The Nice Guys (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
382 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
A raucous buddy comedy… and stuff.
bob-the-movie-man27 May 2016
I'm sure this film is going to divide audiences, in the same way that "Kingsman" did.

It's 1977 Los Angeles. Star Wars has premiered. Disco is in full swing. And porn star Misty Mountains has just died (spectacularly). It's pretty disturbing then that dodgy licensed private investigator Holland March (Ryan Gosling) has been hired two days later to find Misty by the slightly kooky Mrs Glenn (Lois Smith, the equally kooky doctor in "Minority Report") who saw her through the windows of Misty's home. Never one to turn down a pay check, Holland takes the case and the trail leads him to search for a missing girl called Amelia (Margaret Qualley). This leads him right into the substantial fists of the 'heavy for hire' Jackson Healey (Russell Crowe), who's been hired by Amelia NOT to be found. But it's clear that Amelia is at the centre of a tornado of intrigue, since her mother Judith (Kim Basinger) is head of the Justice department and there are some heavies from New York and Detroit looking for Amelia too.

As the film's tag-line admits "The Nice Guys" are "far from nice", and this is a sort of bromance buddy movie of the likes of "Lethal Weapon". (And that comparison is 100% valid since - and I honestly discovered this after I wrote that - director Shane Black ("Iron Man 3") got into cinema by writing the screenplay for the original "Lethal Weapon" back in 1987). But "The Nice Guys" has an edge that those films of the 80's couldn't have got away with. Subtle it ain't. There is a lot of violence, a bit of 70's porn and some fruity language that sensitive viewers may find offensive. (All in all, it's a bit of a surprise that it got away with a '15' certificate in the UK).

But it's also insanely funny at times. Some of the sight gags are laugh out loud material (and I don't tend to act on that often in a packed cinema). You might recall in "Diamond's Are Forever" that a Vegas hood tosses Plenty O' Toole out of Bond's hotel window. "Good Shot" quips Bond. "I didn't know there was a pool down there" responds the hoodlum. The basics of this scene are given a fresh and wonderfully gory rework that is truly memorable.

Gosling and Crowe have great chemistry together (although the degree of acting required by Crowe is debatable: he looks and acts like he seems to in most media interviews!) Some of their dialogue appears distinctly ad-libbed, which shows how comfortable they were with the roles. And Matt Bomer and Beau Knapp make memorably crazed villains. A role that unfortunately does irritate is Qualley's: the character of Amelia is supposed to be a bit crazed, but her speaking part is 120% off the scale.

The acting star of the show though is young Australian Angourie Rice as Holland's morally-centred and bright daughter Holly, who steals just about every scene she's in. A young lady to watch for the future.

1970's LA is nicely realised, with nice little subliminal drop-in shots: a Jaws 2 poster; Tower Records; the original Hollywood Tower Hotel. And the film naturally attracts some banging' 70's tunes to the soundtrack, with Al Green peerless over the closing titles.

But it's not perfect. The plot is quite impenetrable (I'm still unclear exactly what the relationship between Misty and Amelia was). And Black's screenplay (written with Anthony Bagarozzi) over-eggs the pudding of the final showdown scene. But while it won't be to everyone's tastes, I thought it was a blast from beginning to end: a guilty pleasure of bad taste that begs for a sequel. I would go to see the Gosling/Crowe show again. One of the most entertaining films of the year so far.

Please visit http://bob-the-movie-man.com to see the graphical version of this review and provide feedback on your views. (Thanks).
150 out of 216 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A witty, neo-noir caper
bradleyyyshea_925 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Having divided cinema-goers after entering blockbuster territory with Iron Man 3, it's refreshing for Shane Black to return to the big screen with a much smaller scale film in the form of The Nice Guys. Starring Russell Crowe as hired enforcer Jackson Healy and Ryan Gosling as private eye Holland March, the plot involves the two attempting to find a missing girl named Amelia and uncover why several men are trying to kill her, with the pair soon find themselves caught up in a plot much bigger than either of them had originally anticipated. Functioning essentially as a 'buddy movie' which plays out as a neo-noir, The Nice Guys is a genre pairing that works beautifully thanks to the central performances and Black's script which is equal parts hilarious and clever.

Set in 1977 Los Angeles, The Nice Guys cleverly cements itself within the period that the story takes place by referencing actual events. With the city being plagued by smog throughout the 1970s, car companies were urged to attach catalytic converters to their newer vehicles in an attempt to reduce pollution, and it's these facts that Black chooses to revolve his narrative around, as well as the growth of the porn industry and institutional corruption. Each of these components work in tandem to create a story which understands it's time period much better than the recent X- Men: Apocalypse, making it feel entirely necessary rather than a narrative gimmick, and allows Black to fully showcase his talents as a writer by utilising a historic period in such an effective way.

No matter how effective this setting is, it wouldn't be nearly as enjoyable had it not been for the characters that inhabit it. Jackson Healy and Holland March may occupy familiar territory within a buddy movie, but Black's witty dialogue and fantastic performances from his leading men ensure that the film's protagonists never feel stale. Crowe and Gosling prove to be one of the best double acts in recent years, with the former giving his best performance in almost a decade and the latter displaying the full range of his comedic talents after dabbling with comedy in The Big Short and Crazy, Stupid, Love. Together, their characters exist as a flawed odd couple who manage to bring out the best in each other – a trope of the buddy movie – yet the way in which Black presents both them and their budding friendship/partnership is completely believable and hilarious.

It's this hilarity that is present throughout the clever narrative that elevates The Nice Guys above recent buddy movies such as Ride Along, proving that films of this genre can have brains and humour instead of just the latter. Mixing slapstick with physical comedy and witty dialogue, Black has created a film which should appeal to a wide variety of people no matter what tickles their funny bone, and do so while telling an often complex tale of corruption in 1970s LA. It's this mix of comedic stylings that provides levity to some of the more violent scenes featured within the film and Black makes sure that the jokes are never too quippy or predictable at any point.

Unpredictability may be a dirty word in Hollywood yet here, it greatly helps the film in terms of both the humour and the plot. As good and as funny as the two leads are, it's Angourie Rice that steals many of the best lines as March's daughter, Holly, which may very well be the most surprising aspect of the film. Though only thirteen, Holly is presented as being much more efficient than her father and often exists as his guiding light when his problem with alcohol gets the better of him, and as a young actress, Rice displays an incredible amount of composure amongst two of Hollywood's leading men. Plot wise, there's several twists and turns within the narrative that allows the audience to discover things as the characters do, which aids the mystery within the plot and ensures that each revelation is met with surprise from both those on screen and in the cinema.

If there's one flaw to be found within The Nice Guys, however, it does also relate to the plot. While Black's script is clever, there are times when viewers may get a little bit lost as the investigation unfolds. This is partly due to Black's reluctance to include exposition heavy scenes which is, for the most part, a smart technique but one that can be troublesome in a film such as this. Filmmakers should never rely too much on exposition in order to tell a compelling story – I'm looking at you, Nolan – but if it is used wisely and incorporated subtly, it can be a great help when connecting the dots that make up the plot. A scene towards the end of the film that reveals the big picture to the characters and the audience does feature exposition that doesn't feel too heavy handed, proving that Black is capable of providing information through dialogue that sounds natural.

Thankfully, the scene in question brings viewers up to speed before the thrilling, and often explosive, finale at the Los Angles Auto Show which provides a satisfying conclusion to the events that preceded it. With a new Predator on the cards for Black in the very near future, it's a pleasure to see him deliver a smaller film before he returns to blockbuster territory and reminds us all just how enjoyable a night at the cinema can be.

A comedy with brains, Black's latest benefits from a superb script and great performances from Crowe, Gosling, and it's secondary cast members. When it comes to value for money this summer, you'll be hard pressed to find a film that can offer it quite like The Nice Guys does.
99 out of 143 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Stupidity as an Art of Comedy
The Nice Guys represents the buddy movie genre at its best. Shane Black is a excellent director and a brilliant writer. He knows how to create hilarious characters and how to put them in absurd scenes — absurd in a comic way. The gags are all unexpected; I was constantly asking myself "What the hell is going on?", and then burst into laughter. The plot could seem weird at the beginning, but it's not the main point in this movie, it is only used to create a context to the jokes. People in the theater couldn't stop laughing. There is a new and original joke every two minutes. Russell Crowe plays his part very well, but Ryan Gosling's performance is already cult. All is in the look in his eyes, and that stupid expression on his face. Two stupid and impulsive men in an outrageous world full of porn stars and guns, fighting for...money. And truth, of course. Always the old truth about some kind of conspiracy (the only weakness in the movie). Hopefully, Shane Black doesn't insist too much on that and concentrates himself on the constant jokes. I guarantee you, you will laugh a lot. I know I've just watched an excellent movie when I feel sad during the credits, because it's already over. And then, it's just pure happiness.
162 out of 251 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Laugh Out Loud Comedy
PyroSikTh7 June 2016
The Nice Guys is pretty much a buddy cop comedy, except instead of cops, they're a private investigator and a contract tough guy who find themselves both looking for the same girl, who's gotten herself wrapped up in political and pornographic intrigue. While there are a number of action sequences, The Nice Guys is focused more on delivering humour and jokes based around a couple of reasonably well-developed characters and a mystery that's a little absurd and off- the-wall.

The comedy on offer here is quality stuff. The Nice Guys isn't just the latest Apatow or Rogen production that seems to just recycle jokes from other movies. Many of the jokes are well- thought out and some of them are actually clever. There's also a number of more slapstick moments, but none of them come as hammy, including the sight of Ryan Gosling fumbling with his gun and cigarette while sat in a cubicle. The comedy can be a little dark at times though, so if you like lighter laughs, The Nice Guys probably isn't your kind of movie. On that note, I was quite surprised at the amount of violence, gore, and nudity in play. Thankfully it's only gratuitous when it needs to be (which in this movie basically means for comedic effect). People do die, sometimes gruesomely, and there are a lot of boobs and constant talk of sex and pornography, sometimes from kids. Again if these kinds of things offend your soft heart, avoid The Nice Guys.

Talking of kids in this movie, one of the earliest lines refers to how kids these days know too much and act too grown up. This is a subtle theme of the entire movie. The line in question refers to a thirteen year old girl who chats up a guy three times her age for some weed, and another scene has a kid on a bike talking about his big dick, but more prominently is Angourie Rice who plays Holly, the PI's daughter, and shows a massive amount of maturity in every scene, often showing up her father in smarts. I would love to see a sequel set a number of years ahead where we follow a grown up Holly continuing her father's work.

The father himself, Holland March, is Ryan Gosling on top form. Most of the roles I'd seen him play were super serious ones, and his mumbling, tortured personas, while fantastic, started to grate. Here he is completely different. He's a silly, fumbling idiot a lot of the time, and provides the most laughs. His sense of comedy timing is perfect, and his slapstick antics are flat-out hilarious. That's not to mean that he plays the fool. In a lesser actors hands, that's exactly how March's character would have come across, but Gosling manages to balance all the over-the-top comedy with something a bit more grounded. While he shows a lot of signs of idiocy, he also shows some intelligence that helps us believe his role as a father and detective. Unfortunately I can't level the same praise on Russell Crowe who I can't decide whether he phoned it in for the paycheck, or tried too hard. When it comes to comedy, Crowe is Gosling's opposite; almost entirely unfunny, even when his lines do a lot of the legwork for him. He's not a complete failure, but he looks awkward and uncomfortable more times than he doesn't. Margaret Qualley as the missing girl is also a bit of a swing and a miss. Her hysteric lunacy comes off more as a hormonal teenager shouting things she doesn't really mean, than a girl who believes fully in her claims and is determined for the world to know what she does. Thankfully there's Keith David, Matt Bomer, and Beau Knapp who more than make up for her in the supporting side of things.

I never really laugh out loud when I'm by myself, especially in the cinema, but The Nice Guys had me chuckling heartily with alarming frequency. It's not a perfect movie, not even a perfect comedy, but it's right up there amongst the best comedies, for certain. I found it hilarious, and that's all that really mattered. I give it a solid 8/10 and would recommend.
66 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The Nice Guys
cougarfan-bridger26 May 2016
I'll admit that I am unfamiliar with most of Shane Black's original works, watching The Nice Guys made me want to go back and take a look at his earlier films. The characters were well written, even better cast, and fit well with the theme of the film. There was rare a dull moment, it seemed I was either enjoying the dark comedic tone, or getting engaged in the plot. While the first two thirds of the film seemed excellent, the writers set themselves up for a fantastic finish, but were unable to capitalize on that potential. The script seemed to suddenly turn very basic, with things "falling" into place almost too miraculously to be true. I never felt like I had truly been given an ending worthy of a classic detective story, but the fast pace of the film and humor was enough to make it very enjoyable.
76 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great Movie
WinterbornTM4 June 2016
The Nice Guys is written and directed by Shane Black and stars Ryan Gosling and Russell Crowe as two detectives who try to solve a case regarding a missing girl and the death of a porn actress in Los Angeles during the 70s.

I'm a big Shane Black fan ever since my childhood, with Lethal Weapon being one of my all-time favorites. After that I followed his career, and I have to say, he is a really great writer/director. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is another great movie which he wrote and directed which some might argue it brought Robert Downey Jr. back in the center of the attention, and before the whole Marvel business started. Black is great at writing buddy comedies with crime and mystery touches and The Nice Guys is one of his best works to date.

First of all, the two main actors, Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling, have an amazing on-screen chemistry. Crowe plays Jackson Healy, a by-the-book though guy enforcer type who you call when want to have someone taken care of. Crowe is now over 50 in real life, his age is starting to show, but he embraces that completely in this film. He is a little overweight and some of the action scenes he pulls might not look that believable, but he is absolutely perfect in this role. Ryan Gosling took a break from the more silent type roles (Drive, Place Beyond the Bines) which were becoming a bit too much for me and instead takes a comedic turn in this movie. He has some of the funniest lines, he gets in the craziest situations and yet there's also a dark side to him, having some drinking problems and at the same time trying to raise his daughter (Angouire Rice), who is wise beyond her years.

The story itself is not the most original and unique, it doesn't really break new ground and you can solve the mystery on your own while watching the movie. As soon as one character was introduced, I immediately put the clues together. But that's okay, it doesn't really need to do all those things. We were not promised some original concept or never before seen plot, we were promised an action comedy that offers two great characters and a very clever script.

What I truly love about this movie is how simple it actually is. It's not part of a huge franchise, it's not a CGI fest, there are no superheroes, there are no flying cars, we just follow two guys trying to solve a mystery. It really goes back to the 80-90s era, when we had some great action-comedies like the Lethal Weapon franchise or Beverly Hills Cop. It's a nice breath of fresh air with some clever dialogue, noir elements, good action and two perfect stars in the main roles. The Nice Guys is a nice surprise and it deserves a 9 out of 10!
116 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A confused comedy noir buddy cop film.
willbecton-244-7930746 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
A movie-like thing masquerading as a period noir buddy cop comedy. I've read a number of reviews so far and one thing that almost everyone agrees on, even those who like the movie, is that the screenplay is a big hot mess. There is no momentum to the story, which is somehow both predictable and unfocused. As soon as Kim Bassinger's character shows up we know where this is all going but who cares anyway? The movie attempts to swerve towards the broadly comic and surreal but is not inspired enough to revel in its own fun and allow the audience to forgive the meandering and ultimately nonsensical plot for the window dressing that it is.

The characters lack sharp definition and development. Gosling and Crowe give whatever glimmer of hope there is to this movie but the material is not worthy. They may have been miscast but its almost impossible to tell due to the writing. Their characters are not very likable, consistent or distinguishable from each other(important with odd couple dynamics).

Supporting characters are not the fun colorful characters one would hope to have from such a movie. Gosling's daughter character is played by a talented young actress but unfortunately this is one of the worst elements of the movie. The child character who behaves like an adult is a cringe worthy staple of Hollywood and that is exactly what we get with in this movie. And why in a buddy cop movie are you focusing so much attention on buddy cop's 12 year old daughter? Why?? You could have a romantic interest or a fun villain but no, we get a third wheel Nancy Drew character.

From the beginning the daughter character is forced into the plot like this is a four quadrant family friendly comedy and I inwardly groaned as I realized that I was going to have to live with this decision by the screenwriters. This film has a rather bizarre obsession with children and even weaves in inappropriate porn jokes and adult situations with children in ways that I found off- putting, and I love South Park and edgy humor involving kids so that's saying something.

The movie is too scattershot and all over the place. Worst of all, its not very funny. There are maybe three moments in the movie that are chuckle worthy and they are featured in the trailer. The filmmaker has fun with the 1977 setting but this movie could have taken place in 2016 or 2026 or 2177, it doesn't matter.
96 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A tad disappointing given the fantastic trailers (which spoiled the film a little), but still a lot of fun
zetes28 May 2016
'70s detective movie starring Ryan Gosling and Russell Crowe, directed by Kiss Kiss Bang Bang's Shane Black. It is a ton of fun. There's definitely something missing that I'm not quite able to put my finger on - it really feels like it should be an all-time classic, but ends up falling short. There's some weaknesses in the script, like Black isn't quite able to make his themes work entirely. It has so much great stuff in it, though. The two leads are ace, both giving near-career best performances. Angourie Rice is also excellent as Gosling's teenage daughter. They do fail to establish a great antagonist, though bad guys Matt Bomer, Keith David and Beau Knapp are all memorable. Others who will remain nameless aren't as good. The film is very funny, thankfully, with Crowe and Gosling bouncing off each other nicely. It is true most of the best bits were given away in the film's two trailers. If you haven't seen them, you might enjoy this even more than I did. I'd definitely recommend it either way.
60 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not so nice
kosmasp25 January 2017
But very good if you are into this kind of stuff. So this is not Kiss Kiss Bang Bang or Last Boy Scout, but it is a new movie by Shane Black, which is a reason to get excited about. If you like weird dialog and situations comedy that he seems to be able to write spot on, then you are in the right place.

Russel Crowe and Ryan Gosling hit the nails on their heads. Deadpan or outright funny, completely insane to just weird. One thing this is not: Predictable or tame. You only have to decide if this is your kind of movie. If your taste and the movies do either collide or are in the same ballpark. If the latter is the case, do watch it and you'll get something unique and really good. One of the Highlights of 2016 for sure
25 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
8/10
James_De_Bello1 June 2016
Shane Black doing what he excels at the most and doing it at the very best: "The Nice Guys" is funny, smart, action packed, violent, irreverent, thrilling and entertaining all at the same time without ever having tonal shift problems, it molds so many elements into one cohesive package that will give you a blast at the cinema and won't alienate you even with the sudden appearance of a giant talking bug in a car.

What has to be addressed immediately is the fact that if there was ever a prize for best on-screen chemistry for 2016 the race is already over, Crowe and Gosling light up the frame with an overwhelming energy, this is something we haven't seen in quite some time. Their job might be overlooked and discounted by some, but this is nothing short of genius, the way in which these two actors bring to life this story is illuminating, their timing, their banter, their personal dynamic, it is all in the brilliant script, but what the two of them do is elevate it to levels that I think not even Shane Black could have ever imagined. I mean they just had to look at each other for me to curl up laughing stupid. They don't have a false beat. And when you try to look back and think of who was better as soon as you point to one, you feel like you've made the wrong choice. Crowe's stoicism is played to perfection and when he boils up it pays off incredibly. Then there's Gosling who is recently on a roll; he was a highlight of "The Big Short" and showed comedic chops I didn't know he had, then comes this film and if there was ever any doubt of his comedic timing believe me is dead. The way he moves is enough to make you marvel and laugh at what he's doing, he has multiple moments of physical comedy that had me rolling on the floor, not to mention his witty, smart-ass dialogue that he nails.

And we aren't even halfway done with the cast yet, everybody in this film not only is cast perfectly, but kills it. Kim Basinger's casting as a callback to "L.A. Confidential" is a great choice, but then getting into the more important characters: Matt Bomer is terrifying as the cold blooded killer and it is so important to be so if you want to give the audience catharsis when the final showdown happens. It is great to see Keith David again on screen in this kind of supporting character role that he always, unequivocally shines in, he is truly one of the bests in my opinion, there isn't wrong he can do. Finally Angourie Rice is a revelation, she steels the movie from Crowe and Gosling so well it feels like this movie is about the three of them together.

Now, all of these actors get the chance to do such amazingly inspired work thanks to Shane Black. His screenplay presents us to a group of characters that are brilliantly well written and developed and tied into a plot that is absorbing and crazy. I don't know if this film is better written or directed because the two crafts combine seamlessly in this picture. There are so many moving elements and Black keeps up with all of them without ever leaving the audience behind or making them loose interest. moreover the way the setting is used is breathtaking and I mean that literally. He makes these characters move through Los Angeles and between a million easter eggs that I'm sure I missed half of, the locations give the film a whole other level of fascination, it has one of the best party scenes in recent memory. The greatness lies in the fact that story and setting feed each other and couldn't be taken apart, bringing to life a visual feast for the eyes that is grounded in story and character.

And there's still much to talk about: soundtrack, action and fight scenes, pace, cinematography, sound, all of these elements deserve a paragraph on their own. The excellence of filmaking in display here is in my opinion really remarkable. Does it have faults? Or course: it can occasionally digress into 70s visual extravaganza just for the sake of it, the plot is thrilling and all, yet come to really think of it, unfortunately, it comes apart slightly too easily, but these are all details that have to be addressed, yet they did not take away from the overall experience which is one of the funniest and most thrilling rides of the year that I cannot wait to check out again in the theater with a bunch of friend.
58 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Started out pretty OK
Eddie_weinbauer30 July 2016
I Really liked this movie,all the way up until shortly after the one hour mark. Than it just took a 180 turn for the worse,and ended up getting really really stupid.Which was quite annoying.

In the beginning it was funny and charming and full of good quips back and forth, between the two leads.

Some of the situations was a bit over the top,but you could live with em,cause the rest of the movie held up fine. But than comes the one hour mark,and things start going down hill. Up until now,Russel has been the smart one and Ryan was the dorky drunk guy. But than suddenly they both turn into dumb and dumber.And that just ruined it for me.After that I lost total interest in the movie.
77 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nice Guys Naff Plot
comps-784-382656 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Nice Guys is a film you can enjoy but does not satisfy.

Crowe & Gosling are really good in their roles but I felt we needed to know more about there characters and lives.

The virtually alcoholic private investigator (Gosling) with a 13 yr old daughter. I was left puzzled : Why was he virtually alcoholic? Why did his house burn down? What happened to his wife? Why is he such a loser?

You know even less about Crowes character.

Which is a shame as they both worked well together and it makes it interesting being set in 1977

One is searching for Amelia (Gosling)

The other is paid by Amelia (Crowe) to stop people searching for her.

The first half of the film is good. Why are people searching for Amelia, including some who intend to kill her.

But for me, the second half of the film was ruined by a pretty stupid plot, which I will summarise as follows.

Amelias mother (Basinger) is head of justice department. She (Basinger) is in cahoots with car manufacturers to cover up excessive pollution from their cars.

Amelia outraged makes a 'porn film' that exposes all of this. She intends it to shown at the 1977 car expo to reveal all the dastardly dealings.

Basinger is having everyone involved in the film killed, including her daughter Amelia and all copies of the film destroyed.

I know it's pretty stupid. Which is a shame because Crowe and Gosling did such a good job.

There are plenty of laughs, you start the film with high expectations, But 'Nice Guys' doesn't know if its a comedy, a thriller or a film with a serious message. So ends up a disappointing 6.5/10
21 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I think IMDb should have an age profile to show which age groups like or dislike a movie.
ddam076721 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Age: 50-65 We walked out about half way through.

I am just a regular guy - not a professional movie reviewer by any means. But I felt like I needed a shower after watching this digital equivalent of a sewer pipe spewing out feces. I really like both of these actors so when I saw the trailer I thought it might work. But gee, what a train wreck. The slow slide down the toilet began when the 13 year old daughter gets corrected when she refers to a rim-job and ended with the writers keen comedic sense with the over-use of ". . . and stuff" WoW!!! Genius!

I wonder, really wonder how hard-up Russel Crowe was to take this part. I wonder how many hours Ryan Gosling watched Dean Martin/Jerry Lewis' shtick to get his part. Man, I sure wish I could get my $17 back. But, hey, the popcorn was good.
105 out of 216 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No one ever went broke underestimating the taste of the American Public - definitely a "Razzie" Worst Picture contender
mikerosslaw1 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Spoilers ahead. This flagship of 2016 summer movies is a steaming, nut-filled turd that will irredeemably poison two precious hours of your life.

Russell Crowe headlines in the role of an archetype, sleaze-bag private-eye, but in his physical condition, he can only be cast as a character actor (Read: he doesn't get the girl).

Indeed, there IS no girl, no heroine. Crowe looks like he's gained 200 pounds since "A Beautiful Mind," all of it around his waist, a sawed-off, bloated shadow of his former movie star persona. Crowe's bloodshot, watery eyes are suspended in a sagging brassiere of flesh (a tip o' the hat to Norman Mailer, who described Eugene McCarthy thusly in his 1968 presidential campaign), and he just looks like poop-on-a-stick. His barroom, gravely voice betrays his recent years of over-indulged intimacy with alcohol.

Second-Banana Ryan Gosling behaves throughout pic like a barely pubescent teen who's stoned from his first doobie. These two seem like they can barely stand each other; there is zero chemistry between them in this dweeby, pre-teen fantasy of a buddy-flick.

"The Nice Guys" has no discernible goal except for Crowe and Gosling to rescue from a mob hit an obscure damsel named Amelia (the McGuffin of the film) who has less than five minutes of unremarkable screen time and who inexplicably gets shot to death half-way through the film, thereby removing any motivation for Crowe's and Gosling's further antics and gratuitous shootouts. If this synopsis of the "story" makes absolutely no sense to you, then you've gotten the gist of this aimless, nonsensical P.O.S.

When I get tricked into seeing a film like this (the TV trailer was masterfully edited out of the very few humorous moments there were in pic), I feel like I never want to see another new movie ever again. Pic was so artlessly written and somnambulistically acted that you find yourself rooting for the black hats to finish these two unappetizing, unsympathetic morons off as quickly as possible.

If you're looking for something better to do this summer than seeing "The Nice Guys," try sticking pins in your eyes. That would beat this stink-bomb in spades. Beware of the gushing reviews of pic. I think that the IMDb voting has been stuffed with for-hire reviewers who have sold their souls pimping this garbage.

Jus' sayin'....
98 out of 201 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
They are nice, to some :)
osj250726 July 2016
Matching Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling in this awkward partnership actually works out very well, they are very true to their character, both a bit off in their own way, but together they really are the nice guys :)

It is the funniest film I have seen in a long time and it really deserves a lot of credit for keeping a good story and not just relying on slap-stick humor, it has both subtle and loud comedy, it has action and something going on all the time, but above all it has timing and precision in the way it delivers the story and how the characters handle the different situations.

Location, seating & time: Kinopalæet, Lyngby, Denmark - Bio 3, row 9 seat 3 & 5 - 27.06.2016 at 19.00
32 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Stupid, Stupid, Stupid
lavatch20 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
"The Nice Guys" had pretensions to be a slapstick-style film like "Naked Gun." Unfortunately, it fell flat with a convoluted plot, weak laugh lines, and poor chemistry among the actors.

Films like "Naked Gun" or "Airport" can be great fun, as they build farcical scenes around star actors playing inept cops, pilots, and criminals. But Russell Crowe and Ryan Gossling failed to meet the threshold of performing in the broad comic style. Their characters, who were two incompetent L.A. private eyes, were far too understated. They needed coaching in the broader style of acting.

The scripting of "The Nice Guys" also foundered on poorly delineated secondary roles, such as that of Kim Basinger, who plays the "heavy" as the corrupt official from the Justice Department. Her scenes brought the film down to an even lower depth of dullness.

The filmmakers should have started their work by simply taking the time to view the "Naked Gun" series and to study how Zucker, Abrahams, and Zucker found the ability to put together a decent film farce.
31 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
didn't work for me
cdcrb20 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I should have been on high alert when the studio changed the trailer. the second one was better. the story is two guys looking for a missing girl. Russell is a tough guy and Ryan is a detective. I know what the screen writer was going for-laughs-unfortunately these two aren't comedians and can't deliver funny lines. they have absolutely no chemistry together. Ryan has a young daughter who is thrown into the mix, and in many instances the atmosphere is inappropriate for her age group. I guess that is supposed to be funny. I enjoy these guys very much as actors, so I was disappointed. I realize movies are subjective and I notice the 8+ rating. I also noticed that if this is a success there will be a sequel.
37 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Disjointed, uneven, sporadically funny
wgingery22 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Throughout this film I couldn't shake the feeling that I had missed something. Watching it is like watching a long, long trailer with all the highlights, but with the explanatory scenes cut out. Shane Black, the director, seems to want to put on the screen his whole "bag of tricks" without making the effort to connect them in logical or emotional order. Watching the film becomes like thumbing through a catalog of Hollywood tropes. Black throws one thing after another on to the wall to see what sticks. (Catalog or spaghetti on the wall, which is it? That will give you an idea of how disjointed and jarring the narrative is.)

The film presents some genuinely funny moments. The problem is that they are not prepared for or followed up. In one scene (in the trailer) the two dump a body over a fence. Big laugh! But so what? We have almost no idea about the people on whose table the body is dumped. Where do they fit into Black's word? Having a body land on your patio table is a very effective metaphor of the corrupt nature of L.A., but it's immediately abandoned. I felt left in the lurch.

The director has declared that he wanted to convey, underneath the comedy, a more serious message about a corrupt world in which two knights in tarnished armor must make their way. So far, so good. The problem, again, is that he hasn't paid enough attention to establishing their backgrounds or to the development of their relationship. I felt constantly off balance and blind- sided.

Which relationship is primary: the one between the two detectives, or the one between Gosling's character and his daughter? The film can't seem to make up its mind and doesn't define either very satisfactorily. I kept comparing this film to "Paper Moon," and the latter won every time.

The director also declared that the moral objective of these knights is to protect little girls (among whom, besides Gosling's daughter, are adult female characters like Misty Mountains and Amelia). This is sentimental and patronizing. If we have learned anything since the seventies, it is that (1) women demand the right to make on their own decisions, and (2 ) that little boys and men deserve protection, too.
22 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
L.A. Inconsequential
jadepietro19 May 2016
(RATING: ☆½ out of 5)

THIS FILM IS NOT RECOMMENDED.

IN BRIEF: A bubble-headed rehash of crime thrillers and buddy movies.

GRADE: D+

SYNOPSIS: Two inept detectives try to unravel a mystery during the groovy 70's.

JIM'S REVIEW: Take the popular buddy movies of the 80's, add the retro good vibes of the 70's and quickly stir in the grisly blood and violence of the 90's and voila!...you have a half-baked movie entitled The Nice Guys, a film with no identity to call its own. To any unsuspecting moviegoer sitting through this dreadful rehash, the age-old adage, nice guys finish last, becomes all too true.

The setting is L.A. during the mid 70's. Ryan Gosling and Russell Crowe play misfits Holland March and Jackson Healy, a couple of low-life PIs who join forces to solve a convoluted mystery involving a missing girl, a porn starlet, and how two distinguished actors can pick a real loser.

This alleged comedy is directed by Shane Black, whose previous experiences with this crime genre, like Lethal Weapon and Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, has shown the filmmaker to have had some relative success. Here, he is more concerned with capturing the seventies era with his references to killer bees, rationed gas lines, disco music, and pong video games than delivering an entertaining and logical film.

His screenplay, co-written with Anthony Bagarozzi, is a total mess. Its plot frequently detours to violent chases and shoot-outs as it tries to connect the two unsolved cases and add some far less clever one-liners between the assorted mayhem. The crime and the comedy elements rarely align unless one agree that this comedy is indeed a crime and a waste of time and talent.

The casting of Ryan Gosling and Russell Crowe, two actors known more for their heavy dramatic roles rather than their light comic style, seems off from the start. When it comes to the high art of comedy, the track record of both actors is spotty as best. (While Mr. Gosling has had some success in this area, with film projects such as Crazy, Stupid, Love and Lars and the Real Girl, Mr. Crowe's comedy film credits include only Noah, a true laugh-riot.) Together, the two leads have zero chemistry between them.

Their foray as two wild and crazy guys is a dismal failure. Their so-called comedy bits are labored and bereft of humor. In fact, in one desperate scene, Mr.Gosling tries to channel the comic timing of Bud Abbott's double takes which elicited groans rather than laughs from the audience members. A paunchy Mr. Crowe is briefly united with an air-brushed Kim Basinger, his LA Confidential co-star, in a brief scene or two. Let us just say time has not been kind to either star and move on from there.

In supporting roles, Matt Bomer is underused as John Boy, a paid assassin, and Beau Knapp as a blue-faced killer is more annoying than menacing.The talents of fine actors like Keith David and Lois Smith are squandered in this dud. Only Margaret Qualley as Amelia and Angourie Rice as Holland's wiser-than-her-years teenage daughter create real characters, but that is due to their screen presence rather than the dialog they are spewing. (Both actresses make a strong impression and do deserve better parts.)

The film is interminably long, makes absolutely no sense, and has no laughs...none! The Nice Guys makes for miserable company. Avoid.

Visit my blog at: www.dearmoviegoer.com

ANY COMMENTS: Please contact me at: jadepietro@rcn.com
47 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wow how could this piece of rubbish score above a 2?
helpme-488-30563110 July 2016
Just terrible. Woeful script, terrible over acting, stupid premises that just needed to be accepted.

Where to start? How about with Little Miss Sunshine. Go watch the first 5 minutes of it. In the first 5 minutes all the central characters are introduced, they are flawed but special... immediately you bond with them and care what happens to them. You are on board.

Then watch this piece of dodo. In the first 5 minutes we are introduced to many of the main characters. We immediately could not care less about them as there is nothing alluring or special about them.

Ryan Gosling is funny when he is simply trying to be cheeky and cute. When he is doing it in an understated way. In this movie, he is doing slapstick and its hopeless. Russel seems to think because Mel Gibson did action and comedy he can too. He can't. Just not funny. At all. Like, as funny as an abortion not funny.

Oh woe is me the ridiculous scenes where 500 bullets are sprayed from a machine gun and they hit everywhere around the hero but miss the hero.

Just tripe. Not funny. Not clever. Barely watchable. I watched it 3 days ago yet forget how it ended - perhaps its a self defense mechanism from my brain seeking to erase this terrible experience from my memory... or maybe the movie is just that forgettable
53 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
HIlarious & Ridiculous
SaritaLW24 October 2016
Warning: Spoilers
So, seeing Russell Crowe and Ryan Grosling on the cover of this film ehhhhh, I wasn't sure how I would like them on this film together. I mean, the two just didn't mix with me. But they almost reminded me of a duo like Will Smith and Martin Lawrence in Bad Boys, except raunchier! So this story is about two characters, Jackson Healy(Crowe) and Holland March (Grosling) who are both private detectives who go on a hunt for a missing girl. Now, these two weren't work buddies. March was hired by the missing girls aunt to find her, but the missing girl hires Healy for him to STOP trying to find her. In the midst of everything, Healy is confronted by a couple of thugs who want to kill Amelia, so he decides to team up with March to find her together. NO, this was not a happy pair. March only cared about getting paid and also had a sassy daughter to take care of where Healy is still bothered by his divorce from his cheating wife. There are tremendous funny parts in this movie that will have your stomach hurting and asking yourself what would you do in the situation and glad it wasn't you.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Boring and unoriginal
Nicole10628 October 2016
I only gave this a 2 as we switched off after about half an hour. I had reasonable expectations as the reviews were good but we were really disappointed. I think any film which very early on has a naked porn star sets its stall out. I was still prepared to give it a chance as the main performers are good but the promised laughs did not come, although the T and A came thick and fast! Having a 13 year old girl being subjected to free screenings of porn and discussions about anal felt very wrong and ultimately we were not entertained. Shabby! Both stars are capable of so much more. I could not recommend this film in any way and will certainly not bother watching the rest of the film.
21 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Outrageously awful
bluebrian11 November 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This is my first review of a movie ever. I feel like it's my duty to warn people of this non-sense, incoherent, IQ-lowering, completely utter dogshit of a movie. I'm not even exaggerating, it is THAT bad. I went in with great expectations, as the sky-high reviews presents the movie as one of 2016's finest. Oh man, was I wrong to trust these reviews.

After half an hour in, the amount of cringe was unbearable, but I was determined to finish it, it had to get better, right? Oh man, was I wrong once again. I gave up after an hour, I felt like the movie drained me of all will to live, I was on the edge of depression when I had to close my laptop and take a deep breath to prevent myself from crying. How this is rated one of 2016's best movies, is beyond me. I NEVER bail out halfway through a movie, this was the first time, and I don't feel guilty. I should've turned it off an hour earlier.

Mark my words: This is a complete waste of time. Sitting in a tree for a week straight is more beneficial than watching this. I feel scammed, and cheated of my time. After 1 hour I had no idea WTF the plot was, and it did not interest me the slightest to find out.

ROCK BOTTOM: Crowe's performance 0,00000/10 - Halfway wannabe-witty/badass (but comes out as a tired, uninterested fatass with a complete absence of charm) One just wishes for his scenes to be over, for the movie to be over really. Makes you wanna cram your ears and eyes full of dirt.

BEST MOMENT: Ryan Goslings scream when Crowe snaps his arm. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTG_3SHjVh8

Doesn't deserve 1 star,

DO NOT WATCH, CANCER ON SCREEN!
31 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the most surprising films in years!
Lewis_Heather7872 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
For a start i can't believe that I missed this film in the cinema and am I now regretting that decision considering how unbelievably good this film is. The main reason for me to take a look at this film months after it had been in cinemas is the two main leads, Russell Crowe and Ryan Gosling. Both of which are amazing actors and are just fantastic in there respective roles in the film, they play of one another in the film so well it really shows that both actors genuinely get on with each other. As for other actors they are all great however there is one who in my opinion rises above even Crowe and Gosling and that is the character of Holly March played by Angourie Rice. She is brilliant in every scene she is in whether it be insulting her father or giving advice for a con, this actress has great potential to go on a do great things. Turning our attention away from the cast and to the story and director, both roles which where filled by Shane Black. Once again this very talented director has hit it out of the park, the script is absolutely brilliant and there is never a dull moment in this film. Whether it be the banter between Holland and his daughter or to Jackson the lines that the actors deliver are amazing and perfectly timed, especially Hollands random quotes about Adolf Hitler. As well as the script that Shane Black helped to write the directing in this film is simply unique and brilliantly stylised, it probably really helped Black to write and direct this film. I would like to mention that "people" these days say Hollywood isn't making original films anymore and that only franchise films will be made. However a film like The Nice Guys is original and was made and unfortunately from what the box office results are know body bothered to go and see it, I know I'm guilty of that as well. This really makes me sad and it is also sad for this film because it 100% deserves a sequel but will probably never get it. There are some films around that have conned their way to multiple sequels without any of them being any good...divergent..cough.....Finally I would like to say that this film in my opinion is the best of 2016 so far, this film is such a surprise you will not be disappointed if you see it.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Movie I've seen in years and I LOVE these guys!
jaime-801-2675146 June 2016
The trailer alone sold me; Russel Crowe and Ryan Gosling playing goofball 1970's detectives? I'm in! I should have stayed out. This is only the second movie in like 20 years that I've wanted to walk out on but we had friends present and I didn't want to make a scene (turns out they would have left with me). Ten minutes into this movie will tell you that this in not screwball comedy, it isn't a detective thriller and it isn't a throwback look at the crazy 70's. It could have been any of the three and been successful but the writer(s) couldn't make up their minds which way to go and you're left in a painful limbo where (1) the movie isn't funny (2) there's no suspenseful plot like a real detective movie and (3) you suddenly remember you taped several far more interesting things at home. The writing shows signs of being done by several different people who weren't talking to each other and wrote at different times. Such a shame.....the acting was actually pretty good. Don't waste your time:Run away from this dog!
56 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed