Den 12. mann (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Amazing true story. Told the way Jan wanted it
toreborgen29 December 2017
The whole family went to see this film. We had high hopes for it. Neither of us was disappointed. Its a brutal story, told like the soldier who went through the ordeal wanted it to be told.

It has been made before, different title. (9 lives, 9 liv) Jan Bålsrud did not like that version because he did not see himself as a hero. He felt the people who helped him was the heroes. That film received an academy nomination for best foreign film

The helpers really are the story here. The role of Jan Bålsrud played by Thomas Gulestad is potrayed brilliant and brutal.

I like Harald Zwart, brilliant underrated filmmaker.
32 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
True story? not so much.
FabledGentleman1 June 2018
This is not going to be a detailed review. I just noticed so many people here consider this to be a true story. Well that is not exactly true. Yes there was a guy called Jan Baalsrud that had to escape into Sweden to avoid being captured, and he had help getting there. But that's pretty much the only thing this movie got right.

There were no Germans hunting him, ever. They thought he was dead, so all those scenes with Germans this and Germans that are only implemented to add suspension, but then knowing those are completely made up, i start questioning what those helpers went through knowing they never encountered German soldiers who threatened them and their lives if they helped Baalsrud.

The entire emotional core of the film becomes a fantasy. But if this movie had been completely true, it would be one damn spectacular tale, because you simply aren't allowed to have this much luck.

Thing is, if we turn the argument and say, ok so we added all those Germans so that the movie had a lot of suspense, and that many movies does this, and only base parts of the story on actual events, it can still be a pretty good movie right? Yes, it can, and that has happened many times in movie history. This movie however didn't accomplish this.

First off, this is not a original story in any way. From the very beginning you kind of know exactly where this movie is going, no surprises in this one. As straight forward as it can be. And then since it's made up, and not real as they try and make people believe ( which after reading comments here in IMDb, people are indeed believing it), it has not much going for it. It's just another good guy all alone being chased by hundreds of evil men that all want to see him die, it's the all time Hollywood cliche.

This movie could have achieved enough suspense without adding Germans all over the place. They could have just done it like they did Jaws, the less you see the shark, the more you question where it is, the more scary it becomes. But these filmmakers don't have the skills to pull it off. Instead they went the wrong way.

But for what it's worth, this movie has some pretty good acting in it, and the cinematography is very nice. It's one of Zwart's best films, not that that's saying much tbh.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
A story of fighting spirit and survival
OJT25 December 2017
Den 12. mann / 12th man is a different retelling of the story about the flight of Jan Baalsrud, hunted by the Nazi occupants after a sabotage action hiding important papers. The story was told from Baalsrud's angle in the 1957 Academy Award nominee-movie Ni Liv (Nine lives) by director Arne Skouen, This time it's Hollywood director Harald Zwart, known for his comedies and the rather good remake of The Karate Kid, and he has made something he has never done, a survival drama and war film.

And he has succeeded well in telling a story about a hero, which became so due to good helpers in good believing Norwegians, being able to assist him on the two month struggle of a journey through very harsh winter terrain and weather.

The film tells the story of not only Baalsrud, but also the 11 other which were alle killed by the Nazi's, and also tells the story about the survival spirit of a war-occupied country. This film is actually much more accurate than the original 1957-film, and completely differently told, which serves both the story and the film well.

Debuting Thomas Gullestad is amazing in the lead, and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers is excellent as the German Kurt Stage. And the rest of the cast does fabulous as well.

Well worth a watch!
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Amazing
albankrz15 May 2018
That was a big surprise for me. Didn't expect something like that. One of my fav movie about WWII do far, shows the terrible things that happened in nazzi's time. Great acting, true story , everything top.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
7/10
A well directed and shot movie!
Sebb27 December 2017
"Den 12 mann" is a well shot and directed movie. The acting is great, although sometimes Jan Baalsrud looks a bit too healthy. Some of the dialogue is also pretty weak.

Overall it's a pretty solid Norwegian WW2 movie that I definitely recommend
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
A heartfelt insight into the human spirit.....
s327616910 May 2018
I suspect based on some of the reviews people have come to this film expecting a classic tale of espionage and war.

On the surface this is indeed a film that takes place during WWII. That said, more than anything else this is a tale of survival and endurance in the face of overwhelming odds. What makes it a little more interesting is indeed the fact the key protagonist must confront both nature and a determined human enemy.

The pacing of this film which has accumulated a lot of criticism reflects its survivalist emphasis. Its a slow, thoughtful film, that in terms of cinematography is really quite beautiful, in a rugged, snowbound way. The human interest component that makes up much of the difference offers up an insight into a how people draw on an indefinable "something" within themselves with faced with a harrowing series of events.

I enjoyed this film. Its well acted, directed and in its own way its very heartfelt. It looks at war for the tragedy that it is war and does not shy away from expressing, in very raw terms, the horror that conflict between people evokes but also the decency and human spirit of those who help others at great personal risk.

9/10 from me.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
That was incredible!
rainworx11 May 2018
That was incredible...the story was very intense...the acting put the movie over the top! Very well done, could not take my eyes off the screen. Had deep meaning for me and i'm glad i didn't miss it. Tusen Takk
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Having never written a review..
tom_wyles11 May 2018
This is the first and probably only, This movie was so good I was thinking about it the entire day the next day. The visuals were stunning, the director did an amazing job. Incredibly tense from the very get go, I can't praise this enough. A+ deserves awards.
8 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
6/10
Is that your toe?
Michael Ledo20 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This film is based on a true story. 12 men are trained in Scotland and go to Norway to disrupt German operations. We know Jan Baalsrud lives and everyone else dies from the opening. This is a long story about his survival and being helped out of Norway into neutral Sweden.

I watched the film with subtitles. The translations were cleaned up (I know how to swear in German but nothing more). The whole problem with the film is we get to watch Jan hide for much of the film...and cut off his toes.

Guide: No swearing, sex, or nudity.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
Somehow a film of disappointment
BasicLogic9 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Yes, the cinematography of this film is pretty good, the coldness, the ice, the snowy mountain and hills, the forlorn sea, the fjords...looked pretty cool. But what's the purpose of making a movie with a lost cause? The mission was a failure, a complete bust, eleven team members were caught by the Nazis, one guy miraculously escaped. So the whole film in front of our eyes just showed a guy with a crippled feet, trudging in the snow, swam in the icy strait, seeking refugee and sanction from his fellow country citizens, again and again sneaked away under the vicious and relentless chase and search of the Nazis. But after awhile, the movie felt lost its steam just like the 12th man losing his body heat, a repeated scene after scene of this hide and seek, cat and mouse formula. And gradually, it seemed to become a one directional development, we, the viewers, knew that guy was the only survivor of a failed mission, we knew he'd have successfully escaped from the Nazis. In order to show us how tough and how difficult this 12th man was facing during his escape saga, the camera just kept showing us his damaged almost frost-bit feet with lost toes, again and again, we have to look at his feet and toes when he had to take off the wet bloody soaked sock. There's not too much and too many things to tell except the tortures of his fellow team members by the Nazis. After awhile, it became so tiresome to watch. I just gave up in the middle.

If you cannot make a better version of "Ni Liv (aka Nine Lives) 1957" and transcend it, better not waste your budget on a "Foot Care 101" in 2017, even you now have the better tech, better lens to shoot a picture, you did a lousy job.
16 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Really Worth Seeing
bilismit16 June 2018
I really do not care how accurate this movie was made. It's a great movie worth seeing. It keeps you focused with almost no boring moments. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story.
3 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Amazing movie
javeswarsi13 May 2018
This movie unforgettable amazing ,from start to till end you never bored really i bet everyone must watch this movie. i congratulate to all casting and maker to make fantastic movie.
4 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
A Great Movie - Must Watch
yasiru199122 July 2018
Its a movie which will keep you at the edge of seat throughout the entire run time. The locations and the story is just fantastic. It makes it special to watch this film knowing that its a real story. A goose bumping thriller. !!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
4/10
Straight to dvd bin movie
ozanvolkan14 May 2018
I think its not fair for people to give this many 9s 10s to mediocre, straight to dvd movies like this one. Do not get fooled by the high ratings and pay big money to watch this movie. Cheap dunkirk imitation at best
11 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
First 8 I have given to a Norwegian movie!
frede-ousland29 April 2018
Loves the scene where Jardar Johansen are carrying Jan B to the shore :-)
5 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
I'm speechless, HIGHLY RECOMMEND
monica_bellucci200428 May 2018
If people consider themselves as human or a good person, should see this movie and understand what the word humanity it's all about, HIGHLY RECOMMEND, I'm speechless, it's the best movie I've seen in a long time. I'm obsessed with war movies, specially the ones about WWII, and this one, is that kind of movie the lack air. DO SEE IT.
3 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Impressive movie
stevenbyrd8 May 2018
There are so many great principles shown in this film. What the human spirit can endure even the the face of adversity. Great film
5 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
Amazing!, the story couldn't be told any better
sbocena7 July 2018
...What makes "12th Man" such a great movie is that it depicts a story about survival and the director/ casts have managed to show that with pinpoint accuracy.

......The struggle with movies based on true story, is that you almost always know everything about the story and you already kinda know how things are gona turn out. "12th Man" begs to differ, slowly without skipping important details, it unravels how the man survived the escape from the Germans. Step by step, it shows us the struggles he succumbed, the nearly impossible odds he faced and you can fill down to your bones that the struggle was real.

.....The way the scenes are arranged is magnificent. The way the movie starts with the leadstar holding top secret document and as a watched you are immediately drowned into story. It leaves in you suspense about the opening scene and carries all the way through the survival story. The make up, the acting and the details of how a man running from the Nazi with gangrenous foot out in the cold would look like are amaizing. From the red eyes, the nightmares, the hallucination, I swear the director didn't rush anything at all.

...I love Christopher Nolan's movies, he is a great director but I would choose this survival story over Dunkirk anyday.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
Thank you director, producer and actors!
torehaug21 May 2018
Greatful to you all for bringing this true story out to the world! The full and detailed story behind "The 12th man" is found in the book. (Astrid K. Scott and Tore Haug) (Skyhorse Publishing, NY) (Amazon)
3 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
8/10
A great film about a norwegian hero
dakjets30 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This Norwegian movie is about a well-known Norwegian opponent, Jan Balsrud, and his escape to save his life after a sabotage action that went wrong. His escape is well known in Norway, it has also been filmed before. But this new movie to Harald Zwart shows the escape in a whole new way. Here it is exciting from beginning to end, with a injured Balsrud who struggles during hard conditions in northern Norway in the winter. He is being hunted by the Gestapo. The never seem to give up trying to find him, and use brutal methods. The film has speed and excitement. It gives an insight into the Norwegian resistance struggle, and why Jan Balsrud became a hero. It also tells about all the forgotten heroes he met on his escape, and that helped him on his escape. The film may lack insight into the characters. We do not get familiar with Jan Balsrud, and his burning commitment to do as he does, but the film instead focuses on the dramatic escape and succeeds well.
2 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Real story, real people One of the best war movies that THIS (I) war movies fan has seen
"Den 12 mann" It a fantastic Norwegian WW2 movie and one of the best movies I have seen. It is a true story about Jan Baalsrud and one of the best movies I have seen (I have seen so many many). War films that are about real people, suffering, heroism, true good people willing to risk theyre lives in a Nazi occupied contry. Good and courage meets eval low life of the nazis. Many films are about the french resistans, some about resistance in other countrys but this is the second film I have seen about the Norvegian "resistance" where farmers an simple good people dont give up and do the good thing no matter what. It is retelling of Resistance hero Jan Baalsrud's in Nazi-occupied Norway. Everything was so real and people that have been in terrain like North Norway know the reality of the hardship during a winter in Norway. The film was incredible...the story was very intense...the acting put the movie over the top! No unreal Holliwood superhearoes but ordinary people (well strong and used to deal with exreemetys of the wether. The film was so VERY WELL done that I could not take my eyes off the screen from start till the end. It had a deep meaning for me and i'm glad i didn't miss it. I know that many Norvegian farmers that the Nazis were suspicios of were shot on site for not "liking" the Nazy occupation. The movie was fantasticly shot and directed movie. The acting over all is exelent. And the landscape, the beuty of this gread contry was shown in its simple and hard live in theyr farms. Director: Harald Zwart does a masterpiece. Actors; Thomas Gullestad (as Jan Baalsrud) should get an Oscare. Mads Sjøgård Pettersen as Marius Grønvoll is so true as a farmboy with good hart and innocent courage = He was brilliant. Marie Blokhus is so good in Gudruns Grønvolls role with with good hart and genuine innocent courage = I fell in love :-) She was brilliant. All the rest the actors that played the Norvegian/and "Sumerian" Norwegians where so true and strong in theyr contribution to the film.

The visuals were stunning, the director did an amazing job. Incredibly tense from beginning til the end, I can't praise this enough. A+ Feserves awards, many of them
1 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
NOT IN ENGLISH
Amazon states the movie is in English under Audio Languages, it is not! It does have subtitles if they are turned on for your television or computer settings. That being said, if you are willing to watch the movies with subtitles, it is an amazing movie to watch.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
Great movie!
stfaustina29 May 2018
Loved it! Good story that should have been told. High quality, High acting. Pretty sure the Norwegians were meticulous it making it a great movie given the story. They succeeded. Loved it!
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
10/10
I would give this 50 stars if I could!!
christiw-5122927 May 2018
This movie is incredible. Fantastic story, keeping you on the edge while inspiring at the same time. People in previous reviews are complaining about the subtitles. Now come on people, would you find it realistic if Germans and Norwegians spoke English?! The subtitles and translations in the movie makes it feel even more realistic. Wonderful scenery and views throughout the movie. Incredible soundtrack. All around 11/10 film.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
9/10
Woah
hermistonj19 May 2018
Stunning. When the movie was over I just sat on my couch in silence. Well done.
1 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote!
Copied to clipboardCopy link
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed