Twisted (TV Series 2013–2014) Poster

(2013–2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
24 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Surprisingly Interesting!
I never quite know what to expect when you hear about a new teen drama series. However, this caught me by surprise and kept me interested through the show. I never once thought to myself...come on now, when is this going to get better. I actually can't wait for next episode to air! I am certainly intrigued and love it when I come across either a show or a good book that I look forward to finding out what will happen next. So with that said, I want to say thank you to the writers and producers for the so far great concept and keep up the good work! Please don't let the story line get off track like many teen shows have the tendency to do. Thanks for letting me share! Carey Cunningham
36 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Lives up to its title
TheNorwegianRocker26 June 2013
I was very curious about what might come out of Twisted, which is a kind of project that can both be fantastic and awful - depending on whether or not they pull off the mystery element of the series. And thankfully, it has. I find myself excited for each episode, because the show is fascinating and suspense (and twisted), and I feel that I HAVE to follow the process from beginning to end.

The murder mystery builds up to be quite the thriller. Danny is not the only one who seems to have an agenda with everything he does: Most of the characters look like they in one way or another have something to hide. Even though it does not have any explicit violence scenes, it sometimes still manages to be quite scary. The dramatic intrigues are well thought through and never boring.

The plot admittedly drives a lot of the show, but it is also important to have interesting characters in it to make it a bearable show, which it (again, thankfully) does. It has a complicated, mysterious main character that we immediately take pity in, and who we desperately wish is innocent, at the same time we know he has something to hide.

Avan Jogia is brilliant as Danny, as he manages to show huge vulnerability and a tortured soul behind the charismatic, witty, charming and sarcastic character he plays. Danny has more layers than ten onions, and Jogia covers them all with ease. Perfect casting from the showrunners there. Although the two female leads, Madelaine Hasson and Kylie Bunbury, have somewhat less to act on than Jogia does, they both deliver fine performances, and they also do have great chemistry with Jogia.

They are supported by a mostly good supporting cast. Ashton Moio is an absolute revelation as the show's much needed comic relief, who is loyal (if a bit awkward), but also somewhat vulnerable. Moio steals almost every scene he is in with his remarkable comic timing. Sam Robards is always a safe bet. However, I do feel like Denise Richards is terribly miscast. She seems uncomfortable in every single scene she is in.

I strongly recommend to give this show a chance, as it has set a solid plot with solid performances. I give it an 8 out of 10 based on the three first episodes, but chances are it will be even better from now on.
27 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my favorites
soso135730 June 2015
I used to watch Twisted with my best friend, and there was never a dull moment! Twisted is a seriously addicting TV drama with plot twists that make it all the better. Towards the end of season 1, the show becomes a hot mess that is still majorly addictive and fun (if only to figure out what the writers will throw at you next). I can't describe why Twisted's "Ex-murder Convict Meets High School With Fresh Romances And A Brand-New Murder Scene to Investigate" premise is so good. it just is. The show only gets better from there. Amazing performance from Avan Jogia.

Great while it lasted. Wish they hadn't cancelled this show.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Very Interesting series
kostasThrillSeeker26 January 2014
I have to admit this TV-series was a pleasant surprise to me.At first,I thought it would be an average teen show mostly about romantic relationships between high school kids,but I was obviously wrong!I found it extremely smart,exciting and definitely full of suspense and guessing about the evolution of the plot.The actors seem quite talented to me,even though most of them have no significant previous experience.I also think that the setting is ideal and pretty atmospheric as well!Everything comes together perfectly and there are no unnecessary things.All in all,I would describe ''Twisted'' as a TV-show that takes your breath away and makes you eagerly hold your breath until the next episode!
12 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Can't stop watching!
valleydreamin16 January 2014
I really didn't plan on enjoying this show but I've been pleasantly surprised. It's not exactly Shakespeare but it's entertaining. I'm not a fan of soap operas but Twisted has a good story line and the teenagers are more believable then most of the teenage dramas. I found the show on Netflix and I watched the first seven shows in one setting. I was glad to see that it was renewed for a second season. I love a good mystery and this show has enough mystery and intrigue to hold the viewers attention. The adults are slowly revealing more of their histories as we'll. I'm reminded of series that only ran for one season called Reunion. The same underlying current of tension and not really knowing who is guilty and who isn't, and for a pleasant change there are no vampires, werewolves or any other type of supernatural creatures. Lots of fun to watch!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show
ginger-929538 November 2015
I enjoyed this show so much, I miss it so much. This show isn't draggy at all like other shows like Pretty Little Liars, It was fun, it got to a conclusion and I just wish this show would come back, it wasn't even the chance . This show is fun , entertaining, a family show and just go fantastic. I got so into this show I felt like I was apart of it. There is so much junk on TV now but this show leaves. It makes no since Ugj I would do anything to have they start it back up again. I would watch this show faithfully and I know tons of people that would to. I am very disappointed and got to say this show Will definitely be on my Favorite TV show lists.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not So Twisted
MoshiMoshiYoshi29 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The initial concept of this show sounded quite promising. It was advertised as a murder mystery surrounding a 16-year-old boy. When Danny returns home from juvenile hall after five years, he's ready to dive right back into his friendships with Jo and Lacey, his childhood best friends. There are subtle hints here and there as to whether or not he's really a socio. While Lacey is reluctant to believe him, Jo doesn't need much persuading to let him back into her life.

The first half of the season has a clear goal; to solve the mystery of who really killed Regina (a popular student who is murdered in the first episode). Is Danny really guilty, or is someone simply setting him up? The audience is given various clues, and the team behind the show had even set up a site keeping track of all those clues for us. The slow establishment of the characters feels raw, real and interesting.

Then comes the second half of the season. Everything that was properly established in the first half gets thrown out the window. The relationships between the three leads turns into a rather laughable, pathetic love triangle, where in the end Danny realizes that he's always been in love with Jo, leaving Lacey (his initial love interest) out to dry. Every story, every mystery, every single speech any character gives goes back to the character of Jo. Both Danny and Lacey are reduced to secondary characters. While it is essential for television shows to often shift focus so as to generate more interest, in the case of Twisted it lost its core audience completely with this move. Jo is never a likable character. While the actress is able to portray wonderfully the angst of a typical teenage girl, the writing for her is flat and often irritating.

The steady clues are erased. The murder mystery is gone, to be replaced by annoying lovers quarrels. The writers also decided to introduce more characters, none of whom are ever important to the initial plot. The twists make no sense. The reveals are shameful. The entire storyline compares to a hilarious soap opera rather than a mysterious drama.

Perhaps the creators lost sight of what the show was really supposed to be about, and decided to instead cater to the cries of a very small percentage of their audience. Do they regret it? Probably not. It's a shame too, because in the very beginning it looked like this show would be something great, something new and promising.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show
shawntay-4432619 February 2016
I didn't really think I would continue to watch all these shows of twisted but when I started watching it in the very first beginning the TV was interesting. This show would really have you thinking about what's going on and who's telling the truth. I guarantee if you start watching this TV show you will not be able to stop. I watched this TV show on Netflix when we had all that snow and I finished watching all of the shows in like 5 days. I was watching the show non stop lol every chance I had I was watching wondering what was going to happen next. The only thing I hated about this show was that it got really interesting as the shows continued but then it ended all bad like I wanted to know what happened next. I think they should make a new episode finishing from where they left off on the last episode.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Genius.
trishwright32 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
First of, the series is amazing. Actually, no, it's beyond amazing. The definition of "Twisted" is genius. The series has a variety of drama, of love, death, and many, many turning points, or shall I say "twists." It has so much potential. It has so much more to offer. It's so interesting. It portrays situations between the truth and consequences. You never know what's going to happen next. If you want to watch a show that's unpredictable, then I suggest you give "Twisted" a try. I promise you won't be disappointed. Unless you're not into intense drama. By the way, drama isn't always a bad thing. And no, it's not a chick flick. I know guys and girls who are into it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Was good until 2nd season deal
kiheimaui-765-65781814 August 2013
This was a very good series until episode 9. Now, as normally happens when they sign for a 2nd season, instead of giving a clever resolution and a clean ending to the plot, they start destroying the series by adding uninteresting confusing side stories to build up for some cliff hanger so that people keep watching a continuously confusing lackluster storyline. It's time to stop watching. And if I was the author of this story I would never allow ABC to destroy it. The person that invented this story and its rich characters has to be a very good script writer; why allow ABC destroy your stories? It would be better to sign just for one season and be recognized for your integrity and good stories. Hollywood corrupts people: you lower your standards little by little and pretty soon they will have your soul.
19 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best show ever
swiftieselenator616117 March 2014
This show is so amazing and intense, that's why I love it so much. When I seen the promo for pilot I just knew it was going to be a Good show. I really hope they give us a season two. It is a twisted show so I see why they picked that for the title. Plus this show has incredible actors and actresses. So far I am very impressed by this show and by everyone who is on the show. They are doing a fantastic job. I think my favorite episode so far has to be the son also falls. It's just so crazy and plus I'm a Janny fan. I hope this show continues on because it's the best show I've ever watched. It may be twisted and crazy but I think that it is perfect, and people should really watch this show more often. I will tell you that your gonna be amazed of how good this show is.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
What is he?
Hideki-M26 July 2013
When two girls, Lacey and Jo, were playing in a garden, their best friend, Danny, came to them and he said "I've just killed my aunt".

This drama began when Danny was released from juvenile detention and entered school where Lacey and Jo go 5 years after this incident. Two girls are estranging each other. Jo had been annoyed at first she met him again, but they have returned to friends gradually. But Lacey tried to keep distance from him because she was scared of him as well as other students because of the incident. To make matters worse, that night he entered the best friend of Lacey, Regina, was killed.

The interesting points of this drama are that 1) Why did he kill his aunt. 2)Though the prime suspect in murder of Regina is Danny, did he kill her? 3) What will happen between Danny and the students who hates him and ridicule Jo, and 4) Danny seems good boy and doesn't seem hurt anyone else, but is he really sociopath?
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
THIS SHOW IS TWISTED Spoiler
orundab29 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I like the show since it premiered on March. many can say it relates to a few aspects of PLL, but every show has something unique in it especially this one. have watched till episode 11. Am anxiously waiting for the next episode no 12 on Tuesday next week. this show produces a unique theme TWISTED.while watching u keep your head up asking yourself whats is twisted now.I will be sincere and say it is very twisted. Wow what do u think between Danny and Jo, are they sister and brother? why did Danny? kill her aunt?its said he killed his aunt,by the end of episode 11 are u sure anymore? In episode 11 what do u think?,did he? and finally Jo's mother calls Vikram at the end of episode 11!THAT IS TWISTED.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Confused on why it got canceled??
chloereist11 February 2019
This show was so good!! I was so happy that freeform put on a good murder mystery show with not too much mush and goeyness. It really focused on the friendships of the kids and maybe a few hookups here and there, but not too much like pretty little liars or other shows that just focuses on the kissing scenes. So bummed that it ended !!!!!!! I don't understand!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it
tsfloyd-5479718 November 2017
Dark but good. I hope Netflix or something picks up this show. It was cut way to early and in it's prime to me. Danny was my fave character and he and Jo really had something. I did not like the hate and hate sentiment from everyone at the start towards Danny and then turning to him like they were still his best friend. I would like to see where that is going. I hope Netflix puts this back on. I don't think he did it for one. I think he covering for someone that threatened his life or something but that is just me.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Too Familiar Plot. Boring.
leadfog28 July 2013
It says the show is some Drama, mystery and Thriller. Its all true. But too familiar plot.

Someone killed someone, someone get blamed. No real idea who the killer is. And the conspiracy continues. Now stretch the plot until the show is cancelled or renewed. Same old ABC family channel Plot. There is another show in ABCF, Pretty Little Liars with almost same conspiracy thing going on. I used to love that show. Now this show and I am bored. if someone did not watch Pretty Little Liars, this show should be entertaining. Overall a good show , I would say.

I liked the first episode so continued to watch. Big mistake, so give it a 4 out of 10 ratting instead of 8 out 10.
11 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I got twisted....
nitikboni12 November 2018
The show is beyond what i would have thought...the actors are amazing ...their acting superbbbbb ..most supenseful series but i dont know why they given so less stars
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A series about teenagers and for teenagers.
cheriesvintages6 April 2014
After seeing its rating and reading the first few reviews, I didn't hesitate to begin watching the pilot. It was interesting, not compelling; it is completely predictable. It's not bad, in fact, for a young audience, it is a clean-cut show and clearly depicts the same high school cliques that have always been part of high school. It didn't occur to me that the likely age range of those reviewing the show was probably between 14-17 years old. Still, I am on the last episode of the first series. Although it's not yet been confirmed, I have doubted from the first introductory scenes of the pilot that the father of the main character actually died in the plane crash (body not recovered). We'll see. Again, there have been no surprises thus far - a completely predictable, albeit entertaining, show if there's nothing else to watch.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wth
jmpsrv26 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Why didn't they finish the show and why would Hulu play an incomplete story?
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
ABC Family why?
kuashie17 October 2014
I have watched quite a bit of ABC shows and it has always been the same and this one didn't disappoint in that regard as well.

Their shows always start with a strong plot, funny, witty and likable characters only for it to degenerate into trash at later episodes, specifically from episode 6-7 onwards.

They mostly all the time ignore premise of their shows only to focus on lovy dovy stuffs which when skipped at times could have well served their series.

I would advice anyone who have noticed and hate this trend in their shows to skip it since its the same (bs) as always.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
predictable
ssaragino1 September 2013
Danny and Joe defiantly have more of a connection not Danny and Lacey. Every show and movie boys always go for the popular girl. When really Joe is way more prettier then lacy. And now Danny just looks like those guys Who will do anything for a girl that doesn't care about them.why would anyone want to be with a girl who is ashamed ti be with him and that thinks they killed somebody. That's just stupid I know I wouldn't like that.

Besides that this is my favorite show. I wouldn't miss it for anything.they did a great job casting. They couldn't pick a better Danny or Joe. Can't wait for the next season. Sorry if I made any one mad.
4 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Probably won't be renewed past season 1.
Shopaholic3512 July 2014
Twisted is like Nancy Drew in comparison to Sherlock Holmes. Not bad...just more tame and specifically targeted to a younger audience. The original idea was very intriguing but as the show has progressed they have piled more and more mysteries on top which makes everything seem a bit messy. It now feels like the creators bit off more than they can chew in an attempt to keep the viewers guessing. I guess that's why they called it Twisted but unfortunately it is a poorly executed show that probably won't make it past season 1.

The cast are fairly good, slightly weak, but as they get more experience I think their talent will develop. I did feel slightly more invested in the show when they first aired part 1 of season 1 but due to the long break with airing the rest of the season I am losing interest. It was stupid to do as now the suspense has been lost. I think the fact that the network is still yet to renew the show says it all. I just hope the last episode doesn't leave any unanswered questions, but I'm not optimistic.
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I don't think the show made the cut .
I am sorry but after the first or second episode this show went downhill . They strayed from the tittle and they could have picked better actors . ABC might give this show a 2nd chance but the rating will be the same . They are not bad actors but they don't compare to the other shows such as Little Liars and most of the shows that are competing with ABC such as Netflix shows. Hemlock Grove and Orange is the new Black and House of Cards . If you are going to have a drama the actors have to show some drama . Not just stand there and look good . Kill the show or add new actors to the show . Just don't give us some of the same . Really kill Ravenwood over this show . Twisted had been placed on one of the best time spots and still couldn't get views . ABC there is your big hint .
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Lost its steam midway through the season
SnoopyStyle21 August 2014
Danny Desai (Avan Jogia) returns to school after 5 years in juvenile detention for killing his aunt. Jo Masterson (Maddie Hasson) along with Lacey Porter (Kylie Bunbury) were his best childhood friends. Jo's father (Sam Robards) is the town's police chief. Danny's mom is Karen (Denise Richards). He's an outcast in school with everybody calling him Socio. The morning after a party, the popular girl is found dead and Danny is immediately the only suspect.

This is a show with a great premise but it loses its steam when the premise is lost. There is a fascinating pull between Danny's guilt and innocence. However this is lost over time and the show kept scrambling to recover. The show lost all its steam midway through the first season and didn't get renew for the second.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed