Electrick Children (2012) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Great original storyline, great actors.
gizemsahan4 December 2012
'Electrick Children' follows the story of a pregnant, 15 year old Rachel living in a Mormon society in present day. She claims that the father of her unborn child is the voice of a singer on a rock cassette she listened to, insisting that 'God got her pregnant through the tape'. When being forced to confess to her parents that she has sinned, frustrated that they won't believe her miracle and are persistent in arranging a marriage for her the next day, Rachel steals her father's truck and journey's into Las Vegas in order to find the singer on the tape. This 'coming of age' story is the first feature film of director Rebecca Thomas and stars actress Julia Garner, who is very convincing in her performance of the naïve, 'fish-out-the water' teenager alongside our skater/stoner character that happens to take a shine to her when they meet in Las Vegas. Clyde, played by Rory Culkin, does a great job in capturing the emotions of his character and is beginning to step out of his brothers' shadows in becoming a star in his own right. The film is enticing up until the last half hour when a charge of events and little time for the audience to comprehend them leads the ending to seem quite messy. Regardless, this film is successful in capturing teenage emotion and I have nothing but praise for Julia Garner and Rory Culkin who performed their roles wonderfully.
26 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Excellent touching, drama
jimlacy200327 October 2012
Admittedly I'm a bit jaded these days because I just watch to many darn movies. And a lot of them have been pretty bad of late. Well this one happens to be quite an unexpected gem!

The story is pretty enthralling from the beginning. And quite an unexpected plot. I can usually see plots unravel two steps ahead, but here it was smoothly unexpected or I was just enjoying it to much to notice.

I see this movie as a "human interest" and then partially a "coming of age" story. Smoothly eliciting a response that is very touching and self reflecting in greater or lessor degree about religion, cultural norms, life, romance, and in the end love.

One thing I didn't even get from the movie but read in the IMDb summery and from the one other comment is "Mormons". I think it's a mistake and unnecessary to the story. I've known a lot of Mormons for decades and none of them are like this. It might offend some with movie stereo types. I don't even recall them referring to them self as "Moron" in the movie. I just saw it as okay, some sort of fundamentalist/extremist religious group. It could of been of any faith, Amish, German Baptist, etc., that might share a remotely similar puritanical type lifestyle. Not a big deal, just saying calling them "Morons" detracts from the movie a little. Just forget the reference and enjoy the movie as it is.

The acting performances were very good, especially the lead who carried it through the whole movie. I hope to see more from this talented writer/director and the factors.

Highly recommended!
20 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Slow Paced, Pleasurable and Thoughtful
jayraskin11 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I was pretty sure I was going to watch only five minutes of this film when I turned it on Netflix late one night before going to sleep. However the film hooked me and I stayed up to watch half of it and caught the second half the next night. Two things caught me, the jumpy Terence Malick-like editing and visual style and the subtle, natural acting of lead Julia Garner.

The movie is very relaxed about telling its narrative, preferring to give us community atmosphere and causally letting the narrative fall out. The contrasting atmospheres of a strict Mormon/Amish-like rural religious community and an urban teenage punk-rock community is both strange and funny. Rebecca Thomas shows a lot of artistry and promise as a first time writer-director.

I looked up Julia Garner on Google because I had not seen her before and she really gives a breathtaking performance in the lead. She plays a girl raised in such a strict religious background that the Virgin Mary in the Jesus Mythology seems to be her only role model. I was not surprised to find that Bette Davis is her favorite actress. The performance seems modeled on some of Bette Davis' performances, especially, "the Petrified Forrest." (1936).

It was also great to see Liam Aiken whom I hadn't seen since "Lemony Snicket" (2004). Apparently, he has only done a few television shows since then. He also gives a wonderfully subtle performance as Julia's brother, "Mr. Will". His character is essentially a child forced to act serious and never smile.It reminds one how cruel a religious upbringing can be.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Flawed Ending But Beautiful Premise
samkan24 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
The first two-thirds of ELECTRIK CHILDREN has a spacey, ethereal beauty. The setting is the awesomely majestic landscape of the Utah high country though soon contrasted with the grit of Las Vegas. Though the children of each venue would seem similarly disparate, they bond remarkably well - so much better than adults would in a similar situation. The review blurb tells you 'Fundamentalist Mormon girl believes she's impregnated by music and travels to Las Vegas to find the father..." suggesting a comedy or calamity. Surprise, such is sincerely introduced and rendered entirely believable. The out-of-element Mormon kids could appear as exploitable prey to the stoner/skateboard punks. Surprise, the two teen cultures treat one another as fellow travelers in the anxious world of growing up. ELECTRIK CHILDREN would have done well to have simply ended with the ambiguity learned by coming-of-age experience. Unfortunately, the film gets too busy in it's last third, introducing characters, plot devises and unnecessary resolution. Notwithstanding, the film's tone and touches offer a sincerity and sweetness sorely lacking in movies today. I very much applaud this indie effort and recommend it without reservation.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Naiveness, Innocence and Discovery
claudio_carvalho3 January 2016
In a Mormon community in Utah, the fifteen year-old Rachel Angela McKnight (Julia Garner) discovers that she is pregnant. She believes in Immaculate Conception by the music of a blue cassette tape that she had listened to in a cassette recorder. Her father and religious leader Paul (Billy Zane) blames her brother Mr. Will (Liam Aiken) and expels him from home; he also arranges a marriage in the community for Rachel. However she decides to go to Las Vegas to seek out the father of her baby. She steals Paul's pickup truck and heads to Vegas, and Mr. Will that is sleeping in the trunk goes with her. They meet the skater Clyde (Rory Culkin) and his friend, the musician Johnny (John Patrick Amedori), and Clyde invites Rachel and Mr. Will to go with them in their van to the place where they live. Rachel and Clyde become romantically involved and Clyde offers to marry her. However Rachel wants to find the musician on the tape.

"Electrick Children" is an absurd story about a naive and innocent girl that was raped by her religious stepfather and believes in Immaculate Conception by the music of a blue cassette tape. The film keeps an ambiguity but what has happened is clear. Rachel is not moron, but Mormon, and certainly was induced by her stepfather to believe in Immaculate Conception. When she listens for the first time a cassette recorder, she commits a sin and concludes that the baby was generated by the music in the cassette tape. Her brother knows that Paul is the father and maybe that is why he is expelled from home. The plot is made to please the viewer but is offensive to the Mormon community and how she finds her biological father is unbelievable. But most of the characters are nice and this Indie film entertains despite the absurd. Just as curiosity, Rachel's mother is the Libby from "Lost". My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "A Fita Azul" ("The Blue Tape")
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Artistically Flawless, Amazing Cast; A Movie That Stays With You.
samanthamorganfields30 September 2013
I watch A LOT of movies. As I watched this movie, I thought that in some sense it reminded me of the movie 'Perks of Being a Wallflower'. I didn't even realize that Julia Garner is in 'Perks of Being a Wallflower'! Every scene in this movie is perfect. The music is perfect. The way they incorporate narration or conversations in each scene is unique but works very well and again, creates a certain mood. Although this is no average plot, by the end of the movie, the characters to the viewer are well-known. It's like a good book; when the book is over you almost miss the characters - and I definitely felt that in this movie. The movie felt very Nostalgic. What a beautiful film!
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Great Idea for a Movie
curtis-813 January 2015
This is an amazing job for a first feature film by a writer-director who was still in film school. A fine effort by a talented amateur with very little money on hand.

But, seriously, it's not a particularly good film overall. It starts strong--the scenes in the religious country home all ring true. I think that's because this is the part that the writer-director was actually familiar with in real life. Once Racheal gets to Vegas, however, the movie falls apart into random, loosely connected scenes that feature what seems to be very, very poorly improvised dialog. The poor actors just seem to be at a loss as to what they are supposed to be saying or doing. And the effect isn't "natural," it's just the opposite. You are totally aware that these are actors trying to think of what to say and do, not real people who just don't know what to say. Like a bad home movie or a the plot part of a porno. Incongruities abound as Racheal, who was so sheltered that she had never heard pop music, talked on a cell phone, and didn't even know what a tape recorder was all the sudden starts tossing around terms she would never have heard before like "rock and roll" and "cell phone." And the revelatory scene (can't tell you what it is)is implausible beyond belief. It, and many other parts of the Vegas section, was an interesting idea that the filmmaker apparently just didn't have time to work out in a way that worked.

The acting was pretty good, when dialog was scripted. Billy Zane as the religious nut dad was smooth and professional, but seemed way too nice and reasonable to be the relative heavy of the piece; a hint of darkness in dad would have made the whole movie a bit better. The woman who played the mom was very good too, in a limited role.

The guy who played Racheal's newly found boy friend was easily the most accomplished young performer in the movie, even handling his part in the pointless, rambling Vegas scenes as though he actually knew what was going on (I don't think anyone else did).

But I have to say that, when they were given written dialog, the other young performers were for the most part very appealing. The girl who played Racheal was quite charming. She drifted from sheltered religious cult girl to valley girl without warning, but she was very expressive and had a good presence.

But overall, what we have is a very good 20 minute short film about a girl in an isolated Mormon cult who discovers rock and roll. And that is followed by over an hour of what seems like a first draft of a story that the filmmaker hoped would come together as they went along.

And who knows? If she had been afforded the time and resources of even a low budget Hollywood film, maybe she could have brought it together at that. There is obvious talent there!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An Unexpected Story Uniquely Told
Siren55519 May 2015
Electrick Children is the best kind of indie film, about characters unlike any you've probably seen before, experiencing genuine human relationships under intriguingly unusual circumstances. The scenes and characters stay with you in an almost haunting way long after you've watched it. More than just about any other film I've seen, Electrick Children "got" the true essence of a mother-daughter relationship, and there is much more to the story than that. You get the sense that the director genuinely cares about these characters and offers the viewer an honest, almost voyeuristic view of their lives. This film is no slapstick comedy, but it does have humor and warmth.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
electric* children
bookwormdrews15 February 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Electrick children is a beautiful movie that's even more beautifully shot. Director Rebecca Thomas shows a great cinematic sense and uses lighting brilliantly, from directly lighting Rachel in angelic fashion to the stark contrast between the dark Mormon community and the neons of the Vegas strip.

Julia Garner as Rachel really shines and viewers may recognize her from 'Perks of being a Wallflower' but this is her breakout performance. She perfectly balances the innocence and naivete of a Mormon fish-out- of-water, and is even totally believable when she insists her pregnancy is divinely inspired.

Other great performances come from Billy Zane as the overbearingly- devout Mormon patriarch (and Rachel's father) and from Rory Culkin as a band member who sympathizes with Rachel's plight. The best performance is turned in by Liam Aiken as Rachel's suspected lover and her partner in escape. He absolutely steals every scene he's in, growing and developing even more than Rachel herself. Fantastic work on his part.

Lastly, the soundtrack must be mentioned. The main song, which may have immaculately-conceived Rachel's child, returns throughout the film and never gets old. The sweetest moment happens when Rachel is speaking on a cell phone for the very first time and sings the lyrics softly. As a returning theme, one could not do much better than this particular tune.

Thumbs very much in the air.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome Indie.
heathersfash22 September 2013
I am a huge fan of indie films. When I came across this the other night I added it to my netflix list to watch. I started watching it last night and couldn't wait to finish it today. This movie's story line is genius. I would have to say that the way the story develops is brilliant. I love the fact that my brain was stimulated the whole time. There were so many levels to this movie, which made it so very intriguing to watch.

Now can I just say this... Rory Culkin is sexy in this film. I don't know quite what it is, but I get these weird attractions sometimes. I don't want to get into detail about the movie, but I suggest you watch it. I was hooked. After the movie was over, I was like that was a great movie.

<3 Heather May
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great Storyline, Poor Execution
zndouglass30 November 2014
'Electrick Children' follows the story of a pregnant, 15 year old Rachel living in a present day Mormon society. She claims that the father of her unborn child is the voice of a singer on a rock cassette she listened to, insisting that 'God got her pregnant through the tape'. Her family insists otherwise, and Rachel goes to Las Vegas to search for the father

Electrick Children is fresh, vivid, indie feel is what makes this film I love the colors and textures in the movie to feel like it was filmed on actual film stock. The warm lights of Las Vegas, indie rock, and the desert all make way for a beautiful place for this story to unfold.

Writer/Director Rebecca Thomas understood what she meant to say, but as with so many independent filmmakers, she felt no obligation to communicate that message comprehensibly. Depicting events that could not possibly happen does not create symbolism. Failing to come up with an ending does not make the plot "open to multiple interpretations."
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Needed more
richwebb1017 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Great premise, poor execution.

I was surprised and disappointed to learn that Rebecca Thomas had both written and directed this movie. Not because I am adverse to Thomas I hasten to add. But because what is a very good idea, and what I had hoped would be a little gem, is executed very poorly. I would have liked to have seen Thomas' script directed by someone with more experience.

The biggest problem with this film is that the viewer has to answer a pretty important question mark, without much evidence. As it happens, it seems pretty obvious what this answer is but it would have been nice to have seen more evidence.

I also felt that so much effort had been put into the lead role, admirably depicted by Julia Garner, that much of the supporting cast were overlooked and as a result, under developed. For a film that is 95 minutes long, you really don't get a lot of information on which to answer the question mentioned above. A prime example is the brother, Mr. Will. He goes from devout Mormon, to pill popper, door slamming bad ass and then back again in a matter of days, and you have no idea of his past, or any insight into what he is thinking.

7/10 because the story is good, it looks beautiful and Garner makes the film worth checking out. 3/10 because Thomas' promising script has been let down by inexperienced directing.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Thoroughly Enjoyable
meganddavies7 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Stumbled across this lovely film on Netflix last night, and after reading the summary was curious as to how it would turn out, and it was a lot better than I thought !

We follow the 15 year old Rachel who believes that she has had an immaculate conception and got pregnant by listening to a tape that she found (we are left to assume how she actually got pregnant) Julia Garner plays a brilliant part and she played the character so well you can almost believe she got pregnant through listening to the song

We see Rachel and her brother Mr Will go from their rural Mormon village to the gritty streets of Las Vegas were they meet some rockers who take them in as fellow travellers and what we see is a beautiful coming of age story as Rachel and Mr Will adapt and experience new things. Another brilliant performance by Rory Culkin as the stoner/skateboarder who falls in love with Rachel and helps her along her way.

Overall 7/10 an enjoyable watch, with incredible cinematography and of course, an excellent soundtrack !
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Transitioning Between Two Worlds!
spookyrat112 June 2019
Electric Children is an interesting debut feature from writer/director Rebecca Thomas focusing on a 15-year-old girl from a fundamentalist Mormon community in Utah, who mysteriously gets pregnant, causing her to launch off on a hastily convened road trip to Las Vegas, in an effort to find "the father" of her unborn child. This somewhat left of centre storyline is made more believable, knowing Thomas herself was raised as a Mormon. Clearly her religious experiences have undeniably strongly influenced the making of this intriguing, but ultimately uneven film.

The first act primarily set in the creepily small, remote Utah hamlet arguably features the best scenes in the movie. I use the word "creepily" deliberately, as despite the rugged attractiveness of the locations, plentiful sunshine and pollution-free natural desert environment and bed-time story sessions, the sect's embrace of biblical studies and accountability, at the expense of a normal education and social upbringing of children is quite unsettling. We can certainly accept that when 15 year old Rachel discovers she is pregnant, she is convinced that she has conceived miraculously, like the Virgin Mary, via an old cassette recorder, owned and hidden away by her mother.

Julia Garner is perfectly cast as the naive, ethereal, but determinately positive teenager, opposed to a hastily arranged shotgun marriage, by her shady father, the leader of this tiny group. Rory Culkin is also surprisingly good and effective as a rebellious teenage skater, come musician runaway, she meets after absconding from her village in a stolen pick-up.

I feel Electrick Children would have been a better film if Thomas had just concentrated on Rachel's story, with greater emphasis on her relationship with her mother, whose influence on the story behind the cassette player and ensuring events is greater than either her or Rachel realise. Instead Rachel's brother Mr Will and his experiences after hiding away in Rachel's getaway truck, is introduced as an unneeded sub-story, which arguably comes to dominate and unbalance the main narrative. On top of all this, the audience is asked to accept a huge contrivance in the third act to deepen the overall story and add more sense to earlier snippets we see of Rachel's dreams/visions. The climax to the film, whilst providing some amusement, also seems a pretty blatant rip-off from more accomplished films such as The Graduate.

Electrick Children is still worthwhile investigating however, if you're interests lie in getting a realistic peek at the type of closed community, whose collective, at times distinctly dubious, ethical actions, many might argue, should face more transparent legal scrutiny in wider mainstream society.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Promising Young Actress
billcr1226 October 2012
Rebecca Thomas' first feature as writer-director is an interesting character study of a fifteen year old Mormon girl, Rachel, played with a wonderful and understated performance by Julia Garner. It begins with daddy dearest questioning the teen about her devotion to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints; also known as Mormons. The wide eyed innocent proclaims an unquestioned faith in the teachings to her father. He explains that the interview must be recorded on a cassette player. She later finds the device and pops in a tape with the song "Hanging on the Telephone" on it. While listening to it, she has an epiphany. She believes that the singer is a messenger of God, and that he has chosen her to carry a modern day Baby Jesus. She becomes pregnant; and, of course, mom and dad do not believe her story of an immaculate conception, and a quick marriage to a boy in the Amish looking community is arranged. Rachel has other ideas, and steals the family pick up truck and drives to Las Vegas in search of the singer who has impregnated her via audio tape. She meets a rock band who takes her in and she learns about life outside of her sheltered commune. A few plot twists are included and the ending is rather ambiguous, but I recommend Electrick Children for a very believable Julia Garner; a very promising young actress.
10 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Confused?
DaveT108123 February 2013
Overall, I thought this picture was entertaining and enjoyable with good performances all around, especially by Julia Garner in one of her first feature film roles. However, there is something that needs to be pointed out. Evidently, there are a lot of people that don't understand the meaning of the term "Immaculate Conception". The term originates in the Catholic church and is a teaching referring to the birth of Mary - and that she was conceived and born free of original sin. That's all. It does NOT refer to the birth of Jesus or "virgin birth" and to use it in that sense is wrong. The term has a specific definition regardless of popular belief. Look it up. I know what it means and I'm not even Catholic.
4 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I didn't know one of the Kulken brothers was a spawned from the devil?!
juanmuscle19 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A line from the movie but in all seriousness Rory did a great job, he seems to be involved in a lot of cool fun projects, I can't wait to see more!

I thought the idea for this was extremely original, a song from a tape coming out of a tape player no less lol, got a girl pregnant! Who would of thunk that!

I just loved this; out of each and new intersting character you get another fresh perspective and a deeper look at the spectrum of human emotion, this was very very cool but definitely the protagonist chick, when she followed someone around because he had a tape stenciled on his shirt that was genius!

And Rory's character was so cool, this doesn't need a lot of explanation, it is just a very good write and when put all together and have it come to life, it just works, its difficult to explain, but for me, it just works, almost like the main relationship and their sudden connection and how invariably leads to a mysterious chemistry that should of and could never have happened except for something this original and a really well thought out witty very interesting pen!

Very nice... I would love to see this creative's project even more creative and original than this, if that is possible than maybe tape players do make people with child! lol...
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Very Entertaining
NickA200526 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Electrick Children was a very entertaining movie with a great cast. This story line was very creative. The movie was very symbolic. Although at some points within the movie, it was a bit hard to follow. My favorite part of the movie was when the mother had a connection with Rachel as she gave her the keys to the car late at night.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A tale of the blue cassette tape and what all it has seen.
TxMike3 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I found this one on Netflix streaming movies. Frankly the title intrigued me, and after seeing it I am glad I did. It isn't a real clear and linear story, although most of it happens linearly. It is about a girl raised in a traditional Mormon family in Utah, just turning 15, and finding out she is pregnant. Her dad's reaction is to quickly arrange a marriage with a nice young man, but she steals the family truck and runs away to Las Vegas.

Julia Garner is the 15-yr-old girl, Rachel, and she is absolutely perfect and believable. She has taken in all the bible stories as she grew up and instantly decided hers was an Immaculate Conception, she believes by listening to a certain song, and she intends to find the "father", the singer of that song.

Billy Zane is good as her dad, Paul. Rory Culkin is good as Clyde who she meets in Las Vegas, and who says he will marry her if she can't find the man who sang the song on the blue tape.

Most of the story here is indirect and some will not like it for that, but I found it totally absorbing. Who is the father of her baby? In a sense it is left to the viewer to decide but it is not the primary concern of the story.

SPOILERS: Reading interviews with Rebecca Thomas, writer-director who herself was raised Mormon, she doesn't really clarify it but hints that it is intended to be a modern day Mary and Joseph story, someone coming forward to accept the pregnant Rachel without judging. Many viewers however believe that several clues in the movie point to her dad, Paul, as being the father, maybe because on her search finding her biological father who had a tryst in the red Mustang with her mother, and Paul knew this was not his own daughter. I myself had concluded Paul was the most likely father but it is indeed left unclear.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What is the point of this movie again?
dirtphelia15 March 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Apparently rebellious Mormon teenage girl runs away. She's just found out she's pregnant because she was raped but she can't remember the rape though it was no more than a couple months earlier.

She's never even seen a tape recorder but she can identify a vintage Mustang in the middle of the night as it drives through what looks like a quiet middle class residential neighborhood.

Rock dudes take her and her brother with them indefinitely. They guess she's pregnant because of no logical reason whatsoever and dude says girl's damaged goods because she's pregnant. One rocker dude falls in love with pregnant girl, apparently, and out of nowhere, and says he'll marry her.

Then red Mustang drives up to the church to interrupt wedding, which was arranged 2 seconds earlier. And long-gone dad just what, gives the happy couple his Mustang.

What a strangled attempt at creating an epic, tried just too hard guys. This movie seems like an attempt to make an indie/hipster epic but it failed. What a desperate attempt at being oh-so- rebellious.

Let's see, uhm, a little too weak.
7 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Okay but confused
Stiobhan1 February 2014
Different, worth a watch, however confusing. Obviously beliefs and doctrines are not the same for all.

As for Catholics, Immaculate Conception is that Mary was born without original sin, and was a virgin before giving birth to Jesus and after the birth as well (perpetual virgin?). Quote "Mary's perpetual virginity after Jesus' birth was proclaimed as dogma for the Catholic Church at the Third Ecumenical Council of Constantinople of AD 681"

Having said that, Jesus existed before Mary gave birth to Him (go figure}, so down deep it's what your belief is and how each Christian denomination interprets the teachings.
3 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Strangely intriguing
masonmorgan-9291726 December 2016
Rebecca Thomas' Electrick Children is a generally obscure 2012 film that received very little attention from critics or the general public. Whether or not attention was deserved, Elecktrick Children is a bizarre and sometimes charming visuals-driven story of teen curiosity and adventure in an unknown world. It's quite literally a personal story for director Rebecca Thomas (who was a mainstream Mormon raised in Las Vegas) and it shows as Electrick Children is more of a feast for the senses rather than a cohesive narrative-driven story.

Electrick Children features a cast of talented teenagers with Julia Garner playing the lead. She does an excellent job portraying a naive and curious Mormon experiencing elements of the outside world for the first time. She is perfectly awkward when she needs to be as her innocence and purity makes her character easy to like. The cast includes many other rebellious teenagers but her character is really the only one that gets built upon and developed. This isn't too much of a flaw as the story is really supposed to only be focused on her and her mission, but some development to these supporting characters wouldn't have hurt. Overall, Julia Garner was fantastic and I look forward to seeing her in future titles.

The story, albeit quite simple, is full of wonder but sometimes uneven. The film is heavily stylistic as we witness things through the Mormon teenager's eyes as she gazes in wonderment at things she has never seen before. There is a heavy emphasis on lighting and music, helping to immerse us in the world that this girl is experiencing for the first time. We feel just as lost as her as we meet many different types of people and engage in nefarious juvenile actions. While the film is mostly entertaining, there are noticeable slumps in the pacing. Sometimes there are quite long stretches of slow and tedious drama, and while these sequences are infrequent, it still hurts the films pacing quite a bit. Another issue with Electrick Children is the unsatisfying ending. We get a pretty great third act filled with interesting interactions but all this builds up to an abrupt and inappropriate ending. Many important questions are not answered or even acknowledged, making the film feel unfinished.

Despite the few issues, Electrick Children is a charming and strangely intriguing story of teen curiosity that resonates quite personally with the director, who clearly showed passion in their work here. The story is interesting and mostly well told when it isn't treading too lightly. The great acting from the lead actress and the colorful and dreamy narrative makes Electrick Children an experience that is easy to enjoy despite uneven pacing and poor ending. The themes of teenage angst and rebellion makes the experience a deeply personal one as we can all understand what our lead character is going through. Except for the "pregnancy through music" part.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I wanted it to be good, I swear I did.
beatbox54542 October 2014
Electrick Children was an awesome movie....or could have been if the story had some work on it. Rory Culkin and Julia Garner are the reason why this movie was saved. The bright innocent eyed Rachel (Julia Garner) shows us the true meaning of innocence while Clyde (Rorry Culkin) takes her and her brother for a ride of their lives. Rebecca Thomas (Director/Writer) had an amazing story on her hands if only she knew how to end it without so many plot holes in her film. I give this a 7/10 because it wasn't a BAD film, I just wished that it was worked on a little bit more before releasing the film. Maybe then people might be able to appreciate the film a little bit better and hopefully more people will recognize the potential that this film could of had.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ultra Conservatism meets Rock n' Roll !!!
avik-basu188917 July 2015
'Electrick Children' is a small American Indie film that I decided to watch because the synopsis of the film seemed interesting. The film is about a teenage girl named Rachel living in a Mormon Community who gets pregnant and his brother Mr. Will is accused of being the father, which Rachel denies as she believes the baby inside her is the son of God.

Although the film is a small budget, somewhat obscure indie film, but its storyline and the themes that are at work are very ambitious. Writer/Director Rebecca Thomas's script certainly has various layers running through it. But her visual style of storytelling is also pretty impressive. The cinematography deserves to be admired as the film looks great. Lights and bright colours are an important part of the film and its themes and they shoot out of the screen due to the vibrant nature of the cinematography.

Thomas intentionally keeps the film relatively ambiguous throughout. It is open to diverse interpretations, but the main themes in the film that I think to be at work are the themes of awakening (both psychological and sexual) and embracing others(who might seemingly be different to you) and your own self and live the kind of life that you want to live instead of being forced to live the life of someone else's choice. The ambiguous nature of the film keeps it from being too preachy as most of what is being conveyed is through visual hints and metaphors that may imply something or the other. It does get a bit predictable at times, but for the most parts the script is solid.

Julia Garner's performance as Rachel is one of the main reasons why 'Electrick Children' works. She is brilliant as the naive, innocent, yet infinitely determined girl who is searching for something or someone in a spirited quest of biblical nature. Rory Culkin as Clyde also is impressive in a number of scenes.

"Electrick Children' isn't groundbreaking cinema, but it certainly is ambitious with its content and is sure to make you think about it after its conclusion.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed