Den 12. mann (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
37 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Amazing true story. Told the way Jan wanted it
toreborgen29 December 2017
The whole family went to see this film. We had high hopes for it. Neither of us was disappointed. Its a brutal story, told like the soldier who went through the ordeal wanted it to be told.

It has been made before, different title. (9 lives, 9 liv) Jan Bålsrud did not like that version because he did not see himself as a hero. He felt the people who helped him was the heroes. That film received an academy nomination for best foreign film

The helpers really are the story here. The role of Jan Bålsrud played by Thomas Gulestad is potrayed brilliant and brutal.

I like Harald Zwart, brilliant underrated filmmaker.
45 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Really Worth Seeing
bilismit16 June 2018
I really do not care how accurate this movie was made. It's a great movie worth seeing. It keeps you focused with almost no boring moments. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good story.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A story of fighting spirit and survival
OJT25 December 2017
Den 12. mann / 12th man is a different retelling of the story about the flight of Jan Baalsrud, hunted by the Nazi occupants after a sabotage action hiding important papers. The story was told from Baalsrud's angle in the 1957 Academy Award nominee-movie Ni Liv (Nine lives) by director Arne Skouen, This time it's Hollywood director Harald Zwart, known for his comedies and the rather good remake of The Karate Kid, and he has made something he has never done, a survival drama and war film.

And he has succeeded well in telling a story about a hero, which became so due to good helpers in good believing Norwegians, being able to assist him on the two month struggle of a journey through very harsh winter terrain and weather.

The film tells the story of not only Baalsrud, but also the 11 other which were alle killed by the Nazi's, and also tells the story about the survival spirit of a war-occupied country. This film is actually much more accurate than the original 1957-film, and completely differently told, which serves both the story and the film well.

Debuting Thomas Gullestad is amazing in the lead, and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers is excellent as the German Kurt Stage. And the rest of the cast does fabulous as well.

Well worth a watch!
28 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Different but good war story based on true events.
deloudelouvain10 August 2018
The 12th man is based on a true story so that alone makes it even more interesting. I read from another reviewer that it didn't exactly happened like this, who knows, with lesser Germans searching for him, but does it realy matters? Jan Baalsrud still remains a hero as you see the battle he fought to reach the neutral country Sweden and that in harsh winter conditions. And like he said and wanted, the true heroes were the ones that helped him. Like all people from the Resistance in any country those people deserve being called heroes as they fought underground risking their life almost everyday. The movie is very well made, with alot of gripping moments full of suspense, and great cinematography of the wintery landscapes. Jan Baalsrud played brilliantly by Thomas Gullestad, is a character you can only feel sympathy for. Nice job as well from Jonathan Rhys Meyers playing the Nazi officer Kurt Stage. A movie with a good story, with a good cast, and based on true events, what else do you want?
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A heartfelt insight into the human spirit.....
s327616910 May 2018
I suspect based on some of the reviews people have come to this film expecting a classic tale of espionage and war.

On the surface this is indeed a film that takes place during WWII. That said, more than anything else this is a tale of survival and endurance in the face of overwhelming odds. What makes it a little more interesting is indeed the fact the key protagonist must confront both nature and a determined human enemy.

The pacing of this film which has accumulated a lot of criticism reflects its survivalist emphasis. Its a slow, thoughtful film, that in terms of cinematography is really quite beautiful, in a rugged, snowbound way. The human interest component that makes up much of the difference offers up an insight into a how people draw on an indefinable "something" within themselves with faced with a harrowing series of events.

I enjoyed this film. Its well acted, directed and in its own way its very heartfelt. It looks at war for the tragedy that it is war and does not shy away from expressing, in very raw terms, the horror that conflict between people evokes but also the decency and human spirit of those who help others at great personal risk.

9/10 from me.
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
albankrz15 May 2018
That was a big surprise for me. Didn't expect something like that. One of my fav movie about WWII do far, shows the terrible things that happened in nazzi's time. Great acting, true story , everything top.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A well directed and shot movie!
TheSecondMan27 December 2017
"Den 12 mann" is a well shot and directed movie. The acting is great, although sometimes Jan Baalsrud looks a bit too healthy. Some of the dialogue is also pretty weak.

Overall it's a pretty solid Norwegian WW2 movie that I definitely recommend
17 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
That was incredible!
rainworx11 May 2018
That was incredible...the story was very intense...the acting put the movie over the top! Very well done, could not take my eyes off the screen. Had deep meaning for me and i'm glad i didn't miss it. Tusen Takk
14 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Having never written a review..
tom_wyles11 May 2018
This is the first and probably only, This movie was so good I was thinking about it the entire day the next day. The visuals were stunning, the director did an amazing job. Incredibly tense from the very get go, I can't praise this enough. A+ deserves awards.
15 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The 19 lives of Jan
franka_van_loon9 October 2018
This film is so over dramatized and so totally exaggerated, that the end result of this film is more like a comedy than a drama, maybe Harald Zwart should be the director of a new Marvel-movie. The 19 lives of Jan would have an more suitable name for this film. I liked that the everyone was speaking their own language, and not some stupid american accent. The nature shots are beautiful.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Somehow a film of disappointment
BasicLogic9 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Yes, the cinematography of this film is pretty good, the coldness, the ice, the snowy mountain and hills, the forlorn sea, the fjords...looked pretty cool. But what's the purpose of making a movie with a lost cause? The mission was a failure, a complete bust, eleven team members were caught by the Nazis, one guy miraculously escaped. So the whole film in front of our eyes just showed a guy with a crippled feet, trudging in the snow, swam in the icy strait, seeking refugee and sanction from his fellow country citizens, again and again sneaked away under the vicious and relentless chase and search of the Nazis. But after awhile, the movie felt lost its steam just like the 12th man losing his body heat, a repeated scene after scene of this hide and seek, cat and mouse formula. And gradually, it seemed to become a one directional development, we, the viewers, knew that guy was the only survivor of a failed mission, we knew he'd have successfully escaped from the Nazis. In order to show us how tough and how difficult this 12th man was facing during his escape saga, the camera just kept showing us his damaged almost frost-bit feet with lost toes, again and again, we have to look at his feet and toes when he had to take off the wet bloody soaked sock. There's not too much and too many things to tell except the tortures of his fellow team members by the Nazis. After awhile, it became so tiresome to watch. I just gave up in the middle.

If you cannot make a better version of "Ni Liv (aka Nine Lives) 1957" and transcend it, better not waste your budget on a "Foot Care 101" in 2017, even you now have the better tech, better lens to shoot a picture, you did a lousy job.
27 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
First 8 I have given to a Norwegian movie!
frede-ousland29 April 2018
Loves the scene where Jardar Johansen are carrying Jan B to the shore :-)
11 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing movie
javeswarsi13 May 2018
This movie unforgettable amazing ,from start to till end you never bored really i bet everyone must watch this movie. i congratulate to all casting and maker to make fantastic movie.
7 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
How much can one man endure
chrang-5001516 September 2018
This film is about a sole survivor of a Norwegian resistance mission. The plot follows his struggle for survival and his devotion to his cause and his mission. So we become witnesses to an excellent adventure that contains pretty much everything. Ruthless nazis hunting down anyone who opposses them, ruthless nature with really hard conditions, everything against the will of a single man who never gives up. This is a story of devotion and fortitude. It's a story about selflessness. A story of a man who amongst thousands like him, sacrificed for their country and for freedom, in a period where darkness and morbidity were prevailing.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Seeing is believing.
mancodollarstrilogy6 September 2018
Wow.....what an incredible story, and brilliantly told. First class performances all round. Will live long in the memory.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent
jram18327 November 2018
One of the best WWII movie in my list. Splendid performance by Thomas. Awesome locations. A must watch for War movie lovers.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wao!
masud-nishat20 October 2018
Another great and highly recommended adventure movie in my list of survival series. Really great acting and makeup effects. Soundtracks, cinematography, suspense and thriller, everything was wonderful. Really enjoyed it 😊!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'm speechless, HIGHLY RECOMMEND
monica_bellucci200428 May 2018
If people consider themselves as human or a good person, should see this movie and understand what the word humanity it's all about, HIGHLY RECOMMEND, I'm speechless, it's the best movie I've seen in a long time. I'm obsessed with war movies, specially the ones about WWII, and this one, is that kind of movie the lack air. DO SEE IT.
5 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
True Story ? Yes but a little suspense added
rudie-marien17 August 2018
While Jan was without question a hero, not because he kept out of German hand (because there were none on his journey) but because he survived extreme weather, injuries, frost. The will to survive saved him. Making a 2 hour film from a thin story like this resulted in something that feels artificial. Although the acting is in general OK, it's not exeptional.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Impressive movie
stevenbyrd8 May 2018
There are so many great principles shown in this film. What the human spirit can endure even the the face of adversity.
7 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Is that your toe?
nogodnomasters20 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This film is based on a true story. 12 men are trained in Scotland and go to Norway to disrupt German operations. We know Jan Baalsrud lives and everyone else dies from the opening. This is a long story about his survival and being helped out of Norway into neutral Sweden.

I watched the film with subtitles. The translations were cleaned up (I know how to swear in German but nothing more). The whole problem with the film is we get to watch Jan hide for much of the film...and cut off his toes.

Guide: No swearing, sex, or nudity.
7 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Thank you director, producer and actors!
torehaug21 May 2018
Greatful to you all for bringing this true story out to the world! The full and detailed story behind "The 12th man" is found in the book. (Astrid K. Scott and Tore Haug) (Skyhorse Publishing, NY) (Amazon)
5 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Straight to dvd bin movie
ozanvolkan14 May 2018
I think its not fair for people to give this many 9s 10s to mediocre, straight to dvd movies like this one. Do not get fooled by the high ratings and pay big money to watch this movie. Cheap dunkirk imitation at best
18 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A great film about a norwegian hero
dakjets30 April 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This Norwegian movie is about a well-known Norwegian opponent, Jan Balsrud, and his escape to save his life after a sabotage action that went wrong. His escape is well known in Norway, it has also been filmed before. But this new movie to Harald Zwart shows the escape in a whole new way. Here it is exciting from beginning to end, with a injured Balsrud who struggles during hard conditions in northern Norway in the winter. He is being hunted by the Gestapo. The never seem to give up trying to find him, and use brutal methods. The film has speed and excitement. It gives an insight into the Norwegian resistance struggle, and why Jan Balsrud became a hero. It also tells about all the forgotten heroes he met on his escape, and that helped him on his escape. The film may lack insight into the characters. We do not get familiar with Jan Balsrud, and his burning commitment to do as he does, but the film instead focuses on the dramatic escape and succeeds well.
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
WOW
goonerchris-161-42831814 November 2018
I don't watch many foreign language films but this was quite outstanding. The charatures were believable, the acting was of a high level, the story was egde of the seat stuff. It was a simple plot which helped when reading the subtitles. It is quite long at over 2 hours but there is enough going on to not make it boring.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed