Remedy (TV Series 2014– ) Poster

(2014– )

User Reviews

Review this title
9 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
MIssing Remedy so much
mrsbeneteau22 June 2015
I'm not a TV junkie, expert, social guru, or anything like that but I am someone that knows a great show when I see one. I've never written a review before, so here goes. I don't normally watch much of what is on TV now-a-days, there just isn't anything that catches me. I spend more time reading books. I will admit I did start watching Remedy because I had enjoyed watching Enrico Colantoni in Flashpoint. However, Remedy caught my attention, right away and I was hooked. It had all the usual drama but with a realistic spin. I loved how it showed the difference between the doctors, nurses and 'other' workers in a hospital setting. The writers did a great job creating story lines that though they were made up, we also real. I've always loved medical dramas but Remedy had just that little extra. Plus the actors/actresses were all very talented! My only complaint is that they cancelled it after the 2nd season. Big Mistake I think.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Canadian TV Excellence
christopherbladen22 June 2015
This is truly a great Canadian show. The writing is always heartfelt and intelligent, the acting powerful and a testament to Canada's talent, and the technical side wonderfully done. A particular favourite of mine is the multi-angle camera shots, which are truly a thing of beauty. If you're a fan of other medical shows, or just of a good dramatic series, Remedy is more than worth watching. Like its contemporaries, Remedy profiles the personal, professional, and political ins and outs of life with the hospital. However, it provides a unique approach to the subject, driving home incredible narratives about family, career, addiction, and strength, with a distinctly Canadian feel. This show deserved far more than the 2 seasons it got.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A must-watch!
camelot-lady22 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Remedy is not just one of the best Canadian TV shows, it's one of the best TV shows ever made, period. It's fresh, interesting, and fast-paced, and most of the time it keeps your head spinning in the best possible way.

As far as I recall, it's quite possibly the only medical drama with a heavy focus on the family values and interpersonal relationships, and probably the only one that didn't have broom closet hookups - I'm looking at ALL of you, other medical TV series.

The Conners are exactly the kind of family that are fun to watch - they're very different and very likable in their individual ways. You may not disagree with them now and then, but at the end of the day you can't help but want them all to have a happy ending, one way or another.

That's not to mention exciting and unique 'traumas of the week', amazing supporting cast, and exception writing (that I am shamelessly envious of).
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Remedy is amazing
bootseyjovi22 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Remedy is not one of those classic hospital drama shows like "Grey Anatomy" or "ER". It doesn't contain a lot of dumb relationship drama. It has real heart to it. I love the family aspect to the show how pretty much the entire family works in the hospital together. It makes for interesting and complex story lines. The actors are amazing too. In the second half season 2 of Remedy Dillion Casey brings a lot of emotional turmoil to the family and he does it extremely well. Enrico Colantoni playing Allen Connor is super funny with some of the one liners he says but he is also a dad who truly cares about his kids.Sarah Allen and Sara Canning are all amazing and bring a lot to their characters. Im really sad and disappointed that Remedy got cancelled I would alway look forward to every Monday when it was on.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Remedy gave us another Quality TV show
thumper-9228822 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I thought another medical show? But wanted to give it a shot because it had the moving and powerful Enrico Colantoni (FlashPoint, Veronica Mars, Just Shoot Me). So i dived in right from the first episode. And I knew right away it was not just another medical show. I mean it has some incredibly wickedly real medical scenes that will sometimes leave you ugh, but its because they are done so well.

It centres around the Conner family and those that happen to get involved in their lives. While Enrico Colantoni (as Dr Allen Conner), Sarah Allen (Nurse Sandy Conner), Sara Canning (Dr Mel Conner ) and Dillon Casey ( Griffin Conner, Porter hoping to be Dr) are the stars of the show and do a magnificently brilliant job episode after episode, I could not continue to watch without the supporting cast that is around them. I got hooked on the characters of Josey the Clown , "Sassy" Nurse Patel, Zoe, Kanaskie and Jerry. They balanced the Conners out, brought them back to reality so to speak.

The story lines were brilliant! The stories were often relatable to things that were going on in my own life and I found myself using Kleenex quite often while watching. I say great writing, great directing & great acting make quality TV. Remedy has all.

I am saddened to know I will have to dream about whether Griffin will make it, whether Mel will stay with Dr Culter or go back to Jerry & whether Zoe & Griffin can find their way back to each other. I needed and wanted more of Remedy , I hope you can take a look at both season 1 & 2...especially season 2 and tell me whether you agree that Dillon Casey deserves a nomination for his portrayal of Griffin. If I had it in my power, Remedy would be going on for season after season...yes I think its that good! thank you Remedy for being in my life :)
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gone Too Soon
saverinascozzari22 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Ah, Remedy. It killed me to bid farewell to a well-written and well-cast Canadian television program. The drama/comedy gave me hope that there was a bright future for Canadian television. I went in thinking it'd be like Grey's Anatomy (not a fan), but came out pleasantly surprised and as a full fledged fan.

Each episode was based on a true story, which I really appreciate. There's nothing better than when a TV show is relatable. Also, I feel that its family dynamic is responsible for the cult following. If you are not yet aware of the plot, Remedy follows a family that works in a big-city hospital (filmed in Toronto and Hamilton). You have the prodigal son who was lost, found, and then lost again in the downstairs of the hospital, while his two sisters and father work upstairs making and cleaning up messes of their own. It doesn't get realer than that.

The show itself wasn't the only thing I loved. The social media team made a point of interacting with all of Remedy's viewers and fans. Each week they hosted a live-tweet. I cannot count how many times my tweets were favourited and retweeted. They are also very supportive of members of the press. As a host and writer who interviewed a couple of Remedy's cast members, I was connected with other writers and hosts via a #FollowFriday shoutout.

It is very unfortunate that the show was cancelled after only 2 seasons. I hope that Global will reconsider its decision or that Remedy will relaunch digitally.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worse than The Manson Family
rusherman20020 May 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This is the ugliest family put together since the Manson's hit the dessert. The one daughter keeps trying to kill people on the table. Dad uses blackmail to keep a drug addict that has proved incompetent employed at the hospital. The mother is a pizztank and the son is a tweaker. The other daughter left needles where a worker could get HIV from it and then the family covered it up. They use relationships like a shirt. They pull it on in the morning and dump it in the hamper at night. No one seems to be able to escape their unholy clutches. People are trapped like rabbits in the headlights. The entire family uses their friends like dirt. I am not a coward but I shudder now every time I see a hospital. I wonder if it could be harbouring a crazed bunch of home grown incompetent narcissist lunatic users like Remedy has for staff. This should be on the horror network.
6 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Is this family supposed to be dysfunctional?
angelsbowbhim6 February 2020
This is pretty lame. The four main characters are all related and all have their personal lives and dramas spilling over into the workplace. It is as if they have no idea of social etiquette or professionalism. It's ridiculous. I do not understand the high ratings, when this show is such an unrealistic joke. You don't have time to care about the patients or the medical cases. because the show is filled up with watching the father, son, and two daughters have their public temper tantrums and shouting matches. I have no idea how this junk made it for two seasons. Pitiful.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Another Canadian stupid one
davet-617245 June 2015
I'm stuck watching this because my wife does. The show should be called the fighting hospital or hospital fighting family. It's on the level of the red green show. I've been waiting for red green to make a cameo instead of trying to be funny it's fighting and arguing. I know this might be a surprise but there is room for better story lines. I really don't know why they have other actor's on cause it always centers around the four actors. I hope it gets better the second time around. What's this ten line thing I can say what needs to be said in less. But I guess we all have to sound uneducated. So with this being said it should be enough.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed