Den 12. mann (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
54 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Amazing true story. Told the way Jan wanted it
toreborgen29 December 2017
The whole family went to see this film. We had high hopes for it. Neither of us was disappointed. Its a brutal story, told like the soldier who went through the ordeal wanted it to be told.

It has been made before, different title. (9 lives, 9 liv) Jan Bålsrud did not like that version because he did not see himself as a hero. He felt the people who helped him was the heroes. That film received an academy nomination for best foreign film

The helpers really are the story here. The role of Jan Bålsrud played by Thomas Gulestad is potrayed brilliant and brutal.

I like Harald Zwart, brilliant underrated filmmaker.
58 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Different but good war story based on true events.
deloudelouvain10 August 2018
The 12th man is based on a true story so that alone makes it even more interesting. I read from another reviewer that it didn't exactly happened like this, who knows, with lesser Germans searching for him, but does it realy matters? Jan Baalsrud still remains a hero as you see the battle he fought to reach the neutral country Sweden and that in harsh winter conditions. And like he said and wanted, the true heroes were the ones that helped him. Like all people from the Resistance in any country those people deserve being called heroes as they fought underground risking their life almost everyday. The movie is very well made, with alot of gripping moments full of suspense, and great cinematography of the wintery landscapes. Jan Baalsrud played brilliantly by Thomas Gullestad, is a character you can only feel sympathy for. Nice job as well from Jonathan Rhys Meyers playing the Nazi officer Kurt Stage. A movie with a good story, with a good cast, and based on true events, what else do you want?
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really Worth Seeing
bilismit16 June 2018
I really do not care how accurate this movie was made. It's a great movie worth seeing. It keeps you focused with almost no boring moments. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story.
24 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A story of fighting spirit and survival
OJT25 December 2017
Den 12. mann / 12th man is a different retelling of the story about the flight of Jan Baalsrud, hunted by the Nazi occupants after a sabotage action hiding important papers. The story was told from Baalsrud's angle in the 1957 Academy Award nominee-movie Ni Liv (Nine lives) by director Arne Skouen, This time it's Hollywood director Harald Zwart, known for his comedies and the rather good remake of The Karate Kid, and he has made something he has never done, a survival drama and war film.

And he has succeeded well in telling a story about a hero, which became so due to good helpers in good believing Norwegians, being able to assist him on the two month struggle of a journey through very harsh winter terrain and weather.

The film tells the story of not only Baalsrud, but also the 11 other which were alle killed by the Nazi's, and also tells the story about the survival spirit of a war-occupied country. This film is actually much more accurate than the original 1957-film, and completely differently told, which serves both the story and the film well.

Debuting Thomas Gullestad is amazing in the lead, and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers is excellent as the German Kurt Stage. And the rest of the cast does fabulous as well.

Well worth a watch!
35 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A heartfelt insight into the human spirit.....
s327616910 May 2018
I suspect based on some of the reviews people have come to this film expecting a classic tale of espionage and war.

On the surface this is indeed a film that takes place during WWII. That said, more than anything else this is a tale of survival and endurance in the face of overwhelming odds. What makes it a little more interesting is indeed the fact the key protagonist must confront both nature and a determined human enemy.

The pacing of this film which has accumulated a lot of criticism reflects its survivalist emphasis. Its a slow, thoughtful film, that in terms of cinematography is really quite beautiful, in a rugged, snowbound way. The human interest component that makes up much of the difference offers up an insight into a how people draw on an indefinable "something" within themselves with faced with a harrowing series of events.

I enjoyed this film. Its well acted, directed and in its own way its very heartfelt. It looks at war for the tragedy that it is and does not shy away from expressing, in very raw terms, the horror that conflict between people evokes but also the decency and human spirit of those who help others at great personal risk.

9/10 from me.
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
How much can one man endure
chrang-5001516 September 2018
This film is about a sole survivor of a Norwegian resistance mission. The plot follows his struggle for survival and his devotion to his cause and his mission. So we become witnesses to an excellent adventure that contains pretty much everything. Ruthless nazis hunting down anyone who opposses them, ruthless nature with really hard conditions, everything against the will of a single man who never gives up. This is a story of devotion and fortitude. It's a story about selflessness. A story of a man who amongst thousands like him, sacrificed for their country and for freedom, in a period where darkness and morbidity were prevailing.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
albankrz15 May 2018
That was a big surprise for me. Didn't expect something like that. One of my fav movie about WWII do far, shows the terrible things that happened in nazzi's time. Great acting, true story , everything top.
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Having never written a review..
tom_wyles11 May 2018
This is the first and probably only, This movie was so good I was thinking about it the entire day the next day. The visuals were stunning, the director did an amazing job. Incredibly tense from the very get go, I can't praise this enough. A+ deserves awards.
21 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
That was incredible!
rainworx11 May 2018
That was incredible...the story was very intense...the acting put the movie over the top! Very well done, could not take my eyes off the screen. Had deep meaning for me and i'm glad i didn't miss it. Tusen Takk
19 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A well directed and shot movie!
TheSecondMan27 December 2017
"Den 12 mann" is a well shot and directed movie. The acting is great, although sometimes Jan Baalsrud looks a bit too healthy. Some of the dialogue is also pretty weak.

Overall it's a pretty solid Norwegian WW2 movie that I definitely recommend
22 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sheer perfection with much sadness
vassago-original12 January 2019
What an amazing, emotional movie this is. Far beyond movie making. On one end it is a reminder of how horrible we are as mankind, on another, it shows the opposite and how one man can endure so much horror when he refuses to give up the fight while people of good heart risk their own lives to help a man in need. Truly inspiring story, made to perfection. This is one of those movies that will live forever.

About acting and filmmaking

There is not a single negative thing that could be said. Every single person in this movie showed brilliance. You will feel the sadness, the fear, the bravery, even the cold while watching this. I am completely fascinated, but can't get rid of the feeling of some sadness, thinking: "How can we be so horrible to each other? Why?"

Wish you all beautiful day.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
WOW
goonerchris-161-42831814 November 2018
I don't watch many foreign language films but this was quite outstanding. The charatures were believable, the acting was of a high level, the story was egde of the seat stuff. It was a simple plot which helped when reading the subtitles. It is quite long at over 2 hours but there is enough going on to not make it boring.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Seeing is believing.
mancodollarstrilogy6 September 2018
Wow.....what an incredible story, and brilliantly told. First class performances all round. Will live long in the memory.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'm speechless, HIGHLY RECOMMEND
monica_bellucci200428 May 2018
If people consider themselves as human or a good person, should see this movie and understand what the word humanity it's all about, HIGHLY RECOMMEND, I'm speechless, it's the best movie I've seen in a long time. I'm obsessed with war movies, specially the ones about WWII, and this one, is that kind of movie the lack air. DO SEE IT.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
First 8 I have given to a Norwegian movie!
frede-ousland29 April 2018
Loves the scene where Jardar Johansen are carrying Jan B to the shore :-)
13 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Somehow a film of disappointment
BasicLogic9 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Yes, the cinematography of this film is pretty good, the coldness, the ice, the snowy mountain and hills, the forlorn sea, the fjords...looked pretty cool. But what's the purpose of making a movie with a lost cause? The mission was a failure, a complete bust, eleven team members were caught by the Nazis, one guy miraculously escaped. So the whole film in front of our eyes just showed a guy with a crippled feet, trudging in the snow, swam in the icy strait, seeking refugee and sanction from his fellow country citizens, again and again sneaked away under the vicious and relentless chase and search of the Nazis. But after awhile, the movie felt lost its steam just like the 12th man losing his body heat, a repeated scene after scene of this hide and seek, cat and mouse formula. And gradually, it seemed to become a one directional development, we, the viewers, knew that guy was the only survivor of a failed mission, we knew he'd have successfully escaped from the Nazis. In order to show us how tough and how difficult this 12th man was facing during his escape saga, the camera just kept showing us his damaged almost frost-bit feet with lost toes, again and again, we have to look at his feet and toes when he had to take off the wet bloody soaked sock. There's not too much and too many things to tell except the tortures of his fellow team members by the Nazis. After awhile, it became so tiresome to watch. I just gave up in the middle.

If you cannot make a better version of "Ni Liv (aka Nine Lives) 1957" and transcend it, better not waste your budget on a "Foot Care 101" in 2017, even you now have the better tech, better lens to shoot a picture, you did a lousy job.
32 out of 95 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie
javeswarsi13 May 2018
This movie unforgettable amazing ,from start to till end you never bored really i bet everyone must watch this movie. i congratulate to all casting and maker to make fantastic movie.
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wao!
masud-nishat20 October 2018
Another great and highly recommended adventure movie in my list of survival series. Really great acting and makeup effects. Soundtracks, cinematography, suspense and thriller, everything was wonderful. Really enjoyed it 😊!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Impressive movie
stevenbyrd8 May 2018
There are so many great principles shown in this film. What the human spirit can endure even the the face of adversity.
10 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Must see
tobiaslindstrom198019 December 2018
The best Nordic warmovie ive ever seen. What an epic unknown hero.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent
jram18327 November 2018
One of the best WWII movie in my list. Splendid performance by Thomas. Awesome locations. A must watch for War movie lovers.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
We were on the edge of our seats...
...really exciting climax with eerie local Sami folk singing and massive herd of reindeer - epic and uplifting ending! And it really happened.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Superhuman
macub824 February 2019
This film will draw you in . Apparently a remake from a film made in 1957 It is beautifully filmed and no expense has been spared recreating the gritty WW2 environment The landscapes are breathtaking and portray the cold weather and uninhabitable scenes that were the biggest enemy of our hero . Some great German planes and vehicles star , even a German boat guarding the coast all look totally authentic They have all been been lovingly restored. Attention to detail is fantastic and a great Cinematic piece Do not want to spoil any part of this just watch it
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another superb Norwegian production of a realistic WW2 movie
Holt3449 February 2019
In 2008 we got the true story Max Manus: Man of War which was a superb movie and 9 year later we get another true story about another Norwegian hero of world War 2. Petter Skavlan did a incredible job at mastering the writing and the script, making the time line flow perfectly with the story, simply a great job from him. Harald Zwart's vision and directing made the movie amazing, truly capturing the heart of the story and making the country and Scandinavians proud. The cinematography is incredible, it's just so beautiful shot, using the stunning landscape that exists in Norway. Remarkable. The story follows Jan Baalsrud as he survives the impossible and the road from off the boat through everything he experiences is just a reason to watch the movie, extraordinary.

Thomas Gullestad did a great job at portraying Jan Baalsrud, giving everything he had into the role and making the performance believable and superb. Jonathan Rhys Meyers is the only actor I recognized and it's the best acting performance I've seen him do.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Heartstring Tugger
wrightjr-2864929 January 2019
It's hard to dislike this type of film as who doesn't love the will to survive against all odds kind of stuff. This man goes through Hell and back. I did find it a bit long and draggy at parts -trudging through endless snow can be. All in all, worth watching but def a feeling of déjà vu.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed