Iron Fist (TV Series 2017–2018) Poster

(2017–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
896 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
4/10
Bad writing
mii-983989 September 2018
I hoped the second season would fix the show, but instead, they added bad writing to make the show even worse than before. Generally speaking, if you are looking for an action Sci Fi with a good story, then Iron Fist is not the answer.
59 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Shockingly bad
kamin-987-80834618 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, the lead character could be green for all I care. The issue is everything else.

Right from the beginning, we get the main character coming to the city after being assumed dead for 15 years. He has to try to prove his identy to his childhood friends that run this multi-billion dollar company. It goes downhill from there. They don't believe him (of course) but he insists he just wants to talk. Instead of even asking him any questions from their childhood (or him mentioning anything), they kick him out and he goes rampaging crazily around town. Why why why can't anyone believe me.

He constantly reminds us that he spent 15 years training to be this great warrior and how he can survive things like sub 0 temperatures with no shirt off and that he doesn't need to walk around in shoes cause he's Iron Fist.

A few goons get the drop on him, place him in a mental hospital and the only guy who believes him is another mental case. It took 4-5 episodes before the doctor even discovered is identity and that took the main character slipping out a bit of information about his past while watching a commercial #smh Anyway, he hooks up with this young Asian chick who is also a master of some style. She barely looks 21 but hey, she's good. They show her berating her students about fighting in the ring and how dishonorable it is only for her to take up fighting too. She needed the training because she now becomes the hero's sidekick.

So the hero is trying to find the main antagonist and everyone whoops his tail. He has trouble with all the simplest of goons. He eventually wins his fights and then decides to take on the big baddie herself. The only smart chick says, "Hey it's a bad idea right now" but the guy reminds us of his 15 years of training and that he's good enough to take on the old lady; who mind you, just threw him 15 feet into a wall with the wave of her palm a few episodes back.

Not spoiling the entire thing but it's a terrible show, fights are poorly choreographed and the dialog is poorly written. I'm not sure where all the hype comes from but this show needs an Iron Fist to the head.
315 out of 483 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Falls short
mmoneta18 March 2017
Iron Fist falls short of previous Netflix Marvel productions.

The writing was sometimes cringe-worthy and while some blame the actors, there's only so much that can be done with a poor script.

The direction was also lacking, with oddly constructed scenes and action. It felt like the actors had little feedback on their performances, which led to the repetitive silliness.

The fight choreography... well, I'm not entirely sure there was any. Unlike Daredevil (for example), where there was a genuine sense of reality in the fight scenes, in Iron Fist it felt like the scenes in Arrow. Unlimited energy, unrealistic combat, no real damage.

That said, it's not actually horrible, and makes for a good weekend binge-watch. Just imagine you're watching a 13-hour Saturday Kung-Fu movie marathon, and set your expectations appropriately.
318 out of 488 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow, just amazingly bad.
jeffhemley-0869612 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Okay the first season had some bad moments but season 2 is a million times worse. Season 2 destroys Joy's character in an unbelievable way. It is so bad I started fast forwarding through her parts. She goes from being Danny's friend and supporter to being involved in an evil plot to destroy him for hurting her feelings in season 1. It really is that bad. She is like a totally different person than in season one. Then the Iron Fist gets his butt kicked, easily mind you, by a girl with no super powers or even special training of any kind. Then after whining and begging for help and mercy he actually pays the tough girl to help him, lollll. The feminist icing on the cake happens in the end when his power gets transferred to his more deserving girlfriend. I literally felt sick to my stomach to watch this dribble. This is nothing but feminist propaganda that is dramatically unrealistic. Actually that is the only way I can use the word drama to describe this ridiculous season.
56 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
SJW Marvel moves from comics to your tv screen
beautifulsalvation-3856711 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This Will Contain Major Spoilers!!!

I'm a huge Iron Fist fan. He's one of my favorite comic book characters. I defended season 1 when everyone else was hating on it. But after watching Season 2, I hope it doesn't get a third season. This honestly felt like I was not watching Iron Fist season 2, but rather Colleen Wing season 1. I love Colleen! I love that her & Danny are (were) in a relationship! But she's not the star of the show. As the show went on, it felt more and more like all i was seeing was Colleen. And When Davos broke Danny's leg, I became concerned. And rightfully so. Because Danny Rand, the Immortal Iron Fist, the champion of K'un L'un, one of the best fighters in all of the world, asks Colleen Wing to train him.

What the actual crap, Marvel?

Danny Rand is a much better fighter than Colleen. He knows techniques she's never heard of. But in typical SJW fashion, the girl has to be better than the guy.

Season 2 is radically different from Season 1. As stated before, most people hated it. And a lot of things are much better! Rand enterprises isn't featured at all (win), Ward isn't a douchebag (win), Davos is a much better villain than Harold Meachum (huge win), and the fighting was much better!!! It also didn't feel rushed. However, the outlash from sjws who have no idea about Iron Fist, never read an iron fist comic or ever intend to, complained that Iron Fist was a white dude. Well, Marvel fixed that, didn't they?

After Danny finishes his training with the Immortal Colleen Wing, he tells her that SHE should be the Iron Fist.

WHAAAAAAT THE FUUUUUUUUU------!!!!! And guess what? She accepts it. Colleen Wing is the Iron Fist now. And better than Danny was (in typical sjw fashion) because she can channel her chi into her katana. WOW.

I've never been so angry at a tv show before in my life.

The borrowed from The Immortal Iron Fist, one of the greatest comic books ever, and included Wu Shi, the First female Iron Fist, but they made Colleen a descendant of hers. After Danny leaves to go find himself, he leaves Colleen a note saying thqt mayne his destiny was bringing the iron fist to Colleen the whole time. And I'm done. I hope it doesn't get a third season. If it does, I'm not watching it.

Marvel comics have been flushing themselves down the toilet for years now by infusing sjw bullcrap into their books, which are selling so poorly they can't even give them away. And now they appear to be doimg the same thing with their tv shows. Runaways is the most sjw pile of crap I've ever seen and I didn't even mqke it through the whole first episode. It's only a matter of time before Marvel's movies follow suit. And then Marvel will no longer exist. And quite frankly, I'm so pissed that i hope that happens. If this is how they "respect" their characters, which are legendary & timeless, then they deserve it.

So if you like Iron Fist, save yourself from watching this garbage season. Oh, and just an fyi, the showrumner for this season is the guy that gave us the Elektra movie. Thanks, Marvel
80 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch for yourself
slashisrock_gh317 March 2017
For those worried about whitewashing, give the show a try. Yes, they could have very well cast an Asian for the lead. But I feel that the producers were afraid of letting fans down for not sticking to the source material. Finn Jones is fine as Danny Rand. He's no where near the size of his comic book counterpart, but let's be real, Iron Fist is completely shredded in the comic books. It's kind of hard to get that ripped. People wanted this show to fail from the beginning, and that's why people are giving it such bad reviews. Plus, most of the critics know nothing of the source material. Even if they try to say that they do. All you have to do is google facts about the character. The show has pacing problems as do all TV shows. But if you are a fan of the comics, and have watched the other Marvel Netflix series, this show will feel familiar. It has the musical style of Luke Cage with the fighting style of Daredevil. You're going to find things you don't like about the show, of course. Just like any other show. But the critics are dead wrong in my opinion. It's a good show. It would have been cool to see an up and coming Asian actor in the role, but being a fan of the comics, I'm glad they stuck to the source material. I understand when Iron Fist was created they made him white in fear of him not selling as an Asian character. But it's not the same in the modern comics or this show for that matter. This show hasn't made him out to be some white savior, and I'm thankful for that. I do wish there were strong Asian superheroes, but I still like this particular character whether he's white or Asian. If you read any of this review, read this part. Watch the show for yourself. Judge it based on your feelings towards it. Don't let a critic tell you not to watch it. Form your own opinion, and please stay open minded.
614 out of 1,002 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Had a lot of potential .....Disappointed!!
john_hawi11 April 2017
To start with, I was not happy with the casting even before the show aired, still i hoped to be proved wrong once i watched it.... i wasn't.

Iron fist for those that are comic book fans , is supposed to be one of the most lethal martial artist on the planet, which serves as a good starting point to bring in an expert martial artist to fill the shoes. since that didn't happen the action scenes seem rehearsed and at times slow with no creative choreography. the lead character does not come off as a strong person rather a kid with parent issues that is so annoyingly naive. out of the similar series done by Netflix Iron fist ranks last on my list, with daredevil being first and Jessica Jones second. they really missed the mark on this one.
29 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Only getting worse.
csachun86-788-3757211 September 2018
1st season was bad but still a little interesting. 2nd season just terrible. I tried watching it all but kept getting easily distracted cuz it was so bad.
39 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty decent show, doesn't deserve all the hate
riefenstein00117 March 2017
I binge watched already the whole show since I'm sick at home. I was aware of all the bad critics, but I had nothing else to watch. I was pretty surprised, the show has an entertaining storytelling, good acting (I like Finn as the sometimes childlike but also wise Danny Rand), some humor, sometimes a little bit cheesy, good fight scenes (even though Daredevils hallway scene is unparalleled ). I would rate the show in line with Luke Cage and Jessica Jones, Daredevil is better, but Iron Fist doesn't deserve the hate. It has also three strong, interesting female characters: Rosario Dawson has a comeback as the Night Nurse, but in stronger appearance than in Daredevil or Luke Cage. Also Jessica Henwick as Coleen Wing is a great female lead and Madame Gao is a wonderful fleshed out female villain. Give it a try.
403 out of 667 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated Superhero Show
mto1024 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Iron Fist is a show that is pretty controversial amongst fans. Some love it, and others hate it. I find myself to be more in the middle. Seeing the effort put into the show, and the great moments, as well as some of the lackluster ones. Overall, I find Iron Fist to be underrated.

The show's first season is actually less of an origin story for Iron Fist/Danny Rand and more of a corporate type drama. I found the characters to be compelling enough to hold my interest, but the episodes were too long, and there were too many. Normally I don't mind this with TV shows, as it gives more time to develop characters this way, but for some reason, it just felt wrong for Iron Fist. Luckily season 2 shortened the amount of episodes, and it's even better as a result.

Netflix Marvel started out as pretty high quality material, and kept lowering as it continued. To me, Iron Fist is the weakest of the Marvel Netflix series', but it still stands well on its own. The fight scenes in this show specifically, feel sluggish at times, most notably in the first season. Comparing the slow, drawn out fight scenes in this show to the raw and brutal fight scenes of Daredevil and Punisher make this show look notably worse, but it is a problem that has been fixed in season 2.

Overall the story of Iron Fist is interesting enough, and Finn Jones, as well as the rest of the cast, do a good job with the material they're given. I'd like to see more crossovers between the shows like we got in season 2 of Luke Cage. It would only increase the connectivity of the Netflix MCU and make the shows better. Questionable decisions, like Danny giving Colleen the Iron Fist continue to hold the show back from greatness though; leaving the show only as a decent superhero series, when it could've been more.

My Rating: 8.0/10
44 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Season 2 Ruined The Series
rncrnr10 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The ending was so horrible I now regret watching the show altogether I suppose that is an achievement by itself. That's why I gave the second star. I don't even know where to begin...
42 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Unwatchable
nvfone18 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I saw about half of this before finally giving up. Finn Jones is utterly unwatchable. He's as bad as that guy who played Anakin Skywalker and I hope his name quickly fades from memory like that guy's did. Unfortunately, I assume they'll bring him back in The Defenders, which will be a real shame because Finn Jones will completely bring down the value of that production.

Why did Marvel not find a real martial arts actor to play this part? They could have made a huge star out of someone. At least with Daredevil you could hide an expert under the mask - in this one it's not possible and quite frankly they should know that there's no way to fake martial arts skill. Finn Jones doesn't have any "chi" whatsoever, and the fight scenes suck because of it. It takes years of training to build that, and it can't be faked - especially when "chi" is the super power of the character.

But, honestly, the entire Iron Fist production is just crap. The details are lazy, unprofessional and not worth the attention of an adult. Just one example - there's a guy with a sucking chest wound and the hospital staff are tossing him around like a sack of potatoes. There's no way they would pick the patient up out of a wheelchair and carry him halfway across the room to a gurney - he's got a sucking chest wound! But that's what they do. There are multiple b.s. moments like that in every episode I saw.

In the end, this is a huge disappointment. I consider The Arrow to have better production value than Iron Fist, because at least The Arrow is marketed to teenagers. Iron Fist is for juveniles when Daredevil, Jones and Luke Cage are all college level or above. Do yourselves a favor, Marvel, and write off Danny for the Defenders. Bring in an Iron Fist who can act and fight - I personally don't care about ethnicity.

Didn't make it past episode 6 on this one. Utter crap. I even resurrected my IMDb account just to post this. Seriously, this is complete garbage.
354 out of 603 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Show
feehan17 March 2017
I too am baffled by the terrible "professional reviews". I'm also a little irritated that they get to watch it early. I love most of these Netflix lesser known Marvel hero stories some are better than others. This one is very good. I like the characters and story. It's just enough action to make me believe it's a superhero story but not so much it's just one explosion after another. I appreciate the point of these shows which is to dive into the character, show a complete origin story just like in a comic book. The acting is good, the stunts are believable and the story is interesting.

I don't mind that a white guy is playing a white guy from a comic book about a white guy. I'm reviewing the TV show not the identity politics. Thank you Marvel and Netflix for deeper, adult story-telling.
327 out of 564 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Get Woke, Go Broke.
the-real-max-g-force11 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I watched the first 13 episodes (season one), and it was just okay. Season two was very different. I found I was getting bored A LOT, and then it dawned on me what was going on, THIRD WAVE FEMINISM. 90% of the screen time was women discussing "muh emotions", while the "Iron Fist" was turned into a soyboy that couldn't save a kitten stuck in a tree. Several times everything stopped so Social Justice topics like PRIVILEGE could be discussed. By the end the "Iron Fist" is nothing but a broken, powerless mortal heading back to the far east, while one of the 5 female leads takes his powers and becomes the new badass crimefighter. It's totally nauseating.
32 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Very disappointing - bad story line
felixcrunge18 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS!

First off i have to say that i didn't read the comics so i don't know if this is the original story line (god i hope not).

So to start it off: this series is progressing way too slow and more important 90% of the plot doesn't make any sense at all.

For example i was wondering why Danny didn't use his fist more frequently and after like 8 episodes we finally learn that he cant use it that often because he has to recharge his chi (which he later learns to do by doing what seems to be some awkward dance moves). And beyond that ... - even he doesn't know anything about his powers + he is the whiniest superhero i have ever seen. A guy which supposedly trained 15 years non stop with super elite monks which apparently didn't teach him anything about his powers, self control or dealing with your emotions (you know ... what meditation etc is all about). The last scene - the setup for season 2 i guess? - shows his old buddy from the monastery convincing Joy that they have to kill Danny .... because? reasons! .... its kind of believable that Dannys old friend is turning against him, but Joy? .. she has literally no reason besides ... i feel bad and I'm one of the main characters .... lets be evul. ALso madame Gao seems to be working with Davos which, again, is simply unbelievably out of character. I could go on and on and on about plot holes but well to sum it up ... its boring, confusing and they try to replicate daredevils fighting style but fail miserably - DO NOT WATCH!
171 out of 289 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Boring. Just... boring.
kostapovicz18 March 2017
I'm a long-time Defenders fan. I started watching the first episode with my hopes up. There was a lot of negative press before its release, but I wanted to give it a fair shot with an open mind.

Six episodes in, I'm done. I can't force myself to watch anymore. The show is just so boring, with such awful pacing and bland, often pointless dialogue that I found myself rolling my eyes every few minutes. The fight scenes are mostly awkward and obviously scripted, and as a martial artist myself, they make me cringe. Maybe it's a blessing in disguise that there are so few of them?

This is not the Iron Fist I know. Honestly, the more I watched, the more I realized it seems like a bad rehashing of Daredevil season 1. I love Daredevil season 1, but I don't need to see it done again, with a character that the show does not allow me to connect with or like.

I'm sorry, but this is just awful.
274 out of 475 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful!
spideynw19 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Danny Rand (a.k.a. Iron Fist) has to be one of the stupidest characters I have ever seen. I mean, what a flying idiot! But so are some of the other characters.

He shows back up in his hometown after being gone for 15 years. He shows up in ragged clothing with no shoes on. Who knows when the last time is he took a shower? He has a beard (his flight went down when he was 10 years old). And lastly he has no I.D.! And what is this idiots first idea? To go to "his" business building in downtown and let everyone know he is back. A nice, posh building. And he is dressed like garbage. Does he actually think anyone will take him seriously? Apparently! So he walks in and announces to the front desk that it is him and he is back! What do they do? They call security and toss him out. What does he do? Goes back in and beats the crap out of them and breaks into the building. He uses the elevator to get to the top floor. Apparently only the top two floors require a badge, because someone gets on at a lower floor and he sneakily uses her badge to get himself to the top floor (yeah right!). He then gets to confront his friends who are now running the business. Obviously they don't believe it is him (they thought he died and now this homeless man showed up claiming to be him). Do they call the cops? Nope, because they are so bright. They just have their security throw him out. The reasoning? Apparently he will just get let out of jail. Because assaulting five guards and breaking into a building is not a felony right????? I'm not going to keep going on about how stupid the writing is for this show. Just one other thing, I watched a couple of episodes. He gets put in a psych ward and he is just about to get out, and then he starts telling the doctor how he was found by mystical monks and went to a mystical place. What do you know? Now he isn't getting out. This show is all about creating unnecessary drama and characters that are just flying idiots.

The level of writing of this show is one of the worst I have seen, and I don't know how anyone could like it.
176 out of 300 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
End of season 2 worst ever
josephdrecker17 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
How are you going to take away his powers and give them to someone else worst ending ever
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I watched Iron Fist and all I got was a Rusty Metal Bitch Slap.
Ducsoup18 March 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Do not watch Iron Fist. Fine. Watch it. Then you'll be like, "I wish I had listened to to this guy".

Watching Iron Fist was like swimming in molasses. Uphill. Blindfolded. In the dark. It was just really, really bad. The beginning was bad, the middle was bad, and when you were praying for the agonizing end so the misery would be over, and you hoped there would be some sort of redemption by way of a cameo by DD or Jessica Jones or the Easter Bunny or anyone more interesting...you get screwed by a god awful ending that made no sense whatsoever.

Character development was soooooooo slow. Danny was made to look like a simpleton. Claire as an action hero was just over the top. The senseless relationships between the characters did not move the story and the bad guys were just plain idiotic. Pick one bad guy and stick with it already instead of trying to be sophisticated and keep the audience "guessing". Bad guys turned good, good guys turned bad (sometimes twice) It was insulting to the viewers.

The action was the same old fight scenes over and over and over and over and over with little to no sign of Iron Fist. Danny is just a regular karate kid wannabe who makes a couple of glowing fist moves throughout the series. It's as if the studio simply had no budget for special effects. Karate girl fighting cage matches against two fighters at a time was just plain silly, and then struggling against one of her half trained students. So stupid.

Not good acting. Not good writing. Not good action. Not a good story.

What was good? Nadda.

Edit: What was good? We know who WON'T be leading the Defenders. I'll be surprised if they let Danielson clean up the Dojo.
162 out of 280 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Hmmm
yoyopa24 March 2017
Let me start out by saying: I'm an actor, so criticizing other actors is not my thing. Also, I understand that with a series like this, the choices that are made are made by several people not just the lead actor him/herself. I say all of this because I've seen some scathing comments directed at Finn Jones. I very much enjoyed the series, and I still standby the idea that everything Marvel/Netflix has done absolutely dwarfs the CW/DC series on television..makes DC look like a childs coloring book. Even Marvel/Netflix at their weakest episodes is still better.

The thing that leaves me slightly confused is simply: Why is every supporting character on Iron Fist so much more interesting, compelling and fleshed out THEN THE IRON FIST HIMSELF?!? I mean seriously it's bizarre, I've never seen anything like it. They could have made a show entirely based on Joy and Ward Meachum and it would've been more interesting then following Danny Rand. They could've made an entire show based around Colleen Wing..again..more interesting. Clare Temple. EVEN DAVOS who was only around for 3 eps! And so on and so forth.

Before everyone throws Finn Jones to the wolves lets remember SOMEONE made the call to cast him so if you don't like his look..welp! nothing he can do about that..someone way above him thought he was the guy, then someone else wrote his character a certain way...full of holes and honestly rather bratty and childish.

I get that Danny Rand, when we meet him, is in some way still the 10 year old kid from before the crash. Perhaps the thought process was that during that time in Kun Lin he didn't quite mature the same way Joy and Ward did...makes sense. But it's a fine line playing an imbecilic child and a grown man with deep vulnerabilities and fears. Danny's outbursts of anger were almost laughable..he looked like a child throwing a temper tantrum. Now compare that to the actor who played Davos. He had the same issue...these bursts of anger from residual issues. But when his burst forth, it wasn't funny, you knew something was deeply wrong here.

The point is, this is a solidly good show, but it's main character is the weakest and least fleshed out and thats excusing the pathetic and confusing excuse for a villain Harold Meachum. For everyone throwing darts at this series, I guarantee they like everything EXCEPT...The Iron Fist.
47 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great!
Lion_Hearted2217 March 2017
After watching Iron Fist, I am convinced that the only reason it received bad reviews before it EVEN PREMIERED was because of the fact that Danny Rand is a white man.

Yes, in the comics, Danny Rand is a white man. So in the show, Danny Rand is a white man, accordingly. Some people campaigned to have him played by an Asian actor. As a Mexican man let me tell you I consider this to be incredibly racist and hypocritical. Nobody complains when the very norse and very white Valkyrie in the Thor comics is played by a person of African descent. In fact, to even have a problem with that casting automatically makes you racist. People, you cant "white wash" a character who has always been white.

Problems? Every piece of work has them. But the pacing or action problems in Iron Fist were there too in JESSICA JONES and Luke CAGE. Media decided to let those series be because they featured a woman in an abuse survival story and a black urban man in a refreshing heroic and unabashedly positive role. I liked both of those series, and I LOVE Iron Fist. I've known the character since he popped up in the MAXIMUM CARNAGE event in Marvel Comics and I completely fell in love with the character upon reading IMMORTAL IRON FIST. As a die-hard fan, I absolutely approve and adore this series, if you are a fan, or you've enjoyed DAREDEVIL, JESSICA JONES and Luke CAGE, watch it.

Oh, and then sign on for some Kung Fu lessons (Ng Ga Kuen-style Kung Fu is the best!)
316 out of 581 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really crap!
gca_3619 March 2017
Sorry Marvel, but this show is really trash in a really negative way. Finn Jones is definitely a miscast. The main character acts like a simpleton and has no development at all. The fighting scenes are the worst I have ever seen, which brings us back to Finn Jones. He is not a martial artist and this raises the question, why was he the first choice for this role? Even as an actor he doesn't do a good job. Well, maybe he was the only one available for the budget.

The story telling is very slow and there are quite a few plot holes. But I don't want to go into further details.

I have to say, I had high hopes for the Marvel shows on Netflix after watching Dare Devil, which was really great. Good actors, good story! Jessica Jones was not for me, same for Luke Cage. Unfortunately the descent of quality in Marvel shows continues with Iron fist. I hope, they hit rock bottom now and the future Marvel shows Punisher and Defenders will be good again.
170 out of 306 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Removes all art from martial arts!
elstonjeffrey10 September 2018
Trash writing destroyed this series. It's so bad it should be on the WB. Every character is a hypocrite in their morals and direction. Every other scene is simply a distraction from the fact half the writing staff has no clue where the story is going and the other half has never seen a martial arts movie before. According to the time line they tried setting up Danny would be over 45yrs old.Colleen is trained by the hand but can fist fight and win against both Danny and Davos, also seems to be better at all the attributes given to monks and these two characters from the first season. This show is a dumpster fire. Netflix pls never rehire this director or writing staff. Complete waste of time.
25 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Barely Worth Your Time.
sisslemissle18 March 2017
This series reminds me of Marco Polo. B grade acting at best. However,this series does not contain the amazing and pleasant cinematography of Marco Polo. The characters are not interesting and not worth investing in. The character development is non existent. For example, Ward Meechum is developed as Danny's meaner older brother that teases him when he was a child. So we as the audience are exposed to one scene for about 5 seconds of Danny's past and that is supposed to make him a meaningful character?

These actors and actresses feel like they have been selected at random from a crowds of people with no acting experience. The lead, Finn Jones, pulls of some good B grade acting and hes gives the most solid performance.

Jessica Henwick as Colleen Wing is simply a terrible actress. Her lines are delivered sharply and whenever she is on screen it is impossible to become immersed in the story. She does not convey emotion at all.As an actress D rating.

Joy and Ward Meechum are both very dry and uninteresting. Their dialogue always delivers boredom and a sense of who cares in the viewer. Both of these characters receive a C rating for acting grade.

As to the plot of the story the first four episodes are not only acted poorly but the plot does not advance until the fifth episode. Episodes one through four focus on Danny and his rejection by his own company when he comes home. This boring and uninteresting story point is explained in four episodes!

Although I do not want to compare this series to Daredevil ultimately it is inevitable. Daredevil is a tightly run story with incredible acting by some relatively unknown actors and actresses. Daredevil 9.5, iron fist 6.

If your looking to waste your time with poor acting and poorly executed plot lines look no further this is the show for you.

OMG do not get me started on the fighting whats supposed to be epic looks like a Californian surfer dancing, This shows is so horrendously cheesy and horribly acted that it is hilarious.
203 out of 370 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Painful to watch
llergoshine11 September 2018
I've watched all the Marvel street level hero's and I am a big fan of he MCU, but this show is a pain to watch. I do not know the original material so take my opinion with a grain of salt, but I do know good storytelling and something or other about screenwriting and this show just lacks a good story. Even if we can get past the weak storyline which is not thaaaaat hard to do given it's a superhero show, the characters I have a real issue with.

Finn Jones is a good actor but Danny Rand is just a moron. If Danny Rand is supposed to be a moron then Finn does an incredible job. The show relies more on its strong female characters. Colleen is an amazing strong female lead but I hate her, she emasculated Danny in all ways possible and has an air of superiority that is just not easy to swallow, however Jessica Henwick would make a kick ass real life anulan, for example. It's hard to have the mafia story lines follow the mysticism of the ancient city of Kun Lun, it all borders on the illuminati, but if there were better characters or they were better directed then maybe we could believe them.

I've seen all the series on Netflix. This one is the worst by far. The dialog is weak, the storyline is not hard to follow but it doesn't communicate urgency yet everybody acts as if it's the end of the world. The music is not half bad but it's nothing compared to Luke Cage, the fights are half decent but Daredeviks are way better, and the inner pain and intrigue of Jessica Jones can not be duplicated on this show.

Season 2 savior: Mary Walker storyline (and that's a stretch given that mental illness has long been used to try and make things more interesting) - again with the weak characters and weak motivations.

Watch it once, don't avoid it just size others say it sucks, but dint feel you need to watch it more than that to appreciate the rest of the series.
22 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed