Godzilla: King of the Monsters (2019) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
1,410 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Monsters awesome, rest meh
King_MG29 May 2019
The whole dramatic family story wasn't able to catch me. It isn't annoying, but allways kind of irrelevant. Every scene including monsters on the other hand is stuning. In General the monster design, the CGI, the fights and the whole cinematography aswell are beyond beautiful. I recommand the movie because of those monster scenes. Everything what happens aroud that is more like a 3/10
307 out of 397 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Godzilla film fans dreamed of :)!
ministry-8175930 May 2019
Right from being a child and watching the Hana Barbera cartoons and stomping round the house pretending to be Godzilla, to being allowed to stay up till the early hours of the morning as a treat by my Dad to watch the Togo films on channel 4 here here in the UK I have loved Godzilla. How I wish he was still here today to have watched this glorious film with me.

Baffled by many of the reviews saying to much Kaiju action or poor director etc.

This film was clearly made by a dedicated and passionate Godzilla fan. The sheer amount of Easter eggs and fan service which had me grinning is incredible, (yet knowledgeable Godzilla fans on RT seem to not have noticed any of this) and talk about the likes of fire breathing dragons ><!

Anyway the film is awesome. One of my favourite films of all time. Definitely my favourite Godzilla film.

The effects are incredible.

The music is awesome. You will be grinning from ear to ear at certain points.

I actually like the human cast. I liked 2014 Godzilla but did not like the main cast Aaron Tailor Johnson. Did not have those issues here. They play imo a good supporting cast to the main cast you care about - The Titans :)!

I'm super excited to see what happens next in the monsterverse.

Make sure you stay till the VERY end of the credits scene or for a final scene hinting at wha could be to come ;)!

I would also encourage you to write a review also should you watch and enjoy the film. Let's not let the likes of Rotten Tomatoes deter people from seeing a very fun and entertaining Godzilla movie :)!
535 out of 718 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's what Godzilla is supposed to be.
gungygussit29 May 2019
Not totally sure why people are coming out of seeing the film with the 'it's not what I expected' attitude.

It's Godzilla, it's based on the King of monsters fighting to keep the title (literally, but not literally...).

It's everything I loved about all the previous iterations, the raw power, the sound, the death toll, the bleak realisation that humans are so low down the food chain thier existence is almost pointless.

Absolutely spot on, good cast etc. If I had one criticism, it'd be the flamboyant disregard for the effects of radiation - they use it like fire but without the consequences of nuclear fallout :D
339 out of 458 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
There's no such thing as too much Godzilla
mrtemur29 May 2019
The entire movie is like a painting and it really captures the beauty and mystery that was loved about the old godzillas
481 out of 657 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
ARGH JUST KILL THE HUMANS ALREADY
opszanski5 June 2019
Crazy review title right? Well you might agree after watching this movie.

You'll probably hear a lot of opinions from people who aren't homegrown Godzilla fans - and they will have their own thoughts on this. I, on the other hand, am a big fan of the monster going years back. Finding a Godzilla movie in the TV guide, or a DVD for one of the Toho movies to rent was like winning the lottery when my brother and I were young.

Here are my thoughts plainly stated: Yes, this is a better Godzilla film than the 2014 movie. There are *aspects* of the latter that some might say make it superior, but that would only make it a better movie in general - as a *Godzilla movie* this new one is quite a bit better.

Don't listen to the people on RottenTomatoes talking about how "the special effects are overly relied on and can't make up for the bad characters and plot." No. Those CG monsters are the best part, and they almost singlehandedly save this movie. The solution is not to focus less on special effects and develop the characters better. The solution is to have every human character stepped on in the second act and have the last 45 min center the story solely on the monsters - which I guess would mostly be fighting.

The problem is this does not happen. Every moment you see the monsters battle, you enter a brief moment of bliss before you are ripped away to deal with people you don't care about doing things you hope they fail at. The first "clash" occurs in Antarctica, and that scene was actually quite good despite the focus on the humans. You're just now being exposed to these titans duking it out, so having people there witnessing the madness and trying to escape help play into how incredible this event truly is.

By the 3rd act, however, this tolerance has dried up. Correct me if I'm wrong, but doesn't a movie titled "Godzilla" imply that he is the main character? Because he doesn't feel like one. Without a doubt, THE biggest problem that Godzilla (2014) and this film have is they place waaayyyy too much value on human beings. Everyone in the audience is waiting for them to shut up and go away, but the movie has its head up its ass and thinks what they're doing is somehow important and worth focusing on. It would be like two warriors facing off, and having most of the climax focusing on ants running around on the ground trying to save each other.

The only "characters" here that need development are the Kaijus. Have them be your stars. Have them be the focus. It doesn't just have to be mindless action like how snobby people will pretend that's all we want to see. Go ahead and tell a story, but NOT with people. They are not the reason we're watching this, and we don't care about them.

One exception to what I said in the previous paragraph: Ken Watanabe His big character moment was incredible. If you must have human beings involved, do them like this. He was amazing.
134 out of 178 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
To much screen time for the humans.
ipodced7 June 2019
Next Movie they do they need to let the monsters fight more rather than letting us listen or watch the people story. I like Godzilla, but this movie was pretty bad only Bec of the lack of screen time for the monsters fighting. I want to see a Godzilla movie with humans not humans with Godzilla. The main character, which is in the damn title, Godzilla has barely any screen time. I don't know why they keep doing this, they have been focusing to much on the humans since the 60s. Someone please change this aspect of all Godzilla movies.
91 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Don't listen to the critics!!!
hannahtruran30 May 2019
If your a Godzilla fan you will love this film. The battles deliver, the titans are amazing and Godzilla's character is perfect. Don't list to critics who moan there is too many monster battles - that's what we want!!! Yeah some of the human plot development is a bit flat, and Elevens constant screaming is a bit annoying , hence losing a star. But otherwise it's a freaking great film.
398 out of 565 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Monsters great, people and drama boring
JoeYabuki5 June 2019
Great and Amazing battles/fights among giant monsters, epic and spectacular ones, what everybody was waiting for, if you want to enjoy good monsters and CGI this is you movie, go watch it on the best screen 8.5/10... But the plot is weak, people are stupid and make meaningless decisions. People's behavior is absurd, with a lot of boring drama that nobody cares, in addition the actors who are supposed to be the main ones have no time on screen. A Total disappointment.
60 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The whole audience cheered and clapped. Go see it if you love sheer fun and actual Godzilla movies!
annek-579-3358231 May 2019
This movie proves that critics mostly suck these days. This was SO MUCH FUN!! The first one in 2014 was a loving homage to the classic original Godzilla, as this one is a loving homage to the classic Godzilla sequels. This was guy in rubber suit stomping fun, with all of wonderful newness of modern cgi glory. This movie was what was going through the minds of the original creators but in a way their technology couldn't do at the time.

Haters gonna hate. The cork sniffing jerks who hate Godzilla movies to begin with are of course going to stick their noses in the air. Do not let them turn you away from two hours of real fun. My packed theatre cheered when the show ended. It was worth it!
162 out of 226 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Respectful & Beautiful Take On Toho's Classic Sequels
xecutionrecords3 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Looking at some of the comments on here today it makes me think that the world really needs a bit of Titan Cleansing to rid us of some of the stupidity coming out of people's mouths. 'This Film was too loud'? (Err Monsters smashing things.. get it) 'Not Enough storyline with the humans'? (Err Monsters vs Monsters.. get it) next time if you are going in to a movie with uncertainty about what you are going to get may i suggest you watch the multiple trailers that dropped way before the film hits theatres & it's safe to say you might have chosen to go see Aladdin instead, cause Aladdin this ain't baby! Godzilla KOTM is a love letter to Toho's classic monster franchise & is by far the best American version yet despite what some might say, Gareth Edwards 2014 movie had it's moments but was lacking those huge monster moments that it was crying out for, here Michael Dougherty (Obviously a super fan) knows exactly what you have come to see and delivers some truly breathtaking & beautiful shots, all filmed like a spectacular painting. There are nods everywhere to previous movies from the Mothra Twins, Music Cues, Movie Titles on banners, even certain battle moves are recreated all without men in suits so those who complain about cgi should check out now before you blow a fuse again! Their are moments of quiet, surprisingly quite a few jammed in amongst all the chaos, and although they serve only to get us from one battle to another, the underlying message of the movie is quite clear & well thought out, is it ridiculous? well yes of course, it's a movie with a giant moth & others of the like in so if you thought this was going to be grounded you are seriously deluded. But compared to previous Godzilla plots, it's a lot more coherent & serves the franchise well for future movies, it's a seed planter for sure. What i loved most about it outside of the beautiful monster designs & moments is it's huge amount of respect shown for past visions, Dougherty clears knows his Big G history and older fans will probably be bowled over by this as much as me, it's rare to see this in an American franchise movie but like the saying goes, if it ain't broke don't fix it. Highlights are many, the Antartica Moment of King Ghidora's entrance was stunning and made me think & hope that Del Toro was watching and thinking about 'In The Mountains of Madness' again. Pretty much every scene with Mothra was just beautiful to look at (listen for the music cues here, fans of the big flappy one will love these moments) Her short battle with Rodan had some comedy in as well which again i loved, subtle & smart from the film makers always. My wife also pointed out the large amount of religious imagery in this film, their were crosses everywhere, usually somewhere around the big monster moments like when Ghidora is standing atop the mountain etc, again this goes well & fits fantastically in with the nature of the story being told. This is NOT just a big dumb monster movie, thought, care, attention have all been applied to it & if you are smart & know your Godzilla history you will be rewarded handsomely. Ultimately this is a movie for Adults who never grew up (yes like me) & children who just want to see something amazing unfold in front of their unschooled eyes. If you sadly are the type of adult who actually grew out of being able to smile, switch off, remember what it was like to be a child (delete where applicable) then this movie will probably not do anything for you, good news though, they make plenty of those movies for you so seek em out but do us all a favour & don't come on here & rant about it unless you have something objective or sensible to say (sorry, it was too loud just doesn't cut it) it's ok not to like something sure but just because it's not your type of movie doesn't mean it's not delivering what it's meant too. Reviewing a title should mean that, you talk about the movie objectively & judge it against movies of it's type, if you seriously though that the plot of this movie could ever be anything other than fantastical, your either a troll or just not paying attention whch means you should not be writing about it. KOTM is not without flaws but those are so few in amongst all of the great that i have no doubts that this is a high bar for future film makers to rise above. Acting was good with what they had in their script, they did the best they could but seriously when your in a movie with 4+ Kaiju (& really good ones at that) you not going to be remembered that much in the foyer after.. sorry guys. A movie for fans of the Fantastic, the Mind Boggling & the Insane. A Movie for big kids & little ones to talk about for years after. A Gorgeous looking 2 hours of the ridiculous, thats everything i could have hoped for in a Godzilla movie. If you think that's being childish, good because i am in love with Movies like this. Long Live The King!!
116 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best GODZILLA film ever!
terrygls1 June 2019
Walked out with a smile on my face after watching this movie, definitely a home run for the Godzilla franchise. Pretty sad that this movie got harsh comments by movie critics, go watch the movie for yourself and you'll be a Godzilla fan for life.
205 out of 292 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Visually Stunning & The Best Godzilla Film ( Score 10/10 ⭐ )
hilaryswank201129 May 2019
The creature design concept of Titan-like Godzilla is not only obvious in the sequel but also the previous film Godzilla (2014) already materialised the creative concept. This is the most complemental achievement of this Hollywood franchise.

"Primitive man saw these creatures, and you want to give them a presence that would make him drop to his knees and bow to this god...It can't just look like big dinosaurs. Jurassic Park has that covered. These have to be distinct. They have to be their own thing. They're Titans." - Dir.Michael Dougherty

About Godzilla: King of the Monsters (2019), prescreening before officially announced release date is now Hong Kong audiences' advantage.

The good 'Titan' Godzilla fights other kinds of MUTOs (Massive Unidentified Terrestrial Organism) like well known Godzilla characters Mothra, Rodan, King Ghidorah and original non Toho characters. The story line is simple enough for both children and adult.

Both Godzilla (2014) and Godzilla: King of the Monsters (2019) are kind of pro wrestling entertainment of titanic MUTOs. The huge gap of dramatic importance of characters is also gigantic among all dinosaurs films in the past. The Godzillas are now main protagonists, and human characters can do a little to the story not play critically important roles to get rid of MUTOs. It is a job of Godzilla. Humans are observers or refugees from their titanic pro wrestling on the urban cities. The Hollywood trilogy of Godzilla is far better than any Japanese Godzilla films made in the past in terms of technology and storytelling. Making Hollywood remakes is seemed as advanced phase of filmmaking in Japan. It is quite wrong. Originally Japanese filmmakers must make high quality Godzilla films by themselves.
247 out of 364 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Big G returns
johnc21411 June 2019
I want to be careful and not give any spoilers of any kind. I thought this was better than Avengers Endgame. I have seen every Godzilla movie ever made and other Kaiju monster epics and this fun is the most spectacular.Many Easter eggs for fans. Gojira aka Godzilla faces off against Monster zero,King Ghidrah . And others join the battle; Mothra and Rodan. With some surprises.I loved this from beginning to end. An epic that cannot be missed. The Big G returns in all his glory. Next up is a team up with King Kong in 2020. And who knows maybe a grand remake of Destroy All Monsters.this movie rocks and I know will break the Abengers record at the box office. And it should. Godzilla can actually squash Thanos with one big thump! Please look for the Easter eggs in this there are many. Awesome 10 out of 10 of course I can go higher. But there's only 10.
120 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The perfect summer blockbuster
rileybrown-5646329 May 2019
Where Godzilla 2014 failed this movie succeds. More monster brawls and action. The human characters do fall flat at some points with cheesy jokes, but they are still interesting and they move along the story well. I think most critics are wrong about this movie, it has a great plot, and not all fights are obscured by rain. Godzilla is also actually in his movie! He shares the screentime well with the other three main monsters that star. Also be sure to stay behind the credits for an after credits scene, trust me, it's important.
232 out of 346 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
DO YOUR CANON RESEARCH (TOHO CATALOG) and Do Not Listen to Critics
bononista31 May 2019
Walking into Godzilla King of the Monster 2019 with nothing in your pocket other than Godzilla 2014 is the same as try to watch Avengers: Infinity War and Avenger: Endgame but having seen NONE of the 10 years worth of MCU films to lock in an emotional and intellectual investment. DO YOUR GODZILLA KAIJU RESEARCH BEFORE GOING TO SEE THE FILM AND YOU WILL UNDERSTAND THE REASON WHY MOTHRA, RODAN, GHIDORAH, AND GODZILLA are of massive significance culturally, spiritually, emotionally, and what they represent socio politically. From Day One Godzilla has been the creation as a statement against the atom bomb, and moving forward he became a statement against nuclear waste, air pollution, pollution of the ocean, etc. and how what we as humans do to this planet to destroy it. If such creatures existed today, they SHOULD reclaim the planet because we've doomed it. Yes, the actors selected are dry, you can't have MCU actors in every film. DO YOUR RESEARCH, THEN GO SEE THE FILM. The fact that they brought back the ORIGINAL TOHO SCORE for the characters is a major achievement in and of itself - if you do know your Toho films you will know that the MUSIC from day one of the films solicite specfic emotions. You know when Godzilla has arrived, you knwo when the military arrives, you know when Mothra is being 'called', you know when a specfiic kaiju is in harms way or hurt,.... you know because the original score is THAT powerful. It's blended in rather than in the forefront, but even Mothra's scream solicites an emotional responise BUT ONLY IF YOU KNOW YOUR TOHO CANON. If you dont' have an emotional investment in the characters or the motivation of the people based on canon, you won't understand the struggle on any level.
188 out of 278 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Critics were wrong- we had a blast at the theater!
elicemarie-131 May 2019
Saw it tonight and it was epic! Amazing monsters and fight scenes. Critics were wrong! It's exactly what you'd want in a summer blockbuster. See it on the biggest screen you can.
110 out of 159 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Godzilla Movie Ever
ymyuseda21 June 2019
Rating 1.2/10 This is the most ridiculous movie i have seen in a long time. The movie was terrible. Bad acting performance to all the characters. Poor storyline and pure garbage from start to finish !! This turned out to be my biggest movie disappointment in this year.
209 out of 312 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
BOOM
conahrivers-7432430 May 2019
Do you like loud booms? Do you like big visual spectacles? Godzilla certainly delivers an audio and visual treat that can't go unnoticed, but there are elements of the film that stand out for all the wrong reasons.

I've seen a large number of 10/10 reviews for this film and although I can appreciate the that the film certainly delivers on the titan battles, and the Godzilla on-screen time moments, the general takeaway from the film is somewhat of a 'meh' feeling purely due to what happens between those giant fighting spectacles. The pacing of the film is somewhat fast, which of course isn't necessarily a bad thing when we all know that the real meat of the film lies in the main event. I would have really liked the film to have slowed down to explore the unique moral issues that they had decided to feature, but again I understand that this is mainly monster film and such exploration of themes isn't crucial to the film.

The human characters mostly all fall flat, with the main father character being especially cringe worthy. A lot of the 'experts' in the film (the scientists, military personnel) have been given comedic traits which often results in jokes that are completely out of place and consequently devoid of all humor. For example, during one point in the film they're talking about the name of an ancient creature which is pretty significant, and due to not being able to understand the scientists accent, one of the comedic characters interprets the name as gonorrhea... Now I understand that this is meant to be a film about giant monsters, but the performances provided by the human cast really are painful at times.

Leaving the mostly terrible human cast issue aside, I have to give credit where credit is due, and that is in regards to the CGI, VFX, and audio work. Although the CGI isn't drastically different from the 2014 film, where it is noticeable is when the live footage of the humans is interwoven with the monsters trampling above them. It really was impressive to see the actors in the same scene as the monsters, with debris flying, and not really being able to tell that it's all CGI...but that just may be the inner nerd paying too much attention to the details.

The audio is really fantastic in terms of the sound effects and the overall mixing. The roars are loud, and the general sound of destruction has depth and impact. What's nice is that there are a few moments of silence, and some choir-esque soundtracks to lift up bring life and meaning to some scenes.

I suppose my main issue with this film is tied to my initial expectations. The trailers showed Something quite poetic and moving with its dramatic soundtrack and beautiful artistic aesthetic in terms of how the monsters were portrayed, but what you get is more of a generic monster movie, with some promising moments that never quite deliver anything meaningful or new.

In general an excellent monster movie which deserves 7 stars for its visual and audio effects alone, but sadly nothing new or inspiring to write home about.
155 out of 230 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love from Japan. Godzilla forever!!
keijiosk31 May 2019
When I was child, I wrote my dream "I want to become Godzilla movie's director!!" in my classroom . I think It's not only me who had dream like this. Now Michael Dougherty made our dreams come true. This movie is what I wanted to create. I'm very happy after watching it. I was also crying several times in cinema. Many scenes with full of respects and hommages. Thank you very much for your work Dougherty. I want to say thank you to Bear McCreary too who create the scores for this movie. The Kaijus, monsters or titans they're all incredibly updated. This is what kaijus movie should be.



If you like the anthropocentrism, probably you don't like this movie.
113 out of 165 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Making His Origins Proud
aidanp-560552 June 2019
Godzilla and company return to form in this 2 hour visual feast. This film respects it's 60 year old cinematic icons, leaving me emotional them seeing them on an Imax screen. Having your hairs stand on end and your breath hitch is a common occurrence during this film. The monsters are beautiful and terrifying, they really do embody natures wrath in all their glory. Critics have yet again forgotten what it means to have fun at the movies. Take your kids, friends, co-workers, take anyone! Words do not do this film justice go see it on the biggest screen possible. Now that Endgame has come and gone it's time to make room for heros of a larger stature.
71 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Godzilla movie ever
ericmetoyer1 June 2019
Giant monsters fighting each other, destruction if the planet. What else do you want. Also watch it in imax
95 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lots of Kaiju action but contrived plot? So, a Godzilla movie?
steve-mc-m29 May 2019
Oh sweet so a Godzilla movie with more giant monster fights with generic plot and lines, COUNT ME IN!
212 out of 326 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's incredible! I want Godzilla!
stefanosena29 May 2019
Do you want drama? Go to a real-life funeral. Do you want Godzilla? Go to the movies now! I paid to watch Godzilla! and had Godzilla.
156 out of 241 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ROAR! At Last the USA gets a Godzilla Film Perfect. Just GO.
gettysburgrich30 May 2019
HI. As a Godzilla fan for over 50 years this film went way beyond my high expectations. A great plot more in line with a full TOHO production and some fine acting. The special effects are beyond great and the trailer gave away nothing.\ IT rates up there with the 1954 original japan version and Shin Godzilla, A must for any godzilla fan of any age.
81 out of 123 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good but bad, but good
manssonjoel3 June 2019
The movie is about godzilla right? I dont want to follow a little girl and her mom 70% of the movie. I just dont care about them or if they will survive or die because its about the giant monster. The fights and scenes with zilla was great. I would like to see more lore and background about the titans.
73 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed