad over it. Yet Maddy's ex was constantly running after her or serenading. The tag line for the trailer Mamma Mia meets Pitch Perfect. Leona Lewis also made her film debut playing Elena. She was fantastic in it. Great acting. Finally to finish off, just as the wedding was about to commence, the Priest asks the congregation if there is anyone who should oppose the wedding or "Forever hold your peace". Doug stood up. Maddy says without even turning around, to "Sit down Doug". We all had a great laugh. The Priest attempted again. And this time, Maddy then said that she is not in love with Raf but "Is in love with Love". So Taylor attempted to reel Raf's charms by Cher's "If I Could Turn Back Time". She even went on the rooftop to "Reach for the stars" as suggested by Lil(Brand).
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
really good and satisfying
nerakrose-535-57262829 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
basically the only reason i went to see this was "hit songs from the 80s" i went in prepared not to like it. it's a chick flick. i tend not to like chick flicks because they are often problematic and bad and i usually watch them only when recommended to me and then end up really angry because they're so bad. (last one i watched was p.s. i love you. i hate hate hate that movie.) so i went in prepared not to like it, but i'd forgotten what it was even supposed to be about, so. open mind and all.

it had a bit of a rocky start, like it was trying to find its footing and not always in a super cool way. but already at the second musical number (the first one was awkward because the lip sync was just so obvious to me) i already loved it.

Annabel Scholey is in this. i did not know that. i might have wet myself a little when she showed up. i love her so much.

the thing about this movie is, it's like the best trope-y feel good fluffy and angst-y everything out there, complete with feels and fights and secrets and last minute admissions and everything i just. can't. set to the best soundtrack ever. i don't know about you, but about 80% of the songs in this movie i have written stories to for years. i just about died when the Bangles - an eternal flame in the beach scene it was just so satisfying and good. and then later Roxette - it must've been love

this was so good people, so good. the people who made this movie knew exactly what they were doing and did everything right. it pushed all the right buttons for me.

the hardest part about watching this movie was resisting the urge to sing along to all the songs (well, almost all the songs. there were a few i didn't know).

and a big part of what i love about this movie is that they took some of the sexist clichés from chick flicks and went 'not in our movie'. i loved what they did with Doug. i was so afraid it would all turn out bad but nope.

also it was full of gorgeous people. also a+ use of Cher - if i could turn back time. this was so awesome i could barely contain myself. the walking on sunshine scene was lovely too i loved it i loved the hen night / stag night scene their get ups were awesome and i was super excited once i realized that what i thought was a Mat Devine costume (so confused given he's not from the 80s) was actually an Adam Ant costume and i'm sorry Adam Ant but this guy wore it better i loved everything about it i'm forgetting a bunch of songs i'm so annoyed but it's okay because i am going to see this movie again as soon as possible.

OK there were a few problems with it: - they started out coding the two sisters as 'the slutty one' and 'the innocent one'. complete with colors and everything. Maddie with her dark hair and dramatic eye make up and red dress. Taylor with her blonde hair and blue eyes and white/pale colors. (and then they subverted it oh Maddie i love you let me marry you. she gives no f**** and she calls you out on your crap and Taylor turns out to have been the one who screwed things up and hurt Raf who's the innocent one huh? ?? ?) like was that necessary? sisters can be different without it being done this way. <.<

  • was it really necessary to pair the fat woman with the fat guy SERIOUSLY could she not have had a hunky hot Italian fella like the other girls??? i believed their flirting and all, i just. why. why. she was so cool! she could've had anyone. and they gave her the only other fat person in the movie. i'm mad about this. i. am. mad.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
(Wannabe) copy of Mammia Mia(?)
faith8719 June 2014
I've just seen this movie and sadly I must say it failed to impress. The movie tried to copy Mammia Mia: songs throughout the movie, a wedding. Or maybe that's too much to say, it was more of a Glee-ish movie, with Bollywood influences. The storyline is very poor, but that was to be expected. You know how to story is going to unfold just by watching the trailer. What's worse is that most of the actors didn't seem to have chemistry with one another. Compared to Mammia Mia (it's almost impossible not to compare the two), it was kind of bad. In Mamma Mia at least the song choices where chosen right and they fit in the storyline. In Walking On Sunshine the song choices and moments weren't always chosen right. Most of the time those moments were awkward and out of place. I gave 4 stars, because of the O.K. acting (by some actors) and because the singing sounded good.
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Summer Fun Rom-Com Musical
LiveLoveLead18 April 2017
FUN, FUN, FUN!!! This whimsical, musical rom-com has an adorable (and hot) cast, great music from the 80's and lots of cheesy giggles. It may not have the A-list cast, but If you enjoyed 'Mama Mia' you'll like this. Some people dis the singing, and although it wasn't Grammy award winning, it was just fine for this kind of venue. (some of Mama Mia's vocals were worse, lol) It's more about the energy, dancing, and playfulness during the song numbers. Like when you and your friends burst out singing to the radio. With beautiful Italy for the backdrop and lots of fun costumes, this is a predictable but vibrant, enjoyable, summer chick-flick. For all the great songs and warm fuzzy feelings, this gets 7stars in My Humble Opinion. (2017 second time I've watched it)
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't expect much... and you'll be delighted.
comolgab27 May 2019
A simple feel good movie. Yes it's got shortcomings, no it's not a masterpiece, yes it's a Mamma Mia rip-off, no the story is not totally realistic (or even a bit ). But the music of the 80s is good and is so much fun to watch. So just sit back, relax, and let it wash over you!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed