Game Night (2018) Poster

(I) (2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
518 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Movie Review: Game Night
This is not a movie I went in expecting to love, in all honesty it was just the next film showing. Imagine my surprise when I was treated to one of the best comedies I have see in quite a while. Bateman and McAdams are as likeable and charismatic as you would expect and the rest of the cast are pretty great too. It helps that this cast were given well written, interesting characters to work with. This film also boasts brilliant and creative camera work as well as very imaginative transitions that help to draw the viewer into the story and show that a lot of thought and effort was put into the making of this film. There are a small handful of jokes that don't land and a small number of logical errors but for the most part it is a very funny and entertaining thrill-ride, also stay during the beginning of the credits as they are very well done. Keep away from trailers for this film as they do give some things away that are better not to know going in, once this hits Netflix definitely check it out.
18 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Mainstream comedy done right
eddie_baggins22 February 2018
While unlikely to ever be regarded as a classic side-splittingly hilarious comedy kingpin, Game Night is a refreshing and original mainstream experience, which is far and away the best high-profile Hollywood comedy to come our way in sometime.

Directed by Horrible Bosses writing duo and Vacation director's John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein, Game Night takes the one-time nerd only board game night to the big-time as we find ourselves a part of a games night with a difference as Jason Bateman and Rachel McAdam's game loving couple Max and Annie and their collection of friends find themselves trying to rescue Max's successful brother Brooks (played brilliantly against type by Kyle Chandler) from a real-life hostage situation.

It's a high concept central idea and one that works thanks to Daley and Goldstein's assured and often imaginatively constructed direction and the ability for the film to both not take itself too seriously or not playing to the lowest common denominators.

It feels like many moons since a comedy of this ilk wasn't filled with unnecessary profanities, sex jokes and loud-mouthed side characters but thankfully Game Night largely avoids these comedic pitfalls and just focuses itself on telling a genuinely good story with a large collection of jokes that work on their own merits.

It's great to see Daley and Goldstein advance from their Horrible Bosses writing breakthrough and the relative misfire of their updating of the Vacation series as Game Night is without question the most assuredly filmed Hollywood comedy in sometime.

David Fincher himself would be proud as the duo give the film a visual flair and pizazz not often found in such genre films, from the way in which they shoot some establishing shots like a real-life board game or an eye-popping keeping's off sequence in a glamorous house, Game Night is filled with visual gems that when combined with Drive and Neon Demon composer Cliff Martinez's score, create a memorable mood and setting.

Coinciding with Daley and Goldstein's wins is the work of the films cast. Jason Bateman is as Jason Batemany as you'd expect but surrounded by the likes of Rachel McAdams (who looks like she's never had this much fun) and a downright hilarious Jesse Plemon's as Max and Annie's super awkward and potentially serial-killer like neighbour Gary, the whole cast elevate each other's work to a level that makes you hope this isn't the last game night we will be spending with this colourful bunch.

Final Say -

Like any good games night, Daley and Goldstein's film provides a lot of fun, laughs and genuinely memorable times. Game Night is Hollywood comedy filmmaking done right and by avoiding the problems that have faced its recent cohorts (overlong running times, unnecessary vulgarity, annoying characters); Game Night becomes a highly recommendable night out at the movies.

4 Fabergé egg's out of 5
192 out of 256 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
More Entertaining Than The Average Board Game
roblesar9919 February 2018
7/10

GAME NIGHT may not be a great film by any stretch of the imagination, but it's definitely a genuine blast and an entertaining ride from beginning to the very end (seriously, stay for the post-credits scene!) The rare major studio comedy that actually feels like a film, rather than a soulless exercise in assembly-line filmmaking, thanks to such creative choices like Cliff Martinez's thumping score and Barry Peterson's cinematography, which not only introduces new locations as if zooming in on a board game piece, but also sports a surprisingly well-executed long take. Lamorne Morris and Billy Magnussen are some of the obvious standouts among the film's enjoyable cast of characters, but Jesse Plemons is the true MVP, stealing every single one of his scenes with ease. The film isn't without its problems, with the convoluted third act jumping the shark almost to the point of parody, and not all of the jokes land (although most do thanks to the cast's great comedic timing), but nonetheless GAME NIGHT makes for a perfectly fun time at the movies.
170 out of 233 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jason Bateman Shines
pstevens-1707623 February 2018
This hilarious gonzo comedy has a sharp script, clever direction, and an excellent cast. In Game Night, writer Mark Perez and directors John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein have crafted a tightly structured story with little visual tricks that turn out to be significant. That said, the movie really lives and dies by its cast, and this is a top-notch ensemble. Morris -- dependably funny on TV's New Girl -- gets laughs from his bubbling jealousy and dead-on Denzel Washington impersonation, clicking well with Bunbury. Horgan drily delivers as someone who's far too smart for her date; you'll likely wish there was more of her in the film. Magnussen is spectacularly idiotic as Ryan, which is a gift. Open-hearted blockheads are always welcome in comedies such as this, and Magnussen -- who's shown his dramatic chops in the likes of Birth of the Dragon -- hits it out of the park. Plemons' dead-eyed Gary generates big laughs by doing as little as possible. His stony "I see you" face and monotone delivery steal every scene he's in. (At one point, he happily invites the group into his house ... and, with a frozen smile, slowly backs into the darkness.)

And as Max and Annie, Bateman and McAdams have great chemistry. Their timing together, their small reactions to each other; they really read as a couple who love each other, have a lot in common, and accept each other's quirks. Oh, and they're really funny. Bateman, as usual, is an effective straight man with subdued wit. McAdams gets to be a little wackier than usual and has some superb reaction moments. They're an appealing pair, and we're happy to follow them through this gleefully bloody comedy with a fair amount of twists and genuine laughs.
137 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
christyreznor0222 February 2018
I went to an advance screening of this movie and loved it. I go to the movies every week and it's rare to find a comedy that is actually funny throughout the entire film. Most of them seem to show all of the funny parts in the trailer.

Game Night is the exception. It is filled with nonstop laughs. The entire theater laughed throughout the movie. The actors are excellent, especially the always funny Jason Bateman. Rachel McAdams is hilarious. Great chemistry with all of the actors. Great plot.

If you are looking for a funny movie see Game Night.
166 out of 263 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny, funny movie. Rachel McAdams is GREAT!
TheTruthDoor23 February 2018
I went to an advance screening of this movie and loved it. I go to the movies every week and it's rare to find a comedy that is actually funny throughout the entire film. Most of them seem to show all of the funny parts in the trailer.

Game Night is the exception. It is filled with nonstop laughs. The entire theater laughed throughout the movie. The actors are excellent, especially the always funny Jason Bateman. Rachel McAdams is hilarious. Great chemistry with all of the actors. Great plot.

If you are looking for a funny movie see Game Night.
105 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A classic comedy thriller with brilliant dialogue and memorable characters.
jdesando22 February 2018
"Where'd you find her? TED Talk?"

If you're game for a hilarious night at the movies, then see the black comedy Game Night. This romantic thriller is a mix of screwball comedy, Marx Brothers slapstick, and witty repartee you'll vow to go back for (about the handsomer brother: "He's like the Mark Wahlberg to Max's Donnie!") so you can catch at least half of the brilliant dialogue from the pen of writer Mark Perez.

Max (Jason Bateman) and Annie (Rachel McAdams) is a childless married couple who relax with friends playing highly competitive games like Scrabble and Charades. This night, however, with the return of his charming, successful brother, Brooks (Kyle Chandler), the game becomes fraught with sibling rivalry and violence that somehow never eclipses the humor. For the audience, determining what is just a game and what is real is the enjoyable endgame, and not easily solved.

The high-flying chases and quips remind me of Grant and Russell in their screwball days, throwing intellectual barbs while their lives are at stake (about a ditzy blonde guest: "Where'd you find her? TED Talk?"). Although Bateman has cornered the market on the clueless but still sharp middle class professional with the classic slow burn, McAdams is a discovery as a robust bright partner only a little clueless but plenty savvy. Her takeoff on Amanda Plummer with the diner hostages in Pulp Fiction is priceless.

Besides McAdams' surprise comedic chops, Jesse Plemons as the off- center, next-door cop Gary sheds his Matt Damon lookalike calling card and crafts a memorable role to prove his talent as a comic character. However, he's just another achiever in an ensemble overloaded with charm. Now and then a fine film comes in this dead-zone time of year: Game Night is that one, a promise of good films to come long after Oscar has gone to hibernation.
94 out of 148 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
We Couldn't Stop Laughing
bigbadbassface16 February 2018
This movie was a hilarious surprise. They took an ensemble cast that took clever writing and made it even funnier - and not just chuckle or think "that was a good joke" and smile - but actually laugh out loud funny. Jason Bateman and Rachel McAdams had awesome chemistry and were hilarious as a couple. In fact, all of the couples worked well together and the relationships were all unique in their comedy dynamics.

Another reviewer on here compares this to *shudder* Hot Tub Time Machine 2, and says this was full of pop culture references. All I can say to that is they must have seen a different movie or is WAY out of touch (unless a Fight Club reference is still considered pop culture). This movie's strengths come from the original jokes and spot-on delivery, and I can't remember once laughing during Hot Tub Time Machine 2, but this movie made my stomach hurt.
130 out of 212 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Very enjoyable comedy romp
deonast21 February 2018
This was a very enjoyable comedy. Plenty of jokes hit their mark and the audience loved it from the laughter I heard in the session. To be upfront I some advanced session tickets from the Australian distributor, won in a competition. So we all saw it for free, but if I wanted to see a good comedy this one is worth paying to watch.

The humour is good, nothing too highbrow but you won't find any crass humour here, just good fun throughout the film.

The film does have its silly moments and the twists towards the end stretch believability, but you don't really care as you don't watch this film to critique, but just to enjoy the ride for a few hours. The characters are not deep, but you quickly grow to like them all or feel sorry for them as the film flows on.

Enjoyable, good clean fun with the odd bit of blood, that is even used to humourous effect.
80 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't listen to some of these bad reviews...it was a pretty good comedy
pappysprite20 May 2018
To be honest, it's not an academy award film but it's much better than what some reviewers wrote. I won't say much, but I thought the casting was good and it was a silly, corn-ball type of movie that you're onviously not dgoing to take too seriously. I thought the actor who played the police officer was the highlight of the movie.
39 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just what I needed!
johanbaume24 October 2018
I love that this isn't just another romantic comedy. There's unexpected plot twists as well as great humor. 10/10 would recommend to a friend. I could watch this a million more times and still laugh!
23 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
and how were we supposed to know that..
Arth_Joshi28 February 2018
Game Night

As the premise guides you, the feature walks till the end on just an idea for 100 minutes holding the audience tightly onto the screen and delivers what was more than promised. A plot like such can only go certain way and the creators being aware of it uses it perfectly not making it all look like a hoax and justifies the whole track by focusing on the characters reasoning and development that proves out to be the strength of the feature later on. John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein have definitely matured themselves as directors on screen but in here the writer, Mark Perez is the game changer for it is written smartly and explicitly that easily helps the audience settle into it. Jason Bateman is as always hilarious in its role but surprisingly so is Rachel McAdams; in fact she is even better and among other good supporting cast like Kyle Chandler and Jess Plemons, the feature is safe under performance level. Game Night is not your same old dull comedy-gone-wrong genre, in fact it is quite like an episode of sitcom that offers enough room for the character and actors to fill in their input along with hilarious yet smart writing that enfolds in each phases as it ages on screen keeping the audience on the edge of the seat.
27 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie
myrcea_dmg31 October 2018
I watched this one during a flight and it made me totally forget about the trip. Really recommend.
21 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
An amusing adults-only comedy, but no game changer.
Troy_Campbell26 February 2018
Another adults-only comedy from the makers of Horrible Bosses, Game Night is the latest in a long line of films operating within the ordinary-people-become-embroiled-in-crime subgenre. Putting a murder-mystery game-within-a-game spin on proceedings, it's essentially David Fincher's The Game with crude humour, which is exactly as good or bad as that sounds, depending on your tastes. Writer Mark Perez and directors John Francis Daly and Jonathan Goldstein certainly don't hold back in their attempt to garner laughs. They throw everything from impersonations and horror parody to visual jokes and gross-out humour into the mix. It's hit and miss at best, but when it's funny it's really funny; a gag-inducing bullet extraction and a hilariously slow negotiation involving a dim-witted philanderer trying, and failing, to play hardball are a couple of memorable sequences almost worth the price of admission on their own. Unfortunately there are also plenty of clangers littered throughout-plus a completely misjudged subplot that tries to inject a message about growing up-that create sizeable laugh-free portions of the movie, especially in the final act. As the married couple who host the titular weekly event, Jason Bateman and Rachel McAdams are a hoot when playing off each other. His straight-faced quips and her bubbly/snarky barbs are an ideal match, so hopefully they share the screen again soon. As far from being a game changer as it is from being a complete dud, Game Night is an amusing diversion that'll be most enjoyed with an alcoholic beverage or two.
49 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
These must be fake reviews
torgersonjennie5 May 2018
I had such high hopes based on these reviews and the actors. Absolute nonsense. Nothing clever and very few laughs. I rarely review movies but this needs to be said.
209 out of 421 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could have been so much better
mojomusic5 August 2019
As the title states, It had potential, but it clearly didnt after about 30 minutes. The comedy is lame and the story is just rubbish. Could of been so much better. Only watch it if you have 2 hours to waste. Not a fan of this at all. Some ok characters which could have been better but turns out they end up boring and predictable
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Nutella in a vegetable soup? Why not?
oghart0916 June 2019
How can someone think to mix suspense and fun in the these proportions? That's the most ridiculous idea that they ever had! You can make some jokes in a thriller, or add some suspense in a comedy. You just can't have both. What genre is supposed to be? Ridiculous Thriller? Thrilling Comedy?

The Game (with Sean Penn and Michael Douglas) worked very well because it was 95% suspense.

I watched it only because it had a high rate, but now I see that it's not a trustable method to pick a movie.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Funny With a Hint of Unpredictability
eric26200311 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
"Game Night" centres around an enthusiastic group of sociable party goers who love to game while but somehow unexpectedly get trapped in a world of danger as the game progresses. The film starts to play off as a comedy, but it escalates into more darker territory where the fun becomes more macabre. Under the penmanship of Mark Perez and directed by John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein, the scenes are always unpredictable to the point where it becomes surprisingly intense but the scenes are always entertaining and never once does it ever meander.

The leading couple are Max and Annie Davis (Jason Bateman and Rachel McAdams) who gets the neighbours to participate in their nightly games they set-up. Their marriage was brought on due to games that is implied by the opening montage like Scrabble, Pictionary, charades and more. The participants in their game include Annie's air-headed friend Ryan Huddle (Billy Magnussen) and Sarah Darcy (Sharon Horgan) who's Ryan's date who seems quite intelligent. Then there's Kevin and Michelle Sterling (Lamonie Morris and Kylie Bunbury) who are a husband and wife pairing and Max's distant but very rich brother Brooks (Kyle Chandler) who wants to host game night at his estate that he is renting.

While at the house, Brooks gets the guests involved in an interactive role-playing mystery game and places a bit of a wager, that whoever can solve the mystery will awarded with his Stingray. This kind of game pays homage to the old school murder mystery dinner parties that were quite popular in the 1980's. As a whole "Game Night" gets it audience involved on a wild, crazy ride where there's moments of slapstick, intensity and moments that simply erupt into utter chaos.

Unfortunately, Brooks gets abducted and all the other guests assume that it's all part of the game. If that doesn't get your spine chilled there is even a threat of murder from an evil-sounding deviant if the guests don't hand over a precious Faberge egg leading up to the couples to split up and find the relic while their paths continue to recross and diverge from time to time.

Sure other movies like "The Game" among others tried this formula of carefree fun turning unexpectedly dangerous with the twists and turns that come along before. However, "Game Night" have some twists that work, not all, but you'll really get a kick out of the psychology within the characters Perez creates in his script and the self-discoveries that each character endures as they go on this game that has become a quest for survival. We get a better understanding why Max and Brooks hate each other and the heartbreak as to why Max and Annie can't have a child and the other events from their pasts that has haunted them for years. There's suspicion about whether Michelle has always been faithful to Kevin which has been bothering him for a long time. There's even great character development from the supporting cast members who aren't in on the game including Jeffrey Wright as am FBI agent, Danny Huston as a lowlife, Michael C. Hall as an intimidating criminal who only goes by The Bulgarian and Jesse Plemons as a cop who's neighbours to Max and Annie who wants to be parts of Max and Annie's game plans. The characters in the movie are not all who they appear to be under first impression.

The movie is practically the perfect film for adults and truly has something for everyone including a high-adrenaline induced car chase, a violent scene that lead to one of the characters having surgery and a orgy cult like party that pays homage to the 1999 classic "Eyes Wide Shut", but it's still bombarded with issues from the characters like aging, sibling rivalry and being unfaithful. The best performances come from Bateman and McAdams who seem to have a better understanding of each other almost as though they were a married couple. Plemons steals every scene he's in even though his character is played as filler most of the time. Through all the tense moments, it never goes by way of melancholy or preachy.

Though many comedies of this calibre goes by way of becoming formulaic, Daley and Goldstein ensure you they've got the tone under control. The upbeat chemistry between Bateman and McAdams benefits to the plot the way a comedy should be executed. And sure characters seem to get hurt in situations can seem deadly in the real world, still find the composure to fight back and play the game. The props used to slow down the characters are used as wake-up to inject some sense into them. This was a surprisingly good film that went beyond my expectations.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Flat Out Not Funny
themovieparadise2 March 2018
Comedy is a hard genre to get right on screen. It is one of the most subjective kinds of films there is, and even comedies that are generally defined as being great can still fall flat for some people. That is simply the nature of the art of comedy. Unfortunately, this results in us, the consumers, not getting very many good comedies. Instead, there is an overabundance of brutally sh*tty comedies that make you dig your face into the palm of your hand and question why you wasted $10 and two hours of your time to watch this garbage. This was exactly my experience with Game Night, the new film from Vacation directors John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein. I doubt many people were counting down the days until they could go see Game Night, nor could anyone be blamed for thinking it looked like a steaming pile of sh*t. The trailers never came across as if the film could actually be anything worthwhile. But then, the unimaginable happened. Reviews began dropping for the movie, and it suddenly was certified fresh on Rotten Tomatoes with an 81% critics rating. I had never intended on seeing Game Night, but after seeing the surprisingly strong reviews it was getting, I decided to go check it out. However, I have come to regret that decision. Game Night is everything I had originally thought it was going to be, from having terrible humor to cringe-worthy performances...
162 out of 340 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Mostly silly, easy comedy that wasn't funny. Just a bad movie
mjk12188227 February 2018
I would give it less than 1 star if I could. I have no idea how people are giving this junk positive reviews. I only made it half way through the movie because people were arguing about talking in the theater and that was literally more entertaining. The same joke was pitched over and over. I had to leave before I heard another joke about being an insecure brother, or about a wife sleeping with a celebrity before they were married. It was almost as if the actors weren't even trying in some spots, I can't remember laughing at even one of the lame jokes. Jason Bateman is playing the same role he's done the last 5-6 times, and Rachel McAdams is not in the least bit funny. The script sucked and the actors for the most part sucked.
166 out of 352 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Same old, same old....
djboudewijn31 March 2018
Due to the somewhat higher rating for this Jason Bateman comedy on IMDB I gave it another try after being disappointed in the past. This was surely my last cinema visit for a comedy of this guy.

Once again most of the 'jokes' where totaly nonsense, like the dog-scene and the egg-around the house scene. He (and the movie) comes around like a complete idiot in this way and as a viewer I feel assaulted that I would believe this crap to happen.

Even more and more I get the idea that IMDB is flooded by fake reviewers, that's a pity.....
85 out of 175 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun, at times genuinely funny, and always entertaining.
Pjtaylor-96-1380444 March 2018
A few latter twists and turns don't quite feel genuine and the film starts to confuse itself with reveals that amount to nothing other than some slight plot-holes and leaps in logic, but 'Game Night (2018)' keeps up a fast pace and is always fun even when it isn't always funny - though it is just that on multiple occasions. It manages to be extremely entertaining and is actually surprisingly well directed, with some fancy camera-work and oddly visceral fight scenes superbly solidifying its thriller elements, while it never takes its eye off its comedy roots and therefore manages to keep a smile on your face even during some of its more obvious or on-the-nose moments. Fantastically fun stuff from start to finish. 7/10
36 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Frustrating, Sleazy & Unfunny
fateema-645644 March 2018
This movie was meant to be a comedy however I don't know when and how did boring & ridiculously stupid characters make up for a solid humor.

Every single character here was either stupid, unrealistic or just plain boring. None of them can be relatable, for something to be funny it has to be relatable and I cannot for the life of me believe that anyone over the age of 14 is going to find any of these "adults" relatable. In fact the punch lines are so bad, the creepy neighbor was legitimately creepy. Every other scene was cringe worthy.

This movie made me "cringe" more and laugh less. It also made my blood boil at times, thanks to how stupid and sleazy the characters and the plot were.

Skip this...
119 out of 254 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Amazing
kathryntritle8 October 2018
Well, I'm glad John Francis Daley left Bones for a good reason. This movie was so fun and exciting, visually impressive, and just the right amount of action. Total love towards this film and to everyone a part of it.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Avoid at all costs
dwolf777 March 2018
This movie is unfunny, unoriginal, unintriguing, and boring. The idea is certainly a good one, and I could have seen it being carried out well, but unfortunately the idea was given to a man who had never directed a movie before, and it shows. The direction is simply boring, only consisting of shot-reverse shot and adding nothing special to keep your interest. The script is absolutely terrible. I laughed two times throughout this entire film, and the second time I laughed was because of my embarassment at the film's attemt for humor. The acting is fine, but the actors are simply given nothing to do. This film fails both at being an action movie and a comedy and I urge you to avoid it, unless you want to spend 2 hours of your life boring yourself.
81 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed