Instructions Not Included (2013) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
83 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
An Unexepected Gem
maria-mahecha26 September 2013
My boyfriend and I went to see this with my father last night. It was not at all what I expected and as the movie progressed, I was continually surprised. What a lovely movie. Not just a comedy, but a truly heart-warming story. The little girl's acting performance is Oscar worthy. Seriously, where did they find her? My boyfriend usually hates movies with sub-titles, but this one made it worth the trouble for him. If you speak Spanish, like me, then you will get more of the cultural references, but you don't need to understand Spanish to get this movie. Fear is universal and so are lessons in courage, and this movie really spoke to that. Make sure to take your hankie. Watch, watch, watch this movie!!!
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pregnant With Meaning, Amazing Movie
BabyCakes971 September 2013
I believe Eugenio Derbez carried out a solid performance and worked very well with the little girl. I recommend this movie especially to Spanish speaking people. The directing is great. You'll find yourself lost in beautiful cinematic scenes and comical situations. The screenplay is amazing and very well-written. They mix Spanish and English quite cleverly and create scene's in which you'll find yourself either laughing gazing in amazement at how they could come up with that. You like the characters you're supposed to like and there are many surprises packed in this beautiful film that will make you think about life and fear and why it's worth taking risks.
40 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Totally worth it!!!
alejandrodeleon55931 August 2013
I'll be honest, I was dragged in to see this movie but was quickly enthused and charmed by the undeniable chemistry between father and daughter(Eugenio Derbez, Loreta Peralta). The very first minutes weren't exactly my cup of tea but it it gets to the point eagerly and you get the whole message of the title along with it. Don't confuse it for just another meager Disney squall of becoming a family film. No where throughout the movie did I remember the pacifier or the Game Plan those were particularly distasteful movies I could hope to forget. Instructions Not Included finds heart and answers many questions all of us have asked about life. All the troubles and dismay we go through are for not, the very essence of where we have placed our hopes lie within the children we take care of and honestly there aren't any instructions included through the sobs, the laughs, and the peace we come to while they teach us how to grow.

Watch this movie and I promise you won't forget it and bring a box of Kleenex for your tears.
88 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great!!!
candyh101010 September 2013
This is the Best movie ever!! I thought it was going to be like other movies, but it sure was a different movie with ongoing scenes and jokes. this is a great movie that the whole family will enjoy!!... loved that it was spoken in both languages! Just for the fact that Eugenio is a great comedy actor gave me that feeling that it was going to be a good movie.Now that I watched it, I have to take my whole family to watch it and I am willing to go for the second time. I think comedy movies are the best and this is a great movie that other producers should look into to be able to have more movies like this. I kinda do not know what to write anymore, I just want to say that is a great movie and people can have a great time watching it!!! love it!!!!
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My wife dragged me to watch this, but...
agzv7230 August 2013
I had the feeling that this movie was going to be a Mexican chicko - flicko, but it turned out to be a nice, enjoyable movie.

My guess is that Hispanics enjoy it more, specially adults, who even clap at the end of the movie.

Maybe I missed some of the jokes in the translation, because0 other people was laughing more than I did.

Nice changes in the mood through the story ... Do not expect the typical Hollywood movie, in which all is just action, or just jokes, or just a one thing during the whole movie. Here they move from the initial comedy to something more substantial .

At the end, you realized that the movie communicates a nice and important message.

You will walk out of three with more than just laughs .

I recommend the movie for those that want to see something different, that is worth watching .
76 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don;t judge a book by it's cover, this is the best film I've seen this year!!
santiagonunez165 September 2013
I first saw this advertised as a trailer for Grown Ups 2 and thought this was going to be the latino Big Daddy. Afterall, this is the same guy who was in Jack and Jill as the gardener in that lame Sandler movie from 2011. I caught this movie as an advanced show and must say I was very surprised. The humor was fun but believable, and this movie has something few comedies do today---it has a heart. The story is simple, a play boy finds out he has a daughter and is left to raise her when the mother-who was a one time fling-abandons her at his doorstep. During the first six years of her life we see him grow from a selfish slacker to a responsible dad. Eventually, the father/daughter find themselves living in the US where dad is now a Hollywood stuntman--in a very funny bit--with his daughter as his coach and best friend. As you would expect, mom comes back and this is where the story gets serious. You might think you have seen this before but trust me, you haven't as there are so many twists and turns to surprise even the most cynical movie critic. what I enjoyed most about this film is the humanity in the story, it was believable, unlike the juvenile crap of the latest Sandler/Ferrell crap. This movie received a standing ovation from a packed theatre. Don't judge a book by it's cover, this is the best film I've seen this year.
55 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Foreign Picture Oscar?
hhorton8 September 2013
I had trepidation when dozens of Latinos entered the theater, but even in subtitles, this gem is so typical of those plucked by Lionheart. The plot is so much more than a rehash of the formula of 'Three Men and a Baby," and I wish I could have created a room like that for my daughter. I have not laughed in delight so much in a long time. This film is beautifully done, with a great behind the scenes look at stunt men, and Hollywood.

Congratulations are due to Eugenio Derbez, the star, director and producer. He is a fine actor with great comic timing, and genuine emotions.

DO NOT MISS THIS GEM.
16 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch Out Hollywood, Eugenio Derbez is here to stay!
vanessamedrano11 September 2013
I had the privilege of attending the screening of Instructions Not Included in Miami last night. The movie is not only comedy, it has it all. Yes, it's funny but Eugenio made it so he didn't try to make you laugh, you just did. So many emotions that run through the audience watching it. You'll cry in some parts and immediately laugh. It was beautifully made. Since the beginning of the film to the end it holds your attention. Every character, every screen, everything just came together perfectly to create a film that leaves you with a smile in your face and heart!--- Vanessa M.

P.S. Many English speakers may not understand the jokes. Many will read the subtitles but the translation from Spanish to English change the context of what makes the joke funny. This happens in English to Spanish translation in movies also. But the movie is worth seeing. :)
55 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Made me cry.
amoghbiet12 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Being a guy i had never before cried after a movie, at least not when i was sober:) The lead is both funny and emotional at the same time. The daughter is very cute. The mother is damn selfish. I can relate myself to this movie in so many ways, i hope you can too. My mother tongue is neither Mexican nor English but i loved this movie just too much. I think Valentin Bravo deserved much more in his life, but its just life being stubborn. When the movie ends you will understand Valentin's sacrifice, bravery and why he tried to keep his daughter in the fantasy world. At the end of the movie Valentin's every decision is justified. Valentin is a true hero!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great job of Derbez!!!!
jabrahammendez30 August 2013
I just came back from seeing the movie of Eugenio Derbez" Instructions not Included ", and the truth is, it's great!! Excellent performance from Derbez and the little girl. It's one of those movies that you go out happy to have seen! Congratulations to Derbez, great job! Currently the Mexican films are giving very pleasant surprises for the audience, which in many times have not believed in the talent and scope of this new generation of filmmakers, this movie is going to win many awards and you will see that. At first I thought I would see a movie more than the classic that the mother will take away the kids from the father but no, this story is amazing. Actions and measures are great! I love this movie!!!!
70 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great movie
marcosebastian1 September 2013
I haven't seen something this good in a while. Of course, it's much better if you understand Spanish to be able to get a lot of the jokes and sarcasm, etc.

The cinematography was great for the storyline, and it's almost its own style I think. The colors, the storyline, and everything else just flowed right throughotu the movie, and it was definitely a roller coaster of emotions. You will laugh and cry throughout the movie, and it very subtly brings up a few issues we face today with parenthood, the court system in America, the basic needs of children, and the advantages of being wealthy.

Don't expect Hollywood with this movie, because the feelings you will get from watching it are different from your typical Hollywood film that follows a linear storyline to satisfy the expectations of the viewer. I think everything was great about it, no complaints because it's Eugenio's first film, crossover, and the little girl was a real great actress for acting for the first time of her life in anything.
41 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful and so so Funny!!
kobesdunk442 September 2013
The movie is subtitled and I don't know Spanish, but I loved every second of this movie! I laughed with tears running down my eyes from beginning to end! The main actor throws himself into this movie and he and his new found daughter are SO charming together as she grows up. The girl who plays the daughter is perfectly cast and she is wonderful in this picture whether she is negotiating with movie directors or telling stories in her classroom, this little spark-plug steals every scene she is in! Go see this movie this week! My theater was packed and got a standing ovation! You will laugh and cry and then 2 seconds later, Laugh again way out loud!!
47 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent! Very funny, unexpected, gives you a great lesson.
beachncityboutique1 September 2013
I like comic movies but for a long time I had not seen a movie that I enjoyed so much. This movie is the opposite of Hollywood movies, that usually abuse of cursing, sex or drugs scenes. I think producers now a days think they make people laugh that way. So I used to left the theater wondering If I'd be happy that my little daughter watched that kind of movies when she grow up. BUT this movie is completely different. This movie gives you a message while having a great time and experiencing a lot of emotions. This time I left the theater wanting to came back the next day to see it again! And thinking of the most important things in life. Thank you Eugenio Derbez! No doubt the cherry on top was that I laughed in my own humor (Yahoo doesn't people allow to write this review in Spanish). Excellent acting of Eugenio Derbez, his wife Alessandra Rosaldo (Julie's partner) and overall everybody's acting, the story, and the production. The little girl is fantastic!

Yes, you will like it even if you don't speak Spanish ;)
46 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't think twice just go watch it!
julietal25 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Best movie since "BAJO LA MISMA LUNA". A must go see for everyone especially if this is the type of movie you like. People that are bilingual of course will enjoy it a lot more but my mom speaks Spanish and a little English and got everything and loved it. People that only speak English will probably be missing out on 10% of what they are saying but won't matter because the rest will make up for it. Not sure if it applies for all theaters but mine had horrible translation and was missing the 1 on the numbers. So when they mention 1,000 it showed 000. Anyway go watch you will enjoy it. I missed the first 2 minutes so I will be going back. Thats how good of a movie it was.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Well worth it even if you don't speak Spanish.
AdultAudienceMember31 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
It wasn't until the beginning credits rolled that the wife and I realized that this movie is mostly in Spanish with English subtitles. We hadn't noticed that here in a very wealthy Dallas burb, we were two of the very few gringos in the room. We decided to stay. Glad we did. Great movie. Great acting. This is not Cantiflas nor is it some of the really stupid stuff you see on Spanish TV.

This is not Three Men and a Baby or some piece of Adam Sandler poop. This is a great treatment of the plot of a single guy who finds himself in the possession of his illegitimate baby daughter.

No clichés. No Hollywood stupid. Just good acting in this dramedy.

I don't get the low rating. The theater was packed and people were standing in line for the next showing. We are glad we stayed.
38 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An unexpected visit changes two lives forever in Instructions Not Included
rgblakey30 August 2013
In a world of big budget blockbusters some of the best movies are the smaller independent films from all over the world. The latest Instructions Not Included is a Spanish/American film from writer, director, and star Eugenio Derbez. While he has made appearances in Jack and Jill with Adam Sandler and stole the TV show ROB with Rob Schneider he is already pretty huge in Mexico, this marks his first foray into directing but does he bring his usual comedy chops along with the ability to create a memorable film?

Instructions Not Included follows a resident playboy in Mexico whose life is thrown upside down when a former fling leaves a baby on his door step. He leaves Mexico for Los Angeles in hopes to find the baby's mother, but instead finds a new life as a successful stuntman and raises the girl for over six years. But when her mother returns it risks everything they have built together. This is one of those surprising films that really deliver way more than you may expect. Eugenio Derbez has crafted a great film mixed with plenty of humor blended perfectly with a heart-warming touching story. The film is partly in Spanish and partly in English, but blends both perfectly to create a film that works for not only both markets, but also for all audiences even if they don't like subtitled films. Derbez has everything needed to lead this film with his already established ability with comedy, but carries the emotional aspect needed to bring the rest of this story together effectively. When making a film like this that involves a child actor to be just as integral to the story as the adult lead their performance can make or break the film. Thankfully Loreto Peralta is amazing and is able to hold her own alongside Derbez like a pro, despite this being her first role. Beyond being adorable and having the child innocence, she is able to bring the needed maturity to the role.

This is one of those small films that comes along and will really surprise you. While it has great performances, it lets the story lead the charge and knocks it out of the park. This is a comedy, but be warned this funny man has crafted a film that will not only tickle your funny bone, but also tug at your heart strings.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Oscar, Oscar , Oscar
rodcar99929 August 2013
I've had the good fortune to see this movie twice. I will admit I was not keen on watching it because the trailer looks both campy and cheesy! With that said, I am glad I took a risk and went to see it, otherwise I would of missed the Masterpiece that is "Instructions not included!. It turned out to be one of the the most beautiful,tender, sweet, enlightening and powerful movies of my time. I will go as far as ranking it up there with "Imitation of life". The simplicity of this movie is what makes it it a gem that stands on its own. The acting by Eugenio Derbez ( one of Mexico's biggest stars) is just effortless. As for Loreto Peralta, who plays daughter Maggie there are no words to describe her acting chops, she is a both a revelation and a prodigy. She will win you over from the get-go. I wont say anything else about the movie other than it needs to be seen, and experienced. I can guarantee you will leave the theater speechless and elated. I hope that Mexico chooses "Instructions not included" as their contender for its Oscar submission. This movie is PURE GOLD!
82 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome performance
maryalvarez38715 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I would like to say Hats off Eugenio Derbez.Awesome performance and direction of this movie.I believe that its knowing or understanding both cultures in this movie that generates a heart felt appreciation for this very awesome movie. I can assure you that from the beginning to the end there is a combination of laughs followed by very deep emotions that I think in this day and age everyone can relate to. For everyone who has not seen this movie or thought it may not be for them. I challenge you to to take a chance and see if you don't walk away with warm fuzzy feelings about all the sacrifices one makes for a child. Also how important it is to spend time with a child as we are not guaranteed how much time we will have with them.This movie has several life lessons we all can relate to. I highly recommend it. Again Hats if Eugenio and all the cast. Especially the immensely beautiful and talented little girl in this movie.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Movie!!!!
carina_ccr2413 September 2013
I'm really proud of Eugenio Derbez, this movie has everything!!!! Drama,comedy, suspense. From laughs to tears. This has been the first movie that I go and had to wait for 3 hours because the first show times were SOLD OUT! Plus, I had to stay in line 1 hr before the movie started. Many people, especially white people were really curious and surprised to see the long line just to see a movie, which wasn't just any movie, it was a movie made by someone who after a great success, hasn't forgotten his culture, his fans and his true personality. I love the fact that it doesn't have great special effects, but it's competing against Hollywood movies. Many critics may disagree, but the real Latino community knows Eugenio's efforts. He has won an important place in many Latino countries because he started from the bottom, with struggles, up and downs, and haven't given in and is very loved. Eugenio Derbez is a genius!
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best and wonderful Movie Ever!
alcantarlaura5 September 2013
I really Enjoy this movie with my husband is very funny and it really touches your heart,I really recommend to watch this movie,I am happy that they put subtitles in English n part of the movie was in English,so I didn't have to be a translator for my husband, Johnny Depp was a really good surprise in this movie <3,the little girl was an excellent actress.Eugenio Derbez is my favorite Mexican comedian,he really acted excellent in this movie like never did before,he is an excellent actor, I hope to see him soon in another movie,he is very funny,good job Eugenio :)! This movie should win at least 5 Oscars or more! Excellent!
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
My Very First Hispanic Movie
achaninusa8 September 2013
I don't speak Spanish and I do not know any Hispanics, so I had my doubts before attending my first Hispanic movie. That said, I enjoyed the acting thoroughly, I enjoyed the plot and I enjoyed the directing. I am sure I've missed out on the subtleties and nuances, but that's OK, I'll probably go back and watch it again.

Both Derbez as Valentin and Paralta as Maggie ( the Hispanic relatives thought she was named after a "sauce" ) showed impressive histrionic and expensive emotional range to play in this genre, little was lost in translation thanks to the acting from these two.

I'd like to follow the career path of these two actors.

The first ten minutes of the movie with Derbez as the playboy was a bit cheesy, the rest of the movie made up for that.

Lindsey's role as Julie couldn't have been easy but she did a credible job as the cold-hearted ice-lady. Her "boy friend" ( Maggie: She's your boyfriend? :D ), Renee was cut from the same clothe, pretty callous.

Then the bonding grew between Valentine and Maggie, they are the brilliant sunshine that preceded and hid the brewing storm cloud. I don't want to give away too much of the plot.

Go see the movie, you might enjoy it as much as I did.

Bravo, da capo!
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Latino Movie!
aserrano922 September 2013
I wasn't expecting much from the movie, even with Derbez (Mexico's best comedian star, but I got to say that the movie exceeded my expectations. Though the movie is directed more to a Spanish-speaking community, the movie is still great just for anyone. Sure, some jokes may be lost in translation, but they don't affect the mood and flow of the movie. I was very delighted with the amazing acting of the Loreto Peralta (Maggie), who surprisingly speaks both English and Spanish perfectly well. The movie has just the right amount of twists, going from comedy to drama. This movie has a great message about family, parenthood, sacrifice, etc. I won't say anything about the plot but be prepare for the ending, it will make you cry.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Must Watch
heliodorocortes8 October 2013
First I have to say it is not your typical Hollywood Movie, it isn't Adam Sandler Big Daddy either, its a Mexican comedy with a touch of drama, the great thing about this movie is how well Eugenio puts it together, its fast paced, great acting, nice cast, with good shots and a fine score, it takes you on an emotional ride, you laugh and then you almost cry, then you laugh again, don't worry about subtitles its very easy to follow, the box office down here in Mexico has been spectacular, we had 900,000 viewers Saturday 21st of September, I hope this movie to be the beginning of great crossover films, my brother said "you cant miss it", I agree
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT movie!!
ivetteabigail10155 October 2013
I Loved this movie. Our whole family went to view this film and we all absolutely loved it! Great job of properly blending Mexican culture and issues into the movie. Not a lot of film makers have been able to pull that off. The translation was a bit off but that is probably because it's hard to translate a joke that is meant to be said in Spanish and makes no sense in English. I loved this movie just enough comedy drama and action for my taste! There was not a dry eye in the theater. Great acting, great plot and great presentation. I cannot say enough about this film it is a must watch and is now one of my favorite movies. I might just have to drag the hubby to watch it again.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
On how to confront life, how to enjoy life and how to deal with lost but all these through a roller-coaster of laughs, tears and other feelings in between.
joser_h29 September 2013
After watching "Instructions not included" I can say it is a very good movie. It's not the classic Hollywood comedy. Yes, you will have to read the subtitles sometimes and certainly it is not the classical familiar comedy. Nevertheless it is a very good movie. Forget "Fish out of water father" films, that part is only a fraction in this one nor is the Kramer vs Kramer type although has its part. The film tackles on how to confront life, how to enjoy life and how to deal with lost but all these through a roller-coaster of laughs, tears and other feelings in between. If you are bilingual (English & Spanish speaker), this is a must. This film will be remembered for years to come as the one that broke the inertia of Mexican cinema and probably will sign a new kind of films to come. Go watch it.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed